If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Huffington Post)   The reviews are in, and not only is Seth McFarlane near universally considered to be the worst Oscars host ever, but it also looks like he killed his chances of ever again getting a date   (huffingtonpost.com) divider line 371
    More: Fail, Seth MacFarlane, Josh Brolin, pick up lines, Tom Rothman  
•       •       •

15637 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 25 Feb 2013 at 9:32 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



371 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-02-25 11:51:17 AM  

rickythepenguin: thecpt: As for Archer, if they flash to him getting a tattoo, you will see that on him every time afterwards.

huh.  never noticed that.  on the other hand, IT IS A TV SHOW, RELAX.


ouch man, ouch.  Tv is like my life man.  I'm more offended than when Seth made that ONE joke that was over the line or something.

Anyways, I'm not saying its a deal breaker but its refreshing to see a show do that every once in a while.
 
2013-02-25 11:52:26 AM  
I don't think it was Seth that needed an editor as much as the producers. Catherine Zeta Jones and Kristen Chenowith were gushing on the red carpet about their friends producing the show. And guess what we got? A "tribute" to movie musicals with examples from the past five years with the producers' friends, a song at the end in which they couldn't cut to the audience because everyone left the theater, and Michelle Obama. Listen, I'm a big fan of the Obamas but she didn't belong there.

I wouldn't mind seeing Seth do it again but the producers have got to go. One year was plenty with them in charge.
 
2013-02-25 11:53:44 AM  

thecpt: ouch man, ouch. Tv is like my life man. I'm more offended than when Seth made that ONE joke that was over the line or something.



that reminds me of the time when -- FLASHBACK!

no seriously, i never noticed how Archer "commits" to flashbacks as you pointed out.  i'll have to start keeping an eye on that.
 
2013-02-25 11:54:51 AM  

killershark: Listen, I'm a big fan of the Obamas but she didn't belong there.



i saw that....she looks really good with bangs.  she has those really crazy eyebrows that don't work for her.  she looked really farking hot with bangs.
 
2013-02-25 11:55:56 AM  
Ok over sensitive ladies. You don't speak for me. Even my sister thought some of the bits were funny. And the Boobs song was the obvious joke that for years anyone else was just too polite to say out loud. Rhianna joke was groan inducing but was ended with a little chuckle from me. I think he was pretty funny and even my easily offended parents who had never seen an episode of Family Guy liked him. My mom especially really liked his song and dance numbers (though she had no opinion on Boobs) and loved the Nazi bit.
 
2013-02-25 11:58:49 AM  

FlashHarry: theurge14: My hate for Family Guy burns with the heat of a thousand suns so I'm getting a kick.

why do you hate unfunny?


Why ask why?
 
2013-02-25 11:59:07 AM  

mcnguyen: I've always thought Justin Timberlake would be a great choice for host.  Based on his SNL stints and what interviews and other award show appearances I've seen, the guy can be quite funny and handles the spotlight with ease.  It think the Franco disaster (Hathaway wasn't horrible but gets lumped in with him), a ploy to try to appeal to the younger demographic, caused them to overreact with Crystal the next year.   McFarlane was myeh and probably a failure as a host.  Timberlake could get the gen x/y/millenials without spooking the boomers too much, I think.  But what do I know.


Actually, IIRC, Crystal was a last-minute replacement for Eddie Murphy after he backed out because the producer -- Bruce Radner maybe? -- was kicked to the curb for some offensive comments somewhere. I also think Timberlake would be pretty good as well as maybe Neil Patrick Harris. And I hope they weren't joking about Amy and Tina -- they were awesome at the Globes.
 
2013-02-25 12:00:01 PM  

killershark: I don't think it was Seth that needed an editor as much as the producers. Catherine Zeta Jones and Kristen Chenowith were gushing on the red carpet about their friends producing the show. And guess what we got? A "tribute" to movie musicals with examples from the past five years with the producers' friends


Agreed.  I think I read that the producers of the show were the producers of Chicago?  That explains a lot.  I was expecting them to announce Chicago as best picture again at the end.
 
2013-02-25 12:02:14 PM  

rynthetyn: gilgigamesh: What makes anyone think he is interested in dating women?   MacFarlane is so deep in the closet he managed to find the Zubaz I lost 25 years ago.

/didn't watch the Oscars

He actually had Shatner make a joke about that in the opening bit. The boobs song had the backing of the LA gay men's chorus and Shatner did a joke about how MacFarlane would be a regular member by 2015.


Is there an LA straight men's chorus? We Saw You Boobs could be their farking theme song.
 
2013-02-25 12:02:34 PM  
I'm not his biggest fan, but I think a lot of people really wanted to see him crash and burn.
 
2013-02-25 12:03:17 PM  

killershark: I don't think it was Seth that needed an editor as much as the producers. Catherine Zeta Jones and Kristen Chenowith were gushing on the red carpet about their friends producing the show. And guess what we got? A "tribute" to movie musicals with examples from the past five years with the producers' friends, a song at the end in which they couldn't cut to the audience because everyone left the theater, and Michelle Obama. Listen, I'm a big fan of the Obamas but she didn't belong there.

I wouldn't mind seeing Seth do it again but the producers have got to go. One year was plenty with them in charge.


For what it's worth, I agree with this analysis, but some of Seth's material also needed to be trimmed or eliminated. (On the other hand, perhaps a stronger presence at the helm would have solved that problem.)
 
2013-02-25 12:05:31 PM  

MysticSavage: I'm not his biggest fan, but I think a lot of people really wanted to see him crash and burn.


And he didn't, so they had to gin up fake outrage.
 
2013-02-25 12:07:06 PM  
Michelle Obama presenting the Academy Award for Best Film was utterly gimmicky and unnecessary. Was it really important for her to be the one doing it? It sure as hell doesn't help dispel the idea that the Oscars are absolutely political.
 
2013-02-25 12:07:53 PM  
And I would hold the opinions of people who actually spent their time watching the Academy Awards show in high regard because.......???????
 
2013-02-25 12:08:37 PM  

Bith Set Me Up: Michelle Obama presenting the Academy Award for Best Film was utterly gimmicky and unnecessary. Was it really important for her to be the one doing it? It sure as hell doesn't help dispel the idea that the Oscars are absolutely political.


actually, i agree with this.
 
2013-02-25 12:09:00 PM  

ChrisDe: Seth, you're not Sinatra.


I'm not a fan of Seth, but I'll admit his singing intro to that one Futurama movie had me convinced I was really listening to Ol' Blue Eyes. But I am not a Sinatra buff, and I'm sure there are some who will say they knew it was an impersonation right away.
 
2013-02-25 12:10:17 PM  

Valiente: stonicus: HotIgneous Intruder: Because everyone loves jokes about Jews, nazis, and gays.

A gay jewish nazi walks into a bar and says "Who do I have to gas to get some cock around here?  Oy vey!!"

Not as good as "my uncle died in the camps...he fell out of the tower when he gave a guy a reacharound."


ftfy.
 
2013-02-25 12:13:18 PM  

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: Valiente: No, but making a show tune of all the actresses present who've put their tits out in the name of Hollywood "art" is pretty amusing. See "Barbershop quartet You've Got Aids song".

[i49.tinypic.com image 570x809]

Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.


Too much woman for you to handle?
 
2013-02-25 12:14:03 PM  
Leaked shortlist for Host of next year's Oscars

Dave Chapelle
Mindy Kaling
Kristen Stewart
That talking Husky from Youtube
Bob Hope's headstone
 
2013-02-25 12:15:22 PM  
Seth MacFarlane was funnier at the Oscars than any episode of Family Guy I have ever seen.

That said, he was only mildly amusing.
 
2013-02-25 12:18:46 PM  

Hyperbolic Hyperbole: Seth MacFarlane was funnier at the Oscars than any episode of Family Guy I have ever seen.

That said, he was only mildly amusing.


Go on...
 
2013-02-25 12:19:12 PM  
We all enjoyed him at our party. Some people just don't have untaste.
 
2013-02-25 12:21:50 PM  

Bith Set Me Up: Michelle Obama presenting the Academy Award for Best Film was utterly gimmicky and unnecessary. Was it really important for her to be the one doing it? It sure as hell doesn't help dispel the idea that the Oscars are absolutely political.


You're badly misusing the word "political". The Oscars are not "political" in the same literal sense that the government is political.
 
2013-02-25 12:24:39 PM  
As someone who once did this drawing in DrawSomething,
i47.tinypic.com
I actually thought the Rihanna joke was pretty goddamn funny. Family Guy sucks ass, but I have to admit that Seth's hosting was pretty good. Griping about the Oscar host is just one of those things that people do, like saying SNL hasn't been funny for (current year) - (year when you were 18) years, or Starbucks coffee tastes "burnt," or...well, saying Family Guys sucks. It seems to be expected.
 
2013-02-25 12:25:12 PM  

Bartleby the Scrivener: Leaked shortlist for Host of next year's Oscars

Dave Chapelle
Mindy Kaling
Kristen Stewart
That talking Husky from Youtube
Bob Hope's headstone


That's some funny Scrivening.

You make a good point obliquely. I have to modify my former claim that nobody could do a worse job than Franco. The late Kristen Stewart would be marginally worse.

I now officially modify my point to read "nobody still alive could do a worse job than Franco "
 
2013-02-25 12:27:51 PM  

tomasso: The late Kristen Stewart would be marginally worse.


Huh? Is that a joke I'm not getting?  Pretty sure the Twilight chick isn't dead.
 
2013-02-25 12:29:33 PM  
I thought Seth McFarlane was hilarious last night.
 
2013-02-25 12:30:45 PM  
Stephen Colbert would make a good Oscars host...
 
2013-02-25 12:31:34 PM  

mcnguyen: killershark: I don't think it was Seth that needed an editor as much as the producers. Catherine Zeta Jones and Kristen Chenowith were gushing on the red carpet about their friends producing the show. And guess what we got? A "tribute" to movie musicals with examples from the past five years with the producers' friends

Agreed.  I think I read that the producers of the show were the producers of Chicago?  That explains a lot.  I was expecting them to announce Chicago as best picture again at the end.


You should have seen the faces over here across the pond.
 
2013-02-25 12:32:07 PM  
A lot of the ire seems to be that MacFarlane said things that everyone knows, but has been too polite to say out loud.

If producers and directors and actors and actresses are so outraged, perhaps they should take a look at the content that they produce.
 
2013-02-25 12:32:19 PM  

DoBeDoBeDo: SlothB77:

The 2013 show was the highest rated Oscars since 2007′s 27.7/42 when Ellen DeGeneres hosted.

seven forty-seconds of a tenth?


You need a tutor.
 
2013-02-25 12:32:54 PM  

hubiestubert: A lot of the ire seems to be that MacFarlane said things that everyone knows, but has been too polite to say out loud.


bingo
 
2013-02-25 12:37:07 PM  
Can we just turn this into another Jennifer Lawrence thread?
 
2013-02-25 12:39:36 PM  

hubiestubert: A lot of the ire seems to be that MacFarlane said things that everyone knows, but has been too polite to say out loud.

If producers and directors and actors and actresses are so outraged, perhaps they should take a look at the content that they produce.


How dare he say facts and truths!!!  Just because I got paid a lot of money to show my boobs in a medium that is intended to be seen by anyone who wants to see it doesn't mean it is anyone else's business!
 
2013-02-25 12:40:26 PM  
making a show tune of all the actresses present who've put their tits out in the name of Hollywood "art" is pretty amusing

cache2.artprintimages.com
 
2013-02-25 12:41:15 PM  
Most of his jokes last night were just... tired.  You knew the punch line.  The 'edgy' ones fell flat.  Oddly enough, he was funnier when he was onstage as Ted.

I expected a train wreck -- hoped for something at least as interesting as Ricky Gervais.  In the end though, it was just very dull.  It wasn't just him either -- the entire show was, for the most part, surprisingly dull.

It was painful.  I made it to Best Director and then gave up.
 
2013-02-25 12:41:24 PM  
Well, HuffPo, let's see YOUR choice to host the Oscars and hit a comedic home run while simultaneously trying to cater to the delicate sensibilities of the Hollywood elite on the year's most glamorous night (insert jagoff gesture here). MacFarlane did fine. And if the show was watered down any more it would hydrate marathon runners.

For future reference, do we NEED 71 musical numbers? And wasn't there supposed to be a segment featuring everyone who played Bond?
 
2013-02-25 12:42:27 PM  
Wow, I haven't read an article that angry and butt-hurt since
 
2013-02-25 12:43:03 PM  
Seth MacFarlane was GREAT as an Oscars host!
I haven't seen something so funny since that time I saw
 
2013-02-25 12:48:10 PM  

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.


The joke was aimed at Clooney, not at her. And he said nothing at all explicet, the girl probably didnt even get it. Know what Ferris says about Cameron and a lump of coal? Im thinking that statement probably applies to you as well. Now good day.
 
2013-02-25 12:48:14 PM  

B.L.Z. Bub: Abe Vigoda's Ghost: [melissa_mccarthy.jpg]
Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.

Too much woman for you to handle?


Melissa would be a crazy party in bed. I wouldn't even mind the cake frosting and potato chip crumbs everywhere.
 
2013-02-25 12:49:42 PM  
Subby, I'm sure he's laughing on his way to bang Emilia Clarke.
 
2013-02-25 12:51:23 PM  

Bartleby the Scrivener: Leaked shortlist for Host of next year's Oscars

Dave Chapelle
Mindy Kaling
Kristen Stewart
That talking Husky from Youtube
Bob Hope's headstone

Geico lizard
Ted
 
2013-02-25 12:51:37 PM  

MikeSass: And I would hold the opinions of people who actually spent their time watching the Academy Awards show in high regard because.......???????


Okay I understand how cool you're trying to be, but this makes no sense.  You don't regard the opinions of people who watched the Oscars when they are talking specifically about the Oscars?
 
2013-02-25 12:55:16 PM  

Just_a_Bear: Bartleby the Scrivener: Leaked shortlist for Host of next year's Oscars

Dave Chapelle
Mindy Kaling
Kristen Stewart
That talking Husky from Youtube
Bob Hope's headstone
Geico lizard
Ted

Flo
 
2013-02-25 12:56:30 PM  

Mugato: stonicus: You really think the host writes all the jokes and/or has carte blanche to say or do anything they like?

I think for a show that has everything planned to the second like the Oscars, I'm pretty sure they have to approve the script and anything he says or does. Then again, it's live.



NPR interviewed one of the comedians who writes for the Oscars the other day. It's a combination of scripted stuff and teleprompted jokes a team of comedians backstage writes as the night progresses. I'm guessing Seth probably had some input, but Seth didn't write all the jokes or come up with all the bits.

Basically, the team of comedians writes a bunch of stuff beforehand, then during the show they all gather around a monitor back stage and sneak a couple in live as the night progresses so the host can have some jokes about things which happen during the ceremonies.
 
2013-02-25 12:58:54 PM  

WhiskeySticks: I wonder how long McFarlane and Travolta ended up making out after the show.


McFarlane, the lucky bastard, is hitting Kalisse from Game Of Thrones from what Ive heard. Travolta was prob rushing to make a massage appt.
 
2013-02-25 12:58:59 PM  
I'm not a fan of McFarlane or of Family Guy. That said, I didn't think he was horrible. My main complaint is that the show is too damn long.
 
2013-02-25 12:59:31 PM  

i upped my meds-up yours: B.L.Z. Bub: Abe Vigoda's Ghost: [melissa_mccarthy.jpg]
Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.

Too much woman for you to handle?

Melissa would be a crazy party in bed. I wouldn't even mind the cake frosting and potato chip crumbs everywhere.


Mmm...cake frosting and potato chips. I'm assuming that's all that is left after the bear sandwiches?
 
2013-02-25 12:59:58 PM  

i upped my meds-up yours: B.L.Z. Bub: Abe Vigoda's Ghost: [melissa_mccarthy.jpg]
Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.

Too much woman for you to handle?

Melissa would be a crazy party in bed. I wouldn't even mind the cake frosting and potato chip crumbs everywhere.


Reminds me of one of my favorite jokes: "I wouldn't kick her out of bed for eating crackers." "What if Crackers was your dog?"
 
Displayed 50 of 371 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report