If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Huffington Post)   The reviews are in, and not only is Seth McFarlane near universally considered to be the worst Oscars host ever, but it also looks like he killed his chances of ever again getting a date   (huffingtonpost.com) divider line 371
    More: Fail, Seth MacFarlane, Josh Brolin, pick up lines, Tom Rothman  
•       •       •

15637 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 25 Feb 2013 at 9:32 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



371 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-02-25 10:07:28 AM

gilgigamesh: What makes anyone think he is interested in dating women?   MacFarlane is so deep in the closet he managed to find the Zubaz I lost 25 years ago.

/didn't watch the Oscars


He actually had Shatner make a joke about that in the opening bit. The boobs song had the backing of the LA gay men's chorus and Shatner did a joke about how MacFarlane would be a regular member by 2015.
 
2013-02-25 10:07:54 AM
This reminds me of the time Aflac fired Gilbert Godfreid for making off-color remarks about the tsunami in Japan. Didn't the Academy even look at Family Guy/American Dad/ The Cleveland Show/ Ted?

They bought their tickets....I say, let 'em crash.
 
2013-02-25 10:08:33 AM

Bruce Campbell: They did know who they were hiring to host, didn't they? That is his entire shtick so what did they honestly expect?


And I seriously doubt that all of his bits didn't get approval before he did them.
 
2013-02-25 10:09:16 AM

stonicus: HotIgneous Intruder: Because everyone loves jokes about Jews, nazis, and gays.

A gay jewish nazi walks into a bar and says "Who do I have to gas to get some cock around here?  Oy vey!!"


Not as good as "my uncle died in the camps...he fell out of the tower."
 
2013-02-25 10:09:41 AM

HotIgneous Intruder: Because everyone loves jokes about Jews, nazis, and gays.


Mel Brooks agrees
 
2013-02-25 10:10:08 AM

rynthetyn: gilgigamesh: What makes anyone think he is interested in dating women?   MacFarlane is so deep in the closet he managed to find the Zubaz I lost 25 years ago.

/didn't watch the Oscars

He actually had Shatner make a joke about that in the opening bit. The boobs song had the backing of the LA gay men's chorus and Shatner did a joke about how MacFarlane would be a regular member by 2015.


OK, that's pretty funny.
 
2013-02-25 10:10:29 AM

Mugato: Bruce Campbell: They did know who they were hiring to host, didn't they? That is his entire shtick so what did they honestly expect?

And I seriously doubt that all of his bits didn't get approval before he did them.


Blasphemy.  Those pre-recorded clips were clearly staged live without approval from anyone involved in the Oscars! :)
 
2013-02-25 10:10:59 AM

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: Valiente: No, but making a show tune of all the actresses present who've put their tits out in the name of Hollywood "art" is pretty amusing. See "Barbershop quartet You've Got Aids song".

[i49.tinypic.com image 570x809]

Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.


Why would you post that picture??? Why????
I was enjoying this thread; now I have to leave.
 
2013-02-25 10:11:30 AM
I have tried to like what this guy does, but I don't. However, I find him funny and intelligent whenever I see interviews he does. I thought he was fine last night, except when he did what he usually does during the Ted-Marky Mark bit. That sucked ass.
 
2013-02-25 10:12:09 AM

Bruce Campbell: They did know who they were hiring to host, didn't they?  That is his entire shtick so what did they honestly expect?


I'm not sure what this has to do anything. We expected him to be tasteless and bad so we can't criticize him for being tasteless and bad?
 
2013-02-25 10:13:38 AM
Am I the only one who thought it sucked because they did the whole "oh no he's going to be edgy" but wrote the jokes so that they weren't that edgy or that the ones that they spent the whole time talking about how he could be edgy?

The Captain Kirk thing was completely stupid.

Roasting people is the most sincere form of flattery.  If you get your panties in a bunch then you have no sense of humor.  I hate self depricating humor when it's used to say "hey I made fun of myself A LOT harder than I made fun of you!!!!"

All those people made tons of money making the movies they were getting awards for, fark em if they can't take a joke.
 
2013-02-25 10:14:30 AM

gilgigamesh: rynthetyn: gilgigamesh: What makes anyone think he is interested in dating women?   MacFarlane is so deep in the closet he managed to find the Zubaz I lost 25 years ago.

/didn't watch the Oscars

He actually had Shatner make a joke about that in the opening bit. The boobs song had the backing of the LA gay men's chorus and Shatner did a joke about how MacFarlane would be a regular member by 2015.

OK, that's pretty funny.


It was one of the few actually funny bits. Most of it was just meh.
 
2013-02-25 10:14:36 AM
Are people really that riled up about the "not gay enough" line?

The Tony Awards show has been reveling in the uber-gayness of the theatrical world for several years now, and people generally seem to think it's hilarious when they do.
 
2013-02-25 10:14:41 AM

Tyrone Slothrop: Mugato: Ricky Gervais  was a much bigger dick at the Golden Globes and everyone thinks he's a genius.

That's because Ricky Gervais is funny.


Opinions vary - lets leave it at that.
 
2013-02-25 10:15:19 AM
and not only is Seth McFarlane near universally considered to be the worst Oscars host ever

I have two words for you. "(Uma....Oprah) * 30".
 
2013-02-25 10:15:46 AM
Abe Vigoda's Ghost:

Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.

Wait a minute, is that "COLEMAN" logo shopped onto her "dress"? If not, it is really funny.
 
2013-02-25 10:16:31 AM

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: Valiente: No, but making a show tune of all the actresses present who've put their tits out in the name of Hollywood "art" is pretty amusing. See "Barbershop quartet You've Got Aids song".

[i49.tinypic.com image 570x809]

Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.


So who was the Shamu?
 
2013-02-25 10:16:44 AM

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.

 
2013-02-25 10:17:18 AM
If it's possible to be too smug for show business, he is.
 
2013-02-25 10:17:26 AM

spqr2001: I watched the whole program for the first time in a long time and thought he did a great job.  Sure, his jokes were a bit edgy sometimes, but that's the point.  What do you think you're going to get with Seth MacFarlane?


An almost middle-aged gay guy who refuses to come out of the closet?

/I thought, even after considering the movie they were both in, the joke about "See if you can tell the difference between Rudd and McCarthy" was pretty farking rude.
 
2013-02-25 10:17:41 AM
I haven't watched the Oscars since 2003, I think it was, but I watched last night solely to see McFarlane.  So, that part of their plan worked.  I thought he was hilarious, and thoroughly enjoyed it.  So, that part of my plan worked.
 
2013-02-25 10:18:14 AM

DoBeDoBeDo: Am I the only one who thought it sucked because they did the whole "oh no he's going to be edgy" but wrote the jokes so that they weren't that edgy or that the ones that they spent the whole time talking about how he could be edgy?


I actually think it's funny when they do this. Every body tuned in to see Gervais be raw on everyone in the room for his second stint at hosting that one award show and he toned it down because FARK YOU PLEBES THAT'S WHY
 
2013-02-25 10:18:24 AM

Johnson: Abe Vigoda's Ghost:

Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.

Wait a minute, is that "COLEMAN" logo shopped onto her "dress"? If not, it is really funny.


Holy crap, I didn't notice that! Too funny!
All is forgiven.
 
2013-02-25 10:19:53 AM
I kinda want to see Seth McFarlane write one episode of Archer ...  just to see how weird it can get ..
 
2013-02-25 10:20:17 AM
Please excuse my fail up there. Let's try this again.

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.


He wasn't making a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old. I can't believe so many people didn't get that one. He said that in 16 years she would be old enough to date Clooney. It was a swipe at Clooney's consistent habit of dating 25 year old women, no matter how old he gets. It said nothing about, and had nothing to do with, dating underage girls.

I think McFarlane did a good job. I never watch the whole show, but I did this year and I enjoyed it. I guess I don't get to be a feminist any more, since I not only enjoyed it but thought the boobs song was hilarious, and think that several of the other "sexist" examples held up by various reviewers are marginal at best.
 
2013-02-25 10:20:20 AM

Cybernetic: Are people really that riled up about the "not gay enough" line?

The Tony Awards show has been reveling in the uber-gayness of the theatrical world for several years now, and people generally seem to think it's hilarious when they do.


That's because the Tony Awards do it in a genuinely funny way. The MacFarlane joke just felt dated. If you're going to make a joke about musical theater, you've got to go with something more original than the joke told by every schoolyard bully ever.
 
2013-02-25 10:20:48 AM
I thought he was great. I actually watched more than 5 minutes of the intro. I thought he did a fantastic job, and so did my >60 year old parents.
 
2013-02-25 10:21:38 AM
Whoever wrote that worked very, very hard to be offended.
 
2013-02-25 10:22:03 AM
I thought he did well. It was enjoyable hearing the audience react sometimes - MacFarlane responded well and usually had them laughing seconds later.

The boobs song was cute because it's an elephant in the room that most people at the Oscars don't acknowledge. Yes, actresses show their boobs sometimes!

It was funny seeing Theron hiding her face one moment and then be on stage seconds later in a completely different dress and a different haircut. If people didn't realize that the reactions were from a different event, they're kind of foolish.

I would have no problem with MacFarlane hosting again...but nobody in Hollywood ever calls for my approval.
 
2013-02-25 10:23:40 AM

FarFarAway: Please excuse my fail up there. Let's try this again.

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.

He wasn't making a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old. I can't believe so many people didn't get that one. He said that in 16 years she would be old enough to date Clooney. It was a swipe at Clooney's consistent habit of dating 25 year old women, no matter how old he gets. It said nothing about, and had nothing to do with, dating underage girls.

I think McFarlane did a good job. I never watch the whole show, but I did this year and I enjoyed it. I guess I don't get to be a feminist any more, since I not only enjoyed it but thought the boobs song was hilarious, and think that several of the other "sexist" examples held up by various reviewers are marginal at best.


No, he said that in 16 years she'd be too old to date Clooney. That's quite different, and while it's an okay joke, it's not one to make while she was in the room.
 
2013-02-25 10:25:16 AM
He was fine.  Get over it already.  I laughed out loud a few times.  My wife thought the boob song was funny herself.
 
2013-02-25 10:25:22 AM

calbert: trolly headline is trolly and has nothing to do with the linked-to article.


img.photobucket.com
 
2013-02-25 10:26:49 AM

spqr2001: I watched the whole program for the first time in a long time and thought he did a great job.  Sure, his jokes were a bit edgy sometimes, but that's the point.  What do you think you're going to get with Seth MacFarlane?


I thought the Argo joke was great.

The flying nun bit was odd though.
 
2013-02-25 10:27:17 AM

WhippingBoy: Abe Vigoda's Ghost: Valiente: No, but making a show tune of all the actresses present who've put their tits out in the name of Hollywood "art" is pretty amusing. See "Barbershop quartet You've Got Aids song".

[i49.tinypic.com image 570x809]

Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.

Why would you post that picture??? Why????
I was enjoying this thread; now I have to leave.


Headed to your bunk?

/didn't watch the Oscars
 
2013-02-25 10:27:29 AM

FarFarAway: He wasn't making a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old. I can't believe so many people didn't get that one. He said that in 16 years she would be old enough to date Clooney. It was a swipe at Clooney's consistent habit of dating 25 year old women, no matter how old he gets. It said nothing about, and had nothing to do with, dating underage girls.


I understood the joke. It's not a bad joke. But its not one you make in front of the girl. And I'm not remotely squeamish about that kind of humor, I just didn't find it all that funny.
 
2013-02-25 10:27:32 AM
The Clooney quote:

"To give you an idea of how young she is, it'll be 16 years until she's too old for Clooney."

If he had specifically made a sex joke, there would be a problem. No sex mentioned. I took it as a joke regarding Clooney's tendency to date younger women.

How some people see the joke says a lot about their own personality, I guess.
 
2013-02-25 10:27:54 AM

Johnson: Abe Vigoda's Ghost:

Let's hope this actress never shares her tits on screen.

Wait a minute, is that "COLEMAN" logo shopped onto her "dress"? If not, it is really funny.


I might have added that.
 
2013-02-25 10:29:45 AM

rynthetyn: No, he said that in 16 years she'd be too old to date Clooney. That's quite different, and while it's an okay joke, it's not one to make while she was in the room.


On what farking planet could even that be construed as a joke about "George Clooney banging a nine-year old"???

Do you people have some sort of quota? You get up in the morning and plan on being offended by 10 things today?
 
2013-02-25 10:29:49 AM

Tor_Eckman: I have tried to like what this guy does, but I don't. However, I find him funny and intelligent whenever I see interviews he does. I thought he was fine last night, except when he did what he usually does during the Ted-Marky Mark bit. That sucked ass.


Seth seems like he's a decent guy from any interview I've seen... but his humor is almost squarely in the douchebag realm. Not even douchebag in the sense of Workaholics or Beavis and Butthead were you're laughing both at and with the douchebaginess, but just generic mean-spirited doucehbagginess.

that said, I don't really think he was that bad as a host. I thought the Kirk thing went on a bit longer than it should have, though.
 
2013-02-25 10:29:59 AM

FitzShivering: The only people I saw complaining about his hosting were hollywood people online.  Everyone else seemed to think it bordered from "meh" to "pretty good."

And subby, Seth McFarlane has more money than the vast majority of the people sitting at the Oscars, including many of the people who won.   The chance he goes without a date ever is virtually non-existent.  The man is quite literally a money printing machine, and, despite the fact he can be quite abrasive, a very damned talented one.

I'll take him over the "har har cheesy joke!" hosts any day of the week.   Then again, I enjoy seeing people with incredibly massive egos squirm in their seats when the things everyone else thinks about them are said out loud. :P


Even though it was scripted, charlize Theron's reaction was priceless during the boobs song. And he stuck the landing for saying we've seen Kate wins let's in every movie she's been in.

Dear young starlets: Helen mirren and Kate wins let have showed us their breasts for years and they are respected actresses with academy awards. Hint: show them off before we don't want to see them anymore.
 
2013-02-25 10:31:29 AM
I'm sorry, who is Seth McFarlane?
 
2013-02-25 10:31:42 AM

Fano: Helen mirren and Kate wins let have showed us their breasts for years and they are respected actresses with academy awards.


Posting from a smart-phone, eh?
 
2013-02-25 10:31:47 AM
No love for the re-enactment of "Flight" using sock puppets? HEY. I'M YOUR DRUG DEALER. WANT SOME DRUGS? Funniest moment of the night.
 
2013-02-25 10:32:18 AM

SamWaters: I'm sorry, who is Seth McFarlane?


Oooh! How edgy! I bet you don't even own a TV!
 
2013-02-25 10:32:30 AM
I wonder how long McFarlane and Travolta ended up making out after the show.
 
2013-02-25 10:32:53 AM

taxandspend: rynthetyn: Cybernetic: Are people really that riled up about the "not gay enough" line?

The Tony Awards show has been reveling in the uber-gayness of the theatrical world for several years now, and people generally seem to think it's hilarious when they do.

That's because the Tony Awards do it in a genuinely funny way. The MacFarlane joke just felt dated. If you're going to make a joke about musical theater, you've got to go with something more original than the joke told by every schoolyard bully ever.

Because there is nothing funnier than a joke with the punchline "50 Shades of Gay." Excuse me while I hold my sides as they are splitting due to the hilarity. I watched the whole show just because of Seth. Flight puppets, boobs song and the Von Trapp bit were my favorites. I just wish he had more confidence in some of his jokes like the Kardashian one.


And yet you think that a joke about musical theater being gay, the most boringly dated joke in the book, was funny. What are you, 12?
 
2013-02-25 10:32:55 AM

rynthetyn: FarFarAway: Please excuse my fail up there. Let's try this again.

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.

He wasn't making a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old. I can't believe so many people didn't get that one. He said that in 16 years she would be old enough to date Clooney. It was a swipe at Clooney's consistent habit of dating 25 year old women, no matter how old he gets. It said nothing about, and had nothing to do with, dating underage girls.

I think McFarlane did a good job. I never watch the whole show, but I did this year and I enjoyed it. I guess I don't get to be a feminist any more, since I not only enjoyed it but thought the boobs song was hilarious, and think that several of the other "sexist" examples held up by various reviewers are marginal at best.

No, he said that in 16 years she'd be too old to date Clooney. That's quite different, and while it's an okay joke, it's not one to make while she was in the room.


It's still a swipe at Clooney. And there's 7 years in there between legality and that cut off, so I still don't see it as a joke about dating underage girls. Because it was about Clooney, really. He has a disturbing habit of dating women from the same age range, even as he gets older and older. He doesn't, as far as I know, have a habit of dating underage girls. If he does, then yeah, there was no room for comedic license there, and it's bad taste all the way around.

It's also not a joke I would expect an excited 9 year old to get. But I could be wrong about that too.
 
2013-02-25 10:32:55 AM

DamnYankees: Yeah, it wasn't good. There was a serious lack of confidence about the whole thing, and many of his jokes were just being a dick for the sake of being a dick. You don't make a joke about George Clooney banging a 9 year old when she's sitting right there. You make that joke at a George Clooney roast, not when the girl is sitting in the audience.


At least he didn't do a "that was worse than when Roman Polanski invited Tatum o Neal over" flashback joke.
 
2013-02-25 10:33:13 AM

DamnYankees: Bruce Campbell: They did know who they were hiring to host, didn't they?  That is his entire shtick so what did they honestly expect?

I'm not sure what this has to do anything. We expected him to be tasteless and bad so we can't criticize him for being tasteless and bad?


You think that Clooney joke was about him having sex with a 9 year old? Really, that's what you got out of it?
 
2013-02-25 10:33:24 AM
Has anybody pointed out that the submitter doesn't know how to spell MacFarlane's last name?
 
Displayed 50 of 371 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report