If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(ESPN)   Steve Williams still kinda pissed at Tiger   (espn.go.com) divider line 34
    More: Followup, Angel Cabrera, golf tournament, red line, bogey, caddy, rules of golf, Augusta National  
•       •       •

2600 clicks; posted to Sports » on 19 Apr 2013 at 2:46 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



34 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
182
2013-04-19 05:24:57 AM
no one cares.  he should grab a golf bag and stfu.
 
2013-04-19 08:00:25 AM
Asshole is an asshole about an asshole.
 
2013-04-19 08:00:50 AM
He's an AW. Last hole of the Master's playoff, he looks for the cameras, then walks around Scot to stand in a place where he'd be center frame. And he's a horrible high fiver. Misses first contact and then grabs the hand and shakes it. Almost as bad as Nelson Mandela.
 
2013-04-19 08:04:06 AM
Yeah, he's real pissed:

"Tiger certainly wasn't trying to gain anything on the field there. Obviously he was frustrated and he mistook the rule between a red line and a yellow line and where you can drop. ... It was a mistake."

I can't believe they were allowed to print that tirade.

Nice that the author put the above quote at the very end of the article so that other quotes (probably taken out of context) could be read first and lead the reader into thinking something completely different.
 
2013-04-19 08:34:12 AM
Williams noted that he didn't fully understand the relatively new rule.

No kidding. The new rule means you don't DQ players for innocent mistakes.
 
2013-04-19 08:44:40 AM
So..a guy who used to be barely relevant but isn't any longer is seeking to regain a moment of attention by commenting on a guy who's still relevant, though not as relevant as he used to be due to things that have nothing to do with why he was super relevant in the first place.

And he's doing so via the exciting and controversial "analyzing a rule that he admits he doesn't actually understand" method.

People wonder why I find golf so boring, and I point to moments like this.
 
2013-04-19 08:46:08 AM

Champion of the Sun: He's an AW. Last hole of the Master's playoff, he looks for the cameras, then walks around Scot to stand in a place where he'd be center frame.


That was so blatant. I couldn't believe it.

Oh wait : I totally could believe it.

STFU, Stevie. Park my car, get my bags...and put on some weight!
 
2013-04-19 09:03:12 AM
So?
 
2013-04-19 09:14:49 AM
How many tournaments has Steve Williams won again?

Oh yeah, that's right, he's a farking caddy.
 
2013-04-19 09:19:58 AM

Marcus Aurelius: How many tournaments has Steve Williams won again?

Oh yeah, that's right, he's a farking caddy.


He isn't a member, Grandma - he's a caddy.
 
2013-04-19 10:03:11 AM

The Smails Kid: Marcus Aurelius: How many tournaments has Steve Williams won again?

Oh yeah, that's right, he's a farking caddy.

He isn't a member, Grandma - he's a caddy.


$50 says The Smails Kid picks his nose.
 
2013-04-19 10:26:21 AM

buckeyebrain: The Smails Kid: Marcus Aurelius: How many tournaments has Steve Williams won again?

Oh yeah, that's right, he's a farking caddy.

He isn't a member, Grandma - he's a caddy.

$50 says The Smails Kid picks his nose.


50 bucks says he eats it.
 
2013-04-19 10:33:05 AM

d_lebowski: buckeyebrain: The Smails Kid: Marcus Aurelius: How many tournaments has Steve Williams won again?

Oh yeah, that's right, he's a farking caddy.

He isn't a member, Grandma - he's a caddy.

$50 says The Smails Kid picks his nose.

50 bucks says he eats it.


He was hungry...
 
2013-04-19 11:26:38 AM

oryx: Williams noted that he didn't fully understand the relatively new rule.

No kidding. The new rule means you don't DQ players for innocent mistakes.


There was nothing innocent about it.

Tiger admitted to dropping the ball 2 yards behind the spot where he hit so he could hit the same shot.

That is cheating, but since it was Tiger, it was ignored.
 
2013-04-19 12:06:43 PM

Marcus Aurelius: How many tournaments has Steve Williams won again?

Oh yeah, that's right, he's a farking caddy.


Well, the world needs ditch diggers too
 
2013-04-19 12:12:27 PM

Broktun: oryx: Williams noted that he didn't fully understand the relatively new rule.

No kidding. The new rule means you don't DQ players for innocent mistakes.

There was nothing innocent about it.

Tiger admitted to dropping the ball 2 yards behind the spot where he hit so he could hit the same shot.

That is cheating, but since it was Tiger, it was ignored.


Pretty much.

If he thought he dropped it in the correct spot but later TV proved he didn't then he wouldn't be DQ'd but he deliberately chose the wrong spot as he admitted in his interview later.
 
2013-04-19 12:33:40 PM

Broktun: oryx: Williams noted that he didn't fully understand the relatively new rule.

No kidding. The new rule means you don't DQ players for innocent mistakes.

There was nothing innocent about it.

Tiger admitted to dropping the ball 2 yards behind the spot where he hit so he could hit the same shot.

That is cheating, but since it was Tiger, it was ignored.


That's right.  The new "hi-def" rule is to protect players who violate a rule in such an insignificant way that it is determined not to matter.  Like if your club just grazes five grains of sand in the bunker and some mensch at home sees it on his 72" screen.  Technically you've grounded your club.  Even though nothing about the stroke and play was affected by it, that's a violation.  So the new rule is about incidental things that TV picks up.

Tiger hit from the wrong spot, purposely improved his position with the drop.  He should have been a spectator on Saturday and Sunday.
 
2013-04-19 01:34:20 PM
Maybe Steve could get some Cheese & Crackers with that whine
 
2013-04-19 01:37:49 PM
lunchinlewis

He should have been a spectator on Saturday and Sunday.

  I absolutely agree. That said, there was no f*cking way they're disqualifying Tiger. The "IN THE HOLE!!!!" asshole type fans don't watch if Tiger isn't playing, it's all about money and ratings, so different rules apply.
Refer to : Pronger flow chart from NHL threads....

/different rules....kinda like the WWE.....
 
2013-04-19 01:44:54 PM
Only in golf are the players expected to enforce their own rules. Why not have an official watch them and penalize them as appropriate? If the official doesn't notice it then it isn't recorded. None of this "after further review of CBS tape we decided you broke a rule, and since we figured this out AFTER you signed your scorecard you are DQed". It'd be like in the NFL if a coach had to sign a statement saying "yes that was a TD" and if it got overturned they just forfeited.
 
2013-04-19 01:52:27 PM

The Smails Kid: Marcus Aurelius: How many tournaments has Steve Williams won again?

Oh yeah, that's right, he's a farking caddy.

He isn't a member, Grandma - he's a caddy.


Jesus Christ this! STFU numbnuts and keep the clubs clean and dry.
 
2013-04-19 02:14:33 PM

SkittlesAreYum: Only in golf are the players expected to enforce their own rules. Why not have an official watch them and penalize them as appropriate? If the official doesn't notice it then it isn't recorded. None of this "after further review of CBS tape we decided you broke a rule, and since we figured this out AFTER you signed your scorecard you are DQed". It'd be like in the NFL if a coach had to sign a statement saying "yes that was a TD" and if it got overturned they just forfeited.


Curlers police themselves as well for the most part...
 
2013-04-19 02:39:07 PM
piss off, auto-flash.  (somebody else's pc)
 
2013-04-19 02:41:05 PM
Or auto-video.  Whatever the hell it was.  Damn kids and your devil toys.
 
2013-04-19 02:57:33 PM

Sillygoth: So..a guy who used to be barely relevant but isn't any longer is seeking to regain a moment of attention by commenting on a guy who's still relevant, though not as relevant as he used to be due to things that have nothing to do with why he was super relevant in the first place.

And he's doing so via the exciting and controversial "analyzing a rule that he admits he doesn't actually understand" method.

People wonder why I find golf so boring, and I point to moments like this.


...you can call Steve Williams a lot of things, but as the man on the bag of the Masters champion, I don't think you can call him "barely relevant".
 
2013-04-19 03:00:58 PM

lunchinlewis: Broktun: oryx: Williams noted that he didn't fully understand the relatively new rule.

No kidding. The new rule means you don't DQ players for innocent mistakes.

There was nothing innocent about it.

Tiger admitted to dropping the ball 2 yards behind the spot where he hit so he could hit the same shot.

That is cheating, but since it was Tiger, it was ignored.

That's right.  The new "hi-def" rule is to protect players who violate a rule in such an insignificant way that it is determined not to matter.  Like if your club just grazes five grains of sand in the bunker and some mensch at home sees it on his 72" screen.  Technically you've grounded your club.  Even though nothing about the stroke and play was affected by it, that's a violation.  So the new rule is about incidental things that TV picks up.

Tiger hit from the wrong spot, purposely improved his position with the drop.  He should have been a spectator on Saturday and Sunday.


Oh give it the fark up. He didn't win, that should be enough for you vengeance vultures. But noooo. "ZOMG HE DROPPED IT A FOOT AWAY FROM HIS MARK DQ HIM RIGHT DAMN NOW!"

It's you farkwits that are ruining golf, not Tiger.
 
2013-04-19 04:26:31 PM
IlGreven

Oh give it the fark up. He didn't win, that should be enough for you vengeance vultures. But noooo. "ZOMG HE DROPPED IT A FOOT AWAY FROM HIS MARK DQ HIM RIGHT DAMN NOW!"
It's you farkwits that are ruining golf, not Tiger.


   Politics tab down?
 
2013-04-19 05:23:56 PM

New Age Redneck: lunchinlewis

He should have been a spectator on Saturday and Sunday.

  I absolutely agree. That said, there was no f*cking way they're disqualifying Tiger. The "IN THE HOLE!!!!" asshole type fans don't watch if Tiger isn't playing, it's all about money and ratings, so different rules apply.
Refer to : Pronger flow chart from NHL threads....

/different rules....kinda like the WWE.....


This might apply to the East Bumfark Open, but not to The Masters.  You forget this now, but they went commercial-free for two years just to spite Martha Burk.  They have plenty of money and aren't as greedy as everybody else.
 
2013-04-19 05:51:03 PM

New Age Redneck: lunchinlewis

He should have been a spectator on Saturday and Sunday.

  I absolutely agree. That said, there was no f*cking way they're disqualifying Tiger. The "IN THE HOLE!!!!" asshole type fans don't watch if Tiger isn't playing, it's all about money and ratings, so different rules apply.
Refer to : Pronger flow chart from NHL threads....

/different rules....kinda like the WWE.....


I said it last week I'll say it again.

Tiger Woods = John Cena
 
2013-04-19 06:34:32 PM
Not an illegal drop.... You nancies are a bunch of whiners.

images.thegolfchannel.com
 
2013-04-19 06:39:19 PM
buckeyebrain

This might apply to the East Bumfark Open, but not to The Masters.  You forget this now, but they went commercial-free for two years just to spite Martha Burk.  They have plenty of money and aren't as greedy as everybody else.

   Sure, however, other corporate interests such as Nike, the TV host and their sponsors, etc. don't want to lose the hundreds of thousands of fickle twit viewers who are not going to tune in if Tiger isn't involved....
 
2013-04-19 06:41:36 PM

oryx: Williams noted that he didn't fully understand the relatively new rule.

No kidding. The new rule means you don't DQ players for innocent officialsmistakes.


FTF what actually happened.

/Of course, the officials shouldn't be taking phone calls about a rules violation from some fat slob on their couch at home watching on TV
 
2013-04-20 02:12:51 AM

skankboy: Not an illegal drop.... You nancies are a bunch of whiners.


There's no cameraman in the scone shot. Nosnt it obvious?!
 
2013-04-20 01:10:30 PM

skankboy: Not an illegal drop.... You nancies are a bunch of whiners.

[images.thegolfchannel.com image 550x385]


So, you're saying that Tiger lied about what he did?

"I went down to the drop area," he said. "That wasn't going to be a good spot, because obviously it's into the grain, it's really grainy there. And it was a little bit wet. So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop. So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back and I took, tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit. And that should land me short of the flag and not have it either hit the flag or skip over the back."

Two yards.  That's about a grown man lying down.  And he did it to improve his shot.
 
Displayed 34 of 34 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report