If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Gamespot)   Grand Theft Auto - Vice City has been pulled from Steam due to a) complaints from parents b) lack of interest or c) "due to some music licensing issues"   (gamespot.com) divider line 108
    More: Stupid, Vice City, Grand Theft Auto, music licensing, GameSpot, favorites, Sony Music Entertainment  
•       •       •

3087 clicks; posted to Geek » on 16 Nov 2012 at 8:29 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



108 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-11-16 04:51:33 PM
BEST SOUNDTRACK ON A GAME EVAR!!

I wish I could buy all the talk radio and advertisement from the GTA games.
 
2012-11-16 04:56:53 PM

The Stealth Hippopotamus: BEST SOUNDTRACK ON A GAME EVAR!!

I wish I could buy all the talk radio and advertisement from the GTA games.


You can extract it from the game, plenty of guides out there showing you how
 
2012-11-16 05:42:30 PM
DAMN IT all I can find is programs to copy the whole game. I just want those audio files!
 
2012-11-16 06:34:58 PM

The Stealth Hippopotamus: DAMN IT all I can find is programs to copy the whole game. I just want those audio files!


From GTA:SA, they released a multi-disk collection, which had many of the commericals and the some of the other stuff, as well as most of the songs.
 
2012-11-16 07:14:50 PM
Anytime you hear any song, someone should be getting royalties. I wouldn't be surprised if they started charging people every time they play an album in their living room.
 
2012-11-16 07:55:51 PM
Yeah, I can see that. Music is about getting paid, motherfarker.

Isn't GTA:Vice City like a decade old though?
 
2012-11-16 08:08:55 PM

ShawnDoc: The Stealth Hippopotamus: DAMN IT all I can find is programs to copy the whole game. I just want those audio files!

From GTA:SA, they released a multi-disk collection, which had many of the commericals and the some of the other stuff, as well as most of the songs.


They did that for VC also.
 
2012-11-16 08:28:13 PM

Nofun: Anytime you hear any song, someone should be getting royalties. I wouldn't be surprised if they started charging people every time they play an album in their living room.


If they had their way, I would get a hefty bill for the three days Bobby Goldsboro's "Honey" was stuck in my head. They;'re thieves in suits, except they don't even provide services like mafia members do.

/kill the music industry. Kill it dead.
 
2012-11-16 08:32:46 PM

Mugato: Yeah, I can see that. Music is about record companies getting paid, motherfarker.


FIFY. Michael Jackson wouldn't be able to collect those checks anyway, unless he pulls a Thriller.
 
2012-11-16 08:33:38 PM
I bought this, but had to use a cracked version to play on win 7.
 
2012-11-16 08:36:55 PM
Maurice Chavez for the win. Also id love to hear that redneck he had on his show thoughts on Obama's re election, besides still needing that river.
 
2012-11-16 08:38:38 PM

The Stealth Hippopotamus: BEST SOUNDTRACK ON A GAME EVAR!!.


Only the Metal songs. The rest sums up the 80s: Coke, hairspray, shoulder pads, and farking Neon everywhere.
 
2012-11-16 08:41:49 PM

Mugato: Yeah, I can see that. Music is about getting paid, motherfarker.

Isn't GTA:Vice City like a decade old though?


GTA:VC

seems a lot longer than ten years but it has been 10 years.

/have always loved the soundtracks. in between missions I like to sit in the vehicle and listen to the radio stations.
 
2012-11-16 08:42:33 PM
I think VC was the best out of the whole series. San Andreas felt like MMORG grinding. GTA 2 was okay, but the guy never talks.

I really can't imagine how GTA V can do anything new. But hopefully the one thing they bring back is you can go into a Pay n Spray to get rid of your Wanted Level whether or not the authorities saw you go there. The best car chases I've had is zooming around with a six star level and trying to get to a PnS before I'm killed.
 
2012-11-16 08:45:33 PM
Still on my games list. Still has the Install button. Vice city is my personal favorite GTA game. I spent a lazy summer doing almost nothing but flying the helicopter around blowing stuff up and driving around crazy on a motorcycle rocking out to the sound track.
 
2012-11-16 08:51:26 PM
[This post has been removed due to a copyright claim by Recording Industry Ass. of America]
 
zez
2012-11-16 08:56:26 PM

skinink: I think VC was the best out of the whole series. San Andreas felt like MMORG grinding. GTA 2 was okay, but the guy never talks.

I really can't imagine how GTA V can do anything new. But hopefully the one thing they bring back is you can go into a Pay n Spray to get rid of your Wanted Level whether or not the authorities saw you go there. The best car chases I've had is zooming around with a six star level and trying to get to a PnS before I'm killed.


I can still remember almost every mission and mini-games from III and VC but never bothered to finish San Andreas or IV, it seemed like they sucked all the fun out of the game.
 
2012-11-16 08:57:02 PM

skinink: I think VC was the best out of the whole series. San Andreas felt like MMORG grinding. GTA 2 was okay, but the guy never talks.


Agreed! Vice City had the best references, best soundtrack, and a good story line. San Andreas was way too much travel time, and like you said, grinding. Anything GTAIV is just the same mission over and over. I think the RPG element is what needs to be explored, but not the way he dresses, could care less. I would want to start as a driver, become a dealer, hire other dealers, buy properties that have certain advantages (casinos, "icre cream trucks" etc) to the plot line, and grow a criminal empire, but the way that the player wants to create it, not through a linear story line. Have the goal be something simple like earn $100 Billion with lots of criminal ways to get there. Start out doing missions that build connections with pick pockets and dealers, and at the end start building connection with growers from other countries. Have an opportunity to buy a yacht, but not just one that sits there or you can drive around, have the option to hire a captain and send it to south american to pick up a coke shipment. Same with planes, submarines, etc. Have missions that gain friends in the police force, the military, and washington. But have it be significant, for example maybe it makes it harder to get more stars, so that missions that would have created a 6 star situation now only create 2 stars so they are now playable.
 
2012-11-16 08:59:45 PM
Really looking forward to GTAV.
 
2012-11-16 09:09:16 PM

zez: skinink: I think VC was the best out of the whole series. San Andreas felt like MMORG grinding. GTA 2 was okay, but the guy never talks.

I really can't imagine how GTA V can do anything new. But hopefully the one thing they bring back is you can go into a Pay n Spray to get rid of your Wanted Level whether or not the authorities saw you go there. The best car chases I've had is zooming around with a six star level and trying to get to a PnS before I'm killed.

I can still remember almost every mission and mini-games from III and VC but never bothered to finish San Andreas or IV, it seemed like they sucked all the fun out of the game.


The Ballad of Gay Tony was the best part of GTA:IV. Hopefully they add more "end game" stuff in 5.
 
2012-11-16 09:16:59 PM
What the hell happened to the license? As has been mentioned the game has been out for years now. Was there an expiration date on the license for the song? If so, can't they just re-up on it real fast? They gotta yank the game? Also, when is Sony going to do something that doesn't make me want to punch them all in the neck repeatedly?
 
2012-11-16 09:20:53 PM
Meanwhile those who pirated the game are playing happily and giggling to themselves. Another nice job by the entertainment mafia..I mean industry.
 
2012-11-16 09:31:46 PM

Eltardo: What the hell happened to the license? As has been mentioned the game has been out for years now. Was there an expiration date on the license for the song? If so, can't they just re-up on it real fast? They gotta yank the game? Also, when is Sony going to do something that doesn't make me want to punch them all in the neck repeatedly?


The game had its 10th anniversary two weeks ago. Seems like the license was 10 years then? I wish it would always be in-perpetuity. The soundtrack is integral to a work like this or WKRP in Cincinnati. Expiration of the license is a time bomb that destroys the integrity of the work. If in-perpetuity terms are unreasonable, they shouldn't be. The songs become more valuable because they're in a soundtrack like this. The music industry are idiots for thinking they need to get paid again in situations like this.
 
2012-11-16 09:31:50 PM
It still shows up in my library....and seems to be downloading.

Perhaps it is more accurate to say that GTA:VC is "not available for sale" on Steam?

The article and headline make it seem like Valve retroactively ripped the game from everybody's team library, and that's just not true at a;;.
 
2012-11-16 09:33:02 PM
This music licensing crap ruins everything. It's why we can't have old TV shows on DVD and even if they are finally released they are completely butchered by elevator music (WKRP, Daria, etc). They would rather have the shows sit rotting in a vault and get nothing at all then not get their precious overpriced music fees. Greedy farks.
 
2012-11-16 09:33:30 PM
This is a precursor to the kind of shiat that is going to happen when all games are in "the cloud".
 
2012-11-16 09:41:02 PM

Mugato: This is a precursor to the kind of shiat that is going to happen when all games are in "the cloud".


No, it's not. The game is still available to me on Steam. It still shows up in my library (not installed) and it's now downloading. Only the Store Page is gone.

This story is kind of stupid, because it is giving the wrong impressions of services like this. If Valve ever does retroactively pull purchased games from people's libraries, it WILL be a big story; but it hasn't happened yet.

/and the download finished, game was fully playable.
 
2012-11-16 09:43:51 PM

LesserEvil: Mugato: This is a precursor to the kind of shiat that is going to happen when all games are in "the cloud".

No, it's not. The game is still available to me on Steam. It still shows up in my library (not installed) and it's now downloading. Only the Store Page is gone.

This story is kind of stupid, because it is giving the wrong impressions of services like this. If Valve ever does retroactively pull purchased games from people's libraries, it WILL be a big story; but it hasn't happened yet.

/and the download finished, game was fully playable.


Amazon has done it, it's not something new. I doubt Valve would because they seem to be a pretty decent company but companies like EA, it wouldn't surprise me at all.
 
2012-11-16 09:49:13 PM

Hand Banana: LesserEvil: Mugato: This is a precursor to the kind of shiat that is going to happen when all games are in "the cloud".

No, it's not. The game is still available to me on Steam. It still shows up in my library (not installed) and it's now downloading. Only the Store Page is gone.

This story is kind of stupid, because it is giving the wrong impressions of services like this. If Valve ever does retroactively pull purchased games from people's libraries, it WILL be a big story; but it hasn't happened yet.

/and the download finished, game was fully playable.

Amazon has done it, it's not something new. I doubt Valve would because they seem to be a pretty decent company but companies like EA, it wouldn't surprise me at all.


Yes, it certainly is likely EA would do it.

Whatever people might say about Gabe Newell, he seems adamant about keeping his word about the availability of the games sold on Steam to their respective owners.
 
2012-11-16 09:56:54 PM

Hand Banana: This music licensing crap ruins everything. It's why we can't have old TV shows on DVD and even if they are finally released they are completely butchered by elevator music (WKRP, Daria, etc). They would rather have the shows sit rotting in a vault and get nothing at all then not get their precious overpriced music fees. Greedy farks.


Yep.

They want all or nothing. A small piece of the pie isn't enough.

That's why WKRP, The Wonder Years, and China Beach will never see the light of day in original broadcast format again, and even shows like Married With Children have lost their theme songs. With MWC, Sony tried to keep the Sinatra theme song, but the greedy license holders wanted too much, so they said "fark it, you get nothing, we'll replace the theme song." And, for the most part, people understood after it was explained why the song was gone.

And best of all, the music rights holders got nothing... NOTHING.

But, in music heavy shows, that just isn't possible. So, everybody loses.
 
2012-11-16 10:00:36 PM

zez: skinink: I think VC was the best out of the whole series. San Andreas felt like MMORG grinding. GTA 2 was okay, but the guy never talks.

I really can't imagine how GTA V can do anything new. But hopefully the one thing they bring back is you can go into a Pay n Spray to get rid of your Wanted Level whether or not the authorities saw you go there. The best car chases I've had is zooming around with a six star level and trying to get to a PnS before I'm killed.

I can still remember almost every mission and mini-games from III and VC but never bothered to finish San Andreas or IV, it seemed like they sucked all the fun out of the game.


Saints Row 2 was a better GTA sequel than IV or San Andreas.

/SR3 wasn't bad. Not as good as 2, though.
 
2012-11-16 10:08:44 PM
You're sweet, you're shy you must admit you censor your life for your benefit. And you lose all the taste and you sit there and waste your day, your month, your year.
 
2012-11-16 10:09:00 PM

LordJiro: zez: skinink: I think VC was the best out of the whole series. San Andreas felt like MMORG grinding. GTA 2 was okay, but the guy never talks.

I really can't imagine how GTA V can do anything new. But hopefully the one thing they bring back is you can go into a Pay n Spray to get rid of your Wanted Level whether or not the authorities saw you go there. The best car chases I've had is zooming around with a six star level and trying to get to a PnS before I'm killed.

I can still remember almost every mission and mini-games from III and VC but never bothered to finish San Andreas or IV, it seemed like they sucked all the fun out of the game.

Saints Row 2 was a better GTA sequel than IV or San Andreas.

/SR3 wasn't bad. Not as good as 2, though.


THIS.

Bought LA Noire and SR3 a few months ago, didn't finish -- thrill is gone for those kind of games I guess.
 
2012-11-16 10:20:47 PM
Red Dead Redemption was the best game I ever played.

But now every time I play a harmonica, I have to pay Rockstar a royalty!
 
2012-11-16 10:30:57 PM

The Stealth Hippopotamus: BEST SOUNDTRACK ON A GAME EVAR!!

I wish I could buy all the talk radio and advertisement from the GTA games.


Vice City Stories had a fine soundtrack too, as did San Andreas. Great time capsules that enhanced the flavor.
 
2012-11-16 10:42:14 PM
Love Rockstar Games. I'm positively wet for GTAV.
 
2012-11-16 10:43:37 PM

Mugato: Yeah, I can see that. Music is about getting paid, motherfarker.

Isn't GTA:Vice City like a decade old though?


it came out my senior year, soooo august 02-may 03

to answer your question, yes
 
2012-11-16 10:53:52 PM

plcow: skinink: I think VC was the best out of the whole series. San Andreas felt like MMORG grinding. GTA 2 was okay, but the guy never talks.

Agreed! Vice City had the best references, best soundtrack, and a good story line. San Andreas was way too much travel time, and like you said, grinding. Anything GTAIV is just the same mission over and over. I think the RPG element is what needs to be explored, but not the way he dresses, could care less. I would want to start as a driver, become a dealer, hire other dealers, buy properties that have certain advantages (casinos, "icre cream trucks" etc) to the plot line, and grow a criminal empire, but the way that the player wants to create it, not through a linear story line. Have the goal be something simple like earn $100 Billion with lots of criminal ways to get there. Start out doing missions that build connections with pick pockets and dealers, and at the end start building connection with growers from other countries. Have an opportunity to buy a yacht, but not just one that sits there or you can drive around, have the option to hire a captain and send it to south american to pick up a coke shipment. Same with planes, submarines, etc. Have missions that gain friends in the police force, the military, and washington. But have it be significant, for example maybe it makes it harder to get more stars, so that missions that would have created a 6 star situation now only create 2 stars so they are now playable.


You're looking for the "Scarface" video game. I prefer it over any GTA I've played.
 
2012-11-16 10:57:53 PM

FirstNationalBastard: And best of all, the music rights holders got nothing... NOTHING


The companies think that by lowering the price they somehow devalue the 'property'. It's a farking song/movie/game it has little to no intrinsic value and can be easily substituted for another; in fact these days it's pretty common to not only replace the asset but also put up a disclaimer so the viewer is perfectly aware that this was done and who exactly was being the asshole.

A great many people may only know the theme tune to Married with Children as the theme tune to Married with Children rather than 'Love and Marriage' by Frank Sinatra. It's value is as a theme tune to a throw-away sitcom (i.e. little to none).

Speaking as someone poking around YouTube and the monetization problem... this whole licensing thing needs a major overhaul; there are fast becoming too many players in the this game for the old system to cope.
 
2012-11-16 10:59:39 PM
I am evidently in the minority in enjoying the diversity and size of the Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas world, although I did prefer the general atmosphere of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City.
 
2012-11-16 11:00:38 PM
I love GTA:VC, and GTAII and GTAIII.
I'm uninterested in GTAIV and GTAV.


Does anyone know if you've already bought the game on steam if you can still play it?
 
2012-11-16 11:07:09 PM

weclock: I love GTA:VC, and GTAII and GTAIII.
I'm uninterested in GTAIV and GTAV.


Does anyone know if you've already bought the game on steam if you can still play it?


You can still play it. For the moment it is not available for sale but if it is already in your account you're fine.
 
2012-11-16 11:07:31 PM
Things like this just show how dumb the RIAA is in general.

Here is a hint: Having your product show up in a form of entertainment is a PRODUCT PLACEMENT.

If I was producing the next GTA or Saints Row, I know for a fact that I would be investigating being able to purchase music that gets played on the radio in the game though a platform like the i-tunes store. It'd be an amazing way to move singles and if you went so far as to let people import their i-tunes music into the game, then you'd have a feature that consumers would actually like.

Take a little cut off the top of each purchase and bam - everyone is making money.

But no, they have to get their dicks all shiatty over music licensing in a video game because that's the only way these morons understand how to make money, using a 60 year old model.
 
2012-11-16 11:09:26 PM

weclock: I love GTA:VC, and GTAII and GTAIII.
I'm uninterested in GTAIV and GTAV.


Does anyone know if you've already bought the game on steam if you can still play it?


Just downloaded GTA: VC on my Steam account and it plays.... just need someway to play it with a fully functional Xbox 360 controller....
 
2012-11-16 11:10:59 PM
The GTA III soundtrack was great. I think it was basically done by unknowns... or am I imagining things?
 
2012-11-16 11:17:54 PM

TwistedFark: Things like this just show how dumb the RIAA is in general.

Here is a hint: Having your product show up in a form of entertainment is a PRODUCT PLACEMENT.

.


Exactly.

Back to the TV on DVD music thing, let's say someone sees the uncut WKRP with all the original music. Not only did the music rights holders make a small cut of the DVD profits, but odds are, someone hears a song they liked in the episode, goes out and downloads it from iTunes or buys a CD, and the farkers make MORE money because of the product placement.

But, no, not good enough, it's all or nothing. So the dumbasses get nothing.

/that's how I always felt about Napster, too. I never bought more CDs in my life than when I had an opportunity to explore and preview music due to downloading it. Once that ended, so did my CD buying days.
 
2012-11-16 11:41:32 PM

FirstNationalBastard: TwistedFark: Things like this just show how dumb the RIAA is in general.

Here is a hint: Having your product show up in a form of entertainment is a PRODUCT PLACEMENT.

.

Exactly.

Back to the TV on DVD music thing, let's say someone sees the uncut WKRP with all the original music. Not only did the music rights holders make a small cut of the DVD profits, but odds are, someone hears a song they liked in the episode, goes out and downloads it from iTunes or buys a CD, and the farkers make MORE money because of the product placement.

But, no, not good enough, it's all or nothing. So the dumbasses get nothing.

/that's how I always felt about Napster, too. I never bought more CDs in my life than when I had an opportunity to explore and preview music due to downloading it. Once that ended, so did my CD buying days.


What's interesting about the WKRP thing is the editing out of music resulted in some scenes not making any sense whatsoever... Like when Carlson walks in on Johnny playing "Sheep" from Pink Floyd's Animals and stands there for a few moments, while Johnny obliviously jams away. That whole scene is cut to shreds and replaced with some out-of-context nonsense in the DVD release of the episode.

In other news, a GOP report biatchslaps current copyright law as over-exceeding the bounds of its original constitutional intent, and seems to indicate everybody would be better off if copyrights were reined back into their original 14 year limit.
 
2012-11-16 11:42:48 PM

LesserEvil: It still shows up in my library....and seems to be downloading.

Perhaps it is more accurate to say that GTA:VC is "not available for sale" on Steam?

The article and headline make it seem like Valve retroactively ripped the game from everybody's team library, and that's just not true at a;;.


Good to know. I have a copy that came in that ridiculous $15 or so bundle about half a year back.
 
2012-11-16 11:44:14 PM

FirstNationalBastard: Once that ended, so did my CD buying days.


Thus you are a pirate. Like it or not these companies (and I'm including some video game publishers here as well) have only the one way of looking at things: If you aren't buying it then you must be 'stealing' it.

So to them as you aren't buying CD's/DVD's/DRM encumbered game you're by default a pirate, even if you do absolutely nothing to infringe upon their copyrights and licenses.

You're damned if you do (you'll be supporting their 60 year old broken business model) and damned if you don't.
 
2012-11-16 11:51:46 PM
K-Chat was absolutely farking hilarious.
 
Displayed 50 of 108 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report