If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(RamblingBeachCat.com)   Top 10 great movies that got terrible reviews (but the guy who has worked at Blockbuster since high school always loved)   (ramblingbeachcat.com) divider line 156
    More: Cool, Aaron Eckhart, Nick Nolte, Bobby Knight, Broken Arrow, Scrooge, Mary McDonnell, Tom Hanks, Shaquille O'Neal  
•       •       •

14956 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 30 Sep 2012 at 8:25 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



156 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2012-09-30 01:32:29 AM
I approve of this article. Nice list, have seen most flicks on here.... I can see the Battle: LA recommendation getting some serious blowback from the too-cool crowd, but I enjoyed it: there are simply not enough movies with army vs aliens to complain too much!

Waiting... is pretty awesome. Re-watched on Blu the other day, and it's really a very funny, very well observed day-in-the-life of a theme restaurant. Like the "flair" place from Office Space fleshed out to a movie, but with way more raunch. I agree with the TFA author that maybe you had to have worked in a place like that at least once to "get" it.

I also liked Smokin' Aces for sheer lunacy value alone - although it's kind of hyperkinetic to the point of ADHD-level brain melt.

/not subby
 
2012-09-30 02:00:56 AM
I've only seen 4 of those movies.

Orange County was pretty forgettable.

Waiting was awesome. Quite funny

K-Pax was also kind of forgettable.

Final Destination sucked.

I can think of other movies that are just as obscure that were probably better.
 
2012-09-30 02:30:54 AM
One of my favorite underrated movies is "Butterfly Effect".

The usual criticisms boil down to "it's complicated" and "dont like Ashton Kutcher".
 
2012-09-30 03:30:41 AM
I didn't see very many of those, but I will agree that Fallen was awesome. I don't care what anyone else says.
 
2012-09-30 05:48:47 AM
The Perfect Host was pretty interesting. Waiting I also liked, and Orange County wasn't that bad. (It may have helped that I lived in Southern California when I first saw it.)

Final Destination spawned a fairly successful franchise, so the bad reviews probably were kind of wrong.
 
2012-09-30 07:21:48 AM
I like Fallen, but the fact that Jennifer's Body is on this list makes me not take anything said on that page seriously. That was just a horrible horrible movie.
 
2012-09-30 07:25:59 AM
When it was in theaters, UHF got bad reviews.

Why?

Because critics are

i6.photobucket.com
 
2012-09-30 07:34:45 AM
Fallen was great. Waiting was tolerable, but just didn't click for me. The rest were forgettable.
 
2012-09-30 08:23:44 AM
I loved Blue Chips. Bobby Hurley play point guard for Bobby Knight alone was worth it. I thought Nick Nolte nailed the role and JT Walsh was great. Plus, it was Shaq's best performance (yes, yes, even better than Shazam.)
 
2012-09-30 08:33:57 AM
The Perfect Host is drop-dead great. Especially after seeing David Hyde Pierce as Niles Crane for all those years, you're not sure if you want to laugh or scream for most of the movie.
 
2012-09-30 08:39:28 AM
Really stretching to call any of those movies great.
My short reviews of the ones I've seen...

Blue Chips = Ok only because I finally saw good basketball sequences in a movie.
Orange County = Meh. Completely forgettable. Perfect 6/10 movie.
Battle: Los Angeles = Very good war scenes. If this was fighing against humans it would have been rated higher.
Smokin Aces = A complete piece of shiat movie. Everyone tried too hard to look cool and failed miserably.
Final Destination = Good movie with a great idea.
Fallen = Very good movie. Surprised it was so lowly rated.
 
2012-09-30 08:46:46 AM
Smokin' Aces was awful and tried to be too many things. I wanted to love it for its cast, but man...that movie was just a crazy, incoherent mess.
 
2012-09-30 08:49:26 AM
"Jennifer's Body" is one of the most horrible movies I have ever attempted to watch, and one of a very few that I didn't even bother to finish. It was just that bad. The acting, the screenwriting, the direction... there was nothing at all redeeming about that film. And, while she may be hot, Megan Fox is a terrible actress, and that film really showed it.

I enjoyed "Battle: Los Angeles" well enough, but then I guess I didn't expect it to be any more than it was: a fairly mindless action flick.

"Final Destination" was pretty good, I thought. Definitely an interesting idea, and that scene after (and directly related to) the reflection of the bus was pretty awesome. Never bothered with any of the sequels, though.

And I haven't scene any of the other films on that list.
 
2012-09-30 08:49:44 AM
Loved the the chase scene in Fallen. Denzel chasing the demon who was hopping from host to host was a great concept.
 
2012-09-30 08:49:54 AM
This guy never gets to pick out what anyone watches on movie night. Ever. And any suggestions he might have should lead to a swift kick in the Blockbusters.
 
2012-09-30 08:57:36 AM
Loved Fallen, never understood the hate...still get creeped out when I watch it.
 
2012-09-30 09:01:02 AM
Tiiiime... is on my side, oh yes it is...
 
2012-09-30 09:01:09 AM
What's a Blockbuster?
 
2012-09-30 09:05:02 AM
Replace Battle: LA with Starship Troopers.
 
2012-09-30 09:05:27 AM
Waiting was probably the only genuinely good movie of the bunch, though the first Final Destination was decent. I recall Fallen being decent, though I haven't seen it in a while. I'm pretty sure it was John Goodman who really carried that movie.
 
2012-09-30 09:05:40 AM
Waiting, Blue Chips, and Fallen were all pretty sweet.
 
2012-09-30 09:10:09 AM
"Permiscuous"? Really?
 
2012-09-30 09:10:41 AM
The end of Fallen left me with the most hopeless and pitiful feeling a movie has EVER left me with. That was some GOOD cinema.
 
2012-09-30 09:11:31 AM

B.L.Z. Bub: What's a Blockbuster?


A 20th century analog precursor to Netflix.
 
2012-09-30 09:12:10 AM

B.L.Z. Bub: What's a Blockbuster?


It's that thing that destroyed your local strip mall
 
2012-09-30 09:12:44 AM
'Fallen' was good and seems to be getting the love from several of my fellow Farkers. I disagree with many of his other choices. Re-watched 'The Fisher King' the other day. Strong cast (Jeff Bridges, Robin Williams, David Hyde Pierce, Amanda Plummer) an under-appreciated movie, IMHO. My 2 cents. Toodles.
 
2012-09-30 09:16:09 AM

Shadowtag: This guy never gets to pick out what anyone watches on movie night. Ever. And any suggestions he might have should lead to a swift kick in the Blockbusters.


This.
His entire argument for why the critics got it wrong is "Because I said so."

And just for the hell of it I went back to Ebert's review of UHF, the vast majority of his review is correct.
1) The story (rescue of the TV station) drags the movie down.
2) The characters are one dimensional and forgettable.
3) It's not true to its universe (for example, what was the fallout from the fire-hose drinking scene?)
4) Wierd Al isn't a competent actor.

But I disagree with Ebert because, the various individual parodies and comedic bits are so funny and so transgressive they make up all those other flaws. If UHF came out today, it wouldn't be as impressive.
 
2012-09-30 09:18:14 AM

Dahnkster: 'Fallen' was good and seems to be getting the love from several of my fellow Farkers. I disagree with many of his other choices. Re-watched 'The Fisher King' the other day. Strong cast (Jeff Bridges, Robin Williams, David Hyde Pierce, Amanda Plummer) an under-appreciated movie, IMHO. My 2 cents. Toodles.


Want a strong cast and underrated move?

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead.
 
2012-09-30 09:18:19 AM
Fallen was good, the rest are rightly regarded as crappy films (I haven't seen Blue Chips, though).

Battle LA in particular really only has Eckhart's performance going for it. The much hyped action scenes are amateurishly shot, the characters are utterly forgettable (as proven by the fact that I've forgotten everyone else but Echart... ]possibly Michelle Rodriguez?) and the dialogue was Transformers-level stupid.
 
2012-09-30 09:28:18 AM
www.solidsmack.com

Need to watch this again.
 
2012-09-30 09:37:53 AM

NIXON YOU DOLT!!!!!: Dahnkster: 'Fallen' was good and seems to be getting the love from several of my fellow Farkers. I disagree with many of his other choices. Re-watched 'The Fisher King' the other day. Strong cast (Jeff Bridges, Robin Williams, David Hyde Pierce, Amanda Plummer) an under-appreciated movie, IMHO. My 2 cents. Toodles.

Want a strong cast and underrated move?

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead.


Also Sneakers.
 
2012-09-30 09:40:42 AM

Dahnkster: 'Fallen' was good and seems to be getting the love from several of my fellow Farkers. I disagree with many of his other choices. Re-watched 'The Fisher King' the other day. Strong cast (Jeff Bridges, Robin Williams, David Hyde Pierce, Amanda Plummer) an under-appreciated movie, IMHO. My 2 cents. Toodles.


The Fisher King is at 84% on the Tomatometer. That's pretty well appreciated.
 
2012-09-30 09:40:48 AM

GavinTheAlmighty: Smokin' Aces was awful and tried to be too many things. I wanted to love it for its cast, but man...that movie was just a crazy, incoherent mess.


Like Eastern European jizz.
 
2012-09-30 09:44:31 AM
I loved, "Fallen". Well thought out movie and a great concept. Very different from the other, "demon invades our world" schtick. I'll have to check out "The Perfect Host" on Netflix streaming later on today, and I'll check out "Waiting" since it seems to be a mindless goofy flick. Some others that should be on the list:

Starship Troopers
Hollow Man
12 Monkeys
Femme Fatale
Brotherhood of the Wolf
The List

/my 2 cents
 
2012-09-30 09:46:13 AM
62% on the Tomatometer, but I seem to remember most critics hating it when it was released. 
1.bp.blogspot.com
 
2012-09-30 09:49:44 AM
I thought "Waiting" was mindless fun, it had some great bits. But then having waited tables meay biase me.

Smokin' Aces just seemed to be yet another Tarantino ripoff and was not that good, though you should go to Youtube to watch the few good individual scenes. 2 Days in the Valley is a better Tarantino knockoff, plus if I remember Charlize Theron gets nude in it.
 
2012-09-30 09:49:52 AM

qsblues: Hollow Man


That movie was horrible.My parents said they'd watch the kids while we went to a movie and on the advice of a fake movie critic calling it "one hell of a scary ride" Nowherewoman and I saw it.
 
2012-09-30 09:51:05 AM

Komplex: And just for the hell of it I went back to Ebert's review of UHF, the vast majority of his review is correct.
1) The story (rescue of the TV station) drags the movie down.
2) The characters are one dimensional and forgettable.
3) It's not true to its universe (for example, what was the fallout from the fire-hose drinking scene?)
4) Wierd Al isn't a competent actor.


the kid's thirst was quenched?


I'm not advocating turning off ones brain to enjoy a movie, but the above critiques are probably closer to a "not being able to see the forest for the trees" kind of deal
 
2012-09-30 09:53:08 AM
Add me to the list of people who love "Fallen". That movie is creepy as hell.

Kind of interested in "The Perfect Host" now....
 
2012-09-30 09:55:18 AM

FeedTheCollapse: Komplex: And just for the hell of it I went back to Ebert's review of UHF, the vast majority of his review is correct.
1) The story (rescue of the TV station) drags the movie down.
2) The characters are one dimensional and forgettable.
3) It's not true to its universe (for example, what was the fallout from the fire-hose drinking scene?)
4) Wierd Al isn't a competent actor.

the kid's thirst was quenched?


I'm not advocating turning off ones brain to enjoy a movie, but the above critiques are probably closer to a "not being able to see the forest for the trees" kind of deal


Why Eggbert was full of shiat:
1) It was funny.
 
2012-09-30 09:58:14 AM

paulseta: I also liked Smokin' Aces for sheer lunacy value alone - although it's kind of hyperkinetic to the point of ADHD-level brain melt.


Smokin' Aces is a lot of fun. Great cast. Great ensemble of characters. A couple of nice plot twists. The Tremor brothers. Lots of action.

It's not going to win any awards, but it's a great way to spend 105 (or so) minutes.
 
2012-09-30 09:58:33 AM
I clicked on the link expecting to find movies like Casablanca, Star Wars*, etc. You know great movies that there exists a general consensus that they are great. Instead lists some movies that are little known, that are Bs at best, and/or movies that certainly does not exist anything remotely like a consensus that they are great movies.

This list fails until it lists movies that were panned by the critics and after the passage of time have become widely recognized as great movies.

*Just picking two movies most here will think are great. I am making no claims of how they were reviewed.
 
2012-09-30 10:03:51 AM
I can completely understand the hate for Jennifer's Body, but I watched it on cable one night at like 1am and was very pleased by it. I loathe most things Megan Fox does, but I just dug the hell out of what Diablo Cody was going for here overall. I understand I am in the vast minority here, but it is a guilty pleasure of mine.

I also die laughing every time I see the sacrifice/musical number in the woods.
 
2012-09-30 10:05:06 AM
I enjoyed "Jennifer's Body" as the B-movie it's supposed to be.

If you go in thinking it's a glossier 60's monster movie, it's tongue-in-cheek fun.

If that wasn't the intention, then they failed, but I still enjoyed it.

/kind of like "The Happening". I think it's pretty obvious it was a parody but most critics didn't "get" that and just assumed it was a horrible movie. As a parody, it's spot on and entertaining!
 
2012-09-30 10:07:16 AM
I'm getting a kick out of the headline because I recently found a high school friend of mine on Facebook, and he's been working at Blockbuster since high school... 15 years ago.
 
2012-09-30 10:08:53 AM
Every time I see "Smokin' Aces", I think "Stroker Ace", and that was definitely a bad movie.
 
2012-09-30 10:09:32 AM
Smokin Aces and Fallen were good, the rest sucked.
 
2012-09-30 10:12:17 AM

MithrandirBooga: he's been working at Blockbuster since high school... 15 years ago.


How's life as a rocket scientist-brain surgeon-astronaut treating you?
 
2012-09-30 10:14:07 AM
A.I.
 
2012-09-30 10:20:35 AM
I didn't like Fallen, because I figured out everything that would happen as soon as I heard the first line. Maybe I should revisit it.
 
2012-09-30 10:22:33 AM
My own submission, at least underrated because it did receive some decent reviews, is Gremlins 2. It is easily the most chaotic and ridiculous movie ever made, and the story behind the how and why it was made just adds to it(you want me to do this movie so bad you're going to give me full control? you'll be sorrryyyy). It basically invented the hyper-meta comedy that we see all the time today in movies, television, variety, etc. The Leonard Maltin bit was comedy genius. The Hulk Hogan cut-in was so convincing people left the movie theater to complain that the film broke. etc

AtlanticCoast63: The Perfect Host is drop-dead great. Especially after seeing David Hyde Pierce as Niles Crane for all those years, you're not sure if you want to laugh or scream for most of the movie.


I never heard of it before this article, but now I must watch it.

Gunther: Fallen was good, the rest are rightly regarded as crappy films (I haven't seen Blue Chips, though).


Blue Chips is solid. Nolte was great and Shaq was genuine and displayed charisma. The kicker is that you ave to enjoy some of the nuances of college basketball/sports to some degree simply because the movie revolves around it, kind of like The Program.
 
2012-09-30 10:27:14 AM

zarberg: NIXON YOU DOLT!!!!!: Dahnkster: 'Fallen' was good and seems to be getting the love from several of my fellow Farkers. I disagree with many of his other choices. Re-watched 'The Fisher King' the other day. Strong cast (Jeff Bridges, Robin Williams, David Hyde Pierce, Amanda Plummer) an under-appreciated movie, IMHO. My 2 cents. Toodles.

Want a strong cast and underrated move?

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead.

Also Sneakers.


Yes and Hell Yes.

I didn't see Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead before reading the play, but the casting and performances were just perfectly matched to what played out in my head.

And Sneakers, for some reason, has always felt like a guilty pleasure, even though it has a top-notch cast from the leading roles (seriously, Poitier, Redford, and Kingsley) to the supporting cast (Strathairn, Ackroyd, and Phoenix in some of the best character-roles of their careers), to the minor (Tim Busfield, Donal Logue, Mary McDonnell), all just pitch-perfect. Love that movie.
 
2012-09-30 10:27:32 AM

buntz: /kind of like "The Happening". I think it's pretty obvious it was a parody but most critics didn't "get" that and just assumed it was a horrible movie. As a parody, it's spot on and entertaining!


A parody? Sure it was, Mr. Shyamalan...


it's 100% seriousness is what made the movie go from generic badness (See: Blindness for something similar) to awesomely terrible. Any kind of "it was a parody!" excuse is a bad attempt at saving face.
 
2012-09-30 10:27:47 AM
while I wouldn't say I hated any of those movies, I don't think any of them are worth an article about being underrated or great.
 
2012-09-30 10:30:00 AM
imageshack.us


I don't think a lot of critics got this. His later stuff is much better but Shakes is definitely a watchable, very funny black comedy
 
2012-09-30 10:31:18 AM
And I neither know nor care what the critical reviews were at the time of their release, but as far as underrated films go, Frailty, Talk Radio, and Alpha Dog rank among the most egregiously underrated films in my personal collection. I know too few people who have seen even one of those three.

Also, I'll take this opportunity to say once again: WATCH BRONSON YOU F*CKING COONTS! FASTA! FASTA! FASTA!
 
2012-09-30 10:32:39 AM

FeedTheCollapse: A parody? Sure it was, Mr. Shyamalan...


I get calling "Girl in the Water" after the fact an attempt to save face, but The Happening was TOO obviously bad to not be. I mean, I haven't liked anything else by the guy (well, maybe 6th Sense and everything up to the ending of Unbreakable) so I'm not a Shyamalan apologist, but I just couldn't believe something would be that laughable AND serious
 
2012-09-30 10:33:32 AM

buntz: /kind of like "The Happening". I think it's pretty obvious it was a parody but most critics didn't "get" that and just assumed it was a horrible movie. As a parody, it's spot on and entertaining!


I detested The Happening. On the other hand, Lady in the Water has a really good movie buried beneath all of its self-indulgent auteur crap that has infested all but two of M. Night's movies.
 
2012-09-30 10:40:55 AM

buntz: MithrandirBooga: he's been working at Blockbuster since high school... 15 years ago.

How's life as a rocket scientist-brain surgeon-astronaut treating you?


Software architect. It sucks, and made me fat, but the money is great.

BTW, he's a regional manager, worked his way up from clerk. I was amused at the headlines coincidence to my recent discovery. That is all.
 
2012-09-30 10:42:49 AM

buntz: FeedTheCollapse: A parody? Sure it was, Mr. Shyamalan...

I get calling "Girl in the Water" after the fact an attempt to save face, but The Happening was TOO obviously bad to not be. I mean, I haven't liked anything else by the guy (well, maybe 6th Sense and everything up to the ending of Unbreakable) so I'm not a Shyamalan apologist, but I just couldn't believe something would be that laughable AND serious


Girl In The Water didn't feel like a parody so much as a completely misfired idea. I think he was going for a Real Life Fairy Tale kind of thing, but it was just too goofy to really work when played out on film. In light of that and his quality of work generally going downhill, I would say The Happening is 100% serious.


Speaking of Shyamalan and movies sullied by critics, "Devil" wasn't nearly as bad as it was made out to be. I think its reputation was sullied by its connection to Shyamalan, but it was an otherwise not-great, but still pretty decent movie. I would place it ahead of his last few movies at least.

I'm also wondering if The Village might hold up fairly well. I thought it's message was very much of its time and the "twist ending" was very obvious just by watching the trailer, but I can see how someone not knowing anything about it seeing it recently would probably like it.
 
2012-09-30 10:46:26 AM

MithrandirBooga:

BTW, he's a regional manager, worked his way up from clerk. .


Does he have an assistant?
 
2012-09-30 10:50:29 AM
Films nowadays considered classics (even if only of the "cult" variety) which were not quite so beloved by audiences or a lot of critics during their initial theatrical runs:

Duck Soup
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
Heathers
The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Blade Runner
The Adventures of Baron Munchausen
The Shawshank Redemption
Carpenter's 'The Thing' (utterly ravaged by critics of the day and met with complete indifference by audiences)
The King of Comedy
The Stunt Man
The Iron Giant
The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension
Fight Club
Office Space
It's A Wonderful Life
 
2012-09-30 10:51:12 AM

TheMysteriousStranger: I clicked on the link expecting to find movies like Casablanca, Star Wars*, etc. You know great movies that there exists a general consensus that they are great.


...really? What would be the point of such a list?
 
2012-09-30 10:54:14 AM

FeedTheCollapse: buntz: FeedTheCollapse: A parody? Sure it was, Mr. Shyamalan...

I get calling "Girl in the Water" after the fact an attempt to save face, but The Happening was TOO obviously bad to not be. I mean, I haven't liked anything else by the guy (well, maybe 6th Sense and everything up to the ending of Unbreakable) so I'm not a Shyamalan apologist, but I just couldn't believe something would be that laughable AND serious

Girl In The Water didn't feel like a parody so much as a completely misfired idea. I think he was going for a Real Life Fairy Tale kind of thing, but it was just too goofy to really work when played out on film. In light of that and his quality of work generally going downhill, I would say The Happening is 100% serious.


Speaking of Shyamalan and movies sullied by critics, "Devil" wasn't nearly as bad as it was made out to be. I think its reputation was sullied by its connection to Shyamalan, but it was an otherwise not-great, but still pretty decent movie. I would place it ahead of his last few movies at least.

I'm also wondering if The Village might hold up fairly well. I thought it's message was very much of its time and the "twist ending" was very obvious just by watching the trailer, but I can see how someone not knowing anything about it seeing it recently would probably like it.


I love the story about the in-theater premiere of the trailer for Devil. As soon as the words "From the mind of M. Night Shyamalan" flashed up on the screen, the audience broke out into raucous laughter. That movie was doomed from that moment.
 
2012-09-30 10:54:30 AM

FeedTheCollapse: buntz: FeedTheCollapse: A parody? Sure it was, Mr. Shyamalan...

I get calling "Girl in the Water" after the fact an attempt to save face, but The Happening was TOO obviously bad to not be. I mean, I haven't liked anything else by the guy (well, maybe 6th Sense and everything up to the ending of Unbreakable) so I'm not a Shyamalan apologist, but I just couldn't believe something would be that laughable AND serious

Girl In The Water didn't feel like a parody so much as a completely misfired idea. I think he was going for a Real Life Fairy Tale kind of thing, but it was just too goofy to really work when played out on film. In light of that and his quality of work generally going downhill, I would say The Happening is 100% serious.


Speaking of Shyamalan and movies sullied by critics, "Devil" wasn't nearly as bad as it was made out to be. I think its reputation was sullied by its connection to Shyamalan, but it was an otherwise not-great, but still pretty decent movie. I would place it ahead of his last few movies at least.

I'm also wondering if The Village might hold up fairly well. I thought it's message was very much of its time and the "twist ending" was very obvious just by watching the trailer, but I can see how someone not knowing anything about it seeing it recently would probably like it.


"The Village" would have been much better if Shyalaman hadn't felt like he had to have a "twist", and the nature of the community had been stated up front.
 
2012-09-30 10:56:28 AM

FeedTheCollapse: I'm also wondering if The Village might hold up fairly well


When I first saw the Village, I didn't see the twist coming. But after I learned the twist I said "Well, I don't buy this"
Yes the twist got me, and it was clever, but I found it implausible.

But The Happening I just assumed going in it was a joke, just based on Walberg's acting. Yeah, he's not Oliver, but he's not THAT bad. I said it HAS to be a joke
 
2012-09-30 10:59:31 AM

Son of Streak: I love the story about the in-theater premiere of the trailer for Devil. As soon as the words "From the mind of M. Night Shyamalan" flashed up on the screen, the audience broke out into raucous laughter. That movie was doomed from that moment.


Yeah, to be fair, Shyamalan is just as guilty for cultivating the hype he can't live up to. Still, it wasn't that bad of a movie. I would bet if they had completely left that tag out of the preview, it probably would've been better received.
 
2012-09-30 11:02:35 AM

Arkanaut: Tiiiime... is on my side, oh yes it is...


Stay away from me.
 
2012-09-30 11:11:04 AM

Frederick: One of my favorite underrated movies is "Butterfly Effect".

The usual criticisms boil down to "it's complicated" and "dont like Ashton Kutcher".


While both of those statements are true, the real problem with "Butterfly Effect" is that it has plot holes so large you could drive a Mack truck through them.

Example (and minor spoiler): while in prison, he convinces his cell mate that he's special by giving himself stigmata (when he was a child). His cell mate is astounded by the sudden emergence of the stigmata, but it should have been there all along, since he gave it to himself well before going to prison.

The list goes on, I have forgotten most of them, since it's been years since I've seen the movie, but that one completely destroyed my suspension of disbelief.

Enjoy "Butterfly Effect" all you want, lord knows I love me my share of crappy movies, but don't try and pretend that it's actually a good movie and that everybody else "just doesn't get it." The movie was crap, and is rightly labeled crap.
 
2012-09-30 11:17:39 AM
The Spanish Prisoner.
Grosse Point Blank.
Office Space.
Hudson Hawk.
 
2012-09-30 11:27:06 AM

nmrsnr: Frederick: One of my favorite underrated movies is "Butterfly Effect".

The usual criticisms boil down to "it's complicated" and "dont like Ashton Kutcher".

While both of those statements are true, the real problem with "Butterfly Effect" is that it has plot holes so large you could drive a Mack truck through them.

Example (and minor spoiler): while in prison, he convinces his cell mate that he's special by giving himself stigmata (when he was a child). His cell mate is astounded by the sudden emergence of the stigmata, but it should have been there all along, since he gave it to himself well before going to prison.

The list goes on, I have forgotten most of them, since it's been years since I've seen the movie, but that one completely destroyed my suspension of disbelief.

Enjoy "Butterfly Effect" all you want, lord knows I love me my share of crappy movies, but don't try and pretend that it's actually a good movie and that everybody else "just doesn't get it." The movie was crap, and is rightly labeled crap.


I've never quite understood the following for the Butterfly Effect. I recall it being better than I thought it would be, but there's no way anyone would call it "complicated" (for the above reason you just cited.) It might be complex in the sense that it ignores plotholes in favor of moving the story forward, but that's it.

It's not a bad film, but it's definitely not a good or complex film.
 
2012-09-30 11:29:13 AM
Death to Smoochy
 
2012-09-30 11:53:42 AM

MoonPirate: The Spanish Prisoner.
Grosse Point Pointe Blank.
Office Space.
Hudson Hawk.


FTFY

/it's a sore spot since I'm actually from there.
 
2012-09-30 11:57:08 AM

Cosmk: zarberg: NIXON YOU DOLT!!!!!: Dahnkster: 'Fallen' was good and seems to be getting the love from several of my fellow Farkers. I disagree with many of his other choices. Re-watched 'The Fisher King' the other day. Strong cast (Jeff Bridges, Robin Williams, David Hyde Pierce, Amanda Plummer) an under-appreciated movie, IMHO. My 2 cents. Toodles.

Want a strong cast and underrated move?

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead.

Also Sneakers.

Yes and Hell Yes.

I didn't see Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead before reading the play, but the casting and performances were just perfectly matched to what played out in my head.

And Sneakers, for some reason, has always felt like a guilty pleasure, even though it has a top-notch cast from the leading roles (seriously, Poitier, Redford, and Kingsley) to the supporting cast (Strathairn, Ackroyd, and Phoenix in some of the best character-roles of their careers), to the minor (Tim Busfield, Donal Logue, Mary McDonnell), all just pitch-perfect. Love that movie.


I love you.

What I mean is....you wouldn't happen to have a sister or cousin who shares your tastes, would you?
 
2012-09-30 11:57:08 AM

Theonceovertwice: Death to Smoochy


One of my favorite movies of all time.

It's...it's...It's a rocket ship!
 
2012-09-30 11:57:42 AM

wallywam1: FeedTheCollapse: Komplex: And just for the hell of it I went back to Ebert's review of UHF, the vast majority of his review is correct.
1) The story (rescue of the TV station) drags the movie down.
2) The characters are one dimensional and forgettable.
3) It's not true to its universe (for example, what was the fallout from the fire-hose drinking scene?)
4) Wierd Al isn't a competent actor.

the kid's thirst was quenched?


I'm not advocating turning off ones brain to enjoy a movie, but the above critiques are probably closer to a "not being able to see the forest for the trees" kind of deal

Why Eggbert was full of shiat:
1) It was funny.


No, UHF had funny moments (and a lot of them) but most of them had nothing at all to do with the characters and the plot. UHF is actually two movies smashed together, a skit movie like Amazon Women on the Moon, Kentucky Fried Movie and a "We have to save the school/camp/radio station."

Weird Al was able to do one side really, really well, but the other side was a total piece of crap. How many times did you laugh at the movie outside of the parody/tv show skits? Yeah, that's right once when the Japanese guys screamed "Surprise" when they rescued Stanley.

To be totally unfair, compare UHF to Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Pee Wee's reality is so much more unbelievable than UHF but it totally works because of the strength of Pee Wee's character & the fact the movie never abandons the rules of reality they create.
 
2012-09-30 12:01:56 PM

NIXON YOU DOLT!!!!!: Cosmk: zarberg: NIXON YOU DOLT!!!!!: Dahnkster: 'Fallen' was good and seems to be getting the love from several of my fellow Farkers. I disagree with many of his other choices. Re-watched 'The Fisher King' the other day. Strong cast (Jeff Bridges, Robin Williams, David Hyde Pierce, Amanda Plummer) an under-appreciated movie, IMHO. My 2 cents. Toodles.

Want a strong cast and underrated move?

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead.

Also Sneakers.

Yes and Hell Yes.

I didn't see Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead before reading the play, but the casting and performances were just perfectly matched to what played out in my head.

And Sneakers, for some reason, has always felt like a guilty pleasure, even though it has a top-notch cast from the leading roles (seriously, Poitier, Redford, and Kingsley) to the supporting cast (Strathairn, Ackroyd, and Phoenix in some of the best character-roles of their careers), to the minor (Tim Busfield, Donal Logue, Mary McDonnell), all just pitch-perfect. Love that movie.

I love you.

What I mean is....you wouldn't happen to have a sister or cousin who shares your tastes, would you?


Well, my alt - erm, I mean MY REALLY HOT AND SEXUALLY PROMISCUOUS COUSIN - just happens to have a wishlist strikingly similar to mine, and would be happy to send non-faceshot BIE in exchange for gifts.
 
2012-09-30 12:07:17 PM
Those movies are awful. A list could be made of unfairly pooped on movies but those piles of fertilizer got what the deserved.
 
2012-09-30 12:09:10 PM

Komplex: wallywam1: FeedTheCollapse: Komplex: And just for the hell of it I went back to Ebert's review of UHF, the vast majority of his review is correct.
1) The story (rescue of the TV station) drags the movie down.
2) The characters are one dimensional and forgettable.
3) It's not true to its universe (for example, what was the fallout from the fire-hose drinking scene?)
4) Wierd Al isn't a competent actor.

the kid's thirst was quenched?


I'm not advocating turning off ones brain to enjoy a movie, but the above critiques are probably closer to a "not being able to see the forest for the trees" kind of deal

Why Eggbert was full of shiat:
1) It was funny.

No, UHF had funny moments (and a lot of them) but most of them had nothing at all to do with the characters and the plot. UHF is actually two movies smashed together, a skit movie like Amazon Women on the Moon, Kentucky Fried Movie and a "We have to save the school/camp/radio station."

Weird Al was able to do one side really, really well, but the other side was a total piece of crap. How many times did you laugh at the movie outside of the parody/tv show skits? Yeah, that's right once when the Japanese guys screamed "Surprise" when they rescued Stanley.

To be totally unfair, compare UHF to Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Pee Wee's reality is so much more unbelievable than UHF but it totally works because of the strength of Pee Wee's character & the fact the movie never abandons the rules of reality they create.


Reasons why Komplex is full of shiat:
1) It was funny.
 
2012-09-30 12:12:56 PM
Speed Racer

I still don't get why so many people didn't like this movie. I adored it from the first time I saw it and each time I saw it after that I loved it even more.

The important thing to keep in mind while watching it is that it IS a cartoon. Though one with very complicated story telling. Then, get the largest screen you can, blast the volume and get carried away. Watching it multiple times to catch the nuances of the story helps, too.

/feel free to take some acid if it will help you sit through it. :P
 
2012-09-30 12:13:34 PM

wallywam1: Komplex: wallywam1: FeedTheCollapse: Komplex: And just for the hell of it I went back to Ebert's review of UHF, the vast majority of his review is correct.
1) The story (rescue of the TV station) drags the movie down.
2) The characters are one dimensional and forgettable.
3) It's not true to its universe (for example, what was the fallout from the fire-hose drinking scene?)
4) Wierd Al isn't a competent actor.

the kid's thirst was quenched?


I'm not advocating turning off ones brain to enjoy a movie, but the above critiques are probably closer to a "not being able to see the forest for the trees" kind of deal

Why Eggbert was full of shiat:
1) It was funny.

No, UHF had funny moments (and a lot of them) but most of them had nothing at all to do with the characters and the plot. UHF is actually two movies smashed together, a skit movie like Amazon Women on the Moon, Kentucky Fried Movie and a "We have to save the school/camp/radio station."

Weird Al was able to do one side really, really well, but the other side was a total piece of crap. How many times did you laugh at the movie outside of the parody/tv show skits? Yeah, that's right once when the Japanese guys screamed "Surprise" when they rescued Stanley.

To be totally unfair, compare UHF to Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Pee Wee's reality is so much more unbelievable than UHF but it totally works because of the strength of Pee Wee's character & the fact the movie never abandons the rules of reality they create.

Reasons why Komplex is full of shiat:
1) It was funny.


Well, now we know nick nafpliotis's fark handle.
 
2012-09-30 12:31:03 PM

Nowhereman: qsblues: Hollow Man

That movie was horrible.My parents said they'd watch the kids while we went to a movie and on the advice of a fake movie critic calling it "one hell of a scary ride" Nowherewoman and I saw it.


sorry, I was high when I saw it.
 
2012-09-30 12:42:34 PM

Relatively Obscure: I didn't see very many of those, but I will agree that Fallen was awesome. I don't care what anyone else says.


This. One of my favorite Denzel movies. Right there with Man on Fire and Training Day, if you ask me. Had the pleasure of introducing Mrs. mooseyfate to it a long time ago and she loved it, too.

/tiii-IIII-iiii-me is on my side
//yes it is
 
2012-09-30 12:46:27 PM
Wow... "Waiting" got that many bad reviews (70% bad).  Its not the greatest movie of all time, but sheesh... its a lot funnier than 90% of the crap out there.  And it was pretty accessable even if you weren't ever in the food service business.
 
2012-09-30 12:49:47 PM
/this is a comment about the time I almost died.

I've been told I have horrible taste in movies.
I loved Sucker Punch, which I use to judge people when they say I do.
That said, Fallen is frickin' awesome. I took my boy to Battle LA and we had fun.
Waiting has some funny moments but Waiting 2 is the Caddyshack 2 of sequels.
I almost committed suicide watching it.

/remember. I said this was the comment how I ALMOST died.....
 
2012-09-30 12:57:31 PM
Starship Troopers, man. That movie is way better when you realize it's being that cheesy bad on purpose.
 
2012-09-30 01:08:54 PM

NIXON YOU DOLT!!!!!: Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead.


Hells yeah!

MoonPirate: Hudson Hawk.


Yes!

And I still think Knowing was a cool movie, but it seems to be hated by many.
 
2012-09-30 01:10:52 PM

DrgnMech: Starship Troopers, man. That movie is way better when you realize it's being that cheesy bad on purpose.


Its in that same category as Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy for me...

If you can divorce the movie from the book in your brain... they are good movies!
 
2012-09-30 01:14:37 PM
When I was ~16, I got permabanned from a cinema after giving up on the trainwreck that was 'Orange County' and just getting it on with my gf. Apparently half-naked teenagers are a problem for national chains. Whoulda thunk it?
 
2012-09-30 01:16:55 PM
The Golden Child. Horribly panned on release, but still very watchable.

Last Action Hero. I saw it with a friend as we couldn't see anything else worth seeing and couldn't understand why critics hated it.
 
2012-09-30 01:23:24 PM

sage37: When I was ~16, I got permabanned from a cinema after giving up on the trainwreck that was 'Orange County' and just getting it on with my gf. Apparently half-naked teenagers are a problem for national chains. Whoulda thunk it?


You're supposed to cut out your pockets for covert access.
 
2012-09-30 01:49:15 PM

Shadow Blasko: DrgnMech: Starship Troopers, man. That movie is way better when you realize it's being that cheesy bad on purpose.

Its in that same category as Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy for me...

If you can divorce the movie from the book in your brain... they are good movies!


Still think Starship Troopers is a good movie, but after reading the book, I get pissed about how the director turned a pretty poignant book about metaphorical grit and guts into a campy parody of propaganda that featured lots of literal grit and guts.
 
2012-09-30 02:09:24 PM

reimanr06: Shadow Blasko: DrgnMech: Starship Troopers, man. That movie is way better when you realize it's being that cheesy bad on purpose.

Its in that same category as Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy for me...

If you can divorce the movie from the book in your brain... they are good movies!

Still think Starship Troopers is a good movie, but after reading the book, I get pissed about how the director turned a pretty poignant book about metaphorical grit and guts into a campy parody of propaganda that featured lots of literal grit and guts.


I still enjoy the movie, but I would LOVE to see a "true to the book" remake.

/I also liked the "Invasion" animated sequel that came out this year.
 
2012-09-30 02:09:40 PM
No, "Orange County" sucked.
 
2012-09-30 02:12:23 PM

Dog Welder: paulseta: I also liked Smokin' Aces for sheer lunacy value alone - although it's kind of hyperkinetic to the point of ADHD-level brain melt.

Smokin' Aces is a lot of fun. Great cast. Great ensemble of characters. A couple of nice plot twists. The Tremor brothers. Lots of action.

It's not going to win any awards, but it's a great way to spend 105 (or so) minutes.


It was much better than I thought it'd be. That said, the sequel is gut churning bad, like Highlander 2/Caddyshack 2/Batman And Robin bad.
 
2012-09-30 02:12:31 PM
"With little visible talent and no energy, Colin Hanks is in bad need of a major acting lessons and maybe a little coffee."
-Steven Rhodes, Internet Reviews


Since this movie came out a year after Hanks gave such a great performance as a new Lt. fresh out of West Point in the "Band of Brothers" WWII mini series, this guy has just identified himself as a freaking idiot. I had no idea who was playing that part when I saw it on TV, but I was so impressed that I immediately went to find out who it was that played the part as soon as the role was over.
 
2012-09-30 02:15:47 PM
Fallen was good, but this was better.
 
2012-09-30 02:40:30 PM
Hudson Hawk. I will not apologize for my love of that goofy movie.
 
2012-09-30 03:13:59 PM
How can you not love the Angry Bush scene!
 
2012-09-30 03:19:39 PM

Frothy Panties: How can you not love the Angry Bush scene!


The part that killed me was when she picked out a particle of whatever the hell it was stuck in there and threw it at them.
 
2012-09-30 03:24:23 PM
if i recall correctly 'Taxi Driver' got pissed on by film critics. years later they realized it was a cinematic masterpiece. go figure.

/you talkin to me?
 
2012-09-30 03:26:40 PM

TheMysteriousStranger: I clicked on the link expecting to find movies like Casablanca, Star Wars*, etc. You know great movies that there exists a general consensus that they are great. Instead lists some movies that are little known, that are Bs at best, and/or movies that certainly does not exist anything remotely like a consensus that they are great movies.

This list fails until it lists movies that were panned by the critics and after the passage of time have become widely recognized as great movies.

*Just picking two movies most here will think are great. I am making no claims of how they were reviewed.


Yeah, Star Wars is a great example.... it was panned by our local paper's movie critic, who changed his tune for the sequels and even the re-release in the 90s.

I don't think he was alone in his initial review of Star Wars, either.
 
2012-09-30 03:30:53 PM
I want to know what this was doing at the bottom of the page.

4.bp.blogspot.com
 
2012-09-30 03:45:08 PM

farkeruk: Last Action Hero. I saw it with a friend as we couldn't see anything else worth seeing and couldn't understand why critics hated it.


I assumed it was mostly hated because it was Arnold's follow-up to Terminator 2. I haven't seen it in years, but I thought it was funny when i was 10.


Zombie DJ: I've been told I have horrible taste in movies.
I loved Sucker Punch, which I use to judge people when they say I do.
That said, Fallen is frickin' awesome. I took my boy to Battle LA and we had fun.
Waiting has some funny moments but Waiting 2 is the Caddyshack 2 of sequels.


I was excited when I heard there was a Waiting 2 (Still Waiting), but then i saw the cast and said no thanks...


Sucker Punch is a movie I get the appeal of, but it's really not nearly as deep as some of its defenders have made it out to be. It's generally just kind of dumb.
 
2012-09-30 04:28:33 PM

FeedTheCollapse: farkeruk: Last Action Hero. I saw it with a friend as we couldn't see anything else worth seeing and couldn't understand why critics hated it.

I assumed it was mostly hated because it was Arnold's follow-up to Terminator 2. I haven't seen it in years, but I thought it was funny when i was 10.


Zombie DJ: I've been told I have horrible taste in movies.
I loved Sucker Punch, which I use to judge people when they say I do.
That said, Fallen is frickin' awesome. I took my boy to Battle LA and we had fun.
Waiting has some funny moments but Waiting 2 is the Caddyshack 2 of sequels.

I was excited when I heard there was a Waiting 2 (Still Waiting), but then i saw the cast and said no thanks...


Sucker Punch is a movie I get the appeal of, but it's really not nearly as deep as some of its defenders have made it out to be. It's generally just kind of dumb.


Sucker Punch is the best music video I have ever seen.
 
2012-09-30 04:40:53 PM

mamoru: "Jennifer's Body" is one of the most horrible movies I have ever attempted to watch, and one of a very few that I didn't even bother to finish. It was just that bad. The acting, the screenwriting, the direction... there was nothing at all redeeming about that film. And, while she may be hot, Megan Fox is a terrible actress, and that film really showed it.


You're crazy man, Jennifer's Body was great.
 
2012-09-30 05:07:02 PM

ignacio: You're crazy man, Jennifer's Body was great.


It sure was, but the movie sucked.
 
2012-09-30 05:48:43 PM
Let's make a list of terrible movies that got great reviews. I'll start with Star Trek: A Generic Space Movie. (2009)
 
2012-09-30 05:50:47 PM
This was not a list of great movies that were panned, but merely a list of mediocre to passably watchable films that were rightly so critiqued harshly because they fundamentally failed at what they attempted to be. You can still watch a bad movie, and still probably enjoy it, but in the end it is still a bad movie. Putting it in another way, I did enjoy watching Jennifer's Body. But I sure would never list that as a great movie. Watchable yes, not great.
 
2012-09-30 06:06:43 PM
Not a great list, but +1 for lack of slideshow.
 
2012-09-30 06:08:51 PM
Event Horizon!!1! "Where we're going we won't need eyes to see!" Classic.
 
2012-09-30 06:40:47 PM

Frederick: One of my favorite underrated movies is "Butterfly Effect".

The usual criticisms boil down to "it's complicated" and "dont like Ashton Kutcher".


This movie was farking horrid, and yes, Ashton Kutcher was part of it - he's a pretty terrible actor.

The thing I really didn't like about it was that it was one of those "oooooh look how intellectual and deep this movie is" movies. It was a poorly written piece of crap riddled with plot holes and inconsistencies and bad acting. It wasn't complicated - it pretended to be and did a really, really poor job of it.
 
2012-09-30 06:51:20 PM
As someone who worked at Blockbuster for years I got a kick out of that headline.


Popcorn Johnny: ignacio: You're crazy man, Jennifer's Body was great.

It sure was, but the movie sucked.


Maybe. But it's got this going for it.

cdn2.mamapop.com
 
2012-09-30 07:05:19 PM
K Pax? Blue Chips? Love 'em both. Fark critics.
 
2012-09-30 07:20:04 PM

titwrench: GavinTheAlmighty: Smokin' Aces was awful and tried to be too many things. I wanted to love it for its cast, but man...that movie was just a crazy, incoherent mess.

Like Eastern European ji jazz.

 
2012-09-30 07:55:16 PM

Cosmk: And I neither know nor care what the critical reviews were at the time of their release, but as far as underrated films go, Frailty, Talk Radio, and Alpha Dog rank among the most egregiously underrated films in my personal collection. I know too few people who have seen even one of those three.

Also, I'll take this opportunity to say once again: WATCH BRONSON YOU F*CKING COONTS! FASTA! FASTA! FASTA!


Talk Radio and Frailty both got great reviews when they came out, but the releases just weren't handled well.

Talk Radio bombed at the box office because Universal decided to release it the same weekend as Rain Man.
 
2012-09-30 07:58:45 PM
every movie in the list sucks
 
2012-09-30 08:00:54 PM

KrispyKritter: if i recall correctly 'Taxi Driver' got pissed on by film critics. years later they realized it was a cinematic masterpiece. go figure.

/you talkin to me?


While there were some people complaining about the violence, Taxi Driver was critically acclaimed almost immediately and was nominated for the Best Picture Oscar. Deniro, Keitel, and Foster also all got acting nominations.

Still baffled as to how Rocky beat out Taxi Driver, Network, and All The President's Men.
 
2012-09-30 08:00:59 PM

Snapper Carr: [imageshack.us image 762x423]


I don't think a lot of critics got this. His later stuff is much better but Shakes is definitely a watchable, very funny black comedy


The dolphin is in the jacuzzi.
 
2012-09-30 08:13:46 PM

FeedTheCollapse: nmrsnr: Frederick: One of my favorite underrated movies is "Butterfly Effect".

The usual criticisms boil down to "it's complicated" and "dont like Ashton Kutcher".

While both of those statements are true, the real problem with "Butterfly Effect" is that it has plot holes so large you could drive a Mack truck through them.

Example (and minor spoiler): while in prison, he convinces his cell mate that he's special by giving himself stigmata (when he was a child). His cell mate is astounded by the sudden emergence of the stigmata, but it should have been there all along, since he gave it to himself well before going to prison.

The list goes on, I have forgotten most of them, since it's been years since I've seen the movie, but that one completely destroyed my suspension of disbelief.

Enjoy "Butterfly Effect" all you want, lord knows I love me my share of crappy movies, but don't try and pretend that it's actually a good movie and that everybody else "just doesn't get it." The movie was crap, and is rightly labeled crap.

I've never quite understood the following for the Butterfly Effect. I recall it being better than I thought it would be, but there's no way anyone would call it "complicated" (for the above reason you just cited.) It might be complex in the sense that it ignores plotholes in favor of moving the story forward, but that's it.

It's not a bad film, but it's definitely not a good or complex film.


I only want to point out that those arent plot holes. You probably already know that time travel is a fictional device. So to point out that "time travel does not work that way" does not a plot hole make. The author can create his fictional time travel parameters any way he defines.

For me a plot hole is something that is contrary or unrelated to the plot. A popular movie with a lot of plot holes is "Fight Club".
 
2012-09-30 08:24:55 PM

Frederick: I only want to point out that those arent plot holes. You probably already know that time travel is a fictional device. So to point out that "time travel does not work that way" does not a plot hole make. The author can create his fictional time travel parameters any way he defines.




okay, so "plot hole" is maybe the incorrect term (it's not)... but it's still a rather big gap in logic even by the movie's own internal logic.
 
2012-09-30 08:37:39 PM
i497.photobucket.com
 
2012-09-30 09:02:55 PM
Blue Chips was good
Orange County sucked
Battle: Los Angeles sucked
Jennifer's Body was weak
Waiting was good
Smokin' Aces was okay
The Perfect Host was meh
Final Destination was good
K-Pax was great
Fallen was meh
 
2012-09-30 09:35:59 PM

Frederick: FeedTheCollapse: nmrsnr: Frederick: One of my favorite underrated movies is "Butterfly Effect".

The usual criticisms boil down to "it's complicated" and "dont like Ashton Kutcher".

While both of those statements are true, the real problem with "Butterfly Effect" is that it has plot holes so large you could drive a Mack truck through them.

Example (and minor spoiler): while in prison, he convinces his cell mate that he's special by giving himself stigmata (when he was a child). His cell mate is astounded by the sudden emergence of the stigmata, but it should have been there all along, since he gave it to himself well before going to prison.

The list goes on, I have forgotten most of them, since it's been years since I've seen the movie, but that one completely destroyed my suspension of disbelief.

Enjoy "Butterfly Effect" all you want, lord knows I love me my share of crappy movies, but don't try and pretend that it's actually a good movie and that everybody else "just doesn't get it." The movie was crap, and is rightly labeled crap.

I've never quite understood the following for the Butterfly Effect. I recall it being better than I thought it would be, but there's no way anyone would call it "complicated" (for the above reason you just cited.) It might be complex in the sense that it ignores plotholes in favor of moving the story forward, but that's it.

It's not a bad film, but it's definitely not a good or complex film.

I only want to point out that those arent plot holes. You probably already know that time travel is a fictional device. So to point out that "time travel does not work that way" does not a plot hole make. The author can create his fictional time travel parameters any way he defines.

For me a plot hole is something that is contrary or unrelated to the plot. A popular movie with a lot of plot holes is "Fight Club".


These are movies, people. If plot holes bother you, stick to (non Michael Moore) documentaries.
 
2012-09-30 10:25:07 PM
Hyde Pierce was masterful in Perfect Host - once you think you've got it figured out, it changes.
Sneakers is one of my all time faves.
I do love Fido with Billy Connelly, but don't know how panned it might have been.
Waiting was entertaining, pure fluff.
K-Pax was enjoyable.
 
2012-09-30 11:14:57 PM
Waiting is completely accurate. The cooks staring at the clock muttering, "Come on... come ON!"... only for the couple to walk in the restaurant and cause seven full-grown men to lose their shiat is the most true-to-life moment in movie history. Also; Luis Guzman and Dane Cook STEAL that show. Even if you hate his stand-up, if you've worked in a restaurant or known someone who does... Dane Cook is literally the "lifer" who's immune to getting fired. Replacing a worker like him (completely devoted, no life outside of work, has turned down EVERY promotion and hates the customers more than the management) is impossible - the place would fall apart. He's the guy who makes sure the staff is having a good time, even when they're stuck in the 9th circle of Hell.
 
2012-09-30 11:19:26 PM

Komplex: Shadowtag: This guy never gets to pick out what anyone watches on movie night. Ever. And any suggestions he might have should lead to a swift kick in the Blockbusters.

This.
His entire argument for why the critics got it wrong is "Because I said so."

And just for the hell of it I went back to Ebert's review of UHF, the vast majority of his review is correct.
1) The story (rescue of the TV station) drags the movie down.
2) The characters are one dimensional and forgettable.
3) It's not true to its universe (for example, what was the fallout from the fire-hose drinking scene?)
4) Wierd Al isn't a competent actor.

But I disagree with Ebert because, the various individual parodies and comedic bits are so funny and so transgressive they make up all those other flaws. If UHF came out today, it wouldn't be as impressive.


As hilarious as I think UHF is, it basically a bunch of Weird Al skits mashed together with a so-so plot. Never meant to be a critics' delight.

/Wished there really was a Spatula City
 
2012-09-30 11:56:48 PM

Jedekai: Waiting is completely accurate. The cooks staring at the clock muttering, "Come on... come ON!"... only for the couple to walk in the restaurant and cause seven full-grown men to lose their shiat is the most true-to-life moment in movie history. Also; Luis Guzman and Dane Cook STEAL that show. Even if you hate his stand-up, if you've worked in a restaurant or known someone who does... Dane Cook is literally the "lifer" who's immune to getting fired. Replacing a worker like him (completely devoted, no life outside of work, has turned down EVERY promotion and hates the customers more than the management) is impossible - the place would fall apart. He's the guy who makes sure the staff is having a good time, even when they're stuck in the 9th circle of Hell.


I can't stand Cook's standup, but you're right about the character. I bussed and waited tables for my senior year in high school and my first year of college, and we had a guy like that, except he was one of the bartenders. Funny guy, and used to hook us up with beer after closing.
 
2012-10-01 12:01:40 AM
This is why I never waste one second of my life listening to or reading what some critic has to say. They're all idiots. I've yet to understand why they even exist, what purpose they serve or why anyone else cares what they say.
 
2012-10-01 12:29:53 AM
The Postman does not deserve the ridicule that it got. It is definitely better than the 9% it has on RT. I do not get the hate for the movie. I can understand not liking the length of the movie or the fact that it is not all action, but that's the point and why I thought it was a good movie. It took it's time to tell a story that was not in a rush to get finished. And that seems to be the biggest reason people don't like the movie, that it goes on for so long and isn't always about one single plot point.
 
2012-10-01 12:48:44 AM

Pandora's Litterbox: Films nowadays considered classics (even if only of the "cult" variety) which were not quite so beloved by audiences or a lot of critics during their initial theatrical runs:

Duck Soup
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
Heathers
The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Blade Runner
The Adventures of Baron Munchausen
The Shawshank Redemption
Carpenter's 'The Thing' (utterly ravaged by critics of the day and met with complete indifference by audiences)
The King of Comedy
The Stunt Man
The Iron Giant
The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension
Fight Club
Office Space
It's A Wonderful Life


Bringing Up Baby. It made the studios think Hepburn was "box-office poison" and they dumped her.
 
2012-10-01 01:27:19 AM

Suicide of a Phoenix: Bringing Up Baby. It made the studios think Hepburn was "box-office poison" and they dumped her.


Further proof (if any was really needed) that studio heads have nearly always had their heads affixed to the insides of their colons.

And that (as William Goldman once famously entered into the world's lexicon: "nobody knows anything.":

Another "flop" that I really like: Aronofsky's 'The Fountain' (made back half of its 30 million dollar budget).
 
2012-10-01 01:28:30 AM
lexicon:)
 
2012-10-01 02:41:09 AM
i.imgur.com

33%.

Any love for this movie? I thought it had some flaws but I loved it.
 
2012-10-01 03:03:50 AM

John Buck 41: For me a plot hole is something that is contrary or unrelated to the plot. A popular movie with a lot of plot holes is "Fight Club".

These are movies, people. If plot holes bother you, stick to (non Michael Moore) documentaries.


Not all movies have glaring plot holes. It's a sign of sloppy writing and can ruin suspension of disbelief. Occasionally I'll turn off my brain entirely for a movie, but they need to at least be internally consistent.
 
2012-10-01 05:22:41 AM

Zombalupagus: [i.imgur.com image 214x317]

33%.

Any love for this movie? I thought it had some flaws but I loved it.


Vikings!

/vikings
 
2012-10-01 06:41:26 AM

StoPPeRmobile: Zombalupagus: [i.imgur.com image 214x317]

33%.

Any love for this movie? I thought it had some flaws but I loved it.

Vikings!

/vikings


Ready for humor?

Anthropologists and biologists are beginning to not pooh-pooh the idea brought up at the dawn of genetics that Scandinavians and Neanderthals interbred. It's the inspiration for the novel and the movie.

The "Vyrkyl" (they aren't really Vyrkyl) in the movie (AKA: "Eaters of The Dead" as the novel was called, and what the Norsemen called the "savages") were the last living neanderthals.They were going to war to get their land back.

Then Antonio Banderas ("Ibn") slaps their shiat loose - not realizing he's committing genocide. (In the novel, though, the Arabian realizes it after the battle's over and pretty much breaks down when it's apparent that most of them were children, their parents already long slaughtered by the Scandinavians). One of the truly great plot twists only Michael Crichton could pull off.
 
2012-10-01 08:41:09 AM
What's the Fark opinion on The Hudsucker Proxy?

I love Jennifer Jason Leigh's character, but it is a great movie?
 
2012-10-01 11:02:08 AM

fusillade762: John Buck 41: For me a plot hole is something that is contrary or unrelated to the plot. A popular movie with a lot of plot holes is "Fight Club".

These are movies, people. If plot holes bother you, stick to (non Michael Moore) documentaries.

Not all movies have glaring plot holes. It's a sign of sloppy writing and can ruin suspension of disbelief. Occasionally I'll turn off my brain entirely for a movie, but they need to at least be internally consistent.


Everyone has different tolerance levels for plot holes, but in general, a good movie will make you ignore or handwave the plothole if you're having a good time. Case in point for me, I watched Raiders of the Lost Ark since being a wee lad, and it didn't occur to me until the internet days of picking everything apart that in the scene where Indy climbs on the sub, and then it moves to the u-boat pen, that he must have travelled 500 miles underwater. You simply are having too much fun to stop and question it. Ditto the point that if they had opened the Ark in Berlin it would have shredded the Nazi High Command. Heck, for all we know, Belloq pissed the thing off in some arbitrary way. The Ark was kinda known for that in the Bible (poor Uzzah)
 
2012-10-01 11:34:50 AM

Zombalupagus: [i.imgur.com image 214x317]

33%.

Any love for this movie? I thought it had some flaws but I loved it.


It's one of my favorites - great farking book too.
 
2012-10-01 03:05:37 PM
Broken Arrow was worth it for the line:
"Would you please stop shooting at the thermonuclear weapons."

Waiting was pretty spot on about the food service industry except for the genius-Zen-philosopher-dishwasher. The dishwasher is the guy who spray paints his tongue silver and runs his laundry through the machine.

Smokin' Aces was fantastic for its over-the-top violence. Just don't try to take it seriously.

K-Pax lost me when he ate the banana with the peel and all.

Fallen was just plain great.
 
2012-10-01 03:57:35 PM
Amanda Seyfried, who is an excellent actress...

Stopped reading right there.

No. Just NO.

She utterly ruined "In Time". Seriously, she's f*cking drywall.
 
2012-10-01 04:01:57 PM
Also, "Safe House" needs to be on here.
 
2012-10-01 04:04:22 PM

LarryDan43: 62% on the Tomatometer, but I seem to remember most critics hating it when it was released.


Favorite thing about Starship Troopers is the fact that Verhoeven did such a great job making a hilarious mockery of Heinlein's fascist douchebaggery.
 
2012-10-01 04:04:42 PM

SacriliciousBeerSwiller: Amanda Seyfried, who is an excellent actress...

Stopped reading right there.

No. Just NO.

She utterly ruined "In Time". Seriously, she's f*cking drywall.


But she got it on with Julianne Moore.
 
2012-10-01 06:27:57 PM

bill4935: What's the Fark opinion on The Hudsucker Proxy?

I love Jennifer Jason Leigh's character, but it is a great movie?


It's a good movie, you know, for kids!
 
2012-10-01 07:02:54 PM

SacriliciousBeerSwiller: LarryDan43: 62% on the Tomatometer, but I seem to remember most critics hating it when it was released.

Favorite thing about Starship Troopers is the fact that Verhoeven did such a great job making a hilarious mockery of Heinlein's fascist douchebaggery.


Did you actually read the book? Or did you get your opinion from some blog?
 
2012-10-01 08:58:24 PM

Zombalupagus: [i.imgur.com image 214x317]

33%.

Any love for this movie? I thought it had some flaws but I loved it.


My favorite "We're playing D&D in a few hours, let's get into character" movie. For real, how can you watch this movie and NOT want to go play some D&D right afterwards?

/dog can jump!
 
2012-10-01 09:40:21 PM

Fano: Case in point for me, I watched Raiders of the Lost Ark since being a wee lad, and it didn't occur to me until the internet days of picking everything apart that in the scene where Indy climbs on the sub, and then it moves to the u-boat pen, that he must have travelled 500 miles underwater.


Here's my handwave for that one: it's possible the sub was in friendly (German) territory the whole trip and didn't have to submerge (since they move faster on the surface). Though that's still a pretty big risk for him to take. And you'd think someone would have come out and spotted him at some point. Also he wouldn't have had any food or water. Maybe he found a way to get inside? But then how do you hide in such cramped quarters like that?

You know what, the more I think about it the less sense it makes. Never mind.
 
2012-10-02 06:12:09 PM

TheDukeSilverTrio: I also die laughing every time I see the sacrifice/musical number in the woods.


So you are a zombie? Kinky.
 
2012-10-02 06:18:15 PM

Pandora's Litterbox: Films nowadays considered classics (even if only of the "cult" variety) which were not quite so beloved by audiences or a lot of critics during their initial theatrical runs:

Duck Soup
Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
Heathers
The Rocky Horror Picture Show
Blade Runner
The Adventures of Baron Munchausen
The Shawshank Redemption
Carpenter's 'The Thing' (utterly ravaged by critics of the day and met with complete indifference by audiences)
The King of Comedy
The Stunt Man
The Iron Giant
The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across The 8th Dimension
Fight Club
Office Space
It's A Wonderful Life


Drowning Mona
Death to Smootchee

/both good films
 
2012-10-02 06:23:28 PM

nmrsnr: Example (and minor spoiler): while in prison, he convinces his cell mate that he's special by giving himself stigmata (when he was a child). His cell mate is astounded by the sudden emergence of the stigmata, but it should have been there all along, since he gave it to himself well before going to prison.


Just because you think it should have been there does not make it so.
 
2012-10-02 06:37:28 PM

saturn badger:

Just because you think it should have been there does not make it so.


www.celsius1414.com
 
2012-10-02 06:42:27 PM

Fano: I watched Raiders of the Lost Ark since being a wee lad, and it didn't occur to me until the internet days of picking everything apart that in the scene where Indy climbs on the sub, and then it moves to the u-boat pen, that he must have travelled 500 miles underwater.


Actuality they didn't travel underwater unless they needed to. More drag and on batteries. Most of the time they traveled on the surface. If a sub was not detected it was mostly a surface boat.
 
2012-10-02 06:44:28 PM

SacriliciousBeerSwiller: Amanda Seyfried, who is an excellent actress...

Stopped reading right there.

No. Just NO.

She utterly ruined "In Time". Seriously, she's f*cking drywall.


I see open minds abound here.
 
2012-10-02 06:48:56 PM

fusillade762: Fano: Case in point for me, I watched Raiders of the Lost Ark since being a wee lad, and it didn't occur to me until the internet days of picking everything apart that in the scene where Indy climbs on the sub, and then it moves to the u-boat pen, that he must have travelled 500 miles underwater.

Here's my handwave for that one: it's possible the sub was in friendly (German) territory the whole trip and didn't have to submerge (since they move faster on the surface). Though that's still a pretty big risk for him to take. And you'd think someone would have come out and spotted him at some point. Also he wouldn't have had any food or water. Maybe he found a way to get inside? But then how do you hide in such cramped quarters like that?

You know what, the more I think about it the less sense it makes. Never mind.


Did it state in the movie it was 500 miles away? I don't remember.

And once the sub was underway why would anyone come out? If they did he could plaster himself to the conning tower.

Why do I even care? It was a fun movie.
 
Displayed 156 of 156 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report