If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Wuffie Yiffikins Bigknot)   Mother leaves unfavorable review for hotel after her road trip was ruined by a bunch of furries holding a convention in the same hotel   (tripadvisor.com) divider line 212
    More: Amusing, political convention, hotels  
•       •       •

18421 clicks; posted to Main » on 24 Feb 2013 at 9:46 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



212 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-02-24 07:19:15 AM
www.stickyedge.co.uk
 
2013-02-24 07:53:37 AM
On a road trip once, I stumbled upon a quilting convention. They were incredibly loud and well-saturated with cosmopolitans, so, I did what I could to protect the other guests. I drank their booze, then returned to my room and locked the door.

After a while, the banging on the door turned to scratching, and I found their calls for Esther's dentures back to be almost soothing.
 
2013-02-24 07:58:41 AM
Well, to be fair, you are dealing with the parents of 7 year old cheerleaders.
 
2013-02-24 08:19:51 AM
Was it the Overlook Hotel?

i79.photobucket.com
 
2013-02-24 08:48:50 AM
Jumping Jesus on a pogo stick, that region of Dallas has about 9 thousand hotel rooms strewn about the former dusty plain. Get in your damn rental car and go get one.

Whining b*tch.
 
2013-02-24 08:54:21 AM
I'm not sure what would be worse: a hotel filled with furries or a hotel filled with cheerleader moms.
 
2013-02-24 09:03:35 AM
I'm not sure what would be worse: a hotel filled with furries or a hotel filled with cheerleader moms.
 
2013-02-24 09:06:04 AM
"The kind of room that you never, ever want to walk into because of the items left in the room."

Whoops, she found the tail.
 
2013-02-24 09:31:42 AM
So now we greenlight TripAdvisor reviews? I can't wait to see the Yelp review greenlight for the Burger King in Bumfark, Montana -- I hear that it actually has someone's day ruined simply by having other people eating, the horror!
 
2013-02-24 09:33:11 AM
I work at a hotel.. drunken wedding guests are bad enough.  Keep it in the lobby, or go to bed.. don't party in the room, your neighbor may have to get up at 5 am.
 
2013-02-24 09:42:04 AM
The weekend following Valentines Day - the hubby and I went on a trip with a group of mostly homosexual couples (we were the only straight ones). The hotel placed us on the same floor that a religious conference was being held.

The looks were priceless. Especially when we all emerged in club attire.
 
2013-02-24 09:44:49 AM
There's only one way to deal with a hotel full of furries:

i47.tinypic.com
 
2013-02-24 09:49:00 AM
One tip for this mother:

Don't go to Pittsburgh in June (or whenever they hold that convention)
 
2013-02-24 09:52:00 AM
Furries and Bronies are proof that the end is near.

/Costumed pedos in public.
 
2013-02-24 09:52:22 AM
FTA Our group, my daughter's cheerleading team, chose to stay at this hotel for a large competition in Dallas

That sounds like a flipplin nightmare for anyone without a windowless van.
 
2013-02-24 09:52:52 AM
Country come to town.
 
2013-02-24 09:53:27 AM

baka-san: I'm not sure what would be worse: a hotel filled with furries or a hotel filled with cheerleader moms.


I'm going to agree.  I've been around cheerleader moms in person, and they all seemed so fake, always going on about the benefits they were hosting and other crap, with this frightening undertone of a complete lack of will, like everything they did was because something outside them was compelling them to do it.

The furries I've encountered, admittedly only on-line, seem to be fairly genuine, with a sense of humour about themselves, and if they get into angry shouting matches half as much in real life as they do in person - hey. dinner AND a show!
 
2013-02-24 09:54:26 AM
Can't wait to see the yiff brigade come out with all the "this is racism" crap. Furries have a persecution complex on par with republicans. Fortunately, furries are less vocal then them.
 
2013-02-24 09:54:28 AM
My daughter is a middle school cheerleader.  Honestly, I'd prefer the furries to cheer moms.  They are rabid and most of them need to be put down.  You can reason with a furry.
 
2013-02-24 09:55:42 AM
Happened to us in CT in Sept. It was great! The older people I was travelling with had no idea what was.going on. They were nice enough and it was entertaining to watch them.
 
2013-02-24 09:56:06 AM
Are there any horsecack tranny furries?
/I'm asking for a friend who doesn't have the internet
 
2013-02-24 09:56:24 AM
FTA:  A Furry Rave included more lude and lascivious behavior,

I wondered if this was a joke, and then I saw the spelling and knew it was real.
 
2013-02-24 09:56:40 AM
Hi!  Stop using words you can't spell.

/it's LEWD, not LUDE
/if it was the latter you'd be enjoying it
//furries + cheerleader moms (both living vicariously through others) = LET ME BLOW THE PLACE UP
 
2013-02-24 09:57:44 AM
I once had to go to Dallas for work and ended up in a hotel that was also hosting a cheer convention. Have to say, from the kids to the mothers, some of the worst people in the world.
 
2013-02-24 09:58:22 AM
 
2013-02-24 09:59:21 AM

what_now: I'm not sure what would be worse: a hotel filled with furries or a hotel filled with cheerleader moms.


baka-san: I'm not sure what would be worse: a hotel filled with furries or a hotel filled with cheerleader moms.


^^^What baka-san highlighted.^^^
 
2013-02-24 09:59:38 AM

Marisyana: Hi!  Stop using words you can't spell.

/it's LEWD, not LUDE
/if it was the latter you'd be enjoying it
//furries + cheerleader moms (both living vicariously through others) = LET ME BLOW THE PLACE UP


Unless it's an obsequious reference to horses and horse tranquilizers.
 
2013-02-24 10:00:07 AM

kinkkerbelle: My daughter is a middle school cheerleader.  Honestly, I'd prefer the furries to cheer moms.  They are rabid and most of them need to be put down.  You can reason with a furry.


Cheer moms are just a step above pageant moms.
 
2013-02-24 10:00:27 AM
Did smitty happen to copy the original review? She says she modified it at TripAdvisor's request, and I wonder what she changed.
 
2013-02-24 10:00:30 AM

PacManDreaming: There's only one way to deal with a hotel full of furries:

[i47.tinypic.com image 354x240]


CLEANSE THE IMPURE!
 
2013-02-24 10:00:45 AM
Methinks this woman is full of shiat.  My guess is that she and her snowflakes got there, saw a few people who were dressed in fursuits and freaked out.  How many people do you know who randomly swear at children?  Unless you grew up in my house not many.  And the claim that she never saw the general manager, I guarantee that if the furries were making that much of a ruckus that manager would be there in a heartbeat with cops in tow to calm the fur love-in down.

And if she thinks that's bad try going to New Orleans on Labor Day weekend.  On your honeymoon.
 
2013-02-24 10:01:31 AM
How did I find out all of these details about this "rave" and what these furry conventions are about? GOOGLE!!!!!

www.mediaite.com
 
2013-02-24 10:03:44 AM
Nice try, subby. The review was from a cheer DAD...named Tony.
 
2013-02-24 10:03:58 AM
Guess she didn't feel it was necessary to find a synonym to "ineptitude", because it makes her sound upper class.

I fail to see what could be more degrading than being booked in the same hotel as a cheerleader convention.
 
2013-02-24 10:04:06 AM
What I get form the review is that in her mind, "Latin America, Europe and Asia" are shiatholes.
 
2013-02-24 10:04:19 AM
She doubted the furries' commitment to Sparkle Motion.
 
2013-02-24 10:04:20 AM
 
2013-02-24 10:06:26 AM
First of all, I like to bring up the ineptitude of the groups department on scheduling a Furry Convention of unacceptable adults

The hotel should have known that a "Furry Convention of unacceptable adults" was going to be trouble!

My 10 year old daughter and my 8 year old son witnessed lude and lascivious behavior

So apparently this was a cheer competition for girls AND BOYS cheerleading. Allowing your pre-teen girl to cheer is evil enough, and with therapy she might come out ok, but an 8-year old boy? I'm sorry Dad (and apparently this TripAdvisor review is by a man, 'Tony A') but if your 8-year-old boy is a cheerleader then he's well on his way to becoming a Furry himself.
 
2013-02-24 10:08:12 AM

Chibi Shinigami: Nice try, subby. The review was from a cheer DAD...named Tony.


How do you know it was a man. Women use the name Tony also.
 
2013-02-24 10:08:57 AM
Wow, reading through these comments it's clear that Fark has LOTS of furries and furry apologists. Yikes. As if most of you weren't pathetic enough already.
 
2013-02-24 10:09:40 AM
I once stayed at a hotel with a My Little Pony Convention going on. The first person we saw in the lobby was a large muscular man wearing a shiny purple cocktail dress and unicorn horn. My dad had no idea what was going on, but he had a great time people watching

/There were bronies everywhere
 
2013-02-24 10:10:10 AM
For our first anniversary, we went to Biloxi (we were young, we were poor, shut up, you don't know me).  This was before the days of Beau Rivage, so the big four-star hotels didn't exist.  We stayed at a beach front resort.  What we didn't know was that a dog show was in town, and a lot of the participants were staying at our hotel, one of the few "pet friendly" places.

The noise!

The smell!

I would have given my left nut to have been in a hotel with a furry convention instead

(Once decided not to stay at a hotel in Vegas because the Lifestyle convention was there.  I'm sure they're nice people, but I wasn't really interested in seeing a bunch of fat, middle aged swingers drunkenly groping each other all weekend . . . I get enough of that at home, thank you).

/ csb
 
2013-02-24 10:10:19 AM
I know it can be annoying to be staying at a hotel at the same time as a convention.

When I was a kid, we took a family vacation to Gatlinburg.  Apparently the hotel was having some kind of motorcycle convention that weekend.  We heard the sounds of revving motorcycles and loud partying all weekend.

What is worse is when the hotel decides to sabotage the convention because they don't like it.

Apparently, in the mid '90's, FOX decided it wanted a sci-fi space action/adventure TV series.  Dirk Benedict had been shopping around to build support for a Battlestar Galactica revival.  (Note, this is almost a decade before the new BSG reboot), and would be a continuation of the late 70's series (and ignoring the Galactica 1980 spinoff).

FOX was interested in the idea, partly in the idea it had a ready-built fanbase they could use.  Name recognition and existing fanbase they thought would be good for ratings.  What it would take to seal the deal would be actually showing the network execs just how much fandom existed and how much support was out there.  Again, the early days of the web, so it was hard to just point to a big online community.

So, there was going to be a big convention for Battlestar Galactica.  A 15th anniversary deal as I recall, circa 1994.  The execs just had to see it was big and they'd sign for a new series.

They had booked a hotel for the convention, and had lots of attendees booked for the convention and most of the surviving cast were going to be there as guests.  The problem was that some exec at the hotel chain was getting married that weekend, and he was doing it at one of his hotels.  That one.  He didn't want a bunch of fanboys running around mucking up his wedding.

So, the desk staff started "losing" reservations.  Basically whenever fans showed up to check in and it was clear they were there for the convention, their reservation was "lost" and they wouldn't have any rooms available.  Lots of fans were turned away, and a good number of the invited guests were refused as well.

Dirk Benedict himself was apparently turned away, told they had no idea about any convention going on.  He was walking out of the hotel when he spotted a fan in the lobby in costume as a Colonial pilot, which got him to stay around.  Don't know about where he roomed since they said they didn't have space for him.

Obviously, the convention was a disaster, with only a tiny fraction of the attendance they had pre-registered and most of the guests not there.  When the network execs showed up, instead of the thriving display of fandom they were promised, it was an anemic, pathetic little get-together.

The Galactica revival was scrapped, FOX filled their interest in a space-actions series with Space: Above and Beyond.

. . .all because a hotel exec didn't want his wedding at the same place as a convention.
 
2013-02-24 10:11:42 AM
Heh... I'm going to that hotel this afternoon to meet a pair of webcomic artists.  But I promise you I've never worn a fursuit or yiffed a day in my life.
 
2013-02-24 10:12:44 AM
GIS for "furry rave" brought up this:

i49.tinypic.com

How could cheer mom protest that?
 
2013-02-24 10:14:51 AM

Generation_D: Jumping Jesus on a pogo stick, that region of Dallas has about 9 thousand hotel rooms strewn about the former dusty plain. Get in your damn rental car and go get one.

Whining b*tch.


With an entire group of kids at the last minute? Yeah... that's realistic.

DanZero: So now we greenlight TripAdvisor reviews? I can't wait to see the Yelp review greenlight for the Burger King in Bumfark, Montana -- I hear that it actually has someone's day ruined simply by having other people eating, the horror!


What an excellent comparison. Because this review is obviously completely mundane and totally not out of the ordinary like your hypothetical Burger King review.

I give both these posts -a billionty yelps and I DEMAND to speak to the manager! I mean I can literally smell the week old jizz fermenting under these guys man gunts. This is supposed to be a 3 and half star website. I expect MORE for my zero dollars admission fee!

/here to help
 
2013-02-24 10:15:31 AM

ongbok: How do you know it was a man. Women use the name Tony also.


Only the pre-op ones.
 
2013-02-24 10:15:52 AM
Kids be damned, I find furries annoying as fark.
 
2013-02-24 10:17:11 AM
I actually preferred the next review:

When I stay at a 3 star and above hotel I EXPECT a HDTV
 I reported that the drink machine was broke on the 4 th floor and that it took my money. Nobody investigated it!
 I spent 30 minutes trying to find the Green Bay vs. Minnesota game Sunday.
If you do go to this hotel do not buy anything from the gift shop if chubby indian girl is working the register
I had to call the front desk with my cell phone however I got transfered to reservations then put on infinite hold
 
2013-02-24 10:18:21 AM
...And now, someone is going to go see who got married that weekend in that city, cross reference it to known hotel executives, then go to their house and poop on the lawn or something.  A really rancid, watery, "my god what did I eat that my body created such a horror" poop the likes of which the world has not seen before or since.
 
2013-02-24 10:18:41 AM

SurelyShirley: GIS for "furry rave" brought up this:

[i49.tinypic.com image 832x1248]

How could cheer mom protest that?



Heh,  that looks like Electric Daisy Carnival . . . once stayed at a Vegas hotel when the EDC was in town . . . very easy on the eye .. .


/ the Rush fans there for the concert / RushCon . . . not so much
 
2013-02-24 10:18:48 AM
Furries at a furry convention is fine.

Furries making "lewd" comments to 7 year old kids is not fine.

Keep defending them, scum.
 
2013-02-24 10:21:12 AM
I just want to know one thing. If this person knew that they were taking a group of young kids on the road, why didn't they check ahead of time to see if any type of convention or large group they might objectionable was staying at the hotel?
 
2013-02-24 10:21:26 AM

SurelyShirley: GIS for "furry rave" brought up this:

[i49.tinypic.com image 832x1248]

How could cheer mom protest that?


I suddenly want those shoes. Why I don't know but I really want a pair.
/Yiff in hell...etc.
 
2013-02-24 10:22:05 AM
Pafcon
 
2013-02-24 10:22:32 AM

Ennuipoet: FTA:  A Furry Rave included more lude and lascivious behavior,

I wondered if this was a joke, and then I saw the spelling and knew it was real.


I was impressed she could spell lascivious correctly, but not lewd.
 
2013-02-24 10:23:07 AM

Ennuipoet: FTA:  A Furry Rave included more

lude and lascivious behavior,

I wondered if this was a joke, and then I saw the spelling and knew it was real.


I didn't think you could still get those anymore.
 
2013-02-24 10:23:59 AM
I feel blessed that I had to look-up what Furries and Bronies are.
 
2013-02-24 10:24:38 AM
i.imgur.com

/obligatory?
 
2013-02-24 10:26:46 AM
You guys, I just got the best idea for a wacky Sandra Bullock /  Bill Pullman hate-to-love rom-com (with Melissa McCarthy as Udderina: "Milk me now!").
 
2013-02-24 10:26:50 AM

UNC_Samurai: Hall of Fame broadcaster Bob Uecker ran into a convention in Pittsburgh.


Furriers

www.theminkbarn.com
 
2013-02-24 10:29:46 AM

enik: Wow, reading through these comments it's clear that Fark has LOTS of furries and furry apologists. Yikes. As if most of you weren't pathetic enough already.


As opposed to losers who randomly comment on others' sexual preferences?
 
2013-02-24 10:31:06 AM

Captain Couscous: What I get form the review is that in her mind, "Latin America, Europe and Asia" are shiatholes.


She left out Africa because that wouldn't be politically correct, and Australia is right next to Hungary in Europe. That covers everything but those agressive northern states, Canada being the worst of them. Don't mess with Texas.
 
2013-02-24 10:34:44 AM

Kyle Butler: UNC_Samurai: Hall of Fame broadcaster Bob Uecker ran into a convention in Pittsburgh.

Furriers

[www.theminkbarn.com image 300x300]


What does getting new shoes for your horse have to do with this?
 
2013-02-24 10:35:17 AM
The hotel really should warn guests of any conventions going on that could make for unhappy guests, if only to avoid all of the future problems. I worked in reservations at a big hotel chain and I remember having to advise people of gay rodeo conventions and whatnots.

But if I was this reviewer I would have gone to management, demanded a refund and switched hotels.
 
2013-02-24 10:35:23 AM
Wow.   "My little snowflake's cheerleading outing was ruined, ruined I say, because there were a bunch of scary looking people booked in the same hotel as we were.  Wahhhh!   I don't like it!!!   I don't care if they had every right to be there too, it's a bad hotel because they didn't kick the scary looking people on the street!    WAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!"

I find myself curiously unsympathetic to the cheerleading parent's blight.
 
2013-02-24 10:36:31 AM

Mister Peejay: ...And now, someone is going to go see who got married that weekend in that city, cross reference it to known hotel executives, then go to their house and poop on the lawn or something.  A really rancid, watery, "my god what did I eat that my body created such a horror" poop the likes of which the world has not seen before or since.


Here's some more details: http://en.battlestarwiki.org/wiki/The_15_Yahren_Reunion

October 15-17 1993, Universal City Hilton, Los Angeles CA.

Apparently Hilton published an apology in the July 15, 1995 issue of Starlog magazine (i.e. almost 2 years later).

Probably should have researched it more before posting, but that's some dates and places to the story of the BSG convention sabotaged by hotel management.
 
2013-02-24 10:38:03 AM
While that commentary was kind of humorous, I like this line from the review below it...

"If you do go to this hotel do not buy anything from the gift shop if chubby Indian girl is working the register. I caught her digging in her nose on several occassions. Disgusting!"

I for one, will not buy from chubby Indian girl.
 
2013-02-24 10:38:18 AM

enik: Wow, reading through these comments it's clear that Fark has LOTS of furries and furry apologists. Yikes. As if most of you us weren't pathetic enough already.


The first step is admitting you're a FARKer
 
2013-02-24 10:41:04 AM
captionsearch.com
 
2013-02-24 10:41:42 AM

Glancing Blow: I feel blessed that I had to look-up what Furries and Bronies are.


You should have Googled it with the safe search off.
 
2013-02-24 10:43:10 AM
Let's see, I've been out of the convention scene for a long time but it's ALWAYS a hoot when there's other events booked at the same facility.

I don't have much sympathy for this cheer parent. Adults doing adult things in adult spaces. If the Klan wants to have their yearly meeting in a hotel in full-on white-sheeted regalia and they've paid for the space, then I can either choose to stick around and expose my kid to whatever, or I can leave. It beomes an issue of "how much of a threat is this to my child?" sort of issue.

I would say that if it was that bad, the parent should have left and found another place to stay, and if it was a so bad and there was no other place to stay, have the guts to pull the plug on the whole mission.

I highly doubt that there was anything that bad going on in public spaces, though, having been to a few of these cons. Enough to squick the easily squicked perhaps, but nothing serious. There has always been a code of conduct at most every con I've ever been to, with the Dorsai or somebody like that doing security. (PDAs always allowed gay or straight, but if it went beyond handholding and kissing it had to go to your rooms).

Hell, I'd feel uncomforable at a leather-daddy convention, and I would either find a new place if I had kids with me or try to make sure they didn't see anything they shouldn't. I wouldn't leave a bad review on the hotel for hosting it though.
 
2013-02-24 10:45:47 AM
wife has worked for a multiple chain name hotel franchisor for nearly 25 years. few years back one of their upscale name brand locations hosted simultaneous conventions for a important business holdings group and a huge amount of furries. there was so much backlash the hotel was locked out of the 1-800 reservation system, everything with the hotel brand name was removed from the premises including the sign cans out front and the owner was slapped with a lawsuit. contractual agreements can run deep and wide.
 
2013-02-24 10:46:08 AM
I'm not into the whole furry thing myself but couldn't this guy have simply moved his team to another hotel without making such a big fuss? Let the furry people have their fun I say.

You have to take these Tripadvisor reviews with a grain of salt. Especially when you have "SavvvvyTravelers" who can't even figure out what channel the football game is on (see below review).

/My guess was that he didn't even bother to look for the channel list usually provided in every room
 
2013-02-24 10:48:43 AM

Mrtraveler01: One tip for this mother:

Don't go to Pittsburgh in June (or whenever they hold that convention)


It's always right around 4th of July. I've gone the past three years. Best money to entertainment ratio in Pittsburgh

/not a furry
//seriously
 
2013-02-24 10:49:39 AM
Rude+Lewd=Lude
 
2013-02-24 10:52:53 AM
I'd be curious to see what happened if, through some odd circumstance, you had a large gathering of furries and juggaloes at the same place and time. Would a juggalo furry be the most hated creature on the internet?
 
2013-02-24 10:56:28 AM

mrswood: The hotel really should warn guests of any conventions going on that could make for unhappy guests, if only to avoid all of the future problems. I worked in reservations at a big hotel chain and I remember having to advise people of gay rodeo conventions and whatnots.

But if I was this reviewer I would have gone to management, demanded a refund and switched hotels.


The hotel should really make all guests behave and not look the other way when things like this occur. I stayed at a hotel in Chicago one night when at 2:00am a group came into the room next door, started smoking and carrying on like you wouldn't believe. This was recent when you could not smoke in rooms any more and they hotel had a stated policy to charge guests cleanup fees if you smoked. Instead of addressing the problem people they moved us to the presidential suite and gave us the room for free.
 
2013-02-24 10:56:41 AM
Evidently, choosy moms do not choose Yiff.
 
2013-02-24 10:57:22 AM

enik: Wow, reading through these comments it's clear that Fark has LOTS of furries and furry apologists. Yikes. As if most of you weren't pathetic enough already.


I think it's clear to everyone (except you) that cheerleader "competitions" are unacceptable, as are cheerleader "moms" and "dads".

So when you compare anything to the absolute scum of the Earth, even Furries don't look quite so bad.
 
2013-02-24 10:59:45 AM
They should comp that poor family a room in Atlanta for DragonCon.

26.media.tumblr.com
 
2013-02-24 11:01:18 AM
It's worse when you know you can't escape.  I boarded a flight from Newark to Dallas only to be confronted with an entire plane full of ladies dressed in pink.  Yes, it was the dreaded Mary-Kay convention flight.
 
2013-02-24 11:02:21 AM

enik: Wow, reading through these comments it's clear that Fark has LOTS of furries and furry apologists. Yikes. As if most of you weren't pathetic enough already.


Ha! I agree heartily!
 
2013-02-24 11:03:06 AM
 
2013-02-24 11:05:00 AM

GentlemanJ: Evidently, choosy moms do not choose Yiff.


+1 internets to you.
 
2013-02-24 11:05:39 AM

Repo Man: I'd be curious to see what happened if, through some odd circumstance, you had a large gathering of furries and juggaloes at the same place and time. Would a juggalo furry be the most hated creature on the internet?


I think the most hated creature on the internet would have to be a juggalo furry/brony that happened to be a lawyer/cop/politician in their daily life.
 
2013-02-24 11:06:12 AM

Repo Man: Ok, juggalos are worse.


made it to 1:05
 
2013-02-24 11:07:48 AM
The first rule to troll identification is the use of the term 'apologists'.
 
2013-02-24 11:11:05 AM

GentlemanJ: Evidently, choosy moms do not choose Yiff.


This comment is made of win.
 
2013-02-24 11:12:06 AM
I can summarize the entire problem in one sentence.  A direct quote from the review.

"How did I find out all of these details about this "rave" and what these furry conventions are about? GOOGLE!!!!! "

The guy saw some furries walking the hall and the little girls probably thought it was awesome because people were dressed up as animals.   Cheer dad probably got all excited and asked if it was a team mascot convention.  When told it was a furry convention he went back to his room, googled furry, and encountered rule #34.

He should try looking up cheerleader.
 
2013-02-24 11:17:31 AM

hockeychick: Methinks this woman is full of shiat.  My guess is that she and her snowflakes got there, saw a few people who were dressed in fursuits and freaked out.  How many people do you know who randomly swear at children?  Unless you grew up in my house not many.  And the claim that she never saw the general manager, I guarantee that if the furries were making that much of a ruckus that manager would be there in a heartbeat with cops in tow to calm the fur love-in down.

And if she thinks that's bad try going to New Orleans on Labor Day weekend.  On your honeymoon.


I went on labor day weekend with my girlfriend and had a blast, how in particular would it ruin a honeymoon? When I went I didn't realize it was gay pride weekend, but it actually made for one of the more memorable trips. The funny part was that there was also a "red hat" convention at the hotel we were at, so little old ladies and extremely drunk gay dudes.
 
2013-02-24 11:21:20 AM

GentlemanJ: Evidently, choosy moms do not choose Yiff.


You magnificent bastard.
 
2013-02-24 11:23:55 AM

PacManDreaming: There's only one way to deal with a hotel full of furries:


Burn it Dow! Burn it all down Pookie!

Yiff in hell
 
2013-02-24 11:25:10 AM

Noah_Tall: I can summarize the entire problem in one sentence.  A direct quote from the review.

"How did I find out all of these details about this "rave" and what these furry conventions are about? GOOGLE!!!!! "

The guy saw some furries walking the hall and the little girls probably thought it was awesome because people were dressed up as animals.   Cheer dad probably got all excited and asked if it was a team mascot convention.  When told it was a furry convention he went back to his room, googled furry, and encountered rule #34.

He should try looking up cheerleader.


Well, there were additional details, but I would not put this type of parent past the point of fabricating incidents to assuage their dislike of people that scare them for making them think about things outside their little bubble.
 
2013-02-24 11:25:16 AM
A few years back the company I worked for had our yearly worldwide sales kick off in San Jose at the Doubletree right by SJC airport.  The 2nd to last day of our event started Furcon.

It was pretty much the funniest things I have seen.... the guys from Japan really were impressed as well.

I got to meet that cat guy before he an-hero'ed himself, which was neat.
 
2013-02-24 11:25:33 AM
Hahahahaha!

These threads are always so entertaining.
 
2013-02-24 11:26:19 AM
i15.photobucket.com
 
2013-02-24 11:31:14 AM
What kind of idiotic hotel books a convention of sexual deviants? If the the Giant Dildos and Donkey Lovers of America called for convention acommadations wouldn't that give them pause? How about NAMBLA? Everybody that reads this and goes, "Furry fun spot, how about no?" is well served by the review and the apparent loss of business that got them to contact the reviewer is very much deserved by the hotel.
 
2013-02-24 11:33:04 AM

Silverstaff: I know it can be annoying to be staying at a hotel at the same time as a convention.

When I was a kid, we took a family vacation to Gatlinburg.  Apparently the hotel was having some kind of motorcycle convention that weekend.  We heard the sounds of revving motorcycles and loud partying all weekend.

What is worse is when the hotel decides to sabotage the convention because they don't like it.

Apparently, in the mid '90's, FOX decided it wanted a sci-fi space action/adventure TV series.  Dirk Benedict had been shopping around to build support for a Battlestar Galactica revival.  (Note, this is almost a decade before the new BSG reboot), and would be a continuation of the late 70's series (and ignoring the Galactica 1980 spinoff).

FOX was interested in the idea, partly in the idea it had a ready-built fanbase they could use.  Name recognition and existing fanbase they thought would be good for ratings.  What it would take to seal the deal would be actually showing the network execs just how much fandom existed and how much support was out there.  Again, the early days of the web, so it was hard to just point to a big online community.

So, there was going to be a big convention for Battlestar Galactica.  A 15th anniversary deal as I recall, circa 1994.  The execs just had to see it was big and they'd sign for a new series.

They had booked a hotel for the convention, and had lots of attendees booked for the convention and most of the surviving cast were going to be there as guests.  The problem was that some exec at the hotel chain was getting married that weekend, and he was doing it at one of his hotels.  That one.  He didn't want a bunch of fanboys running around mucking up his wedding.

So, the desk staff started "losing" reservations.  Basically whenever fans showed up to check in and it was clear they were there for the convention, their reservation was "lost" and they wouldn't have any rooms available.  Lots of fans were turned away, and a good number of th ...


unacceptable.  what chain was this?
 
2013-02-24 11:34:42 AM
El Brujo's hierarchy of unacceptables:

1. social conservatives
2. juggalos
3. bronies
4. infantilists
5. furries
6. rappers
 
2013-02-24 11:36:20 AM
If she couldn't be bothered to ask the hotel about any other groups staying there, then it's too bad, lady.  It's not the management's job to babysit you.
 
2013-02-24 11:38:11 AM

Silverstaff: Mister Peejay: ...And now, someone is going to go see who got married that weekend in that city, cross reference it to known hotel executives, then go to their house and poop on the lawn or something.  A really rancid, watery, "my god what did I eat that my body created such a horror" poop the likes of which the world has not seen before or since.

Here's some more details: http://en.battlestarwiki.org/wiki/The_15_Yahren_Reunion

October 15-17 1993, Universal City Hilton, Los Angeles CA.

Apparently Hilton published an apology in the July 15, 1995 issue of Starlog magazine (i.e. almost 2 years later).

Probably should have researched it more before posting, but that's some dates and places to the story of the BSG convention sabotaged by hotel management.


Wow.  still unacceptable. guess have to read up to find out if the hotel did actual outreach instead of a pr apology.
 
2013-02-24 11:38:38 AM

boozehat: A few years back the company I worked for had our yearly worldwide sales kick off in San Jose at the Doubletree right by SJC airport.  The 2nd to last day of our event started Furcon.

It was pretty much the funniest things I have seen.... the guys from Japan really were impressed as well.

I got to meet that cat guy before he an-hero'ed himself, which was neat.




Wait - this guy killed himself? But he seemed so stable.
 
2013-02-24 11:41:07 AM

machodonkeywrestler: enik: Wow, reading through these comments it's clear that Fark has LOTS of furries and furry apologists. Yikes. As if most of you weren't pathetic enough already.

As opposed to losers who randomly comment on others' sexual preferences?


This is Fark. We're all losers in some way or other here (otherwise, we wouldn't be here!)

/Yes, even YOU!
 
2013-02-24 11:42:24 AM
Yep, The end fur 'Cat Man': Former sailor who had radical surgery to look like a tiger found dead. You have to feel at least a little bit sorry for that guy.
 
2013-02-24 11:50:29 AM

hockeychick: Methinks this woman is full of shiat.  My guess is that she and her snowflakes got there, saw a few people who were dressed in fursuits and freaked out.  How many people do you know who randomly swear at children?  Unless you grew up in my house not many.  And the claim that she never saw the general manager, I guarantee that if the furries were making that much of a ruckus that manager would be there in a heartbeat with cops in tow to calm the fur love-in down.

And if she thinks that's bad try going to New Orleans on Labor Day weekend.  On your honeymoon.


Ran into something like this in July when I was at a Sci-Fi con.  An older couple's daughter was screaming at management for not telling them a con was going on the same weekend she'd booked her parents' 50th wedding anniversary.  Her entire family now had to put up with what she described as escapees from an insane asylum and how was she going to explain to her kids all the women walking around half-dressed??  (The most scantily-clad women were a few Slave Leias and a couple of Mirror/Mirror Star Trek uniforms).

6 months later, when we were near the same location for another con, found out she'd started up a writing campaign to have the hotel dismissed from the chain & all the employees fired.

/Mundanes at a con are inevitable.  Most congoers keep their distance.
//More often than not, the Mundanes end up joining in on the fun.
 
2013-02-24 11:56:15 AM
As much as I dont want to I have to agree with her. This makes about as much sense as scheduling a KKK and Black Panther conventions together. Not to say it wouldn't be entertaining.
 
2013-02-24 11:56:47 AM
Hah. I hope she catches the con crud going around that con.

I am in Vegas myself for a brony con.

/Hey guys, Combo Furry and Brony here, flame on!
 
2013-02-24 11:58:45 AM

Arumat: Repo Man: I'd be curious to see what happened if, through some odd circumstance, you had a large gathering of furries and juggaloes at the same place and time. Would a juggalo furry be the most hated creature on the internet?

I think the most hated creature on the internet would have to be a juggalo furry/brony that happened to be a lawyer/cop/politician in their daily life.


I know a furry juggalo.

He's ok... Not, you know, stable, but he is a nice enough guy.
 
2013-02-24 12:02:03 PM

OscarTamerz: What kind of idiotic hotel books a convention of sexual deviants? If the the Giant Dildos and Donkey Lovers of America called for convention acommadations wouldn't that give them pause? How about NAMBLA? Everybody that reads this and goes, "Furry fun spot, how about no?" is well served by the review and the apparent loss of business that got them to contact the reviewer is very much deserved by the hotel.


The kind of hotel that loves money. Lots and lots of money.

/When "deviants" (I disagree with the use of that term, but whatever) have an event of the magnitude of the Pittsburgh con (Or Dragoncon, or PENNSIC, or a decent fetish con) they save for weeks or months and bring a shiatton of disposable cash that they don't plan on going home with. As a businessperson in the area you would be a FOOL not to cater to them. You never know, you might just have your ideals opened up a bit...
 
2013-02-24 12:02:17 PM
Having trouble deciding on this. Cheer moms are incredibly annoying, but having slept with one I would probably do it again. Furries would give me a good laugh, but get on my nerves eventually as well. 

I wish I had something positive to say about Furry/Brony culture, but I have yet to meet one in real life that would give me a reason to do so. Sure there's plenty of stable ones online, but then again we can be whatever we want. Let me just for once meet a Furry/Brony that wasn't a neckbeard virgin that has poor hygiene and still lives with with their folks even though they are between the ages of 25-45. My ex-roomate was a Brony. I gave him his 30 days notice after he made the case pedophiles are just confused and needed treatment, not jail time.

/shudders
 
2013-02-24 12:05:31 PM

Bane of Broone: I gave him his 30 days notice after he made the case pedophiles are just confused and needed treatment, not jail time.


Pedophiles or child-molesters? The two aren't always the same thing.
 
2013-02-24 12:14:43 PM

mrswood: The hotel really should warn guests of any conventions going on that could make for unhappy guests, if only to avoid all of the future problems. I worked in reservations at a big hotel chain and I remember having to advise people of gay rodeo conventions and whatnots.

But if I was this reviewer I would have gone to management, demanded a refund and switched hotels.


My father in law likes to tell a story about how when on a business trip him and his partner were booked in a hotel hosting a gay rodeo convention.

He was amused.
 
2013-02-24 12:15:10 PM

baka-san: I'm not sure what would be worse: a hotel filled with furries or a hotel filled with cheerleader moms.


We stayed in a hotel at the beach during off season last year...there was a cheerleader convention going on that same weekend. Our hotel was full of annoying screaming shrieking little shiats...and their kids!
NEVER again will I book without making sure the convention is some other weekend.
 
2013-02-24 12:16:20 PM

Girion47: mrswood: The hotel really should warn guests of any conventions going on that could make for unhappy guests, if only to avoid all of the future problems. I worked in reservations at a big hotel chain and I remember having to advise people of gay rodeo conventions and whatnots.

But if I was this reviewer I would have gone to management, demanded a refund and switched hotels.

My father in law likes to tell a story about how when on a business trip him and his partner were booked in a hotel hosting a gay rodeo convention.

He was amused.


by partner I mean business partner, not spouse.
 
2013-02-24 12:17:15 PM

KrispyKritter: wife has worked for a multiple chain name hotel franchisor for nearly 25 years. few years back one of their upscale name brand locations hosted simultaneous conventions for a important business holdings group and a huge amount of furries. there was so much backlash the hotel was locked out of the 1-800 reservation system, everything with the hotel brand name was removed from the premises including the sign cans out front and the owner was slapped with a lawsuit. contractual agreements can run deep and wide.


Sounds like the furries really gave it to the hotel chain due to those business yahoos.
 
2013-02-24 12:17:37 PM

WhippingBoy: Bane of Broone: I gave him his 30 days notice after he made the case pedophiles are just confused and needed treatment, not jail time.

Pedophiles or child-molesters? The two aren't always the same thing.


So people with mental issues about sexuality that have never committed a crime need to be locked up instead of receiving counseling?
 
2013-02-24 12:17:37 PM
CSB,

I used to work in the nicest hotel in a small city, which hosted its fair share of conventions.  My very first day of working there as a bellboy, it was a Star Trek convention.  My job that day was to take food to all of the VIPs, which was most of the main cast of the original series (minus Kirk and McCoy).  First on the list was Uhura.  She was very nice and quiet.  Next was Checkov.  He was rude to me, basically telling me to set the food on the dresser and get out.  After that was the inimitable Mr. Sulu himself.  He answered the door in a towel.  This was before he came out, and it was awkward, but he was super nice.  Finally, it was Scotty.  He was as drunk as a skunk and complained about all of the costumed weirdo convention attendees to me for like 10 minutes.  He was cool.  Later in the evening, there was an obvious whore hanging around the lobby.  My boss told me I was going to have to ask her to leave, and just as I was working up the courage to do that, Checkov comes down and escorts her back to his room.
 
2013-02-24 12:19:03 PM
This happened to me when I went back to Indy for my best friend's wedding.  It's weird, but I thought they were all respectful.  Didn't have a problem with the furries at all.  There was even a family of furries.  The daughter was like 8 or so.  I'm sure when she gets older, she'll probably think her parents are so freaking weird.
 
2013-02-24 12:19:15 PM

WhippingBoy: Bane of Broone: I gave him his 30 days notice after he made the case pedophiles are just confused and needed treatment, not jail time.

Pedophiles or child-molesters? The two aren't always the same thing.


Don't even care.
 
2013-02-24 12:20:49 PM
Why do I get the feeling that if anyone had complained about the behavior of a bunch of cheerleaders/children that this mother would be absolutely indignant about it.

By the way lady, I'd rather deal with the furies than a bunch of cheerleaders.
 
2013-02-24 12:27:50 PM

cc_rider: GentlemanJ: Evidently, choosy moms do not choose Yiff.

+1 internets to you.


Indeed
 
2013-02-24 12:31:52 PM
We once had a homebrew competition/convention at an Orlando hotel.  There was also a belly dancing convention at the same hotel that weekend.  A good time was had by all.
 
2013-02-24 12:36:22 PM

PacManDreaming: There's only one way to deal with a hotel full of furries:

[i47.tinypic.com image 354x240]


Gotdang it, I was going to Comment "cap a couple of them, that ought to slow down this kind of unacceptable behavior" but PacMan got there first
 
2013-02-24 12:37:07 PM
Why isn't there ever anything hilarious afoot when I stay at hotels?! I would die laughing if I had to explain furries to my kids.
 
2013-02-24 12:38:12 PM

Girion47: WhippingBoy: Bane of Broone: I gave him his 30 days notice after he made the case pedophiles are just confused and needed treatment, not jail time.

Pedophiles or child-molesters? The two aren't always the same thing.

So people with mental issues about sexuality that have never committed a crime need to be locked up instead of receiving counseling?


That was my point...
 
2013-02-24 12:43:30 PM

hockeychick: Methinks this woman is full of shiat.  My guess is that she and her snowflakes got there, saw a few people who were dressed in fursuits and freaked out.  How many people do you know who randomly swear at children?  Unless you grew up in my house not many.  And the claim that she never saw the general manager, I guarantee that if the furries were making that much of a ruckus that manager would be there in a heartbeat with cops in tow to calm the fur love-in down.

And if she thinks that's bad try going to New Orleans on Labor Day weekend.  On your honeymoon.


I doubt it.  Nothing in that story sounds outlandish, especially about the general manager.  Why would he want to risk kicking that many people out, losing all that profit and risking multiple lawsuits for profiling?  And considering that the manager wanted to speak privately, I think it is more likely he was afraid of being called out for discrimination if he gave his reasoning rather than thinking he was going to get a public tongue lashing from this woman.  Also, I imagine it's possible her children were being fairly disrespectful towards the furries (though, quite frankly, who can blame them?), which might explain the frustration the furries were showing these kids, but the furries are still adults and shouldn't be yelling obscenities at kids they don't know.

Besides, look at how well that review is written.  Outside of a typo or two, it is coherent and calmly written.  You seem to be placing the kind of doubt on on this that one would put on a raving, frantic rant.

Ultimately, this shows why there is a line between public and private.  People can say "I'm just being me", but the people they are may be a bit in-your-face, and that is never excusable.
 
2013-02-24 12:45:12 PM

OscarTamerz: What kind of idiotic hotel books a convention of sexual deviants? If the the Giant Dildos and Donkey Lovers of America called for convention acommadations wouldn't that give them pause? How about NAMBLA? Everybody that reads this and goes, "Furry fun spot, how about no?" is well served by the review and the apparent loss of business that got them to contact the reviewer is very much deserved by the hotel.


The Palmer House Hilton in Chicago...

img.photobucket.com

....used to host the International Mr. Leather convention.

img.photobucket.com


It is nice to know that the Hilton Company is not as narrow-minded or bigoted as you.
 
2013-02-24 12:45:16 PM
I stayed at a hotel in Charlotte that was hosting groups from a hotrod convention, a Rotary convention, and two Indian weddings.

Man, was that fun.

/it's all in what you make of it.
 
2013-02-24 12:46:41 PM

Repo Man: Yep, The end fur 'Cat Man': Former sailor who had radical surgery to look like a tiger found dead. You have to feel at least a little bit sorry for that guy.


FTLink: Descended from American Indians, Avner liked to go by his Indian name 'Stalking Cat.'
He said felt inspired after a discussion with a Native chief who inspired him to 'follow the ways of the tiger.'


Ah.  So, another "Look at me!  I'm a real Indian!  And I know a chief!  [Chief nowhere to be found, by the way.]  And I have a real Indian Name!  And I'm so damn special, the chief gave me this life mission that's so spiritual and connected and it has nothing to do with getting attention!  Look!  LOOK!  LOOK AT ME, DAMN YOU, LOOOOOOOOOOOOK!!!"

Part of me feels bad for him because he was obviously unbalanced and needed help.  But seriously - where's the line between "Attention whore - Ignore and Laugh at Their Impotent Rage" and "Farked Up, Needs an Intervention"?  This guy definitely crossed it, but at what point?
 
2013-02-24 12:54:31 PM

Repo Man: boozehat: A few years back the company I worked for had our yearly worldwide sales kick off in San Jose at the Doubletree right by SJC airport.  The 2nd to last day of our event started Furcon.

It was pretty much the funniest things I have seen.... the guys from Japan really were impressed as well.

I got to meet that cat guy before he an-hero'ed himself, which was neat.

Wait - this guy killed himself? But he seemed so stable.


No kidding huh?  He actually seemed pretty level headed while I spoke with him; but then again, he probably was just comfortable in his environment at the time.  Headed back to reality must have been a biatch.
 
2013-02-24 01:02:06 PM
What could she possibly have against a Jewish convention?

/dnrtfa
 
2013-02-24 01:02:28 PM
Dunno about Furries, but the hotel I work for had hosted kid's sports teams before and they're a bunch of thieving little hellions. If the Furries were *really* acting up as described (I don't know any and have never been around them), our GM would've spoken with the group contact, warned them against further complaints and sent them packing (with a refund) if it happened again. Can't say the same for the other chains I've worked for, but this one seems to have its shiat together.

/Have friends that attend gaming cons, heard the stories about those
//Afraid to Google ANYthing involving Furries
///Do yo thang as long as all involved are consenting
 
2013-02-24 01:03:33 PM

Lurk sober post drunk: How did I find out all of these details about this "rave" and what these furry conventions are about? GOOGLE!!!!!

[www.mediaite.com image 320x200]


lol.
and as we all know the googles never would mislead you about a group of people, i mean everything on the internets true. the internets told me so ;)
 
2013-02-24 01:08:24 PM
So Mom passed up an opportunity to fund her team for 18 months? Good job, prude person. Chances are: you've already taught the girls they're better than other people; what have you got against teaching them to give back to society?
 
2013-02-24 01:09:21 PM

WhippingBoy: Girion47: WhippingBoy: Bane of Broone: I gave him his 30 days notice after he made the case pedophiles are just confused and needed treatment, not jail time.

Pedophiles or child-molesters? The two aren't always the same thing.

So people with mental issues about sexuality that have never committed a crime need to be locked up instead of receiving counseling?

That was my point...


Yeah I quoted the wrong person.
 
2013-02-24 01:10:54 PM

El Brujo: El Brujo's hierarchy of unacceptables:

1. social conservatives
2. juggalos
3. bronies
4. infantilists
5. furries
6. rappers


Awwww....what?  That's *MY* list, if by "bronies" you mean "hipsters" and by "furries" you mean "trustafarians".
 
2013-02-24 01:27:52 PM
If you are at a hotel with an unexpected convention the hotel staff should do all they can to separate the normal guests from convention goers, most at the convention think all are there for rowdy behavior and thats usually wrong. Spring break was the only exception.
 
2013-02-24 01:28:29 PM
media.ebaumsworld.com
 
2013-02-24 01:29:30 PM
As a level-headed infantilist with a normal life and a working shower I find being sandwiched between furries and bronies to be particularly reductionist. Not to mention pungent.
 
2013-02-24 01:30:44 PM
freakipedia.net
 
2013-02-24 01:31:31 PM
www.dmuth.org
 
2013-02-24 01:33:25 PM
Mandatory viewing for any Con attendees.
 
2013-02-24 01:35:43 PM
Someone must have seen the Fark photoshop contests.
i2.kym-cdn.com
 
2013-02-24 01:36:41 PM
assets.motivationalgenerator.com
 
2013-02-24 01:39:18 PM
That's not even how a demotivational poster works.
 
2013-02-24 01:40:27 PM
Well, some people actually prefer hotels with furrie conventions going on.
http://youtu.be/NZWC6gaYIaU
 
2013-02-24 01:40:33 PM
farm4.static.flickr.com
 
2013-02-24 01:46:53 PM
www.troll.me
 
2013-02-24 01:47:44 PM
seemslegit.com
 
2013-02-24 01:50:17 PM
No no something doesn't seem right about this review. As you can see, the review is from January 9th, 2013. I was curious what furry convention was being hosted in the Crowne Plaza in Addison, Texas and the closest one I found to that time was the Furry Fiesta: Time Travelers Ball but it's occurring on February 22nd - 24th, 2013.
 
2013-02-24 01:50:23 PM

maxx2112: For our first anniversary, we went to Biloxi (we were young, we were poor, shut up, you don't know me).  This was before the days of Beau Rivage, so the big four-star hotels didn't exist.  We stayed at a beach front resort.  What we didn't know was that a dog show was in town, and a lot of the participants were staying at our hotel, one of the few "pet friendly" places.

The noise!

The smell!

I would have given my left nut to have been in a hotel with a furry convention instead

(Once decided not to stay at a hotel in Vegas because the Lifestyle convention was there.  I'm sure they're nice people, but I wasn't really interested in seeing a bunch of fat, middle aged swingers drunkenly groping each other all weekend . . . I get enough of that at home, thank you).

/ csb


Are you sure that wasnt CoastCon?
 
2013-02-24 01:51:02 PM
This woman's story doesn't add up.  Her husband almost got into 2 fights?  Are furries violently aggressive or something?  The whole thing reads like someone embellishing to justify their moral outrage
 
2013-02-24 01:54:11 PM
Silverstaff:
The Galactica revival was scrapped, FOX filled their interest in a space-actions series with Space: Above and Beyond.

. . .all because a hotel exec didn't want his wedding at the same place as a convention.


If this is remotely true, it's probably a good thing (though certainly very much in disguise at the time).  Advances in FX made the more recent reboot look and feel much better than a mid-90's version would have.  And shows like S:AAB set production and stylistic precedents that probably contributed to the new BG being what it was.

But, genuinely CS,B.
 
2013-02-24 01:58:29 PM
Look, I find furries just as creepy as the next guy, but this biatch has a TON of sand in that vagina of hers.

She needs to wake up and realize that you know, there are people that enjoy doing different things than her. Were the furries harassing her or the kids? No? Then shut the fark up lady! Deal with it biatch, you are in a hotel!
 
2013-02-24 01:59:35 PM
Go fark yourself, asswipe. I'm not a furry, but FFS, they have the right to have a damn convention, and your pwecious wittle snowflakes are  not going to be scarred for life if two furries kiss, which, knowing your type, is probable the 'lude' behavior you were complaining about. Other people have sex. They have sex in ways you don't like. Get the fark over it.

/Had three girls go to my HS wearing tails and collars. I don't think they were furries; they just liked wearing that.
//That's the level of how much any child of my generation or younger gives a shiat.
 
2013-02-24 02:00:06 PM

leonel: No no something doesn't seem right about this review. As you can see, the review is from January 9th, 2013. I was curious what furry convention was being hosted in the Crowne Plaza in Addison, Texas and the closest one I found to that time was the Furry Fiesta: Time Travelers Ball but it's occurring on February 22nd - 24th, 2013.


Hurp never mind, she mentions she stayed in Feb 2012.

I still have qualms about what she thinks is happening in a furry rave since her mentioning that she looked it up on Google leads me to believe that she didn't actually go and see herself.
 
2013-02-24 02:03:25 PM
Furries can fark how they like. Whatever. But when I get to furries who are like, "Yo, this is a lifestyle," I gotta be all, "Yeah your lifestyle is wack." I thought Road Rovers was a good show too, but I don't base my life around it. shiat guys. I don't even know how I would do that. "Hey check out my lifestyle based around sexy children's television shows from the 90's. I drink out of a dog bowl. Here's my Minerva Mink fursuit. I wear it while I put a dragon dildo in my butt while watching Disney's Robin Hood. I base my anarcho-communist beliefs around the webcomic Kit & Kay Boodle. All economic transactions should be based on sex. I'm unemployed right now because I had a split-species transition when I was cleaning tables at Burger King and my boss fired me. That's discrimination! I can't help that there's a wolf inside of me just begging to get out!" That's a crazy way to live your life dude.
 
2013-02-24 02:19:02 PM
 
2013-02-24 02:21:51 PM

Latinwolf: [freakipedia.net image 425x531]


She isn't a furry, she's dressed as Felicia from Dark Stalkers.
 
2013-02-24 02:25:22 PM
ComicCon is coming to Watfington State Convention Center.


/yiffie ki ya, motherfarkers
//see ya'll there
///i'll be dressed in halo gear
////punch me in the junk, we all like it
 
2013-02-24 02:26:22 PM

dillenger69: the Brunching Shuttlecocks' geek hierarchy
[i.imgur.com image 850x493]


Oh good lord, I fall into 13 of those boxes... so... I don't know where I belong on that chart... The lowest one I'm in is in the third tier though...oh wait... there's one 4th tier... "People who buy expensive 'replicas' of fictional fantasy swords", but I have a LOT of swords...
 
2013-02-24 02:28:13 PM
Every year Atlanta hosts the ChickFila College Football kickoff game and Dragoncon, and fans of both fill up the downtown hotels.  Trust me, the football fans are way rowdier and offensive than any block of nerds could ever been.  If anyone should be complaining, it should be the furries, stormtroopers, Klingons and Harry Potters.
 
2013-02-24 02:29:02 PM
Once had a hotel room on a floor otherwise occupied by an (apparently) well known Mexican Heavy Metal band. The party was still going strong when I left at 6:30 am. It was like Caligula meets an episode of behind the music.
 
2013-02-24 02:36:46 PM

SCUBA_Archer: Every year Atlanta hosts the ChickFila College Football kickoff game and Dragoncon, and fans of both fill up the downtown hotels.  Trust me, the football fans are way rowdier and offensive than any block of nerds could ever been.  If anyone should be complaining, it should be the furries, stormtroopers, Klingons and Harry Potters.


I don't know if it happens every year, but last summer Anime Expo was going down at the LA Convention Center simultaneously with the X-Games at LA Live. It was an odd scene I'll say that much.
 
2013-02-24 02:38:16 PM
i14.photobucket.com
 
2013-02-24 02:42:28 PM

El Brujo: El Brujo's hierarchy of unacceptables:

1. social conservatives
2. juggalos
3. bronies
4. infantilists
5. furries
6. rappers


Exactly what's wrong with being a social conservative?
 
2013-02-24 02:42:53 PM

casey17: El Brujo: El Brujo's hierarchy of unacceptables:

1. social conservatives
2. juggalos
3. bronies
4. infantilists
5. furries
6. rappers

Awwww....what?  That's *MY* list, if by "bronies" you mean "hipsters" and by "furries" you mean "trustafarians".


Sorry, I don't.  Hipsters can sometimes bring decent music to the table...not that I listen often but KEXP will confirm.  While Bronies...emasculated men obsessed with toys and clothing for little girls...do nothing for me.  Trustafarians could at least bring around some decent weed, I'd think, so they have that going.  Fake bestiality is so 90's, besides.
 
2013-02-24 02:48:41 PM
i46.tinypic.com
i48.tinypic.com
i46.tinypic.com
 
2013-02-24 02:55:16 PM
A friend of mine had his Plymouth Superbird at an indoor car show a few months ago. There was apparently a furry convention in the hotel at the same time, and at one point, the furries wandered into the car show. Most of the car show guys were horrified, but my friend saw the humor in it and not only let the furries sit in his car, but let them climb up on the wing and decklid for photos. All the other other car owners were outraged and making threats about "if one of them freaks even looks at my car..." but it seems that the furries were decent folks who weren't interested in making trouble. Their handlers were shiatting eggrolls when my friend started allowing them to get into and onto his car, but otherwise it seemed to work just fine. And he says the best part was watching the other Superbird owners losing their minds over the "blasphemy" of letting these folks even touch the car.

At least have a sense of humor about it. So it's not your thing, what's the harm?


img28.imageshack.us

imageshack.us

imageshack.us
 
2013-02-24 02:56:36 PM

Richard C Stanford: Can't wait to see the yiff brigade come out with all the "this is racism" crap. Furries have a persecution complex on par with republicans. Fortunately, furries are less vocal then them.


The 90's and early 00's really scarred people. Furries have gone from the Internet's loudest and most obnoxious weirdos to being basically invisible, unless you are one, just like the rest of the nerdy cliques. The decline of Livejournal versus Myspace and Facebook probably had a lot to do with that.

On the other hand, political trolls are everywhere and getting louder every year.
 
2013-02-24 03:00:07 PM

JerkStore: A friend of mine had his Plymouth Superbird at an indoor car show a few months ago. There was apparently a furry convention in the hotel at the same time, and at one point, the furries wandered into the car show. Most of the car show guys were horrified, but my friend saw the humor in it and not only let the furries sit in his car, but let them climb up on the wing and decklid for photos. All the other other car owners were outraged and making threats about "if one of them freaks even looks at my car..." but it seems that the furries were decent folks who weren't interested in making trouble. Their handlers were shiatting eggrolls when my friend started allowing them to get into and onto his car, but otherwise it seemed to work just fine. And he says the best part was watching the other Superbird owners losing their minds over the "blasphemy" of letting these folks even touch the car.

At least have a sense of humor about it. So it's not your thing, what's the harm?


[img28.imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]


Notice how Humanity was staying as far from these furries as possible. Like there was at least a ten foot space between a sane person and a furry.
 
2013-02-24 03:12:05 PM

GentlemanJ: Evidently, choosy moms do not choose Yiff.


Well done, brother.
 
2013-02-24 03:18:28 PM
Furries are the most evil, debauching creatures on the face of the Earth. Death to the furries!

Of course there are other people who dress up unusual, atypical things (babies, robots, buildings) that do not raise my ire so. And that is how it should be.

Death to furries.
 
2013-02-24 03:23:26 PM
Thank good I'm not the only one. The night before i graduated from law school, i ended up staying in a hotel that was hosting a furry convention. Creepiness doesn't begin to explain....
 
2013-02-24 03:32:28 PM

Chibi Shinigami: Nice try, subby. The review was from a cheer DAD...named Tony.


Thank you for pointing that out.
 
2013-02-24 03:40:53 PM

Slam1263: ComicCon is coming to Watfington State Convention Center.


/yiffie ki ya, motherfarkers
//see ya'll there
///i'll be dressed in halo gear
////punch me in the junk, we all like it


Someone in Portland apparently decided to start one here also.  The celebrity guest so far is the dude from Grimm.  He's the only celebrity they can find so far, and he's going to be in town filming then anyway.

The real ComicCon was always interesting though.  For the five years I lived in San Diego a bunch of my customers were downtown SD hotels.  ComicCon made my job a heluva lot more interesting for a few days every year.  They were definitely weirder, but still much better guests than when the Super Bowl came to town.
 
2013-02-24 03:49:38 PM

BuckTurgidson: [i14.photobucket.com image 500x328


made me laugh.
 
2013-02-24 04:18:59 PM

JerkStore: A friend of mine had his Plymouth Superbird at an indoor car show a few months ago. There was apparently a furry convention in the hotel at the same time, and at one point, the furries wandered into the car show. Most of the car show guys were horrified, but my friend saw the humor in it and not only let the furries sit in his car, but let them climb up on the wing and decklid for photos. All the other other car owners were outraged and making threats about "if one of them freaks even looks at my car..." but it seems that the furries were decent folks who weren't interested in making trouble. Their handlers were shiatting eggrolls when my friend started allowing them to get into and onto his car, but otherwise it seemed to work just fine. And he says the best part was watching the other Superbird owners losing their minds over the "blasphemy" of letting these folks even touch the car.

At least have a sense of humor about it. So it's not your thing, what's the harm?


[img28.imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]


Wow what a bunch of freaks.  I would never let any of them sit on let alone touch anything that I owned.  I mean, seriously, there is nothing more depraved than a Plymouth Superbird owner!
 
2013-02-24 04:27:02 PM

wsupfoo2: This woman's story doesn't add up.  Her husband almost got into 2 fights?  Are furries violently aggressive or something?  The whole thing reads like someone embellishing to justify their moral outrage


If there's one thing I've learned after 15+ years in the hotel business...

Customers exaggerate.
They find one tick (after an all-day hike in the woods), and suddenly they claim the whole room is covered in bugs... so they want a full refund.
To a nonsmoker, two people standing outside smoking becomes a rowdy group yelling and cursing at each other... and they want a full refund.
To a teetotaler, a couple enjoying an evening glass of wine in the breakfast area becomes a group of drunk alcoholics in the lobby... and they want a full refund.
An employee saying "no" to ANY request (no matter how ridiculous), becomes the rudest person they've ever seen... and they want a full refund.
(See the pattern?)

After dealing with the "other" side of these claims, I have learned to take any review of any business with a grain of salt. I have seen bad reviews written by people who have obviously never patronized the business, and I've seen multiple reviews obviously written by the same person using sock puppet accounts (most often on Google Places). Thankfully, most hotel-specific review sites provide a way for the business to contest these claims, or at least have them revised. Most also require that the reviewer booked their stay through that website (Priceline, Expedia, etc).
 
2013-02-24 04:41:58 PM

Gleeman: /obligatory?


Nope, this is obligatory.

www.mindhuestudio.com
 
2013-02-24 05:18:12 PM

kim jong-un: The first rule to troll identification is the use of the term 'apologists'.


Said Kim-Jong Un.

/trolls trolling trolls
 
2013-02-24 05:55:21 PM

JerkStore: A friend of mine had his Plymouth Superbird at an indoor car show a few months ago. There was apparently a furry convention in the hotel at the same time, and at one point, the furries wandered into the car show. Most of the car show guys were horrified, but my friend saw the humor in it and not only let the furries sit in his car, but let them climb up on the wing and decklid for photos. All the other other car owners were outraged and making threats about "if one of them freaks even looks at my car..." but it seems that the furries were decent folks who weren't interested in making trouble. Their handlers were shiatting eggrolls when my friend started allowing them to get into and onto his car, but otherwise it seemed to work just fine. And he says the best part was watching the other Superbird owners losing their minds over the "blasphemy" of letting these folks even touch the car.

At least have a sense of humor about it. So it's not your thing, what's the harm?


[img28.imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]



It's telling how a group of normal folks who probably had no exposure to that community before instantly pegged it for what it was.  Of course they didn't want those furries near their rides, god only knows what bodily fluids those suits have been covered in.
 
2013-02-24 05:57:46 PM
Why shouldn't they be upset? Furries are child molesters.
 
2013-02-24 06:13:35 PM

ongbok: Chibi Shinigami: Nice try, subby. The review was from a cheer DAD...named Tony.

How do you know it was a man. Women use the name Tony also.


Tony...Toni...you can't explain that!

/dumbass
 
2013-02-24 06:22:44 PM

rushthatspeaks: farking scumbags, if they want to dress like furry animals, how about we get to set them free in the woods and hunt them? I'll count to 3 first...promise.


A good hunter will eat what he kills.
 
2013-02-24 07:57:10 PM
At DragonCon last year, a baptist convention booked starting on Monday.  Many checked in Sunday night.

Apparently the poor wittle bappys needed nappys and couldn't handle laughter that all of the other neighbors/rooms couldn't hear.  I was told that the next morning.   So, the Bappys in the room next to me called security.  guard's words:

1st offence-  Shut up.
2nd offence- we throw your guest out on her ass.
3rd offence- we throw you out.

Westin.  Making christian private academies look like very lenient universities who buy kegs and leave them in the rooms as gifts.

(I am baptist, and loved the nude women I talked to for 35 minutes on one of those nights.  I'm also appreciative of the skill and talent some con-goers put into their costumes.  The female Matrix Trinity who was male for example)
 
2013-02-24 09:15:43 PM
I work in a hotel. The worst guests are political parties.

Worse yet, they actually stipulate on their contracts with the hotel that discretion and privacy is required. Assholes.

//Yes, all of them.
///Left, right, centre - politicians are assholes.
 
2013-02-24 09:32:09 PM
Ah, I see that furry threads have cycled back around to furry bashing by the basement dwellers. Too bad, they smelled so much nicer before.
 
2013-02-24 10:41:23 PM

Clint_Torres: ongbok: Chibi Shinigami: Nice try, subby. The review was from a cheer DAD...named Tony.

How do you know it was a man. Women use the name Tony also.

Tony...Toni...you can't explain that!

/dumbass


I guess you can't explain how women use both spellings, Toni and Tony, also. Or how Tony is considered a unisex name.

/dumbass
 
2013-02-24 10:56:17 PM

Lurk sober post drunk: Repo Man: Ok, juggalos are worse.

made it to 1:05


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qwcc4jl4zi8 Dear God...Im glad my kids are Bronies!
 
2013-02-24 11:02:31 PM

ongbok: I guess you can't explain how women use both spellings, Toni and Tony, also. Or how Tony is considered a unisex name.

/dumbass


Actually I can. I have never met either one that spells their name the opposite of 'what it's supposed to be'. I guess I have been sheltered.

I wasn't trying to be a dick, I was trying to be more snarky, but I see I came across the wrong way. I'm not trying to make enemies here, just having a playful jab. Sorry if I went too far.

/antibiotic & painkiller binge
//filters are off
 
2013-02-24 11:19:19 PM

dillenger69: the Brunching Shuttlecocks' geek hierarchy


i.imgur.com


Heh... makes me want to become a famous Science Fiction writer... just so I can write a series with erotic versions of Star Trek where Kirk is like an ocelot or something.

I'll call it Fifty Shades of Federation or some equally awful title.
 
2013-02-24 11:30:19 PM
Lot of NMK (not my kink) shamers here.

Furrism (furrianity? furriphilia?) is a fairly simple and generally harmless kink.  Non-furries do lots of things which are far grosser and/or more harmful.

If dressing up as a mascot and yiffing is the worst of your kink, it's a pretty damn vanilla kink.
 
2013-02-24 11:39:49 PM
JerkStore:
At least have a sense of humor about it. So it's not your thing, what's the harm?

Why do you hate America?
 
2013-02-25 12:19:24 AM

TV's Vinnie: JerkStore: A friend of mine had his Plymouth Superbird at an indoor car show a few months ago. There was apparently a furry convention in the hotel at the same time, and at one point, the furries wandered into the car show. Most of the car show guys were horrified, but my friend saw the humor in it and not only let the furries sit in his car, but let them climb up on the wing and decklid for photos. All the other other car owners were outraged and making threats about "if one of them freaks even looks at my car..." but it seems that the furries were decent folks who weren't interested in making trouble. Their handlers were shiatting eggrolls when my friend started allowing them to get into and onto his car, but otherwise it seemed to work just fine. And he says the best part was watching the other Superbird owners losing their minds over the "blasphemy" of letting these folks even touch the car.

At least have a sense of humor about it. So it's not your thing, what's the harm?


[img28.imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]

[imageshack.us image 800x451]

Notice how Humanity was staying as far from these furries as possible. Like there was at least a ten foot space between a sane person and a furry.


Yeah, as though there is such a thing as a truly "sane" person. Fursuiters just wear their major quirks on their sleeves. Or, well, as their sleeves. And more power to them. That is an honest thing, and maybe even a brave thing.

It's also possible that non-fursuiters were trying to stay out of the shots, if they could. Respectful people do that, right?
 
2013-02-25 12:37:09 AM
Having the furries on your car is a free buffing!

Not really, I just wouldn't let them near it because I don't want the paint scratched, I wouldn't care if they wanted to get in the car.
 
2013-02-25 12:46:42 AM

Canton: It's also possible that non-fursuiters were trying to stay out of the shots, if they could. Respectful people do that, right?


Oh, you are so cute in that shirt-drenching dribbling kind of way.
 
2013-02-25 01:35:18 AM

TV's Vinnie: Canton: It's also possible that non-fursuiters were trying to stay out of the shots, if they could. Respectful people do that, right?

Oh, you are so cute in that shirt-drenching dribbling kind of way.


Nah, just generous with the whole benefit of the doubt thing.

/Dangerous here, I know...
 
2013-02-25 01:44:26 AM
i50.tinypic.com
 
2013-02-25 04:22:52 AM
Still doesn't have nothin' on my experience. An anime expo had their main hotel double booked with the Senior Gay & Lesbian Square Dancing annual festival.

/Will never unsee two 70 year old guys making out in a hotel hallway
 
2013-02-25 09:47:12 AM
I am guessing that most furries are men, most likely GAY men, who meet to have REALLY anonymous sex, sniff each other's ah, tails and then go home and spend the next year getting HIV tests very 3 months
 
2013-02-25 12:17:13 PM
The hotel hosting the first anime convention my daughter attended was also hosting the "Baptist Ministers and Wives Convention". I'm sure there were many fervent prayers and sermons after that experience.
 
2013-02-25 12:22:42 PM

theorellior: Gleeman: /obligatory?

Nope, this is obligatory.

[www.mindhuestudio.com image 545x720]


i.imgur.com
 
2013-02-25 01:48:17 PM
I've been going to furry cons since 2001 and while the fandom does have an abundance of socially awkward, and in a few cases not-all-there people, it is also chock-full of all around nice people. Heck, the guy at Further Confusion in the Raptor Jesus suit alone made the con worthwhile. I suspect the people in this thread claiming to have had bad experiences with furries were probably looking for trouble and found it. The people saying 'Murder them all' are especially charming. Stay classy, guys.The last two Further Confusions have been held right alongside cheerleader's conventions. I didn't hear of any problems more serious than cheerleaders peeking through the curtains of their enclave at us. Hotel staff I have talked to usually tell me that furries are actually less disruptive than most convention goers.Anthrocon, by far the largest furry con, is loved by merchants near the hotels. Almost all of them have furry discounts (10% off for wearing a tail, that sort of thing). Furry cons bring in a ton of money.Bear in mind that the furry fandom is tiny compared to, say, the anime fandom. Furries are rare. This mean-spirited malingering about an inconsequential fandom doesn't do anyone any good and just makes people look pretentious.
 
2013-02-25 01:54:50 PM
Eh.  Sorry about that, my phone turned my carefully paragraphed message into a monolithic wall of text.
 
2013-02-25 02:39:39 PM

kemosabe: This happened to me when I went back to Indy for my best friend's wedding.  It's weird, but I thought they were all respectful.  Didn't have a problem with the furries at all.  There was even a family of furries.  The daughter was like 8 or so.  I'm sure when she gets older, she'll probably think her parents are so freaking weird kill herself.

 
2013-02-25 03:31:38 PM

theorellior: Gleeman: /obligatory?

Nope, this is obligatory.

[www.mindhuestudio.com image 545x720]



i48.tinypic.com
 
2013-02-25 03:40:15 PM
OMG.  I just realized why a gay friend has so many different animal costumes for each Halloween.  I would have rather not made that connection.

I once stayed at a hotel during a roller girls convention.  Rowdy, bawdy, loud, hard-partying, scantily clad.  It was damned fun.
 
2013-02-26 12:52:20 AM
I was there for 7 weeks until this past Friday so I got to encounter the furries. I hung out with some dragons, killing time till I had to check out. They were an amusing bunch.
 
2013-02-26 05:08:55 PM
It seems the review was removed because I cannot find it now
 
2013-02-26 10:45:38 PM

theorellior: Gleeman: /obligatory?

Nope, this is obligatory.

[www.mindhuestudio.com image 545x720]


And this is retaliatory.
i56.tinypic.com
 
Displayed 212 of 212 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report