Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Metronews.ca)   Vancouver bar forced to discontinue popular house beer "Albino Rhino" after human rights complaint   ( metronews.ca) divider line
    More: Asinine, Vancouver, pigments  
•       •       •

6123 clicks; posted to Main » on 17 Feb 2013 at 9:44 PM (4 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



146 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-02-17 08:07:53 PM  
"It would be like saying, let's put in some Alzheimer appetizers, Down syndrome daiquiris or cerebral palsy cocktails," he said. "That would offend anyone's sensibilities."

Uh...yeah. Where can I get those?
 
2013-02-17 08:21:40 PM  
Don't albino rhinos really exist? So, this isn't a reference to a person at all. I r confused.
 
2013-02-17 08:53:11 PM  
Rhinos have human rights?
 
2013-02-17 09:15:10 PM  
I think I started tasting the the Alzheimer Appetizers years ago

/and I think I started tasting the the Alzheimer Appetizers years ago
 
2013-02-17 09:39:38 PM  

dj_bigbird: Don't albino rhinos really exist? So, this isn't a reference to a person at all. I r confused.


yes they do and EXACTLY and me too.
 
2013-02-17 09:43:40 PM  
Damn it so much.
 
2013-02-17 09:45:04 PM  
"It would be like saying, let's put in some Alzheimer appetizers, Down syndrome daiquiris or cerebral palsy cocktails," he said. "That would offend anyone's sensibilities."

Not the same Mr. PC Guy, if it was Albino Person Beer, I'm right there with ya...  or even Albino Beer.  But Albino Rhino has exactly nothing to do with this lady unless she is also HUGE and has a HORN STICKING OUT OF HER F'ING FOREHEAD...
 
2013-02-17 09:45:14 PM  
media.tumblr.com
 
2013-02-17 09:46:53 PM  
Guess we need to find a new name for gingersnaps too.
 
2013-02-17 09:46:56 PM  
They should have been collecting a portion of the price for the preservation of the White Rhinoceros and replied with "you should feel bad about yourself."
 
2013-02-17 09:48:18 PM  
Charlie Baileygates: So, Whitey, what happened to your family?Whitey: I killed them. I hacked them up with a hammer while they were asleep. Ma, Pa, Bro, Sis. She was awake, my sis. I was just released from prison on my 21st birthday. I wasn't ready to leave but they said I had to. farked up law, huh?
 
2013-02-17 09:48:45 PM  
They're new house beer?  Bunny-eyed Brew.  I'm gonna fly in on the red-eye and try some.
 
2013-02-17 09:49:34 PM  
Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?
 
2013-02-17 09:50:00 PM  
Now, Bud Lite Platinum, there's a human rights violation.
 
2013-02-17 09:51:09 PM  
There's something about Down syndrome daiquiris or cerebral palsy cocktails that makes you think consuming these beverages might really mess you up, whereas Albino Rhino brand beer doesn't imply you're going to get paler and grow a horn.
 
2013-02-17 09:53:04 PM  

Polyhazard: Now, Bud Lite Platinum ANYTHING, there's a human rights violation.


You ALMOST had it.
 
2013-02-17 09:53:31 PM  
The complaint sparked online debate about political correctness gone amok, but "the only people who say that are people who don't have albinism or a friend or a spouse or a child with albinism",aren't petulant, overly sensitive snowflakes with a persecution complex or professional axe-grinders like  said Peter Ash, CEO of an advocacy group for those with the disability.

Fixed.

Gawdammitsomuch.
 
2013-02-17 09:53:58 PM  
The Albino Rhino dark is one of my favourite beers. Very good stuff.

This is stupid. I'm going to sue the White Spot restaurant chain. Because I'm white.
 
2013-02-17 09:54:37 PM  
Couldn't they just rename it White Boy Brew or something instead of discontinuing it?
 
2013-02-17 09:54:44 PM  

sno man: dj_bigbird: Don't albino rhinos really exist? So, this isn't a reference to a person at all. I r confused.

yes they do and EXACTLY and me too.


Actually I don't think they do. There are white rhinos and black rhinos (which are quite rare), but those are just names and they're pretty hard to tell apart.

That being said this is one of the stupidest farking things I've ever heard of. I knew albinos had pale skin, I just didn't know it was so thin.
 
2013-02-17 09:56:13 PM  
...and just how many rhinos were offended by this blatant discrimination
 
2013-02-17 09:56:27 PM  

cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?


Someone from the land of 4.5 "Beer" and Malt Liquor has a comment?

Charming.
 
2013-02-17 09:57:28 PM  
As a bald person I find the term bald eagle offensive and want it stricken from the record.
 
2013-02-17 09:57:47 PM  
i49.tinypic.com
 
2013-02-17 09:58:32 PM  
But can I still get my pink tacos?

la.curbed.com
 
2013-02-17 09:58:36 PM  

dj_bigbird: Don't albino rhinos really exist? So, this isn't a reference to a person at all. I r confused.


There is always someone that will get offended by anything.  Because "not being offended" is apparently a human right, now.
 
2013-02-17 09:59:54 PM  

quatchi: cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?

Someone from the land of 4.5 "Beer" and Malt Liquor has a comment?

Charming.


Hey man... some of that beer makes me belch for hours AND can give me heart burn for days.
That's right... hard core.
:P
 
2013-02-17 10:00:12 PM  
WTF. Many species exhibit albinism. It's not unique to humans.
 
2013-02-17 10:01:05 PM  

cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?


Go have another Coors Light.
 
2013-02-17 10:01:29 PM  
Earls Restaurants will take beer or chicken wings sold under the 25-year-old brand off the menu after a Vancouver woman with albinism filed a BC Human Rights Tribunal complaint against the chain in 2012.

Is the BC Human Rights Tribunal an actual thing that can get people into trouble? We're pretty PC in the US, too, but are there legal consequences in Canada for offending people?

"It would be like saying, let's put in some Alzheimer appetizers, Down syndrome daiquiris or cerebral palsy cocktails," he said. "That would offend anyone's sensibilities."

You know what offends me? Attention whores.
 
2013-02-17 10:02:03 PM  

WhippingBoy: cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?

Go have another Coors Light.


:P
 
2013-02-17 10:03:36 PM  

cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?


The High-Fivin' White Guys disagree.
 
2013-02-17 10:04:12 PM  
Oh, for farks sake.... People need to learn to just shut the fark up for once.

You're offended?  Tough shiat.  Go home and squirt me some tears, biatch.
 
2013-02-17 10:04:18 PM  

dj_bigbird: Don't albino rhinos really exist? So, this isn't a reference to a person at all. I r confused.


They do, and the complaintant should be cockpunched or clitkicked depending on their gender; their real gender, too. Not what they self identify as, but based on what groinular attack would objectively cause them the most physical pain without long term damage in retribution for their horrible ignorance and self-centered belly aching.
 
2013-02-17 10:06:29 PM  
i45.tinypic.com

would like the offended ignorant dumbshiat to kiss its albino rhino ass.
 
2013-02-17 10:07:11 PM  
I would totally drink some Down Syndrome Daiquiris, 'cause those tards are always so happy and shiat.

/cue some DEVO
 
2013-02-17 10:07:29 PM  
White people problems.  Sigh...
 
2013-02-17 10:07:58 PM  

Ontos: Oh, for farks sake.... People need to learn to just shut the fark up for once.

You're offended?  Tough shiat.  Go home and squirt me some tears, biatch.


/fap?
 
2013-02-17 10:08:00 PM  
Then I'm guessing these guys are right out of there in Canuckistan...

pbmo.files.wordpress.com

Faking hosers!
 
2013-02-17 10:08:28 PM  
i.imgur.com
 
2013-02-17 10:09:33 PM  

fusillade762: Actually I don't think they do. There are white rhinos and black rhinos (which are quite rare), but those are just names and they're pretty hard to tell apart.

That being said this is one of the stupidest farking things I've ever heard of. I knew albinos had pale skin, I just didn't know it was so thin.


worldofamazings.com
rare, but taa daa...  From here (Not much of an article, but pics of 58 species displaying albinism)
 
2013-02-17 10:09:54 PM  
i47.tinypic.com
ALBINO THREAD PLZ?!
 
2013-02-17 10:09:58 PM  
And lest all the bastards in the world feel left out...

www.united-nations-of-beer.com

Come on guys...keep it going.
 
2013-02-17 10:10:14 PM  
Pale people problems
 
2013-02-17 10:10:23 PM  

GranoblasticMan: Ontos: Oh, for farks sake.... People need to learn to just shut the fark up for once.

You're offended?  Tough shiat.  Go home and squirt me some tears, biatch.

/fap?


If you make her cry, you can rub her tears on your nut sack.
 
2013-02-17 10:12:31 PM  
Dammit, white people and your First World Problems!
 
2013-02-17 10:12:34 PM  

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: Pale people problems


Say that to my face!!!

24.media.tumblr.com
 
2013-02-17 10:13:45 PM  
My eight year old son has Tourette's Syndrome.
My nine year old daughter has FASD.

If you can't laugh at shiat like this, you're totally and completely doomed.
 
2013-02-17 10:15:26 PM  
www2.pictures.gi.zimbio.com

BROFIST DUDES!
 
2013-02-17 10:18:17 PM  
Here are the whiners in question. The boss of the albino activists and his employee - "a 31-year-old immigrant from Nigeria,"
http://www.vancouversun.com/health/Tribunal+hear+complaint/7708239/s to ry.html
www.vancouversun.com
 
2013-02-17 10:18:40 PM  
they should just rename after the woman. Albino Jill or Albino Sandy Vagina or whatever.
 
2013-02-17 10:20:09 PM  

MaritimeGirl: Here are the whiners in question. The boss of the albino activists and his employee - "a 31-year-old immigrant from Nigeria,"
http://www.vancouversun.com/health/Tribunal+hear+complaint/7708239/s to ry.html
[www.vancouversun.com image 850x611]


Niger please
 
2013-02-17 10:20:14 PM  
Note to Nigerian chick - we don't kill albinos and use their parts for farking magic here.

You get to be an awesome music star.
 
2013-02-17 10:21:58 PM  
Next I suppose I'm going to get sued by Anne Ramsey's estate for taping her picture to the bag I make hookers put over their heads? Fark, man, isn't anything sacred any more? What about MY rights?
 
2013-02-17 10:23:19 PM  
Wow, I thought that would get filter pwnd
 
2013-02-17 10:24:56 PM  
Is there anything progressives cannot ruin?
 
2013-02-17 10:25:48 PM  
Man, Albino black chick STILL isn't happy.

How the fark you gonna win with that shiat?

/cause, you know, she's black, but white. Win/WIn , right?

//runs like hell
 
2013-02-17 10:25:57 PM  

cowgirl toffee: GranoblasticMan: Ontos: Oh, for farks sake.... People need to learn to just shut the fark up for once.

You're offended?  Tough shiat.  Go home and squirt me some tears, biatch.

/fap?

If you make her cry, you can rub her tears on your nut sack.




Go on...
 
2013-02-17 10:25:57 PM  
They should rename it "Douchebag Rhino".
 
2013-02-17 10:26:13 PM  

quatchi: cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?

Someone from the land of 4.5 "Beer" and Malt Liquor has a comment?

Charming.


Really? TN has some pretty good beer, hell I can't even get this anymore since I moved back further south
bellavinoathens.com
Although AL did up the limit cap on beer somewhat recently.
 
2013-02-17 10:26:39 PM  
White people's problems.
 
2013-02-17 10:27:12 PM  

quatchi: The complaint sparked online debate about political correctness gone amok, but "the only people who say that are people who don't have albinism or a friend or a spouse or a child with albinism",aren't petulant, overly sensitive snowflakes with a persecution complex or professional axe-grinders like  said Peter Ash, CEO of an advocacy group for those with the disability.

Fixed.

Gawdammitsomuch.


Actually, I don't know. These days it's more entertaining to watch people lose their shiat over some wild eyed belief that society is crumbling when a the maker of a beer decides to change the name of their beer after a few people get offended.
 
2013-02-17 10:28:46 PM  
aww damnit, sorry Rotsky.
 
2013-02-17 10:29:53 PM  
I don't blame the Albinos, I blame the courts and Judges for going along with this horse shiat human rights complaint.  Should we not allow the word Ginger in products because Red heads might get offended?  How about the word brown in case some brown person gets offended?  farking ridiculous.
 
2013-02-17 10:30:30 PM  
as long as they keep making Drunk Injun' Raping White Wimmen Ale i'm a happy guy.
 
2013-02-17 10:31:18 PM  

tinfoil-hat maggie: quatchi: cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?

Someone from the land of 4.5 "Beer" and Malt Liquor has a comment?

Charming.

Really? TN has some pretty good beer, hell I can't even get this anymore since I moved back further south
[bellavinoathens.com image 600x550]
Although AL did up the limit cap on beer somewhat recently.


MS did too .
/Aww, crap. Mississippi is going to have to change their postal abbre v iation now, I guess.
 
2013-02-17 10:31:55 PM  

tinfoil-hat maggie: quatchi: cowgirl toffee: Vancouver, eh? So it's like a root beer or something?

Someone from the land of 4.5 "Beer" and Malt Liquor has a comment?

Charming.

Really? TN has some pretty good beer, hell I can't even get this anymore since I moved back further south
[bellavinoathens.com image 600x550]
Although AL did up the limit cap on beer somewhat recently.


I love that label. I also love that beer.

I was just teasing CT as ya do in an effort to distract from this blemish on my otherwise decent city.
 
2013-02-17 10:32:21 PM  
I can't believe I have to share the same fracking rock as these sandy-vagina'd, PC people from Ikponwosa Ero. I'm going to file a complaint. Along with a strongly-worded letter to the UN. And my mother, too.

/So there! Hmph!
 
2013-02-17 10:33:43 PM  

loki see loki do: White people's problems.


Apparently it's also white black people's problems.
 
2013-02-17 10:33:52 PM  
Brown and black shoe polish should be banned.
White gym shoe stuff still okay.www.shoesforcrews.com
 
2013-02-17 10:35:00 PM  
The Earl's on my block still has Albino Rhino. F*cking Vancouver..
 
2013-02-17 10:36:52 PM  
She's pretty dark for an albino.
 
2013-02-17 10:38:36 PM  
she got a nice rack and shape.

I would hit but then would have to probably sleep in another room cause her glow in the dark ass would keep me awake all night.
 
2013-02-17 10:39:16 PM  
www.vancouversun.com
 
2013-02-17 10:39:30 PM  
What *do* you call a Canadian black albino?
 
2013-02-17 10:45:42 PM  

WhippingBoy: What *do* you call a Canadian black albino?


Canugger.
 
2013-02-17 10:45:55 PM  

Abe Vigoda's Ghost: cowgirl toffee: GranoblasticMan: Ontos: ...  ...

Go on...


If you poke her in the eye, you get one wish and a free rainbow.

I know it's a stretch. But hey... at least I'm not telling you lies like there being enjoyable butt sex and this thing called a female orgasm.

;)
 
2013-02-17 10:47:01 PM  

WhippingBoy: What *do* you call a Canadian black albino?


Ikponwosa Ero
 
2013-02-17 10:47:49 PM  
So, they are going to call it  Melanin Deficient Rhinoceros  Amber Hop and Barley Juice?
 
2013-02-17 10:47:59 PM  

theflatline: [www.vancouversun.com image 620x400]


Hmm...I'd like to do a test to see if white stuff can be seen on her.
 
2013-02-17 10:48:43 PM  

Abox: theflatline: [www.vancouversun.com image 620x400]

Hmm...I'd like to do a test to see if white stuff can be seen on her.


I bet if you put under a black light you would be blinded with the result.
 
2013-02-17 10:50:31 PM  
Another environment that the Albino Rhino is extinct in.
 
2013-02-17 10:50:34 PM  
Lawyers make everything good.
 
2013-02-17 11:04:54 PM  

WhippingBoy: What *do* you call a Canadian black albino?


Snowball?
 
2013-02-17 11:09:15 PM  
The real question here is what kind of pussy establishment bows to this sort of pressure?

I would never go there again just on principal.
 
2013-02-17 11:10:31 PM  
I'd go into the bar and say "I'm albino. May I have a free beer?" or maybe ask to be in a commercial "I may not be an albino rhino, but they don't drink beer."
 
2013-02-17 11:12:08 PM  

quatchi: tinfoil-hat maggie: quatchi: cowgirl toffee: ...

I was just teasing CT as ya do in an effort to distract from this blemish on my otherwise decent city.


*sniffle* Really?
:P
 
2013-02-17 11:18:35 PM  

jaybeezey: The real question here is what kind of pussy establishment bows to this sort of pressure?

I would never go there again just on principal.


Hey, that's their choice. They want to bland and inoffensive, just like their food.
 
2013-02-17 11:19:33 PM  

MaritimeGirl: Here are the whiners in question. The boss of the albino activists and his employee - "a 31-year-old immigrant from Nigeria,"
http://www.vancouversun.com/health/Tribunal+hear+complaint/7708239/s to ry.html
[www.vancouversun.com image 850x611]


They don't even have pink eyes!

So are they just attention whores or what? IT'S NOT ABOUT THEM!
/wankers
 
2013-02-17 11:20:10 PM  
Next time I'm up there I'm going to file a complaint against "The White Spot".
 
2013-02-17 11:21:57 PM  

jaybeezey: The real question here is what kind of pussy establishment bows to this sort of pressure?

I would never go there again just on principal.


It's Earls. It's a sucky, overpriced restaurant that seems to impress the easily impressed.
 
2013-02-17 11:24:26 PM  
In honor of them they're offering a new drink "farking Retarded Beer."

See, that's actually offensive.
 
2013-02-17 11:32:37 PM  
My first impulse is to White Knight for Cowgirl Toffee, but damn, I don't want to get in her way.
 
2013-02-17 11:32:44 PM  

cowgirl toffee: *sniffle* Really?

:P


Lawls! Really, really.

You're eminently teasable and you darn well know it!

;>p
 
2013-02-17 11:42:08 PM  
I actually DO have a friend or two with albinism, and they pretty much agree this is horseshiat :D

And if they wanted to be especially smart-assed, they could call the brew Mewy Meezer Brew or something like that--because, well, very few people realise that the Siamese/Himalayan/pointed trait in critters IS a form of albinism (it's basically a temperature-sensitive variant).

Well, until the local cat-breeder's association decides to kvetch, that is...

At any rate, have the world's most adorable albino-cam, featuring some baaaaby cats with temperature-sensitive albinism who just celebrated their first Caturday this week. :3
 
2013-02-17 11:51:38 PM  
Reading things like this.... and knowing that people like this (easily offended, complainy-types who ruin things for everyone else) exist... make me really hate the entire human race.  Ya know, even more than I already did considering all the shiatty stuff we've been doing to each other.  Fark ALL these arse-holes...
 
2013-02-17 11:52:03 PM  
Well, now someone else can use the name.  If it's trademarked, the owner needs to use it to protect it.  Since they are abandoning it, someone else can take over.  Hopefully the new people aren't pussies like these guys.
 
2013-02-17 11:58:57 PM  

theflatline: Abox: theflatline: [www.vancouversun.com image 620x400]

Hmm...I'd like to do a test to see if white stuff can be seen on her.

I bet if you put under a black light you would be blinded with the result.


You would also be revved up like a deuce.
 
2013-02-18 12:06:17 AM  

ciberido: theflatline: Abox: theflatline: [www.vancouversun.com image 620x400]

Hmm...I'd like to do a test to see if white stuff can be seen on her.

I bet if you put under a black light you would be blinded with the result.

You would also be revved up like a deuce.


I've always wondered what that phrase means, "like a deuce" what does that mean?

/Also completely unrelated to the thread I think I found my new favorite band.
 
2013-02-18 12:28:07 AM  

tinfoil-hat maggie: ciberido: theflatline: Abox: theflatline: [www.vancouversun.com image 620x400]

Hmm...I'd like to do a test to see if white stuff can be seen on her.

I bet if you put under a black light you would be blinded with the result.

You would also be revved up like a deuce.

I've always wondered what that phrase means, "like a deuce" what does that mean?


Someone is just a bit unfamiliar with the term "deuce coupe" (as in the old 60's surfer song of the same name)--specifically a rodded-up Ford Model A or (more commonly nowadays) repro.

Here's an example of the "revved up deuce" in question:

upload.wikimedia.org

/why yes, I've had both relatives (cousins for the most part) AND in-laws who do the show car thing, why do you ask? :D
 
2013-02-18 12:28:45 AM  
Next up, all astrologers banned from using the "Cancer" sign.
 
2013-02-18 12:31:14 AM  

Great Porn Dragon: tinfoil-hat maggie: ciberido: theflatline: Abox: theflatline: [www.vancouversun.com image 620x400]

Hmm...I'd like to do a test to see if white stuff can be seen on her.

I bet if you put under a black light you would be blinded with the result.

You would also be revved up like a deuce.

I've always wondered what that phrase means, "like a deuce" what does that mean?

Someone is just a bit unfamiliar with the term "deuce coupe" (as in the old 60's surfer song of the same name)--specifically a rodded-up Ford Model A or (more commonly nowadays) repro.

Here's an example of the "revved up deuce" in question:

[upload.wikimedia.org image 640x480]

/why yes, I've had both relatives (cousins for the most part) AND in-laws who do the show car thing, why do you ask? :D


Ohh, pretty.
 
2013-02-18 12:31:28 AM  

Great Porn Dragon: I actually DO have a friend or two with albinism, and they pretty much agree this is horseshiat :D

And if they wanted to be especially smart-assed, they could call the brew Mewy Meezer Brew or something like that--because, well, very few people realise that the Siamese/Himalayan/pointed trait in critters IS a form of albinism (it's basically a temperature-sensitive variant).

Well, until the local cat-breeder's association decides to kvetch, that is...

At any rate, have the world's most adorable albino-cam, featuring some baaaaby cats with temperature-sensitive albinism who just celebrated their first Caturday this week. :3


OMG! Cute overload!

i16.photobucket.com
 
2013-02-18 12:35:45 AM  

Fuggin Bizzy: WTF. Many species exhibit albinism. It's not unique to humans.


This. What a stupid claim they made. You'd think people who had the condition would actually know that.
 
2013-02-18 12:39:24 AM  
Hopefully they will rename it something that adequately describes it, like Eau de Chlamydia Tips-a-lot
 
2013-02-18 12:46:29 AM  

Great Porn Dragon: I actually DO have a friend or two with albinism, and they pretty much agree this is horseshiat :D


You don't precisely know how many of your friends are albinos?  Hell, I know how many albinos I've seen in the flesh in my entire life.

/ Two.  One of them was Edgar Winter
// The other was a young woman.  She was beautiful, like something out of a big-budget fantasy movie. Ethereal.
 
2013-02-18 12:46:35 AM  
I farking love Earl's. They have one U.S. location in Bellevue, WA I got to visit. It's been too long since I was in Van or Calgary.
 
2013-02-18 12:51:58 AM  
I'm glad that this case has brought to the public's attention the fact that, apparently, albinos are biatchy, attention-whoring, anti-business idiots.  Until now, I thought that they were just regular people who suffer from a medical condition.  Thanks for educating me, biatchy, attention-whoring, anti-business idiots!


Sarcasm aside, this case is yet another example of the ridiculousness of things like "human rights tribunals".  Imagine if this case had to go to a real courtroom.  The judge would simply look at the statement from the albino people and ask "So, where's the negative connotation?  Is the restaurant saying that this is a terrible beer or something, and making a negative connection to your condition in some way?  No?  Okay then, how about explaining how the use of the word 'albino' is anything other than descriptive?  You can't?  Okay, case dismissed."

The icing on the cake is that this woman (and the "activist" organization that supported the case) doesn't even have to spend a penny.  It's solely up to the defendants to prove their innocence.  Even if it had been thrown out by the tribunal as the ridiculous nonsense that it is, Earl's would still be on the hook for all the expenses and would have no recourse against her for dragging the company's name through the mud and wasting their time and money.
 
2013-02-18 12:54:28 AM  

Person: "farking Retarded Beer."


"Goes Downs smooth..."
* * *
"Take the Short Bus to the Good Times!"
* * *
"All right, and Jake, what're you gonna have?" "I'm gonna get Retarded!"
* * *
Because "You Don't Need to Count to Potato to Get Retarded"®


I could spend all night doing this, but I already have an express ticket, so....
 
2013-02-18 12:57:39 AM  
Didn't some other province ban Ron Jeremy rum?
 
2013-02-18 12:59:49 AM  

MaritimeGirl: Here are the whiners in question. The boss of the albino activists and his employee - "a 31-year-old immigrant from Nigeria,"
http://www.vancouversun.com/health/Tribunal+hear+complaint/7708239/s to ry.html
[www.vancouversun.com image 850x611]


Hyper-sensitive see through assholes.
 
2013-02-18 01:00:16 AM  
I am not quite getting this. Firstly, I never thought of albinism as a major disability - I figured it was inconvenient sometimes but comparing it to Down's syndrome is pretty much insulting to both groups, isn't it? Secondly, I never thought of it as a cause for discrimination... I mean, douches will douche over anything, and albinism is pretty visible so maybe it makes people more likely to get bullied in school, but really? To be honest, when I think of albinism in humans, what comes to my mind is a pretty positive association:

upload.wikimedia.org

/On further research, this is a Africa problem
//Wish people would leave it in Africa
///Lady needs some sensitivity training on how nobody cares in the Americas
 
2013-02-18 01:12:01 AM  

The Green Manalishi: Is the BC Human Rights Tribunal an actual thing that can get people into trouble? We're pretty PC in the US, too, but are there legal consequences in Canada for offending people?


Yes.  It can award damages and issue orders for specific performance.  Like most quasi-judicial actors, it's generally quite ridiculous.
 
2013-02-18 01:21:18 AM  

HoFChaos: The Green Manalishi: Is the BC Human Rights Tribunal an actual thing that can get people into trouble? We're pretty PC in the US, too, but are there legal consequences in Canada for offending people?

Yes.  It can award damages and issue orders for specific performance.  Like most quasi-judicial actors, it's generally quite ridiculous.


So I'm assuming (given the name) that it's something specific to British Colombia, and that they only have jurisdiction there?
 
2013-02-18 01:34:10 AM  

pyrotek85: HoFChaos: The Green Manalishi: Is the BC Human Rights Tribunal an actual thing that can get people into trouble? We're pretty PC in the US, too, but are there legal consequences in Canada for offending people?

Yes.  It can award damages and issue orders for specific performance.  Like most quasi-judicial actors, it's generally quite ridiculous.

So I'm assuming (given the name) that it's something specific to British Colombia, and that they only have jurisdiction there?


The BC Human Rights Tribunal is a giant zit on the ass of BC. I hate it.

/I've known exactly one albino dude in my lifetime and he was a cool guy who probably would have no problem with the name of a farking beer.
 
2013-02-18 01:35:26 AM  

pyrotek85: So I'm assuming (given the name) that it's something specific to British Colombia, and that they only have jurisdiction there?


Yeah, it decides claims made under the BC Human Rights Code.  Other provinces have similar legislation, and there is also a federal act.
 
2013-02-18 01:39:37 AM  

This Face Left Blank: Great Porn Dragon: I actually DO have a friend or two with albinism, and they pretty much agree this is horseshiat :D

You don't precisely know how many of your friends are albinos?  Hell, I know how many albinos I've seen in the flesh in my entire life.

/ Two.  One of them was Edgar Winter
// The other was a young woman.  She was beautiful, like something out of a big-budget fantasy movie. Ethereal.


OK, more of a figure of speech there, but yes, I've seen the two people in question, and yes, both are in fact Melanistically Challenged--though one of them you'd probably think was just very blond, and neither have the typical "Brothers Winter Look".

(To make a long story short, there are actually a number of types of albinism, and not all of them make Caucasians look like porcelain dolls. :D  In addition to "Meezer albinism" (which DOES occur in humans) there is tyrosinase-positive albinism (where folks tend to have a bit darker complexions and blond or ruddy hair--this tends to be more common in African-Americans), type Ib tyrosinase-negative albinism (which is what my "blond friend with albinism" friend has--it used to be termed "yellow mutant" because there is SOME pigment function, but needless to say the name isn't used much for obvious reasons, and tends to occur in both the Pennsylvania Dutch (as an "Amish Heritage" genetic syndrome) and in some Cajun lineages), and some versions that just affect the eyes or only mess with pigmentation production JUST enough to have them paler than usual--enough that they can almost "pass" for being Not Melanistically Challenged except for the occasional miswiring of ocular nerves that tends to happen with albinism.  Here's a minor primer of the sorts of albinism most common in humans; fully half of these don't result in the "Johnny Winter" look.)

(And yes, that "miswiring" is why crossed eyes tend to be rife in Siamese cats; they don't pretty much become blind in light (like the folks with classic type I albinism) but there is just enough "cross-talk" going on that crossed eyes tend to happen.  This is also why a lot of folks with albinism tend to squint--again, the fact that they're Melanistically Challenged does cause some issues with neural routing with vision in particular, and most folks with albinism have some degree of strabismus (less so with type II and the "Meezer type" and type Ib, more so with classic type I).)
 
2013-02-18 01:45:01 AM  
I see what you did there, subby, but it's very blurry, what with the retinitis pigmentosa
 
2013-02-18 01:49:48 AM  
fc01.deviantart.net

Elric of Melnibone is not amused by these shenanigans
 
2013-02-18 02:23:05 AM  

Great Porn Dragon: I actually DO have a friend or two with albinism


Are they gluten-sensitive, too?
 
2013-02-18 03:19:40 AM  

Great Porn Dragon: This Face Left Blank: Great Porn Dragon: I actually DO have a friend or two with albinism, and they pretty much agree this is horseshiat :D

You don't precisely know how many of your friends are albinos?  Hell, I know how many albinos I've seen in the flesh in my entire life.

/ Two.  One of them was Edgar Winter
// The other was a young woman.  She was beautiful, like something out of a big-budget fantasy movie. Ethereal.

OK, more of a figure of speech there, but yes, I've seen the two people in question, and yes, both are in fact Melanistically Challenged--though one of them you'd probably think was just very blond, and neither have the typical "Brothers Winter Look".

(To make a long story short, there are actually a number of types of albinism, and not all of them make Caucasians look like porcelain dolls. :D  In addition to "Meezer albinism" (which DOES occur in humans) there is tyrosinase-positive albinism (where folks tend to have a bit darker complexions and blond or ruddy hair--this tends to be more common in African-Americans), type Ib tyrosinase-negative albinism (which is what my "blond friend with albinism" friend has--it used to be termed "yellow mutant" because there is SOME pigment function, but needless to say the name isn't used much for obvious reasons, and tends to occur in both the Pennsylvania Dutch (as an "Amish Heritage" genetic syndrome) and in some Cajun lineages), and some versions that just affect the eyes or only mess with pigmentation production JUST enough to have them paler than usual--enough that they can almost "pass" for being Not Melanistically Challenged except for the occasional miswiring of ocular nerves that tends to happen with albinism.  Here's a minor primer of the sorts of albinism most common in humans; fully half of these don't result in the "Johnny Winter" look.)

(And yes, that "miswiring" is why crossed eyes tend to be rife in Siamese cats; they don't pretty much become blind in light (like the folks with classic typ ...


An informative post?  On MY Fark?  It's more likely than I thought.

Thanks for the effort.  I may have seen a few people, while out shopping, who have tyrosinase-positive albinism, but of course I never talked with them to find out.   Pity about the, "not all of them make Caucasians look like porcelain dolls", as it really is far more striking that I ever would have imagined - or at least it was the case for the one woman I met.  If you gotta have a condition with downsides, it might as well make you look like a beautiful/handsome elf from the cover of a romance novel.  All my ulcerative colitis does for me, for instance, is make me run for the toilet, which doesn't do as much for my appearance as you would think.
 
2013-02-18 03:46:52 AM  
A: As has been pointed out already, ALBINO RHINOS EXIST

B: Unless the bar is denying you a service based on your albinism, IT'S NOT DISCRIMINATION.

C: You need to pressure wash that vagina of yours, the sand REALLY seems to be wedged up there.

I'd love to hear what actual victims of discrimination think about this biatch using this to draw attention to herself. Stupid farking attention whores actually NEED to be discriminated against so they can learn the distinction.

/Great, this frustrated me enough that the buzz from my painkillers is now gone.
 
2013-02-18 06:35:29 AM  
I went to a bar the other day and was aghast to find that they were serving a drink called a "fuzzy navel." As a man with a hairy belly, I am offended.
 
2013-02-18 06:38:32 AM  
userserve-ak.last.fm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Tyg5SJDpiQ

How about we all stop for a minute and remember: all albinos aren't douches, just a few.
 
2013-02-18 06:50:50 AM  
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Tyg5SJDpiQ


Dang this comments thing, don't know why the above link doesn't work. Trying again.
/I see adamatari already gave them some love above, but here's some music.
 
2013-02-18 06:54:56 AM  
 
2013-02-18 07:02:48 AM  
Also:

The human rights complaint process taught the restaurant that people were "genuinely offended" by its marketing, as the rare condition results in "prejudice and exclusion in many areas of Canadian society,"

Many areas? Are there signs all over Toronto saying "fark off, albinos"?

I have seen exactly ONE albino in real life. I was at a grocery store a few years ago, and I saw a couple with a little girl with albinism. I wasn't terrified or disgusted, despite having seen Foul Play. I thought she looked pretty cool, and wished I was born with albinism. I hate sunshine anyway
 
2013-02-18 07:38:29 AM  
As an albino, I can verify that this is some stupid shiat right here.

Also, as someone who lives in part of the world with no good beer, that looks friggin delicious.

Awful bright in here.
 
2013-02-18 07:42:28 AM  
No one goes to Earl's for the drinks...or the food.

On a side note, Moxie's are now open as far east as Ottawa.  When they get to Montréal...well, I'm not going to be terribly productive anymore.
 
2013-02-18 07:43:19 AM  
What next, someone with a sunburn going to get offended by Red Bull? This shiat has to stop people, not only do people need to stop getting offended over every little thing, the rest of us need to stop giving a shiat when they do.
 
2013-02-18 07:55:56 AM  
If your disability can be cured with sunblock you f*cking suck.
 
2013-02-18 08:16:29 AM  
The self pity brigade wouldn't have so much power if people would stand their grouhd and tell them to shut the fark up.

I'm so tired of every group under the sun representing themselves as a repressed minority.
 
2013-02-18 08:25:27 AM  
It's stories like this that make me really, really bumed out to be a Canadian... Like why do we allow ourselves to cater to the petulant, attention-seeking whims of bored, unhappy, stupid people?
 
2013-02-18 08:58:07 AM  

threefiveohonetwofivego: It's stories like this that make me really, really bumed out to be a Canadian... Like why do we allow ourselves to cater to the petulant, attention-seeking whims of bored, unhappy, stupid people?


Actually, I was thinking that about damn near everyone in this thread, who is getting bent out of shape over this story.  It's the name of a farking beer people!

Some folks here seem more offeneded about another person being offended, than they really need to be.  It's easy to critisize others when you're not the one on the outside.  Albanisim has many stereotypes that are false, negative and ignorant.

/I've been called a greasy thug too and it never stops hurting
 
2013-02-18 09:16:15 AM  

threefiveohonetwofivego: It's stories like this that make me really, really bumed out to be a Canadian... Like why do we allow ourselves to cater to the petulant, attention-seeking whims of bored, unhappy, stupid people?


Don't get too bummed-out.  The HRC's are a terrible, awful system.  At this point, they've been utterly discredited, and if Earl's had chosen to fight it, they'd have probably won.  But let's face it, it's not really a 'brand' name as such, just something they slapped on a house beer, so whatever.


The human rights commissions are in big trouble.  They constantly overreach themselves, like in this case - is not being offended by beer brand names really a 'human right'?  And if memory serves, in the federal (I believe) system, 80% of the complaints are filed by one person, guess where he works?  That's right, the HRC.


I don't particularly subscribe to the politics of Messrs Levant and Steyn, (though Steyn is a great writer, IMO) but here they are putting the boots to the HRC, both in an Alberta hearing, and testifying before Parliament.



Levant Opening Statement

Levant answers 'What was your intent?'

Steyn and Levant destroy the HRC before Parliament Pt. 1
Steyn and Levant destroy the HRC before Parliament Pt. 2
 
2013-02-18 09:52:17 AM  

booger42: threefiveohonetwofivego: It's stories like this that make me really, really bumed out to be a Canadian... Like why do we allow ourselves to cater to the petulant, attention-seeking whims of bored, unhappy, stupid people?

Actually, I was thinking that about damn near everyone in this thread, who is getting bent out of shape over this story.  It's the name of a farking beer people!

Some folks here seem more offeneded about another person being offended, than they really need to be.  It's easy to critisize others when you're not the one on the outside.  Albanisim has many stereotypes that are false, negative and ignorant.

/I've been called a greasy thug too and it never stops hurting


The name of the beer isn't the issue here. It's the fact that when any one individual feels as though they've been "wronged" by the practices, services or rules and policies of an organization/business; it is becoming increasingly common for those offended parties to take their case to a HUMAN RIGHTS ORGANIZATION. This kind of behaviour is an abuse of this kind of infrastructure that should exist to protect people from legitimate abuses, but instead has come to serve as a platform for sulking, offended parties to advance their horseshiat agendas...
 
2013-02-18 11:54:17 AM  

Perducci: I'm glad that this case has brought to the public's attention the fact that, apparently, albinos are biatchy, attention-whoring, anti-business idiots.  Until now, I thought that they were just regular people who suffer from a medical condition.  Thanks for educating me, biatchy, attention-whoring, anti-business idiots!


Sarcasm aside, this case is yet another example of the ridiculousness of things like "human rights tribunals".  Imagine if this case had to go to a real courtroom.  The judge would simply look at the statement from the albino people and ask "So, where's the negative connotation?  Is the restaurant saying that this is a terrible beer or something, and making a negative connection to your condition in some way?  No?  Okay then, how about explaining how the use of the word 'albino' is anything other than descriptive?  You can't?  Okay, case dismissed."

The icing on the cake is that this woman (and the "activist" organization that supported the case) doesn't even have to spend a penny.  It's solely up to the defendants to prove their innocence.  Even if it had been thrown out by the tribunal as the ridiculous nonsense that it is, Earl's would still be on the hook for all the expenses and would have no recourse against her for dragging the company's name through the mud and wasting their time and money.


Since you like "scare quotes" so much, let me point out that "anti-business " is pretty farking mock-worthy.

So I guess we can each point at the other and laugh and how stupid we think the other is.
 
2013-02-18 12:53:54 PM  

theflatline: she got a nice rack and shape.

I would hit but then would have to probably sleep in another room cause her glow in the dark ass would keep me awake all night.


The morning after, she would change her mind and sue you, charge you with assault.
 
2013-02-18 12:55:11 PM  
"Albino the Wino's" latest album "Where's the muscatel" hot on Amazon.
 
2013-02-18 01:40:42 PM  
ciberido:

Since you like "scare quotes" so much, let me point out that "anti-business " is pretty farking mock-worthy.

So I guess we can each point at the other and laugh and how stupid we think the other is.


How is it not "anti-business" to:
- drag a company's name through the mud, accusing them of being discriminatory...
- force the company through a pseuo-court system where the entire cost of their defense and all risk is on the part of that business...
- push for a change that will cost the business a significant amount of money, time, and effort to enact (changing all their menus, signage, advertising materials, and so on), AND cause them to lose the brand equity of a product name they've been using for years...

...all for a negligible (and, at that, highly debatable) benefit to the people making the accusations?

Perhaps they're not "anti-business" in the greater sense of wanting to see all corporations shut down or something like that, but they're certainly not concerned about the impact of their actions on this particular business.
 
2013-02-18 03:29:42 PM  
Earl's is actually a restaurant.  And not a very good one at that.
 
2013-02-18 04:42:27 PM  

MaudlinMutantMollusk: I think I started tasting the the Alzheimer Appetizers years ago

/and I think I started tasting the the Alzheimer Appetizers years ago


With toast or ice cream?
 
2013-02-18 05:43:40 PM  

Perducci: ciberido:

Since you like "scare quotes" so much, let me point out that "anti-business " is pretty farking mock-worthy.

So I guess we can each point at the other and laugh and how stupid we think the other is.

How is it not "anti-business" to:
- drag a company's name through the mud, accusing them of being discriminatory...
- force the company through a pseuo-court system where the entire cost of their defense and all risk is on the part of that business...
- push for a change that will cost the business a significant amount of money, time, and effort to enact (changing all their menus, signage, advertising materials, and so on), AND cause them to lose the brand equity of a product name they've been using for years...

...all for a negligible (and, at that, highly debatable) benefit to the people making the accusations?

Perhaps they're not "anti-business" in the greater sense of wanting to see all corporations shut down or something like that, but they're certainly not concerned about the impact of their actions on this particular business.



So "anti-business" means "not putting a business' profits above all over considerations"?

Yeah, I think I'll just keep using scare quotes.
 
2013-02-18 07:30:29 PM  

monty666: Didn't some other province ban Ron Jeremy rum?


Yah, but they brought it back. A lot of people complained about censorship, and it being stupid.
 
2013-02-18 07:40:27 PM  

Bob_Sled: monty666: Didn't some other province ban Ron Jeremy rum?

Yah, but they brought it back. A lot of people complained about censorship, and it being stupid.


It was Manitoba, and was a fark thread... (last week, Fark search sucks) and was less than 48 hours from "waa, porn" through yank, review, restock...
 
2013-02-18 08:03:10 PM  

sno man: Bob_Sled: monty666: Didn't some other province ban Ron Jeremy rum?

Yah, but they brought it back. A lot of people complained about censorship, and it being stupid.

It was Manitoba, and was a fark thread... (last week, Fark search sucks) and was less than 48 hours from "waa, porn" through yank, review, restock...


That's it, Manitoba.

I figured fark would be all over that one. I don't hit the main page as often as I should.
 
Displayed 146 of 146 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.

In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report