If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(BetaNews)   An iPad user's review of the Microsoft Surface Tablet...you know what's coming, right?   (betanews.com) divider line 9
    More: Amusing, Microsoft Surface, iPads, Microsoft, Windows Store, Windows Explorer, screen resolution, software portability, Microsoft Word  
•       •       •

9677 clicks; posted to Geek » on 21 Dec 2012 at 6:00 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



Voting Results (Smartest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Archived thread
2012-12-21 03:21:21 PM
5 votes:
Overall it was a fine review, but the "It's heavier (it's not heavier)" "It's fat (it's not fatter)" writing style made me want to slap the shiat out of the writer.
2012-12-22 02:01:27 PM
2 votes:

Yankees Team Gynecologist: Yeah, I've never used one but I thought that was basically the whole point of Surface--that it could be both an iPad knockoff AND a conventional Windows laptop, thus providing continuity for business users.


It's still not going to be a serious business machine. Even with their cover keyboards, it's still a shiattier experience than a laptop, and once you add the weight on, you're getting close to the weight of something like a Thinkpad Carbon X1, which is a fully-armed and fully operational business machine.

The problem with all tablets is that they can never replace a laptop. I'd much rather carry a 3lb full laptop than a 1.5lb tablet. I know that at no point will I say "damn, I wish I'd brought the tablet".
2012-12-21 06:20:35 PM
2 votes:

gingerjet: Mr. Fuzzypaws: I'll review my shopping experience when I got my iPad mini.

Go to store.
Clerk: Can I help you?
Me: I'd like an iPad mini.
Clerk: OK.
An exchange of cash happened.
Me: Thanks!

Four out of Five Stars. It was cold and rainy that day.

Compared to a Radio Shack:
Clerk:  Can I help you?
Me: I need a 3' HDMI cable.
Clerk: Ok.  Would you like the extended warranty?
Me:  Its a 6 dollar cable.
Clerk:  Things happen to cables.  A dog can chew on it ...
Me:  No.
Clerk:  Wouldn't you like the piece of mind ...
Me: No.
Clerk:  Ok - do you need anything else such as a ...
Me: No.
[an exchange of cash happens]
Clerk: Have a nice ...
Me: Go fark yourself


You forgot:
Clerk: Can I get your address?
You: Huh? I'm paying with cash.
Clerk: We have to get an address.
You: Why do you need an address for a cash payment?
Clerk: It helps out with returns.
You: Isn't that what the receipt is for?
Clerk: Well, I just need to get your address
You: Arrrgh. fark this, I'm out
You: (typing) www.monoprice.com
2012-12-21 04:40:05 PM
2 votes:

cameroncrazy1984: It actually got better after that.


I ended up reading that whole thing just because I really wanted to say "no, it didn't," and mean it. But you're right, it actually did. And as someone who's in the market for a tablet, it's actually making me think a little bit.

Although he still deserves a stern rap on the knuckles for the first couple of paragraphs. Not the flogging he might have earned had he continued that style, but enough to let him know it was noticed and not appreciated.
2012-12-22 02:18:48 AM
1 votes:

T-Boy: Actually, what Microsoft is doing makes sense to me. They are working to nifty the OS of all devices, from phone to tablet to desktop, so that apps will run on everything. That is what Windows 8 is all about. If they can get it to really work, they should be able to sell hardware in the tablet and phone market. The software disconnect between Apple's portable devices and their computers annoys the hell out of me.


There's a difference between the operating system and the user interface. Under the hood, Mac OS X and iOS are pretty much identical; they're just built for different CPU architectures (with their respective optimizations) and have different user interfaces. You might recall that in some of the early promotional material about the iPhone, Apple made a big deal about how it was running Mac OS X with a touchscreen interface, and only changed the name of the iPhone version of the operating system to "iOS" a little over a year later.

What Microsoft is trying to do is not just unify the phone, tablet, and desktop OS'es (which Apple has already done), they're also trying to unify the user interfaces. I don't know if there's any good way to do that, but I think it's telling that in the nearly six years since Apple first unveiled the iPhone, they have ported features between the two UI's but they have made no attempt to fully unify them.
2012-12-21 11:51:00 PM
1 votes:
It's cute watching him figure out that IProducts are just toys, however.
2012-12-21 11:23:19 PM
1 votes:

BKITU: LasersHurt: Overall it was a fine review, but the "It's heavier (it's not heavier)" "It's fat (it's not fatter)" writing style made me want to slap the shiat out of the writer.

Seriously, this. It's truthiness applied to gadgetry. "I feel in my gut that Apple products are thinner and lighter, so anything non-Apple must therefore be fatter and heavier, no matter what the actual specs are." I gave up on TFA after the weight issue.


I have never held a Surface so I do not know how it feels; however your comment is not what the author said. He said that the Surface *felt* heavier yet it was not.

Try this experiment:
* Pick up a full milk jug (total weight, 8lbs)
* Now pick up that same milk jug using a 1oz, 3ft aluminum rod through the handle. Hold the rod at one end and hold the jug at the other. Total weight: 8lbs, 1oz.

Nearly the same weight. Does one feel heavier?

Sometimes I try to hold my iPad (1st gen) like I'd read a book: portrait position, bottom edge resting on the palm of one hand with the fingers behind for support and the thumb in front for balance.

It's rather uncomfortable and never works for long.

Balancing the weight of tablet devices so that they *feel* light in the most common use cases will be a major area of industrial design in the next few years.
2012-12-21 06:13:07 PM
1 votes:

Mr. Fuzzypaws: I'll review my shopping experience when I got my iPad mini.

Go to store.
Clerk: Can I help you?
Me: I'd like an iPad mini.
Clerk: OK.
An exchange of cash happened.
Me: Thanks!

Four out of Five Stars. It was cold and rainy that day.


Compared to a Radio Shack:
Clerk:  Can I help you?
Me: I need a 3' HDMI cable.
Clerk: Ok.  Would you like the extended warranty?
Me:  Its a 6 dollar cable.
Clerk:  Things happen to cables.  A dog can chew on it ...
Me:  No.
Clerk:  Wouldn't you like the piece of mind ...
Me: No.
Clerk:  Ok - do you need anything else such as a ...
Me: No.
[an exchange of cash happens]
Clerk: Have a nice ...
Me: Go fark yourself
2012-12-21 03:38:45 PM
1 votes:

LasersHurt: Overall it was a fine review, but the "It's heavier (it's not heavier)" "It's fat (it's not fatter)" writing style made me want to slap the shiat out of the writer.


Seriously, this. It's truthiness applied to gadgetry. "I feel in my gut that Apple products are thinner and lighter, so anything non-Apple must therefore be fatter and heavier, no matter what the actual specs are." I gave up on TFA after the weight issue.
 
Displayed 9 of 9 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report