If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Salon)   Only the fine patriots at the National Review have the cojones to ID the real culprit in the Sandy Hook shooting: women   (salon.com) divider line 426
    More: Fail, National Review, Sandy Hook, cojones, school psychologist, NRO  
•       •       •

15750 clicks; posted to Main » on 20 Dec 2012 at 3:53 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



426 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-12-20 09:05:24 AM
Maybe I'm giving the average dolt too much credit, but I'm beginning to believe that the right's insistence to remain insane after this horrible wake-up call will be one of the final nails in the coffin of the insane right. I just don't see how any semi-rational person can take the right seriously anymore when all they offer up is mind-bogglingly stupid and nearly as disconnected from reality as the shooter apparently was.
 
2012-12-20 09:05:29 AM

born_yesterday: Alphax: 2xcited: Can't fark with biology, men are hunter gatherers women do the nuturing. It was sad, some of the teachers were hugging the students as bullets ripped through both of their bodies. Of course we do have girly men too, ever see a white male, Obama voter.

Also known as 'sane men'.

I can't believe you bit!


The thread is cross posted to Main, and I don't recognize the handle, so I'll treat him as serious for the moment. Poe's Law in effect.
 
2012-12-20 09:05:48 AM
So why is this woman writing National Review articles? That's MAN'S WORK.
 
2012-12-20 09:07:44 AM
The things conservatives say lately make no political sense to say unless they intend to repeal women's suffrage.
 
2012-12-20 09:07:46 AM

Weaver95: Think of what Sandy Hook might have been like if a couple of male teachers who had played high-school football, or even some of the huskier 12-year-old boys, had converged on Lanza. 
 
...there would have been a bunch of dead jocks mixed in with the dead kids and teachers.
 
playing high school football does not give you mystical immunity to bullets for the rest of your life.


If the principal who rushed the shooter had been a man he would have avoided the gunfire. See, the principal in this case had to deal with all sorts of problems that prevented her from saving lives: needing to check her makeup before she intervined, having to keep a shorter stride to maintain modesty in a skirt, and stopping to jump on a chair because she thought she saw a mouse. Besides, you try to run in heels.
 
2012-12-20 09:07:55 AM
I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took a bucket to the knee.
 
2012-12-20 09:08:34 AM

heili skrimsli: I just can't help looking at situations like this and thinking that it is not a good idea to create huge areas of undefended people without the means to defend themselves. It's the same principle that says to me walking naked with fistfuls of cash through known gang territory at 3 am is a bad idea - yeah, it's their fault if they rape and rob me, although I don't need to go out of my way to give them a target.


I feel somewhat the same way. It's why I approve of CCW permits. Regardless of its record at dealing with violent crime, I'd like to have some option other than hiding in a closet. But that's personal sentiment. As a matter of public policy, there are shortcomings. Spree killings are statistically quite rare whereas schools are quite widespread. It would only take a handful klutzes, hotheads, and idiots to cancel out all the hypothetical lifesaving goodness of having armed staff in such places, assuming there were any.
 
2012-12-20 09:08:52 AM
Major Nadal gunned down 13 people on an Army base that was primarily occupied by men. I think the logic is faulty.
 
2012-12-20 09:10:49 AM

doglover: And without reading the article I'm guessing she's got a point, probably, about how women should be more assertive and take bold actions instead of just letting themselves be victimized.


I guess the women who hid the children, who ran through the halls alerting people, who lunged at the attacker, who shielded children with their own bodies were not being assertive enough for you. fark you.
 
2012-12-20 09:11:39 AM

Mouser: Male aggression can be a good thing, as in protecting the weak - but it has been forced out of the culture of elementary schools and the education schools that train their personnel.

She's not blaming women, she's blaming a "feminized" (read: "effeminate") culture that excludes masculine values of aggressive defense against threats.

So, yeah. She's blaming the queers. It's the same reason we're losing the war in Afghanistan.


Hmm, so a young male goes around shooting people and the fault is that young males aren't being encouraged to be aggressive enough?
 
2012-12-20 09:13:51 AM

monoski: Major Nadal gunned down 13 people on an Army base that was primarily occupied by men. I think the logic is faulty.


To be fair, there might not have been a mop bucket handy to hurl at the gunman's knees...
 
2012-12-20 09:15:55 AM

Coco LaFemme: Apos: The fact that a woman is spouting such misogynistic claptrap is mind-boggling.

I sadly know a few women who honestly believe men are better than women, and that they should be subject to their husbands.  What's funny is that none of them are particularly religious.


I met some of them during the recall effort last winter. Basically they didn't want to sign the recall petition because important stuff like that should be left up to the men. Sad.
 
2012-12-20 09:20:48 AM

Befuddled: Maybe I'm giving the average dolt too much credit, but I'm beginning to believe that the right's insistence to remain insane after this horrible wake-up call will be one of the final nails in the coffin of the insane right. I just don't see how any semi-rational person can take the right seriously anymore when all they offer up is mind-bogglingly stupid and nearly as disconnected from reality as the shooter apparently was.


You're giving the average dolt too much credit.
 
2012-12-20 09:20:59 AM

HailRobonia: I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took a bucket to the knee.


I took a bucket to the knee once and it didn't phase me. But of course it was hurled by a woman.
 
2012-12-20 09:21:45 AM

monoski: Major Nadal gunned down 13 people on an Army base that was primarily occupied by men. I think the logic is faulty.


Stupid woman logic.

/"stupid woman" logic
//not stupid "woman logic"
 
2012-12-20 09:22:22 AM

Don't Troll Me Bro!: Coco LaFemme: Apos: The fact that a woman is spouting such misogynistic claptrap is mind-boggling.

I sadly know a few women who honestly believe men are better than women, and that they should be subject to their husbands.  What's funny is that none of them are particularly religious.

I met some of them during the recall effort last winter. Basically they didn't want to sign the recall petition because important stuff like that should be left up to the men. Sad.


Conservative women are often indistinguishable from women suffering from Battered Wife Syndrome.
 
2012-12-20 09:24:04 AM
Can't we just agree that the real problem here is that a large chunk of the population is just simply messed up? Whether they're shooting up schools, arguing to carry more weapons, paying taxes to help line the pockets of big corporations, dictating countries under the cloak of democracy, or believing that an eagle snatched a baby on camera... People are messed up in the head and we, as a society, are doomed.
 
2012-12-20 09:25:21 AM
That site needs banned from the internet
 
2012-12-20 09:27:09 AM

ongbok: HailRobonia: I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took a bucket to the knee.

I took a bucket to the knee once and it didn't phase me. But of course it was hurled by a woman.


Yeah, well I took an 80lb female Labrador Retriever to the knee two days ago and it dropped me like a rock. There's a lesson to be learned here, I'm sure. I don't what it is, but there has to be a lesson 'cause that sh*t hurt like a motherf**ker.
 
2012-12-20 09:27:29 AM
That's one of the most disgusting articles I've read in a long time. The principal and teachers selfishly sacrificed themselves in order to save others. That's far more brave and "manly" than most of the men on this planet (and certainly more so than those pathetic cowards that require assault rifles or concealed weapons to feel "brave").

Nice country you've got there, America. The rest of the world is pointing at you and laughing.
 
2012-12-20 09:27:39 AM
Some times over the years I've picked through the derpheaded bullshiat to read the good stuff, the real opinion, in NR. Maybe I should just stop bothering.
 
2012-12-20 09:27:57 AM

born_yesterday: heili skrimsli: Yeah, the cops did a good job of getting there as fast as they could to put an end to things. I just can't help looking at situations like this and thinking that it is not a good idea to create huge areas of undefended people without the means to defend themselves. It's the same principle that says to me walking naked with fistfuls of cash through known gang territory at 3 am is a bad idea - yeah, it's their fault if they rape and rob me, although I don't need to go out of my way to give them a target.

No offense, but did you seriously mean that? So, any areas where "large numbers of people gather" should now include armed guards? Shopping malls, restaurants, churches, schools, office buildings, food courts, every building and every single street in the country should have armed guards posted or armed civilians (or we'll never be safe)?


It's for your own good, citizen. Now move along.

Yes, the conservative gun-love over this issue is now bringing in misogyny as well and combining the two. After all, everyone knows that men with manly guns everywhere is what's needed to keep the peace, right?

/they want a return to the Wild West days
//everyone armed to the teeth, and the women stayed home and in the kitchen
 
2012-12-20 09:28:47 AM
Apparently she's made a 'career' out of this kind of tripe:

We Scream, We Swoon. How Dumb Can We Get?
 
2012-12-20 09:29:01 AM

Lost Thought 00: That site needs banned from the internet


No. It provides a valuable service by making conservatives look stupid.
 
2012-12-20 09:29:12 AM

JonnyG: Can't we just agree that the real problem here is that a large chunk of the population is just simply messed up? Whether they're shooting up schools, arguing to carry more weapons, paying taxes to help line the pockets of big corporations, dictating countries under the cloak of democracy, or believing that an eagle snatched a baby on camera... People are messed up in the head and we, as a society, are doomed.


One of the side-effects of "American Exceptionalism" is that we don't have the ability to effectively criticize ourselves, since we're ideologically opposed to the notion that we're in serious competition with others. It's fertile ground for the crazies, who take over before our Exceptionalism-blinders allow us to see it.
 
2012-12-20 09:29:18 AM

Commander Lysdexic: Because if it was a legitimate shooting I'm told by experts that some nearby manly men have ways of shutting that whole thing down.


How NRO sees gender playing a role:

"Hey, is that a BONER you have?"
"Why yes it is"
"Then stop shooting and get over here and love me"
"Gee, mister!"
 
2012-12-20 09:30:07 AM

WhippingBoy: That's one of the most disgusting articles I've read in a long time. The principal and teachers selfishlessly sacrificed themselves in order to save others. That's far more brave and "manly" than most of the men on this planet (and certainly more so than those pathetic cowards that require assault rifles or concealed weapons to feel "brave").

Nice countrybunch of fools you've got there, America. The rest of the world is pointing at you and laughing, but should learn to restrict its mockery to the fools only.

 
2012-12-20 09:30:09 AM

xria


Smartest
Funniest

2012-12-20 09:11:39 AM

Mouser: Male aggression can be a good thing, as in protecting the weak - but it has been forced out of the culture of elementary schools and the education schools that train their personnel.

She's not blaming women, she's blaming a "feminized" (read: "effeminate") culture that excludes masculine values of aggressive defense against threats.

So, yeah. She's blaming the queers. It's the same reason we're losing the war in Afghanistan.

Hmm, so a young male goes around shooting people and the fault is that young males aren't being encouraged to be aggressive enough?



Yes.
The shooter was not a "tough guy". Quite the opposite.
He was a scared little puss with rage for all the people he felt inferior to. Much like a large number of Farkers.
 
2012-12-20 09:31:07 AM

Bendal: /they want a return to the Wild West days
//everyone armed to the teeth, and the women stayed home and in the kitchen


In the "Wild West", you had to check your guns with the sheriff when you went to town.
 
2012-12-20 09:32:48 AM

WhippingBoy: Nice country you've got there, America. The rest of the world is pointing at you and laughing.


This actually made me feel a little better about America. It's nice to see we haven't cornered the market on assholes.
 
2012-12-20 09:32:59 AM

Fark Rye For Many Whores: WhippingBoy: That's one of the most disgusting articles I've read in a long time. The principal and teachers selfishlessly sacrificed themselves in order to save others. That's far more brave and "manly" than most of the men on this planet (and certainly more so than those pathetic cowards that require assault rifles or concealed weapons to feel "brave").

Nice countrybunch of fools you've got there, America. The rest of the world is pointing at you and laughing, but should learn to restrict its mockery to the fools only.


I agree with your corrections. Thank you.
 
2012-12-20 09:33:48 AM

God-is-a-Taco: So what's the female version of a sausage fest, anyway?
Clam fest?


Taco party.
 
2012-12-20 09:34:01 AM

thurstonxhowell: Bendal: /they want a return to the Wild West days
//everyone armed to the teeth, and the women stayed home and in the kitchen

In the "Wild West", you had to check your guns with the sheriff when you went to town.


And in the "Wild Wild West", you had to check your reputation with the director when you went to commit career-suicide in a movie where Will Smith raps at the end.
 
2012-12-20 09:34:59 AM

WhippingBoy: That's one of the most disgusting articles I've read in a long time. The principal and teachers selfishly sacrificed themselves in order to save others. That's far more brave and "manly" than most of the men on this planet (and certainly more so than those pathetic cowards that require assault rifles or concealed weapons to feel "brave").

Nice country you've got there, America. The rest of the world is pointing at you and laughing.


I'm not laughing. In addition to having a lot of American friends/relatives that I wish didn't have to deal with all this shiat, looking around me it's apparent that whatever's going wrong down there is contagious and leaking over the border.
 
2012-12-20 09:36:23 AM

HailRobonia: I guess the women who hid the children, who ran through the halls alerting people, who lunged at the attacker, who shielded children with their own bodies were not being assertive enough for you. fark you.

 
If only a Real Republican ManTM was here.  He'd consume the shooter with fireballs from his eyes and bolts of lightning from his arse
 
2012-12-20 09:38:47 AM

FTA: Male aggression can be a good thing, as in protecting the weak - but it has been forced out of the culture of elementary schools and the education schools that train their personnel. Think of what Sandy Hook might have been like if a couple of male teachers who had played high-school football, or even some of the huskier 12-year-old boys, had converged on Lanza.

i78.photobucket.com

"Sonofab*tch!!! We struck the motherlode of stupidity!!!"
 
2012-12-20 09:39:20 AM

thurstonxhowell: Bendal: /they want a return to the Wild West days
//everyone armed to the teeth, and the women stayed home and in the kitchen

In the "Wild West", you had to check your guns with the sheriff when you went to town.


Sure, once civilization reached a certain point. The Conservative Gun Lovers want to go back in time a bit further though, when every man was a law unto himself, because He Carried a Gun. That's what the GOP and the NRA wants; everyone armed at all times.
 
2012-12-20 09:39:30 AM

Fast Moon: God dammit, what is it with the conservative obsession with victim-blaming? It's like criminals are just this force of nature who we neither can nor should do anything about and who are in no way culpable for their actions. Everything bad happens because the victims (especially if they're women) did something wrong. "If only they'd been armed". "If only they hadn't been girls". "If only they'd been smart enough to do this or that".

Fark that, it's "If only a nutcase hadn't decided to steal his mother's guns and take his frustrations out on a class of 6 year-olds." It's the criminal's fault. It's always the criminal's fault. It does not matter who the victim was, because the criminal is fully responsible for taking the impetus to act. We're obsessed with putting forward policies to prevent the creation of victims, but we're relatively silent concerning policies to prevent the creation of criminals.

(and if this person is trying to blame the feminization of society, try pointing out the gender of the vast majority of the shooters in these incidents. Although, their response would probably be along the lines, "That's because women don't have the guts to do something like this," like it's a bad thing)


I like the theory that some people cope with an incident like this by trying to rationalize how _they_ would never be in that situation because _they_ would do x, or wouldn't do y and certainly wouldn't be caught dead in place z. They're trying to figure out why that person died and they didn't and it makes it easier to cope with if the difference is something they can control.
 
2012-12-20 09:43:00 AM
MEN ARE BULLETPROOF
 
2012-12-20 09:44:31 AM
did anyone mention how punchable this face is?
cdn03.cdnwp.thefrisky.com
 
2012-12-20 09:45:38 AM

LouDobbsAwaaaay: thurstonxhowell: Bendal: /they want a return to the Wild West days
//everyone armed to the teeth, and the women stayed home and in the kitchen

In the "Wild West", you had to check your guns with the sheriff when you went to town.

And in the "Wild Wild West", you had to check your reputation with the director when you went to commit career-suicide in a movie where Will Smith raps at the end.


And this is the worst post in this thread, because you not only reminded me about that damnable movie but also that insipid song!
 
2012-12-20 09:46:31 AM

born_yesterday: LouDobbsAwaaaay: thurstonxhowell: Bendal: /they want a return to the Wild West days
//everyone armed to the teeth, and the women stayed home and in the kitchen

In the "Wild West", you had to check your guns with the sheriff when you went to town.

And in the "Wild Wild West", you had to check your reputation with the director when you went to commit career-suicide in a movie where Will Smith raps at the end.

And this is the worst post in this thread, because you not only reminded me about that damnable movie but also that insipid song!


if you ban giant mechanical death spiders only outlaws will have giant mechanical death spiders
 
2012-12-20 09:48:47 AM

gabethegoat: did anyone mention how punchable this face is?
[cdn03.cdnwp.thefrisky.com image 220x165]


Well of course she thinks its easy to take down a mad gunman in an elementary school. She could just put on The Precious and tackle him from the cover of invisibility, before returning to the cave for a juicy fish.
 
2012-12-20 09:49:36 AM

gabethegoat: did anyone mention how punchable this face is?
[cdn03.cdnwp.thefrisky.com image 220x165]


She'd be annoyed at her husband's passivity if he didn't mention it every night.
 
2012-12-20 09:52:48 AM
I blame liberals.
 
2012-12-20 09:52:53 AM

nmrsnr: Dusk-You-n-Me: nmrsnr:

1) Sandy Hook is a K-4 school, so no 11-12 year old boys.


You're assuming all the boys in there haven't flunked any grades, or weren't born late. There could be 11 year old boys in the 4th grade, if one were born late, and flunked 1 time.
 
2012-12-20 09:54:20 AM

LouDobbsAwaaaay: Don't Troll Me Bro!: Coco LaFemme: Apos: The fact that a woman is spouting such misogynistic claptrap is mind-boggling.

I sadly know a few women who honestly believe men are better than women, and that they should be subject to their husbands.  What's funny is that none of them are particularly religious.

I met some of them during the recall effort last winter. Basically they didn't want to sign the recall petition because important stuff like that should be left up to the men. Sad.

Conservative women are often indistinguishable from women suffering from Battered Wife Syndrome.


I had one who asked me if the record would be made public. I told her "yes." She said that she would but she didn't want her husband to find out. It wasn't too uncommon for people to be afraid to sign it because they were afraid of backlash, understandably with all the violent rhetoric being hurled around by the herp-derpers, but that one was afraid of the consequences of her husband finding out. farking sad.
 
2012-12-20 09:56:44 AM

PhiloeBedoe: i1079.photobucket.com


I bet the young 'uns don't know this picture.

/Get off my lawn.
 
2012-12-20 09:57:54 AM

CapeFearCadaver: Hey, Charlotte Allen, come here for a second, I got something to say to you. Imma let you finish... but I wanna show you something real quick

[encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com image 200x251]


Too bad none of the feminized people at the school had one of these. You seem to prove the writer's point.
 
2012-12-20 10:00:22 AM

gabethegoat: did anyone mention how punchable this face is?
[cdn03.cdnwp.thefrisky.com image 220x165]


Punchable? Dude, that mug looks like it's seen more action than any speedbag in any boxing gym in the US.
 
Displayed 50 of 426 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report