Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(CNN)   How bad is the movie jOBS? So bad in fact that Windows 8 had better reviews   (cnn.com ) divider line
    More: Obvious, Steve Wozniak, Pirates of Silicon Valley, Sundance Film Festival, Ashton Kutcher, Aaron Sorkin, TV movies  
•       •       •

6669 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 01 Feb 2013 at 7:14 AM (3 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



98 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2013-02-01 09:56:31 AM  
i.imgur.com

"Paging Mr. Herman, Mr. Herman.  You have a telephone call at the front desk."
 
2013-02-01 09:58:41 AM  
My friend is in it, her first Hollywood gig. She's the Penelope Cruz lookalike who sits behind him in the classroom.
No, I haven't seen the flick, but get daily reports of her life in LA.

/not so cool story, bro
 
2013-02-01 10:01:25 AM  

ColSanders: I don't really care if you don't like it. I don't own Microsoft stock. The day I get angry about someone else's opinion of an OS is the day I need to reevaluate my life.

The only time I see the tiles is when I first boot up. After that it's the standard Windows desktop. I'm a little puzzled why so many seem to have a tough time with that, but to each his own.

Is 8 perfect? No. Would I introduce it into my Enterprise environment? Hell no. But for personal use it's a darn good OS for people who don't mind change.


Exactly. When challenged the response, as always, falls back to "it's not the WORST thing you could buy and I sure wouldn't use it in x y and z situations".

Do you think maybe when the best thing you can say about it is that it could be a lot worse maybe the people who don't like it have a bit of a point?
 
2013-02-01 10:01:59 AM  
I think it's time for another clip to be released.
 
2013-02-01 10:06:01 AM  
I don't know what you losers are talking about.  MS designed an awesome interface that is simple to use and intuitive for anybody who's ever been in a house.  You must just be afraid of change.
 
2013-02-01 10:07:14 AM  

HeartBurnKid: I don't know what you losers are talking about.  MS designed an awesome interface that is simple to use and intuitive for anybody who's ever been in a house.  You must just be afraid of change.


And it'd help if Fark didn't eat my image...

stepsandleaps.files.wordpress.com

/damn Fark, ruining jokes
 
2013-02-01 10:10:38 AM  
www.slate.com

Virtual assistants are the wave of the future.  They're genuinely helpful to everybody who isn't a nerd who's afraid of change, like you.
 
2013-02-01 10:43:02 AM  

rillettes: My friend is in it, her first Hollywood gig. She's the Penelope Cruz lookalike who sits behind him in the classroom.
No, I haven't seen the flick, but get daily reports of her life in LA.

/not so cool story, bro


Is it sad, like looking at the entire lineup of cheerleaders at an NFL game and knowing that every single one of them thinks they'll be the next Cameron Diaz? Or is she just kinda riding it (pun not intended) and taking it for what it is?
 
2013-02-01 10:47:31 AM  

StrikitRich: Woz claims to still have memory problems from the head trauma he got when he crashed his Bonanza in the 80s. That might explain why he jumps around a lot when talking.


Maybe he needs to be dropped onto a desk from a height of 3 inches, to re-seat his memory chips.
 
2013-02-01 11:09:55 AM  

Bullseyed: GoldSpider: jso2897: thornhill: Maybe people are realizing that being a great businessman doesn't necessarily translate into being a fascinating person.

This. there is a fallacious assumption that anyone who has accomplished interesting things must, thereby, be an interesting person who leads an interesting life.
And it ain't necessarily so.

Then why make a movie about him?

Because he and Obama are the gods of liberals.


i18.photobucket.com
 
2013-02-01 11:16:12 AM  
*NSFW*


Skip to about 4 mins in for the relevant part.
 
2013-02-01 11:42:05 AM  

Vegan Meat Popsicle: Do you think maybe when the best thing you can say about it is that it could be a lot worse maybe the people who don't like it have a bit of a point?


Yes, just like people who do like it may have a bit of a point.  Like I said, to each is own.  I like it.  If you don't, great.  Don't use it.  You accuse me of being angry that other people don't like it, but it seems to me that you're angry that people do like it. It's just an OS.  Did it kick your dog?
 
2013-02-01 12:34:06 PM  

J. Frank Parnell: Will still be wildly popular among iZombies.


...while fanboids fap secretly to it.
 
2013-02-01 01:28:24 PM  

sure haven't: rillettes: My friend is in it, her first Hollywood gig. She's the Penelope Cruz lookalike who sits behind him in the classroom.
No, I haven't seen the flick, but get daily reports of her life in LA.

/not so cool story, bro

Is it sad, like looking at the entire lineup of cheerleaders at an NFL game and knowing that every single one of them thinks they'll be the next Cameron Diaz? Or is she just kinda riding it (pun not intended) and taking it for what it is?



The former. Very attractive, very smart woman. Got tired of being an IT project manager, acted in some very indie movies here in Montreal (probably because the director wanted to get in her pants), so decided to try her luck in LA. Being on the wrong side of 35 doesn't help.
A good voice actor, though. She's done stuff for UbiSoft.
 
2013-02-01 01:30:23 PM  

ColSanders: Yes, just like people who do like it may have a bit of a point. Like I said, to each is own. I like it. If you don't, great. Don't use it. You accuse me of being angry that other people don't like it, but it seems to me that you're angry that people do like it. It's just an OS. Did it kick your dog?


Or maybe I'm tired of people making up dumb shiat about how it's not really any different or that anybody who doesn't like it is a moron who just hates change.
 
2013-02-01 01:48:39 PM  

Mad_Radhu: Dissociater: The funny thing about the tiles to me is that when I first saw a phone with them I was like 'oh man that looks pretty great!  Is that a special UI for android phones or something?  What is that neat thing?!'  But when I see it on a monitor I think it looks ugly as hell and want no part of it.

It's a great UI for smartphones/tablets. It just falls apart a bit when you try to run it with a mouse/keyboard, especially on a large monitor.


Yep.  Great for phones and tablets, not so great for a basic non-touch screen setup.  My father-in-law hates Windows 8.  Guy in his 60s with a massive 42 inch LG monitor on his desk (it's like sitting in front of a jumbotron, I'm not sure why he needs his monitor to be the size of a frickin' TV).  When he couldn't get JAVA to run on it he hit the roof.  Most of the crap he runs uses JAVA, so I was surprised that he switched over to 8.

I'm not quite there yet on hating it yet, but it does seem like every version of Windows since inception has been to try to hide what's under the hood as much as possible, as well as make it easy to use for newer users without the fear of accidentally doing harmful things to the system.  I'm not quite sold on the whole switching over to the APP platform of things either.  I thought we made smartphones and tablets to emulate our computers, now it seems like we're doing the opposite, which is just... odd to me.
 
2013-02-01 01:49:58 PM  

Vegan Meat Popsicle: ColSanders: Yes, just like people who do like it may have a bit of a point. Like I said, to each is own. I like it. If you don't, great. Don't use it. You accuse me of being angry that other people don't like it, but it seems to me that you're angry that people do like it. It's just an OS. Did it kick your dog?

Or maybe I'm tired of people making up dumb shiat about how it's not really any different or that anybody who doesn't like it is a moron who just hates change.


hmmm

I'm actually using windows 8 right now and everything you are saying is wrong and unfounded. It is 20 times better than windows 7. My computer boots up in 4 seconds. FOUR SECONDS.

I make it do anything I want it to do. Arguing about this is only half-retarded. You are not a serious person or in your serious mind if you are trying to tell people that windows 8 sucks because it the difference between eating fresh bread versus moldy bread. Stop talking. It makes you sound really farking stupid.
 
2013-02-01 01:53:12 PM  

bedtundy: Mad_Radhu: Dissociater: The funny thing about the tiles to me is that when I first saw a phone with them I was like 'oh man that looks pretty great!  Is that a special UI for android phones or something?  What is that neat thing?!'  But when I see it on a monitor I think it looks ugly as hell and want no part of it.

It's a great UI for smartphones/tablets. It just falls apart a bit when you try to run it with a mouse/keyboard, especially on a large monitor.

Yep.  Great for phones and tablets, not so great for a basic non-touch screen setup.  My father-in-law hates Windows 8.  Guy in his 60s with a massive 42 inch LG monitor on his desk (it's like sitting in front of a jumbotron, I'm not sure why he needs his monitor to be the size of a frickin' TV).  When he couldn't get JAVA to run on it he hit the roof.  Most of the crap he runs uses JAVA, so I was surprised that he switched over to 8.

I'm not quite there yet on hating it yet, but it does seem like every version of Windows since inception has been to try to hide what's under the hood as much as possible, as well as make it easy to use for newer users without the fear of accidentally doing harmful things to the system.  I'm not quite sold on the whole switching over to the APP platform of things either.  I thought we made smartphones and tablets to emulate our computers, now it seems like we're doing the opposite, which is just... odd to me.


If you are talking like this then it makes it painfully obvious that you have not used windows 8.
 
2013-02-01 01:54:35 PM  
At it's core, Windows 8 is the same as 7 -- just with a new UI that is very customizable and works great with my wacom tablet. I also like how it boots up about 3x faster than Windows 7. But I can see why some people wouldn't like it, if you don't use it properly or aren't used to change you'll hate it.
 
2013-02-01 01:56:03 PM  
(Going back to the headline) Meh. There are certain people who would have dumped on this movie even if it was good enough to be nominated for an Oscar. (It's not.) Their negative reviews were written before they even saw the movie.
 
2013-02-01 01:56:12 PM  
It is hands down the best operating system I have ever used. What's sad is that yesterday you could purchase it for 40 bucks. Today you have to pay 200.
 
2013-02-01 01:59:31 PM  

fisker: bedtundy: Mad_Radhu: Dissociater: The funny thing about the tiles to me is that when I first saw a phone with them I was like 'oh man that looks pretty great!  Is that a special UI for android phones or something?  What is that neat thing?!'  But when I see it on a monitor I think it looks ugly as hell and want no part of it.

It's a great UI for smartphones/tablets. It just falls apart a bit when you try to run it with a mouse/keyboard, especially on a large monitor.

Yep.  Great for phones and tablets, not so great for a basic non-touch screen setup.  My father-in-law hates Windows 8.  Guy in his 60s with a massive 42 inch LG monitor on his desk (it's like sitting in front of a jumbotron, I'm not sure why he needs his monitor to be the size of a frickin' TV).  When he couldn't get JAVA to run on it he hit the roof.  Most of the crap he runs uses JAVA, so I was surprised that he switched over to 8.

I'm not quite there yet on hating it yet, but it does seem like every version of Windows since inception has been to try to hide what's under the hood as much as possible, as well as make it easy to use for newer users without the fear of accidentally doing harmful things to the system.  I'm not quite sold on the whole switching over to the APP platform of things either.  I thought we made smartphones and tablets to emulate our computers, now it seems like we're doing the opposite, which is just... odd to me.

If you are talking like this then it makes it painfully obvious that you have not used windows 8.


So, where exactly did I say I used it, or didn't use it?  hmmm.  Not seeing it.  I've played around with it some, but I'm not claiming to be an expert on it either.  I'm not saying I hate it, or have a hard on for it (which you appear to, NTTAWWT).

/Switch to Decaff
//tastes as good as regular
///blah blah blah
 
2013-02-01 02:12:35 PM  

fisker: I'm actually using windows 8 right now and everything you are saying is wrong and unfounded. It is 20 times better than windows 7. My computer boots up in 4 seconds. FOUR SECONDS.


My only concern with Win8 is backwards compatibility with old software I have ( XP stuff ). If I was assured that everything would run perfectly, I'd be more than happy to buy it...

That quick boot time would be pretty cool..

/ I guess I just don't trust Microsoft
 
2013-02-01 02:45:18 PM  

StrikitRich: [i3.ytimg.com image 279x402]

So, sounds like you should skip jOBS and got find the original movie.


The voice of Bender, John DiMaggio, plays Ballmer in 'Pirates of Silicon Valley', and he nails it. Highly recommended movie.
 
2013-02-01 03:25:39 PM  
Win 8 pro runs great on a VM on my win 7 installation. I can only imagine how much faster and even better it will run on a clean install on my main SSD drive.
 
2013-02-01 03:46:42 PM  

fisker: hmmm

I'm actually using windows 8 right now and everything you are saying is wrong and unfounded. It is 20 times better than windows 7. My computer boots up in 4 seconds. FOUR SECONDS.

I make it do anything I want it to do. Arguing about this is only half-retarded. You are not a serious person or in your serious mind if you are trying to tell people that windows 8 sucks because it the difference between eating fresh bread versus moldy bread. Stop talking. It makes you sound really farking stupid.


You're a really lousy troll.
 
2013-02-01 03:59:45 PM  

bedtundy: If you are talking like this then it makes it painfully obvious that you have not used windows 8.

So, where exactly did I say I used it, or didn't use it?  hmmm.  Not seeing it.  I've played around with it some, but I'm not claiming to be an expert on it either.  I'm not saying I hate it, or have a hard on for it (which you appear to, NTTAWWT).

/Switch to Decaff
//tastes as good as regular
///blah blah blah


If you are talking like this then it makes it painfully obvious that you have not tried coffee.
 
2013-02-01 04:22:44 PM  

OrbitalFerret: StrikitRich: [i3.ytimg.com image 279x402]

So, sounds like you should skip jOBS and got find the original movie.

The voice of Bender, John DiMaggio, plays Ballmer in 'Pirates of Silicon Valley', and he nails it. Highly recommended movie.


I too heartily recommend this movie. It covers the rise, fall, and return of Jobs at Apple as well as the interaction between them and Gates. Really good movie and now I'm going to go watch it again.
 
2013-02-01 05:07:40 PM  

Vegan Meat Popsicle: fisker: hmmm

I'm actually using windows 8 right now and everything you are saying is wrong and unfounded. It is 20 times better than windows 7. My computer boots up in 4 seconds. FOUR SECONDS.

I make it do anything I want it to do. Arguing about this is only half-retarded. You are not a serious person or in your serious mind if you are trying to tell people that windows 8 sucks because it the difference between eating fresh bread versus moldy bread. Stop talking. It makes you sound really farking stupid.

You're a really lousy troll.


Nice come back. Where did you come up with that? Did I lose?
 
2013-02-01 05:13:25 PM  
Thanks for arguing on the internet guys... I was bored today. haha
 
2013-02-01 05:29:20 PM  

fisker: Vegan Meat Popsicle: fisker: hmmm

I'm actually using windows 8 right now and everything you are saying is wrong and unfounded. It is 20 times better than windows 7. My computer boots up in 4 seconds. FOUR SECONDS.

I make it do anything I want it to do. Arguing about this is only half-retarded. You are not a serious person or in your serious mind if you are trying to tell people that windows 8 sucks because it the difference between eating fresh bread versus moldy bread. Stop talking. It makes you sound really farking stupid.

You're a really lousy troll.

Nice come back. Where did you come up with that? Did I lose?


Nope.  You WIN eleventity two intarwebnets!  You da man!

images.encyclopediadramatica.se
 
2013-02-01 05:34:47 PM  

bedtundy: fisker: Vegan Meat Popsicle: fisker: hmmm

I'm actually using windows 8 right now and everything you are saying is wrong and unfounded. It is 20 times better than windows 7. My computer boots up in 4 seconds. FOUR SECONDS.

I make it do anything I want it to do. Arguing about this is only half-retarded. You are not a serious person or in your serious mind if you are trying to tell people that windows 8 sucks because it the difference between eating fresh bread versus moldy bread. Stop talking. It makes you sound really farking stupid.

You're a really lousy troll.

Nice come back. Where did you come up with that? Did I lose?

Nope.  You WIN eleventity two intarwebnets!  You da man!

[images.encyclopediadramatica.se image 525x355]


fennelfriday.com
 
2013-02-01 05:45:13 PM  
Fark has a windows 8 app and it's rad.

i.imgur.com
 
2013-02-01 05:54:29 PM  
I recently built an HTPC, and put Windows 8 on it.

Overall thought? It's a really great, but not perfect, OS. The tiles are pretty functional, and Netflix has a great app. The desktop function also simulates that classic Windows experience very well.

And this is coming from someone who has used Linux for 9 years. Oh, and I like Unity on Ubuntu, so maybe I'm just weird.
 
2013-02-01 06:03:30 PM  
If I wanted to watch a small cabal of fanatics slobber over a dead man's knob, I'd hang out with libertarians.
 
2013-02-01 06:03:41 PM  
What's sad is that it costs $200 now.

Look. Windows 7 is still a beast and I will always love Microsoft for making windows 7 and realizing where they farked up with Vista.

I shiat you not. Windows 8 uses half the memory on my system than windows 7 did. It is all around a better operating system.


i.imgur.com
 
2013-02-01 06:36:14 PM  
"How bad is the movie jOBS? So bad in fact that Windows 8 had better reviews"

This is a bit like saying "don't buy that Alfa Romeo because this Jaguar is more reliable".  It's an accurate statement and yet it just isn't meaningful because two very, very, small values are being compared to one another.
 
2013-02-01 07:56:33 PM  

fisker: Fark has a windows 8 app and it's rad.

[i.imgur.com image 850x663]


Hunh, I didn't know that app even existed. Works pretty well on my RT tablet. An easy way to view Fark without 90% of the ads via a touchscreen.

You should work on your shiatty cut and paste jobs though. Especially when you show that you have Photoshop open (via the taskbar icon) on your second screenshot.
 
2013-02-01 08:38:03 PM  
Thanks for the heads up on the Fark app for win 8. It's not bad, though wish it had a login page.
 
2013-02-01 09:41:58 PM  
Just got a new laptop in today (my old gaming laptop was 4 years old and on its last leg) that came with Windows 8.  Was fully prepared to nuke the thing and send it back to Windows 7 land, but decided to give it a shot.  It was frustrating for the first 30 minutes, it's required me to reset some defaults (so pictures don't open in Start Screen and such), but it's not that bad.  It's not a big revolution, but it's got a few little things here and there that are nice (Start Screen is good once you customize it for what you want).

The worst parts were the preloaded bloatware Acer put on here.  Once that was gone and I could tinker, it's pretty nice.  I'm probably gonna keep it for now and see how it goes.

/the 2-second boot time is outrageously great
//don't deal with the Start Screen 99% of the time
///fark app needs more slashies
 
2013-02-01 09:49:25 PM  

yourdogwantsplacenta: OrbitalFerret: StrikitRich: [i3.ytimg.com image 279x402]

So, sounds like you should skip jOBS and got find the original movie.

The voice of Bender, John DiMaggio, plays Ballmer in 'Pirates of Silicon Valley', and he nails it. Highly recommended movie.

I too heartily recommend this movie. It covers the rise, fall, and return of Jobs at Apple as well as the interaction between them and Gates. Really good movie and now I'm going to go watch it again.


Based on your rec, I watched it this afternoon. Not bad, except for heavy-handed use of music(pet peeve of mine).
And yeah - DiMaggio as Ballmer was brilliant - pretty near stole the whole picture.
 
2013-02-01 09:58:21 PM  

Vegan Meat Popsicle: ColSanders: Yes, just like people who do like it may have a bit of a point. Like I said, to each is own. I like it. If you don't, great. Don't use it. You accuse me of being angry that other people don't like it, but it seems to me that you're angry that people do like it. It's just an OS. Did it kick your dog?

Or maybe I'm tired of people making up dumb shiat about how it's not really any different or that anybody who doesn't like it is a moron who just hates change.


The possibility exists that you're a bit too passionate on this topic.
 
2013-02-01 10:14:36 PM  

roflmaonow: Thanks for the heads up on the Fark app for win 8. It's not bad, though wish it had a login page.


Same. It's a decent start. Does the app dev want to come forward?
 
2013-02-01 10:16:48 PM  
So I hear the movie's portrayal of Jobs is unrealistic... but I want to know, is it iPhony?
 
2013-02-01 10:35:54 PM  

MrSteve007: You should work on your shiatty cut and paste jobs though. Especially when you show that you have Photoshop open (via the taskbar icon) on your second screenshot.


You mean I didn't do that on purpose?
 
2013-02-02 07:47:54 AM  

VRaptor117: SwingDancer: Windows 8 Review were a mixed bag. the fell into 2 different categories

1) Under the hood reviews, which shows where it will excel over windows 7, these reviews tended to be positive.
2) ZOMG TILES! Kill it with fire! or derp Even number OS's Suck. derp.  Which tended toward the negative.

Those who actually know what they are doing have found windows 8 to be pretty good.  That being said, I only have it on my RT i was given from work.  I wanted to install it to a flash drive on my home PC but they wouldn't let you do that with the full upgrade :(   So i'm opting out for 1 of my 3 computers, in with 1. and the server is staying exactly as is til it catches fire.

Yup because if you take something that's good and pile shiat on it, people will only see that shiat. You can bake the best cake in the world and dump shiat on it and all people will taste is the shiat.

The tiles are shiat, in case I haven't made that clear.


And that would put you in column 2.
 
2013-02-02 07:54:03 AM  

SpeedyBB: SwingDancer: Windows 8 Review were a mixed bag. the fell into 2 different categories

1) Under the hood reviews, which shows where it will excel over windows 7, these reviews tended to be positive.
2) ZOMG TILES! Kill it with fire! or derp Even number OS's Suck. derp.  Which tended toward the negative.

Those who actually know what they are doing have found windows 8 to be pretty good.  That being said, I only have it on my RT i was given from work.  I wanted to install it to a flash drive on my home PC but they wouldn't let you do that with the full upgrade :(   So i'm opting out for 1 of my 3 computers, in with 1. and the server is staying exactly as is til it catches fire.

I just wonder why EVERYTHING designed by Microsoft looks so god-awful ugly. Is it Gates sticking his nose in and overruling the graphic design guys (presumably they do have these)? The kindergarten-looking tiles are only the latest eyesore - the Surface also looked like something out of Soviet times.

Why can't they just keep it modest and simple?


Frankly I've only ever liked the looks of one interface. And that was the one from jurasic park.  I tried a version of it, and it's crappy, but looks nice.  But Windows OS's are meh. apples are meh. linux.. somewhere between meh and blech.  For me its always been what gets the job done.  Windows has always given me everything i need.  An interface that works if you arent a moran(not including WinME), Easy to add any new hardware, and doesnt feel as if it needs to hold my hand to keep me from hurting myself(after turning off a few "features")   As for the gates jibe, I dont know if he has any say about those things anymore.  He just pretty much sits back and gives all his money to charity these days.(unlike a few other CEO's who spent their time being arseholes)
 
2013-02-03 12:13:25 PM  

SwingDancer: Windows 8 Review were a mixed bag. the fell into 2 different categories

1) Under the hood reviews, which shows where it will excel over windows 7, these reviews tended to be positive.
2) ZOMG TILES! Kill it with fire! or derp Even number OS's Suck. derp.  Which tended toward the negative.

Those who actually know what they are doing have found windows 8 to be pretty good.  That being said, I only have it on my RT i was given from work.  I wanted to install it to a flash drive on my home PC but they wouldn't let you do that with the full upgrade :(   So i'm opting out for 1 of my 3 computers, in with 1. and the server is staying exactly as is til it catches fire.


If people who "know what they're doing" want a computer, they should install Linux.
 
Displayed 48 of 98 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report