Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(HitFix)   Man of Steel director planning stand alone Star Wars movie inspired by Seven Samurai. "I have no opinion on this" said no Star Wars fan ever   (hitfix.com ) divider line
    More: Cool, Seven Samurai, Star Wars, Zack Snyder, Simon Kinberg, Clone Wars, Lawrence Kasdan, Skywalker, Akira Kurosawa  
•       •       •

3054 clicks; posted to Geek » on 14 Jan 2013 at 11:18 PM (3 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



95 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-01-14 08:14:50 PM  
A Star Wars movie inspired by Akira Kurosawa?? INCONCEIVABLE!!!

/dnrtfa
 
2013-01-14 08:58:27 PM  
i1079.photobucket.com
Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering...
 
2013-01-14 09:14:43 PM  
Looking forward to the slo-mo/speed-up/slo-mo Jedi.

/Lucas is going to look downright tasteful by the time Disney gets through with the property
 
2013-01-14 09:26:22 PM  
I'm pretty sure this story has already been debunked.
 
2013-01-14 10:53:31 PM  
Anyone but Snyder? Yeah.
 
2013-01-14 11:21:12 PM  
Better idea:

media.indiedb.com

+

upload.wikimedia.org
 
2013-01-14 11:23:30 PM  
I love showing Yojimbo in my art classes, and then showing Fistful of Dollars later on...it's awesome when the realization creeps over their faces.
 
2013-01-14 11:24:27 PM  
I've seen The Hidden Fortress. I don't really see the threads of inspiration between it and Star Wars.
 
2013-01-14 11:25:10 PM  
already debunked
 
2013-01-14 11:26:38 PM  
I don't see Seven Samurai being workable in the Star Wars universe. Maybe if it was one or two Jedi in the McQueen/Brynner roles trying to recruit a bunch of cynical Han Solo types. And even then the two Jedi wouldn't be the cool ones because they'd be surrounded by rogues. (Yes, I know, Magnificent Seven but it still holds). They could set it in the Old Republic. That might help.
 
2013-01-14 11:26:50 PM  
He could call it Seven Star Man of War
 
2013-01-14 11:29:09 PM  

Fish in a Barrel: I've seen The Hidden Fortress. I don't really see the threads of inspiration between it and Star Wars.


Let's see from memory...

Rescued princess.
Two vagabond sidekicks.
Wizened mentor warrior.
Bratty farmer's kid.
Going from trap set-piece to trap set-piece to trap set-piece.
 
2013-01-14 11:29:17 PM  
The Seven Gungans.
 
2013-01-14 11:29:34 PM  
I'm curious to see how they manage this, most people aren't very extended universe familiar, myself included. Probably 80% of what I know about Star Wars comes from the 3 (fine, 6...) movies and a christmas special.

The video games have been hit and miss. The most successful ones seem to revolve around playing Jedis.

But I did see a trailer for Star Wars 1313 and it actually looked good.
 
2013-01-14 11:30:42 PM  

Fish in a Barrel: I've seen The Hidden Fortress. I don't really see the threads of inspiration between it and Star Wars.


R-2,C3PO and Leia are equivalent to the main characters of Hidden Fortress -- kind of a basis for the story, but then it takes off in a whole different direction. I don't think there was an exact counterpart to Minfune's character by the time they were done.
 
2013-01-14 11:31:09 PM  
Thank farking God. Zach Snyder needs to DIAF.
 
2013-01-14 11:34:44 PM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: I'm curious to see how they manage this, most people aren't very extended universe familiar,


I think they're ignoring the EU,
 
2013-01-14 11:37:01 PM  

Mugato: think they're ignoring the EU,


I guess what I mean is most people like lightsabers & jedis and since Luke was the only one left, I'm curious what they'll do.
 
2013-01-14 11:39:24 PM  
Weren't C3PO and R2D2 originally modeled after two characters from Kurosawa's "Throne of Blood?"
 
2013-01-14 11:40:56 PM  
This is not happening...so don't worry.
 
2013-01-14 11:41:52 PM  
Shut up and take my money
 
2013-01-14 11:42:04 PM  

Fish in a Barrel: I've seen The Hidden Fortress. I don't really see the threads of inspiration between it and Star Wars.


There were a couple direct direct "homages"  The opening shot C3P0, R2D2 on Tatoonie is direct take off on the two comedic side kicks leaving the battlefield.

Actually The Phantom Menace had more in common with Hidden Fortress plot wise.
 
2013-01-14 11:43:13 PM  

Mugato: Looking forward to the slo-mo/speed-up/slo-mo Jedi.

/Lucas is going to look downright tasteful by the time Disney gets through with the property


Fano's Maxim "No matter how bad you think things are, they can always get worse."

Proof: The Highlander Series. QED.
 
2013-01-14 11:44:56 PM  
IMHO, if Hugo Chaves and Fidel Castro teamed up to make another Star Wars, it would be better then what we've seen so far.
 
2013-01-14 11:46:20 PM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: I'm curious to see how they manage this, most people aren't very extended universe familiar, myself included. Probably 80% of what I know about Star Wars comes from the 3 (fine, 6...) movies and a christmas special.

The video games have been hit and miss. The most successful ones seem to revolve around playing Jedis.

But I did see a trailer for Star Wars 1313 and it actually looked good.


I'm pretty sure you weren't a Jedi in X-Wing or Tie Fighter
 
2013-01-14 11:48:03 PM  
His rep is already saying that there is no truth to this rumor.
 
2013-01-14 11:49:27 PM  
You mean "director of Sucker Punch", don't you?

I'm concerned.
 
2013-01-14 11:51:07 PM  
So it'll turn out to be....Star Wars.

It was Samurai's in space anyway.
 
2013-01-14 11:53:28 PM  

Fano: Spanky_McFarksalot: I'm curious to see how they manage this, most people aren't very extended universe familiar, myself included. Probably 80% of what I know about Star Wars comes from the 3 (fine, 6...) movies and a christmas special.

The video games have been hit and miss. The most successful ones seem to revolve around playing Jedis.

But I did see a trailer for Star Wars 1313 and it actually looked good.

I'm pretty sure you weren't a Jedi in X-Wing or Tie Fighter


The Jedi actually kinda suck in the SW Battlefront games, but those were some of the best run n shoot titles for the PSP/PS2, Star Wars or not
 
2013-01-14 11:53:45 PM  
 
2013-01-15 12:00:08 AM  
In other news, David Cronenberg is in talks to do a one-off LOTR film based on Serial Experiments Lain.
 
2013-01-15 12:00:22 AM  

Fano: I'm pretty sure you weren't a Jedi in X-Wing or Tie Fighter


no, but you did have to go back a decade to find some. Just sayin.
 
2013-01-15 12:04:51 AM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: Mugato: think they're ignoring the EU,

I guess what I mean is most people like lightsabers & jedis and since Luke was the only one left, I'm curious what they'll do.


Luke creates the New Jedi Order in the extended universe. Force sensitive people are still around just waiting to be trained as Jedi.
 
2013-01-15 12:07:21 AM  
i.crackedcdn.com

From Cracked's 20 Prequels too awesome to exist
/Make it happen, Hollywood
 
2013-01-15 12:10:17 AM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: Fano: I'm pretty sure you weren't a Jedi in X-Wing or Tie Fighter

no, but you did have to go back a decade to find some. Just sayin.


Yes, because you were talking about good Star Wars games. .~
 
2013-01-15 12:13:54 AM  
alright, since this article has something to do with the clone wars series I just wanted to ask if anyone knew where you could find the cartoon animated series of it not this cgi bs that appears to be the only thing I can find.
 
2013-01-15 12:23:08 AM  
It's been dead for a long time, you know. Let's have the decency to sign the death certificate and move on to something with a future. And by that I don't mean any more zombies, time-travelling wish fantasies or tracking down some "terrorist" who like as not never existed in the first place.
 
2013-01-15 12:23:44 AM  
Well, Toshiro Mifune was offered the role of Obi Wan...

// and Darth Vader
// seriously, look it up
 
2013-01-15 12:24:54 AM  
(and of course I look down the entertainment tab and that's been greened.)
 
2013-01-15 12:26:20 AM  

Strongbeerrules: And by that I don't mean any more zombies


a star wars zombie game would be awsome
 
2013-01-15 12:26:50 AM  
1.bp.blogspot.com

It's been done.
 
2013-01-15 12:37:28 AM  
Timothy Zahn's "Heir to the Empire" trilogy revitalized the franchise in the early 90s. Personally I think It's one of the best series and a great source of material for any screenwriters.

DO IT.
 
2013-01-15 12:38:30 AM  

DanZero: [1.bp.blogspot.com image 600x884]

It's been done.


Oh the huge mammaries!

Anyone else think that?
 
2013-01-15 12:45:04 AM  
IMDB says bullshiat
Link
 
2013-01-15 12:50:51 AM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: Strongbeerrules: And by that I don't mean any more zombies

a star wars zombie game would be awsome


moviesblog.mtv.com
There's already a book
 
2013-01-15 12:52:04 AM  

Brainsick: /Make it happen, Hollywood


Do it as an animation, so you could use the voices without having to use the tired actors, and I go into "Shut up and take my money" mode.

Fano: Spanky_McFarksalot: Fano: I'm pretty sure you weren't a Jedi in X-Wing or Tie Fighter

no, but you did have to go back a decade to find some. Just sayin.

Yes, because you were talking about good Star Wars games. .~


You know how I know you guys didn't play Empire at War?

i830.photobucket.com

You'd probably have remembered using the Executor as a playable unit. But it came out in 2006, so I guess it doesn't count as a "recent" enough game.

/see also: LEGO Star Wars (2005-2011), KoToR (2003-2005), and Battlefront (2004-2005)
 
2013-01-15 12:54:29 AM  

DanZero: [1.bp.blogspot.com image 600x884]

It's been done.


does that space ship have breasts?
 
2013-01-15 12:58:29 AM  

Duke Skymocker: Timothy Zahn's "Heir to the Empire" trilogy revitalized the franchise in the early 90s. Personally I think It's one of the best series and a great source of material for any screenwriters.

DO IT.


No farking EU shiat. Come up with new shiat.
 
2013-01-15 12:59:11 AM  

Hertzfeld: DanZero: [1.bp.blogspot.com image 600x884]

It's been done.

Oh the huge mammaries!

Anyone else think that?


Not until now.

Wait...now I see a uterus with testicles.

And the thing next to Richard Thomas looks like an ape that got its jimmies rustled.
 
2013-01-15 12:59:29 AM  
Already debunked:

http://insidemovies.ew.com/2013/01/14/zack-snyder-star-wars/
 
2013-01-15 01:12:56 AM  

grinding_journalist: Brainsick: /Make it happen, Hollywood

Do it as an animation, so you could use the voices without having to use the tired actors, and I go into "Shut up and take my money" mode.

Fano: Spanky_McFarksalot: Fano: I'm pretty sure you weren't a Jedi in X-Wing or Tie Fighter

no, but you did have to go back a decade to find some. Just sayin.

Yes, because you were talking about good Star Wars games. .~

You know how I know you guys didn't play Empire at War?

[i830.photobucket.com image 430x323]

You'd probably have remembered using the Executor as a playable unit. But it came out in 2006, so I guess it doesn't count as a "recent" enough game.

/see also: LEGO Star Wars (2005-2011), KoToR (2003-2005), and Battlefront (2004-2005)


I liked all of those. I was just trying to take the piss out of the idea that being a Jedi is the be-all end-all of Star Wars game.
 
2013-01-15 01:16:49 AM  

grinding_journalist: You know how I know you guys didn't play Empire at War?


is that game still around? Figured most people would move over to old republic where they could play jedis
 
2013-01-15 01:25:34 AM  
Brainsick: The Jedi actually kinda suck in the SW Battlefront games, but those were some of the best run n shoot titles for the PSP/PS2, Star Wars or not

This, this, THIS.

It was so easy to get caught up in the power rush. You were so busy trying to find which button TK-slammed the enemy troops into a wall, that you forgot you still had to block occasionally.

That and the hamfisted attempt at starship combat were what made BF2 so disappointing for me. Still have the first one, though. No FPS game has managed to create a situation that's quite as fun as sniping stormtroopers at the docks on Kashyyyk.
 
2013-01-15 01:27:44 AM  

Spaced Lion: Brainsick: The Jedi actually kinda suck in the SW Battlefront games, but those were some of the best run n shoot titles for the PSP/PS2, Star Wars or not

This, this, THIS.

It was so easy to get caught up in the power rush. You were so busy trying to find which button TK-slammed the enemy troops into a wall, that you forgot you still had to block occasionally.

That and the hamfisted attempt at starship combat were what made BF2 so disappointing for me. Still have the first one, though. No FPS game has managed to create a situation that's quite as fun as sniping stormtroopers at the docks on Kashyyyk.


...And this is, newbs, is why Preview is your friend. (I swear I didn't notice those "b" tags)
 
2013-01-15 01:27:45 AM  
The Magnificent 7edi. A Fistful of Jedi. The Jedi Dozen. The Good, the Bad and the Jedi. For a Few Jedi More. Von Jedi's Express. The Manchurian Jedi. On Her Majesty's Secret Jedi. Octojedi. Jedi of Arabia.

/Oh, wait, this is Disney. Cinderjedi. Jedi Poppins. Herbie the Love Jedi.
 
2013-01-15 01:35:38 AM  
Do the mod-mins stop to verify if a story is actually true before green lighting it? (Rhetorical question.)

I saw the debunking for this several hours ago: it was on the Entertainment tab of Huffington Post. If those codgers have more up-to-date geek news than Fark, we're in trouble.
 
2013-01-15 01:39:07 AM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: The video games have been hit and miss. The most successful ones seem to revolve around playing Jedis flying X-Wings.

ftfy
 
2013-01-15 01:39:36 AM  
Although this has been debunked, I am interested in seeing what Disney does with the franchise. The Star Wars universe is big, and supposedly giving some one-off projects to good producers/directors is part of what Disney is planning to do with it. I think it's smart, and it would give some great creative people a pretty awesome sandbox to play in, without worrying about farking-up anything from the first 6 movies.
 
2013-01-15 01:43:49 AM  
Ignoring that it has been debunked, I don't get the hate on the idea. I can see issues with Snyder being involved, but I don't see an issue with putting a "Seven Samurai" based plot into the Star Wars universe.

They could either play it straight up with Jedi (they are basically just space samurai after all) or go the gunslinger route (as in "The Magnificent Seven") with smugglers and such. Or, more likely, some combination such as with the old war-weary leader and his young inexperienced follower as Jedi and the others as gunslingers. Then you add some conflict between the Jedi leader and the gunslingers with different ways of doing things.

Sure it could be done poorly, just as any story can. But if well made it would definitely fit well in the Universe and could make a great stand alone story. I don't see it translating well into the main series, though, the main characters are going to be too important in the New Republic.
 
2013-01-15 02:05:05 AM  
Does anyone remember that before star wars that science fiction movies were largely used to explore the potential of the human condition? anyone? thx1138? silent running? clockwork orange? bueller!!?!?

but no, now explosions and kid's toy tie-ins. woo woo woo.
 
2013-01-15 02:13:41 AM  

Omahawg: Does anyone remember that before star wars that science fiction movies were largely used to explore the potential of the human condition? anyone? thx1138? silent running? clockwork orange? bueller!!?!?

but no, now explosions and kid's toy tie-ins. woo woo woo.


We still have that. District 9 is a recent example. Regardless, a film like The Empire Strikes Back is still pretty smart and human. Not on the level of THX 1138, but it has substance.
 
2013-01-15 02:16:04 AM  

Omahawg: Does anyone remember that before star wars that science fiction movies were largely used to explore the potential of the human condition? anyone? thx1138? silent running? clockwork orange? bueller!!?!?

but no, now explosions and kid's toy tie-ins. woo woo woo.


Sci-Fi has always went from fun to serious.  Flash Gordon was no The Day The Earth Stood Still.

But there have been some great sci fi movies, like Moon, District 9, Gattaca, Minority Report, Blade Runner
 
2013-01-15 02:24:57 AM  

DanZero: [1.bp.blogspot.com image 600x884]

It's been done.


Very nice! I was going to post that thinking no one would have thought of the 1980 Battle Beyond the Stars but me. I'm glad to see I'm in good company.
 
2013-01-15 02:28:09 AM  
Wasn't one of the Genndy Tartakovsky Clone Wars episodes based on that?

/That series was probably the best Star Wars related thing to happen in the past 30 years.
//Too bad Lucas noticed and promptly bastardized it into that 3D animation bullshiat that you see now.
 
2013-01-15 02:35:50 AM  
They did a Seven Samurai pastiche on The Clone Wars in season 2, even had a "In Memory of Akira Kurosawa" card at the start of the episode. It was a pretty slick episode.
 
2013-01-15 02:37:10 AM  

Aboleth: They did a Seven Samurai pastiche on The Clone Wars in season 2, even had a "In Memory of Akira Kurosawa" card at the start of the episode. It was a pretty slick episode.


... wrote the guy who should have RTFA.
 
2013-01-15 02:54:43 AM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: is that game still around? Figured most people would move over to old republic where they could play jedis


Empire at War is an RTS. The first SW MMO was Star Wars: Galaxies. The two are nothing alike.
 
2013-01-15 03:16:24 AM  
I like how the update at the end completely obliterates everything in the article.
 
2013-01-15 03:25:53 AM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: I'm curious to see how they manage this, most people aren't very extended universe familiar, myself included. Probably 80% of what I know about Star Wars comes from the 3 (fine, 6...) movies and a christmas special.

The video games have been hit and miss. The most successful ones seem to revolve around playing Jedis.

But I did see a trailer for Star Wars 1313 and it actually looked good.


OK, I'm sure this has already been covered (haven't read the rest of the thread yet) - BUT THAT DOESN'T COUNT!

/ Never happened.
 
2013-01-15 04:32:58 AM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: I'm curious to see how they manage this, most people aren't very extended universe familiar, myself included. Probably 80% of what I know about Star Wars comes from the 3 (fine, 6...) movies and a christmas special.

The video games have been hit and miss. The most successful ones seem to revolve around playing Jedis.

But I did see a trailer for Star Wars 1313 and it actually looked good.


It looks almost exactly like Rebel Assault. Bizarre
 
2013-01-15 05:57:12 AM  
Already been done in the old Marvel Comics....Let me see if I can remember the line up...
Han and Chewie, a giant green rabbit, a giant porcupine guy, a crazy old jedi wannabe, a farm boy and his droid, and a space version of Mae West....
 
2013-01-15 07:22:16 AM  

goatleggedfellow: Hertzfeld: DanZero: [1.bp.blogspot.com image 600x884]

It's been done.

Oh the huge mammaries!

Anyone else think that?

Not until now.

Wait...now I see a uterus with testicles.

And the thing next to Richard Thomas looks like an ape that got its jimmies rustled.


However, Sybil Danning was....boobalicious. Horrid movie but good for laughs.
 
2013-01-15 07:24:37 AM  
i96.photobucket.com

or

i26.photobucket.com
 
2013-01-15 07:27:16 AM  

Brainsick: [i.crackedcdn.com image 395x496]

From Cracked's 20 Prequels too awesome to exist
/Make it happen, Hollywood


Clicked your link, want to see The Vega Brothers.
 
2013-01-15 07:38:56 AM  
Omg that headline made me laugh hard
 
2013-01-15 07:44:58 AM  

Brainsick: Spanky_McFarksalot: Strongbeerrules: And by that I don't mean any more zombies

a star wars zombie game would be awsome

[moviesblog.mtv.com image 150x229]
There's already a book


Of course there is....
 
2013-01-15 07:51:41 AM  
UPDATED: To be fair, Borys Kit is now reporting that Snyder's camp denies any involvement with "Star Wars" and says, without qualification, that Snyder is not developing the movie that Vulture wrote about this morning.

what a surprise...

the usual fail, followed by "fantard hypothesis" fail..

/nathan fillianz rainbow
 
2013-01-15 08:12:16 AM  

SubBass49: I love showing Yojimbo in my art classes, and then showing Fistful of Dollars later on...it's awesome when the realization creeps over their faces.


I thought that was common knowledge?
 
2013-01-15 08:33:54 AM  
I have no opinion on this....stupid headline meme is hella amazeballs redonkulous.
 
2013-01-15 08:52:35 AM  

spawn73: SubBass49: I love showing Yojimbo in my art classes, and then showing Fistful of Dollars later on...it's awesome when the realization creeps over their faces.

I thought that was common knowledge?


Not among high school kids in the hood...unless they've had my class, of course.
 
2013-01-15 09:13:15 AM  

Brainsick: [i.crackedcdn.com image 395x496]

From Cracked's 20 Prequels too awesome to exist
/Make it happen, Hollywood


Bullshiat.

It does exist.

img2.timeinc.net
 
2013-01-15 10:33:51 AM  

Duke Skymocker: Timothy Zahn's "Heir to the Empire" trilogy revitalized the franchise in the early 90s. Personally I think It's one of the best series and a great source of material for any screenwriters.

DO IT.


Yeah! Furry worms that absorb the Force rule! But how are they going to express clones wiith extra voweels in theeeir naames in spoken form?
 
2013-01-15 12:17:06 PM  
For someone who's never read any of the books...which should I start with?
 
2013-01-15 12:33:06 PM  

Omahawg: Does anyone remember that before star wars that science fiction movies were largely used to explore the potential of the human condition? anyone? thx1138? silent running? clockwork orange? bueller!!?!?

but no, now explosions and kid's toy tie-ins. woo woo woo.


Moon.
 
2013-01-15 12:53:12 PM  

SubBass49: spawn73: SubBass49: I love showing Yojimbo in my art classes, and then showing Fistful of Dollars later on...it's awesome when the realization creeps over their faces.

I thought that was common knowledge?

Not among high school kids in the hood...unless they've had my class, of course.


If you want to really blow their mind, you should then screen Bruce Willi's Last Man Standing, to complete the trifecta.
 
2013-01-15 02:00:34 PM  

Spanky_McFarksalot: Mugato: think they're ignoring the EU,

I guess what I mean is most people like lightsabers & jedis and since Luke was the only one left, I'm curious what they'll do.


They really didn't do much in the way of lightsabers in the original trilogy. What, four scenes and a total of less than 20 minutes over 6+ hours of movies?
 
2013-01-15 02:05:00 PM  

Brainsick: [i.crackedcdn.com image 395x496]

From Cracked's 20 Prequels too awesome to exist
/Make it happen, Hollywood


Yeah. THAT would be super awesome. You just need to find someone with the charm of Billy D Williams and Harrison Ford.
 
2013-01-15 02:05:50 PM  

T.rex: SubBass49: spawn73: SubBass49: I love showing Yojimbo in my art classes, and then showing Fistful of Dollars later on...it's awesome when the realization creeps over their faces.

I thought that was common knowledge?

Not among high school kids in the hood...unless they've had my class, of course.

If you want to really blow their mind, you should then screen Bruce Willi's Last Man Standing, to complete the trifecta.


Has there ever been a movie to spawn more near-remakes than Yojimbo?
 
2013-01-15 02:10:08 PM  

Omahawg: Does anyone remember that before star wars that science fiction movies were largely used to explore the potential of the human condition? anyone? thx1138? silent running? clockwork orange? bueller!!?!?

but no, now explosions and kid's toy tie-ins. woo woo woo.


District 9, I am Legend, Moon, Children of Men, Minority Report, Eternal Sunshine?
 
2013-01-15 02:30:39 PM  

meanmutton: Omahawg: Does anyone remember that before star wars that science fiction movies were largely used to explore the potential of the human condition? anyone? thx1138? silent running? clockwork orange? bueller!!?!?


You've never seen any sci-fi movies before "2001" apparently.

No one said Star Wars was pure sci-fi anyway. Everything has to be farking categorized.
 
2013-01-15 03:18:55 PM  

T.rex: SubBass49: spawn73: SubBass49: I love showing Yojimbo in my art classes, and then showing Fistful of Dollars later on...it's awesome when the realization creeps over their faces.

I thought that was common knowledge?

Not among high school kids in the hood...unless they've had my class, of course.

If you want to really blow their mind, you should then screen Bruce Willi's Last Man Standing, to complete the trifecta.


Totally want to, but the "R" rating has me afraid to end up on a GOP hit-list or something. They already hate teachers...I don't want to push my luck!
 
2013-01-15 03:52:05 PM  

Mugato: meanmutton: Omahawg: Does anyone remember that before star wars that science fiction movies were largely used to explore the potential of the human condition? anyone? thx1138? silent running? clockwork orange? bueller!!?!?

You've never seen any sci-fi movies before "2001" apparently.

No one said Star Wars was pure sci-fi anyway. Everything has to be farking categorized.


Well, when someone says that Sci-Fi movies *now* are all explosions and toy tie-ins, I assume they're talking about movies from the last 10 years or so.

But, in case you need examples from the 80s or 90s:

From the 90s, you had Contact, Truman Show, Edward Scissorhands, Gattaca, Dark City,
From the 80s, you had Tron, The Abyss, ET, Blade Runner
 
2013-01-15 04:17:06 PM  
and the 2000+

A.I. Artificial Intelligence
A Scanner Darkly
Sunshine
I'd even count Looper
 
2013-01-15 07:33:27 PM  

meanmutton: Brainsick: [i.crackedcdn.com image 395x496]

From Cracked's 20 Prequels too awesome to exist
/Make it happen, Hollywood

Yeah. THAT would be super awesome. You just need to find someone with the charm of Billy D Williams and Harrison Ford.


Hmmm...
 
2013-01-16 12:23:59 AM  

meanmutton: Well, when someone says that Sci-Fi movies *now* are all explosions and toy tie-ins, I assume they're talking about movies from the last 10 years or so.


Whoever said that... just isn't looking. Sorry.

Moon
The Man from Earth
Inception
District 9

All for example, anyway. I can come up with more.
 
Displayed 95 of 95 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter








In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report