If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Amazon)   Navy pilot pens book on how to become a fighter pilot. Check out the reviews from other pilots who discover he's a nugget who has yet to fly a fighter jet   (amazon.com) divider line 91
    More: Amusing, rectal examination, flight schools, air forces, United States Navy  
•       •       •

15211 clicks; posted to Main » on 02 Feb 2013 at 9:29 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



91 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-02-02 08:19:04 AM
$70.39 up to $133+ a copy?  Also, given the comments, I would assume he is USN.
 
2013-02-02 08:37:37 AM
You owe it to yourself to read the most helpful favorable review in its entirety, which includes such richness as:

"Whenever I had an instructor try to give me low grades I would rip open my shirt and show him the golden wings tattooed on my freshly waxed chest. How dare anyone stand in the way of the worlds next triple ace? If that failed I would recite lines from Top Gun, Gladiator, and 300 until he gave me the highest grades possible for the flight."
 
2013-02-02 09:31:13 AM
pilot pens? don't those work in zero gravity?
 
2013-02-02 09:33:41 AM
Now i want chicken nuggets
 
2013-02-02 09:33:53 AM
Is his name Brian Sorensen?

/FLYNAVY
 
2013-02-02 09:38:07 AM
Well, the penis mightier.
 
2013-02-02 09:40:28 AM

SpdrJay: Well, the penis mightier.


freud.

TMLO, i missed that one....
 
2013-02-02 09:41:01 AM
"Bestseller" would be a good call sign for this guy if he ever makes it.
 
2013-02-02 09:44:17 AM
Actually, with a rank of 800k and an asking price of $70 I'd carry it if I found one at a thrift store. Normally SFA books are junkers.
 
2013-02-02 09:44:37 AM
Navy Air, not USAF. Headline fail.
 
2013-02-02 09:45:20 AM
Came here for the FLYNAVY reference, leaving happy. :)

/And for those Farkers that don't know about FLYNAVY, you might find this thread entertaining reading.
 
2013-02-02 09:47:20 AM
All those reviews were TL:DR.
 
2013-02-02 09:47:23 AM

AJisaff: TMLO, i missed that one....


If you click on the link, you'll see excerpts from the most helpful favorable review and the most helpful critical review right next to each other.

Click on "Read the full review" and it'll bring up the most helpful favorable review in its entirety, and trust me, this one is worth a read.
 
2013-02-02 09:52:56 AM
How many hours do you have to have in Navy fighters before you can apply to be a USAF fighter pilot?
 
2013-02-02 09:55:58 AM
The first review was by the author.  Most of us instructor pilots are just wondering if the gods of karma are going to let him pass his upcoming carrier qualifications or not.  The students who knew him said he was a nice guy, then shake their heads in shame.  It's also the second documented case of "look how awesome I am" we've seen from a student in the past 6 months (the other one was looking for letters of rec to the Blue Angels before finishing primary).  I'm sure the FRS will have no idea about this, though.  Totally smooth sailing ahead.
 
2013-02-02 09:58:25 AM
I'm not any kind of pilot, but I used to hang out on rec.aviation.military back in the day because I like talking about military planes. There were some actual pilots on there too, and it was always interesting to get their take. Two specific fun memories I remember from those days include one guy saying:

I'm not a pilot, but I play a lot of flight sims, and I need a good callsign. Can you guys suggest something?

That started a long and interesting discussion about various callsigns and their origin, and the original question got almost completely ignored. In a similar vein, another post said

I play a lot of fighter sims, but I really want to add more realism to the experience. Can anyone suggest something?

which drew the memorable response (among others)

Sure. Sit on a cinder block, point a sunlamp at your head, and don't move for 10 hours.

Heh. Good times.

/Got the right thread this time. I rule! Halfway.
 
2013-02-02 09:58:47 AM

telejester: How many hours do you have to have in Navy fighters before you can apply to be a USAF fighter pilot?


In all seriousness, around 1000 total.  There ate exchange programs each year; my first squadron had an AF F-15 pilot on an exchange (we called him Starscream, naturally).
 
2013-02-02 10:03:20 AM

DammitIForgotMyLogin: Is his name Brian Sorensen?

/FLYNAVY


I see we can all lock up and go home now.  That guy was SUCH a twat, watching him get battered in that thread was brilliant.
 
2013-02-02 10:09:46 AM
Does the guy claim in his book to be more experienced than he is? If not then I'm having a hard time seeing why this should upset anyone.
 
2013-02-02 10:17:04 AM
Wife-like writing detected.
 
2013-02-02 10:17:35 AM

Quaker: Does the guy claim in his book to be more experienced than he is? If not then I'm having a hard time seeing why this should upset anyone.


He's never been in a jet according to numberous reviewers yet he wrote a book entitled "How to become a fighter pilot". I'd say the community owes him a few jabs.
 
2013-02-02 10:19:20 AM
The author is currently a student in Navy Training Air Wing 2

http://www.cnatra.navy.mil/tw2/index.asp

He's learning to fly T-45s out of Kingsville, Texas.

If he's a fighter pilot, I'm George W. Bush.

Maybe his follow up effort will be titled "How Not To Become A Fighter Pilot"
 
2013-02-02 10:21:22 AM

Quaker: Does the guy claim in his book to be more experienced than he is? If not then I'm having a hard time seeing why this should upset anyone.


It's the title, so yes he is claiming a fair bit more experience than he had at print time.  No, you are not a fighter pilot before you have your first flight, and if this had gotten the public publicity in primary his selection to jets may have been affected, either directly or just by the grades he gets.  There's nothing more fun than a helicopter / P-3 pilot who wrote a book on how to be a fighter pilot.
 
2013-02-02 10:23:29 AM
That was boring as shiat.
 
2013-02-02 10:34:39 AM
It's not impossible; I used to bullseye whomp rats in my T-16 back home.
 
2013-02-02 10:36:23 AM

Ed Finnerty: Wife-like writing detected.


Wrong fake. Soldiers in the Core are ashamed of you.
 
2013-02-02 10:39:59 AM
Oh.

Dear.


Lawd......
 
2013-02-02 10:44:14 AM
Beep, beep, beep!

"I'm going to put on the brakes and he'll fly right by!"
 
2013-02-02 10:58:55 AM
'Talk to me Goose'
 
2013-02-02 11:05:49 AM
"Negative ghostrider, the pattern has been flown"
 
2013-02-02 11:06:47 AM

meow said the dog: That was boring as shiat.


I'm glad someone else said it first.  I kept reading, waiting for something funny to happen.
 
2013-02-02 11:10:29 AM

rocketpants: meow said the dog: That was boring as shiat.

I'm glad someone else said it first.  I kept reading, waiting for something funny to happen.


Obviously you missed the link to the FLYNAVY thread.

Generally considered a Fark classic.
 
2013-02-02 11:12:16 AM

mainsail: Navy Air, not USAF. Headline fail.


Meh. Marines, Navy, Airforce, Army...It's all the same thing
 
2013-02-02 11:12:53 AM
This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.
 
2013-02-02 11:16:34 AM

RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.


On a sat. night at Rosie's?
 
2013-02-02 11:16:47 AM

Fear_and_Loathing: rocketpants: meow said the dog: That was boring as shiat.

I'm glad someone else said it first.  I kept reading, waiting for something funny to happen.

Obviously you missed the link to the FLYNAVY thread.

Generally considered a Fark classic.



No, I clicked it.  i just don't have the time or patience to read all that shiat.
 
2013-02-02 11:20:47 AM
All the fighter pilots I know were pissed off that they got assigned to RPA duty.
 
2013-02-02 11:24:35 AM

Fear_and_Loathing: RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.

On a sat. night at Rosie's?


....you, you are obviously someone who knows Rotten Groton.  Yeah, these were the dudes in their boot camp boots, NEX jeans, and peacoats dropping $5s on the stage at Rosie's.
 
2013-02-02 11:25:45 AM

RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.


"Where did you get your fish?"

"At the NEX, they've got a whole lot of them."
 
2013-02-02 11:27:51 AM

Adam West for President: RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.

"Where did you get your fish?"

"At the NEX, they've got a whole lot of them."


Ha!  As the crusty old MM1 in the back starts twitching uncontrollably.  Nice to see so many people familiar with Connecticut's most wretched hive of scum and villainy.
 
2013-02-02 11:31:35 AM

RangerTaylor: Fear_and_Loathing: RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.

On a sat. night at Rosie's?

....you, you are obviously someone who knows Rotten Groton.  Yeah, these were the dudes in their boot camp boots, NEX jeans, and peacoats dropping $5s on the stage at Rosie's.


Lol.
 
2013-02-02 11:34:16 AM

RangerTaylor: Adam West for President: RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.

"Where did you get your fish?"

"At the NEX, they've got a whole lot of them."

Ha!  As the crusty old MM1 in the back starts twitching uncontrollably.  Nice to see so many people familiar with Connecticut's most wretched hive of scum and villainy.


That would be Bridgeport.
 
2013-02-02 11:35:34 AM

Fear_and_Loathing: RangerTaylor: Adam West for President: RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.

"Where did you get your fish?"

"At the NEX, they've got a whole lot of them."

Ha!  As the crusty old MM1 in the back starts twitching uncontrollably.  Nice to see so many people familiar with Connecticut's most wretched hive of scum and villainy.

That would be Bridgeport.


I laughed.
 
2013-02-02 11:44:27 AM

RangerTaylor: Fear_and_Loathing: RangerTaylor: Adam West for President: RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.

"Where did you get your fish?"

"At the NEX, they've got a whole lot of them."

Ha!  As the crusty old MM1 in the back starts twitching uncontrollably.  Nice to see so many people familiar with Connecticut's most wretched hive of scum and villainy.

That would be Bridgeport.

I laughed.


I love Groton.  You can be a complete asshole.  Then, when someone gets offended, you just say "I'm from Groton."
 
2013-02-02 11:45:30 AM
A non-pilot selling a how to be a pilot book.

That's almost as exciting as a non-chef selling cookbooks
3.bp.blogspot.com
 
2013-02-02 11:45:43 AM

Adam West for President: RangerTaylor: Fear_and_Loathing: RangerTaylor: Adam West for President: RangerTaylor: This reminds me of the kids right out of boot camp who would be walking around Groton, CT talking about what it is like on subs while they are still in sub school.  It's a quick way to get yourself outright hated by the community.

"Where did you get your fish?"

"At the NEX, they've got a whole lot of them."

Ha!  As the crusty old MM1 in the back starts twitching uncontrollably.  Nice to see so many people familiar with Connecticut's most wretched hive of scum and villainy.

That would be Bridgeport.

I laughed.

I love Groton.  You can be a complete asshole.  Then, when someone gets offended, you just say "I'm from Groton."


That would be Stamford.

Must I do everything.  Lol
 
2013-02-02 11:47:11 AM

abhorrent1: mainsail: Navy Air, not USAF. Headline fail.

Meh. Marines, Navy, Airforce, Army...It's all the same thing


Great, you just pissed off the Navy AND the Marines by lumping them in the same group. The Marines will beat your ass, then the Navy will fark you when the Marines are done.
 
2013-02-02 11:58:44 AM

OnlyM3: A non-pilot selling a how to be a pilot book.

That's almost as exciting as a non-chef selling cookbooks


IIRC, he actually has a culinary degree from the CIA.
 
2013-02-02 12:03:50 PM
What's the author's Farkers handle?  The book sounds like one long Fark comment
 
2013-02-02 12:05:40 PM
From TMLO's best most helpful review link: "I still am searching for my Iceman, look for my ad on craigslist."

Methinks someone is trolling amazon,...
 
Displayed 50 of 91 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report