If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(LA Times)   Parent's complaint gets Stephen King book removed from high school. But sometimes they come back   (latimes.com) divider line 119
    More: Followup, high schools, school committee, school library, parents, complaints  
•       •       •

11831 clicks; posted to Main » on 28 Oct 2012 at 2:48 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



119 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2012-10-28 12:45:32 PM  
'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.
 
2012-10-28 01:24:56 PM  

Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.


I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.
 
2012-10-28 02:50:05 PM  
But I wonder what would happen if I demanded the bible be removed for being racist, sexist, implicitly condoning rape and genocide, and supporting incest, necrophilia, homosexuality, scatophilic sex, and murder.
 
2012-10-28 02:50:15 PM  
Stupid humans are stupid.
 
2012-10-28 02:51:27 PM  
Why the eff would they complain about that? Did they run out of shampoo ingredients to read or some shiat?
 
2012-10-28 02:51:42 PM  

BronyMedic: But I wonder what would happen if I demanded the bible be removed for being racist, sexist, implicitly condoning rape and genocide, and supporting incest, necrophilia, homosexuality, scatophilic sex, and murder.


A mob bearing pitchforks and torches is already on it's way to you for even suggesting the idea.
 
2012-10-28 02:54:27 PM  
Different Seasons? Really? Wowza. People really need to stop dictating what others can and cannot do. Don't like it? Don't farking read it, asshole. Annoying parents are annoying.
 
2012-10-28 02:54:45 PM  

BronyMedic: But I wonder what would happen if I demanded the bible be removed for being racist, sexist, implicitly condoning rape and genocide, and supporting incest, necrophilia, homosexuality, scatophilic sex, and murder.


You'd be dragged to the village center, buried up to your head, and stoned to death. That, or beheaded in the internet. Or burned to death, and then your charred corpse dragged through the streets while onlooking children cheer.

Wait, which bible?
 
2012-10-28 02:55:17 PM  

Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.


It's probably AP. And yes,this is beyond asinine.
 
2012-10-28 02:56:00 PM  

Dow Jones and the Temple of Doom: You'd be dragged to the village center, buried up to your head, and stoned to death. That, or beheaded in the internet. Or burned to death, and then your charred corpse dragged through the streets while onlooking children cheer.

Wait, which bible?


I think you described both the Koran and the Holy Bible in equal and astute detail.
 
2012-10-28 02:59:30 PM  
Good for student Amanda Wong to call out the adults on their stupidity.
 
2012-10-28 03:02:04 PM  

Snort: Good for student Amanda Wong to call out the adults on their stupidity.


Indeed. Parents Puritans just don't understand.
 
2012-10-28 03:03:38 PM  
Sometimes, dead is BETTA!
 
2012-10-28 03:04:28 PM  
FTA: The other members of the committee, all adults, reportedly didn't even read the book through before voting.

Frankly, it would have been more shocking if they had read it.
 
2012-10-28 03:05:02 PM  
Ah yes, rather than monitoring what your kids read and observe, we'll control what all the kids read and observe. After all, it's the system's job to raise your kids, not yours.

Small, small minds with foolish notions.
 
2012-10-28 03:07:44 PM  
In a related story, Stephen King's getting a big royalty check next quarter as sales of this book skyrocket.
 
2012-10-28 03:08:10 PM  

eraser8: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.


This. Very disappointing movie.
 
2012-10-28 03:11:28 PM  
FTFA:

"A school committee voted to pull the book from the library shelves, with only 17-year-old senior Amanda Wong dissenting. The other members of the committee, all adults, reportedly didn't even read the book through before voting."

Gee, what a surprise.
 
2012-10-28 03:17:51 PM  

eraser8: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.


Fall in a well.
 
2012-10-28 03:20:27 PM  
Let middle schoolers read The Anarchist Cookbook. It might get them interested in chemistry. Banning books won't stop the rapey ones, the suicidal, or the emos.
 
2012-10-28 03:21:41 PM  

BronyMedic: Dow Jones and the Temple of Doom: You'd be dragged to the village center, buried up to your head, and stoned to death. That, or beheaded in the internet. Or burned to death, and then your charred corpse dragged through the streets while onlooking children cheer.

Wait, which bible?

I think you described both the Koran and the Holy Bible in equal and astute detail.


Hey now, don't be rude.

Fundamentalists don't know how to stream human executions.
 
2012-10-28 03:21:45 PM  
mialynneb
... Wowza. People really need to stop dictating what others can and cannot do.

What will democrats and republicans do in all that free time you just created?

// fascist, authoritarians, both of them.
 
2012-10-28 03:21:46 PM  
But no outcry over the 12 year old gang-bang in "It"?
 
2012-10-28 03:24:17 PM  
lh4.ggpht.com

"... and then she had sex with each boy to solidify their spiritual bond."



i.imgur.com
 
2012-10-28 03:26:46 PM  

BarkingUnicorn: eraser8: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.

This. Very disappointing movie.


Hear hear.

Thank God Forest Gump beat that piece of shiat.
 
2012-10-28 03:31:35 PM  
img411.imageshack.us
 
2012-10-28 03:34:07 PM  
I can think of one story, just one that shouldn't be in schools... RAGE.
(maybe)
 
2012-10-28 03:35:50 PM  

weltallica: [lh4.ggpht.com image 321x484]

"... and then she had sex with each boy to solidify their spiritual bond."


[i.imgur.com image 277x182]


I read IT in 6th grade, took all semester. =D. Read Pet Cemetery in 4th grade after Jurassic Park.
 
2012-10-28 03:37:14 PM  

BronyMedic: But I wonder what would happen if I demanded the bible be removed for being racist, sexist, implicitly condoning rape and genocide, and supporting incest, necrophilia, homosexuality, scatophilic sex, and murder.


I'd pat you on the back and buy you a beer.
 
2012-10-28 03:44:32 PM  

eraser8: I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.


Is it ironic that I read this in Morgan Freeman's voice?
 
2012-10-28 03:44:55 PM  
3.bp.blogspot.com
 
2012-10-28 03:51:33 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: weltallica: [lh4.ggpht.com image 321x484]

"... and then she had sex with each boy to solidify their spiritual bond."


[i.imgur.com image 277x182]

I read IT in 6th grade, took all semester. =D. Read Pet Cemetery in 4th grade after Jurassic Park.


I read it the summer after 2nd grade.

/The grackles!
 
2012-10-28 03:52:01 PM  
I insist that my fifth grader read primarily from the banned book list: this semester he's re-reading Harry Potter for report purposes because I know the teacher has likely read those, over the summer he read Tom Sawyer, Huck Finn, Puddin'head Wilson (yes, we like Mark Twain around here) and To Kill a Mockingbird, and he just finished "The Hobbit," but we're saving LOTR for next semester. My parenting philosophy has always been to encourage the kids to read that which others say they should not read, because those are the books that actually TEACH you something about real life. Yes, I have made him a literary geek, but guess what? He reads at a 10th grade level while the other kids in his class are struggling with the generic "age appropriate" crap that the school approves of. (He's also read all of the Xantha books by Piers Anthony, but nobody but those are simply to kill time between the more serious stuff he's read.) I think that King's writing is rather vapid for the most part, but honestly getting a kid over the age of 12 to read AT ALL for pleasure is damn near impossible these days, so I'd rather them read King, Koontz, or any of the other modern thriller writers than not to read at all.
 
2012-10-28 03:56:13 PM  
I'll never understand the thought process that goes from "This book offended me and I don't want to read it" to "This book offended me and I don't want anyone else to read it."
 
2012-10-28 03:56:42 PM  
The Satanic Verses controversy, anyone?

Muslims are the new Nazis.
 
2012-10-28 04:00:46 PM  

UsikFark: Uchiha_Cycliste: weltallica: [lh4.ggpht.com image 321x484]

"... and then she had sex with each boy to solidify their spiritual bond."


[i.imgur.com image 277x182]

I read IT in 6th grade, took all semester. =D. Read Pet Cemetery in 4th grade after Jurassic Park.

I read it the summer after 2nd grade.

/The grackles!


we are a twisted bunch here/
 
2012-10-28 04:03:12 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: we are a twisted bunch here/


We all float.
 
2012-10-28 04:10:16 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: I can think of one story, just one that shouldn't be in schools... RAGE.
(maybe)


Yeah I can see Rage being inappropriate for a school library. I read it at a (relatively) young age without being convinced to shoot up my school, but these days you never know who is one violent book away from a shooting spree, or one dirty joke away from raping someone. I guess there's only so many preventative measures you can take, some people are bound to snap no matter what they're exposed to.
 
2012-10-28 04:14:10 PM  

tblax: Uchiha_Cycliste: I can think of one story, just one that shouldn't be in schools... RAGE.
(maybe)

Yeah I can see Rage being inappropriate for a school library. I read it at a (relatively) young age without being convinced to shoot up my school, but these days you never know who is one violent book away from a shooting spree, or one dirty joke away from raping someone. I guess there's only so many preventative measures you can take, some people are bound to snap no matter what they're exposed to.


That's what I'm thinking. Frankly, it really depends on the kid(s), some would be fine, but a handful may read it and... get ideas. It's a damn shame, and I'm usually zealously anti-censorship but RAGE really strikes me as a story that shouldn't be in a school.
 
2012-10-28 04:14:45 PM  

Bashar and Asma's Infinite Playlist: I'll never understand the thought process that goes from "This book offended me and I don't want to read it" to "This book offended me and I don't want anyone else to read it."


You are confusing these people with people who have the ability to reason and apply logic. Also, it was a given in MY high school at least that if you banned a book in my high school library someone like myself would check said book out at the local county library, the state university library system, or, if it was really raunchy, buy the a copy outright. IF it was option three, you would also find said book, complete with margin notes and highlighted passages being passed from person to person. I figured if it was banned, it had to be GOOD. And that if it was REALLY good, my fellow classmates deserved to be exposed to it!
 
2012-10-28 04:15:19 PM  

BronyMedic: But I wonder what would happen if I demanded the bible be removed for being racist, sexist, implicitly condoning rape and genocide, and supporting incest, necrophilia, homosexuality, scatophilic sex, and murder.


I googled for scatophilic sex bible, and honestly, all I got was your comment here.

Link

So um, can you give me chapter and verse so to speak?
 
2012-10-28 04:15:42 PM  

Funbags: But no outcry over the 12 year old gang-bang in "It"?


Shhhhhh.... they don't know about that one. Yet.
 
2012-10-28 04:23:59 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: It's a damn shame, and I'm usually zealously anti-censorship but RAGE really strikes me as a story that shouldn't be in a school.


King let Rage go out of print after a copy was found in some school shooter's locker. It's the only Stephen King book that's not being published anymore.
 
2012-10-28 04:31:41 PM  

namegoeshere: Funbags: But no outcry over the 12 year old gang-bang in "It"?

Shhhhhh.... they don't know about that one. Yet.


This.

That said, I would have loved "Rage" and for that matter the story it was based on in "Skeleton Crew."

Hell, I would have enjoyed "Skeleton Crew. "

Didn't read any of that stuff until college.
 
2012-10-28 04:37:53 PM  

RoyBatty: So um, can you give me chapter and verse so to speak?


Song of Solomon 5:4

4 My beloved put in his hand by the hole of the door, and my bowels were moved for him.
 
2012-10-28 04:42:12 PM  

Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.


And I guess they're now doing up The Breathing Method as well. Which probably isn't gonna work out real well, but we shall see.

King has kept Rage out of print for years, so it'd be a particularly dedicated librarian who tracked down a copy to stock..
 
2012-10-28 04:43:07 PM  

geoduck42: King has kept Rage out of print for years, so it'd be a particularly dedicated librarian who tracked down a copy to stock..


I'm sure you can find a copy of "The Bachman Books" somewhere.
 
2012-10-28 04:45:59 PM  

Confabulat: Uchiha_Cycliste: It's a damn shame, and I'm usually zealously anti-censorship but RAGE really strikes me as a story that shouldn't be in a school.

King let Rage go out of print after a copy was found in some school shooter's locker. It's the only Stephen King book that's not being published anymore.


My math teacher in HS was Mrs. Underwood, so I always got a kick out of that story. She was really nice, though, so I wouldn't have wanted anyone to shoot her.
 
2012-10-28 04:52:05 PM  
I was given a weeks' detention for reading "Cujo" in class in the fifth grade.

CSB amirite.
 
2012-10-28 04:53:45 PM  
24.media.tumblr.com

or

4.bp.blogspot.com

or

allsideeffects.net

which is scarier
 
2012-10-28 04:53:50 PM  

geoduck42: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

And I guess they're now doing up The Breathing Method as well. Which probably isn't gonna work out real well, but we shall see.

King has kept Rage out of print for years, so it'd be a particularly dedicated librarian who tracked down a copy to stock..


I just googled it, and there are copies available, in paper and e-books. Rage itself, the 1977 stand alone, is expensive, but you can get it used from Amazon in The Bachman Books collection for under ten dollars.
 
2012-10-28 04:57:17 PM  
profile.ak.fbcdn.net
 
2012-10-28 05:11:13 PM  
publishingperspectives.com

/that guy creeps me the fark out
 
2012-10-28 05:18:46 PM  

BronyMedic: RoyBatty: So um, can you give me chapter and verse so to speak?

Song of Solomon 5:4

4 My beloved put in his hand by the hole of the door, and my bowels were moved for him.


Hilarious. Thank you.
 
2012-10-28 05:29:17 PM  
I honestly thought this was going to be over the scene towards the end of IT. The one where they're all in the sewer together after fighting the spider, that made me make this face. --> @_@ If you've read it, you know the one.
 
2012-10-28 05:37:10 PM  

Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.


the 4th, is about a pregnant lady who loses her head in a car crash. The baby lives.
THAT needs to be made into a movie.
 
2012-10-28 05:41:37 PM  

TrashcanMan: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

the 4th, is about a pregnant lady who loses her head in a car crash. The baby lives.
THAT needs to be made into a movie.


It is.

I am happy to see our local library still carrying Rage.
 
2012-10-28 05:44:55 PM  
Great book... required reading IMO.

Kings conversational, minimalist style are perfect to tantalize young readers and the unaccomplished adult readers among us.

With an occasional gem of literary excellence thrown in.

Skeleton Crew made me laugh and get scared and contemplate taboo topics when I was young...

Freaking Dolores Claiborne anyone?
 
2012-10-28 05:49:41 PM  
Anyone notice that the article correctly identifies the book as "Different Seasons", but it is called "Dark Seasons" in the photo caption?
 
2012-10-28 05:51:14 PM  

prince of peas: Anyone notice that the article correctly identifies the book as "Different Seasons", but it is called "Dark Seasons" in the photo caption?


Must be from the alternate universe.
 
2012-10-28 05:51:23 PM  
Wait. And it's not been stolen?

namegoeshere: TrashcanMan: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

the 4th, is about a pregnant lady who loses her head in a car crash. The baby lives.
THAT needs to be made into a movie.

It is.

I am happy to see our local library still carrying Rage.

 
2012-10-28 06:00:08 PM  

TrashcanMan: Wait. And it's not been stolen?

namegoeshere: TrashcanMan: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

the 4th, is about a pregnant lady who loses her head in a car crash. The baby lives.
THAT needs to be made into a movie.

It is.

I am happy to see our local library still carrying Rage.


Nope. Actually I should clarify: they have several copies of The Bachman Books. But they're all in or checked out - I just put one on hold.
 
2012-10-28 06:01:41 PM  
And a little child shall lead them...ok, maybe not so little, but still.
 
2012-10-28 06:02:45 PM  
Well hell, Everyone who likes King has the Bachmann books.

namegoeshere: TrashcanMan: Wait. And it's not been stolen?

namegoeshere: TrashcanMan: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

the 4th, is about a pregnant lady who loses her head in a car crash. The baby lives.
THAT needs to be made into a movie.

It is.

I am happy to see our local library still carrying Rage.

Nope. Actually I should clarify: they have several copies of The Bachman Books. But they're all in or checked out - I just put one on hold.

 
2012-10-28 06:06:56 PM  

James F. Campbell: FTA: The other members of the committee, all adults, reportedly didn't even read the book through before voting.

Frankly, it would have been more shocking if they had read it.


It's always like that. These douchebag "committees" hear about some book or other that maybe one of them has read, and apparently based on the word of that ONE member, go "okey-dokey!" and vote to ban it without even checking.

What is WITH people? Are you that stupid you don't want to be sure something is bad before you condemn it? Are you so anxious to be accepted by your peers? That's pathetic.
 
2012-10-28 06:07:13 PM  

Confabulat: Uchiha_Cycliste: It's a damn shame, and I'm usually zealously anti-censorship but RAGE really strikes me as a story that shouldn't be in a school.

King let Rage go out of print after a copy was found in some school shooter's locker. It's the only Stephen King book that's not being published anymore.


As far as I knew, I thought RAGE only existed in "the Bachman Books" Did it ever stand alone? Do the Bachman books now just have one less story? That was an amazing collection adn I would LOVE to see The Long Walk made into a movie, as long as they stuck to the ending religiously.
 
2012-10-28 06:08:37 PM  

eraser8: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.


Hooray, you're different! Now stop talking while real people who can read discuss adult things.
 
2012-10-28 06:09:09 PM  

whidbey: prince of peas: Anyone notice that the article correctly identifies the book as "Different Seasons", but it is called "Dark Seasons" in the photo caption?

Must be from the alternate universe.


It's the crimson king's personal copy, or Randall Flagg changed it.
 
2012-10-28 06:10:48 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: Confabulat: Uchiha_Cycliste: It's a damn shame, and I'm usually zealously anti-censorship but RAGE really strikes me as a story that shouldn't be in a school.

King let Rage go out of print after a copy was found in some school shooter's locker. It's the only Stephen King book that's not being published anymore.

As far as I knew, I thought RAGE only existed in "the Bachman Books" Did it ever stand alone? Do the Bachman books now just have one less story? That was an amazing collection adn I would LOVE to see The Long Walk made into a movie, as long as they stuck to the ending religiously.


Yes, Rage was released independently in 1977.
 
2012-10-28 06:12:05 PM  
I think namegoeshere answered my comment/question.
 
2012-10-28 06:12:49 PM  
I think namesgoeshere answered my comment/question again =D. heh.

I need to refresh more.
 
2012-10-28 06:15:26 PM  
From all knowing Wiki regarding The Bachman Books:

The US editions of this collection and the novel Rage were allowed to go out of print by the author and publisher because of the Heath High School shooting - a school shooting incident involving Michael Carneal. The remaining three novels are still in print and are published as separate books.
The Bachman Books is still in print in the United Kingdom although it no longer contains Rage. In a footnote to the preface of the more recent Bachman book Blaze (dated 30 January 2007) King wrote of Rage: "Now out of print, and a good thing."
 
2012-10-28 06:19:19 PM  

Confabulat: From all knowing Wiki regarding The Bachman Books:

The US editions of this collection and the novel Rage were allowed to go out of print by the author and publisher because of the Heath High School shooting - a school shooting incident involving Michael Carneal. The remaining three novels are still in print and are published as separate books.
The Bachman Books is still in print in the United Kingdom although it no longer contains Rage. In a footnote to the preface of the more recent Bachman book Blaze (dated 30 January 2007) King wrote of Rage: "Now out of print, and a good thing."


I guess I'm pretty stoked to have a couple copies of the old Bachman books. Further, I'll bet a ton of library used book stores have copies.
 
2012-10-28 06:24:47 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: I think namesgoeshere answered my comment/question again =D. heh.

I need to refresh more.


How about a nice cold Fresca?
 
2012-10-28 06:26:53 PM  

whidbey: geoduck42: King has kept Rage out of print for years, so it'd be a particularly dedicated librarian who tracked down a copy to stock..

I'm sure you can find a copy of "The Bachman Books" somewhere.


I loved roadwork out of that one. I like common man revenge stories.
 
2012-10-28 06:31:55 PM  
The Bachman books were awesome, The Long Walk, being the best of the all IMO.
 
2012-10-28 06:32:57 PM  

whidbey: Uchiha_Cycliste: I think namesgoeshere answered my comment/question again =D. heh.

I need to refresh more.

How about a nice cold Fresca?


I think I want a Fanta (girl)
 
2012-10-28 06:38:42 PM  

thepostess: The Bachman books were awesome, The Long Walk, being the best of the all IMO.


For ONCE he didn't bungle the ending... and it was damn important that he didn't too.
 
2012-10-28 06:51:07 PM  

baufan2005: whidbey: geoduck42: King has kept Rage out of print for years, so it'd be a particularly dedicated librarian who tracked down a copy to stock..

I'm sure you can find a copy of "The Bachman Books" somewhere.

I loved roadwork out of that one. I like common man revenge stories.


And of course, "The Running Man."

Fun bunch of books that King didn't take too seriously. Otherwise, they'd be twice the length, I'm sure.
 
2012-10-28 07:04:32 PM  
The only books that are enlightening
are the books that we burn.
 
2012-10-28 07:12:58 PM  

Teresaol31: (He's also read all of the Xantha books by Piers XaAnthony,...


/FTFY
//pett peav
 
2012-10-28 07:49:40 PM  

Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.


I've been trying to forget that movie since the night I saw it. Horrible mangling of the novella.
 
2012-10-28 08:01:11 PM  

Jon iz teh kewl: [24.media.tumblr.com image 400x300]

or

[4.bp.blogspot.com image 250x306]

or

[allsideeffects.net image 298x300]

which is scarier


Tramadol. My mum ended up in hospital after a seizure. Her symptoms were similar to a mild stroke - partial paralysis, unable to use language correctly. For example, she forgot how to refer to herself correctly and instead used 'she me'. She recovered within a couple of weeks but still has terrible short term memory.

Tramadol was the suspected culprit.
 
2012-10-28 08:04:09 PM  
For those looking for older, out of print books, like RAGE, try half.com. I can usually find a few copies of anything I want on there. (At least until SCOTUS rules on re-selling intellectual property rights and screws the entire known "used goods" industry but good.) http://www.ebay.com/itm/STEPHEN-KINGS-RAGE-Bachman-Books-Paperback-Edi tion-/261117983445?category=29223
 
2012-10-28 08:06:31 PM  

Shadowtag: eraser8: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.

Hooray, you're different! Now stop talking while real people who can read discuss adult things.


benjimus4.files.wordpress.com
 
2012-10-28 08:11:36 PM  
My rural public HS was really run by the local Baptists who comprised the school board. Understand it was a PUBLIC school. But the school board was overwhelmingly Baptist.

Banning books was one of their favorite things to do.

They banned "Black Like Me" even tho nobody in my home town ever saw a black person.

Anything by George Orwell was automatically banned (too Communist), as was "Lord of the Flies" (because a pig got stuck in the butt).

The library had a subscription to Scientific American. That got pulled because of a single article about evolution.

It was embarrassing when we had a lyceum that involved some black African demonstrating native dances. The principal shut down the show, kicked them out of the gym and sent us all back to class. No reason given.

This was mid 1970's, Northeastern Wisconsin.
 
2012-10-28 08:47:09 PM  
Why do people have to try to screw the entire student body? Even my father, who should have been on a locked ward, didn't try to have books banned from the library. Every book on my AP English reading list was banned by his church and I was strictly forbidden to read them, but he rarely presumed to tell other people how to raise their kids and he never tried to have books banned from the school.

It was a pain hiding those books in the attic. We didn't have pull down stairs. There was just a little square hole in the ceiling of a closet. I had to stand on a chair, step over onto the clothing bar, get another foot on the shelf above the clothing bar, get my upper body through the hole, and heave myself up. Had to do the reverse coming down. I fell once and a ring I was wearing got caught on a nail in the wall. I was hanging by my finger unable to reach the floor. I wouldn't scream out because I wasn't sure whether my father was home. When my mother found me, first she jumped like she'd been shocked, then she started laughing so hard, she couldn't get me down. Didn't matter though, the plaster and nail gave way at that time and I dropped.

I miss that side of my mother. Thanks to mental illness she doesn't laugh anymore. Everything is all bad all the time.
 
2012-10-28 09:03:12 PM  

geoduck42: And I guess they're now doing up The Breathing Method as well. Which probably isn't gonna work out real well, but we shall see.


That one sucked ass... Probably my least favorite of all his stuff. He cpould have made it 15 pages long, and it might not have sucked as much.

geoduck42: King has kept Rage out of print for years, so it'd be a particularly dedicated librarian who tracked down a copy to stock..


Still for sale at Amazon.

The Bachman Books
 
2012-10-28 09:06:47 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: I read IT in 6th grade, took all semester. =D. Read Pet Cemetery in 4th grade after Jurassic Park.


I read IT in 12th grade(When it came out). I was so taken by it that I read it in something like 4 days. Loaned it to a friend who decided it was just too much book for a busy, partying High Schooler. I got it back and re-read it again in another 4 days. God I love that book. Never actually got around to watching the movie, just bits and pieces.
 
2012-10-28 09:10:05 PM  
Actually THREE of the four novellas in Different Seasons have been made into movies.

1) "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption" was made into the movie "The Shawshank Redemption"
2) "Apt Pupil" was made into a movie with the same name.
3) "The Body" was made into the movie called "Stand By Me"

One a side note, the Bachman Books were awesome. "Rage" and "Roadwork" were okay. "The Long Walk" and "The Running Man" were awesome.

I am still mad at that travesty of a movie "The Running Man". A faithful adaptation probably could not get made today due to the ending.
 
2012-10-28 09:10:39 PM  
Considering Stephen King's work over the years, Different Season's is pretty tame.
 
2012-10-28 09:10:41 PM  

Mikey1969: I was so taken by it that I read it in something like 4 days


That's true of a lot of his stuff. At least it starts out pretty damn inspired, and I can't put it down.
 
2012-10-28 09:12:14 PM  
In 6th grade, we were learning about the Holocaust and my teacher showed us the short film of The Lottery as a lesson about groupthink. I was simultaneously freaked out and fascinated.

I went home and told my mom about the film and she instantly gave me the story to read, which we then stayed up way past my bedtime to discuss.

Two days later, our teacher issued a tearful apology to the class for showing us the film. Apparently a bunch of parents biatched and my teacher was almost fired. That's when I knew my mom was awesome.

/and yes, she owns every Bachman and King book
//she's still awesome
 
2012-10-28 09:14:13 PM  

Teresaol31: I insist that my fifth grader read primarily from the banned book list: this semester he's re-reading Harry Potter for report purposes because I know the teacher has likely read those, over the summer he read Tom Sawyer, Huck Finn, Puddin'head Wilson (yes, we like Mark Twain around here) and To Kill a Mockingbird, and he just finished "The Hobbit," but we're saving LOTR for next semester. My parenting philosophy has always been to encourage the kids to read that which others say they should not read, because those are the books that actually TEACH you something about real life. Yes, I have made him a literary geek, but guess what? He reads at a 10th grade level while the other kids in his class are struggling with the generic "age appropriate" crap that the school approves of. (He's also read all of the Xantha books by Piers Anthony, but nobody but those are simply to kill time between the more serious stuff he's read.) I think that King's writing is rather vapid for the most part, but honestly getting a kid over the age of 12 to read AT ALL for pleasure is damn near impossible these days, so I'd rather them read King, Koontz, or any of the other modern thriller writers than not to read at all.


I can't get my stepsons to read ANYTHING. Thank God my daughter is here, she is the most inquisitive 4 year old I've ever run into, and already sits down with her books and reads them to her stuffed animals, making up stories based on the pictures. There is still hope. :-) She already made my wife buy us a telescope for looking at "the stars and moon and the planets".
 
2012-10-28 09:17:35 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: I can think of one story, just one that shouldn't be in schools... RAGE.
(maybe)


Yeah, not a censorship kind of guy, but this one is kind of bad form to have in schools after all of the school shootings and stuff. Maybe it's something that King has to officially say that he would appreciate not having this in school libraries and see if the libraries comply. Kind of a voluntary censorship thing. I'd rather not have this censorship bullshiat though.
 
2012-10-28 09:17:35 PM  

K3rmy: Actually THREE of the four novellas in Different Seasons have been made into movies.

1) "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption" was made into the movie "The Shawshank Redemption"
2) "Apt Pupil" was made into a movie with the same name.
3) "The Body" was made into the movie called "Stand By Me"

One a side note, the Bachman Books were awesome. "Rage" and "Roadwork" were okay. "The Long Walk" and "The Running Man" were awesome.

I am still mad at that travesty of a movie "The Running Man". A faithful adaptation probably could not get made today due to the ending.


Considering the ending will never get approved as it is, I could accept a slightly altered ending if it gave us an otherwise faithful adaptation.
 
2012-10-28 09:25:08 PM  

Uchiha_Cycliste: As far as I knew, I thought RAGE only existed in "the Bachman Books" Did it ever stand alone? Do the Bachman books now just have one less story? That was an amazing collection adn I would LOVE to see The Long Walk made into a movie, as long as they stuck to the ending religiously.


They were all originally published separately. I agree that seeing The Long Walk as a movie would be great IF they could make it work, it might not work, and as a result, might just be a slow moving mess. If the right person directed it, the right person wrote the screenplay, and it was edited correctly, you could have an awesome movie. One of my all time favorite stories by anyone, that's for sure.
 
2012-10-28 09:29:30 PM  

K3rmy: I am still mad at that travesty of a movie "The Running Man". A faithful adaptation probably could not get made today due to the ending.


Yeah, some people think this movie was amazing. I thought if it didn't have the story to go on, it would have been great, but it was a disappointment after the story. Same with Total Recall, sure it was fun, but it doesn't have the 'something' that Philip K Dick gave it, instead it turned into a campy, silly movie rather than a sci-fi thriller.

Oh well...
 
2012-10-28 09:32:56 PM  

whidbey: Mikey1969: I was so taken by it that I read it in something like 4 days

That's true of a lot of his stuff. At least it starts out pretty damn inspired, and I can't put it down.


I have no problem with the length of his stuff. As a matter of fact, I like his attention to detail and backstory enough that I miss it when other writers don't add it. Unfortunately, his endings do seem to be the weakest part of his stuff. It's ok though, because when I take the whole, it is still worth it.
 
2012-10-28 09:33:49 PM  

ArmanTanzarian: Great book... required reading IMO.

Kings conversational, minimalist style are perfect to tantalize young readers and the unaccomplished adult readers among us.

With an occasional gem of literary excellence thrown in.

Skeleton Crew made me laugh and get scared and contemplate taboo topics when I was young...

Freaking Dolores Claiborne anyone?


Gerald's game gave me chills. I love me some kinky tied-up sex, but even though i'm an avid King reader/rereader, I've only read that one once.
 
2012-10-28 09:34:05 PM  

Mikey1969: Teresaol31: I insist that my fifth grader read primarily from the banned book list: this semester he's re-reading Harry Potter for report purposes because I know the teacher has likely read those, over the summer he read Tom Sawyer, Huck Finn, Puddin'head Wilson (yes, we like Mark Twain around here) and To Kill a Mockingbird, and he just finished "The Hobbit," but we're saving LOTR for next semester. My parenting philosophy has always been to encourage the kids to read that which others say they should not read, because those are the books that actually TEACH you something about real life. Yes, I have made him a literary geek, but guess what? He reads at a 10th grade level while the other kids in his class are struggling with the generic "age appropriate" crap that the school approves of. (He's also read all of the Xantha books by Piers Anthony, but nobody but those are simply to kill time between the more serious stuff he's read.) I think that King's writing is rather vapid for the most part, but honestly getting a kid over the age of 12 to read AT ALL for pleasure is damn near impossible these days, so I'd rather them read King, Koontz, or any of the other modern thriller writers than not to read at all.

I can't get my stepsons to read ANYTHING. Thank God my daughter is here, she is the most inquisitive 4 year old I've ever run into, and already sits down with her books and reads them to her stuffed animals, making up stories based on the pictures. There is still hope. :-) She already made my wife buy us a telescope for looking at "the stars and moon and the planets".


Part of the key is letting the kids see YOU turning off the boob tube and the computer and reading, not because you have to, but as an activity. Habitually reading to them or with them from an early age helps too. Both of mine had the Dr. Seuss books memorized by the time they were three and neither ever had to be taught "how to read" they just KNEW how to read. The other thing is to find something they like. This second kid is easy, he likes sci-fi, fantasy, etc. The older one HATES fiction and I for the life of me do not know why, but you can give the kid an obscure historical manual on early technology developments or a biography of someone he admires like Marconi or Tesla, and he'll read that. That is probably why he's going into engineering but the younger one wants to be a teacher.
 
2012-10-28 09:39:10 PM  

Mikey1969: whidbey: Mikey1969: I was so taken by it that I read it in something like 4 days

That's true of a lot of his stuff. At least it starts out pretty damn inspired, and I can't put it down.

I have no problem with the length of his stuff. As a matter of fact, I like his attention to detail and backstory enough that I miss it when other writers don't add it. Unfortunately, his endings do seem to be the weakest part of his stuff. It's ok though, because when I take the whole, it is still worth it.


It's got to be very similar to the problems some directors have when they make long, detailed movies. They're apt to lose focus and run out of steam to where the ending doesn't have the punch the exposition had...
 
2012-10-28 09:40:02 PM  

Mikey1969: K3rmy: I am still mad at that travesty of a movie "The Running Man". A faithful adaptation probably could not get made today due to the ending.

Yeah, some people think this movie was amazing. I thought if it didn't have the story to go on, it would have been great, but it was a disappointment after the story. Same with Total Recall, sure it was fun, but it doesn't have the 'something' that Philip K Dick gave it, instead it turned into a campy, silly movie rather than a sci-fi thriller.

Oh well...


King's Running Man was a far more prescient vision of the near future than the Arnold movie with its American Gladiators style reality TV. King's was more like a twisted version of The Amazing Race. It's too bad the movie went the way it did; it doesn't really bear a lot in common with the book at all. Very disappointing.
 
2012-10-28 09:40:49 PM  

Mikey1969: Uchiha_Cycliste: I can think of one story, just one that shouldn't be in schools... RAGE.
(maybe)

Yeah, not a censorship kind of guy, but this one is kind of bad form to have in schools after all of the school shootings and stuff. Maybe it's something that King has to officially say that he would appreciate not having this in school libraries and see if the libraries comply. Kind of a voluntary censorship thing. I'd rather not have this censorship bullshiat though.


I'd rather not have it either, but I fear the risks outweigh the benefits. Albeit unlikely, I think the possibility exists for an unstable kid to pick up the book there, read it and get ideas. Or possibly to see RAGE as condoning what he's already thinking or pushing him in that direction. god, even as I type it it sounds flimsy, but it's honestly why I'm okay with censoring that one. I don't really think (m)any other reasons are legit. Oh, you're offended... don't read it dipshiat. But if it could actually bring harm upon the student body, that's bad.
 
2012-10-28 09:43:03 PM  

Mikey1969: Uchiha_Cycliste: As far as I knew, I thought RAGE only existed in "the Bachman Books" Did it ever stand alone? Do the Bachman books now just have one less story? That was an amazing collection adn I would LOVE to see The Long Walk made into a movie, as long as they stuck to the ending religiously.

They were all originally published separately. I agree that seeing The Long Walk as a movie would be great IF they could make it work, it might not work, and as a result, might just be a slow moving mess. If the right person directed it, the right person wrote the screenplay, and it was edited correctly, you could have an awesome movie. One of my all time favorite stories by anyone, that's for sure.


I think it could be a great movie. The potential is there, it just has to be rather faithful and use the exact ending. I'm not sure who would be a good director, but I know lots who wouldn't .
 
2012-10-28 10:13:14 PM  

Teresaol31: Mikey1969: Teresaol31: I insist that my fifth grader read primarily from the banned book list: this semester he's re-reading Harry Potter for report purposes because I know the teacher has likely read those, over the summer he read Tom Sawyer, Huck Finn, Puddin'head Wilson (yes, we like Mark Twain around here) and To Kill a Mockingbird, and he just finished "The Hobbit," but we're saving LOTR for next semester. My parenting philosophy has always been to encourage the kids to read that which others say they should not read, because those are the books that actually TEACH you something about real life. Yes, I have made him a literary geek, but guess what? He reads at a 10th grade level while the other kids in his class are struggling with the generic "age appropriate" crap that the school approves of. (He's also read all of the Xantha books by Piers Anthony, but nobody but those are simply to kill time between the more serious stuff he's read.) I think that King's writing is rather vapid for the most part, but honestly getting a kid over the age of 12 to read AT ALL for pleasure is damn near impossible these days, so I'd rather them read King, Koontz, or any of the other modern thriller writers than not to read at all.

I can't get my stepsons to read ANYTHING. Thank God my daughter is here, she is the most inquisitive 4 year old I've ever run into, and already sits down with her books and reads them to her stuffed animals, making up stories based on the pictures. There is still hope. :-) She already made my wife buy us a telescope for looking at "the stars and moon and the planets".

Part of the key is letting the kids see YOU turning off the boob tube and the computer and reading, not because you have to, but as an activity. Habitually reading to them or with them from an early age helps too. Both of mine had the Dr. Seuss books memorized by the time they were three and neither ever had to be taught "how to read" they just KNEW how to read. The other thing is to find something they like. This second kid is easy, he likes sci-fi, fantasy, etc. The older one HATES fiction and I for the life of me do not know why, but you can give the kid an obscure historical manual on early technology developments or a biography of someone he admires like Marconi or Tesla, and he'll read that. That is probably why he's going into engineering but the younger one wants to be a teacher.


Lol, seeing me read? Not an issue. I own around 550 books and have about 150 more on my Nook. When we make our yearly trip to AZ, I take them to the best used bookstore I've ever seen. We've tried everything, either books I recommend, books that are popular with kids their age and books specifically in their interest zone. It all falls flat.

I spend at least 2-3 hours a day reading, but it's not wearing off on them.

Like I said though, my daughter shows promise. She was adding books to her pile of toys whne she was 6 or 9 months old... :-)
 
2012-10-28 10:21:24 PM  

whidbey: Mikey1969: whidbey: Mikey1969: I was so taken by it that I read it in something like 4 days

That's true of a lot of his stuff. At least it starts out pretty damn inspired, and I can't put it down.

I have no problem with the length of his stuff. As a matter of fact, I like his attention to detail and backstory enough that I miss it when other writers don't add it. Unfortunately, his endings do seem to be the weakest part of his stuff. It's ok though, because when I take the whole, it is still worth it.

It's got to be very similar to the problems some directors have when they make long, detailed movies. They're apt to lose focus and run out of steam to where the ending doesn't have the punch the exposition had...


Yeah, it's harder than people think to keep the pacing good in a film. I can see King doing the same thing with his books. At least he's not Anne Rice, she seems to get 3/4 of the way through, realize that she's short, and then add 60 pages that have nothing to do with the story, and then suddenly veer back on track without any warning. King's stuff might run long, but at least it's mostly on track with the story.
 
2012-10-28 10:48:20 PM  

eraser8: Krymson Tyde: 'Two of its stories have been made into movies: "The Shawshank Redemption" and "Stand by Me."'
Apt Pupil?

More to the point: this is stupid.

I'm probably the one person in North America who disliked The Shawshank Redemption. But, I really did. I thought it was crap. The film, I mean; I haven't read the story.


I enjoy most all of Stephen King's books quite a bit, but I have never seen one of his stories translate well to a movie. The movies are usually not even worth watching.
 
2012-10-28 10:55:40 PM  
I bet it was a girl that complained.

*clicks link*

I'm like psychic and stuff.
 
2012-10-29 12:18:17 AM  

kemosabe: I bet it was a girl that complained.

*clicks link*

I'm like psychic and stuff.


You know how I know you suck at reading?

FTFA: a rape scene in one story led to a complaint from a parent at Rocklin High School.

A school committee voted to pull the book from the library shelves, with only 17-year-old senior Amanda Wong dissenting. The other members of the committee, all adults, reportedly didn't even read the book through before voting.

Amanda complained to the school board and got results. The superintendent ordered the book placed back on the shelves while a districtwide committee considers the matter. That committee should recommend keeping the book.

*this is your confused dog face*
 
2012-10-29 12:43:12 AM  
A prof. told me once that if someone tells you that you shouldn't read a book, run don't walk to the library and read because it will probally change your life.

I modified that into: Anyone who attempts to stifle the free exchange of ideas should be, at least, distrusted.
 
2012-10-29 01:19:02 AM  

kemosabe: I bet it was a girl that complained.

*clicks link*

I'm like psychicsexist and stuff.

 
2012-10-29 02:19:48 AM  
Back in the day my freshman English class was required to read a Stephen King book (of our own choice) to do a report. I did The Shining (first King book I read) and got hooked, then proceeded to read The Stand a few dozen times. That culminated with a botched attempt at burning down the school as Trashcan Man and a bit of jail time. Yeah, I'm *that* lame.
 
2012-10-29 07:26:23 AM  

blueyd1: In 6th grade, we were learning about the Holocaust and my teacher showed us the short film of The Lottery as a lesson about groupthink. I was simultaneously freaked out and fascinated.

I went home and told my mom about the film and she instantly gave me the story to read, which we then stayed up way past my bedtime to discuss.

Two days later, our teacher issued a tearful apology to the class for showing us the film. Apparently a bunch of parents biatched and my teacher was almost fired. That's when I knew my mom was awesome.

/and yes, she owns every Bachman and King book
//she's still awesome


I am giving The Bachman Books (yes with Rage) to my 14 year old to read. I told her, "At home. Do NOT take it to school. I don't need a call from the proncipal FBI when it's spotted in your locker." Sad that we're to that place as a society, but we are.
 
2012-10-29 07:28:17 AM  

Teresaol31: Mikey1969: Teresaol31: I insist that my fifth grader read primarily from the banned book list: this semester he's re-reading Harry Potter for report purposes because I know the teacher has likely read those, over the summer he read Tom Sawyer, Huck Finn, Puddin'head Wilson (yes, we like Mark Twain around here) and To Kill a Mockingbird, and he just finished "The Hobbit," but we're saving LOTR for next semester. My parenting philosophy has always been to encourage the kids to read that which others say they should not read, because those are the books that actually TEACH you something about real life. Yes, I have made him a literary geek, but guess what? He reads at a 10th grade level while the other kids in his class are struggling with the generic "age appropriate" crap that the school approves of. (He's also read all of the Xantha books by Piers Anthony, but nobody but those are simply to kill time between the more serious stuff he's read.) I think that King's writing is rather vapid for the most part, but honestly getting a kid over the age of 12 to read AT ALL for pleasure is damn near impossible these days, so I'd rather them read King, Koontz, or any of the other modern thriller writers than not to read at all.

I can't get my stepsons to read ANYTHING. Thank God my daughter is here, she is the most inquisitive 4 year old I've ever run into, and already sits down with her books and reads them to her stuffed animals, making up stories based on the pictures. There is still hope. :-) She already made my wife buy us a telescope for looking at "the stars and moon and the planets".

Part of the key is letting the kids see YOU turning off the boob tube and the computer and reading, not because you have to, but as an activity. Habitually reading to them or with them from an early age helps too. Both of mine had the Dr. Seuss books memorized by the time they were three and neither ever had to be taught "how to read" they just KNEW how to read. The other thing is ...


Good advice. Also try an e reader. Merge reading with technology - they might be more interested.
 
2012-10-29 08:04:06 AM  
I guess none of those parents have read Tess of the d'Urbervilles either. I mean its about date rape and teenage pregnancy. Filth!
 
2012-10-29 02:47:41 PM  
Confabulat

King let Rage go out of print after a copy was found in some school shooter's locker. It's the only Stephen King book that's not being published anymore.
Don't believe everything you hear $K say......
The Bachman Books : Four Early Novels by Richard Bachman (Rage / The Long Walk / Roadwork / The Running Man)


He made that claim back 'round columbine. It's still untrue.
 
2012-10-29 10:34:49 PM  
"The Carneal incident was enough for me. I asked my publisher to take the damned thing out of print. They concurred." -Steven King
img443.imageshack.us
 
2012-10-29 11:12:00 PM  

OnlyM3: Don't believe everything you hear $K say......


That edition hasn't been published since the late 90s. You do understand what "out of print" means, right? You can still buy copies because books don't magically disappear. But notice the price of a "new" one ($64.00). That's because you're buying a mint copy of a book that hasn't been published in over a decade.

Thanks for playing, maybe you learned something new today.
 
Displayed 119 of 119 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report