If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Major League Baseball) Video Chad Jenkins now looks like the undisputed winner for this year's best catch by a pitcher   (mlb.mlb.com) divider line 28
    More: Video, pitchers, Major League Baseball, ready list  
•       •       •

7731 clicks; posted to Video » on 04 Oct 2012 at 11:06 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



28 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2012-10-04 10:26:15 AM
Timely.
 
2012-10-04 10:29:26 AM
I like how smooth he was after that catch. He had a look on his face like that happened every day.
 
2012-10-04 11:18:54 AM
Serious question ... is that technically still a catch? If the glove comes off your hand, but never touches the ground (and the ball remains in the glove) ... interesting.

What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?
 
2012-10-04 11:21:35 AM
Wow. Repeats from almost a week ago are so much fun.
 
2012-10-04 11:28:51 AM

coheed_and_cambria: What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?


Yes.

Jenkins looked ok. Hope they develop him in AAA next year.
 
2012-10-04 11:33:43 AM

coheed_and_cambria: Serious question ... is that technically still a catch? If the glove comes off your hand, but never touches the ground (and the ball remains in the glove) ... interesting.

What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?



Yes.  There have been times when a first baseman caught a grounder, ball got stuck in glove, and he threw his glove (with the ball in it) to the pitcher covering first.
 
2012-10-04 11:34:33 AM
Nice catch and all, but why was it necessary? Does he not have the hand strength to close a glove and catch the ball? Or does he need a glove that fits properly? Were his hands too slick from all the vaseline inside the glove?
 
2012-10-04 11:34:52 AM

coheed_and_cambria: Serious question ... is that technically still a catch? If the glove comes off your hand, but never touches the ground (and the ball remains in the glove) ... interesting.

What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?



And now with video
 
2012-10-04 11:54:35 AM

Sachlpch: Nice catch and all, but why was it necessary? Does he not have the hand strength to close a glove and catch the ball? Or does he need a glove that fits properly? Were his hands too slick from all the vaseline inside the glove?


Speed!
 
2012-10-04 12:08:08 PM
www.japanprobe.com
 
2012-10-04 12:12:20 PM
CHAAAAAAAAAD JENNNNNNNNNNKINNNNNNS!
 
2012-10-04 12:37:52 PM

UberDave: I like how smooth he was after that catch. He had a look on his face like that happened every day.


Came to say this. Not only the look on his face but the casual flip of the ball back to the mound. That's one cool customer.
 
2012-10-04 12:39:42 PM

UberDave: I like how smooth he was after that catch. He had a look on his face like that happened every day.


His face post-catch should be the new "Like a Boss" meme.
 
2012-10-04 12:53:48 PM
I had that happen a time or two with a puck.
 
2012-10-04 01:01:36 PM
I loved Granderson's reaction
 
2012-10-04 02:21:54 PM
Yup that's the look of a badass.
 
2012-10-04 02:32:01 PM

coheed_and_cambria: Serious question ... is that technically still a catch? If the glove comes off your hand, but never touches the ground (and the ball remains in the glove) ... interesting.

What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?


Did the ball touch the ground?

No?

Then it's a catch.
 
2012-10-04 02:54:31 PM

Super Chronic: UberDave: I like how smooth he was after that catch. He had a look on his face like that happened every day.

Came to say this. Not only the look on his face but the casual flip of the ball back to the mound. That's one cool customer.


I thought it made him look like a jerk. At least crack a smile instead of looking like you're not at all surprised by that impressive/lucky/amusingly-executed catch because you're just that talented. Then the behind-the-back toss made it even worse.
 
2012-10-04 03:09:17 PM

Quaker: Super Chronic: UberDave: I like how smooth he was after that catch. He had a look on his face like that happened every day.

Came to say this. Not only the look on his face but the casual flip of the ball back to the mound. That's one cool customer.

I thought it made him look like a jerk. At least crack a smile instead of looking like you're not at all surprised by that impressive/lucky/amusingly-executed catch because you're just that talented. Then the behind-the-back toss made it even worse.


Yeah, I guess you could see it that way. I dunno, I thought it was cool.
 
2012-10-04 04:31:14 PM

balki1867: I loved Granderson's reaction


Yeah, he appeared to take it nicely in stride and with a bit of amusement. I thought that was pretty cool.
 
2012-10-04 04:38:00 PM

coheed_and_cambria: Serious question ... is that technically still a catch? If the glove comes off your hand, but never touches the ground (and the ball remains in the glove) ... interesting.

What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?


Yup and yup. Didn't hit the ground.

Sachlpch: Nice catch and all, but why was it necessary? Does he not have the hand strength to close a glove and catch the ball? Or does he need a glove that fits properly? Were his hands too slick from all the vaseline inside the glove?


That was a pretty hard shot back at him, he didn't have time to really line it up and open his glove perfectly, so ya just kinda slap it out there and hope it hits the pocket. It did, and it pulled right off his hand. Also, some pitchers don't fully seat their hand all the way in their mitts. Never knew why some guys did and some guys didn't. We just chalked it up to pitchers being weird.

/former minor league pitcher
 
2012-10-04 06:02:03 PM

RoyBatty: balki1867: I loved Granderson's reaction

Yeah, he appeared to take it nicely in stride and with a bit of amusement. I thought that was pretty cool.


^These. Props to Granderson for that.
 
2012-10-04 10:51:16 PM
great catch, pitchers face calls him as a farkin douchebag (it's like "yeah, i'm THAT good") ...the guy who hit the ball was cool as shiat, HE enjoyed it for what it was, a crazy cool happenstance
 
2012-10-04 11:43:29 PM

Arachnophobe: RoyBatty: balki1867: I loved Granderson's reaction

Yeah, he appeared to take it nicely in stride and with a bit of amusement. I thought that was pretty cool.

^These. Props to Granderson for that.


That's actually the best part to me.

Quaker: Super Chronic: UberDave: I like how smooth he was after that catch. He had a look on his face like that happened every day.

Came to say this. Not only the look on his face but the casual flip of the ball back to the mound. That's one cool customer.

I thought it made him look like a jerk. At least crack a smile instead of looking like you're not at all surprised by that impressive/lucky/amusingly-executed catch because you're just that talented. Then the behind-the-back toss made it even worse.


I think it was either that or fall down laughing hysterically.
 
2012-10-05 01:10:07 AM
I was going to make an off-handed comment, but decided against it
 
2012-10-05 03:22:59 AM
Serious question ... is that technically still a catch? If the glove comes off your hand, but never touches the ground (and the ball remains in the glove) ... interesting.

What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?

Did the ball touch the ground?

No?

Then it's a catch.
</i>

So my baseball question is this:

Imagine there is a runner on third in a tie game in the ninth inning with less than two outs. The batter hits a fly ball to the outfield that will easily score the runner on a sac fly.

Instead of the outfielder catching the ball (or playing in and letting the ball drop over his head) why doesn't the outfielder instead attempt to bat the ball up in the air off his glove? He could continue to bounce the ball in the air while advancing forward, and the runner could not tag and score because he could still catch it.

I know the chance of converting this play is slightly better than a snowball's chance in hell, but so what? The run is going to score anyway.
 
2012-10-05 08:54:24 AM

malkavnon: Serious question ... is that technically still a catch? If the glove comes off your hand, but never touches the ground (and the ball remains in the glove) ... interesting.

What if it popped off his hand, but then another player (say, the shortstop racing in behind him) caught the glove (with the ball in it)? Would that be a catch?

Did the ball touch the ground?

No?

Then it's a catch.
</i>

So my baseball question is this:

Imagine there is a runner on third in a tie game in the ninth inning with less than two outs. The batter hits a fly ball to the outfield that will easily score the runner on a sac fly.

Instead of the outfielder catching the ball (or playing in and letting the ball drop over his head) why doesn't the outfielder instead attempt to bat the ball up in the air off his glove? He could continue to bounce the ball in the air while advancing forward, and the runner could not tag and score because he could still catch it.

I know the chance of converting this play is slightly better than a snowball's chance in hell, but so what? The run is going to score anyway.


The rule is that the runner can run from first contact of the ball, not the "catch" itself. So as soon as the player bounces it for the first time the runner is done tagging up.
 
2012-10-06 04:29:31 AM

malkavnon: Instead of the outfielder catching the ball (or playing in and letting the ball drop over his head) why doesn't the outfielder instead attempt to bat the ball up in the air off his glove? He could continue to bounce the ball in the air while advancing forward, and the runner could not tag and score because he could still catch it.

I know the chance of converting this play is slightly better than a snowball's chance in hell, but so what? The run is going to score anyway.


I couldn't help but to reply to this but as a baseball player if you did that I would go to Wal-Mart and buy a rifle and shoot you in face before you were able to throw the runner out. And the gods of baseball would award me with the cock of Honus Wagner and the balls of Satchel Paige. As a bonus I'd also get the hands of Ozzy Smith so I could masturbate all the way to the Honorary Hall of Fame for doing the game a service.

Seriously though, I can't tell you there's a rule against it. I can just tell you that you'd get your ass kicked before you made the play**. ;)

**I didn't make the rules, the baseball gods did.
 
Displayed 28 of 28 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report