If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Entertainmentwise)   Moviegoers complain that previews of "The Hobbit" are moving their heads there and back again   (entertainmentwise.com) divider line 83
    More: Scary, The Hobbit, Peter Jackon, moviegoers, Girls Aloud, mixed martial arts, Chateau Marmont, Bryan Singer, Seth MacFarlane  
•       •       •

10451 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 02 Dec 2012 at 7:51 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



83 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-12-02 05:05:00 PM
Looks like I'll be seeing that in 2D.
 
2012-12-02 05:47:32 PM
I could never handle 3D anyway. And I look stupid wearing two pairs of glasses just so I can get a migraine.
 
2012-12-02 06:14:43 PM
No Smog previews? I'm dizzy.
 
2012-12-02 07:17:59 PM
I think most people are going to talk out of that movie feeling like they've just watched a very expensive soap opera.
 
2012-12-02 07:56:17 PM
Meh. Wasn't planning on seeing it in 3D anyway.
 
2012-12-02 07:58:33 PM

Because People in power are Stupid: No Smog Smaug previews? I'm dizzy.


FTFA
 
2012-12-02 08:04:14 PM
BS, i was at a conference session about high frame rate cinema this summer. Thousand of people watched 2 hours of 48, 96, 120 fps and mixed fps clips in 3d and there were no issues. Not sure how fewer temporal aliasing artifacts equals headaches or the look of a soap opera.
 
2012-12-02 08:10:08 PM
Yeah...Im kinda confused about how it will resemble a soap opera.
 
2012-12-02 08:10:46 PM
I bet for every one of these whiny pussies, there were 25 people who had no issues whatsoever.
 
2012-12-02 08:12:41 PM
I will never see a movie in 3D again. It adds nothing of value to the experience, and often takes away from things that do.
 
2012-12-02 08:22:08 PM
Can't see 3D. So I don't care.

/With that said, I'm glad I saw the 3D Tron:Legacy. Sound system in that theatre was so much better.
 
2012-12-02 08:24:24 PM
I have midnight tickets to a 2D showing, strictly because I want it to blend with my current Middle Earth experiences. My second viewing will absolutely be in HFR 3D. Even if I hate it, which I doubt, I have to see what all the fuss is about.
 
2012-12-02 08:25:54 PM

melewen: Meh. Wasn't planning on seeing it in 3D anyway.


Rent Party: I will never see a movie in 3D again. It adds nothing of value to the experience, and often takes away from things that do.


I was excited about taking my dad (who introduced me to the novels) to see this at the Imax. Then I saw 3D was the only Imax option. No thanks.

This idiotic 3D fad needs to die again, and die quickly.
 
2012-12-02 08:27:29 PM
I don't doubt that 3D can make someone sick..3D would probably make me sick at 48 or 24 frames...

But, let's read the article again:
The Sunday Times spoke to one 'avid Middle Earth fan'

Then, no one else is mentioned except the guy who liked the experience.

And the headline?:
"Sick And Dizzy' Cinema-Goers Complain After Watching Previews Of The Hobbit" 
 
2012-12-02 08:41:27 PM
Thanks for the heads-up. 5 minutes into "The Avengers" in 3D, and I had a pretty visual migraine to help with the explosions on-screen.
 
2012-12-02 08:42:11 PM

flamingboar: I could never handle 3D anyway. And I look stupid wearing two pairs of glasses just so I can get a migraine.


Yeah, this.

Someday, filmmakers are going to realize some of us still wear glasses. Like, you know, the maker of this film.
 
2012-12-02 08:49:58 PM
And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.
 
2012-12-02 08:53:21 PM

GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.


Because you touch yourself at night.
 
2012-12-02 08:56:03 PM

GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.


Maybe you missed the gigantic farking eye that would have seen the swarm of eagles carrying something in? Or the legions of orcs, many of them with weaponry to hit things in the sky? Or the flying Nazgul that would have intercepted the ring?

The whole point of sending in Frodo was because he was small, and sending a small band into hell was an unheard of idea.
 
2012-12-02 08:59:13 PM

GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.


Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.
 
2012-12-02 09:19:08 PM
Oh dear. I've been okay with 3D movies but seeing Two Towers in IMAX made me ill. Between the astigmatisms and motion sickness, I should probably stay away from 3D Hobbit.
 
2012-12-02 09:41:51 PM
When I first saw a demo of 48fps, and saw that one of the most noticible things was the lack of a motion blur on sweeping or tracking camera shots, I figured that might be the thing that causes people problems. Looks like I may be right.
 
2012-12-02 10:14:37 PM

Critch: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Maybe you missed the gigantic farking eye that would have seen the swarm of eagles carrying something in? Or the legions of orcs, many of them with weaponry to hit things in the sky? Or the flying Nazgul that would have intercepted the ring?

The whole point of sending in Frodo was because he was small, and sending a small band into hell was an unheard of idea.


Lord Binky: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.



They could have sent a baby eagle then, like the size of a pigeon. Nobody would have noticed that.
Dye its feathers black so it could fly in the dark.
 
2012-12-02 10:18:08 PM
You know what actually resembles a soap opera is when they shove a microphone down the actor's pants so you hear every stupid rustle and creak on set. That is not going to happen in a movie where they re-dub all the sound post-production.
 
2012-12-02 10:21:05 PM

DontMakeMeComeBackThere: When I first saw a demo of 48fps, and saw that one of the most noticible things was the lack of a motion blur on sweeping or tracking camera shots, I figured that might be the thing that causes people problems. Looks like I may be right.



I think it's more of a temporary adjustement problem. I've come across this headachey effect from US people who usually view their tvs on the NTSC system (allmost 30 frames) and then viewing the PAL (25 frames) system on holiday - they see a slight strobey effect which messes with their fragile little minds. They soon get used to it.
 
2012-12-02 10:24:18 PM

Lord Binky: Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows


When the Eagles show up at the Black Gate, they are described as flying in long lines. There were not the bare handful of the movies, but several hundred, if not several thousand. You could easily have them fly very high until they were near Mount Doom, then drop toward it en masse. The Nazgul wouldn't even begin to be able to pick out the one Eagle with the Ring,

Even if we accept the Eagles can't do it, sending Frodo et al was supremely stupid. "We need to send a small force into Mordor on an important mission to defeat Sauron - let's make 4/9 of the team a bunch of country-bumpkin midgets with the combined survivalist/military skills of a baby parakeet - and we can also add in the guy so obviously meglomaniacal and back-stabbing even the clueless parakeet-midgets could see it. This plan can't lose!" Tolkien had to shoehorn in so much fol-de-rol about hobbits being special, super-good, well-nigh-Original-Sin-less perfect and special plead for them to be the only ones that the Ring couldn't sully that you felt he was trying to feel up God by proxy. If we took Tolkien's direction for other stories, the Dirty Dozen would have to include a Bieber, Forrest Gump, Corky Thacher, and Mr. Popo.
 
2012-12-02 10:24:28 PM

DontMakeMeComeBackThere: When I first saw a demo of 48fps, and saw that one of the most noticible things was the lack of a motion blur on sweeping or tracking camera shots, I figured that might be the thing that causes people problems. Looks like I may be right.


Is that the same thing that happens with the relatively new tv's with the higher refresh rates? I got a new Samsung last year that had that capability. Turned it on for about 5 minutes and turned it right back off, and I can tell whenever I'm at somebody else's house watching tv and they have that enabled.

Is it simply that I've spent so many years watching blurry camera movement, or is the human eye not able to track like that IRL so it looks wrong when you see it on a tv or movie screen?
 
2012-12-02 10:27:40 PM

Eddie Ate Dynamite: DontMakeMeComeBackThere: When I first saw a demo of 48fps, and saw that one of the most noticible things was the lack of a motion blur on sweeping or tracking camera shots, I figured that might be the thing that causes people problems. Looks like I may be right.

Is that the same thing that happens with the relatively new tv's with the higher refresh rates? I got a new Samsung last year that had that capability. Turned it on for about 5 minutes and turned it right back off, and I can tell whenever I'm at somebody else's house watching tv and they have that enabled.

Is it simply that I've spent so many years watching blurry camera movement, or is the human eye not able to track like that IRL so it looks wrong when you see it on a tv or movie screen?


Bingo and bingo
 
2012-12-02 10:38:34 PM

phalamir: country-bumpkin midgets


You must have missed the part about how the ring exerts control over people and the hobbits' gentle nature allows them a measure of protection. People who would face certain death for a hopeless venture couldn't be trusted with something that was a machine designed to take away the willpower of man. Frodo was also well-read and smart among hobbits.

The eagles just wouldn't have done it, they aren't your biatch. Mount Doom isn't one of those sacrifice the virgin volcanoes anyway. Frodo and Sam had to travel for a few DAYS to reach the lava.
 
2012-12-02 10:39:09 PM

Lord Binky: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.


Smaug was the last great dragon.
 
2012-12-02 10:47:39 PM

meyerkev: Can't see 3D. So I don't care.

/With that said, I'm glad I saw the 3D Tron:Legacy. Sound system in that theatre was so much better.


Leela?
 
2012-12-02 10:58:51 PM
This article is not a repeat of the initial complaints regarding Avatar's 3D system and induced viewer motion sickness, because studios have learned that lesson since it obviously affected that movie's box office income.

/j/k it's the same thing again.
//H'wood executives would design a viewing system that would give you dropsy, the vapors and a case of the clap that was more like a firehose provided it would also add another $100M to receipts
 
2012-12-02 10:59:37 PM

mat catastrophe: Lord Binky: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.

Smaug was the last great dragon.


Oh yeah? Well Legolas was not on The Hobbit!
 
2012-12-02 11:02:09 PM
Looks like shiat
 
2012-12-02 11:28:23 PM
They bought their tickets, they knew what they were getting themselves into.
 
2012-12-02 11:32:44 PM

Lord Binky: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.


THANK YOU! When people bring up this non-plot hole it ALWAYS drives me nuts.

Like whining about Joker's "plan" in Dark Knight, even though he repeatedly states he has no plan and is just going with what happens.

/if you're gonna try to sound smart pointing out plot holes
//it helps to actually BE smart
 
2012-12-03 12:04:08 AM
I remember hearing people threw up while watching Blair Witch Project. I like to refer to those people as pussies.
 
2012-12-03 12:10:10 AM
Meh, I'mma watch it in 2D *and* 3D *and* at a drive in for lulz.

Hell I'll watch the extended Director's Cut on 3D Smell-a-vision Blu-Ray when it comes out if it comes to that.

My precious, gives it to me.

/Been waiting for tommorow all of my life.
 
2012-12-03 12:12:46 AM

mat catastrophe: Lord Binky: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.

Smaug was the last great dragon.


I would have pointed that out, but I think he was thinking of the nameless winged steeds that the Nazgul use.
 
2012-12-03 12:22:48 AM

Empty Matchbook: Lord Binky: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.

THANK YOU! When people bring up this non-plot hole it ALWAYS drives me nuts.


Also anyone other than a Hobbit who possessed the ring would be possessed by it ultimately, the more power and magic they had the worse the effect.

See: Galdriel's rejection of the ring.

"You offer it to me freely. I do not deny that my heart has greatly desired this."

"In place of a Dark Lord, you would have a queen!"

"Not dark, but beautiful and terrible as the dawn! Treacherous as the sea!"

"Stronger than the foundations of the earth! All shall love me, and despair!"

"I pass the test! I will diminish, and go into the West, and remain Galadriel."

The One Ring was safe with Bilbo and Frodo because they were Hobbits. The Eagle may well have taken into his head to become an eagle god who wreaked terrible devastation in his wake.

Smeagol himself was a Stoor, one of the three branches of Hobbits and thus he was able to resist the Ring's evil magic for years longer than a human could but he still became it's victim.
 
2012-12-03 12:25:50 AM

Rent Party: I will never see a movie in 3D again. It adds nothing of value to the experience, and often takes away from things that do.


life of pi was the first movie in 3d that I felt was worth the extra scratch. some really cool shots in there and very little "it's coming right AT YOU!!!!
 
2012-12-03 12:50:49 AM

GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.


They would have kept it for themselves.
 
2012-12-03 01:32:20 AM

assjuice: the look of a soap opera.


the smoothness of the image causes people to think it looks like "lower" quality images used on a soap opera for some reason. i don't know the technical explanation but i can personally confirm this on other smoothed over images.
 
2012-12-03 02:00:32 AM

Kazan: assjuice: the look of a soap opera.

the smoothness of the image causes people to think it looks like "lower" quality images used on a soap opera for some reason. i don't know the technical explanation but i can personally confirm this on other smoothed over images.


I thought it had something to do with soap operas being filmed in video; this piece goes into some detail about the phenomenon.
 
2012-12-03 03:32:19 AM
The one guy describes it like he's watching a Blipvert or something. "My brain can't handle it!!" It can't be worse than the horrid 24fps judder in many current action scenes. "The Avengers" needed 48fps BADLY!
 
2012-12-03 08:23:49 AM

browntimmy: I remember hearing people threw up while watching Blair Witch Project. I like to refer to those people as pussies.


Never heard of that, but I can see that movie giving people motion sickness. Same way that the shaky cam in the middle two Bourne movies gave me a headache.

I'll probably catch Hobbit in 2D. Spending 3 hours on a 3D flick seems a little excessive.
 
2012-12-03 08:34:20 AM
I can't handle 3D films.
Something's wrong with my eyes, I guess. I simply cannot SEE the 3D effects for more than a few seconds at a time.

I'll look at the screen, and KIND OF see what the 3D is supposed to be...but then, BLAM -- everything goes blurry, and I feel like looking away.

The one time this has really pissed me off was when my local theater was only showing Silent Hill 2 in 3D. I wanted to see that one, damnit!
 
2012-12-03 08:41:21 AM

Empty Matchbook: Lord Binky: GungFu: And I still don't understand why the big eagles didn't take the ring and drop it into the volcano thing in the first place.

Because Mordor has dragons and archers. Either the eagles would have to fly so high that wind drift could doom the planet or they fly close enough that they can be hit by a storm of arrows.

THANK YOU! When people bring up this non-plot hole it ALWAYS drives me nuts.

Like whining about Joker's "plan" in Dark Knight, even though he repeatedly states he has no plan and is just going with what happens.

/if you're gonna try to sound smart pointing out plot holes
//it helps to actually BE smart


Except that to do all the stuff he did took a lot of planning. Bombs don't insert themselves in minions by themselves, you know.
 
2012-12-03 08:43:43 AM
I guarantee 99% of the people who claim that 3D gives them a migraine have no idea what an actual migraine feels like.
 
2012-12-03 09:39:02 AM

flamingboar: I could never handle 3D anyway. And I look stupid wearing two pairs of glasses just so I can get a migraine.


This. Not a migraine but I do get a headache
 
Displayed 50 of 83 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report