If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Opposing Views)   Don't let your kids watch Disney's TV show "Sofia the First" or it will turn your preschooler into a single mom, says Christian entertainment review site MovieGuide   (opposingviews.com) divider line 100
    More: Unlikely, Disney, single-parent, mothers  
•       •       •

5799 clicks; posted to Main » on 23 Apr 2013 at 6:57 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



100 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-04-23 01:16:44 AM
i.qkme.me
 
2013-04-23 07:01:38 AM
i.qkme.me
 
2013-04-23 07:02:53 AM
So have these farktards promoted anything to help those single moms, beyond telling them they're horrible people for daring to be married?  For that matter, they dont seem to be harshing on single dad movies.
 
2013-04-23 07:03:41 AM
I find it to be a nice change of pace from all the other Disney shows where no one has a mom.
 
2013-04-23 07:03:50 AM
"Few single mothers marry a king who can turn their daughters into princesses."

First of all do they even explain in this show why she was a single mother to begin with?

But mostly, yeah, that's such a nice message to be putting out there. As much as I'm fond of reminding people that the term "single mother" is not a badge of honor for about 90% of the women who try to wear it compared to the 10% of mothers who are either blameless or heroes even I'm going to say 'What the hell is wrong with you Christian idiots?'

Maybe he's not rich but she can still be a 'princess' in any loving home in the world. Get off of the slut shaming nonsense and quit trying to crush peoples dreams.
 
2013-04-23 07:07:00 AM
Have they not seen any Disney movie, ever?
 
2013-04-23 07:08:37 AM
img189.imageshack.us
 
2013-04-23 07:08:57 AM

Nuclear Monk: I find it to be a nice change of pace from all the other Disney shows where no one has a mom.


Heck, Donald's nephews were orphans.
 
2013-04-23 07:10:32 AM
What's wrong with not having a Father around? It worked out okay for Jesus.
 
2013-04-23 07:10:52 AM

Unknown_Poltroon: So have these farktards promoted anything to help those single moms, beyond telling them they're horrible people for daring to be married?  For that matter, they dont seem to be harshing on single dad movies.


Well, Eddie did have Mrs. Livingston:

upload.wikimedia.org
 
2013-04-23 07:11:53 AM

WhoopAssWayne: [img189.imageshack.us image 287x312]


Even I'm going to call you a troll now.
 
2013-04-23 07:13:54 AM

randomjsa: "Few single mothers marry a king who can turn their daughters into princesses."

First of all do they even explain in this show why she was a single mother to begin with?

But mostly, yeah, that's such a nice message to be putting out there. As much as I'm fond of reminding people that the term "single mother" is not a badge of honor for about 90% of the women who try to wear it compared to the 10% of mothers who are either blameless or heroes even I'm going to say 'What the hell is wrong with you Christian idiots?'

Maybe he's not rich but she can still be a 'princess' in any loving home in the world. Get off of the slut shaming nonsense and quit trying to crush peoples dreams.


You do realize that sluts are unlikely to read this review, right?  MovieGuide.org is preaching to the choir.  Opposing Views and Fark are communicating this hurtful message to sluts.
 
2013-04-23 07:14:30 AM

randomjsa: First of all do they even explain in this show why she was a single mother to begin with?


No, but the show's only like 8 episodes in too. There's an "origin story" episode that leads off with Sofia and her mom headed to the castle, and Sofia has a couple of friends from "the village" that have shown up a couple of times, but no mention of a father anywhere.

So, so stupid though. I mean hell, the show is all about the creation of a "traditional family". Or are we to believe that once married, Christian families never suffer divorce, or death of one of the spouses?
 
2013-04-23 07:15:45 AM
unscrwed.com

monsterlol.com
 
2013-04-23 07:16:14 AM
Murphy Brown  ?
 
2013-04-23 07:16:23 AM
Statistics show 77% of single mothers are sluts.
 
2013-04-23 07:16:42 AM
WTF? Because no one ever dies, they just have baby daddies and divorces.

Idiots.
 
2013-04-23 07:20:01 AM
Will the show also turn sons into pedophile priests?
 
2013-04-23 07:22:49 AM
Sheesh, doesn't anyone get it?

"What do we want to scold America about today?"

"How about single moms?"

"OK, go through the press releases and see what we can 'review.'"

"Ooooo, this one's perfect!"
 
2013-04-23 07:24:21 AM
Again!?
 
2013-04-23 07:24:46 AM
Sometimes in Disney movies, Mom gets shot and killed!!!

Like in Bambi.  Now, THAT'S a feel-good movie ;)
 
2013-04-23 07:24:50 AM

robohobo: [unscrwed.com image 604x448]

[monsterlol.com image 600x449]


That is one of the most erotically trashy women I have ever seen.  Brings out my basest, most depraved instincts.
 
2013-04-23 07:25:28 AM
Adventure Time already turned her into a tweaker.
 
2013-04-23 07:26:23 AM
I mean the polka dot one.  The other is just run-of-the-mill trash.
 
2013-04-23 07:27:18 AM

randomjsa: "Few single mothers marry a king who can turn their daughters into princesses."

First of all do they even explain in this show why she was a single mother to begin with?

But mostly, yeah, that's such a nice message to be putting out there. As much as I'm fond of reminding people that the term "single mother" is not a badge of honor for about 90% of the women who try to wear it compared to the 10% of mothers who are either blameless or heroes even I'm going to say 'What the hell is wrong with you Christian idiots?'

Maybe he's not rich but she can still be a 'princess' in any loving home in the world. Get off of the slut shaming nonsense and quit trying to crush peoples dreams.


Well, TFA says she is supposed to be Hispanic, so we can assume her mom was never married.

/just kidding
 
2013-04-23 07:27:23 AM

BarkingUnicorn: You do realize that sluts are unlikely to read this review, right? MovieGuide.org is preaching to the choir. Opposing Views and Fark are communicating this hurtful message to sluts.


Oh I realize. That doesn't take away from my point however.

jayhawk88: No, but the show's only like 8 episodes in too. There's an "origin story" episode that leads off with Sofia and her mom headed to the castle, and Sofia has a couple of friends from "the village" that have shown up a couple of times, but no mention of a father anywhere.

So, so stupid though. I mean hell, the show is all about the creation of a "traditional family". Or are we to believe that once married, Christian families never suffer divorce, or death of one of the spouses?


I figured as much.

To me this is just Disney getting with the times and admitting there are a lot of kids out there in their audience going through or potentially going through the whole 'mommy is getting married' routine. As you suggest, it's not like the Christians are all sunshine and roses when it comes to marriage issues either.
 
2013-04-23 07:27:26 AM
MovieGuide.org cited statistics about all the horrible things that await children of single parents and reminded its readers: "Few single mothers marry a king who can turn their daughters into princesses."

Whereas virtually all offspring of two-parent children marry into royalty, or at least aristocracy.
 
2013-04-23 07:29:00 AM

Debeo Summa Credo: Well, TFA says she is supposed to be Hispanic, so we can assume her mom was never married.

/just kidding


Stop that, it's silly.
 
2013-04-23 07:30:52 AM
maybe sofia's father was killed by mistake in bombing an abortion clinic.
 
2013-04-23 07:31:47 AM

Nuclear Monk: I find it to be a nice change of pace from all the other Disney shows where no one has a mom.




THIS! Aren't most Disney movies centered around a hero with one parent? Disney needs to get some more ideas.
/nothing against single parents
 
2013-04-23 07:32:08 AM
Back when I was in the classroom, I used parts of Finding Nemo as an example of quest myths. Some parent pulled up a blog like this that said the movie encouraged children not to obey their parents.
 
2013-04-23 07:33:44 AM
Sofia the First has also been criticized because the lead character is supposed to be Hispanic, but some critics believe she is drawn too white.

This I have a problem with. "Hispanic," to use their term, is not a race. Cameron Diaz is as Aryan as they come. There are enough people of all races, religions, nationalities, languages and cultures who fall under the term to render it almost meaningless. The princess has blue eyes. Deal with it.
 
2013-04-23 07:34:46 AM

Debeo Summa Credo: randomjsa: "Few single mothers marry a king who can turn their daughters into princesses."

First of all do they even explain in this show why she was a single mother to begin with?

But mostly, yeah, that's such a nice message to be putting out there. As much as I'm fond of reminding people that the term "single mother" is not a badge of honor for about 90% of the women who try to wear it compared to the 10% of mothers who are either blameless or heroes even I'm going to say 'What the hell is wrong with you Christian idiots?'

Maybe he's not rich but she can still be a 'princess' in any loving home in the world. Get off of the slut shaming nonsense and quit trying to crush peoples dreams.

Well, TFA says she is supposed to be Hispanic, so we can assume her mom was never married.

/just kidding


LOL! That was funny!

/ Just kidding.
 
2013-04-23 07:35:20 AM
Oh no! Does that mean that my son is going to turn into a runaway
that talks to boot-wearing naked primates?
 
2013-04-23 07:36:39 AM

I_Can't_Believe_it's_not_Boutros: MovieGuide.org cited statistics about all the horrible things that await children of single parents and reminded its readers: "Few single mothers marry a king who can turn their daughters into princesses."

Whereas virtually all offspring of two-parent children marry into royalty, or at least aristocracy.


Is there a Christian book (or movie) they can recommend instead?   Some other book of tall tales and highly unlikely events that would in no way lead a child down a path of unrealistic expectations?
 
2013-04-23 07:38:35 AM
Hell, they were going nuts about The Little Mermaid. Something about Ariel disobeying her dad and still getting what she wanted in the end. Some people just need something to be pissed off about.
 
2013-04-23 07:39:06 AM
This show is doomed.  To Christians, mom's a slut.  To Hispanics, Sofia is a gringa.
 
2013-04-23 07:39:08 AM
The girl who does the voice goes to my kids' school.

The show is dreck.
 
2013-04-23 07:39:38 AM
Aladdin? No parents. Jasmine? Single father household, which is ok since he's a he--but he's also a Muslim, which is bad.

Belle? Single father.

That mermaid chick whose name I can't remember? Single father.

Bambi? Mother got shot.

I'm starting to think that Disney might be preparing kids for the reality of life.
 
2013-04-23 07:40:18 AM
I am incredibly disappointed this show is not set in 8th century Constantinople.
 
2013-04-23 07:41:08 AM

robohobo: [unscrwed.com image 604x448]



Elisabeth Moss looks exhausted.
 
2013-04-23 07:42:24 AM

Huggermugger: robohobo: [unscrwed.com image 604x448]


Elisabeth Moss looks exhausted.


Probably since she takes the train so often.
 
2013-04-23 07:45:04 AM
My parents only got married after my brother was born. For tax reasons. They didn't divorce until we were both out the house. They were still best freinds, and in other relationships the entire time. My brother and i were raised with lots of love and morality, without religion. We are both successful in our fields, and fairly well adjusted. My little bro is working on the next generation with his *gasp* wife!

Ja, csb. Eff off with traditionalist bs like this.
 
2013-04-23 07:48:46 AM

randomjsa: To me this is just Disney getting with the times and admitting there are a lot of kids out there in their audience going through or potentially going through the whole 'mommy is getting married' routine. As you suggest, it's not like the Christians are all sunshine and roses when it comes to marriage issues either.


I don't think it's even so much that, as just an easy avenue for conflict in the show. Sophia is the classic "fish out of water" in the story, alternatively not knowing how to fit into "princess life", and offering a down to earth perspective (she's the only one that will befriend some trolls, the only one that will help an old woman, etc). The show needed a mechanism for making Sophia a commoner who somehow became a princess, and her mom marrying a king was simply the easiest and most reasonable explanation.

There's been a little bit of the whole "new family dynamic" thing, mostly in what I assume is the pilot episode, but after that the only real hints of this kind of conflict is that Sofia's step sister kind of gets after her once in a while for not being a "true princess".

And now I'm going to go huddle in a corner because I've realized I know more about Sofia the First than Game of Thrones or The Walking Dead.
 
2013-04-23 07:55:14 AM

uttertosh: Eff off with traditionalist bs like this.


Yeah!  You and your brother grew up with a loving mother and father present in the home and you both turned out just fine!


....wait a second.
 
2013-04-23 08:00:09 AM
It's fine to promote honesty, grace and civility, but any message that undermines the traditional family is harmful.

Traditional family, eh?  Well, that rules out a lot of Disney's movies like Cinderella, and Beauty and the Beast, and Aladdin, and The Little Mermaid, and Tangled, and Pinocchio, and Lilo and Stitch, and Chicken Little, and Toy Story, and Finding Nemo, and I know there are more that I can't remember this early in the morning.
 
2013-04-23 08:01:56 AM

The Muthaship: uttertosh: Eff off with traditionalist bs like this.

Yeah!  You and your brother grew up with a loving mother and father present in the home and you both turned out just fine!


....wait a second.


And their partners. My father's boyfriend was like a brother to me.
 
2013-04-23 08:10:58 AM
This is how evangelicals masturbate.
 
2013-04-23 08:16:26 AM
So if you let her watch Pretty Woman, will it turn her into a whore?
 
2013-04-23 08:17:11 AM
Is being a single mom even possible?  I thought a woman was not able to have a child unless she was married.
 
Displayed 50 of 100 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report