Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Toronto Star)   And you thought Rolling Stone gave harsh reviews   (thestar.com) divider line 69
    More: Scary, Geography of Mexico, Tactics of terrorism, Nuevo Leon, ballistic trauma, Sinaloa Cartel, drug cartels, Del Norte County, California, Monterrey  
•       •       •

17817 clicks; posted to Main » on 29 Jan 2013 at 10:51 AM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



69 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-01-29 04:10:48 AM  
Someone call El Mariachi.
 
2013-01-29 10:29:58 AM  
Isn't the knock on Rolling Stone specifically that they don't give out any harsh reviews?
 
2013-01-29 10:54:53 AM  
WTF is wrong with that place?
 
2013-01-29 10:54:59 AM  
officials suspect they were targeted in a part of the country dominated by drug cartels.

This isn't America, you morans. It's not like here where every rocker is carrying a bag of weed.
That was ground spices in their pockets.
 
2013-01-29 10:55:22 AM  
Kind of puts that whole East Coast/West Coast rap BS in perspective, doesn't it?
 
2013-01-29 10:56:12 AM  
Guns are illegal in mexico, therefore mass shootings don't happen.
 
2013-01-29 10:57:20 AM  
I bet they'd rather be in Tijuana
Eating barbequed iguana
 
2013-01-29 10:57:37 AM  

mypetwussy: Guns are illegal in mexico, therefore mass shootings don't happen.


Except for the guns Obama sold them.
 
2013-01-29 11:00:20 AM  

DoctorOfLove: mypetwussy: Guns are illegal in mexico, therefore mass shootings don't happen.

Except for the guns Obama sold them.


In fairness to Obama, he didn't like that band's music either.
 
2013-01-29 11:01:16 AM  
s2.postimage.org

"Play Freebird"
 
2013-01-29 11:02:55 AM  
As I read that story I imagined the sad trombone sound, only played with a trumpet and with a little mournful shake of the maracas at the end.

/waa waa waaa waaaaaaaa....rattle
 
2013-01-29 11:02:57 AM  
S.H.T.

/not obscure
 
2013-01-29 11:03:11 AM  
Wow, tough crowd.
 
2013-01-29 11:04:48 AM  
www.blackbookmag.com
 
2013-01-29 11:06:25 AM  
And I thought the only good musician was a dead mus...
never mind.
 
2013-01-29 11:07:32 AM  
With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition.
 
2013-01-29 11:09:56 AM  
Damn Mexico, you scary.
 
2013-01-29 11:10:23 AM  

sigdiamond2000: Isn't the knock on Rolling Stone specifically that they don't give out any harsh reviews?


You know how I know you're not a prog fan?
 
2013-01-29 11:10:30 AM  

abhorrent1: WTF is wrong with that place?


It's pure unregulated capitalism at its finest.
 
2013-01-29 11:12:05 AM  

DoctorOfLove: mypetwussy: Guns are illegal in mexico, therefore mass shootings don't happen.

Except for the guns Obama sold them.


Right, go ahead and pretend that most of the guns come from Obama and not just stolen or outright given to the cartels by elements of the Mexican police and military forces.
 
2013-01-29 11:13:03 AM  

sigdiamond2000: Isn't the knock on Rolling Stone specifically that they don't give out any harsh reviews?


Three-and-a-half stars. Almost everything gets three-and-a-half stars.
 
2013-01-29 11:14:47 AM  

AverageAmericanGuy: With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition.


That makes plenty of sense

/yeah right
 
2013-01-29 11:16:07 AM  

Bermuda59: I bet they'd rather be in TijuanaEating barbequed iguana


Or at least on Mexican radio instead of a live gig where they can be kidnapped and murdered!
 
2013-01-29 11:17:06 AM  

maxx2112: sigdiamond2000: Isn't the knock on Rolling Stone specifically that they don't give out any harsh reviews?

You know how I know you're not a prog fan?


Hey, maxx2112, you know how I know you're a Rush fanboy?

BTW, how the hell did they actually get into the HOF!?!!

/Still no love for Yes or Tull.
 
2013-01-29 11:17:51 AM  
Just remember when you puff on your next reefer you hippie scum, you're killing musicians.

Is it worth the high? Join the working masses Citizen, just say NO.
 
2013-01-29 11:18:58 AM  

Prank Call of Cthulhu: As I read that story I imagined the sad trombone sound, only played with a trumpet and with a little mournful shake of the maracas at the end.

/waa waa waaa waaaaaaaa....rattle


i lolz
 
2013-01-29 11:20:58 AM  
I'm pretty glad that I had the opportunity to visit Mexico 15 years ago. 'Cause I really don't want to go that way anymore.
 
2013-01-29 11:21:17 AM  
I am no expert on Mexican drug cartel politics or the Mexican military might, but doesn't the Mexican military have some special forces they could deploy to "liquidate" a couple of these drug cartel's leaders?

I know there's probably someone to step right in if that happens I suppose, but if you keep knocking them off wouldn't the position become a lot harder to fill?
 
2013-01-29 11:22:37 AM  

js34603: I am no expert on Mexican drug cartel politics or the Mexican military might, but doesn't the Mexican military have some special forces they could deploy to "liquidate" a couple of these drug cartel's leaders?


Why do that when you can make millions of dollars in bribe money?
 
2013-01-29 11:22:41 AM  
With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition

I still quake in fear of Al Capone when I buy beer and wine.
 
2013-01-29 11:28:43 AM  

Omnivorous: With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition

I still quake in fear of Al Capone when I buy beer and wine.


True Fact: I am posting this less than a mile from his grave.

/csb
 
2013-01-29 11:29:09 AM  
cuatro cinco
 
2013-01-29 11:29:13 AM  

DoctorOfLove: mypetwussy: Guns are illegal in mexico, therefore mass shootings don't happen.

Except for the guns Obama Bush sold them.


FTFY
 
2013-01-29 11:32:04 AM  

Snapper Carr: js34603: I am no expert on Mexican drug cartel politics or the Mexican military might, but doesn't the Mexican military have some special forces they could deploy to "liquidate" a couple of these drug cartel's leaders?

Why do that when you can make millions of dollars in bribe money?


Hey bribe money is great and all but surely beheadings and torture extends beyond what even the Mexican govt is willing to overlook for bribe money.

Just as a comparison, the American Mafia operated with a degree of impunity thanks to well placed bought off politicos or law enforcement. But if the Mafia had started beheading civilians, or torturing musicians, that would have pretty much burned up any influence they could buy. Hard to believe the Cartels continue to get away with crazy shiat like that because of bribes.
 
2013-01-29 11:36:46 AM  
I guess that's why you don't drink the water in Mexico . . .
 
2013-01-29 11:39:11 AM  

DoctorOfLove: mypetwussy: Guns are illegal in mexico, therefore mass shootings don't happen.

Except for the guns Obama sold them.


Old and busted meme is old. And no longer functions.
 
2013-01-29 11:40:43 AM  

jennyz: Damn Mexico, you scary.


Yeah.
Primus is going down there to play several dates.
Kinda freaks me out a bit for their safety.

And exactly how long are we going to let this go on? We meaning the US.

Apparently, aside from farked and furious, not much. I'm sure there's CIA all over and such, but damn the collateral damage to the Mexican law-abiding citizen is getting high.

I sure as fu(k would be heading for the border, and I don't mean no taco bell.
 
2013-01-29 11:53:36 AM  
At leat they weren't a Peruvian flute band.
 
2013-01-29 11:54:32 AM  
"officials suspect they were targeted in a part of the country dominated by drug cartels"

Mexico?
 
2013-01-29 11:56:17 AM  

AverageAmericanGuy: With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition.


I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but the legalization of pot in the US will take a lot of money out of the equation, so there will be less to fight over.

Also, this story is kinda sad. I loved Kombo Kolumbia. That's the #14, right? With rice and beans?
 
2013-01-29 11:58:46 AM  

Snapper Carr: [www.blackbookmag.com image 640x366]


I loved that bit. Had to explain it to my wife, though.
 
2013-01-29 12:00:30 PM  

puppetmaster745: AverageAmericanGuy: With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition.

I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but the legalization of pot in the US will take a lot of money out of the equation, so there will be less to fight over.

Also, this story is kinda sad. I loved Kombo Kolumbia. That's the #14, right? With rice and beans?


The loss of that income is one of the primary flashpoints.

Much as the medical marijuana producers and outlets fought legalization in Washington and Colorado, so to will the cartels fight back against encroachment into their "territory". While the medical marijuana producers rolled over for the new law, the Mexican drug cartels aren't renowned for their meekness.
 
2013-01-29 12:03:03 PM  
El perro, el perro es mi corazon
el gato, el gato, el gato no es bueno
 
2013-01-29 12:05:20 PM  
Lassie totally spaced on that one.
 
2013-01-29 12:05:55 PM  

maxx2112: sigdiamond2000: Isn't the knock on Rolling Stone specifically that they don't give out any harsh reviews?

You know how I know you're not a prog fan?


You tell em, Mr.2112!

Beware CSS ahead...

I bought tickets to see Rush for Vapor trails so my then 8 yr old son and I could be up closer. Left dad and little girl on the lawn. (muahaha)
Aside from it being one of my favorite memories, I bought the tix from a resale site for season ticket owners that didn't want this particular show.

Anyhoo, the tickets apparently came with an unsolicited subscription to Rolling Stone. Kinda like a slap in the face, but whatever. For three years they sent it, never demanding a payment-

so I made a hobby of cutting out articles and pictures referring to Rush. I got a pic on my fridge of Beck playing guitar with a starman logo on it.

They asked for payment twice, but I still got it for another two years after that.
Matt T. is a surprisingly good journalist. I love his style, but he'd probably do better to leave out the fanciful cursing, but eh.


/CSS

That said, Mexico is a mess. Are we even helping?
 
2013-01-29 12:06:03 PM  
Save the Wells

www.monkeyland.co.za
 
2013-01-29 12:08:16 PM  
2.bp.blogspot.com
 
2013-01-29 12:17:37 PM  

lake_huron: maxx2112: sigdiamond2000: Isn't the knock on Rolling Stone specifically that they don't give out any harsh reviews?

You know how I know you're not a prog fan?

Hey, maxx2112, you know how I know you're a Rush fanboy?

BTW, how the hell did they actually get into the HOF!?!!

/Still no love for Yes or Tull.


I think somebody must have died on RS's staff.
 
2013-01-29 12:18:40 PM  

AverageAmericanGuy: With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition.


Yeah, I can verify that it's as bad as you say. Crime lords are always shooting up the local liquor stores and bars, trying to muscle their way back into that sweet, sweet prohibition money.

And don't get me started on the whole "think of all the money we'll raise from taxes" baloney. That didn't work at all with cigarettes. You can grow enough tobacco to make a case of cigarettes for less than 50 cents, so of course nobody buys cigarettes at the store anymore. Any fool could have seen that coming.
 
2013-01-29 12:20:03 PM  

AverageAmericanGuy: puppetmaster745: AverageAmericanGuy: With the gradual legalization of marijuana across the US, we'll be seeing a significant uptick in drug cartel violence both in Mexico and in the US. Drug cartel leaders don't like competition.

I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but the legalization of pot in the US will take a lot of money out of the equation, so there will be less to fight over.

Also, this story is kinda sad. I loved Kombo Kolumbia. That's the #14, right? With rice and beans?

The loss of that income is one of the primary flashpoints.

Much as the medical marijuana producers and outlets fought legalization in Washington and Colorado, so to will the cartels fight back against encroachment into their "territory". While the medical marijuana producers rolled over for the new law, the Mexican drug cartels aren't renowned for their meekness.


There won't be any territory if recreational users are growing their own. Also, any legal producers will have protection under the law. That's the beauty of taking something out of the black market.
 
Displayed 50 of 69 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report