If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Deadline)   Despite bad reviews and terrible CGI and acting, Oz the Great and Powerful proves to be both at the box office, easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013   (deadline.com) divider line 76
    More: Followup, box offices, Good Movie, Silver Linings Playbook, Sam Raimi, L. Frank Baum, Dick Cook, Life of Pi, David Lindsay-Abaire  
•       •       •

1282 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 10 Mar 2013 at 10:50 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



76 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-03-10 10:30:28 AM
Despite all evidence to the contrary, Fark's resident box office return fanatic writes yet another contrarian headline from the cold, clammy recesses of the internet.  Seriously, when you aren't completely wrong about the numbers, you're claims about whichever movie are usually the opposite of the truth.  I basically use these headlines like I use Armond White reviews, so thanks for being a sub-standard barometer, I suppose.
 
2013-03-10 10:50:21 AM
Well Oz is sitting at 60% overall critics on rottentomatoes but since I didn't feel like seeing it I don't know if it's a soft 60% with dubious fresh reviews.  However, only 30% of the top reviewers were positive.  That does seem like an anomaly to have a 30% swing since the few others that I checked feature swings of plus or minus 5%.
 
2013-03-10 10:54:09 AM
Loved it.
 
2013-03-10 10:55:12 AM
Contains spoilers


Saw it on Friday on IMAX and in 3D.  It was dull until the last 30 minutes. If it were a superhero movie, it would have been the "Origin of the Green Witch as played by Meg Griffin".

The last 30 minutes were awesome enough to make up for the first 90. However, will not be seeing it again or buying the DVD.
 
2013-03-10 10:57:34 AM
I didn't see it in 3D so maybe that hurt my viewing of the movie. Didn't love it, but didn't hate it either.
 
2013-03-10 11:03:49 AM
60% on rotten tomatoes with 82% audience ratings isn't bad reviews. It isn't even the worst number 1 this year.
 
2013-03-10 11:07:47 AM

thamike: Despite all evidence to the contrary, Fark's resident box office return fanatic writes yet another contrarian headline from the cold, clammy recesses of the internet.  Seriously, when you aren't completely wrong about the numbers, you're claims about whichever movie are usually the opposite of the truth.  I basically use these headlines like I use Armond White reviews, so thanks for being a sub-standard barometer, I suppose.


I agree with all of this, and would like to add that the headline is a grammatical nightmare.
 
2013-03-10 11:10:28 AM
on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

Is that like being Beauty Queen of the Pigs?
 
2013-03-10 11:18:39 AM
Well, what else are you going to see?
 
2013-03-10 11:18:43 AM
This and other movies are benefitting from the virtual studio monopoly. If I want to go see a movie with my kid this month... Oz is about the only choice. So they make bank whether it's good or not. My moviegoing friends and I haven't done a movie outing in two months because there's nothing showing that doesn't just make you one shade dumber.
 
2013-03-10 11:21:17 AM

mxyzplk: This and other movies are benefitting from the virtual studio monopoly. If I want to go see a movie with my kid this month... Oz is about the only choice. So they make bank whether it's good or not. My moviegoing friends and I haven't done a movie outing in two months because there's nothing showing that doesn't just make you one shade dumber.


THIS ^^^

+1 for "just one shade dumber"
 
rpm
2013-03-10 11:23:28 AM
easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

In a year with Iron Man 3? Subby is delusional
 
2013-03-10 11:24:22 AM
on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

Tony Stark would like a word with you.
 
2013-03-10 11:26:39 AM

8 inches: Well, what else are you going to see?


Yeah, early March isn't exactly where they dump the year's best movies.

/haven't seen it- will probably wait to rent it
 
2013-03-10 11:27:09 AM
Loved it.  Always do the opposite of what professional critics suggest.
 
2013-03-10 11:28:52 AM

rpm: easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

In a year with Iron Man 3? Subby is delusional


parkerlewis: on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

Tony Stark would like a word with you.


I believe Mr Stark's comment has already been aired

" I'm not afraid of you. No politics here: just good old fashioned revenge! "
 
2013-03-10 11:37:41 AM
Saw it last night. Gf liked it. While i didn't hate it, i didn't enjoy a single minute of it either.
 
2013-03-10 11:43:55 AM

EnviroDude: Contains spoilers


Saw it on Friday on IMAX and in 3D.  It was dull until the last 30 minutes. If it were a superhero movie, it would have been the "Origin of the Green Witch as played by Meg Griffin".

The last 30 minutes were awesome enough to make up for the first 90. However, will not be seeing it again or buying the DVD.


The cover story in Entertainment Weekly proudly declared that the identity of the Wicked Witch was a big secret they were not going to share. The small write-up on costumes on the very next page didn't have the same restriction. Good editing.
 
2013-03-10 11:46:08 AM

texdent: I didn't see it in 3D so maybe that hurt my viewing of the movie. Didn't love it, but didn't hate it either.


That seems to be the general consensus from what I've read. It appears to be getting a resounding "meh".
 
2013-03-10 11:47:18 AM
I wonder when the government will have to bail one of these companies out.
 
2013-03-10 11:59:34 AM

EnviroDude: Contains spoilers


Saw it on Friday on IMAX and in 3D.  It was dull until the last 30 minutes. If it were a superhero movie, it would have been the "Origin of the Green Witch as played by Meg Griffin".

The last 30 minutes were awesome enough to make up for the first 90. However, will not be seeing it again or buying the DVD.


im trying to decide between seeing this this afternoon or jack the giant slayer... ill probably go with jack
 
2013-03-10 12:06:34 PM
I just found out that they made a Wizard of Oz prequel with Mila Kunis and James Franco.

Sometimes the real world feels wrong.
 
2013-03-10 12:08:21 PM
This movie looks like it was created by the team that did Disney's Alice in Wonderland. That movie that no one admits to liking but made over $300 million at the box office.
 
2013-03-10 12:09:57 PM
I saw it last night because the wife wanted to; it's awful.

James Franco isn't believable; his acting--if you can call it that--sucks balls. Mila Kunis isn't much better. The story is boring and it lacks charm.

avoid if you can.
 
2013-03-10 12:11:11 PM

Vexed Thespian: EnviroDude: Contains spoilers


Saw it on Friday on IMAX and in 3D.  It was dull until the last 30 minutes. If it were a superhero movie, it would have been the "Origin of the Green Witch as played by Meg Griffin".

The last 30 minutes were awesome enough to make up for the first 90. However, will not be seeing it again or buying the DVD.

im trying to decide between seeing this this afternoon or jack the giant slayer... ill probably go with jack


If those are literally your only choices I'd go with Oz. It's getting a "meh", but Jack's getting a "bleh".
 
2013-03-10 12:13:23 PM
I saw a review comparing it to Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland; is the movie actually that awful?
 
2013-03-10 12:15:18 PM

FeedTheCollapse: I saw a review comparing it to Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland; is the movie actually that awful?


It falls into the So Bad, it's Good territory.
 
2013-03-10 12:18:26 PM

Carth: This movie looks like it was created by the team that did Disney's Alice in Wonderland. That movie that no one admits to liking but made over $300 million at the box office.


even worse: it made over a billion dollars worldwide and was one of, if not the, top grossing movie that year. I don't get it, that movie was farking terrible. It could've been good, but it actually felt more like the Wizard of Oz (specifically, the book Wicked) with all references to Dorothy stricken out of the screenplay and Alice written over top.
 
2013-03-10 12:18:37 PM
Does anybody remember Disney's 1985 Oz sequel where, naturally, nobody believes Dorothy's story and they put her in therapy with electro-shock treatments? Yes, really. Sounds delightfully farked up.
 
2013-03-10 12:23:44 PM

8 inches: Well, what else are you going to see?


Dead Man Down?
 
2013-03-10 12:26:39 PM

thamike: Despite all evidence to the contrary, Fark's resident box office return fanatic writes yet another contrarian headline from the cold, clammy recesses of the internet.  Seriously, when you aren't completely wrong about the numbers, you're claims about whichever movie are usually the opposite of the truth.  I basically use these headlines like I use Armond White reviews, so thanks for being a sub-standard barometer, I suppose.


i18.photobucket.com
 
2013-03-10 12:26:40 PM

texdent: FeedTheCollapse: I saw a review comparing it to Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland; is the movie actually that awful?

It falls into the So Bad, it's Good territory.


hm, well, that's an improvement over Alice In Wonderland, at least....
 
2013-03-10 12:27:48 PM

8 inches: Well, what else are you going to see?


nothing?  or maybe one of the movies i already own on dvd?  if all the movies at the theater look like crap, don't go to the theater.  or maybe i'm just weird.
 
2013-03-10 12:28:42 PM

Hoboclown: 8 inches: Well, what else are you going to see?

Dead Man Down?


I've been hearing good things about Stoker. Unfortunately it's in limited release.
 
2013-03-10 12:30:13 PM
I prefer Metacritic.
 
2013-03-10 12:39:12 PM

rpm: easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

In a year with Iron Man 3? Subby is delusional


Until the next film comes out, which will then be the next highest grossing of 2013.

/you completely missed the joke.
 
2013-03-10 12:41:23 PM

czetie: on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

Is that like being Beauty Queen of the Pigs?


Of the busted ditch pigs, to steal a quote from the porn thread yesterday
 
2013-03-10 12:42:39 PM
img42.imageshack.us

BEGONE WITH YOUR MUSIC TAB HEADLINE HACKERY
 
2013-03-10 12:43:01 PM

FeedTheCollapse: Carth: This movie looks like it was created by the team that did Disney's Alice in Wonderland. That movie that no one admits to liking but made over $300 million at the box office.

even worse: it made over a billion dollars worldwide and was one of, if not the, top grossing movie that year. I don't get it, that movie was farking terrible. It could've been good, but it actually felt more like the Wizard of Oz (specifically, the book Wicked) with all references to Dorothy stricken out of the screenplay and Alice written over top.


I can't imagine  Disney cares what people online complain about if the movies gross that much. It is like movie goers keep punching themselves in the face, and complain it hurts, but don't stop.
 
2013-03-10 12:44:29 PM
I've read they're already planning a sequel, though Sam Raimi might not be involved.
 
2013-03-10 12:54:40 PM
The little china girl doll I felt was the heart and soul of the movie...

I guess it bodes poorly that a cgi character is the best actor in a movie...

Was expecting the green witch to ask if Padme was alright and use the force...

But I really enjoyed the movie all in all. I think Franco did a fine job playing a con man.

/yes, I compared the downfall if the green witch to Anakin
 
2013-03-10 12:57:53 PM

rpm: easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

In a year with Iron Man 3? Subby is delusional


Did you know something can hold a record for a short period of time?
 
2013-03-10 12:58:24 PM

mariner314: I guess it bodes poorly that a cgi character is the best actor in a movie...


It makes sense.

4.bp.blogspot.com

This was the best character in Alice in Wonderland.  Same cgi team.  I guess that actually bodes well for them, at least.
 
2013-03-10 01:03:13 PM

Tyrone Slothrop: If those are literally your only choices I'd go with Oz. It's getting a "meh", but Jack's getting a "bleh".


Just the previews of "Jack" were enough for me to say, "Maybe not."
 
2013-03-10 01:23:42 PM

Nem Wan: Does anybody remember Disney's 1985 Oz sequel where, naturally, nobody believes Dorothy's story and they put her in therapy with electro-shock treatments? Yes, really. Sounds delightfully farked up.


I saw that when I was 6. I still haven't recovered.
 
2013-03-10 01:41:34 PM

rpm: easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

In a year with Iron Man 3? Subby is delusional


Yeah, pretty sure Iron Man 3, Hangover III (although they all suck ass) and the second Hobbit movie would love to differ.
 
2013-03-10 01:44:47 PM
I'll save my energy for Burt Wonderstone
 
2013-03-10 01:46:11 PM

JayR30: rpm: easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

In a year with Iron Man 3? Subby is delusional

Yeah, pretty sure Iron Man 3, Hangover III (although they all suck ass) and the second Hobbit movie would love to differ.


I'm sure Man of Steel, Fast and the Furious 6, Star Trek 2, and Pacific Rim will also make an insane amount.
 
2013-03-10 01:51:56 PM

texdent: JayR30: rpm: easily winning the weekend and on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

In a year with Iron Man 3? Subby is delusional

Yeah, pretty sure Iron Man 3, Hangover III (although they all suck ass) and the second Hobbit movie would love to differ.

I'm sure Man of Steel, Fast and the Furious 6, Star Trek 2, and Pacific Rim will also make an insane amount.


Yes, but Smaug will still kill them all and sleep on the golden hoard.
 
2013-03-10 02:08:07 PM
I'm guessing most of the bad reviews were butthurt because of the lack of song and dance numbers?


/Probably the only person alive who's never liked the '39 movie.
 
2013-03-10 02:12:35 PM

Old enough to know better: I'm guessing most of the bad reviews were butthurt because of the lack of song and dance numbers?


/Probably the only person alive who's never liked the '39 movie.


what does it feel like to lack a soul? Hell, I hate musicals, but The Wizard of Oz is a-okay with me.
 
2013-03-10 02:14:08 PM
I'll agree that the acting may have been lacking, but I do think it had a really good story to tell.  I happened to like the Prequel to WoO story that they had there, even if Mila Kunis acted like she was on heroin for the first half and the other witch seemed to be reading off of cue cards the entire god damned movie.
 
2013-03-10 02:17:44 PM

EnviroDude: Contains spoilers


Saw it on Friday on IMAX and in 3D.  It was dull until the last 30 minutes. If it were a superhero movie, it would have been the "Origin of the Green Witch as played by Meg Griffin".

The last 30 minutes were awesome enough to make up for the first 90. However, will not be seeing it again or buying the DVD.


I saw it just in 3d, because the 2d was sold out. It honestly wasn't that bad of movie, and I didn't think the cgi was that fail. Yes some parts weren't that good. Also I thought acting was ok, and that the actors were trying to play as they were actors in the 1930s. At least in the beginning of the film. I think the movie would of been better if they explained a little more detail of the origins of sister witches more, and not just have a quick cop out on how one was in power, and the other one was so naive. Then she becomes the bad guy at the end wtf? I thought the ending was great, and it is worth it alone to see the cameo of Bruce Campbell.

So overall it was Groovy.

/The porcelain china doll child was badass.
 
2013-03-10 02:18:48 PM

jso2897: thamike: Despite all evidence to the contrary, Fark's resident box office return fanatic writes yet another contrarian headline from the cold, clammy recesses of the internet.  Seriously, when you aren't completely wrong about the numbers, you're claims about whichever movie are usually the opposite of the truth.  I basically use these headlines like I use Armond White reviews, so thanks for being a sub-standard barometer, I suppose.

[i18.photobucket.com image 624x416]


He signed up in 2001, more specifically the  3,366th person to sign up here. You need to step away from the keyboard.
 
2013-03-10 02:21:16 PM

Old enough to know better: /Probably the only person alive who's never liked the '39 movie.


Trust me, you have friends.  I think Citizen Kane is over hyped too.  Not that either wasn't a cinematic cornerstone  and an important achievement.  I feel the same way about Gone with the Wind.  I get the significance, I'm just not a fan.
 
2013-03-10 02:22:42 PM

soupbone: He signed up in 2001, more specifically the 3,366th person to sign up here. You need to step away from the keyboard.


You need to look at my profile.
 
2013-03-10 02:27:09 PM

thamike: soupbone: He signed up in 2001, more specifically the 3,366th person to sign up here. You need to step away from the keyboard.

You need to look at my profile.


Sorry, I thought you were talking to me!  Maybe I should step away from the keyboard.
 
2013-03-10 02:54:14 PM
Saw it yesterday with the wife, we really enjoyed it. I'd recommend it to people looking for good fun at the theater.
 
2013-03-10 02:57:37 PM

mariner314: The little china girl doll I felt was the heart and soul of the movie...

I guess it bodes poorly that a cgi character is the best actor in a movie...

Was expecting the green witch to ask if Padme was alright and use the force...

But I really enjoyed the movie all in all. I think Franco did a fine job playing a con man.

/yes, I compared the downfall if the green witch to Anakin


I thought the same thing.
 
2013-03-10 03:24:49 PM

parkerlewis: on its way to being the highest-grossing film of 2013

Tony Stark would like a word with you.


Funnily enough, RDJ was originally cast as Oz in this one before Franco.
 
2013-03-10 03:29:37 PM
So if I'm reading this thread correctly, people here all think movies should have perfect acting by everyone ever or else they're horrible.

The funniest part is, the part that everyone complained about before it opened - that James Franco sucks - actually is one of the  better parts of the movie.  He IS a con man IRL when it comes to getting acting roles, why the fark couldn't he play one in the movie??  And yes, Mila goes from being all fluffy girly "I'm innocent and not taking sides" to Meg on crack in a matter of seconds.  And given other roles I've seen her in, I'd say Raimi & the writers are more to blame for making Weisz's character so damned wooden than Weisz is.

It was not as bad as Fark Movie SnobsTM make it out to be.  Hell, my cousin - who is a non-Fark movie snob who actually seeks out art films & Oscar bait - liked it, so it can't be that bad.
 
2013-03-10 03:38:38 PM
I think the biggest issue with this movie is that we already have much more worthy prequel to the Garland movie, but no one has gotten around to making it into a movie yet. From what I've heard about the plot of this movie, it is nowhere near as fun as Wicked was at reimagining the relationship between Glinda and Ephelba and actually throwing in a twist at the end.
 
2013-03-10 04:08:49 PM
Decided to skip it when all the actors interviewed were "bragging" that they have never seen the original.  Not even going to give them the dignity of a torrented download.
 
2013-03-10 04:50:48 PM
Saw both Oz and Jack this weekend.

Enjoyed Oz quite a bit.  Franco isn't a great actor, but he was okay.  I really enjoyed it.

As for Jack, there was barely any plot there (although more than in a Transformers movie) but it was pretty good as far as big CGI sequences go....
 
2013-03-10 05:46:40 PM
Oz is like Alice but with better villains. It's still pretty but I didn't see it in 3D unlike Alice. Franco was miscast to me and considering his next role is in Spring Breakers, he fits more into that movie than this one.
 
2013-03-10 06:36:39 PM
It scared my kids big time, o the point that we left, having the Jurassic park IMAX preview didn't help
 
2013-03-10 07:22:01 PM

FriarReb98: So if I'm reading this thread correctly, people here all think movies should have perfect acting by everyone ever or else they're horrible.


Then apparently you're not reading this thread correctly.

But thank you for perfectly illustrating the Fallacy of the Excluded Middle.
 
2013-03-10 08:45:57 PM
I saw OZ in 3D this weekend and enjoyed it. Quit expecting Citizen Kane out of every movie that Hollywood spits out. Sometime you just go to a movie to have a bit of fun.
 
Ash
2013-03-11 02:02:34 AM

thamike: thamike: soupbone: He signed up in 2001, more specifically the 3,366th person to sign up here. You need to step away from the keyboard.

You need to look at my profile.

Sorry, I thought you were talking to me!  Maybe I should step away from the keyboard.


I swear, these newbies...
 
2013-03-11 02:03:25 AM

saminman: mariner314: The little china girl doll I felt was the heart and soul of the movie...

I guess it bodes poorly that a cgi character is the best actor in a movie...

Was expecting the green witch to ask if Padme was alright and use the force...

But I really enjoyed the movie all in all. I think Franco did a fine job playing a con man.

/yes, I compared the downfall if the green witch to Anakin

I thought the same thing.


Your Jib, I like the cut of it.
 
2013-03-11 10:03:44 AM
Me, my 13 year old, and my 6 year old all loved it.

Yes, it had some scares and loud noises.
 
2013-03-11 11:00:00 AM
Saw it last night with the girlfriend. I really enjoyed it.
 
2013-03-11 12:29:44 PM
Did a double feature with Oz and Jack with my wife Saturday. Enjoyed both. I don't doubt I'll enjoy Iron Man III more, but it was worth seeing both movies.
 
2013-03-12 12:34:55 AM
The movie was retarded written by a retarded 5th grader made for retarded families who convince themselves that even bad movies and bad actors are still OK to watch because they are retarded.

Shameful movie. Vapid, disjointed, hollow, fake, pile of shiat.
 
2013-03-12 05:21:29 AM

fisker: The movie was retarded written by a retarded 5th grader made for retarded families who convince themselves that even bad movies and bad actors are still OK to watch because they are retarded.

Shameful movie. Vapid, disjointed, hollow, fake, pile of shiat.


Dude, it's a Wizard of Oz spinoff. We aren't really talking Gogol source material here.
 
2013-03-12 07:50:57 AM

fisker: The movie was retarded written by a retarded 5th grader made for retarded families who convince themselves that even bad movies and bad actors are still OK to watch because they are retarded.

Shameful movie. Vapid, disjointed, hollow, fake, pile of shiat.


We're all adults here, don't hold back please!

:D
 
Displayed 76 of 76 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report