If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(New York Magazine)   Ten days after the election, 600 hardcore subscribers to National Review went on a Caribbean cruise. This is their story   (nymag.com) divider line 492
    More: Interesting, National Review, Caribbean, Fantasy Island  
•       •       •

10938 clicks; posted to Politics » on 25 Dec 2012 at 2:26 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



492 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-12-25 12:36:36 PM
All aboard the SS Schadenfreude
 
2012-12-25 12:37:49 PM
that article was a depressing thing to read.
 
2012-12-25 12:41:23 PM

Sleeping Monkey: All aboard the SS Schadenfreude


Take a swim in the delightful, crisp, refreshing ocean of teabagger tears.
 
2012-12-25 12:43:57 PM
From TFA:

"Minorities came out like crazy," said Hassett, sighing. "White people didn't get to the polls. There are far more African-Americans voting than they expected."


How dare those blah people vote
 
2012-12-25 12:48:42 PM

jake_lex: From TFA:

"Minorities came out like crazy," said Hassett, sighing. "White people didn't get to the polls. There are far more African-Americans voting than they expected."


How dare those blah people vote


it just gets worse the more you read.  if this is the GOP elite then those f*ckers DESERVED to lose.  incompetent doesn't begin to describe them.
 
2012-12-25 12:52:21 PM
Under the shade of some palm trees, Ralph Reed took off his shirt and fed an orange to a giant iguana.
 
2012-12-25 12:57:04 PM

Sleeping Monkey: Under the shade of some palm trees, Ralph Reed took off his shirt and fed an orange to a giant iguana.



Poor John Boehner.
 
2012-12-25 01:01:13 PM

jake_lex: From TFA:

"Minorities came out like crazy," said Hassett, sighing. "White people didn't get to the polls. There are far more African-Americans voting than they expected."


How dare those blah people vote


And they waited in lines!!1!

The nerve!
 
2012-12-25 01:11:53 PM

Weaver95: jake_lex: From TFA:

"Minorities came out like crazy," said Hassett, sighing. "White people didn't get to the polls. There are far more African-Americans voting than they expected."


How dare those blah people vote

it just gets worse the more you read.  if this is the GOP elite then those f*ckers DESERVED to lose.  incompetent doesn't begin to describe them.


Well, here's the thing: they sealed themselves off in an echo chamber.  And the only way to stand out in that echo chamber is to derp even harder than the last guy.

The problem is, you gotta appeal to voters outside that echo chamber.  Meanwhile, what you've been saying inside it just sounds stupid at best to those other voters, and at worst sounds totally insane and racist.

So it shouldn't shock anyone that, given the amount of racism in the right wing, minority voters would be motivated to vote against them.  After all, they were being openly and viciously attacked.  That made up for any dampening of their enthusiasm about Obama.
 
2012-12-25 01:15:30 PM
All aboard the S.S. Schadenfreude!

carsonspost.files.wordpress.com
 
2012-12-25 01:15:58 PM
But Ms. O'Sullivan again took umbrage. As everyone went silent, she recalled a conference she attended in Australia in which a liberal nun (who "didn't even have the decency to wear a habit") criticized America for its "inner-city racism." Offended, Ms. O'Sullivan recounted what she wished she'd said to this nun:

"Pardon me, madam, but I have been in your country of Australia for ten days and the only Aborigines I've seen have been drunk on the street, and at least if we were in my country they would be serving the drinks at this conference!"


Holy shiat.
 
2012-12-25 01:17:22 PM

themindiswatching: But Ms. O'Sullivan again took umbrage. As everyone went silent, she recalled a conference she attended in Australia in which a liberal nun (who "didn't even have the decency to wear a habit") criticized America for its "inner-city racism." Offended, Ms. O'Sullivan recounted what she wished she'd said to this nun:

"Pardon me, madam, but I have been in your country of Australia for ten days and the only Aborigines I've seen have been drunk on the street, and at least if we were in my country they would be serving the drinks at this conference!"

Holy shiat.


And these are the folks who make up part of the inner circle of the GOP.
 
2012-12-25 01:19:25 PM
FTA: "To protect the ego, you have a defense mechanism: denial and projection," she told me as her son leaned in to hear over the party din. "You deny your problem, saying it's your fault and not mine. Instead of projection, blaming other people, we have to think of a positive solution. But I didn't hear that yet."

"They are still grieving," she concluded as her son winced and began to break in, fearing she'd gone too far. "I hope not for more than six months. The grieving process should only be six months. If it goes on for more than six months, it could go into a major depression."


Good luck with that.

Weaver95: if this is the GOP elite then those f*ckers DESERVED to lose.


No, this is mostly just the part with more dollars than sense -- the GOP base, not the elite. Just a few B-list to provide the entertainment and an excuse for parting the rubes from more of their cash.
 
2012-12-25 01:27:15 PM

Weaver95: And these are the folks who make up part of the inner circle of the GOP.


Maybe in the Reagan years. I read the whole thing and other than a couple tier2 Romney staffers, the bulk of the people on the boat sounded like elderly Birchers who can no longer understand their country is over the tipping point of the bygone era they believed would last forever. The inner circle of the GOP is not a bunch of affluent 70 somethings-- though they are admittedly the source of a lot of cash.
 
2012-12-25 01:34:41 PM

dugitman: Weaver95: And these are the folks who make up part of the inner circle of the GOP.

Maybe in the Reagan years. I read the whole thing and other than a couple tier2 Romney staffers, the bulk of the people on the boat sounded like elderly Birchers who can no longer understand their country is over the tipping point of the bygone era they believed would last forever. The inner circle of the GOP is not a bunch of affluent 70 somethings-- though they are admittedly the source of a lot of cash.


yeah, but these are the people who supply the cash to the rest of the GOP.  their views WILL be addressed by the guys who run the Republican party.

*sigh*

I dunno.  I read this article and it just hit me in all the wrong ways.  its just reinforcing my belief that I made the right decision to switch parties to Democrat and leave behind the libertarians and republicans.  granted, the Dems aren't perfect but...hey, at least they aren't THESE guys.
 
2012-12-25 01:35:12 PM
I envision this voyage being their passing into Valinor, leaving this world as their age wanes.
 
2012-12-25 01:37:57 PM

ultraholland: I envision this voyage being their passing into Valinor, leaving this world as their age wanes.


huh.  I always considered the GOP to be more of a fan of Sauron than anything else.  a lot of the GOP fit the description of orcs:

"Yet this is held true by the wise of Eressëa, that all those of the Quendi [Elves] who came into the hands of Melkor, ere Utumno was broken, were put there in prison, and by slow arts of cruelty were corrupted and enslaved; and thus did Melkor breed the hideous race of the Orcs in envy and mockery of the Elves, of whom they were afterwards the bitterest foes....This it may be was the vilest deed of Melkor, and the most hateful to Ilúvatar."
 
2012-12-25 01:42:32 PM

jake_lex: From TFA:

"Minorities came out like crazy," said Hassett, sighing. "White people didn't get to the polls. There are far more African-Americans voting than they expected."


How dare those blah people vote


Worse. The wrong white people came out to vote. The wimminfolk and the poor and the gheys. And even the poor ghey black wimmin. It was madness...
 
2012-12-25 01:43:50 PM

Weaver95: ultraholland: I envision this voyage being their passing into Valinor, leaving this world as their age wanes.

huh.  I always considered the GOP to be more of a fan of Sauron than anything else.  a lot of the GOP fit the description of orcs:

"Yet this is held true by the wise of Eressëa, that all those of the Quendi [Elves] who came into the hands of Melkor, ere Utumno was broken, were put there in prison, and by slow arts of cruelty were corrupted and enslaved; and thus did Melkor breed the hideous race of the Orcs in envy and mockery of the Elves, of whom they were afterwards the bitterest foes....This it may be was the vilest deed of Melkor, and the most hateful to Ilúvatar."


Yep.  I had those thought when I first read LOTR in high school during the times of Ni*on the Crook.
 
2012-12-25 01:44:04 PM
Weaver95: huh. I always considered the GOP to be more of a fan of Sauron than anything else. a lot of the GOP fit the description of orcs:

Yes, the corruption of the Children of Iluvitar is a more apt comparison; I was just picturing them sailing off into the West, out of time and existence.
 
2012-12-25 01:47:40 PM

ultraholland: Weaver95: huh. I always considered the GOP to be more of a fan of Sauron than anything else. a lot of the GOP fit the description of orcs:

Yes, the corruption of the Children of Iluvitar is a more apt comparison; I was just picturing them sailing off into the West, out of time and existence.


O the Fields of Northern California, they were the lands promised to the Faithful...
 
2012-12-25 01:49:05 PM
hubiestubert: Worse. The wrong white people came out to vote. The wimminfolk and the poor and the gheys. And even the poor ghey black wimmin. It was madness...

The talking points directly after the election by TEAhadists I know were that these groups voted against their best interests, and that it was more sad than maddening. They were all lamenting how so many people could be duped, yet celebrated that they - white males - will be doing just fine because blacks and poors had been even worse off under Obama, or something.
 
2012-12-25 01:51:22 PM

ultraholland: Weaver95: huh. I always considered the GOP to be more of a fan of Sauron than anything else. a lot of the GOP fit the description of orcs:

Yes, the corruption of the Children of Iluvitar is a more apt comparison; I was just picturing them sailing off into the West, out of time and existence.

Thus came it that the Gods dared a very great deed, the most mighty of their works; for making a fleet of magic rafts and boats with Ulmo's aid - and otherwise had none of these endured to sail upon the waters of Vai - they drew to the Wall of Things, and there they made the Door of Night.

 
2012-12-25 01:54:43 PM
I saw tears on her cheeks and I put my hand on her shoulder. "I'm afraid," she told me. "Write that. We're scared to death."

Don't worry, lady, the sweet, liberating embrace of Death is close at hand.

I want to feel sorry for these people.  I'm sure they're mostly decent people who worked hard, did what they thought best for their family, yadda, yadda, yadda, but they are so gripped by outmoded prejudices and too clueless to even think of changing or notice how ridiculous they are (Melissa O'Sullivan, the Alabaman wife of John, wasn't buying the idea that Republicans had alienated minorities. "We've invited them to join us!" she insisted.)
 
2012-12-25 01:58:27 PM
Lionel Mandrake: I'm sure they're mostly decent people

in the same way that Cujo was a decent dog
 
2012-12-25 02:09:50 PM

Weaver95: granted, the Dems aren't perfect but...hey, at least they aren't THESE guys.


Even if I weren't a liberal, I think I'd be a Democrat. What I mean is that they're a centrist party that's only slightly asshole-ish. If my pragmatic choices were the jerks in the GOP (as typified in this depressing article) and the Dems, it seems an obvious decision. It's not like the GOP actually spends less, anyway, so if you're a "small government" type you can just kiss that goodbye. Why not just vote Democratic? Same amount of money (often less), but less war.

 Then there's the whole gay-bashing, rape, Jesus, and all that sort of Crazy. I wouldn't have the stomach for that bullsh*t even if I were a conservative. I know plenty of conservative Democrats who align with the party for those very reasons. They're not particularly thrilled about spending but they don't hate teh homogheys, blacks, and women. Kind of narrows the field.
 
2012-12-25 02:20:06 PM

hubiestubert: jake_lex: From TFA:

"Minorities came out like crazy," said Hassett, sighing. "White people didn't get to the polls. There are far more African-Americans voting than they expected."


How dare those blah people vote

Worse. The wrong white people came out to vote. The wimminfolk and the poor and the gheys. And even the poor ghey black wimmin. It was madness...


We should vote like the Founders voted, only white landowners.
 
2012-12-25 02:34:20 PM
I couldn't get through one page of that before thinking "damnit, why couldn't that ship have sunk?"

The modern GOP has become like the Borg. You're either with them in the collective or against them. No one is allowed to think anything other than "no taxes" or "gheys are scary" or "it's black people's fault!" It's disgusting.
 
2012-12-25 02:34:33 PM
I have a theory that you have to be a truly awful human being to vote republican these days.

Articles like this do nothing to dispel that notion.
 
2012-12-25 02:35:13 PM

themindiswatching: But Ms. O'Sullivan again took umbrage. As everyone went silent, she recalled a conference she attended in Australia in which a liberal nun (who "didn't even have the decency to wear a habit") criticized America for its "inner-city racism." Offended, Ms. O'Sullivan recounted what she wished she'd said to this nun:

"Pardon me, madam, but I have been in your country of Australia for ten days and the only Aborigines I've seen have been drunk on the street, and at least if we were in my country they would be serving the drinks at this conference!"

Holy shiat.


I want to be angry about this, but I'm just disgusted.
 
2012-12-25 02:39:27 PM

Sleeping Monkey: Under the shade of some palm trees, Ralph Reed took off his shirt and fed an orange to a giant iguana.


It's like Aaron Sorkin and David Lynch got together to do webisodes.
 
2012-12-25 02:41:10 PM

kmmontandon: Sleeping Monkey: Under the shade of some palm trees, Ralph Reed took off his shirt and fed an orange to a giant iguana.


Poor John Boehner.


haha there's a reason why you're favorited
 
2012-12-25 02:42:03 PM
fta Onboard the Nieuw Amsterdam, no one could follow his advice. "Who sent Obama here to destroy America?" a fiftysomething woman asked me one evening over dinner, as if it were a perfectly reasonable question. And here onboard the cruise ship, it was.

Crazy minorities, apparently.
 
2012-12-25 02:42:38 PM
There's never a salmonella outbreak around when you need one...
 
2012-12-25 02:42:58 PM
Never a torpedo around when you really need one =/
 
2012-12-25 02:45:02 PM
He recommended investing in real estate in another country, maybe in Central America somewhere. A woman to Kay's right wrinkled her nose: How about a Western country? "Okay, if Europe is what you want, go to Poland," he said optimistically. "Go to Krakow, buy a house for $50,000, and it's going to be like Paris in a few years."

Central America isn't "Western", but a former Soviet satellite is?
 
2012-12-25 02:47:08 PM
there's never a Hunter Thompson around when you need one.

imagine the fear and loathing report on the SS Goldberg.
 
2012-12-25 02:48:13 PM
Well much like Weaver95 this is my first election voting from the "other" side. I was dejected when Obama won the first time. I had been a reliable (R) voter for 20+ years. But the politics of Wisconsin and Ohio over the last couple years has showed me that its not just a "conservative" party anymore with significant influence from big money - its ONLY a party of big money influence.

My feelings on things like gay marriage have changed quite a bit over that past 2 decades and fiscal conservatism (which apparently is only given lip service anyway) just is not enough to cover for the bigotry and class-warfare politics that have come to dominate the Republican party.

I haven't met a single person who has become more conservative over the past decade - they either have always been or have moderated their feelings over that last decade. These people are a dying breed and some of them don't seem to realize it in the slightest.
 
2012-12-25 02:50:28 PM

Wayne 985: He recommended investing in real estate in another country, maybe in Central America somewhere. A woman to Kay's right wrinkled her nose: How about a Western country? "Okay, if Europe is what you want, go to Poland," he said optimistically. "Go to Krakow, buy a house for $50,000, and it's going to be like Paris in a few years."

Central America isn't "Western", but a former Soviet satellite is?


"Western" is code word for "mostly white people."
 
2012-12-25 02:52:04 PM

Weaver95: that article was a depressing thing to read.


I couldn't finish it. How do people with such a poor grasp on reality get that much money? And how do they manage to live through each day without being run over by a bus or licking an electrical outlet?
 
2012-12-25 02:52:17 PM

Weaver95: dugitman: Weaver95: And these are the folks who make up part of the inner circle of the GOP.

Maybe in the Reagan years. I read the whole thing and other than a couple tier2 Romney staffers, the bulk of the people on the boat sounded like elderly Birchers who can no longer understand their country is over the tipping point of the bygone era they believed would last forever. The inner circle of the GOP is not a bunch of affluent 70 somethings-- though they are admittedly the source of a lot of cash.

yeah, but these are the people who supply the cash to the rest of the GOP.  their views WILL be addressed by the guys who run the Republican party.

*sigh*

I dunno.  I read this article and it just hit me in all the wrong ways.  its just reinforcing my belief that I made the right decision to switch parties to Democrat and leave behind the libertarians and republicans.  granted, the Dems aren't perfect but...hey, at least they aren't THESE guys.


A while back, 10 years, if you had called me a Democrat I would have probably started a fight. Not that was a Republican, but I hated the Democrats equally. I don't really like them, I voted for Ralph Nader during Bush v Gore. After Bush's first term, I'll take the lesser of two evils.
 
2012-12-25 02:54:52 PM
"Minorities came out like crazy," said Hassett, sighing. "White people didn't get to the polls. There are far more African-Americans voting than they expected."

But please don't call them racists.
 
2012-12-25 02:55:40 PM

Fizpez: and fiscal conservatism (which apparently is only given lip service anyway) just is not enough to cover for the bigotry and class-warfare politics that have come to dominate the Republican party.


Republicans are fiscally conservative when it comes to social programs and health care but you can't look at their spending on the military and the war on drugs and seriously claim they were ever fiscally conservative.
 
2012-12-25 02:59:10 PM

Lionel Mandrake: I saw tears on her cheeks and I put my hand on her shoulder. "I'm afraid," she told me. "Write that. We're scared to death."

Don't worry, lady, the sweet, liberating embrace of Death is close at hand.

I want to feel sorry for these people.  I'm sure they're mostly decent people who worked hard, did what they thought best for their family, yadda, yadda, yadda, but they are so gripped by outmoded prejudices and too clueless to even think of changing or notice how ridiculous they are (Melissa O'Sullivan, the Alabaman wife of John, wasn't buying the idea that Republicans had alienated minorities. "We've invited them to join us!" she insisted.)


We invited them to join us! Why, we would let them serve us drinks, as befits their strong backs and limited brain pans! It baffles us why they would ever vote Democrat. Must be due to their inherent laziness.
 
2012-12-25 03:01:46 PM

Fizpez: Well much like Weaver95 this is my first election voting from the "other" side. I was dejected when Obama won the first time. I had been a reliable (R) voter for 20+ years. But the politics of Wisconsin and Ohio over the last couple years has showed me that its not just a "conservative" party anymore with significant influence from big money - its ONLY a party of big money influence.

My feelings on things like gay marriage have changed quite a bit over that past 2 decades and fiscal conservatism (which apparently is only given lip service anyway) just is not enough to cover for the bigotry and class-warfare politics that have come to dominate the Republican party.

I haven't met a single person who has become more conservative over the past decade - they either have always been or have moderated their feelings over that last decade. These people are a dying breed and some of them don't seem to realize it in the slightest.


It depends on what you call Conservatism. The GOP right now is in the hands of radicals. Radicals who like to meddle with personal lives, fiscally radicals who want to tinker and play with tax rates and give aways, no matter the cost, and certainly radicals in the realm of foreign policy. This has driven a lot of traditional Conservatives from the party. Folks like myself. Folks who are called "Moderates" now more closely resemble Republicans from the Goldwater years, who don't give a rat's butt about who is screwing who, and are more concerned about growing our middle class and tax base, as opposed to shrinking it and revenues while expanding what we are throwing dollars into.

The party has abandoned anything looking like fiscally prudent policy. Certainly anything like keeping out of folks' personal lives. It really can't call itself Conservatism anymore, but folks seem bound and determined to do so. The party is bound up now to the Neo-Con and the Religious Right--I refuse to call them Social Conservatives since they are very much radicals and none too happy with most of their neighbors--and have abdicated anything like careful or measured policy, and are certainly bound to the idea that they can legislate morality and citizenship into being.

It isn't about moderation, but rather, that the fringe elements have taken the party, and set the agenda, and are bringing the Idiot Brigade with them so long as they have a network to put up agitprop...
 
2012-12-25 03:01:53 PM

ultraholland: The talking points directly after the election by TEAhadists I know were that these groups voted against their best interests, and that it was more sad than maddening. They were all lamenting how so many people could be duped, yet celebrated that they - white males - will be doing just fine because blacks and poors had been even worse off under Obama, or something.


Please. We're calling them "urbans" now.
 
2012-12-25 03:04:14 PM
Whining idiot farking pussies. All of them.

Merry Christmas, wingnuts. Sorry Santa wears commie red and redistributes wealth.
 
2012-12-25 03:06:54 PM

teto85: Weaver95: ultraholland: I envision this voyage being their passing into Valinor, leaving this world as their age wanes.

huh.  I always considered the GOP to be more of a fan of Sauron than anything else.  a lot of the GOP fit the description of orcs:

"Yet this is held true by the wise of Eressëa, that all those of the Quendi [Elves] who came into the hands of Melkor, ere Utumno was broken, were put there in prison, and by slow arts of cruelty were corrupted and enslaved; and thus did Melkor breed the hideous race of the Orcs in envy and mockery of the Elves, of whom they were afterwards the bitterest foes....This it may be was the vilest deed of Melkor, and the most hateful to Ilúvatar."

Yep.  I had those thought when I first read LOTR in high school during the times of Ni*on the Crook.


Wow. You're even older than I am.

images3.wikia.nocookie.net
 
2012-12-25 03:07:28 PM
I think some of it comes from a basic lack of humanity, and empathy.  A whole lot of them naver made the jump from "people like me" to "all of us are people, citizens and comrades in life"... It is a damn shame too. Some of them could have their eyes opened, and they would be decent people, some of them are too far gone, but there might be hope for their children.
 
2012-12-25 03:07:54 PM

Lionel Mandrake: I saw tears on her cheeks and I put my hand on her shoulder. "I'm afraid," she told me. "Write that. We're scared to death."

Don't worry, lady, the sweet, liberating embrace of Death is close at hand.

I want to feel sorry for these people.  I'm sure they're mostly decent people who worked hard, did what they thought best for their family, yadda, yadda, yadda, but they are so gripped by outmoded prejudices and too clueless to even think of changing or notice how ridiculous they are (Melissa O'Sullivan, the Alabaman wife of John, wasn't buying the idea that Republicans had alienated minorities. "We've invited them to join us!" she insisted.)


And I want to feel that want you describe. But after this many years of their negligence, obstinance and downright nastiness i have a reeeeeeeeeeeeaallll farking hard time believing they aren't truly the way they are.
 
Displayed 50 of 492 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report