Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Daily Mail)   The greatest response to a bad restaurant review. Ever   (dailymail.co.uk) divider line 162
    More: Amusing, Michelin Guide, Michelin, orgasms, food writer, chefs  
•       •       •

41889 clicks; posted to Main » on 27 Oct 2012 at 4:21 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



162 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-10-27 01:44:07 PM  
Really?  Complaining about the prices?  At a rather high-end restaurant?
 
2012-10-27 01:47:06 PM  
As a chef, I pretty much ignore reviews. I hear about a place, I check it out. Sometimes, that is hard, with seeing things from a professional's eyes, and it's hard to set that aside. You tend to watch the staff, try to figure out why they made particular choices with the wine and liquor list, with the menu, and then you find yourself picking apart the decor and the pricing, and wondering who their vendors are. I make allowances for the time of day, how well staffed they are at the time, and in the end, it comes down to: was the food any good, and did the staff do their job?
 
2012-10-27 02:00:06 PM  
I am shocked- SHOCKED!- that a Michelin 3 star restaurant in the most touristy part of an oil-rich nation doesn't have a dollar menu!
 
2012-10-27 02:00:21 PM  
'wear first a condom on your tongue in order contain the orgasm of your ignorance'

I assume that actually makes sense in Italian.

By the way, first world problems in a city built by third world slaves
 
2012-10-27 02:15:56 PM  

FloydA: I am shocked- SHOCKED!- that a Michelin 3 star restaurant in the most touristy part of an oil-rich nation doesn't have a dollar menu!


Photoshop contest?
 
2012-10-27 02:27:34 PM  
Wow. Chick should hang in some of the kitchens I've worked in.

Potty mouths! The lot of them!
 
2012-10-27 02:50:31 PM  

Vodka Zombie: Wow. Chick should hang in some of the kitchens I've worked in.

Potty mouths! The lot of them!


For sure. I'm surprised he didn't include the eyetalian version of c*nt

In hospitals the surgery suite is also known for it's colorful language.
 
2012-10-27 03:13:53 PM  

IamKaiserSoze!!!: Vodka Zombie: Wow. Chick should hang in some of the kitchens I've worked in.

Potty mouths! The lot of them!

For sure. I'm surprised he didn't include the eyetalian version of c*nt


He could've offered her a bag of mussels that are actually a bag of dicks...

/in Italian, mussels=cozze, dicks=cazzi
//he just has to purposefully mispronounce what I assume to be his native language
 
2012-10-27 03:28:21 PM  
First of all the chef probably shouldn't have responded at all. Second the reviewer needs to understand that the cost of the food is only a portion of the total cost. If you have a nice location and good staff that costs a lot.
 
2012-10-27 03:32:44 PM  

hubiestubert: As a chef, I pretty much ignore reviews.



Pretty much this.  I'm pretty sure people who have a bad experience are much more likely to biatch about it left and right.  As compared to those who had a good experience, and will probably just discuss it with the people they went to dinner with.
 
2012-10-27 03:51:42 PM  
Silly chef. A condom for your tongue is called a dental dam.
 
2012-10-27 04:21:09 PM  
The response didn't seem to match her critique. She liked the food but not the prices. So, the chef insults her taste buds? Okaaay.
 
2012-10-27 04:25:26 PM  
Do "bloggers" actually believe that their opinions matter?
 
2012-10-27 04:25:35 PM  
This is my favorite response to a critic. Short and to the point

To Rudolph Louis, critic for the Muchner Neuste Nachrichten he wrote: "I am sitting in the smallest room of my house. I have your review before me. In a moment it will be behind me!"
 
2012-10-27 04:26:24 PM  

EvilEgg: First of all the chef probably shouldn't have responded at all.


The 'temperamental artiste chef' is a pretty good publicity move, since she wasn't criticizing the food. He'll have his own TV series by next month.
 
2012-10-27 04:27:21 PM  
Dubai is a creepy place to begin with.

It has a thin veneer of opulence hiding a seedy underbelly of human trafficking to run the economy.

I've been there (for work) and it's worse than behind-the-scenes Vegas creepy. The gap between the rich living there to hide from taxes in their home countries and the poor keeping the facade alive is striking. Never going back.
 
2012-10-27 04:27:53 PM  
Arrogance and immaturity = greatest response

ok
 
2012-10-27 04:29:00 PM  
"How can we punch up this article? I know! Add a picture of a woman sitting at a computer!!!"

i.dailymail.co.uk
 
2012-10-27 04:29:29 PM  
Prima donna chef throws a hissy fit in response to a restaurant review which didn't lavishly praise him, or at least that's what I read.
 
2012-10-27 04:30:57 PM  
going to a Michelin starred restaurant and complaining about the price? Unless they are charging 5000 ( Pounds/Dollars/Euros) a plate and its not a fund raise then high prices are to be expected.

i would have ignored her review, not that I could afford to eat at such Restaurants.
 
2012-10-27 04:31:01 PM  
A £200 meal for two is super pricey? I mean, it's not cheap, but it's hardly excessive at a high end place. Heck, a mediocre meal in a mediocre place in Paris cost me 75% of that.
 
2012-10-27 04:31:06 PM  
Simon Flituris, you saw that review, what did you think was going on there?

i4.ytimg.com
 
2012-10-27 04:31:22 PM  

halfof33:

By the way, first world problems in a city built by third world slaves


I think that having a person say "first world/white people problems" is the quickest, more accurate way science has of determining that a person is a douche.
 
2012-10-27 04:31:46 PM  
I hate foodies.
 
2012-10-27 04:32:34 PM  
Whining about things like "vulgar language" or namecalling is generally the last resort of someone who just had their ass handed to them and can't refute what was said.

There is no high road when you already call yourself a "diva".
 
2012-10-27 04:33:50 PM  

CarnySaur: "How can we punch up this article? I know! Add a picture of a woman sitting at a computer!!!"

[i.dailymail.co.uk image 634x422]


I'm assuming since most of you are male, you would prefer the woman bending over in front of the computer? I could be wrong though, since I really was born with female parts.

What did Mark Twain say about his death?

I forget....

can't seem to remember why that keeps happening....
 
2012-10-27 04:34:18 PM  
Dubai?

I can imagine the menu.

"We use only the finest Filipina maids, dew picked and flown from Iraq, cleansed in finest quality spring water, lightly killed, and then sealed in a succulent Swiss quintuple smooth treble cream milk chocolate envelope and lovingly frosted with glucose."

I'm not a big fan of slave-based economies.
 
2012-10-27 04:34:21 PM  
Remember to always use tampons to soak up juices in your mouth so you an enjoy food more
 
2012-10-27 04:34:37 PM  

MagSeven: I hate foodies.


That. Without filtering, my facebook feed would be 70% pictures of froofy shiat people are having for dinner.
 
2012-10-27 04:37:00 PM  
Best response? The chef got catty and still couldn't do the minimum of justifying the price for what even the reviewer said was a good meal. And some travelers do need to be reminded if you eat in a tourist area, you'll likely pay a tourist tax.
 
2012-10-27 04:38:26 PM  
Here in Philly, it used to be that the owner of Kanella would insult you for low-ratings on Yelp. He would just go to town about how crazy and uncultured you were.

The guy from BlueBelly BBQ actually tracked down someone's email or twitter or something and proceeded to call that person out Here's the blog post about the whole tempest in a slow cooker. 

It's hilarious how bent out of shape Yelpers get when you tell them they don't matter.
 
2012-10-27 04:39:43 PM  

jaytkay: Dubai?

I can imagine the menu.

"We use only the finest Filipina maids, dew picked and flown from Iraq, cleansed in finest quality spring water, lightly killed, and then sealed in a succulent Swiss quintuple smooth treble cream milk chocolate envelope and lovingly frosted with glucose."

I'm not a big fan of slave-based economies.


I've got some bad news for you down at the dollar store.
 
2012-10-27 04:40:49 PM  
Here is the greatest response to a bad review.

p.twimg.com
 
2012-10-27 04:41:50 PM  
A family of five could eat on that for well over a month in America.
 
2012-10-27 04:45:18 PM  
Here's what's vulgar: if you can afford to spend anywhere near that kind of money on food for one meal, please just stfu and eat.

Thank you.

P.S. Was it local?
 
2012-10-27 04:45:27 PM  

Indubitably: A family of five could eat on that for well over a month in America.


But then you wouldn't get the benefit of having it prepared by a chef with sand in his vagina. That's what you're paying for.
 
2012-10-27 04:47:25 PM  

skinink: Best response? The chef got catty and still couldn't do the minimum of justifying the price for what even the reviewer said was a good meal. And some travelers do need to be reminded if you eat in a tourist area, you'll likely pay a tourist tax.


I imagine the original response was "Stop cockblocking" and changed to a different sexual metaphor.

Of course the food is overpriced! Everyone is in Dubai to make gobs of cash.
 
2012-10-27 04:47:43 PM  

skinink: Best response? The chef got catty and still couldn't do the minimum of justifying the price for what even the reviewer said was a good meal. And some travelers do need to be reminded if you eat in a tourist area, you'll likely pay a tourist tax.



Seriously, I didn't find the prices that crazy considering the location and reputation of the restaurant. I'd expect to pay $30-40 for an entree at a fine dining restaurant here in the Midwest. $50-60 doesn't seem that unreasonable. Neither party here comes across as reasonable.
 
2012-10-27 04:49:19 PM  
Attacking his language instead of his message tells me she wouldn't have had a decent response no matter how he phrased it. His language just gave her the opportuity to "take the high road."

I always groan when food bloggers start reffering to all of their chef friends they supposedly have.
 
2012-10-27 04:51:57 PM  
a food truck/street vendor/hole-in-the-wall BBQ joint, sure, walk in cold. Any high-end place, I'm going to read a review, go to their website, hear from friends, something before I go. If you know what the prices are like before you walk in, how can you biatch about it later?
 
2012-10-27 04:55:20 PM  
Blogging. Your opinion counts now more than ever!
 
2012-10-27 04:55:48 PM  

SnyderCat: CarnySaur: "How can we punch up this article? I know! Add a picture of a woman sitting at a computer!!!"

[i.dailymail.co.uk image 634x422]

I'm assuming since most of you are male, you would prefer the woman bending over in front of the computer? I could be wrong though, since I really was born with female parts.



No, I think the point was that that photo was completely pointless to begin with.
 
2012-10-27 04:55:49 PM  

GORDON: halfof33:

By the way, first world problems in a city built by third world slaves

I think that having a person say "first world/white people problems" is the quickest, more accurate way science has of determining that a person is a douche.


Lolz. You a big fan of slave labor, Himmler? You sure told me!
 
2012-10-27 04:57:20 PM  
I don't know about responses, but the greatest review was a review of GTR's self-titled album in (I think) Musician magazine.

The review read simply "SHT."
 
2012-10-27 04:58:48 PM  
s13.postimage.org
 
2012-10-27 05:00:06 PM  
If you haven't worked in a restaurant, read Kitchen Confidential. It's pretty accurate.

/or just watch Waiting
//10 years waiting, cooking, bar tending and managing
///real jobs are much less fun
 
2012-10-27 05:06:50 PM  
wear first a condom on your tongue in order contain the orgasm of your ignorance

I came
 
2012-10-27 05:09:15 PM  
Chef Assassin would have loved to use his knives on her.
 
2012-10-27 05:09:31 PM  
Saying the food was great but was horribly expensive is not a bad review and the chef getting hostile over it is damn foolish. I blame the chef reality shows for this kind of response. Patrons should retaliate by finding a different restaurant to frequent.
 
2012-10-27 05:10:21 PM  

downstairs: Really?  Complaining about the prices?  At a rather high-end restaurant?


This.


halfof33: 'wear first a condom on your tongue in order contain the orgasm of your ignorance'

I assume that actually makes sense in Italian.


It's like saying "Bite your ignorant tongue" or, more crudely, "Try to contain your verbal diarrhea with a diaper before you spew forth more evidence of your ignorance". Excessively crude perhaps, and no doubt an immature overreaction, but it makes sense.

halfof33: By the way, first world problems in a city built by third world slaves


Yup.
 
Displayed 50 of 162 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report