Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Huffington Post)   The reviews are in, and not only is Seth McFarlane near universally considered to be the worst Oscars host ever, but it also looks like he killed his chances of ever again getting a date   (huffingtonpost.com ) divider line 371
    More: Fail, Seth MacFarlane, Josh Brolin, pick up lines, Tom Rothman  
•       •       •

15640 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 25 Feb 2013 at 9:32 AM (2 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



371 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-02-25 10:33:25 AM  
This means Cobalt O'Bunion might host again! Amen.
 
2013-02-25 10:35:01 AM  

Moopy Mac: You think that Clooney joke was about him having sex with a 9 year old? Really, that's what you got out of it?


It literally was a joke about that. It was a joke about him having sex with the 9 year old sitting in front of him in 16 years. I'm not saying it was a pedophile joke or anything, but its a tasteless thing to say in front of the girl.
 
2013-02-25 10:35:20 AM  

DoBeDoBeDo: Am I the only one who thought it sucked because they did the whole "oh no he's going to be edgy" but wrote the jokes so that they weren't that edgy or that the ones that they spent the whole time talking about how he could be edgy?

The Captain Kirk thing was completely stupid.

Roasting people is the most sincere form of flattery.  If you get your panties in a bunch then you have no sense of humor.  I hate self depricating humor when it's used to say "hey I made fun of myself A LOT harder than I made fun of you!!!!"

All those people made tons of money making the movies they were getting awards for, fark em if they can't take a joke.


Billy Crystal roasted lots of folks, though his roasts were a smidge tamer than Paul Harvey.
 
2013-02-25 10:35:40 AM  

DamnYankees: I'm not sure what this has to do anything. We expected him to be tasteless and bad so we can't criticize him for being tasteless and bad?


By the same logic, you should also criticize water for being wet.

You can criticize and blame the producers for picking him as host, but he did exactly as you just admitted you expected.
 
2013-02-25 10:35:40 AM  
Only Oscar opening that I actually enjoyed.
 
2013-02-25 10:35:58 AM  

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: Johnson:
Wait a minute, is that "COLEMAN" logo shopped onto her "dress"? If not, it is really funny.

I might have added that.


oh, too bad.  Still very funny though!  I sent it to my wife and told her it was real.
Lets see how far it will go...
 
2013-02-25 10:36:03 AM  

roughridersfan: Has anybody pointed out that the submitter doesn't know how to spell MacFarlane's last name?


Sam Waters:  I'm sorry, who is Seth McFarlane?

Darnit!
 
2013-02-25 10:36:59 AM  

Bruce Campbell: By the same logic, you should also criticize water for being wet.


Sometimes we do, like when we slip. Do you enjoy falling down and slipping on wet things?
 
2013-02-25 10:37:30 AM  

SamWaters: I'm sorry, who is Seth McFarlane?


www.sectalk.com

/getting a lot of use out of this one today
 
2013-02-25 10:38:23 AM  

kumanoki: This reminds me of the time Aflac fired Gilbert Godfreid for making off-color remarks about the tsunami in Japan.


I read this in Peter Griffin's voice.
 
2013-02-25 10:40:15 AM  

DamnYankees: Moopy Mac: You think that Clooney joke was about him having sex with a 9 year old? Really, that's what you got out of it?

It literally was a joke about that. It was a joke about him having sex with the 9 year old sitting in front of him in 16 years. I'm not saying it was a pedophile joke or anything, but its a tasteless thing to say in front of the girl.


Well, I guess we can tell it is Monday.

You think that joke was about Clooney "having  sex with the 9 year old sitting in front of him in 16 years "?

The joke is the exact opposite of what you just typed.
 
2013-02-25 10:40:25 AM  
there is never going to be universal happiness with the Oscars.  you know who else complained they were too long?  everyone for the past 50 f'n years.

as far as the host - I feel bad for the ones who are stuck doing this now.  the boomers are a very large, grumpy demo - and quite frankly they still think all of TV and the movie industry should cater to them for soem reason.  trying to straddle the gap between the boomers and Gen's X&Y (and eventually the Millennials) is not an easy trick to pull off.  I think McFarland gave it a pretty good try last night though,
 
2013-02-25 10:40:54 AM  

nmemkha: Tyrone Slothrop: Mugato: Ricky Gervais  was a much bigger dick at the Golden Globes and everyone thinks he's a genius.

That's because Ricky Gervais is funny.

Opinions vary - lets leave it at that.


Indeed. The one and only time i've seen any of his stand-up was at the end of what could well be the worst 7-day streak I've experienced thus far during my life (think: burying family members/dog being put down due to discovery of tumor/being made unexpectedly redundant from a job i really dug and needed.) I was primed to laugh. I needed to laugh. I bloody well *craved* being made to laugh. I didn't so much as smile the entire 70-odd-minutes the show (Out of England [the night it debuted on HBO)] was on. Oh, he tried. (Oh. How he tried). He was energetic. He said a lot. He moved around the stage a lot. He raised his voice a lot. He spoke fast. He swore a lot. He tried to shock-talk a lot. But not a genuinely amusing thing was said by him the entire runtime. Sound and fury signifying less than nothing.

Fell asleep on the couch at 6:00 and slept all night (a rare, wonderful thing), so I didn't see the Oscars.
 
2013-02-25 10:41:04 AM  

coeyagi: He was fine, trollmitter.  STFU and DIAF, or at least pull the stick out of your ass.


Wow.

Pretty upset about one person's opinion of a tv show full of rich people giving each other awards aren't you?
 
2013-02-25 10:41:13 AM  

FarFarAway: rynthetyn: FarFarAway: Please excuse my fail up there. Let's try this again.

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.

He wasn't making a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old. I can't believe so many people didn't get that one. He said that in 16 years she would be old enough to date Clooney. It was a swipe at Clooney's consistent habit of dating 25 year old women, no matter how old he gets. It said nothing about, and had nothing to do with, dating underage girls.

I think McFarlane did a good job. I never watch the whole show, but I did this year and I enjoyed it. I guess I don't get to be a feminist any more, since I not only enjoyed it but thought the boobs song was hilarious, and think that several of the other "sexist" examples held up by various reviewers are marginal at best.

No, he said that in 16 years she'd be too old to date Clooney. That's quite different, and while it's an okay joke, it's not one to make while she was in the room.

It's still a swipe at Clooney. And there's 7 years in there between legality and that cut off, so I still don't see it as a joke about dating underage girls. Because it was about Clooney, really. He has a disturbing habit of dating women from the same age range, even as he gets older and older. He doesn't, as far as I know, have a habit of dating underage girls. If he does, then yeah, there was no room for comedic license there, and it's bad taste all the way around.

It's also not a joke I would expect an excited 9 year old to get. But I could be wrong about that too.


Yes, we know that the joke is about Clooney dating women who are all the same age and that nobody thinks Clooney wants to bang 9 year olds. It's still a joke that shouldn't be made when the 9 year old in question is in the room because a kid that age is old enough that it's not going to go over her head entirely but she's too young to be hearing jokes about her dating Clooney.
 
2013-02-25 10:41:23 AM  

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: [i49.tinypic.com image 570x809]


i.imgur.com
 
2013-02-25 10:41:27 AM  
I'm sorry, but the Rihanna joke was funny.  I've noticed that some media outlets are trying to deify her as Princess Di for a new millennium.  No.  Just...no.  She's a very talented dumbass, that's it.  She has the right to go back to the guy who beat the crap out of her, and we have the right to joke about it.

Oh, and apparently, Affleck was pissed about the Gigli reference.  That alone makes it worth it.
 
2013-02-25 10:42:32 AM  

Moopy Mac: You think that joke was about Clooney "having  sex with the 9 year old sitting in front of him in 16 years "?

The joke is the exact opposite of what you just typed.


You're saying it was a joke about a 25 year old become 9 years old and refusing to have sex with George Clooney?
 
2013-02-25 10:42:39 AM  

DamnYankees: Sometimes we do, like when we slip. Do you enjoy falling down and slipping on wet things?


You blame the water?

I say things like, "Who the fark spilled water here and didn't clean it up?"  or to myself, "Smooth move, idiot, you knew that was a wet floor."  I don't blame the water.
 
2013-02-25 10:42:53 AM  

WhippingBoy: rynthetyn: No, he said that in 16 years she'd be too old to date Clooney. That's quite different, and while it's an okay joke, it's not one to make while she was in the room.

On what farking planet could even that be construed as a joke about "George Clooney banging a nine-year old"???

Do you people have some sort of quota? You get up in the morning and plan on being offended by 10 things today?


No. It just pisses them off that Seth gets paid MILLIONS for his dick, fart and poop jokes while they are forced to give theirs away for free. And they are JUST as funny. Their mom's tell them so all the time._
 
2013-02-25 10:43:55 AM  
Well, I laughed hardest at the Rihanna, Chris Brown date movie joke. They both deserve each other, and everything that gets thrown in their face.

Also, overall, I thought Seth did a great job.
 
2013-02-25 10:43:59 AM  

roughridersfan: The Clooney quote:

"To give you an idea of how young she is, it'll be 16 years until she's too old for Clooney."

If he had specifically made a sex joke, there would be a problem. No sex mentioned. I took it as a joke regarding Clooney's tendency to date younger women.

How some people see the joke says a lot about their own personality, I guess.


I thought I had a dirty mind, but some people really must jump to the sexual meaning of something at every chance.
 
2013-02-25 10:44:03 AM  

rynthetyn: Yes, we know that the joke is about Clooney dating women who are all the same age and that nobody thinks Clooney wants to bang 9 year olds. It's still a joke that shouldn't be made when the 9 year old in question is in the room because a kid that age is old enough that it's not going to go over her head entirely but she's too young to be hearing jokes about her dating Clooney.


I'm pretty sure people would be less offended if Clooney had actually banged her.

imoutragedthereforeimright.jpg
 
2013-02-25 10:44:06 AM  

FarFarAway: He has a disturbing habit of dating women from the same age range, even as he gets older and older.


cdn3.sbnation.com
 
2013-02-25 10:44:25 AM  

WhippingBoy: Fano: Helen mirren and Kate wins let have showed us their breasts for years and they are respected actresses with academy awards.

Posting from a smart-phone, eh?


D'oh! That's what I get for not checking preview. Caught red handed.
 
2013-02-25 10:46:04 AM  
Everything I've read has said that McFarlane wasn't great, but wasn't as bad as Franco.  Worst ever?  A bit much.
 
2013-02-25 10:48:16 AM  
The real question is why we aren't discussing the now-infamous Onion tweet. People seem very upset about that.
 
2013-02-25 10:49:00 AM  
George Takai posted last night that the only way to make the show more gay was if HE hosted it... which sounds fun.
 
2013-02-25 10:49:08 AM  

taxandspend: rynthetyn: taxandspend: rynthetyn: Cybernetic: Are people really that riled up about the "not gay enough" line?

The Tony Awards show has been reveling in the uber-gayness of the theatrical world for several years now, and people generally seem to think it's hilarious when they do.

That's because the Tony Awards do it in a genuinely funny way. The MacFarlane joke just felt dated. If you're going to make a joke about musical theater, you've got to go with something more original than the joke told by every schoolyard bully ever.

Because there is nothing funnier than a joke with the punchline "50 Shades of Gay." Excuse me while I hold my sides as they are splitting due to the hilarity. I watched the whole show just because of Seth. Flight puppets, boobs song and the Von Trapp bit were my favorites. I just wish he had more confidence in some of his jokes like the Kardashian one.

And yet you think that a joke about musical theater being gay, the most boringly dated joke in the book, was funny. What are you, 12?

None of those jokes I mentioned being funny were the musical theater being gay joke.


Well that's the joke we were talking about, try and keep up.
 
2013-02-25 10:49:30 AM  

swankywanky: FarFarAway: He has a disturbing habit of dating women from the same age range, even as he gets older and older.

[cdn3.sbnation.com image 220x417]


Thank you. I was too lazy to find a pic.
 
2013-02-25 10:50:46 AM  
i only watched the very end....i saw anne hathaway give her dopey speech and then ben affleck win best movie or whatever.  i don't remember anything about seth mcfarlane.

anne, she's hot as fark but she seems like she'd be a pain in the ass.  i've read some of her interviews and she seems like the crazy actor type.  like, "i really had to go dark places for this role, it was emotionally taxing, and only with my incredible courage was i able to channel my darkest rage to create such a wonderful performance" type quotes.  like, these dopey, self congratulatory, dramatic quotes about acting.
 
2013-02-25 10:52:12 AM  

rynthetyn: FarFarAway: rynthetyn: FarFarAway: Please excuse my fail up there. Let's try this again.

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.

He wasn't making a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old. I can't believe so many people didn't get that one. He said that in 16 years she would be old enough to date Clooney. It was a swipe at Clooney's consistent habit of dating 25 year old women, no matter how old he gets. It said nothing about, and had nothing to do with, dating underage girls.

I think McFarlane did a good job. I never watch the whole show, but I did this year and I enjoyed it. I guess I don't get to be a feminist any more, since I not only enjoyed it but thought the boobs song was hilarious, and think that several of the other "sexist" examples held up by various reviewers are marginal at best.

No, he said that in 16 years she'd be too old to date Clooney. That's quite different, and while it's an okay joke, it's not one to make while she was in the room.

It's still a swipe at Clooney. And there's 7 years in there between legality and that cut off, so I still don't see it as a joke about dating underage girls. Because it was about Clooney, really. He has a disturbing habit of dating women from the same age range, even as he gets older and older. He doesn't, as far as I know, have a habit of dating underage girls. If he does, then yeah, there was no room for comedic license there, and it's bad taste all the way around.

It's also not a joke I would expect an excited 9 year old to get. But I could be wrong about that too.

Yes, we know that the joke is about Clooney dating women who are all the same age and that nobody thinks Clooney wants to bang 9 year olds. It's still a joke that shouldn't be made when the 9 year old in question is in the room because a kid that age is old enough that it's not going to go over her head entirely but she's too young to be hearing jokes about her dating Clooney.


I dunno. I could have sworn there were old warner brothers cartoons implying young female characters would swoon over and want to date the likes of Errol Flynn and Frank Sinatra.

Eh, I can see more of a pedantic case for outrage. I vote to glide over it.
 
2013-02-25 10:52:15 AM  

Welfare Peanut Butter: No love for the re-enactment of "Flight" using sock puppets? HEY. I'M YOUR DRUG DEALER. WANT SOME DRUGS? Funniest moment of the night.


That bit was crescent fresh.
 
2013-02-25 10:54:59 AM  
They were trying to bring in a target audience that normally doesn't watch the Oscars.  Apparently it was the 'watches Mr Skin' target audience.

Watching Charlize Theron squirm was pretty entertaining for me.

I think Seth's whole Oscar's bit was him trying to entertain himself 'what is the least tasteful, raunchiest, lowest-brow comedy i can get away with as the host of the Oscars.'
 
2013-02-25 10:55:12 AM  

fruitloop: Welfare Peanut Butter: No love for the re-enactment of "Flight" using sock puppets? HEY. I'M YOUR DRUG DEALER. WANT SOME DRUGS? Funniest moment of the night.

That bit was crescent fresh.


I saw what you did there
/sucker!!!!
 
2013-02-25 10:56:34 AM  

Welfare Peanut Butter: No love for the re-enactment of "Flight" using sock puppets? HEY. I'M YOUR DRUG DEALER. WANT SOME DRUGS? Funniest moment of the night.


That wouldn't happen to have actually been John Goodman doing the voice, would it? Good impression if not.
 
2013-02-25 10:57:04 AM  

SlothB77: They were trying to bring in a target audience that normally doesn't watch the Oscars.  Apparently it was the 'watches Mr Skin' target audience.

Watching Charlize Theron squirm was pretty entertaining for me.

I think Seth's whole Oscar's bit was him trying to entertain himself 'what is the least tasteful, raunchiest, lowest-brow comedy i can get away with as the host of the Oscars.'


You really think the host writes all the jokes and/or has carte blanche to say or do anything they like?
 
2013-02-25 10:57:11 AM  

Welfare Peanut Butter: No love for the re-enactment of "Flight" using sock puppets? HEY. I'M YOUR DRUG DEALER. WANT SOME DRUGS? Funniest moment of the night.


funny as hell. as was the flying nun bit. i realize that as a 44 year old male, i'm the target demo for macfarlane's humor, but he was funny. and it's a farking awards show. it's a bit of self-congratulation. the nominees all got swag bags that contained $45,000 worth of stuff. if they can't handle a little "edgy" humor, they need to pick a different farking career.
 
2013-02-25 10:57:16 AM  
Yeesh, what happened to him?  He looks like Peter Brady after a botox binge.  Ease up on the collagen fillers, pal, you look more preserved than the hollywood harlots you're trying to satirize.
 
2013-02-25 10:57:27 AM  
What a surprise. A Huffington Post writer sounding like a bitter old hag who never gets a good deep-dicking because no guy can stand her.

I don't even really care for Macfarlene but this person really needs to lighten up and stop feigning outrage at "misogynistic" jokes.
 
2013-02-25 10:57:40 AM  

DamnYankees: The real question is why we aren't discussing the now-infamous Onion tweet. People seem very upset about that.


Which one? I love The Onion.
 
2013-02-25 10:58:04 AM  
at least it wasn't written by bruce villanche.
 
2013-02-25 10:58:19 AM  

Mugato: Ricky Gervais  was a much bigger dick at the Golden Globes and everyone thinks he's a genius.



It's amazing what you can get away with when you have an English accent.

/I keed.
//But I'm not kidding when I say that the author of TFA has a stick up her ass.
 
2013-02-25 10:58:24 AM  

SlothB77: I think Seth's whole Oscar's bit was him trying to entertain himself 'what is the least tasteful, raunchiest, lowest-brow comedy i can get away with as the host of the Oscars.'


There's the old line "Sacred cows make the best hamburger" and it seems Seth was going after as many sacred cows as he could.
 
2013-02-25 10:58:59 AM  

douchebag/hater: coeyagi: He was fine, trollmitter.  STFU and DIAF, or at least pull the stick out of your ass.

Wow.

Pretty upset about one person's opinion of a tv show full of rich people giving each other awards aren't you?


Not really.  I type 100 wpm, it took me very little time to form that opinion and share it, if I was really upset I'd invest a lot more words to show submitter and associated tards (most people I usually respond to) how I really feel.
 
2013-02-25 10:59:03 AM  

KaisertheCoyote: DamnYankees: The real question is why we aren't discussing the now-infamous Onion tweet. People seem very upset about that.

Which one? I love The Onion.


www.pajiba.com
 
2013-02-25 11:00:51 AM  

SlashW: I kinda want to see Seth McFarlane write one episode of Archer ...  just to see how weird it can get ..


NO,fark NO. McFarlane can stay right the fark away from Archer.
 
2013-02-25 11:01:07 AM  
BTW, I didn't watch it last night, and a small part of me regrets not doing so.
 
2013-02-25 11:01:45 AM  
MacFarlane looked like he hasn't had a lot of experience working an audience live.  I don't think he has done much stand up.  Doing a stand-up tour and seeing what jokes do and don't work for a live audience may have served him well.
 
2013-02-25 11:02:18 AM  

Moopy Mac: DamnYankees: Bruce Campbell: They did know who they were hiring to host, didn't they?  That is his entire shtick so what did they honestly expect?

I'm not sure what this has to do anything. We expected him to be tasteless and bad so we can't criticize him for being tasteless and bad?

You think that Clooney joke was about him having sex with a 9 year old? Really, that's what you got out of it?


No, the point is that is what the 9 year old girl probably got out of it.  "Congratulations on a great acting job! We aren't giving you an award, but let's make sure you feel like millions of people watching tv are thinking about you naked right now!  Good luck with your future self esteem, sweetie."
 
Displayed 50 of 371 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report