Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(New York Daily News)   From the first published review of The Hobbit : 'Radagast's buffoonery descends into Jar Jar Binks territory' - uh oh   (nydailynews.com ) divider line
    More: Sad, The Hobbit, Jar Jar Binks, Radagast, Lisa Robin Kelly, fantasy world, Sylvester McCoy, Martin Freeman, Andy Serkis  
•       •       •

6693 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 29 Nov 2012 at 12:49 PM (3 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



174 Comments   (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-11-29 10:36:45 AM  
Yeah, I don't care.

I will be seeing it a lot.

SMEAGOL :D
 
2012-11-29 10:43:44 AM  

LlamaGirl: Yeah, I don't care.

I will be seeing it a lot.

SMEAGOL :D


I'll be seeing it day one if possible!

Also, it's completely a good review.
 
2012-11-29 10:50:13 AM  
Oh no...I never considered the thought that Radagast might become the film's "comedy relief"...
 
2012-11-29 10:54:19 AM  
Yikes. Sylvester McCoy was probably my least favorite Dr Who.
 
2012-11-29 11:07:30 AM  

LlamaGirl: Yeah, I don't care.

I will be seeing it a lot.

SMEAGOL :D


Amen,
 
2012-11-29 11:21:07 AM  
Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.
 
2012-11-29 11:31:55 AM  
LEAVE DOCTOR WHO ALONE!
 
2012-11-29 11:42:18 AM  
That can't be good.
 
2012-11-29 11:45:36 AM  
I'm really wondering how they were able to post this review at the Daily News, since there is suppossed to be a media embargo until 3-Dec?

In any case, what an awful review...barely discusses the substance of the movie at all. I do like what he says about the HFR 3D (I already have tickets for opening day!)

/subby
/realizes the headline is a slight bit trolly
/not concerned with Radagast one bit
 
2012-11-29 11:51:03 AM  
I'm kind of curious about 48-fps, but that's about it.
 
2012-11-29 12:09:16 PM  
I had "issues" with Radagast the first time I read through LOTR, but I was 13 and really wanted to get on with the action and out of the silly singing and rhyming goofiness. But it grew on me during the next couple of passes.

And yes, I'm one of those people who re-read the Hobbit + LOTR + Silmarillion all the way through every two or three years or so till I was out of college.

And I have tickets with 5 other folks including my GF to the 3-D, 48 fps, Alamo Drafthouse 11:59pm show on the 13th.

/functional nerdoholic.
 
2012-11-29 12:17:44 PM  
yeah, but does he finally defeat Voldemort?
 
2012-11-29 12:21:05 PM  

Texian: Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.

 
2012-11-29 12:24:03 PM  

Texian: I had "issues" with Radagast the first time I read through LOTR, but I was 13 and really wanted to get on with the action and out of the silly singing and rhyming goofiness. But it grew on me during the next couple of passes.

And yes, I'm one of those people who re-read the Hobbit + LOTR + Silmarillion all the way through every two or three years or so till I was out of college.

And I have tickets with 5 other folks including my GF to the 3-D, 48 fps, Alamo Drafthouse 11:59pm show on the 13th.

/functional nerdoholic.


[Citation needed]
 
2012-11-29 12:38:34 PM  
1.bp.blogspot.com
 
2012-11-29 12:40:52 PM  

ShawnDoc: LEAVE DOCTOR WHO ALONE!


Whoa. Doctor #7 is Radagast??

...

Whoa.
 
2012-11-29 12:44:09 PM  
Now we just need Ian McKellen to appear in Doctor Who at some point.
 
2012-11-29 12:45:08 PM  

Flab: [Citation needed]


You wouldn't know her. She's like a supemodel in Canada New Zealand.
 
2012-11-29 12:46:08 PM  

xanadian: Now we just need Ian McKellen Martin Freeman to appear in Doctor Who at some point.

 
2012-11-29 12:55:07 PM  

Texian: Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.


You sure you're not thinking of Tom Bombadill? Cause that's the exact same take I had on that character (and the chapter he appeared in - cartoonish sidebar).
I may need to go back and reread, but from what I recall Radagast's appearance(s) were too brief and too few to really get much of an impression of him at all. I recall that Sauruman had contempt for him, but that Gandalf thought he was "a worthy wizard".
 
2012-11-29 12:59:36 PM  
iamboigenius.com

The Daily News doesn't care about brown wizards
 
2012-11-29 01:00:03 PM  
I dunno. Is Radagast based off of stereotypes?
 
2012-11-29 01:00:21 PM  
That is so wizard!
 
2012-11-29 01:01:06 PM  

gilgigamesh: Yikes. Sylvester McCoy was probably my least favorite Dr Who.


R-r-r-r-r-r-rr-rrrrrrr-adagast!
 
2012-11-29 01:04:05 PM  
Considering that Radagast, Saruman, and Gandalf are all essentially ancient minor deities, I think they get to act how they want.
 
2012-11-29 01:06:07 PM  
Funny how I actually read the article and it says "This movie is AWESOME but a couple flaws like Radagast." I figured The Hobbit even from the book to be a bit goofier than LOTR. And I'm cool with that.
 
2012-11-29 01:09:59 PM  

kid_icarus: Texian: Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.

You sure you're not thinking of Tom Bombadill? Cause that's the exact same take I had on that character (and the chapter he appeared in - cartoonish sidebar).
I may need to go back and reread, but from what I recall Radagast's appearance(s) were too brief and too few to really get much of an impression of him at all. I recall that Sauruman had contempt for him, but that Gandalf thought he was "a worthy wizard".


Aww hell, you're right. I'm thinking of Tom Bombadil. Did Jackson "merge" the two? That would be no bueno. I've been deliberately avoiding plot summaries and spoilers up to this point, but that would suck.

Unless the reviewer got them confused, maybe, I hope?
 
2012-11-29 01:10:51 PM  
The review seemed pretty positive, except for the small side comment that subby made into a headline.
 
2012-11-29 01:18:50 PM  

Texian: kid_icarus: Texian: Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.

You sure you're not thinking of Tom Bombadill? Cause that's the exact same take I had on that character (and the chapter he appeared in - cartoonish sidebar).
I may need to go back and reread, but from what I recall Radagast's appearance(s) were too brief and too few to really get much of an impression of him at all. I recall that Sauruman had contempt for him, but that Gandalf thought he was "a worthy wizard".

Aww hell, you're right. I'm thinking of Tom Bombadil. Did Jackson "merge" the two? That would be no bueno. I've been deliberately avoiding plot summaries and spoilers up to this point, but that would suck.

Unless the reviewer got them confused, maybe, I hope?


I wondered about that, too (if he possibly merged those 2 characters). In a few of Radagasts photos, now that I think of it, he almost has that half-looney look you might associate with Bombadil.
 
2012-11-29 01:19:38 PM  
kid_icarus You sure you're not thinking of Tom Bombadill? Cause that's the exact same take I had on that character (and the chapter he appeared in - cartoonish sidebar).
I may need to go back and reread, but from what I recall Radagast's appearance(s) were too brief and too few to really get much of an impression of him at all. I recall that Sauruman had contempt for him, but that Gandalf thought he was "a worthy wizard".


This. Radagast was barely mentioned. I think they are confusing him with Bombadill.
 
2012-11-29 01:20:09 PM  
I think subby wants to live under a bridge and can't quite make it.
 
2012-11-29 01:23:04 PM  
the following copied and pasted from: comicbook.com

X-Men: Days of Future Past director Bryan Singer had praise both for the movie and actor Ian McKellen. Singer tweeted, "Just saw #Hobbit. Having some serious frame rate envy. Amazing and involving. Loved it! And @ianmckellen118, my friend, you are brilliant!"

Composer Steven Gallagher tweeted, "Hobbit premiere was excellent! Thanks all !!! Enjoyed the film very much." Blogger Kylie Klein tweeted, "The #Hobbit is everything I could have hoped for. Perfection. TWO MORE FILMS PLEASE. #3SR." Klein also tweeted that Peter and Fran got a standing ovation, and added, "I loved it. Transported. Already deeply, massively in love with Thranduil and he was only on screen for about three seconds. "

New Zealand Parliament member Steven Joyce tweeted, "Really enjoyed #Hobbit Unexpected Journey world premiere. Masterful movie. Congrats Sir Peter Jackson et al. Privilege 2 be there #HobbitNZ"

A New Zealand attendee with Twitter handle Carter Nixon, also shared some high praise for the The Hobbit. Nixon tweeted, "I just saw and enjoyed the sh*t out of The Hobbit. It's great." Follow-up tweets by Nixon added, "I am not giving away any particulars. Staying vague until it opens but I dug it. A lot." and "Yeah everyone seemed to have loved it. Great atmosphere in theatre. It's a lot of fun."
 
2012-11-29 01:23:09 PM  
"Rhadagast, the simple, Rhadagast the fool!"

Seems like perhaps these words got taken out of context and now we all have to suffer.
 
2012-11-29 01:25:40 PM  

kid_icarus: Texian: kid_icarus: Texian: Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.

You sure you're not thinking of Tom Bombadill? Cause that's the exact same take I had on that character (and the chapter he appeared in - cartoonish sidebar).
I may need to go back and reread, but from what I recall Radagast's appearance(s) were too brief and too few to really get much of an impression of him at all. I recall that Sauruman had contempt for him, but that Gandalf thought he was "a worthy wizard".

Aww hell, you're right. I'm thinking of Tom Bombadil. Did Jackson "merge" the two? That would be no bueno. I've been deliberately avoiding plot summaries and spoilers up to this point, but that would suck.

Unless the reviewer got them confused, maybe, I hope?

I wondered about that, too (if he possibly merged those 2 characters). In a few of Radagasts photos, now that I think of it, he almost has that half-looney look you might associate with Bombadil.


Because of this thread, I've gone looking through some plot summaries and it appears that No. 7 is Radagast for sure. And that he has a "substanial part" according to Christopher Lee.

Hmmmm, not sure how this "re-imagining" of Radagast the Brown will play out, but I still think that this movie will be amazing, if posibly flawed.
 
2012-11-29 01:34:00 PM  

Texian: kid_icarus: Texian: kid_icarus: Texian: Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.

You sure you're not thinking of Tom Bombadill? Cause that's the exact same take I had on that character (and the chapter he appeared in - cartoonish sidebar).
I may need to go back and reread, but from what I recall Radagast's appearance(s) were too brief and too few to really get much of an impression of him at all. I recall that Sauruman had contempt for him, but that Gandalf thought he was "a worthy wizard".

Aww hell, you're right. I'm thinking of Tom Bombadil. Did Jackson "merge" the two? That would be no bueno. I've been deliberately avoiding plot summaries and spoilers up to this point, but that would suck.

Unless the reviewer got them confused, maybe, I hope?

I wondered about that, too (if he possibly merged those 2 characters). In a few of Radagasts photos, now that I think of it, he almost has that half-looney look you might associate with Bombadil.

Because of this thread, I've gone looking through some plot summaries and it appears that No. 7 is Radagast for sure. And that he has a "substanial part" according to Christopher Lee.

Hmmmm, not sure how this "re-imagining" of Radagast the Brown will play out, but I still think that this movie will be amazing, if posibly flawed.


Agreed. To be fair, the information about Radagast in the appendices (and I think a few interviews with Tolkien) definitely gave you the impression that he was kind of the "special" wizard of the family. Good-natured, but certainly nowhere near the major player that Saruman and Gandalf were. It was implied he became enamored with the birds and beasts of M.E., and spent most of his time alone tending to them. Other than that, his whereabouts during the War of the Ring and his fate afterward are left completely unknown. (Tolkien seemed to love to do that with characters...he loved ambiguity apparently)
 
2012-11-29 01:37:55 PM  

devilEther: Nixon tweeted, "I just saw and enjoyed the sh*t out of The Hobbit. It's great." Follow-up tweets by Nixon added, "I am not giving away any particulars. Staying vague until it opens but I dug it. A lot." and "Yeah everyone seemed to have loved it. Great atmosphere in theatre. It's a lot of fun."


I read that in the voice of the Futurama severed head of Richard Nixon.

And I'm not a bit sorry.
 
2012-11-29 01:38:29 PM  

kid_icarus: Texian: Radagast was a cartoonish sidebar in the LOTR, so I am expecting the same in the movie.

Tolkien was using him to show that not everything in that world was super-seriously wrapped up in the war against Sauron.

You sure you're not thinking of Tom Bombadill? Cause that's the exact same take I had on that character (and the chapter he appeared in - cartoonish sidebar).
I may need to go back and reread, but from what I recall Radagast's appearance(s) were too brief and too few to really get much of an impression of him at all. I recall that Sauruman had contempt for him, but that Gandalf thought he was "a worthy wizard".


Yeah, there wasn't anything cartoonish about Radagast. Bombadil fit the bill though. Radagast was just a nature lover that wasn't as concerned with the other goings on of Middle Earth as the rest of the wizards. Not sure that's cartoonish.
 
2012-11-29 01:38:53 PM  

WizardofToast: Funny how I actually read the article and it says "This movie is AWESOME but a couple flaws like Radagast." I figured The Hobbit even from the book to be a bit goofier than LOTR. And I'm cool with that.


The Hobbit was explicitly published as a children's book. The LOTR trilogy essentially created the previously non-existant genre of "adult fantasy"
 
2012-11-29 01:43:30 PM  
No one is going to jump on the fact that the article says Gollum is making a cameo appearance?

Want to know how I know the author of the article has never seen or read the Hobbit before?
 
2012-11-29 01:50:01 PM  
(subtard here)

While I admit my headline is scented with light topnotes of trollery, the mere mention of Jar Jar Binks in the review is indeed a cause for concern.

Perhaps it's even more potent for me...as I have been praying that Jackson delivers with this series, and does not "pull a Phantom Menace". I have actually (half-jokingly) used the Phantom Menace/Jar Jar example many times over the past few months in various discussions - assuming I would be patently wrong. Just seeing the name Jar Jar used in a Hobbit review is like my greatest fear coming to life.

That said, I'm sure this movie will rawk.
 
2012-11-29 01:52:30 PM  
This reminds me of the extended cuts of LOTR, Gimli is much more of a comic relief role. I prefered the theater release, but I don't think this will really bother anyone.
 
2012-11-29 01:57:09 PM  

PanicMan: I prefered the theater release


Wat?

After viewing the extended editions, the theatre releases are dead to me.
 
2012-11-29 01:59:06 PM  

Boudyro: No one is going to jump on the fact that the article says Gollum is making a cameo appearance?

Want to know how I know the author of the article has never seen or read the Hobbit before?


The review is really craptastic. I noted the "Gollum Cameo" thing as well. Lame! A major character role is not a cameo.
 
2012-11-29 02:04:39 PM  
I read the Hobbit a while back, I couldn't tell you who Radagast was... In fact, other than the Shire, meeting Gollum, some forest stuff and Smaug's chamber, I don't remember much of that book at all.
 
2012-11-29 02:05:32 PM  
I'm worried simply because THIS FILM IS NOT YET RATED, even though it comes out in like two weeks - which to me indicates they were doing edits right up to the last minute.
 
2012-11-29 02:08:29 PM  

Optimus Primate: Boudyro: No one is going to jump on the fact that the article says Gollum is making a cameo appearance?

Want to know how I know the author of the article has never seen or read the Hobbit before?

The review is really craptastic. I noted the "Gollum Cameo" thing as well. Lame! A major character role is not a cameo.


I'm not sure I trust TFA's assessment of Radagast, either. He doesn't really give us any sense of what he considers "buffoonery"...

Trying to rack my brain and recall Radagast's role (if any) in the actual book, "The Hobbit". It's been years since I read it...but I don't remember him appearing in it at all. I seem to remember they visit his house, but he isn't there.
 
2012-11-29 02:08:49 PM  
Radagast? I just reread The Hobbit and can't even remember him. Wikipedia states he is mentioned in The Hobbit.

A couple of you mention Tom Bombadil, yet I remember him being only mentioned in this book.
Are you thinking of Beorn the shape-shifter? He had a significant role in this book.
 
2012-11-29 02:11:01 PM  

Lord Dimwit: I'm worried simply because THIS FILM IS NOT YET RATED, even though it comes out in like two weeks - which to me indicates they were doing edits right up to the last minute.


I read they are doing changes to it, up to 2 days prior to release.
 
2012-11-29 02:12:51 PM  

PanicMan: This reminds me of the extended cuts of LOTR, Gimli is much more of a comic relief role. I prefered the theater release, but I don't think this will really bother anyone.


I'm such a sucker for those movies, especially the extended cuts, but there are a couple moments that I'd love to snip out. The main one that comes to mind, for some reason, is the scene when Eowyn is like "Aragorn, I made soup, have some!" and then Aragorn is grateful but THE SOUP IS TERRIBLE.

Also, the scene when the Hobbits bumrush the Council of Elrond and there's this shot of Elrond, all nonplussed like you could almost hear him saying "what's all this, then?"

But they won't stop me from watching all three over a marathon weekend.
 
2012-11-29 02:17:15 PM  
I loved LOTR, but yeah, the Hobbit trailers look horrible. When my gf and I saw the first preview on tv, she asked if it was one of those "Scary Movie" type movies about Hobbits. And she likes LOTR more than I do.
 
Displayed 50 of 174 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report