If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Flixist)   The most in depth review of Jurassic Park 3D you'll find   (flixist.com) divider line 59
    More: Amusing  
•       •       •

4029 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 04 Apr 2013 at 10:11 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



59 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-04-04 10:14:59 AM
img.photobucket.com
 
2013-04-04 10:22:02 AM
I didn't like it in 2D.  I don't think the dated CGI effects will look any better in 3D, either.
 
2013-04-04 10:27:55 AM
You are dead to me, Nabb1.
 
2013-04-04 10:29:22 AM
Doesn't a movie have to be filmed with the 3D process for it to be really 3D?  I saw Nightmare Before Christmas in 3D a few years ago and it was pretty bad.
 
2013-04-04 10:33:02 AM

karnal: Doesn't a movie have to be filmed with the 3D process for it to be really 3D?  I saw Nightmare Before Christmas in 3D a few years ago and it was pretty bad.


Post 3-D conversions are about on par with looking through one of those old Viewfinders.

Now how many young'uns do I have to tell to get off my lawn?
 
2013-04-04 10:40:16 AM

Nabb1: I didn't like it in 2D.  I don't think the dated CGI effects will look any better in 3D, either.


I don't know... The graphics in Jurassic Park hold up very very well.  Especially since most of it is giant robots and guys in raptor suits.
tbh, some of the CGI from today looks worse than Jurassic Park.  Now, JP2, and 3.  Right there with ya.
 
2013-04-04 10:54:44 AM
armystrongstories.com
I love JP as a computer movie.

"Thissssth is Unixth.."

 
2013-04-04 10:56:14 AM
Hold on to your butts!

Not thrilled about the 3-D, but really excited just to get to see it in theaters again
 
2013-04-04 11:08:39 AM

Fribble: [armystrongstories.com image 420x280]
I love JP as a computer movie.

"Thissssth is Unixth.."


That didn't bother me as much as at should have, having read the book.

The Super Hacker Lex in the movie is way more preferable to Super Whiner Lex from the book.
 
2013-04-04 11:09:34 AM
I think that pretty much sums up every 3d film...
 
2013-04-04 11:09:54 AM

Fribble: "Thissssth is Unixth.."


Thisdom, I know thith!
 
2013-04-04 11:16:24 AM
People.  Stop going to see 3D movies.  Please.  Otherwise they will keep making them.
 
2013-04-04 11:19:52 AM

gunga galunga: The Super Hacker Lex in the movie is way more preferable to Super Whiner Lex from the book.


They switched the roles of the kids to accommodate Timmy's (Mazzello's) age.
/jeez, I know far too much about this movie
 
2013-04-04 11:24:33 AM
People are actually going to pay to see this......

PT Barnum laughing from the grave.
 
2013-04-04 11:24:36 AM

gas giant: gunga galunga: The Super Hacker Lex in the movie is way more preferable to Super Whiner Lex from the book.

They switched the roles of the kids to accommodate Timmy's (Mazzello's) age.
/jeez, I know far too much about this movie


That was one of the things I noticed as a kid, watching it. Still f*cking loved it. Dinosaurs! Good ones! To a kid born in the '70's it was the bees tits
 
2013-04-04 11:39:09 AM

gas giant: gunga galunga: The Super Hacker Lex in the movie is way more preferable to Super Whiner Lex from the book.

They switched the roles of the kids to accommodate Timmy's (Mazzello's) age.
/jeez, I know far too much about this movie


But still, Timmy in the movie is not even remotely the whiner that Lex is in the books.
 
2013-04-04 11:39:51 AM

gunga galunga: Lex is in the books

book
 
2013-04-04 11:41:28 AM
This is the first thing I've wanted to see in the theater since Avengers.   JP is great fun on a massive screen, and I can take my daughter.   Don't know about 3D though.
 
2013-04-04 11:42:37 AM

Brainsick: That was one of the things I noticed as a kid, watching it. Still f*cking loved it. Dinosaurs! Good ones! To a kid born in the '70's it was the bees tits


Yup, I was born in 78 and fed a constant dino-diet as a kid. That movie, as well as the book, were a major part of my youth.
 
2013-04-04 11:48:46 AM
I remember seeing this in the theaters. When it came out the theater I saw it in had just updated their sound system, and Jurassic Park was so loud it actually damaged the walls from all the vibrations.
 
2013-04-04 11:51:08 AM

gunga galunga: But still, Timmy in the movie is not even remotely the whiner that Lex is in the books.


You have that backwards. In the book, Tim was the hacker-whiner and Lex was a tough tomboy type.
 
2013-04-04 11:54:24 AM
"Jurassic Park" is stupid.

I think the people that like it are suffering from a nostalgia-induced reduction in their ability to determine when a movie sucks ass.

I was 20 when it came out, so I was old enough that I don't see that movie through the rose-colored glasses of childhood.

I will admit that the dinosaurs looked cool, and Goldblum and Neill were perfectly cast. But the rest of it? Stupid.
 
2013-04-04 11:58:37 AM

realmolo: "Jurassic Park" is stupid.

I think the people that like it are suffering from a nostalgia-induced reduction in their ability to determine when a movie sucks ass.

I was 20 when it came out, so I was old enough that I don't see that movie through the rose-colored glasses of childhood.

I will admit that the dinosaurs looked cool, and Goldblum and Neill were perfectly cast. But the rest of it? Stupid.


Compared to some of the movies coming out... like, say, Pain & Gain Jurrasic Park is a high brow film. 

This year is looking abysmal for new movies.
 
2013-04-04 11:58:48 AM

gas giant: gunga galunga: But still, Timmy in the movie is not even remotely the whiner that Lex is in the books.

You have that backwards. In the book, Tim was the hacker-whiner and Lex was a tough tomboy type.


It may have been over twenty years since I read the book, but I was reading it at the same time as a bunch of my friends were and the running joke between us was that we couldn't wait for Lex to get eaten.
 
2013-04-04 12:30:01 PM

realmolo: "Jurassic Park" is stupid.

I think the people that like it are suffering from a nostalgia-induced reduction in their ability to determine when a movie sucks ass.

I was 20 when it came out, so I was old enough that I don't see that movie through the rose-colored glasses of childhood.

I will admit that the dinosaurs looked cool, and Goldblum and Neill were perfectly cast. But the rest of it? Stupid.


I was 22 when it came out, and it was amazing.

/Get off my lawn, biatch.
 
2013-04-04 12:30:47 PM
Couple years ago at a trade show, I saw the full sized flat screens that use the same no glasses 3D tech nintendo uses in the 3DS. It works, it's beautiful. Philips makes them, they're called WOW. Yes there are some viewing angle limitations, but for two people or a gaming system, they would be great. Don't think they're on sale yet.

I don't see any reason the same tech couldn't be applied to motion pictures. Until they have a no glasses solution for movie theaters, we really should be boycotting these movies.
 
2013-04-04 12:33:28 PM
I'm teaching dinosaurs in several classes at the moment, so my students and I are going to meet up on the weekend to go and see this. Everyone has already seen it, but this way we'll be able to have a great discussion about the difference between what we're learning in class (anatomy, systematics, taphonomy) and Hollywood (too many points to go over in one post).

It's a good popcorn flick, and it brought paleontology back into the public eye... so it's a great teaching tool for me.
 
2013-04-04 12:45:40 PM

PanicMan: People.  Stop going to see 3D movies.  Please.  Otherwise they will keep making them.


No we're Luddites on par with not accepting talkies for not wanting to see crap thrown at the screen by Count Floyd.
 
2013-04-04 12:48:55 PM

realmolo: "Jurassic Park" is stupid.

I think the people that like it are suffering from a nostalgia-induced reduction in their ability to determine when a movie sucks ass.

I was 20 when it came out, so I was old enough that I don't see that movie through the rose-colored glasses of childhood.

I will admit that the dinosaurs looked cool, and Goldblum and Neill were perfectly cast. But the rest of it? Stupid.


I wish I could be cool, like you.
 
2013-04-04 01:00:46 PM
Laura Dern's vagina.....That is all!
 
2013-04-04 01:01:04 PM

Hebalo: realmolo: "Jurassic Park" is stupid.

I think the people that like it are suffering from a nostalgia-induced reduction in their ability to determine when a movie sucks ass.

I was 20 when it came out, so I was old enough that I don't see that movie through the rose-colored glasses of childhood.

I will admit that the dinosaurs looked cool, and Goldblum and Neill were perfectly cast. But the rest of it? Stupid.

I was 22 when it came out, and it was amazing.

/Get off my lawn, biatch.


I was 22 as well. While it was a step down from Jaws, it was still way beyond all the other blockbusters that were coming out at that time. It was a true game changer.

/only about 6 minutes of actual CGI in the movie
//rest is all Stan Winston
 
2013-04-04 01:09:56 PM

gunga galunga: I was 22 as well. While it was a step down from Jaws, it was still way beyond all the other blockbusters that were coming out at that time. It was a true game changer.

/only about 6 minutes of actual CGI in the movie
//rest is all Stan Winston


I remember seeing a documentary on the making, and how much of a biatch it was to film the first T-Rex scene (when it was raining). They had to constantly shut it down because if the animatronic T-Rex got any water on it, it would start shaking violently like it was having seizures.
 
2013-04-04 01:22:15 PM

JustFish: Philips makes them, they're called WOW.


Posting this from within Philips' network, so I'm getting a kick, etc.
 
2013-04-04 01:45:40 PM

Strategeryz0r: I remember seeing this in the theaters. When it came out the theater I saw it in had just updated their sound system, and Jurassic Park was so loud it actually damaged the walls from all the vibrations.


Yep, JP was the movie that put DTS audio on the map. I crashed a theater's employee screening, and the first ten seconds of the movie blew out half their speakers, including the entire center channel. We watched the whole thing sans dialogue (they refused to acknowledge anything was wrong).
 
2013-04-04 01:51:05 PM

Nabb1: I didn't like it in 2D.  I don't think the dated CGI effects will look any better in 3D, either.


The special effects in JP have held up amazingly well for a movie 20 years old. It's kind of ridiculous that no movie has done dinosaurs as well since (if you really want to see CGI dinosaurs done horribly wrong, check out "A Sound of Thunder" from 2005. Ugh...).

karnal: Doesn't a movie have to be filmed with the 3D process for it to be really 3D?  I saw Nightmare Before Christmas in 3D a few years ago and it was pretty bad.


Yep. Movies actually filmed in 3D tend to have far better quality 3D. The 2D-to-3D conversion process has been improving dramatically over the past 2 or 3 years, but it's still not up to the quality of native 3D, and I doubt it will be for awhile, if ever. By far the worst conversion job I've seen was "Clash of the Titans." It was one of the first movies to use the technology, and it definitely shows.
 
2013-04-04 01:57:46 PM
Jurassic Park was the Avatar of its day... boilerplate script and cliched characters but still very well made and highly watchable. An important movie because it was a technological milestone, not because it was great cinema...
 
2013-04-04 01:58:04 PM
Jurassic Park is a documentary, how else can you explain why the images of the dinosaurs look so real and haven't gotten worse in the 20 years since its release?

Study it out.


Moist Dinosaurs for everyone!
 
2013-04-04 01:59:04 PM

SpdrJay: People are actually going to pay to see this......

PT Barnum laughing from the grave.


And not just pay, but pay the 3D premium price.
 
2013-04-04 02:09:14 PM
My favorite movie when I was a kid, so, yeah, I'm definitely going to go see it again. Its pretty much the perfect comfort food movie for me.
 
2013-04-04 02:20:26 PM
Won tickets back in the day to see the preview.  when the first dinosaur showed up the entire theater in a collective breath said, "Whoa."  Have never before or since had that happen.

The kid wants to see it, but it will be between that and GI Joe this weekend.  I am thinking stuff exploding will win out.
 
2013-04-04 03:09:47 PM

cartersdad: Won tickets back in the day to see the preview.  when the first dinosaur showed up the entire theater in a collective breath said, "Whoa."  Have never before or since had that happen.


Same here. And the scenes where the T-Rex chomped down on Gennaro and when the raptor snapped at Lex as she was dangling from the air vent had the audience leap about a foot in the air.
 
2013-04-04 03:11:20 PM

gunga galunga: cartersdad: Won tickets back in the day to see the preview.  when the first dinosaur showed up the entire theater in a collective breath said, "Whoa."  Have never before or since had that happen.

Same here. And the scenes where the T-Rex chomped down on Gennaro and when the raptor snapped at Lex as she was dangling from the air vent had the audience leap about a foot in the air.


Oh, and the scene where the raptor burst from behind the panel after Laura Dern restored the power.
 
2013-04-04 03:19:14 PM

cartersdad: The kid wants to see it, but it will be between that and GI Joe this weekend.  I am thinking stuff exploding will win out.


Seriously?  Or are you saying it's your kid's fickle tastes that will sway it one way or the other?  'Cause if your kid is set on JP and you pick G.I. Joe for the 'splody stuff, you fail as a parent.  (Yes, I saw GI Joe...while it  feels more like a live-action version of the cartoon - especially the vehicles - even at that, it's an empty shell of a crappy movie.  Fist time in history a movie actually feels the lack of Channing farking Tatum.)  Go make a memory with your kid - even if it's a "This was a great movie when you were a kid, Dad?  Really?" kind of memory.
 
2013-04-04 03:21:32 PM

gunga galunga: cartersdad: Won tickets back in the day to see the preview.  when the first dinosaur showed up the entire theater in a collective breath said, "Whoa."  Have never before or since had that happen.

Same here. And the scenes where the T-Rex chomped down on Gennaro and when the raptor snapped at Lex as she was dangling from the air vent had the audience leap about a foot in the air.


The biggest jump was the kitchen scene, where the raptor hits the stainless steel cabinet reflecting Lex.
 
2013-04-04 03:26:16 PM

realmolo: "Jurassic Park" is stupid.

I think the people that like it are suffering from a nostalgia-induced reduction in their ability to determine when a movie sucks ass.

I was 20 when it came out, so I was old enough that I don't see that movie through the rose-colored glasses of childhood.

I will admit that the dinosaurs looked cool, and Goldblum and Neill were perfectly cast. But the rest of it? Stupid.


I've seen it recently and its still great in my opinion.  Go read some more Kardishian gossip or something.
 
2013-04-04 03:48:11 PM
Hate movies in 3D but I did see a 5 minute preview in IMAX and to my surprise, it looked pretty spectacular. Still have no plans to pay to see it again, and I really wish they'd stop with the 3D already.
 
2013-04-04 03:55:51 PM
Saw this movie as a kid. Loved it so much that I actually despised "Weird Al" for making fun of the movie. As I got older and read the book, I now enjoy the movie and love the book. The entire plot of the book thrown out but still done in a 30 second clip and quip....If anything, I'd love to remake both JP books.
 
2013-04-04 05:06:12 PM
Missed it at the theaters the first time around, so yeah...I'll be there.
 
2013-04-04 05:49:02 PM

gunga galunga: Same here. And the scenes where the T-Rex chomped down on Gennaro and when the raptor snapped at Lex as she was dangling from the air vent had the audience leap about a foot in the air.


That was my mother-in-law.  We took her and her husband and she shrieked and pulled her legs up into the seat with her.

Totally awesome.

I would pay good money to see this in the theater again even if it was just in 2D.  Some movies just do so much better on the big screen.

Hell I remember back in the day before home video where it was nothing for a movie to come back to the theater a year or two after initial release.

I would love to see the blockbusters back on the really big screen again.   Indiana Jones, Jaws, Close Encounters, etc.
 
2013-04-04 06:08:08 PM

BizarreMan: I would love to see the blockbusters back on the really big screen again.   Indiana Jones, Jaws, Close Encounters, etc.


Don't give them any ideas.
 
Displayed 50 of 59 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report