If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Hollywood Reporter)   Bret Easton Ellis has heard your complaints about his Kathryn Bigelow rant, and he wishes to offer a response: "Get the fark over it'   (hollywoodreporter.com) divider line 69
    More: Followup, Bret Easton Ellis, Kathryn Bigelow, Ellen Barkin, New York Film Critics Circle, Mary Harron, Les Miserables, The Hurt Locker, National Board of Review  
•       •       •

2268 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 07 Dec 2012 at 3:06 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



69 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-12-07 12:40:01 PM  
say whaaa? bret easton ellis a jerk who hates everyone but himself? that's like saying hp lovecraft was a racist misogynist.
who knew??

/that said, i love both of their books, personalities aside.
//luna park is my favorite.
 
2012-12-07 12:50:31 PM  
As for Ellis, the American Psycho scribe has been working on The Canyons, an indie film starring Lindsay Lohan and porn star James Deen.

There's the only reason you need to not have to listen to this windbag.
 
2012-12-07 12:54:37 PM  
Rich white men are oppressed again.
 
2012-12-07 01:07:42 PM  
Wowee, I actually know that other Twitter dude.  Glad to see his writing career took off.
 
2012-12-07 01:11:31 PM  

The My Little Pony Killer: As for Ellis, the American Psycho scribe has been working on The Canyons, an indie film starring Lindsay Lohan and porn star James Deen.

There's the only reason you need to not have to listen to this windbag.


I've never seen his work, but James Deen's Twitter is pretty funny sometimes.
 
2012-12-07 01:14:46 PM  
This is my favorite part: "The only time I felt a woman director deserved the Oscar was Sofia Coppola for Lost In Translation because it had a no bullshiat female tone."

Because when I watched Lost in Translation I was smothered in lonely female angst. So he's clearly crazy.
 
2012-12-07 01:14:47 PM  

AdolfOliverPanties: The My Little Pony Killer: As for Ellis, the American Psycho scribe has been working on The Canyons, an indie film starring Lindsay Lohan and porn star James Deen.

There's the only reason you need to not have to listen to this windbag.

I've never seen his work, but James Deen's Twitter is pretty funny sometimes.


I should have cut off the last portion of that sentence. I have no idea who James Deen is but I certainly have nothing against the guy.
 
2012-12-07 01:16:54 PM  

sweetmelissa31: Rich white men are oppressed again.


that's what i like about his books. yeah, everyone's a rich white guy with no farking reason to be oppressed. but they feel that way. and they know it's petty and farked up and yet they still continue to live a lie.
luna park, read it.
 
2012-12-07 01:32:45 PM  

talulahgosh: say whaaa? bret easton ellis a jerk who hates everyone but himself?


No, I'm pretty sure he hates himself, too.
 
2012-12-07 02:05:31 PM  
Bret Easton Ellis is the most overrated author since J.D. Salinger. Or Jack Kerouac. Whatever. I hate all three of them.

What a misogynistic douche. If you really want to bag on Bigelow's Oscar, you'd have a better shot suggesting that it was a result of the Hollywood in-crowd choosing her side against her ex-husband, James Cameron, who was nominated for Avatar.

Not that I believe that.
 
2012-12-07 02:25:20 PM  
More female supremacist nonsense. If the roles were reversed and some woman said to Ellis that he only got where he was because he's a man -then he would be expected to suck it up and get over it. But how dare you criticize the gender elite.
 
2012-12-07 03:14:48 PM  
American Psycho is still a godawful book. Hilarious movie, terrible book.
 
2012-12-07 03:16:03 PM  
"Bret Easton Ellis"

Breast-icles
 
2012-12-07 03:19:45 PM  
And, because I will always post this, in every single Bret Easton Ellis thread until he shuffles off this mortal coil: http://tigerbeatdown.com/2011/08/09/landmarks-of-lady-hate-presents-a m erican-psycho-or-despite-all-my-rage-i-am-still-just-a-rat-in-a-vagina /

"That movie, for what it's worth, is almost completely responsible for restoring the much-damaged reputation of Psycho itself. And when you watch it directly after reading the book, it's clear why that happened: They chopped the novel apart and surgically extracted everything that was embarrassing or bad. Harron and Turner removed most of the gore and vagina torture. Harron specifically decreed that the sex workers Bateman hired would not be orgasmic. The screenplay toned down the obnoxiousness of Evelyn, and gave the other women visible personalities. Jean is allowed to stay out of a relationship with Bateman, to discover what he is, and to be appropriately revolted by it. Practically every scene in the movie is presented in a different order than it was in the book, to give the illusion of forward momentum; 75% of the book's dialogue and content has been removed. And, unbelievably, there are decent jokes in there. Almost every laugh you get from the movie was either invented by Harron and Turner (or Christian Bale, who has never been more delightful in a movie) or created by substantially altering the book itself. The fact that Bateman inflicts his terrible bateman.tumblr.com record reviews on people before farking and/or killing them? Harron and Turner did that. They moved the order of the record reviews, which in the book always come directly after a gory chapter. The fact that Christian Bale won't stop checking himself out during sex? Harron and Turner. Bateman yelling "not the face" when a woman attempts to fight him off? Ellisly enough, that was originally a joke ("joke") about a vain woman, who was fine with her boyfriend beating her up as long as her face wasn't affected; it became a joke about Bateman's vanity because of Harron and Turner. Everything, everything, every decent laugh in the movie, anything that looks like satire, anything you liked: Harron and Turner did that. You know. Because film is really a medium that is best suited for men."
 
2012-12-07 03:21:21 PM  

Genevieve Marie: American Psycho is still a godawful book. Hilarious movie, terrible book.


I contend that it was intended to be. Somewhat meta. Consider the number of people who, when confronted with the truly disgusting, just pretended it was okey dokey.

The urinal mint dipped in chocolate. "It's...minty." The realtor who was clearly aware of the horrors that occurred in the apartment she was showing. Pretended it never happened. His fawning over terrible Phil Collins music.

I've long said the book was a challenge to critics. "Eat this crap and tell me it's delicious." And many did.
 
2012-12-07 03:26:34 PM  

Diogenes: Genevieve Marie: American Psycho is still a godawful book. Hilarious movie, terrible book.

I contend that it was intended to be. Somewhat meta. Consider the number of people who, when confronted with the truly disgusting, just pretended it was okey dokey.

The urinal mint dipped in chocolate. "It's...minty." The realtor who was clearly aware of the horrors that occurred in the apartment she was showing. Pretended it never happened. His fawning over terrible Phil Collins music.

I've long said the book was a challenge to critics. "Eat this crap and tell me it's delicious." And many did.


I would maybe agree with that analysis if Bret Easton Ellis had ever exhibited any sign that there's some self-awareness kicking around in his brain somewhere.

But I mean... based on a lot of evidence that Bret Easton Ellis is in fact, a really terrible person who doesn't contribute anything of value to any conversation ever, I think it's fair to deduce that his books are just really terrible.
 
 
2012-12-07 03:29:19 PM  

Genevieve Marie: I would maybe agree with that analysis if Bret Easton Ellis had ever exhibited any sign that there's some self-awareness kicking around in his brain somewhere.

But I mean... based on a lot of evidence that Bret Easton Ellis is in fact, a really terrible person who doesn't contribute anything of value to any conversation ever, I think it's fair to deduce that his books are just really terrible.


Just offering a thought. I wouldn't dare challenge that final analysis ;-)
 
2012-12-07 03:30:17 PM  

Genevieve Marie: And, because I will always post this, in every single Bret Easton Ellis thread until he shuffles off this mortal coil: http://tigerbeatdown.com/2011/08/09/landmarks-of-lady-hate-presents-a m erican-psycho-or-despite-all-my-rage-i-am-still-just-a-rat-in-a-vagina /

"That movie, for what it's worth, is almost completely responsible for restoring the much-damaged reputation of Psycho itself. And when you watch it directly after reading the book, it's clear why that happened: They chopped the novel apart and surgically extracted everything that was embarrassing or bad. Harron and Turner removed most of the gore and vagina torture. Harron specifically decreed that the sex workers Bateman hired would not be orgasmic. The screenplay toned down the obnoxiousness of Evelyn, and gave the other women visible personalities. Jean is allowed to stay out of a relationship with Bateman, to discover what he is, and to be appropriately revolted by it. Practically every scene in the movie is presented in a different order than it was in the book, to give the illusion of forward momentum; 75% of the book's dialogue and content has been removed. And, unbelievably, there are decent jokes in there. Almost every laugh you get from the movie was either invented by Harron and Turner (or Christian Bale, who has never been more delightful in a movie) or created by substantially altering the book itself. The fact that Bateman inflicts his terrible bateman.tumblr.com record reviews on people before farking and/or killing them? Harron and Turner did that. They moved the order of the record reviews, which in the book always come directly after a gory chapter. The fact that Christian Bale won't stop checking himself out during sex? Harron and Turner. Bateman yelling "not the face" when a woman attempts to fight him off? Ellisly enough, that was originally a joke ("joke") about a vain woman, who was fine with her boyfriend beating her up as long as her face wasn't affected; it became a joke about B ...


I have a friend who's a feminist, she was offended by the movie sin city and anything that shows misogyny, but bret easton ellis is her fav author. everytime i bring this stuff up she says that his twitter feeds are just satire and that he does it to be ironic. Do you think there's any validity to that? is he a great troll, a jerk, or a jerk troll. i cant figure it out
 
2012-12-07 03:31:59 PM  

Diogenes: Genevieve Marie: American Psycho is still a godawful book. Hilarious movie, terrible book.

I contend that it was intended to be. Somewhat meta. Consider the number of people who, when confronted with the truly disgusting, just pretended it was okey dokey.

The urinal mint dipped in chocolate. "It's...minty." The realtor who was clearly aware of the horrors that occurred in the apartment she was showing. Pretended it never happened. His fawning over terrible Phil Collins music.

I've long said the book was a challenge to critics. "Eat this crap and tell me it's delicious." And many did.


Do you like Huey Lewis and The News?
 
2012-12-07 03:32:09 PM  

gittlebass: that his twitter feeds are just satire and that he does it to be ironic. Do you think there's any validity to that? is he a great troll, a jerk, or a jerk troll. i cant figure it out


I'm not sure why she'd think that? His interviews are the same. If his whole persona is a joke, it's a remarkably long running and consistent one.

If Bret Easton Ellis is a closet feminist, Rush Limbaugh is secretly a socialist progressive.
 
2012-12-07 03:33:27 PM  
I don't like his nihilism.
 
2012-12-07 03:34:08 PM  

Genevieve Marie: gittlebass: that his twitter feeds are just satire and that he does it to be ironic. Do you think there's any validity to that? is he a great troll, a jerk, or a jerk troll. i cant figure it out

I'm not sure why she'd think that? His interviews are the same. If his whole persona is a joke, it's a remarkably long running and consistent one.

If Bret Easton Ellis is a closet feminist, Rush Limbaugh is secretly a socialist progressive.


It blows my mind, i dont know if maybe she's just such a fan of his work that she'd let it slide. it perplexes me
 
2012-12-07 03:36:22 PM  

FishyFred: Bret Easton Ellis is the most overrated author since J.D. Salinger. Or Jack Kerouac. Whatever. I hate all three of them.


Bret Easton Ellis makes Kerouac look like mother farking Shakespeare.
 
2012-12-07 03:36:28 PM  

gittlebass: Genevieve Marie: gittlebass: that his twitter feeds are just satire and that he does it to be ironic. Do you think there's any validity to that? is he a great troll, a jerk, or a jerk troll. i cant figure it out

I'm not sure why she'd think that? His interviews are the same. If his whole persona is a joke, it's a remarkably long running and consistent one.

If Bret Easton Ellis is a closet feminist, Rush Limbaugh is secretly a socialist progressive.

It blows my mind, i dont know if maybe she's just such a fan of his work that she'd let it slide. it perplexes me


It is a bit weird. Send her that link. See what she says.

I mean... feminists can love problematic literature and movies. I love a lot of things that I know aren't explicitly feminist or are even anti-feminist.

But uh... why anyone would love Bret Easton Ellis perplexes me. I just don't see it.
 
2012-12-07 03:40:49 PM  

Genevieve Marie: American Psycho is still a godawful book. Hilarious movie, terrible book.


I have an idea. LETS BAN IT.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Psycho#Controversy
 
2012-12-07 03:43:09 PM  

Because People in power are Stupid: Genevieve Marie: American Psycho is still a godawful book. Hilarious movie, terrible book.

I have an idea. LETS BAN IT.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Psycho#Controversy



Yea, the link I posted covered that already, thank you.
 
2012-12-07 03:43:53 PM  
I think it's a kind of black cynicism about today's world that Ellis and certain others depend on for their readership. Look, if the contemporary condition is hopelessly shiatty, insipid, materialistic, emotionally retarded, sadomasochistic, and stupid, then I (or any writer) can get away with slapping together stories with characters who are stupid, vapid, emotionally retarded, which is easy, because these sorts of characters require no development. With descriptions that are simply lists of brand-name consumer products. Where stupid people say insipid stuff to each other. If what's always distinguished bad writing-flat characters, a narrative world that's cliched and not recognizably human, etc.-is also a description of today's world, then bad writing becomes an ingenious mimesis of a bad world. If readers simply believe the world is stupid and shallow and mean, then Ellis can write a mean shallow stupid novel that becomes a mordant deadpan commentary on the badness of everything. Look man, we'd probably most of us agree that these are dark times, and stupid ones, but do we need fiction that does nothing but dramatize how dark and stupid everything is? In dark times, the definition of good art would seem to be art that locates and applies CPR to those elements of what's human and magical that still live and glow despite the times' darkness. Really good fiction could have as dark a worldview as it wished, but it'd find a way both to depict this world and to illuminate the possibilities for being alive and human in it. You can defend Psycho as being a sort of performative digest of late-eighties social problems, but it's no more than that.

-- David Foster Wallace
 
2012-12-07 03:44:02 PM  
I freely admit to being a sexist dick, but that's a bit much, Bret.
 
2012-12-07 03:48:11 PM  

sweetmelissa31: Rich white men are oppressed again.


biatching about the perceived patriarchy is both effective and a desirable quality.
 
2012-12-07 03:49:47 PM  

Genevieve Marie: And, because I will always post this, in every single Bret Easton Ellis thread until he shuffles off this mortal coil: http://tigerbeatdown.com/2011/08/09/landmarks-of-lady-hate-presents-a m erican-psycho-or-despite-all-my-rage-i-am-still-just-a-rat-in-a-vagina /

"That movie, for what it's worth, is almost completely responsible for restoring the much-damaged reputation of Psycho itself. And when you watch it directly after reading the book, it's clear why that happened: They chopped the novel apart and surgically extracted everything that was embarrassing or bad. Harron and Turner removed most of the gore and vagina torture. Harron specifically decreed that the sex workers Bateman hired would not be orgasmic. The screenplay toned down the obnoxiousness of Evelyn, and gave the other women visible personalities. Jean is allowed to stay out of a relationship with Bateman, to discover what he is, and to be appropriately revolted by it. Practically every scene in the movie is presented in a different order than it was in the book, to give the illusion of forward momentum; 75% of the book's dialogue and content has been removed. And, unbelievably, there are decent jokes in there. Almost every laugh you get from the movie was either invented by Harron and Turner (or Christian Bale, who has never been more delightful in a movie) or created by substantially altering the book itself. The fact that Bateman inflicts his terrible bateman.tumblr.com record reviews on people before farking and/or killing them? Harron and Turner did that. They moved the order of the record reviews, which in the book always come directly after a gory chapter. The fact that Christian Bale won't stop checking himself out during sex? Harron and Turner. Bateman yelling "not the face" when a woman attempts to fight him off? Ellisly enough, that was originally a joke ("joke") about a vain woman, who was fine with her boyfriend beating her up as long as her face wasn't affected; it became a joke about B ...


... I had no idea.

/cool to know, thanks!
 
2012-12-07 03:51:09 PM  

Genevieve Marie: gittlebass: Genevieve Marie: gittlebass: that his twitter feeds are just satire and that he does it to be ironic. Do you think there's any validity to that? is he a great troll, a jerk, or a jerk troll. i cant figure it out

I'm not sure why she'd think that? His interviews are the same. If his whole persona is a joke, it's a remarkably long running and consistent one.

If Bret Easton Ellis is a closet feminist, Rush Limbaugh is secretly a socialist progressive.

It blows my mind, i dont know if maybe she's just such a fan of his work that she'd let it slide. it perplexes me

It is a bit weird. Send her that link. See what she says.

I mean... feminists can love problematic literature and movies. I love a lot of things that I know aren't explicitly feminist or are even anti-feminist.

But uh... why anyone would love Bret Easton Ellis perplexes me. I just don't see it.


He went to Bennington College in the mid 80s. Everything he thinks, does or says is made of irony, steeped in satire and rolled in meta. Also, a good portion of his brain has probably been destroyed by coke and heroin - so there's that too. He's just an old Bennington Boy that thinks he's smarter than he actually is.
 
2012-12-07 03:54:12 PM  
People need to say get the fark over it more when you express an opinion, doesnt mean it wont ever change but doesnt mean they are wrong either.
 
2012-12-07 03:55:06 PM  

sadbad: Genevieve Marie: gittlebass: Genevieve Marie: gittlebass: that his twitter feeds are just satire and that he does it to be ironic. Do you think there's any validity to that? is he a great troll, a jerk, or a jerk troll. i cant figure it out

I'm not sure why she'd think that? His interviews are the same. If his whole persona is a joke, it's a remarkably long running and consistent one.

If Bret Easton Ellis is a closet feminist, Rush Limbaugh is secretly a socialist progressive.

It blows my mind, i dont know if maybe she's just such a fan of his work that she'd let it slide. it perplexes me

It is a bit weird. Send her that link. See what she says.

I mean... feminists can love problematic literature and movies. I love a lot of things that I know aren't explicitly feminist or are even anti-feminist.

But uh... why anyone would love Bret Easton Ellis perplexes me. I just don't see it.

He went to Bennington College in the mid 80s. Everything he thinks, does or says is made of irony, steeped in satire and rolled in meta. Also, a good portion of his brain has probably been destroyed by coke and heroin - so there's that too. He's just an old Bennington Boy that thinks he's smarter than he actually is.


minus the coke, herion, and the prep school, you described 99.9 percent of Farkers.
 
2012-12-07 03:56:10 PM  
I highly recommend the short story "Girl with Curious Hair" by David Foster Wallace where he basically lampoons BEE's work. It's about a 80s rich young Republican yuppie psychopath who takes acid with his girlfriend and goes to a Keith Jarrett concert. It just drones on and on about how the main character feels nothing to the point where he can't enjoy his privileged life and/or his drugs and/or sex with his girlfriend (unless he's inflicting pain on her). Like clockwork, BEE released American Psycho about a year later that basically followed DFW's satirical short story to a tee.
 
2012-12-07 03:58:14 PM  

hulk hogan meat shoes: biatching about the perceived patriarchy is both effective and a desirable quality.


Get back to b*tching about the matriarchy.
 
2012-12-07 03:58:17 PM  

Genevieve Marie: Because People in power are Stupid: Genevieve Marie: American Psycho is still a godawful book. Hilarious movie, terrible book.

I have an idea. LETS BAN IT.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Psycho#Controversy


Yea, the link I posted covered that already, thank you.


Your link didn't cover that American Psycho was a work of genius. If you didn't like it perhaps it's because you didn't understand it. Bateman was an enemy of women as were his idols Oliver North and Ronald Reagan.... but that is the blatantly obvious metaphor. If you didn't like the graphic violence (or only because there were female victims) maybe you should stick to other works of fiction like The Beauty Myth
 
2012-12-07 03:58:27 PM  

gittlebass: I have a friend who's a feminist, she was offended by the movie sin city and anything that shows misogyny, but bret easton ellis is her fav author. everytime i bring this stuff up she says that his twitter feeds are just satire and that he does it to be ironic. Do you think there's any validity to that? is he a great troll, a jerk, or a jerk troll. i cant figure it out


Let me put this way - if you spend all your time pretending to be an asshole in order to get a rise out of people, the you're not really pretending, you are an asshole.

Alternate headline: "Self important, talentless douche assuages his wounded ego by pretending that criticism of his assholishness doesn'tt really hurt his feelings, vows to continue assholish behavior."
 
2012-12-07 04:00:25 PM  
Charlie Rose was interviewing her this morning and they were talking about the inclusion of water boarding in the film. He referred to it as torture and she, very seriously, countered with "enhanced interrogation". This instantly made me think that she's a total farking idiot.
 
2012-12-07 04:04:10 PM  
No mention of the death threats from femenists, all because a few pages were leaked to the press, and the matriarchy assumed it was a book consumed with torturing and murdering women. His comments are best on it.

Months before the book was published, a few pages of the manuscript were leaked to the media, and these were the pages in which Patrick Bateman kills women, or fantasizes about killing women. The critics who read these pages naturally assumed they were representative of the whole book, and so a lot of outraged reviews and editorials started appearing in The New York Times-an essay in the Book Review attacking me, an op-ed by Lorrie Moore, and on and on and on. "What has society come to when a book like this can be published by a responsible publisher like Simon and Schuster?" And keep in mind, these weren't right-wing conservatives attacking me. These were "well-meaning" liberals, primarily feminists. I wasn't a misogynist when I wrote the book, but the unearned feminist hysteria briefly turned me into one.
 
2012-12-07 04:05:21 PM  

Because People in power are Stupid: Your link didn't cover that American Psycho was a work of genius. If you didn't like it perhaps it's because you didn't understand it. Bateman was an enemy of women as were his idols Oliver North and Ronald Reagan.... but that is the blatantly obvious metaphor. If you didn't like the graphic violence (or only because there were female victims) maybe you should stick to other works of fiction like The Beauty Myth



Not sure if serious, but think probably are, in which case... aww, honey. It's really ok. Women are mostly pretty nice when you get to know us.

 
 
2012-12-07 04:09:11 PM  

Genevieve Marie: Because People in power are Stupid: Your link didn't cover that American Psycho was a work of genius. If you didn't like it perhaps it's because you didn't understand it. Bateman was an enemy of women as were his idols Oliver North and Ronald Reagan.... but that is the blatantly obvious metaphor. If you didn't like the graphic violence (or only because there were female victims) maybe you should stick to other works of fiction like The Beauty Myth


Not sure if serious, but think probably are, in which case... aww, honey. It's really ok. Women are mostly pretty nice when you get to know us.


Slippery slope fallacy -any criticism of your dumb philosophy is an attack against ALL women.
 
2012-12-07 04:13:11 PM  
I'm not sure something else had to be going on for Bigelow to win an Oscar for that trite piece of shiat called a movie. That's pretty much the standard type of film to give an Oscar for these days, isn't it?
 
2012-12-07 04:14:30 PM  

Because People in power are Stupid: Slippery slope fallacy -any criticism of your dumb philosophy is an attack against ALL women.


You sound mad.

And lonely.

I'll bet you're a real nice guy, tho, amirite?
 
2012-12-07 04:17:13 PM  

InmanRoshi: I think it's a kind of black cynicism about today's world that Ellis and certain others depend on for their readership. Look, if the contemporary condition is hopelessly shiatty, insipid, materialistic, emotionally retarded, sadomasochistic, and stupid, then I (or any writer) can get away with slapping together stories with characters who are stupid, vapid, emotionally retarded, which is easy, because these sorts of characters require no development. With descriptions that are simply lists of brand-name consumer products. Where stupid people say insipid stuff to each other. If what's always distinguished bad writing-flat characters, a narrative world that's cliched and not recognizably human, etc.-is also a description of today's world, then bad writing becomes an ingenious mimesis of a bad world. If readers simply believe the world is stupid and shallow and mean, then Ellis can write a mean shallow stupid novel that becomes a mordant deadpan commentary on the badness of everything. Look man, we'd probably most of us agree that these are dark times, and stupid ones, but do we need fiction that does nothing but dramatize how dark and stupid everything is? In dark times, the definition of good art would seem to be art that locates and applies CPR to those elements of what's human and magical that still live and glow despite the times' darkness. Really good fiction could have as dark a worldview as it wished, but it'd find a way both to depict this world and to illuminate the possibilities for being alive and human in it. You can defend Psycho as being a sort of performative digest of late-eighties social problems, but it's no more than that.

-- David Foster Wallace


I am graduate creative writer about a semester away from a Thesis project and occasionally I am able to write a cute short story or create a character that can hold some passing interest but the hardest part of trying to reign in my inner critic which, maybe deservedly so, considers me to be a fraud is having to read such an astute criticism on the arts and aesthetics in general. I don't have anywhere near the ability to pontificate with such reason and force. Thanks for reminding me how much of a fraud i am jerk. DFW was an awesome artist.
 
2012-12-07 04:23:26 PM  

Diogenes: No, I'm pretty sure he hates himself, too.


Aging bitter queen would be the phrase I would use.

/which twink is he fark'n this week
 
2012-12-07 04:23:26 PM  
I have no idea what any of this is about so I'll just point out that Bret Easton Ellis is an enormously overrated hack and the only reason that he's even known is that people made a huge fuss out of one of his crappy books and gave him a bunch of sales he didn't deserve.
 
2012-12-07 04:27:37 PM  
i love bret easton ellis. the fact that so many argue over his work is a sign--good literature should make you feel something, even if it's anger.


/this thread has been hijacked by hipsters.
//no, i have not read infinite jest.
 
2012-12-07 04:32:06 PM  

Ctrl-Alt-Del: Because People in power are Stupid: Slippery slope fallacy -any criticism of your dumb philosophy is an attack against ALL women.

You sound mad.

And lonely.

I'll bet you're a real nice guy, tho, amirite?


Mad, not particularly. Lonely -also not really.

Nice? Could care less...

But I get what your saying. Anyone who challenges nutty feminist dogma must be an angry white male isolated in Mom's basement somewhere.

Ha! That's funny and original.

Here's what I think of you:

upload.wikimedia.org
 
2012-12-07 04:34:10 PM  

gingerjet: Diogenes: No, I'm pretty sure he hates himself, too.

Aging bitter queen would be the phrase I would use.

/which twink is he fark'n this week


Unmitigated bore is really the first thing that comes to mind when I hear his name.

Oh, what's that? Bret Easton Ellis has said yet another outrageous thing?

Ho farking hum.

Is he a douchebag? Well, yeah, he is, but that's not really important. His trolling is mediocre, his writing is tedious, and his "outrageous antics" are just recycled Ann Coulter with a better vocabulary.
 
2012-12-07 04:43:28 PM  

BalugaJoe: I don't like his nihilism.


I'm indifferent.
 
Displayed 50 of 69 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report