If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Entertainment Weekly)   The twenty best "stoner films" of all time. Well, that's just like your opinion, man   (ew.com) divider line 90
    More: Spiffy, stoner film  
•       •       •

6087 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 20 Apr 2013 at 2:04 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



90 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-04-20 11:45:27 AM
Wow. I never realized how BIG my hands are. Do they look big to you?
 
2013-04-20 11:56:05 AM
Have you ever deslid a slideshow... on weed?
 
2013-04-20 12:12:24 PM
Their "high rated"... get it? Get it? Pretty funny and clever joke right there from EW
 
2013-04-20 12:13:09 PM

Peter von Nostrand: Their They're "high rated"... get it? Get it? Pretty funny and clever joke right there from EW


Derp
 
2013-04-20 12:24:50 PM
Came for #1, satisfied.

/don't think Bill and Ted were stoners
 
2013-04-20 12:37:19 PM
Knocked Up?!  I stopped looking there.
 
2013-04-20 12:39:33 PM
As someone who's higher than a kite right now, I'm getting a kick out of this thread.

/And a contact high, man.
 
2013-04-20 01:29:14 PM

Mugato: Came for #1, satisfied.

/don't think Bill and Ted were stoners


Only because the studio wanted a PG rating, I'm willing to bet.

/Up in Smoke should be #1. Get off my lawn!
 
2013-04-20 01:38:32 PM
This was a list of the best movies about stoners, not the best movies to watch while you're stoned
 
2013-04-20 02:09:13 PM
Fear and Loathing owns all.
 
2013-04-20 02:10:00 PM
I got high before dinner last night and when I got home I got high some more and watched Dazed and Confused.

So I'm really getting a kick out of these replies.
 
2013-04-20 02:18:27 PM
May not be a stoner film,  but this
leerader.files.wordpress.com

should get an honorable mention of some kind... and some cleaning products!
 
2013-04-20 02:26:23 PM
I approve of 75% of that list.

I'm terrible at math, so it could be more, could be less.
 
2013-04-20 02:28:49 PM
How High and Pineapple Express are ranked way too high
 
2013-04-20 02:32:07 PM
I haven't smoked weed in close to 20 years. Is it bad that I like almost every movie on this list?
 
2013-04-20 02:35:12 PM
On a side note, watching Fantasia (the movie, not the illiterate American Idol) on L.S.D. is both beautiful and horrifying at the same time.

/I started to lose it at the scene with the dancing hippos
 
2013-04-20 02:39:58 PM

iron_city_ap: I haven't smoked weed in close to 20 years. Is it bad that I like almost every movie on this list?


It's bad, but not because you used to smoke. Most of those movies are absolutely terrible, and you should feel terrible.
 
2013-04-20 02:42:08 PM

iron_city_ap: I haven't smoked weed in close to 20 years. Is it bad that I like almost every movie on this list?


I smoked weed three times in my life, also close to 10-15 years ago and of the ones I've seen, I too like almost all of them. In fact, Clerks, The Big Lebowski, and Dazed and Confused are some of my favorite comedies ever.

I thought Your Highness was universally panned. Maybe this is what swayed him

Probably SFW but the mods are flighty
 
2013-04-20 02:44:42 PM
I'm just going to come out and say it.  The Big Lebowski isn't all that good of a movie.
 
2013-04-20 02:47:25 PM
My favorite story about Dazed and Confused: Linklater was worried that the studio would ask him to cut the marijuana scenes, so he put marijuana in every scene. Can't cut around that.

Nice.
 
2013-04-20 02:49:52 PM
www.epmonthly.com
 
2013-04-20 02:50:54 PM

R Kelly's Doo Doo Butter: I'm just going to come out and say it.  The Big Lebowski isn't all that good of a movie.



"That's just, like, your opinion, man."
 
2013-04-20 02:55:05 PM

R Kelly's Doo Doo Butter: I'm just going to come out and say it.  The Big Lebowski isn't all that good of a movie.


You're out of your element.
 
2013-04-20 02:58:13 PM
adamantiumbullet.com

Oh, it's a list of movies about stoners, not movies for stoners.
 
2013-04-20 02:58:28 PM
It's not quite a stoner movie, but "River's Edge" would make my list for the Feckweed alone. (RIP, Dennis Hopper)
As an added bonus, it features a very 'crispy' Crispin Glover in the best/craziest performance of his career. So, there's that.
 
2013-04-20 02:59:23 PM
i168.photobucket.com

What's that you were talking about over there?

/Obscure?
 
2013-04-20 03:00:01 PM

R Kelly's Doo Doo Butter: I'm just going to come out and say it.  The Big Lebowski isn't all that good of a movie.


Shut the f*ck up Donny.
 
2013-04-20 03:01:29 PM
midatlanticnostalgiaconvention.com
 
2013-04-20 03:11:19 PM
i.imgur.com
 
2013-04-20 03:28:12 PM
I've always liked a Scanner Darkly. Not about pot per se but...

encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com

encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com
encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com
 
2013-04-20 03:37:29 PM
Grandmas Boy > Dudes Wheres My Car

Fear and Loathing is not a stoner movie, it is a drug movie.  You could label it a movie that hipster stoners watch.
 
2013-04-20 03:45:19 PM

theflatline: Fear and Loathing is not a stoner movie, it is a drug movie.  You could label it a movie that hipster stoners watch.


Yeah, doesn't "stoner" mean weed? Sure they had weed because they had everything but it was mostly about the psychedelics.
 
2013-04-20 03:46:07 PM
I didn't get Dazed and Confused the first time I saw it. Now I love it. Great movie and probably Ben Affleck's best role as an actor. I've watched it so many times, I've lost count man.

That said, Up In Smoke was a movie solely dedicated to one thing- weed. And whatever other drugs they could get their hands on. But mostly, it's a love letter to weed. And it's pretty funny. I'd rank it much higher for this genre.
 
2013-04-20 03:52:33 PM

LonMead: May not be a stoner film,  but this
[leerader.files.wordpress.com image 600x382]

should get an honorable mention of some kind... and some cleaning products!


That is Tarrantino's best movie, and he didn't even direct it.

/he wrote it
 
2013-04-20 03:59:19 PM
kushsmoke.com
 
2013-04-20 04:14:10 PM
List needs Grandma's Boy and the 2nd Harold and Kumar.

/Alabama kush
 
2013-04-20 04:16:02 PM
Your Highness doesn't belong on that list at all. Hell I'd rate one of the Friday sequels higher than that piece of garbage. I went in thinking it was going to be a silly low brow comedy, but they left out the comedy part. I honestly don't get how the hell they managed to get Natalie Portman for that flick. Not that I think she's a great esteemed actress, but I would have thought she'd be well above that level of suck.
 
2013-04-20 04:20:07 PM
Eh Dazed and Confused doesn't count as a stoner movie, it's just a movie set in a decade where they smoked. I don't think Fear and Loathing really counts either.

Whoever said How High is overrated, your opinion is bad and you should feel bad. I love that movie and I constantly tell people that ask me what that odd odor is when I walk in "oh that's just my cologne Cannaba for Men."

So pure stoner movies I'd say Lebowski, Cheech and Chong (not the one with the van, the one they go to Amsterdam), Pineapple Express, Harold and Kumar and How High. Not necessarily in that order.

/hoping this posts right at 4:20
//enjoy the day cannabis fans
 
2013-04-20 04:25:55 PM
Big Lebowski should be #1.  Too many good quotes and scenes from it to not be #1.   

How High was great, but I don't think its #4 great.

/Pimpin since been pimpin since been pimpin  since been pimpin
//Thats why I'm the pimp, and thats why you the assistant pimp!
 
2013-04-20 04:30:15 PM

LonMead: May not be a stoner film,  but this
[leerader.files.wordpress.com image 600x382]

should get an honorable mention of some kind... and some cleaning products!


Perfect. It's the most perfect stoner moment in film history.

Happy 4/20 everybody!
 
2013-04-20 04:34:02 PM

Dingleberry Dickwad: I honestly don't get how the hell they managed to get Natalie Portman for that flick. Not that I think she's a great esteemed actress, but I would have thought she'd be well above that level of suck.


She was worse in Thor 1. Practically cardboard.
I'm hoping for a better effort from her in Thor 2.
 
2013-04-20 04:47:10 PM

Kurmudgeon: Dingleberry Dickwad: I honestly don't get how the hell they managed to get Natalie Portman for that flick. Not that I think she's a great esteemed actress, but I would have thought she'd be well above that level of suck.

She was worse in Thor 1. Practically cardboard.
I'm hoping for a better effort from her in Thor 2.


Honestly they should have just gotten rid of Portman entirely and used Kat Dennings in the role. Much hotter, much more personality.

/He wields mew mew?
 
2013-04-20 04:56:09 PM
Growing up in the late 70's, my friends and I have always had a place in our polluted hearts for  Over The Edge.

imageshack.us
 
2013-04-20 05:16:42 PM
Don't be fatuous, Subby.

/Don't post on shabbos, either
 
2013-04-20 05:25:51 PM

LonMead: May not be a stoner film,  but this
[leerader.files.wordpress.com image 600x382]

should get an honorable mention of some kind... and some cleaning products!


Don't f*cking condenscend to me man....
 
2013-04-20 05:35:15 PM
List fails with Cheech and Chong NOT number one.
 
2013-04-20 05:49:08 PM

What_Would_Jimi_Do: [kushsmoke.com image 850x478]


Thank you! I was going to mention Stoned Age.
That should have made the list instead of Bill and Ted. Sure it's a most excellent film, but a stoner film it is not.
 
2013-04-20 05:55:59 PM
...I must be getting old and responsible. First time I've been sober on 4/20 in almost a decade.
 
2013-04-20 06:04:26 PM
"Friday" should be higher on the list.
 
2013-04-20 06:07:51 PM

show me: LonMead: May not be a stoner film,  but this
[leerader.files.wordpress.com image 600x382]

should get an honorable mention of some kind... and some cleaning products!

That is Tarrantino's best movie, and he didn't even direct it.

/he wrote it


It is my favorite of his movies.
 
2013-04-20 06:24:13 PM

Mugato: Came for #1, satisfied.

/don't think Bill and Ted were stoners


That's really the genius of that film.

It's a stoner film with not even so much as a mention of marijuana.
 
2013-04-20 06:24:24 PM

What_Would_Jimi_Do:


Stuff makes me hork. Lol
 
2013-04-20 06:40:19 PM
List fails without Grandma's Boy, but it had already failed by including Reefer Madness.
 
2013-04-20 06:45:44 PM
What about "Grass", the quintessential documentary on pot?

/great to watch while you're high
 
2013-04-20 06:57:02 PM
'And then Nibbles killed Killer, man. He killed him...'
 
2013-04-20 06:57:11 PM

Altair: [i.imgur.com image 300x300]


stewbert: List fails without Grandma's Boy, but it had already failed by including Reefer Madness.


Both of these. Grandma's Boy is going to be on Comedy Central tonight for anyone who hasn't seen it/wants to catch it again.

/What is that ringing? Do I have a tumor?
 
2013-04-20 07:28:34 PM
s3.amazonaws.com

/list is ok, missing a number of obvious ones.
//hot Jane F. pic
 
2013-04-20 07:41:09 PM

fusillade762: Altair: [i.imgur.com image 300x300]

stewbert: List fails without Grandma's Boy, but it had already failed by including Reefer Madness.

Both of these. Grandma's Boy is going to be on Comedy Central tonight for anyone who hasn't seen it/wants to catch it again.

/What is that ringing? Do I have a tumor?


Grandmas boy has to be one of my favorite comedies. I had such low expectations for it. I only really watched it after a super baked kid i worked with wouldnt stop talking about it.

The way the ads were set up i honestly thought it was about that nick swardsons character falling in love with a bunch of gross old ladies. I thought it was a gross out comedy about old person sex. Why? because thats what the previews make it look like.

Its freaking funny and charming. And that scene where the girl is singing "Push it"? goddamnit thats hot.

I wasn't a big fan of dazed and confused... It seems to be one of those 'coming of age' stories that doesn't really have a point. I get it  - growing up is farked up. Bad pacing and nothing that hooks me into the story to make up for it.

The Big Lebowski isnt the best movie in the world but the comedy is fantastically dark and the kinda weak story gets a pass because the characters are interesting. And the dude. The dude abides.

Bubble Boy with Jake Gyllenhal is really funny. Not about a stoner but i love that movie when im high.

Or Smiley face with Anna Farris? Its not the best movie in the world but i would argue its better than "how high".
 
2013-04-20 07:46:32 PM

tricycleracer: Fear and Loathing owns all.


I /love/ that movie. The lizards in the lounge (and someone's been giving booze to these g-d'd things) and the swamped out room crack me up.
 
2013-04-20 07:54:04 PM

What_Would_Jimi_Do: [kushsmoke.com image 850x478]


i291.photobucket.com

biatchin'
 
2013-04-20 07:54:48 PM

Thanks for the Meme-ries: What_Would_Jimi_Do: [kushsmoke.com image 850x478]

[i291.photobucket.com image 800x450]

biatchin'


filter pwnd
 
2013-04-20 08:21:23 PM

sobernutz: How High and Pineapple Express are ranked way too high


how the fark did pineapple express even make the list?
 
2013-04-20 08:33:10 PM
24.media.tumblr.com

He's been stoned since the third grade.
 
2013-04-20 08:41:01 PM
Waking life, what the bleep do we know, any BBC/imax nature documentary, kids, teenage caveman, pixar or disney, st:tng, beavis and butthead do America.
 
2013-04-20 08:42:44 PM
Oh and lock stock two smoking barrels
 
2013-04-20 08:46:09 PM

Pep Streebeck: [24.media.tumblr.com image 500x268]

He's been stoned since the third grade.



So far, Fast Times has yielded 4 Academy Award winners. Hard to believe.

Totally agree on Dazed being at the top of the list, even if it was more or less the American Grafitti of the 90s. Then again,I was a teenager in Texas during the mid 90s, so it was impossible to avoid that movie.
 
2013-04-20 08:58:37 PM

me_onthenet: [s3.amazonaws.com image 798x445]

/list is ok, missing a number of obvious ones.
//hot Jane F. pic


GOOD CALL.

Smiley Face made me feel like I was watching my life.  Especially when she tries to back her car out of the garage.
 
2013-04-20 09:15:00 PM

Altair: Knocked Up?!  I stopped looking there.


I stopped on the first page.


A Stoner character does not make it a Stoner movie.

/why does Android want to capitalize Stoner?
 
2013-04-20 09:26:17 PM

me_onthenet: /list is ok, missing a number of obvious ones.
//hot Jane F. pic


Wow her teeth look creepy in that pic. Like they make a perfectly straight line across her mouth. Like all her teeth are the same length colour and shape. I just noticed it and i had to say something...

Anna Farris should be the poster girl for not getting plastic surgery. That poor girl used to be so pretty and now she looks like shes having a reaction to shellfish or something. I think she recently got some of it fixed but jeez.
 
2013-04-20 09:32:40 PM
What about "The Stoned Age?"
 
2013-04-20 10:04:58 PM

BigLuca: [midatlanticnostalgiaconvention.com image 433x292]

(Willy Wonka)

This. And
www.blairwitch.de
 
2013-04-20 11:19:22 PM
on principal i'd have to put up in smoke at the top.  the original and still funny.

dazed and confused does seem to be aging well, doesn't it?

there is a new band that sounds great when stoned, and i'm sure tripping: Tame Impala.

/old
/really old
 
2013-04-20 11:42:26 PM

R Kelly's Doo Doo Butter: I'm just going to come out and say it.  The Big Lebowski isn't all that good of a movie.



It insists upon itself
 
2013-04-20 11:56:54 PM
i.imgur.com
 
2013-04-21 12:18:56 AM
Rolling Kansas
 
2013-04-21 12:51:06 AM

BigLuca:


Yes. This.
 
2013-04-21 01:21:42 AM
Said it before, but I've watched Dazed and Confused three times. And fell asleep every time.
 
2013-04-21 01:30:15 AM

Wasn't Looking at his Neck: Said it before, but I've watched Dazed and Confused three times. And fell asleep every time.


cool story, bro
 
2013-04-21 01:58:25 AM
Cheech and Chong's Next Moviedeserves an honorable mention.  So does  The River's Edge.
 
2013-04-21 04:21:41 AM

Thanks for the Meme-ries: What_Would_Jimi_Do: [kushsmoke.com image 850x478]

[i291.photobucket.com image 800x450]

biatchin'


she looks like that chick from the Virgin Killer album
 
2013-04-21 04:33:39 AM
7. Half Baked (1998)A rainbow coalition of celebrity cameos populates this whacked-out film that's sort of about Dave Chappelle dealing stolen medical marijuana and sort of about Jon Stewart saying, ''...on WEED!'' Bob Saget sucking dick for coke.
 
2013-04-21 05:32:23 AM
List fails without "A Serbian Film"!
 
2013-04-21 10:34:03 AM
The best stoner film of all time is Half Baked. There is no discussion on this.

Also, Dazed and Confused is not as good as people make it out to be. It's a typical weekend in high school, sorry you missed it.
 
2013-04-21 12:34:21 PM
So they mention Clerks as the movie, then post a picture from Clerks 2?
 
2013-04-21 01:43:25 PM

thisiszombocom: sobernutz: How High and Pineapple Express are ranked way too high

how the fark did pineapple express even make the list?


Seth Rogen sucks ass.  How did he even make it into the movie biz?  Jew thing?
 
2013-04-21 02:56:49 PM

Psycoholic_Slag: thisiszombocom: sobernutz: How High and Pineapple Express are ranked way too high

how the fark did pineapple express even make the list?

Seth Rogen sucks ass.  How did he even make it into the movie biz?  Jew thing?


*needle-scratching-record.wav*
 
2013-04-21 03:33:11 PM

Psycoholic_Slag: thisiszombocom: sobernutz: How High and Pineapple Express are ranked way too high

how the fark did pineapple express even make the list?

Seth Rogen sucks ass.  How did he even make it into the movie biz?  Jew thing?



More of the fact that it really, really pays to be Judd Apatow's friend (see James Franco, Elizabeth Banks, Jason Segal, Jonah Hill, Paul Rudd, etc.)

But nice anti-Semetism there.
 
2013-04-21 03:34:26 PM

stoli n coke: But nice anti-Semetism there.


Because there are no jews in Hollywood.
 
2013-04-21 03:36:19 PM

Mugato: stoli n coke: But nice anti-Semetism there.

Because there are no jews in Hollywood.


You're a racist for pointing out the obvious.

/joking
//it's stupid, I agree
 
2013-04-22 12:55:06 AM

tricycleracer: Fear and Loathing owns all.


Fear and Loathing doesn't even "own" Where the Buffalo Roam
 
Displayed 90 of 90 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report