Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Amazon)   In the tradition of great Amazon reviews - the $1,494.75 AudioQuest Diamond 2m Braided HDMI Cable   (amazon.com) divider line 93
    More: Fail, AudioQuest Diamond 2m, HDMI, Amazon  
•       •       •

11933 clicks; posted to Geek » on 13 Jan 2013 at 1:51 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



93 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-01-13 01:56:19 PM  
The reviews are so much win!
 
2013-01-13 01:57:57 PM  
Total BS.

HDMI is simple digital, and v1.3 has no trouble transferring data at speeds adequate for any currently used standard application.

This ain't your daddy's analog anymore, where the quality of the pipeline really did matter.
 
2013-01-13 02:01:10 PM  

bemused outsider: Total BS.

HDMI is simple digital, and v1.3 has no trouble transferring data at speeds adequate for any currently used standard application.

This ain't your daddy's analog anymore, where the quality of the pipeline really did matter.


And that's why the reviews are so hilarious. Anyone who pays more than 15 $ for such a cable is in some sort of emergency or really gullible.
 
2013-01-13 02:02:04 PM  
The funniest part is where someone actually came forward as a Best Buy employee and obliviously tried to correct one of the snarky reviews.
 
2013-01-13 02:04:16 PM  
60 pound wheel of cheese. Priceless.
 
2013-01-13 02:04:22 PM  
Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed
Sharp, Provolone Piccante Cheese (Whole Wheel) Approximately 60 Lbs

Yup, how would a wheel of cheese be related with this...
 
2013-01-13 02:05:36 PM  

bemused outsider: Total BS.

HDMI is simple digital, and v1.3 has no trouble transferring data at speeds adequate for any currently used standard application.

This ain't your daddy's analog anymore, where the quality of the pipeline really did matter.


Hell, even if you want to be on the safe side, like I did when I upgraded to a new 8000 series Samsung 3D HDTV last year, you can get some very nice quality Amazon Basics cables with v1.4 and Ethernet for $6 each.
 
2013-01-13 02:05:43 PM  

Mokmo: bemused outsider: Total BS.

HDMI is simple digital, and v1.3 has no trouble transferring data at speeds adequate for any currently used standard application.

This ain't your daddy's analog anymore, where the quality of the pipeline really did matter.

And that's why the reviews are so hilarious. Anyone who pays more than 15 $ for such a cable is in some sort of emergency or really gullible.



...Having spent $14 for a HDMI cable at Walmart today, now I feel bad....
 
2013-01-13 02:06:09 PM  
Sadly, the legitimate audiophile approach gets swamped out by nonsense like this. Unfortunately, the legitimate audiophile approach is very simple: a large room, large efficient speakers, correct materials and placement. That's it. No amount of cables, digital/analog, tube/transistor crap will make up for low efficiency 6 inch woofers in ported enclosures badly placed in a resonant room. That room you go to that demos speakers? With the red brick walls, thickly carpeted floor and acoustic treatments in the corners and walls (that you can make yourself and last for the ages)? No one seems to want that at home.
 
2013-01-13 02:06:24 PM  

Mokmo: Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed
Sharp, Provolone Piccante Cheese (Whole Wheel) Approximately 60 Lbs

Yup, how would a wheel of cheese be related with this...


There is a comment about that if you keep reading.
 
2013-01-13 02:09:23 PM  
Just lovin' some of those feedback comments...
 
2013-01-13 02:21:51 PM  

AtlanticCoast63: Mokmo: bemused outsider: Total BS.

HDMI is simple digital, and v1.3 has no trouble transferring data at speeds adequate for any currently used standard application.

This ain't your daddy's analog anymore, where the quality of the pipeline really did matter.

And that's why the reviews are so hilarious. Anyone who pays more than 15 $ for such a cable is in some sort of emergency or really gullible.


...Having spent $14 for a HDMI cable at Walmart today, now I feel bad....


Well, 14 is less than 15 ...
 
2013-01-13 02:27:47 PM  
There are some real winners there:

I'd been searching high and low for a 6.56 feet HDMI cable. There are times when 6.5 feet is too short and 6.6 feet is just WAY too long. The AudioQuest cable seemed to be an absolute steal for a cable that met my exact needs. I'm not at all pleased with the quality, though. I tried to tow my mother's Pontiac Aztec out of a ditch with this cable, and it snapped immediately. I'm sorry, but I really expected greater tensile strength.

I love this cable. Crystal clear audio and video. My only problem was that the instruction manual was very vague and misguiding. Long story short, I got it stuck in my urethra.

Low Jitter, Low Distortion Audio? For this price, you'd think they could at least accomplish NO DISTORTION! I watch "The Fresh Prince Of Bel Air" and Carlton sounds like a Sleestack with Tuberculosis. Next time, I'll just wire the RCA audio outputs on my TV into my Karaoke machine, and at least I can sing along with Daughtry! Confounded!
 
2013-01-13 02:30:10 PM  
Monoprice.com for the win.
 
2013-01-13 02:30:49 PM  
FTFA: "I once almost bought a cubic zirconia cable, but remember the two main differences: the white diamond HDMI cable should refract white light as shades of gray; and the cubic zirconia cables are not brought to you by African warlords. Support your local warlord, only buy real diamonds."

Ok, that's some funny shiat right there
 
2013-01-13 02:31:26 PM  

Mokmo: Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed
Sharp, Provolone Piccante Cheese (Whole Wheel) Approximately 60 Lbs

Yup, how would a wheel of cheese be related with this...


Read some of the reviews.
 
2013-01-13 02:36:08 PM  
I'm sitting at work, bored, and reading these reviews and I think I'm scaring people because I'm laughing so hard I'm crying. So much win.
 
2013-01-13 02:36:47 PM  
I still think anyone who actually buys those cables is *less* stupid than someone who buys Monster cables.
 
2013-01-13 02:43:38 PM  
Monster's old analog's were a real improvement when they first came out.
...then they went over the top a wee bit.


Confessions from a guy with silver/copper blend speaker cables at $20/ft, and $80 silver RCA pre-amp to power-amp interconnects in a "large" system...
 
2013-01-13 02:46:18 PM  
This is my favorite:

This cable allowed my TV to display a new color that doesn't even have a name yet. This is actually the cable that Seal Team 6 used to capture Osama Bin Laden, and if it is good enough for the Navy Seals, it is good enough for you.
 
2013-01-13 02:48:09 PM  
The last HDMI cables I purchased the shipping cost was more than the cables. Yeah, I paid over a grand for shipping because gold isn't light.
 
2013-01-13 02:48:38 PM  

bemused outsider: Monster's old analog's were a real improvement when they first came out.
...then they went over the top a wee bit.


Confessions from a guy with silver/copper blend speaker cables at $20/ft, and $80 silver RCA pre-amp to power-amp interconnects in a "large" system...


You got hosed.

Confession from a former A/V salesperson.
 
2013-01-13 02:50:37 PM  

insano: This is my favorite:

This cable allowed my TV to display a new color that doesn't even have a name yet. This is actually the cable that Seal Team 6 used to capture Osama Bin Laden, and if it is good enough for the Navy Seals, it is good enough for you.


Cancel that, this is my new favorite:

I love this cable. Crystal clear audio and video. My only problem was that the instruction manual was very vague and misguiding. Long story short, I got it stuck in my urethra.
 
2013-01-13 02:51:36 PM  
But I tells ya, I can hear the difference !!
 
2013-01-13 03:01:45 PM  

Mokmo: bemused outsider: Total BS.

HDMI is simple digital, and v1.3 has no trouble transferring data at speeds adequate for any currently used standard application.

This ain't your daddy's analog anymore, where the quality of the pipeline really did matter.

And that's why the reviews are so hilarious. Anyone who pays more than 15 $ for such a cable is in some sort of emergency or really gullible.


While not an 'emergency' as such, I wanted cabled today rather than in a week (and fark you I'm not paying for Amazon prime stop selling me), so I went to target and payed 15-20$ for a 6' cable. Wasn't too much of a ripoff, and I got the immediate satisfaction of being able to use my cable.
 
2013-01-13 03:10:25 PM  
Good, still this has to be my favorite Amazon review thread ever: How to Avoid Huge Ships
 
2013-01-13 03:17:30 PM  
This $39,000 speaker cable has that beat.
 
2013-01-13 03:18:06 PM  
 
2013-01-13 03:18:20 PM  

mcmnky: There are some real winners there:

I love this cable. Crystal clear audio and video. My only problem was that the instruction manual was very vague and misguiding. Long story short, I got it stuck in my urethra.



Can't stop laughing.
 
2013-01-13 03:22:13 PM  

kroonermanblack: Mokmo: bemused outsider: Total BS.

HDMI is simple digital, and v1.3 has no trouble transferring data at speeds adequate for any currently used standard application.

This ain't your daddy's analog anymore, where the quality of the pipeline really did matter.

And that's why the reviews are so hilarious. Anyone who pays more than 15 $ for such a cable is in some sort of emergency or really gullible.

While not an 'emergency' as such, I wanted cabled today rather than in a week (and fark you I'm not paying for Amazon prime stop selling me), so I went to target and payed 15-20$ for a 6' cable. Wasn't too much of a ripoff, and I got the immediate satisfaction of being able to use my cable.


I bought a Yamaha YMC-500 from Newegg on special, to replace my old Yamaha TSS-1. Only after pulling it out of the box did I realize that it had to be connected to a display via an HDMI cable to set it up. So I went to Best Buy, and paid too much for one. And then felt even more dumb after realizing that the nearby Wal Mart also has HDMI cables, and at a significantly lower price. I wish Newegg had listed an HDMI cable as a recommended purchase.
 
2013-01-13 03:28:27 PM  

pueblonative: Good, still this has to be my favorite Amazon review thread ever: How to Avoid Huge Ships


i240.photobucket.com
 
2013-01-13 03:53:05 PM  

styckx: Er, $39,000 speaker cable

"In addition, six solid metal pucks come with the cable to de-couple them from the floor and prevent micro vibrations from diminishing its performance - nice touch."


I need to get in on this racket.
 
2013-01-13 04:01:42 PM  
At fifteeen hundred dollars I expect more than six farking feet. ten at least. jesus
 
2013-01-13 04:03:34 PM  
Don't forget to pick up some Boy Butter, or the Amazon suggested combo: Boy Butter & enema bulb!

3 of the 5 reviews are from verified purchasers...
 
2013-01-13 04:10:25 PM  
There are some things you really don't want to buy used.

i.imgur.com
 
2013-01-13 04:11:17 PM  
i158.photobucket.com

Obligatory.
 
2013-01-13 04:21:10 PM  
I got it stuck in my urethra.

Farking beautiful....
 
2013-01-13 04:22:26 PM  
i3.kym-cdn.com
 
2013-01-13 04:29:44 PM  
Appropriate comment for any review: "Is it safe?"
 
2013-01-13 04:30:17 PM  
I like this guy's review, but then again I've always been more into Cronenberg:

When I opened my eyes, I was stunned speechless by the breathtaking clarity; 1080P had transformed into what seemed to be a gateway into something never before imaginable; infinite black, infinite color, and infinite picture. As I watched my own life pass before my eyes, I felt that the cable itself was judging me. I lost track of where the TV began and I ended.
 
2013-01-13 04:45:02 PM  

China White Tea: styckx: Er, $39,000 speaker cable

"In addition, six solid metal pucks come with the cable to de-couple them from the floor and prevent micro vibrations from diminishing its performance - nice touch."

I need to get in on this racket.


Seriously.. And apparently people fall for this shiat..
 
2013-01-13 04:49:02 PM  

rf134a: Don't forget to pick up some Boy Butter, or the Amazon suggested combo: Boy Butter & enema bulb!

3 of the 5 reviews are from verified purchasers...


Great, now "Boy Butter" is permalinked to my amazon viewing history.
 
2013-01-13 04:51:34 PM  
Even back in the day of analog, those high priced cables needed sophisticated monitoring equipment to even measure the slight difference they made, but in this day and age, this is just ignorant.
 
2013-01-13 05:01:39 PM  

Any Pie Left: Monoprice.com for the win.


I used to get cables there, now I buy them on eBay for half of their price, and usually free shipping.
 
2013-01-13 05:10:39 PM  
Do they accept VISA?

www.lolbrary.com
 
2013-01-13 05:13:54 PM  

styckx: Er, $39,000 speaker cable

That review.
 
2013-01-13 05:30:56 PM  

pueblonative: Good, still this has to be my favorite Amazon review thread ever: How to Avoid Huge Ships


i.imgur.com

This book was too informative. I read this book before going on vacation and I couldn't find my cruise liner in the port. Vacation ruined.
 
2013-01-13 05:59:29 PM  

daddydrinksbecauseyoucry: rf134a: Don't forget to pick up some Boy Butter, or the Amazon suggested combo: Boy Butter & enema bulb!

3 of the 5 reviews are from verified purchasers...

Great, now "Boy Butter" is permalinked to my amazon viewing history.


Amazon lets you change your viewing history - follow this link
 
2013-01-13 06:00:51 PM  
And now I see ads for this cable on any site that has google-based ads. Thanks, subby.
 
2013-01-13 06:02:23 PM  

HighZoolander: Amazon lets you change your viewing history - follow this link


Rich Cream: And now I see ads for this


:D
 
2013-01-13 06:36:32 PM  

HighZoolander: daddydrinksbecauseyoucry: rf134a: Don't forget to pick up some Boy Butter, or the Amazon suggested combo: Boy Butter & enema bulb!

3 of the 5 reviews are from verified purchasers...

Great, now "Boy Butter" is permalinked to my amazon viewing history.

Amazon lets you change your viewing history - follow this link


Yeah, not falling for that one. My suggested items are interesting enough already.
 
2013-01-13 06:40:51 PM  

EngineerAU: There are some things you really don't want to buy used.

[i.imgur.com image 720x536]


Especially when you are only saving 41 cents, if it was a couple of dollars cheaper, then maybe.
/I wonder if you can get second hand stuff in the food/drink categories?
 
2013-01-13 06:48:18 PM  
I like the fact that in the "After viewing this product, people bought:" list is a $3.99 HDMI cable.
 
2013-01-13 07:09:51 PM  

daddydrinksbecauseyoucry: HighZoolander: daddydrinksbecauseyoucry: rf134a: Don't forget to pick up some Boy Butter, or the Amazon suggested combo: Boy Butter & enema bulb!

3 of the 5 reviews are from verified purchasers...

Great, now "Boy Butter" is permalinked to my amazon viewing history.

Amazon lets you change your viewing history - follow this link

Yeah, not falling for that one. My suggested items are interesting enough already.


well, it was worth a shot :)

(and I held back even from the most nsfw items...)
 
2013-01-13 07:12:50 PM  
forgot to add - you really can edit your browsing history on Amazon to remove things.
 
2013-01-13 07:12:54 PM  
OMFG so much win in those reviews
 
2013-01-13 07:31:51 PM  

HighZoolander: daddydrinksbecauseyoucry: rf134a: Don't forget to pick up some Boy Butter, or the Amazon suggested combo: Boy Butter & enema bulb!

3 of the 5 reviews are from verified purchasers...

Great, now "Boy Butter" is permalinked to my amazon viewing history.

Amazon lets you change your viewing history - follow this link


Bastard!
 
2013-01-13 07:33:13 PM  

mrlewish: styckx: Er, $39,000 speaker cable
That review.


Yeah. Lets try a blind listening test between the coat hanger and the $39,000 cable and see if it is indistinguishable as the coat hanger vs Monster speaker wire.

As a EE major - Unless you really like blowing money, lamp cord with a polarization stripe is really good speaker wire. Connecting red to red and black to black will beat about half the installations there. Unless you have some of the weird Bose speakers which are colored backwards.

For HDMI cables, your 'sweet spot' is about $10 cables. Too much cheaper and you make get sparklies or the ends may fall off. Any more and you are wasting your money. Generally a few bucks for the ends + $1/foot is about right.
 
2013-01-13 07:38:16 PM  
"Hilarious" Amazon reviews are about as entertaining as Reddit.
 
2013-01-13 08:08:41 PM  
mmm, the spiff on that thing if we had it when i used to work the computer corner at Fry's. and i had a few customers who wouldn't have noticed or cared if it just got tossed in the bundle that they didn't want to bother making themselves.

the best customers at Fry's - 'why aren't the computers and monitors sold together? a special cable for my printer? yes, i want excellent printing! oh, this will protect my computer if the lights go out? throw whatever that thing you're showing me is in the cart! say, do you offer extended warranties on all of this stuff?'

being evil hurts, but it pays well.
 
2013-01-13 08:20:54 PM  

TheGreatGazoo: mrlewish: styckx: Er, $39,000 speaker cable
That review.

Yeah. Lets try a blind listening test between the coat hanger and the $39,000 cable and see if it is indistinguishable as the coat hanger vs Monster speaker wire.

As a EE major - Unless you really like blowing money, lamp cord with a polarization stripe is really good speaker wire. Connecting red to red and black to black will beat about half the installations there. Unless you have some of the weird Bose speakers which are colored backwards.

For HDMI cables, your 'sweet spot' is about $10 cables. Too much cheaper and you make get sparklies or the ends may fall off. Any more and you are wasting your money. Generally a few bucks for the ends + $1/foot is about right.


This is all I've ever used. :-)
 
2013-01-13 08:50:49 PM  

TheGreatGazoo: Unless you have some of the weird Bose speakers which are colored backwards


Bose using black as "hot" is simply a tip of the hat to the high voltage industry that so many of their engineers wish they were a part of.
 
2013-01-13 09:07:08 PM  
I also like the giant wheel of provolone:
My dog Baxter ate the whole wheel of cheese before I could get to it. I'm not mad though. It was kind of amazing. I'll buy another one next paycheck.
 
2013-01-13 09:28:53 PM  
I managed a rent a center at one point in my life. We had to order accessories for all of our electronics in bulk, and I could get hdmi cables for about a dollar. I still have about ten in a box somewhere. I've never noticed anything different with them then I have with the ones that have came with our tv or other devices.
 
2013-01-13 10:06:38 PM  

TheGreatGazoo: Yeah. Lets try a blind listening test between the coat hanger and the $39,000 cable and see if it is indistinguishable as the coat hanger vs Monster speaker wire.


Will the coat hanger be acoustically decoupled from the floor with? Because if not, there's really no reason bothering with the test. Any practiced listener will immediately pick up on micro-vibrations wreaking havoc on the mid-tones and the jig will be up.
 
2013-01-13 10:07:37 PM  

China White Tea: Will the coat hanger be acoustically decoupled from the floor with? Because if not, there's really no reason bothering with the test. Any practiced listener will immediately pick up on micro-vibrations wreaking havoc on the mid-tones and the jig will be up.


ftfm
 
2013-01-13 10:59:37 PM  
csb

Entertainingly enough, the guy who owns Boy Butter shops at my dealership and one of the service writers was complaining about dry skin once. Next thing he new, large anonymous box showed up for him. ON HIS DAY OFF. Needless to say, much entertainment was derived from the strategic placement of Boy Butter products on his desk.

/csb
 
2013-01-13 11:05:19 PM  
I bought this wall mount, and for some odd reason it came with a HDMI cable (plus every bit of hardware you could ever need to install it anywhere). My free HDMI cable works great, glad I didn't spring for the $1500 cable.
 
2013-01-13 11:15:50 PM  

daddydrinksbecauseyoucry: rf134a: Don't forget to pick up some Boy Butter, or the Amazon suggested combo: Boy Butter & enema bulb!

3 of the 5 reviews are from verified purchasers...

Great, now "Boy Butter" is permalinked to my amazon viewing history.


Enjoy the other items you might be interested in suggestions for the next month or so.
 
2013-01-13 11:18:15 PM  
My all time fav may be this one
ecx.images-amazon.com


THIS IS A HOLYSPIRIT MANUSCRIPT BOOK: WHEN YOU BUY THIS BOOK YOU WILL BE READING A HOLYSPIRIT DIRECTED BOOK FROM GOD; & *CHRIST JESUS. THIS BOOK IS GODS HOLYSPIRIT VOICE: THE CALL FOR ALL CHRISTIANS & CHURCHES TO REPENT FROM ALL THEIR SINS: EVEN FROM FALSE CHRIST TEACHINGS. BIRTH CONTROL SINS HAVE CURSE THE CHURCH WITH SPIRITUAL WHOREDOM & FALSE WORSHIP. RESULTING IN THE PERSECUTIONS: AGAINST THE HOLY PEOPLE. THIS BOOK MAY BE REVISED: BECAUSE OF COMPUTER DICTATORS: MANY WORDS IN THIS BOOK: MADE HAVE BEEN CHANGED: TO>>DISCREDIT: THE AUTHOR. BUT IN TRUTH: I AM A HOLYSPIRIT CHOSEN ANOINTED DISCIPLE FOR GOD & CHRIST JESUS. EVEN FOR JEWS, MUSLIMS & GENTILE SINNERS. MANY PEOPLE WILL LEARN HOW TO> BECOME REAL BORN AGAIN CHRISTIAN: THROUGH THIS HOLYSPIRIT BOOK & THROUGH THE PROTECTION & SUPPORT OF MY HOLYSPIRIT LIFE!! JOHN 3 & 15. ALL NATIONS WILL OVER COME THE SINS OF BIRTH CONTROL. *BECAUSE HOLY DOMINIONSHIP IS ONE OF THE FIRST COMMANDMENT IN GENESIS 1;26-31. ALL BELIEVERS: WILL COME TO A HOLY VOW OF REPENTANCE: THROUGH GODS RESTORATION & THROUGH GODS ADOPTION VOWS. YES!! THE KINGDOM OF GOD & HEAVEN!! IS AT HAND!! FOR ALL WHO BELIEVE IN THE ONE CREATOR GOD & CHRIST JESUS OUR HOLYSPIRIT ETERNAL LIFE SAVIOR: SURELY YOUR NAMES WILL BE WRITTEN IN THE LAMBS BOOK OF LIFE!! *WHEN YOU SUPPORT & PROTECT MY HOLYSPIRIT LIFE. WE ARE BRANCHES >JOHN 15 MY WEBSITE: http://groups.msn.com/ChristianPowerHealthProsperityAndSoulREMEMBER: GOD HAS MADE ME A HOLYSPIRIT VOICE FOR THE BRIDE OF GOD & CHRIST JESUS IN 1996 GOD TOLD ME TO TEACH THE GOSPEL ON CABLE TELEVISION IN TUCSON ARIZONA. *CONCERNING THE SINS OF THE CHURCHES: & CONCERNING THE>LACK OF GIVING TO THE POOR & ORPHANS: CHRISTIAN CHURCHES SHOULD: BUILD MORE:> WATER WELLS: & BUILD LOW INCOME HOUSINGS: MATTHEW 25 & ISAIAH 61
 
2013-01-13 11:30:36 PM  
zedster:

Oh my god...

My wife and I were actually quite impressed with this item. Between the two of us it took 9 days to finish and I must say I found it hard to get used to during the first few sittings, but gradualy became more comfortable as time went on.

Although neither of us paid too much attention to the content, the sheer volume and quality of the paper contained within was pleasantly suprizing. The paper feels crisp, heavy and tough, yet the pages seperate with just the slightest tug of a thumb and forefinger.

The only real controversy this book created for my wife and I was mostly my fault. You see after I finished the last page I was too lazy to replace the book with another and I left the empty cover sitting on top of the sistern. Let me tell you I copped a nagging!

Overall the item was an interesting change, but we found it a bit expensive and not as suitable as the regular stuff available at the supermarket. Together my wife and I have decided just to stick with normal sorbent two-ply rolls from now on, and would suggest others do the same.
 
2013-01-13 11:37:10 PM  
$1500 HDMI cable? Pffft. They also make a $6900 power cable. Because the last six feet are critical to avoid any degradation of that pure, sweet electric current.
 
2013-01-13 11:40:36 PM  
My favorite Amazon item:

Link

/ SFW or NSFW? Your guess is as good as mine.
 
2013-01-13 11:43:01 PM  
If you're stupid enough to spend $1500 on an HDMI cable, please use it as a noose and remove yourself from the gene pool.
 
2013-01-13 11:43:13 PM  
I enjoyed the unicorn mask reviews :)
 
2013-01-13 11:44:56 PM  

EngineerAU: There are some things you really don't want to buy used.

[i.imgur.com image 720x536]


Used Trojans? Did the seller also have a little red corvette up for sale as well? I was thinking of buying one, but baby, they're much too fast!
 
2013-01-14 12:13:34 AM  
I saw that link on Reddit too subby.
 
2013-01-14 01:34:34 AM  

TheGreatGazoo: mrlewish: styckx: Er, $39,000 speaker cable
That review.

Yeah. Lets try a blind listening test between the coat hanger and the $39,000 cable and see if it is indistinguishable as the coat hanger vs Monster speaker wire.

As a EE major - Unless you really like blowing money, lamp cord with a polarization stripe is really good speaker wire. Connecting red to red and black to black will beat about half the installations there. Unless you have some of the weird Bose speakers which are colored backwards.

For HDMI cables, your 'sweet spot' is about $10 cables. Too much cheaper and you make get sparklies or the ends may fall off. Any more and you are wasting your money. Generally a few bucks for the ends + $1/foot is about right.


...and of course you do know that twisted pair is better still, and is used in many electronics signalling applications.

Lamp cord is ok for basic sound related stuff, but once you get get a little further up the ladder, self induced resistance and capacitance can become measurable.
And for HDMI, make sure it's marked v1.3, otherwise it's likely v1.2, which is rated only for signals a little less than full 1080p needs. Used to be an issue a few years ago, and the v1.3's are the more common now, however, the more you know...
 
2013-01-14 04:06:10 AM  
Bookmarked for awesome.
 
2013-01-14 04:06:11 AM  
You guys think this is high quality stuff?

Prepare to witness some REAL audio quality!

http://www.funklogic.com/
 
2013-01-14 08:03:35 AM  

SomeTexan: My favorite Amazon item:

Link

/ SFW or NSFW? Your guess is as good as mine.


Strange. The 60 lb cheese wheel is in this product's "Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed" list, too.
 
2013-01-14 08:29:08 AM  
 
2013-01-14 10:36:43 AM  
Well its got free shipping. Sold!
 
2013-01-14 12:44:28 PM  
"... way better than anything I have heard...Simply put these are very danceable cables. Music playing through them results in the proverbial foot-tapping scene with the need or desire to get up and move. Great swing and pace - these cables smack that right on the nose big time."
 
2013-01-14 01:13:22 PM  
Wheelmate Laptop Steering Wheel Desk

Not just the reviews, but customer images are hilarious too... XD
 
2013-01-14 01:30:16 PM  

WordsnCollision: Do they accept VISA?

[www.lolbrary.com image 700x469]


Capital One rejected my card using that image of Fry. I might resubmit and hopefully get someone with a sense of humor.
 
2013-01-14 01:48:17 PM  
Yup. Misplacing a decimal point is a great way to get attention.
 
2013-01-14 02:20:16 PM  

bludemos: Wheelmate Laptop Steering Wheel Desk

Not just the reviews, but customer images are hilarious too... XD


Those were great. Since 1937 haha.
 
2013-01-14 04:19:49 PM  

insano: insano: This is my favorite:

This cable allowed my TV to display a new color that doesn't even have a name yet. This is actually the cable that Seal Team 6 used to capture Osama Bin Laden, and if it is good enough for the Navy Seals, it is good enough for you.

Cancel that, this is my new favorite:

I love this cable. Crystal clear audio and video. My only problem was that the instruction manual was very vague and misguiding. Long story short, I got it stuck in my urethra.


I read that one, and laughed so hard tears were streaming down my leg...
 
2013-01-14 04:58:11 PM  
Oh god, a few clicked links and now I know these exist: absorbent towels for fat folds. Really. http://www.amazon.com/Tummy-Liners-Set-3-WalterDrake/dp/B006ZLTSBU/ref =pd_sim_sbs_b_8
 
2013-01-14 04:59:12 PM  
Oh god, a few clicked links and now I know these exist: absorbent towels for fat folds. Really. Link

/looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue
 
2013-01-15 11:30:03 AM  

weapon13: Amazon lets you change your viewing history - follow this link

Bastard!



At least he didn't make the link go to the male chastity stuff.
 
2013-01-15 11:57:36 AM  
WhippingBoy

I still think anyone who actually buys those cables is *less* stupid than someone who buys Monster cables.

Monster Cables aren't better than any other decent quality cable, but there is one advantage: Once you buy one, it's a lifetime cable. If it ever fails, just send it back and they'll send you a new one. No questions, no receipt needed.

I don't buy Monster Cables, but I do have a few that came with equipment I bought, and I have sent a couple back for replacement.

On the other hand, cables I've built are better quality, far cheaper, and they have never failed.
 
Displayed 93 of 93 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report