If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Gothamist)   A list of formal complaints to the FCC against Saturday Night Live. Apparently people are offended easily   (gothamist.com) divider line 70
    More: Amusing  
•       •       •

6277 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 05 Feb 2013 at 2:38 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



70 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-02-05 11:21:03 AM  
Oh man, the very first one:
Apparently this was a re-broadcast of a program aired at Halloween.  There is a comedy skit which repeatedly referred to and then depicted anal sex, rape and bestiality involving a man dressed in a hairy, white Yeti costume.  By the end of the skit, the victim of the sexual attack has a change of heart and is depicted as being conveited into accepting the rapist's love.  I don't think women's rights groups would accept this type of depiction involving a woman today. I am offended by the gay acceptance message this skit protrays.  The implication is clear, if we got past our fear and tried anal sex, we would like it and then accept it.
 
2013-02-05 11:22:44 AM  
During the "What Up With That" skit on SNL, actor Samuel L. Jackson said "What the fark" and "this is bullshiat" during the show.   I was watching with my gay friends and we were very upset.  Thanks.

?
 
2013-02-05 11:25:07 AM  
I wonder how many of these came from Breitbart readers.
 
2013-02-05 11:27:11 AM  
OK last one:

i emailed and wrote to comedy central about my moms gangbang with one of my friends 
cousins and his friends about years ago and harassed them [comedy central] for about 6 
years out of seven. the guy who had sex with my mother name is joseph trapani (guessing last name) 
what i read on the show description was 'starring joeseph gordon levitt and mumford and 
sons' or something then on the actual show there were very uncomfortable skits and material with the subtext 
of me comedy central pulled the same shiat on me, now nbc's snl is doing it to. 
fine them or make them never do this again, i almost tried to kill myself because of that 
show
 
2013-02-05 11:34:50 AM  
i536.photobucket.com
 
2013-02-05 12:10:54 PM  
i236.photobucket.com

Does not approve.
 
2013-02-05 12:32:26 PM  
Jaimee Fox incites hate and divisive and criminal behavior ...
"Kill all the white people"


i236.photobucket.com

Approves.
 
2013-02-05 12:38:10 PM  

IgG4: OK last one:


Ok, that one farked my brain up. If I can try to interpret, he's saying that something happened involving his mother and a gangbang, he believed that Comedy Central got wind of this information and made fun of it (for some reason), to which he responded by harassing them for several years, and now he believes that SNL is getting in on the joke?
 
2013-02-05 12:39:25 PM  
I always expect SNL to be offensive.
 
2013-02-05 12:40:53 PM  

exick: IgG4: OK last one:

Ok, that one farked my brain up. If I can try to interpret, he's saying that something happened involving his mother and a gangbang, he believed that Comedy Central got wind of this information and made fun of it (for some reason), to which he responded by harassing them for several years, and now he believes that SNL is getting in on the joke?


Also, the reverse vampires keep hiding his car keys.
 
2013-02-05 02:43:41 PM  
"too small for his puss".

I choked on my coffee.
 
2013-02-05 02:46:11 PM  
"there are too many leaves in your driveway!"
"The president is a demmycrat!"

//Grandpa slashies
 
2013-02-05 02:49:36 PM  
I have to say, if they could put these complaints on the screen during the broadcast SNL would actually be funny again.
 
2013-02-05 02:53:39 PM  

exick: IgG4: OK last one:

Ok, that one farked my brain up. If I can try to interpret, he's saying that something happened involving his mother and a gangbang, he believed that Comedy Central got wind of this information and made fun of it (for some reason), to which he responded by harassing them for several years, and now he believes that SNL is getting in on the joke?


He's also upset that a guy named Joseph is hosting because another guy named Joseph apparently was involved in the train on his mother....
 
2013-02-05 02:53:55 PM  
There is apparently some sort of prize for "most offended person" to be awarded in the future. It must be a pretty big prize, too, considering how many people are trying to win it.
 
2013-02-05 02:54:02 PM  
Nobody complained that it wasn't funny?
 
2013-02-05 02:55:16 PM  
People still watch SNL??

/is that how it's done?
 
2013-02-05 02:58:25 PM  
More people who don't understand what "Safe Harbor" is?

For the people who don't know -- the FCC can not legally regulate content in broadcasts between the hours of 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM as long as it's not "obscene" content.  Obscene content is always illegal and includes things like child porn, bestiality, and snuff films.  Regular porn doesn't count as obscene (otherwise cable couldn't show those PPV porn shows and Playboy channel would be out of business).

Yes, that means that every night right at 10:00 PM you could broadcast hardcore porn from 10:00 PM until 6:00 AM.
 
2013-02-05 03:02:11 PM  
"The show was a re-run hosted by Will Ferrel, and contained a sketch with Usher, Justin Bieber and Justin Timberwolf..."

encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com
 
2013-02-05 03:03:17 PM  

beerrun: People still watch SNL??

/is that how it's done?


It gets about a 5 rating, 12 share.  Not sure what is going to get better ratings from 11:30 PM to 1:00 AM on Saturday night / Sunday morning.
 
2013-02-05 03:03:39 PM  

perigee: "The show was a re-run hosted by Will Ferrel, and contained a sketch with Usher, Justin Bieber and Justin Timberwolf..."

[encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com image 194x259]


Damn, I got scooped on that one.
 
2013-02-05 03:03:45 PM  

Happy Hours: Nobody complained that it wasn't funny?


No, but the Fey-Fallon Era wing of the FCC is rather large for hunting down complaints.

/Isn't it weird that Fey did so well writing a sitcom about a struggling sketch comedy show?
 
2013-02-05 03:05:16 PM  

beerrun: People still watch SNL??

/is that how it's done?


Almost.

SNL was much funnier "X" number of years ago when person "Y" and person "Z" used to be cast members.
 
2013-02-05 03:08:40 PM  
CSB time.... my Dad (70yrs old) bought a new LCD TV last week. I went over to visit and help him lift it up on the TV stand in the living room, and we finally got around to tuning in the analog/digital tuner (he has a cable box, but likes to have the tuner as a backup). I was a bit surprised that the digital registered something like 45 channels, so we scanned them. Most of the lower ones were local broadcast digitals, then we hit the 80s, and got a bunch of cable digital stations. The last one was hard core porn. WTF? This is Charter cable, out in rural Michigan. WTF?

It was also like 3pm on a Saturday afternoon.

My Dad isn't going to file an FCC report, and we both thought it was a bit funny, but seriously, Charter, WTF?

/No, my Mom and Dad do not subscribe to any "adult" channels, either.
 
2013-02-05 03:08:50 PM  

mjohnson71: beerrun: People still watch SNL??

/is that how it's done?

Almost.

SNL was much funnier "X" number of years ago when person "Y" and person "Z" used to be cast members.


Ah, yes. I remember those days fondly.
 
2013-02-05 03:13:02 PM  
HOLY shiat I'M IN CANADA AND I COULD WATCH HULU WTF.
 
2013-02-05 03:13:22 PM  

Happy Hours: Nobody complained that it wasn't funny?


Oh yeah, there is this guy:

I am appalled at the last Saturday Night Live that I will NEVER WATCH it again and frankly I am preaching to everyone this. I was offended and sickened by that first episode and you should farkING understand that is SICK and WRONG and PR0M0TING even some of my own friends, whom are gay, thought it was appalling. There have been several instances where SNL was slutty, horny, and downright sexual and there wasn't anything funny .. I don't find more SEXUAL and LESS joking is the way to go .... I mean really guys you let these ass holes get paid to just be horny biatches I think you got something messed up. You need to fire some people or do what you should have done in the 90's KILL SNL! I think it ran its course. The audience wasn't even laughing and to me that just says YEAH THIS IS OVER. DO S0METHING ... I will personally make this a fight I am getting supporters I am getting petitions I am going to tell everyone this NEEDS to STOP NOW!!!! 

I am a viewer of NBC but right now I personally hate shiat... The late night guys do better and are funnier than SNL, 
and that action speaks loud to me .... PLEASE DO S011ETHING AND DON'T BE AN ASS I WILL HONESTLY MAKE NBC PAY FOR THIS BY  NOT WATCHING YOU and no I am not threatening I am serious because I have now 30 people saying it was shiat.. ..  and the reviewers are messed up ... 

Written for NBC Dickheads ... 
Dear FCC I am sorry to be writing again and knowing we have Freedom of Speech but please just take a look at the latest SNL I find it obscene and downright offensive ... and I have gathered support and knowledge of others who have said to me the same thing I am saying to you ... We are abusing our Freedoms these days from using  Religion  to spread hate to TV abusing Freedom of Speech by letting them use and show Horny ~essages ... and I fear for a PG 13 program like SNL the rating needs to be PG X. .. for a I 0 o clock show I find it still early for 9 year olds to be watching it I mean really do we know what parents let their children do by watching TV, NO .. so on the safe side I wish you would fix the cases and fix something with NBC and most other cable stations ... I am talking CABLE ... 

I am a fighter when I see something that is wrong and I personally take it get votes on the matter and solve it, or try to at least... I have Priests, I have Religious Friends I have even Gay people that have told me how offensive this latest SNL was ... there was a case a few months back when a guy put a whistle up the woman's butt... I was downright sicks I threw up. and yet SNL is still on .....
 
2013-02-05 03:13:38 PM  

LesserEvil: CSB time.... my Dad (70yrs old) bought a new LCD TV last week. I went over to visit and help him lift it up on the TV stand in the living room, and we finally got around to tuning in the analog/digital tuner (he has a cable box, but likes to have the tuner as a backup). I was a bit surprised that the digital registered something like 45 channels, so we scanned them. Most of the lower ones were local broadcast digitals, then we hit the 80s, and got a bunch of cable digital stations. The last one was hard core porn. WTF? This is Charter cable, out in rural Michigan. WTF?

It was also like 3pm on a Saturday afternoon.

My Dad isn't going to file an FCC report, and we both thought it was a bit funny, but seriously, Charter, WTF?

/No, my Mom and Dad do not subscribe to any "adult" channels, either.


The FCC does not regulate cable content.
 
2013-02-05 03:15:09 PM  

meanmutton: More people who don't understand what "Safe Harbor" is?

For the people who don't know -- the FCC can not legally regulate content in broadcasts between the hours of 10:00 PM and 6:00 AM as long as it's not "obscene" content.  Obscene content is always illegal and includes things like child porn, bestiality, and snuff films.  Regular porn doesn't count as obscene (otherwise cable couldn't show those PPV porn shows and Playboy channel would be out of business).

Yes, that means that every night right at 10:00 PM you could broadcast hardcore porn from 10:00 PM until 6:00 AM.


This fine patriot disagrees with you:

"in this episode of saturday night live nbc aired to the unsuspecting public real images of a woman's vagina not fully covered 
by her pink leotard+real pornographic images of a woman's nude butt not fully covered by her leather underwear all of which 
are vulgar,unlawful,pomographic,unconstitutional and goes against all standards of decency within all 50 states that 
comprise the usa. "
 
2013-02-05 03:19:38 PM  

meanmutton: LesserEvil: CSB time.... my Dad (70yrs old) bought a new LCD TV last week. I went over to visit and help him lift it up on the TV stand in the living room, and we finally got around to tuning in the analog/digital tuner (he has a cable box, but likes to have the tuner as a backup). I was a bit surprised that the digital registered something like 45 channels, so we scanned them. Most of the lower ones were local broadcast digitals, then we hit the 80s, and got a bunch of cable digital stations. The last one was hard core porn. WTF? This is Charter cable, out in rural Michigan. WTF?

It was also like 3pm on a Saturday afternoon.

My Dad isn't going to file an FCC report, and we both thought it was a bit funny, but seriously, Charter, WTF?

/No, my Mom and Dad do not subscribe to any "adult" channels, either.

The FCC does not regulate cable content.


I know, I just wanted to make a point that my Mom and Dad aren't those sort of people.

25 years ago, they might have been like "free porn!"
 
2013-02-05 03:49:00 PM  
I changed the channel to see why SNL was on a weekday. I did not like what I saw. It was not funny to see two men passionately kissing and then one pulling the other man's shirt to feel him up. I am shocked at the crap (violence and itiot shows)that is on tv  that is why I watch cable educational channels. We are getting stupider by the day allowing this filth on tv. TV is the babysitter of children.  I don't want to watch this filth and kids see crap everyday. Television teaches children the wrong messages. Television cannot get any worse, can it?  This country is in trouble viewing these shows. Are you listening to complaints?

Well, I think I found your problem
 
2013-02-05 03:52:56 PM  
Like the guy who was watching and being offended with his gay friends. I smell a plant
 
2013-02-05 03:56:46 PM  
A lot of gems in this one:

Having been a fan of SNL back in the seventies and eighties when the writing actually was funny, I am disappointed by the level to which is has stooped today.  Last night?s program (Saturday, ~ay 14) left me wondering if Air Traffic Controllers have assumed the position of network censors.  Obviously, someone has fallen asleep on the job!  The disgusting smut of animated homosexual characters (suddenly transformed into human counterparts) was offensive and reeking of desperation. Suggestive depictions of penises and artificial gratification between two fictional ?Superheroes? traveled far beyond the limits of good taste and any acceptable display of televised entertainment.  This contribution to the moral decay of American society is repulsive, obscene and ought not to be available on the public airways.   This presentation of juvenile belongs relegated to the confines of media for which adults are willing to pay.   As an adult at 58 years of age, I occasionally appreciate a measure of pornographic entertainment and am willing to pay for it when circumstances and I warrant. I do not expect it to be thrown in my face while watching network television.  Apparently the void of creative, comedic writing has left Saturday Night Live with little else than to pursue and depict behavior of very adolescent intelligence and is beneath the expectations of professional writing.   Lorne Greene ought to be ashamed of what he has allowed his show to deteriorate into. Irreverent satire enjoyed during the early years of Saturday Night Live, has been hijacked by cheap, vulgar and tasteless authors producing unacceptable programming.

WTF am I reading?
 
2013-02-05 04:03:19 PM  

IgG4: During the "What Up With That" skit on SNL, actor Samuel L. Jackson said "What the fark" and "this is bullshiat" during the show.   I was watching with my gay friends and we were very upset.  Thanks.

?


If you get any insight on the whole "gay" dropping, let us know. That confused me, too...

I think I'm going to trademark 'Gay Dropping', BTW. It's kind of like name dropping, ut people drop the 'I'm Gay' thing, apropos of nothing, as if it's going to change things. Doesn't happen often, but trademarking the term won't hurt.
 
2013-02-05 04:05:01 PM  
If nothing else, this list shows the need for farking people to proofread shiat before they post it.
 
2013-02-05 04:07:59 PM  

Mikey1969: If you get any insight on the whole "gay" dropping, let us know. That confused me, too...


I believe it's to try to add weight to their argument of this thing being unacceptable. They try to juxtapose their acceptance of homosexual relationships against their outrage that a man in a yeti suit pretended to rape a guy. I guess by establishing that they aren't closed-minded in one area it will somehow add more gravitas to their complaint.
 
2013-02-05 04:08:37 PM  
I am shocked at the crap (violence and itiot shows)that is on tv  that is why I watch cable educational channels.

Translation: He watches Discovery Channel reality TV, The History Channel's run of reality TV and The Hitler Channel, or nothing at all.

/Cable quit being "educational" about 10 years ago.
 
2013-02-05 04:12:29 PM  

sigdiamond2000: I wonder how many of these came from Breitbart readers.


I was gonna say Parents Television Council, but we're probably both correct.
 
2013-02-05 04:18:21 PM  

LesserEvil: /No, my Mom and Dad do not subscribe to any "adult" channels, either.



*pats on head*

Awwww.  Bless your naive little heart.  You are just a peach.  an absolute peach.
 
2013-02-05 04:19:13 PM  

The Singing Bush: As an adult at 58 years of age, I occasionally appreciate a measure of pornographic entertainment and am willing to pay for it when circumstances and I warrant.


I was fine until I got to this part... Then I starteed to LOL at my desk.

Then the whole "Lorne Greene" thing made me start to tear up...
 
2013-02-05 04:20:47 PM  

Treygreen13: Mikey1969: If you get any insight on the whole "gay" dropping, let us know. That confused me, too...

I believe it's to try to add weight to their argument of this thing being unacceptable. They try to juxtapose their acceptance of homosexual relationships against their outrage that a man in a yeti suit pretended to rape a guy. I guess by establishing that they aren't closed-minded in one area it will somehow add more gravitas to their complaint.


Except that the skit(Or the part) that they were complaining about was Samuel L Jackson's language. No mention of Yetis in their complaint.
 
2013-02-05 04:24:49 PM  
This has the Parents Television Council written all over it.. :D
 
2013-02-05 04:26:49 PM  
"Jamie Fox(sic) needs to be removed from society until this threat is over"

Another whitey trying to keep a brother down. Do tell, offended sir or madam which institution away from society you recommend Mr. Foxx placed in until the black uprising has been quelled?
 
2013-02-05 04:35:16 PM  

Mikey1969: Treygreen13: Mikey1969: If you get any insight on the whole "gay" dropping, let us know. That confused me, too...

I believe it's to try to add weight to their argument of this thing being unacceptable. They try to juxtapose their acceptance of homosexual relationships against their outrage that a man in a yeti suit pretended to rape a guy. I guess by establishing that they aren't closed-minded in one area it will somehow add more gravitas to their complaint.

Except that the skit(Or the part) that they were complaining about was Samuel L Jackson's language. No mention of Yetis in their complaint.


What exactly the complaint is about is irrelevant. I just used the yeti thing as an example. I only skimmed the complaint sheet. The goal of trying to make it seem like they're a reasonable media consumer is the same, regardless of whether or not Samuel L. Jackson is screaming profanity or yetis are raping people.

Sort of like the, "I'm not racist, but..." statement that inevitably precedes a racist comment.
 
2013-02-05 04:35:58 PM  

LesserEvil: meanmutton: LesserEvil: CSB time.... my Dad (70yrs old) bought a new LCD TV last week. I went over to visit and help him lift it up on the TV stand in the living room, and we finally got around to tuning in the analog/digital tuner (he has a cable box, but likes to have the tuner as a backup). I was a bit surprised that the digital registered something like 45 channels, so we scanned them. Most of the lower ones were local broadcast digitals, then we hit the 80s, and got a bunch of cable digital stations. The last one was hard core porn. WTF? This is Charter cable, out in rural Michigan. WTF?

It was also like 3pm on a Saturday afternoon.

My Dad isn't going to file an FCC report, and we both thought it was a bit funny, but seriously, Charter, WTF?

/No, my Mom and Dad do not subscribe to any "adult" channels, either.

The FCC does not regulate cable content.

I know, I just wanted to make a point that my Mom and Dad aren't those sort of people.

25 years ago, they might have been like "free porn!"


You don't know for sure what kind of sexy freaks your parents might be...

/I'd recommend calling AND knocking before entering the house, just to be on the safe side
 
2013-02-05 04:36:41 PM  

sigdiamond2000: I wonder how many of these came from Breitbart readers.


About 99% of FCC complaints come from PTC members. I'm sure there is plenty of overlap between the two.
 
2013-02-05 04:44:00 PM  
A list of formal complaints to the FCC against Saturday Night Live. Apparently people are offended easily

Either that or they just have good taste.  Or maybe it is that they are older than 13.

Take your pick.
 
2013-02-05 05:02:46 PM  

Martonio: You don't know for sure what kind of sexy freaks your parents might be...



an old girlfriend told a story of coming home early and hearing an "odd" sound....turned the corner, her mom was cockslobbing pops.  scarred her for life.
 
2013-02-05 05:09:57 PM  
As a dirty, middle aged, Greek restauranteur, i'm offended by "CHEEBUGGERCHEEBUGGERCHEEBUGGER !!!"
 
2013-02-05 05:20:35 PM  

The Singing Bush: A lot of gems in this one:

Having been a fan of SNL back in the seventies and eighties when the writing actually was funny, I am disappointed by the level to which is has stooped today.  Last night?s program (Saturday, ~ay 14) left me wondering if Air Traffic Controllers have assumed the position of network censors.  Obviously, someone has fallen asleep on the job!  The disgusting smut of animated homosexual characters (suddenly transformed into human counterparts) was offensive and reeking of desperation. Suggestive depictions of penises and artificial gratification between two fictional ?Superheroes? traveled far beyond the limits of good taste and any acceptable display of televised entertainment.  This contribution to the moral decay of American society is repulsive, obscene and ought not to be available on the public airways.   This presentation of juvenile belongs relegated to the confines of media for which adults are willing to pay.   As an adult at 58 years of age, I occasionally appreciate a measure of pornographic entertainment and am willing to pay for it when circumstances and I warrant. I do not expect it to be thrown in my face while watching network television.  Apparently the void of creative, comedic writing has left Saturday Night Live with little else than to pursue and depict behavior of very adolescent intelligence and is beneath the expectations of professional writing.   Lorne Greene ought to be ashamed of what he has allowed his show to deteriorate into. Irreverent satire enjoyed during the early years of Saturday Night Live, has been hijacked by cheap, vulgar and tasteless authors producing unacceptable programming.

WTF am I reading?


Yeah... that one was brilliant... lost it at the Lorne Greene part.
 
Displayed 50 of 70 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report