If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Detroit_News)   Ram pickup truck review: nice finish, good performance, leather interior, and burns to a crisp in just a few minutes with no warning to the driver   (detroitnews.com) divider line 41
    More: Scary, fuel lines, gloves, fuel pump, cars  
•       •       •

3348 clicks; posted to Business » on 16 Apr 2013 at 12:35 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



41 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-04-16 11:41:47 AM
GUTS
GLORY
GRILLED
RAM
 
2013-04-16 11:46:35 AM
Always test drive the flaming wreckage model.
 
2013-04-16 11:46:47 AM
Dodge that
 
2013-04-16 12:02:16 PM
I thought that was Ford's shtick?
 
2013-04-16 12:23:10 PM
I wonder what the outcome and response from Dodge would have been if this was just a regular consumer, not a guy who reviews cars for a living
 
2013-04-16 12:56:00 PM

DanZero: GRILLED
RAM


hmmmm....grilled ram

i277.photobucket.com
 
2013-04-16 12:56:25 PM
CSB time:

I once attempted to tell someone in a ford excursion, towing a boat, that their front passenger brake was on fire.  He casually flipped me the bird and rolled the SUV over about 15 seconds later when the tire popped.

I also once saw a semi truck and trailer on fire on I-4 northeast of Orlando, IIRC it was a fritos (if it wasn't fritos it was some sort of snack food) trailer and those things were flaming up good.
 
2013-04-16 01:04:51 PM
Apparently this is a "Rare Occurrence"


/sigh
 
2013-04-16 01:07:29 PM

hamsack: Apparently this is a "Rare Occurrence"


/sigh


More like medium-rare, amirite?
 
2013-04-16 01:08:44 PM

hamsack: Apparently this is a "Rare Occurrence"


From TFA:
"We take these things very, very seriously," Diaz said. "I've got to believe this is a one-in-a-billion situation. But we've got a team of engineers working on it, and we'll figure out what happened. And then we'll apply The Formula."


FTFT
 
2013-04-16 01:31:36 PM
Motor Trend reviewed the Ram. A fairly favorable review, if I recall correctly. I do remember that they liked the active grill shutters, but hated the cheap feel of the interior, especially the gear selector dial (no shifter...wtf?). Theirs didn't catch on fire though, so I don't know how that affected their review.
 
2013-04-16 01:35:45 PM
That was an awfully long article to say your Chrysler broke.

Granted, it broke in a more spectacular fashion than most, but, still.... there's not much in this world farther from the concept of newsworthy than a Chrysler falling apart in some manner on the side of the interstate.

/ actually, I wouldn't know anymore if that's still true, I gave up even acknowledging they still exist more than a decade ago because their shiat was such complete and utter shiat
 
2013-04-16 01:36:23 PM

Sin_City_Superhero: Theirs didn't catch on fire though, so I don't know how that affected their review.


I'll go out on a limb and guess "positively".
 
2013-04-16 01:51:53 PM
That would've been something to see. Every car fire I've ever seen was a Ford.
 
2013-04-16 01:53:47 PM

ecmoRandomNumbers: That would've been something to see. Every car fire I've ever seen was a Ford.


I had to extinguish a fully engulfed Volkswagen beetle once

/flaming magnesium is fun
 
2013-04-16 01:56:47 PM
What he says about all the plastic parts under the hood is no exaggeration.  Heck, even the bed of my 2012 Toy Taco is plastic.
 
2013-04-16 02:01:53 PM
I take it the firewall is less firewally than would have been helpful?
 
2013-04-16 02:13:12 PM

MaudlinMutantMollusk: ecmoRandomNumbers: That would've been something to see. Every car fire I've ever seen was a Ford.

I had to extinguish a fully engulfed Volkswagen beetle once

/flaming magnesium is fun


Ever seen a Corvette catch on fire? Fiberglass body.

www.corvettec3.ca
 
2013-04-16 02:46:49 PM

pkellmey: I take it the firewall is less firewally than would have been helpful?


Maybe, but I think he is spewing bullshiat. His truck caught fire on a tollway, I've never seen a response time to a fire on an interstate that did not take at least 15-30 minutes. By that time any firewall will have been overwhelmed and the interior compartment of the vehicle will be engulfed.

Also he says things like people could see his truck dripping fire, he got out dazed and he is slow, with foot surgery and some kind of brace, but it only took him 20 seconds to get away a safe distance and then back to the truck.  I call bullshiat. If it had happened that fast he would have been burned.

This article is some guy who had a mechanical failure and is being a farking drama lama about it. I've had four cars/trucks spontaneously combust, one was my fault, two were mechanical failures, and one was a passenger who flicked her cigarette out the window and into the bed of the truck. Not one of them ever burned that fast.
 
2013-04-16 02:50:34 PM

Ethertap: CSB time:

I once attempted to tell someone in a ford excursion, towing a boat, that their front passenger brake was on fire.  He casually flipped me the bird and rolled the SUV over about 15 seconds later when the tire popped.

I also once saw a semi truck and trailer on fire on I-4 northeast of Orlando, IIRC it was a fritos (if it wasn't fritos it was some sort of snack food) trailer and those things were flaming up good.


Years ago, during a thunderstorm on my way down to NC, both my wife and I tried to get this guys attention (he was driving a Suburban)...his drivers side rear wheel was lose, like...wobbling and missing lugnuts lose.  He promptly flipped us off then about 2 min later and after I backed off and got out of his way...off went his wheel.  He spun out, and went down this large embankment (about 150') the SUV ended up rolling a few times and spinning as it tumbled down the hill.  He walked away from it!!!  So we pull over to help, cops show and amberlaps show up, etc.  I give my statement that I saw is wobbly wheel and tried to warn him and that we were more or less told to "go fark ourselves"...the look on the NC State Police Officer's face was priceless...just shock.  He said something like "Wait, wait, wait a minute here...you are telling me that you and your wife tried warning him about his wheel and his only response is to flip you off and drive faster during this thunderstorm?...well you sure as hell can't fix stupid"

He was given a few tickets as I understand it, speeding, reckless driving, operating an unsafe vehicle, etc.
 
2013-04-16 03:14:59 PM
Saw a RAM pickup sputter to a stop with its still-spinning drive shaft dragging on the ground after breaking off from the rear differential. Nice trucks.
 
2013-04-16 03:29:42 PM

ecmoRandomNumbers: That would've been something to see. Every car fire I've ever seen was a Ford.


I've seen Renault LeCar's become LeCrisps a few times.

Older VW's burn to the ground pretty well, too.
 
2013-04-16 03:54:21 PM
Talk about your planned obsolescence...
 
2013-04-16 04:24:11 PM
$54,335 worth of truck

Wow.  You could buy an F-650 for that and get some actual work done.
 
2013-04-16 04:28:17 PM

Sin_City_Superhero: MaudlinMutantMollusk: ecmoRandomNumbers: That would've been something to see. Every car fire I've ever seen was a Ford.

I had to extinguish a fully engulfed Volkswagen beetle once

/flaming magnesium is fun

Ever seen a Corvette catch on fire? Fiberglass body.

[www.corvettec3.ca image 800x542]


Heh... yeah, they do burn good

/that magnesium gets kind of excitable when you spray it with water, though
 
2013-04-16 04:50:47 PM

skozlaw: Granted, it broke in a more spectacular fashion than most, but, still.... there's not much in this world farther from the concept of newsworthy than a Chrysler falling apart in some manner on the side of the interstate.


And here's the perfect example of someone talking out of their ass.
I see many more imports busted along side of Interstate 79 in my local commute than domestics.
If so, the domestic is generally 10 years old or older. Passed a busted Honda Minivan on the way home today in fact. Drove right by in my Chrysler.
/they were on the other side of the 4 lane.
 
2013-04-16 04:52:26 PM

pag1107: still-spinning drive shaft dragging on the ground after breaking off from the rear differential.


I just got a recall notice for my 2011 Dakota that basically says they might have forgotten to put glue on the rear pinion nut, and the rear driveshaft might separate from the axle.  The best part?

"Chrysler intends to repair your vehicle free of charge. The parts required to provide a permanent remedy for this condition are currently not available Chrysler will contact you again by mail, with a follow-up recall notice, when the remedy parts are available"

Makes me feel so safe driving it around right now. Oh, and it's the same part as the Ram 1500 with a 9.25" rear axle, so there's a recall on those too.
 
2013-04-16 05:23:52 PM
Unexplained fires are a matter for the courts.
 
2013-04-16 06:10:26 PM

Kurmudgeon: And here's the perfect example of someone talking out of their ass.



You were saying?

i49.tinypic.com
 
2013-04-16 06:23:54 PM

swaxhog: Unexplained fires are a matter for the courts.


Took long enough for a Canyonero reference.

Leaving satisfied.
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2013-04-16 06:31:02 PM
I can't wait for the Dateline NBC report.
 
2013-04-16 07:12:53 PM
Probably a bad fuel line?  I dunno, but I'm inclined to think the Chrysler guy is right that it's a rare thing.  Modern cars don't seem to be fire hazards the way older cars were.

If not, it's a shame.  I'd never buy a full-size pickup -- no use for one -- but the Rams are nice-looking trucks.
 
2013-04-16 07:20:37 PM

DoomPaul: Kurmudgeon: And here's the perfect example of someone talking out of their ass.


You were saying?

[i49.tinypic.com image 640x957]


Paul, I do believe you have proven to be the doom of the Kurmudgeon with that chart.

I haven't had any defects to report on my 2012 Tacoma so far, other than the horrible chemical/oil smell when I used the heater over the winter. Whatever solvent or oily coating that I suspect was on the heater core seems to have mostly "burned off" since then.

I got this truck to replace my '94 Toyota Pickup (used the caps there because they didn't seem to have names for their N. American trucks then).  I was somewhat reticent to buy another Toyota because the old one only lasted 18 years - dammit.
 
2013-04-16 07:51:02 PM
If this truck was made by Tesla, Elon Musk would have already sued the author of the article!
 
2013-04-16 08:17:01 PM

Kurmudgeon: I see many more imports busted along side of Interstate 79 in my local commute than domestics.


No, you don't.
 
2013-04-16 08:41:18 PM
Well, heater works good.
 
2013-04-16 09:38:40 PM

skozlaw: Kurmudgeon: I see many more imports busted along side of Interstate 79 in my local commute than domestics.

No, you don't.


He might, depends on how many recent immigrants or poor people live near him. Poor/immigrants on average can't afford good used cars, and imports are far more likely to be on the road longer than domestics so they take up a larger share of the sub-$2,000 market.  Since immigrants are also less likely to be able to afford tow service, they will tend to leave them on the side of the road until they can return to either fix the car or the state removes it.

At least, this is the story I've made up in my head about abandoned cars along I-95 in the Richmond/DC corridor.  Immigrants weren't really part of the story originally, but I've seen four minivans that were previously full of Hispanics (families or working men - doesn't seem to matter) who have somehow flipped a minivan onto its roof or side without injuring anyone.  They were all standing around the individual vans as I inched by the various traffic jams they caused at one point or another.

I'm still not sure how you flip a minivan, especially in such a manner that you don't kill anyone in the car or even damage it that much.  Two of them were near the Springfield Interchange, one was near Fredericksburg, and the other (which almost made sense) was at the bottom of an on-ramp in Stafford.
 
2013-04-16 10:27:20 PM

DoomPaul: You were saying?


Oh wow, JD Power, I guess I'm saying you think the same folks who are bought and paid for to test charcoal grilles and washing machines are somehow qualified to judge cars. Funny how they missed all the recent Toyota fun for example.
When you brought out JD PaidFor, you lost all automotive cred.
Sorry, You lose.
/good day sir.
//now be a good consumer and buy as you're told
 
2013-04-17 12:45:56 AM
Most cars these days have plastic fuel lines, not exactly confidence inspiring.

That being said, last summer I noted gas dripping from my fuel lines back by the tank.  Original rubber lines on a 71 Lemans and ethanol don't play well together

/f**k Big Corn
 
2013-04-17 11:14:49 AM

Lsherm: He might

...

No, he doesn't.

He's not driving to and from work every day keeping an eye on the berm of the road for cars and tallying them up according to their source of manufacture on the off-chance that a Fark thread is someday going to come along where such information could be relevant.

I mean... I get your point.... it's just that no, he doesn't. He just made it up on the spot so he had something to say.

Kurmudgeon:

images.sodahead.com

/ oooookay, Captain Crazyass
 
2013-04-17 12:15:18 PM

skozlaw: Lsherm: He might...

No, he doesn't.

He's not driving to and from work every day keeping an eye on the berm of the road for cars and tallying them up according to their source of manufacture on the off-chance that a Fark thread is someday going to come along where such information could be relevant.

I mean... I get your point.... it's just that no, he doesn't. He just made it up on the spot so he had something to say.


I agree with you unless if he is my neighbor who only notices when Fords that are on the side of the road, but completely ignores the Chevy that he passed before he entered the subdivision. Some people only recognizes the evidence that supports their cause.
 
Displayed 41 of 41 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report