Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Some Guy)   Video game reviewer gives "Dragon's Lair" 5/10 for "graphics" and compares Don Bluth's animation to Hannah Barbara and DIC animation from the 80's   (ttdw.za.net ) divider line
    More: Dumbass, Don Bluth, graphics, Pong, animations  
•       •       •

6658 clicks; posted to Geek » on 10 Sep 2012 at 9:30 PM (3 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



134 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2012-09-10 06:26:59 PM  
TRAITOR!!!!!

/played it just the other day
 
2012-09-10 06:40:38 PM  
Hannah Barbara

-_o
 
2012-09-10 07:15:42 PM  
More like Warner Bros of the 60's.
 
2012-09-10 07:38:59 PM  
I loved Dragon's Lair. Even if it was a musty old clap-trap.

ilikethingsthataregreat.files.wordpress.com


/Bluth
 
2012-09-10 07:55:09 PM  
I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.
 
2012-09-10 09:33:15 PM  
What?

There are opinions?

On the Internet?

That I don't agree with?!?

STOP THE PRESSES!!!
 
2012-09-10 09:34:49 PM  
That game did suck, great graphics for 1986(?), but it was all patterns and not very fun.
 
2012-09-10 09:34:53 PM  
Oh, the money I wasted on that game. Playing it with unlimited continues on DVD was very sobering (because I didn't have time to sip my beer.)
 
2012-09-10 09:37:48 PM  
eh, if someone asked me if they should get it on xbox live arcade, i'm not sure i would have been that nice. 800 points for that game?
 
2012-09-10 09:38:09 PM  
I believe them's fightin' words...

/I never played it
 
2012-09-10 09:38:46 PM  

gameshowhost: Hannah Barbara

-_o


Exactly.

/Barbera
//may the ghost of Scrappy-Doo haunt you
 
2012-09-10 09:39:50 PM  

stuhayes2010: That game did suck, great graphics for 1986(?), but it was all patterns and not very fun.


Great graphics, period. It was a fully animated film playing on a laser disc until you failed, then it would play whatever death was needed for that spot.

Today it would be HD, but it would still look good.
 
2012-09-10 09:41:34 PM  
I understand that for today's kids it might seem quaint but that was one awesome game when it hit. Of course my first gaming experience was Pong on a B&W tv and my first computer was a Timex Sinclair 2000 so it didn't take much to impress me.
There's a pixelated 8 bit onion on my belt.
 
2012-09-10 09:48:11 PM  
 
2012-09-10 09:50:00 PM  
It's no text based Zork
 
2012-09-10 09:52:57 PM  
I loved that game as a kid and actually bought a box set of DVDs a number of years ago that you could play. Dragon's Lair 1 & 2 and Space Ace - you played them with the remote for the dvd player. I've never seen another product like it, but it was great for nostalgia. Still hard as shiat, though.
 
2012-09-10 09:54:15 PM  
FTA:"The graphics of Dragon's Lair is really a two sided coin. If you're a fan of 80′s arcade games and you don't mind the cartoony graphics, then this game is for you. If you're into high definition or even 3D titles, then don't bother. The graphics literally reminded me of Disney classics (and rightly so because of Don Bluth being behind the animation), Hannah Barbera and DIC cartoons (if you don't know who any of these companies are, then that makes me feel even older)."

Counterpoint: The graphics are better than 3D graphics up to about 2005 or so.
 
2012-09-10 09:57:43 PM  
"cartoony graphics" otherwise known as "a cartoon". farking kids these days.
 
2012-09-10 09:59:24 PM  
This is like saying Star Wars was worse than Transformers because Transformers had better baysplosions.
 
2012-09-10 10:01:27 PM  
I don't have Kinect, but I could actually see it being useful and adding fun into this game.
 
2012-09-10 10:04:15 PM  
Dear Modern Reviewer Guy:

Nobody in the 80s gave a rat's ass about making a "fair game" or a "balanced one." Old school D & D didn't care what build you wanted, you ate shiat and liked it. Coin-op games were meant to suck quarters out of your pocket as efficiently as possible, therefore the games were as hard as a carnies' fantasy line up. Gameplay was meant only to be good enough to encourage you to pour more money in. Note, I never got past the second screen of Dragon's Lair. But I'm going to purchase anyway for nostalgia, and a shot at beating it with unlimited quarters.
 
2012-09-10 10:05:24 PM  

brap: I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.


This.

They have one at the pinball museum in Vegas, and I played it last time I was there, just because.

I died. A lot. And I'm not sure why.
 
2012-09-10 10:08:05 PM  
Dragon's Lair looked awesome, but it was all timing and memorization. No strategy, no thought, no clues, not even twitch ability mattered. Just trying different options till you got the right one.

/still bitter about all those quarters.
 
2012-09-10 10:08:45 PM  
"I had never heard of this game before I got it for review, and after playing it I could clearly see why."

Well, now that you're done with your review can you get to bed early? You may have to run laps in PE in the morning Junior.
 
2012-09-10 10:18:19 PM  

GoodyearPimp: "cartoony graphics" otherwise known as "a cartoon". farking kids these days.


Not enough shades of brown, and the hero isn't dressed in 3 tons of armor (but conveniently forgetting to wear a helmet). Now THAT'S graphics, by gum!
 
2012-09-10 10:20:27 PM  

Smeggy Smurf: It's no text based Zork


Agreed, and speaking of....

t2.gstatic.com

Thoughts?
 
2012-09-10 10:23:04 PM  
I'd question a video game reviewer who didn't know about Dragon's Lair.

Whether it was a great game or not, there are some titles that are historically important in the industry.
DL is one of those.
 
2012-09-10 10:23:51 PM  

brap: I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.


Definitely.

That thing was an epic biatch with precise timing. I hated playing it.

/watched
//was a creepster in training, so it paid off
 
2012-09-10 10:26:15 PM  

cjoshuav: "I had never heard of this game before I got it for review, and after playing it I could clearly see why."

Well, now that you're done with your review can you get to bed early? You may have to run laps in PE in the morning Junior.


This review was the equivalent of describing the wright brother's flyer as a 'dismissible, poorly-built death trap'. He apparently has absolutely no idea that this game is the prototype for every game he now loves. It was mind-bogglingly revolutionary for 1983.
 
2012-09-10 10:27:21 PM  

brap: I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.


THIS

Graphics = 12/10. Simply amazing. I remember just standing around in the arcade just to watch the attraction screen loop over and over.

Gameplay = 1/10. I could throw a quarter down the toilet and at least I could get a satisfying "favorited!" out of it. I don't think I ever got more than 20 seconds of actual gameplay on any money I spent on that farking game in the arcade.

And now you can play it on your phone!

I LIVE IN THE FUTURE

/where's my flying car?
 
2012-09-10 10:27:29 PM  

Electrify: I don't have Kinect, but I could actually see it being useful and adding fun into this game.


You could do better. Modern game consoles (not to mention PC's) have enough processing power that they could take a 3-D scene (like you'd find in e.g. a first-person shooter or an "Elder Scrolls" game) and render it in that classic Disney style, so a Kinect game wouldn't have to be limited to a simple mechanic of "make the correct gesture or die".
 
2012-09-10 10:31:32 PM  
Microsoft Studios and Digital Leisure have taken it upon themselves to reintroduce this motion-capture...

And that's where I stopped... This wasn't "motion capture", it was a purely animated game that had a bunch of preset screens, nothing "motion capture" about it, and if you're too retarded to understand that simple fact, you probably shouldn't be reviewing video games.

As for the game, I agree with the posters upthread. Not a particularly "fun" game, as it was just memorization, but ye Gods! it was beautiful. I believe it's special gimmick was that it was on LaserDisc, the point being that it was a high quality movie that you got to play. I don't know that it would really hold its own nowadays, and not really be worth the money to convert it, but it was definitely groundbreaking.
 
2012-09-10 10:31:38 PM  

Smeggy Smurf: It's no text based Zork


Colossal Cave (or ADVENT written in Fortran IV) for me.

/Zork also ruled
 
2012-09-10 10:34:58 PM  

Mikey1969: Microsoft Studios and Digital Leisure have taken it upon themselves to reintroduce this motion-capture...

And that's where I stopped... This wasn't "motion capture", it was a purely animated game that had a bunch of preset screens, nothing "motion capture" about it, and if you're too retarded to understand that simple fact, you probably shouldn't be reviewing video games.

As for the game, I agree with the posters upthread. Not a particularly "fun" game, as it was just memorization, but ye Gods! it was beautiful. I believe it's special gimmick was that it was on LaserDisc, the point being that it was a high quality movie that you got to play. I don't know that it would really hold its own nowadays, and not really be worth the money to convert it, but it was definitely groundbreaking.


It doesn't, but it's very cheap to convert.
Technically, you could build DL for a DVD player. Using the arrow buttons to go to the next track.

From what I understand, most of those laserdisc games made their cost back plus some when they hit the arcades. Everything since has been gravy.
 
2012-09-10 10:36:17 PM  

t0.gstatic.com



Worth. Every. Quarter.
 
2012-09-10 10:38:02 PM  
The sci-fi sequel called Space Ace was more my speed. Still, nobody but rich kids could afford to play it for very long back in the day.
 
2012-09-10 10:41:51 PM  

Avery614: Smeggy Smurf: It's no text based Zork

Agreed, and speaking of....

[t2.gstatic.com image 200x200]

Thoughts?


Want some rye? 'Course ya do.
 
2012-09-10 10:45:03 PM  

Rusty Shackleford: [t0.gstatic.com image 299x169]

Worth. Every. Quarter.


mimg.ugo.com

Indeed. It. Was.
 
2012-09-10 10:46:18 PM  
"I had never heard of this game before I got it for review, and after playing it I could clearly see why."

Who gave this clueless asshole the job of video game reviewer?

Whatever faults it may have, Dragons Lair is a piece of gaming history. The article itself says "[its] on display in the Smithsonian Institution, alongside other classics like Pac-man and Pong," Its not like its some obscure neo-geo import that youd only be derided for your lack of knowledge about by neckbeard types, what sort of gamer, whos serious enough into the hobby to write game reviews, hasnt heard of Dragons Lair!? Kids these days...
 
2012-09-10 10:56:21 PM  

gameshowhost: Hannah Barbara

-_o


But the "Hannah" is OK by you?

/Hanna
//it is also hyphenated
 
2012-09-10 10:58:53 PM  
It is a toss up on which game I found more frustrating this Dragon's lair or any of those grapple claw prize games.
 
2012-09-10 10:59:21 PM  

Banacek: Avery614: Smeggy Smurf: It's no text based Zork

Agreed, and speaking of....

[t2.gstatic.com image 200x200]

Thoughts?

Want some rye? 'Course ya do.


I hate you so much. I'm now going to have this in my head for the next two days!
 
2012-09-10 11:00:00 PM  
We took the big TV and one of those all-in-one old-school arcade game / controllers up to the pub one night and were playing all the knock-offs of Centipede, Space Invaders, etc... Some young guy was laughing at us, so we let him have a go -- his old-school skilz sucked badly.

I wasted many a quarter in Dragons Lair and never got very far. Omega Race, Rally X and Dig Dug were my faves.
 
2012-09-10 11:00:08 PM  
I remember when I finished the game. I had a crowd watching at Ye Olde Arcade...and finishing it was a blast.

In terms of TFA, the author is correct in that the game isn't 3D, is linear, and doesn't offer any surprises. Where the author is wrong is that those things don't make it any less awesome and the animation is still great.
 
2012-09-10 11:03:06 PM  

unyon: He apparently has absolutely no idea that this game is the prototype for every game he now loves.


I don't see that. I suppose you could argue that games that are heavy on QTE (Fahrenheit, Heavy Rain) are spiritual successors to Dragon's Lair, but that's certainly not "every" (or even most) games. And maybe this is personal bias, but most games that feature QTEs would probably be better games without them - I find they detract from the gameplay more often than they add to it.

It certainly is a huge game in terms of cultural impact, and I always appreciate games that step off the beaten path, but in terms of driving the industry forward, I don't see it having much influence on design of later games.
 
2012-09-10 11:10:38 PM  

stuhayes2010: That game did suck, great graphics for 1986(?), but it was all patterns and not very fun.


Just about every 80's arcade game was based on set patterns - AI was nearly non-existent. The key to beating those games was memorization
 
2012-09-10 11:11:03 PM  

rustypouch: brap: I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.

This.

They have one at the pinball museum in Vegas, and I played it last time I was there, just because.

I died. A lot. And I'm not sure why.


I'm sorry. You said Pinball Museum?
 
2012-09-10 11:20:38 PM  

Virtual Pariah: It doesn't, but it's very cheap to convert.
Technically, you could build DL for a DVD player. Using the arrow buttons to go to the next track.

From what I understand, most of those laserdisc games made their cost back plus some when they hit the arcades. Everything since has been gravy.


There was a kick ass one in the 90's that was a shooting game. That one would count as motion capture. Wild West style on a big projection TV, you shot the guys as they popped out from ramdom places on the fake wild west set. That one I would put ollar after dollar into. Got pretty good at it, too...

Dragon's Age though? I don't see it worth even the marketing costs, but I'd sure be interested to see how well it ported over. It was always worth showing off to people who hadn't seen it before.
 
2012-09-10 11:23:25 PM  
I wonder whatever happened to that really not-fun 3D hologram game that was one of the first to charge fifty cents.
 
2012-09-10 11:23:39 PM  
That one was fun.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mad_Dog_McCree
 
2012-09-10 11:23:53 PM  

maverickzy: Banacek: Avery614: Smeggy Smurf: It's no text based Zork

Agreed, and speaking of....

[t2.gstatic.com image 200x200]

Thoughts?

Want some rye? 'Course ya do.

I hate you so much. I'm now going to have this in my head for the next two days!


You mean it's not always in your head?

/it's burned into mine...
 
2012-09-10 11:25:58 PM  
Whoops, here it is- used to bring in over a million dollars a week.

Time Traveler

Man that was a dumb game.
 
2012-09-10 11:26:20 PM  

TheZorker: rustypouch: brap: I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.

This.

They have one at the pinball museum in Vegas, and I played it last time I was there, just because.

I died. A lot. And I'm not sure why.

I'm sorry. You said Pinball Museum?


Yes. Quick review: it's basically a dark warehouse with rows and rows of pinball and video machines, a sort of negative-frills super arcade. It's just about as awesome as it sounds.
 
2012-09-10 11:34:13 PM  
Someone born in 19 FREAKING 83 feels "old". Git off my lawn kid.

It was a classic.
 
2012-09-10 11:39:30 PM  

Dragonflew: gameshowhost: Hannah Barbara

-_o

But the "Hannah" is OK by you?

/Hanna
//it is also hyphenated


Meh.
 
2012-09-10 11:51:59 PM  
You want obscure, cartoon arcade game from the '80s? And I'm not talking Space Ace ...

Lawn, off.
 
2012-09-11 12:04:38 AM  
Death to that retard. DEATH, I say!


And since we're talking more obscure laserdisc games: Star Rider I blew almost as much money in this as I did Dragon's Lair.
 
2012-09-11 12:07:19 AM  

SockMonkeyHolocaust: Whoops, here it is- used to bring in over a million dollars a week.

Time Traveler

Man that was a dumb game.


Yes, but I still wasted so much money on it. Holograms! It's the future, man!
 
2012-09-11 12:17:47 AM  

Victoly: TheZorker: rustypouch: brap: I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.

This.

They have one at the pinball museum in Vegas, and I played it last time I was there, just because.

I died. A lot. And I'm not sure why.

I'm sorry. You said Pinball Museum?

Yes. Quick review: it's basically a dark warehouse with rows and rows of pinball and video machines, a sort of negative-frills super arcade. It's just about as awesome as it sounds.


Exactly.

Huge assortment of classic pinball machines, with a few arcade games. Zero amenities, but worth a visit. I think I spent $10, and was there for two hours.
 
2012-09-11 12:20:33 AM  
Problem is this kid was born the year it came out so he considers himself part of it's generation but he doesn't remember it's context. At the time 8 bit graphics were what video games were about. A game that was like watching a cartoon was mindblowing at the time even if the gameplay was horribly simplified to make it possible with the times technology.
 
2012-09-11 12:22:06 AM  
I was good at Dragon's Lair. It had a beat to it that let you know exactly when you needed to move. I used a month worth of tokens to memorize it, which was worth it, because high score of the month on a game got you a shiatload of tokens. I used the tokens to play Tron, which was a harder game by far...
I used to have a crowd around, and then die four times at the dragon room, then kill the dragon at the end. Sigh...it was really the only game I was really good at.

/csb
 
2012-09-11 12:23:44 AM  

SockMonkeyHolocaust: Whoops, here it is- used to bring in over a million dollars a week.

Time Traveler

Man that was a dumb game.


Ohhhhhh yeah! I remember that. The multiplex theater had one. I played it like ... twice and realized how much it sucked.

It still wasn't as bad as Bega's Battle hahaha
 
2012-09-11 12:26:31 AM  

Ford Perfect: because high score of the month on a game got you a shiatload of tokens. ....

/csb


The arcade I went to gave a free large pizza and pitcher of pop to anyone who could kill Singe. My friends never had to buy food after school with ME at the controls!
 
2012-09-11 12:26:53 AM  

brap: I remember that as the game you would just hang out by until someone that had memorized it put their quarter in.  Because it had a very expensive learning curve and wasn't very satisfying play-wise. 
 
Fun to watch though.


^

was fun to watch, not fun to play.
 
2012-09-11 12:27:43 AM  
BTW, I am proud to say I have one of these nicely framed in my home:

upload.wikimedia.org
 
2012-09-11 12:27:47 AM  
media.tumblr.com
 
2012-09-11 12:31:13 AM  
I'd never heard of Dragon's Lair, but dammit you do not mention Hanna-Barbera or DIC in the same article as Don Bluth, much less the same sentence.
 
2012-09-11 12:47:13 AM  
Cliff Hanger was another one that was amazing, and I am surprised none of you anime geeks have brought it up.

www.dragons-lair-project.com
 
2012-09-11 12:49:26 AM  
Your source for laserdisc gaming arcana since a hell of a long time ago: Dragon's Lair Project.

A laserdisc is limited to jumping forward/backward over pre-rendered video, which leads to a choose-your-own-adventure gaming experience. For a more modern take, try The Act, now available in app form. Ex-Disney people did the animation, the characters are beautifully (and hilariously) drawn, and because their animations and reactions are rendered separately, the characters and objects can react to each other's actions.

It's your choice as to whether to cast a casual glance at Daphne, or make it rain showers of gold coins with accompanying pelvic thrusts, or anything in between, as long as you don't freak her out. Bluff your way into a hospital while not having the slightest idea what the doctors are talking about, simply by choosing whether to smirk, frown, laugh, or ponder. Don't just choose left/right as you sail down the hallway, dodge obstacles by moving back and forth in real time. It's the laserdisc game you've wanted to play since before you put in that first quarter.
 
2012-09-11 12:56:28 AM  
I had never heard of this game before I got it for review, and after playing it I could clearly see why. The game lacks any sort of dynamic element and everything about it is linear

Now if he had said that at the BEGINING I could have just stopped reading.
 
2012-09-11 01:01:57 AM  

Virtual Pariah: I'd question a video game reviewer who didn't know about Dragon's Lair.

Whether it was a great game or not, there are some titles that are historically important in the industry.
DL is one of those.


This.

Word.

Agreed.

Bears repeating.

And seriously? 'motion capture'? This kid is doing nothing so much as displaying his ignorance of the whole industry.
 
2012-09-11 01:19:25 AM  

theflatline: Cliff Hanger was another one that was amazing, and I am surprised none of you anime geeks have brought it up.


I was the guy who could play through Cliff Hanger on one quarter.
 
2012-09-11 01:25:21 AM  
-?-
Seriously?
I actually have DL dl'd to my DSi. And enjoy it very much. Throw some points in, and you too can play Dragon's Lair, Dragon's Lair II: Time Warp, or Space Ace on your DSi or 3DS. It crops up on nearly every system for some time now, even a version for Game Boy Color! How can this fetus not have heard of it?
 
2012-09-11 01:37:34 AM  
and it was originally published by Cinematronics back in the year of my birth, 1983. I feel old now.

Jeez now I feel like I have one foot in the grave. Thanks a lot buddy.
 
2012-09-11 01:39:42 AM  

SockMonkeyHolocaust: Whoops, here it is- used to bring in over a million dollars a week.

Time Traveler

Man that was a dumb game.


i remember that at the miniature golf place. looked so cool!
...then i played it...back to Street Fighter II:super(?) or "New Challengers", whatever one had Ryu's new red fireball, and Chun Li's redesigned chi blast. good times!
 
2012-09-11 02:05:01 AM  
No guys, the correct question is to ask how come somebody is reviewing a thirty-year-old game on "whether it stacks up against today's video games" (assigning it a score relative to today's body of knowledge) instead of reviewing it based on whether it is a good or bad port of the game.
 
2012-09-11 03:21:19 AM  
Wow, just watched the walkthrough on YouTube. I had forgotten how many scenes they reused verbatim, just with a reverse angle.

I also have never had a strong urge to cockpunch anyone than when reading this "review".
 
2012-09-11 04:08:49 AM  

Sum Dum Gai: I don't see that. I suppose you could argue that games that are heavy on QTE (Fahrenheit, Heavy Rain) are spiritual successors to Dragon's Lair, but that's certainly not "every" (or even most) games. And maybe this is personal bias, but most games that feature QTEs would probably be better games without them - I find they detract from the gameplay more often than they add to it.


What I hate about QTEs, is when they appeared in the middle of cut scenes, when there weren't QTEs in the previous ones. I ususally put the controller down during cut scenes. When I missed the Da Vinci hug in "Assassin's Creed 2" because I had both hands on a sandwich, I was pretty pissed.

In short, fark QTEs. fark them up their stupid asses.
 
2012-09-11 06:09:23 AM  
farm4.static.flickr.com Kid can go fark himself. Don Bluth turned out some amazing beauty. Mrs. Brisby(Frisby) chief among them. I've have been in love with that mouse for my entire life.
 
2012-09-11 08:28:58 AM  

StopLurkListen: Youtube of the playthrough:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6em4GRiRY0


You know what I just realized? The guy in that game is a total farking badass. I've always thought he was a clown, but it turns out the clown was me.
 
2012-09-11 08:36:39 AM  
I wasted so much of my allowance on Dragon's Lair, but I finally beat it. As far as I know, it was the first video game you could beat (not including unintentional "kill" screens).
 
2012-09-11 09:01:17 AM  

Sleazy_as_Pie: What?

There are opinions?

On the Internet?

That I don't agree with?!?

STOP THE PRESSES!!!


It's not about agreement - it's about farktardery.

He's complaining about the graphics and basically says the animation looks old. No shiat, since it was made in the 1980s.

FTFA: I had never heard of this game before I got it for review, and after playing it I could clearly see why.

He might as well say "Sherlock Jr was a letdown" and go on to say that Buster Keaton ("I'd never heard of him, and now I understand why") was too "artsy" for choosing black and white over color. And no sound? "The Artist" did a better job with that, but it was still contrived.

"It's just a round guy moving around while ghosts chase him. And it's not even in high-def. I DON'T GET IT."
 
2012-09-11 09:04:52 AM  

Banacek: Avery614: Smeggy Smurf: It's no text based Zork

Agreed, and speaking of....

[t2.gstatic.com image 200x200]

Thoughts?

Want some rye? 'Course ya do.


One-five-one proof, you hit the roof.

Came for this, leaving satisfied.

I enjoyed Return to Zork but it sure had some killer Guide Dang It moments. Classic Infocom make the game unwinnable now but not tell you until much much later setup.
 
2012-09-11 09:14:52 AM  
My youth was, let's say mis-spent. Hanging out in the arcade way too much I got to the point where I could finish the game with a buck. At 50 cents a play, I would hang out and watch people play until I learnt the timing for all of the "dungeons" The last dragon sequence was always the bit got my palms sweaty since it was such a long one. Daphne was kinda distracting too.
 
2012-09-11 09:36:08 AM  
What the fark did I just read.

How do

What in the


My brain is full of fark.
 
2012-09-11 09:50:02 AM  
This article is dumb. The love for Don Bluth is strong in this thread.

I never really got a chance to play Dragon's Lair or Space Ace in the arcade - though i have played the shiat out of the XBLA and Iphone versions.

3.bp.blogspot.com

But i do love Don Bluth. The man crafted my childhood and my understanding of classic heroic storytelling. I remember looking back at all these old cartoons and realizing he was the one who truly brought them to life.

img1.bdbphotos.com

For me it was all about The Black Cauldron, i read those books religiously like most kids read Harry Potter when i was in middle school. Being able to See Tarin and the Princess up on screen, almost as a younger version of Dirk and Daphne that i connected to.

/re downloading Space Ace on my phone to waste some time at work...
 
2012-09-11 09:50:41 AM  
This thread is full of classics that I need to youtube later. DL? Time Traveler? Mad Dog McCree? I must know the endings I missed out due to no quarters!
 
2012-09-11 09:51:25 AM  

theflatline: Cliff Hanger was another one that was amazing, and I am surprised none of you anime geeks have brought it up.

[www.dragons-lair-project.com image 383x234]


there were several great anime base laser disc games... I forget the name, but one used footage from Galaxy Express 999
 
2012-09-11 10:06:12 AM  

Stratohead:

there were several great anime base laser disc games... I forget the name, but one used footage from Galaxy Express 999


You're remembering Freedom Fighter, or the home version on the Philips CD-i "Escape from Cyber City".
 
2012-09-11 10:16:10 AM  

stuhayes2010: That game did suck, great graphics for 1986(?), but it was all patterns and not very fun.


It didn't really have any graphics as far as I remember.
 
2012-09-11 10:18:34 AM  

Zombie Hitler: StopLurkListen: Youtube of the playthrough:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6em4GRiRY0

You know what I just realized? The guy in that game is a total farking badass. I've always thought he was a clown, but it turns out the clown was me.


Oh yeah. Dirk was The Man!  They tacked on "the Daring" when he was the only one who'd go after Singe.


/The more you know!
 
2012-09-11 10:19:07 AM  
Didn't play much of the first DL, but I did play the sequel. Time Warp was an awesome story and a complete mindfark in places. I could get through that whole game regularly... and did until the laserdisc was so old and scratched it reset before getting to the end.

Dude's an idiot, but his mindset is correct for his generation. Since he wasn't alive when it came out, I give him as much credit for his opinion as mine on Pong... zero.
 
2012-09-11 10:19:42 AM  

unyon: cjoshuav: "I had never heard of this game before I got it for review, and after playing it I could clearly see why."

Well, now that you're done with your review can you get to bed early? You may have to run laps in PE in the morning Junior.

This review was the equivalent of describing the wright brother's flyer as a 'dismissible, poorly-built death trap'. He apparently has absolutely no idea that this game is the prototype for every game he now loves. It was mind-bogglingly revolutionary for 1983.


Yes, every game has no graphics, and you can't interact with them.

It wasn't mind boogling anything, it was a movie playing back from laser disc.
 
2012-09-11 10:20:05 AM  
Good god that looks like a miserable game to play.

Pretty art, but damn do some of you have some rose tinted nostalga glasses.

/It's just a different konami code for every single room...
 
2012-09-11 10:21:02 AM  

Tax Boy: And now you can play it on your phone!


Yeah, I was drunk one night and saw it in the Ap Store... I had such fond memories of it I had to buy it. Wow, I know it's the same exact game, but sweet lord it's not even close to the awesome I remember. Terrible, terrible game- but it sure is pretty!
 
2012-09-11 10:28:54 AM  
I remember that game sucking. I don't think I ever even made it past the first room. I just remember thinking, "Well that was a wasted weekend rental"

Apparently I never knew about this laser disc version and only knew about the side scroller Nintendo game.
 
2012-09-11 10:34:47 AM  

JammerJim: Dragon's Lair looked awesome, but it was all timing and memorization. No strategy, no thought, no clues, not even twitch ability mattered. Just trying different options till you got the right one.

/still bitter about all those quarters.


The funny thing is how it has started to come back in a variant form - with games like Jericho where you have "events" where it interrupts a normal FPS game and suddenly you have to play "simon says" to escape some situation and have a specific animation go off, so basically the same idea except giving a cue on screen for each button you have to press.
 
2012-09-11 10:42:42 AM  
This reminds me of the reviewer who did "Warhammer 40K" and called it a blatant rip-off of Starcraft.

/research
//DO IT
 
2012-09-11 10:44:15 AM  

padraig: What I hate about QTEs, is when they appeared in the middle of cut scenes, when there weren't QTEs in the previous ones. I ususally put the controller down during cut scenes. When I missed the Da Vinci hug in "Assassin's Creed 2" because I had both hands on a sandwich, I was pretty pissed.

In short, fark QTEs. fark them up their stupid asses.


QTES man...i had a flashback to Legend of Dragoon...the ENTIRE combat system was QTEs...

Alright hold onto your seats guys...I'M DOING THE GUST OF WIND DANCE.

www.cheatcodesgalore.com 

/fails on a 5 button combo
/breaks a controller
 
2012-09-11 10:45:09 AM  

sniderman: Rusty Shackleford: [t0.gstatic.com image 299x169]

Worth. Every. Quarter.

[mimg.ugo.com image 450x306]

Indeed. It. Was.


Dude, those are some long nipples. I don't remember them being quite like THAT.
 
rpm
2012-09-11 11:33:41 AM  

LazarusLong42: I'd never heard of Dragon's Lair, but dammit you do not mention Hanna-Barbera or DIC in the same article as Don Bluth, much less the same sentence.


You sure about that?
 
2012-09-11 11:41:04 AM  
Have dragon's lair for nes. Never could get past the second screen and naturally had none of the video and all of the death

fark
 
2012-09-11 11:47:39 AM  

sniderman: Rusty Shackleford: [t0.gstatic.com image 299x169]

Worth. Every. Quarter.

[mimg.ugo.com image 450x306]

Indeed. It. Was.


Meh, first, but still not best of the '80s.

i123.photobucket.com

Aww, yeah.

And in regards to the article, author's either a moran or born after the PS came out.

Holy fark, there are legal adults who were born after the PS came out now.
 
2012-09-11 11:55:59 AM  
Wait, shiat, Battletoads was '91, I coulda sworn when I posted that it was '89.

My bad, carry on.
 
2012-09-11 11:59:56 AM  

qlenfg: We took the big TV and one of those all-in-one old-school arcade game / controllers up to the pub one night and were playing all the knock-offs of Centipede, Space Invaders, etc... Some young guy was laughing at us, so we let him have a go -- his old-school skilz sucked badly.

I wasted many a quarter in Dragons Lair and never got very far. Omega Race, Rally X and Dig Dug were my faves.


tempest.
 
2012-09-11 12:01:57 PM  
I fed quarters into a machine to play this game.

It was ground breaking. It has a story line. It has graphics that were unlike any other game at the time. It was unique. Not a side scroller or top down drop attack.

It was worth the wait and the hard cash.
 
2012-09-11 12:53:34 PM  

that bosnian sniper: And in regards to the article, author's either a moran or born after the PS came out.


or he's reviewing the 2012 released version which costs 10 bucks for a 29 year old game which takes less than 20 minutes to beat and that even the fans admit wasn't even fun when it was brand new? Considering this wasn't a restrospective "remember that game" but a "is this worth your money on the xbox live arcade right now".... well heck, i thought he was being overly generous.

What's he supposed to say "its not very fun to play, it looks old, the sound in this version isn't very good, it costs 10 dollars but offers less than 30 full minutes of play to beat- even if you suck at it- and its lasting contribution to game design is the QTE (a dubious legacy).... but it was interesting about 30 years ago so 10/10 Must Buy!"
 
2012-09-11 12:58:20 PM  
@tlchwi02 Pretty much that.

Coincidentally, thanks for the 4500 hits to my blog, fark users. It's much appreciated :)
 
2012-09-11 01:03:13 PM  

theflatline: Cliff Hanger was another one that was amazing, and I am surprised none of you anime geeks have brought it up.

[www.dragons-lair-project.com image 383x234]


Oh man. I totally forgot about that one.
 
2012-09-11 01:04:01 PM  

NiteFenix: @tlchwi02 Pretty much that.

Coincidentally, thanks for the 4500 hits to my blog, fark users. It's much appreciated :)


Your blog sucks.

/actually I didn't see it
//just wanted to say it once
///welcome to fark
 
2012-09-11 01:13:09 PM  

Banacek: rye


I couldn't figure out where I remembered that line from. It just kept repeating over and over though. Then it clicked.

THE OLD MAN. THE OLD MAN. OMG THAT VOICE.

And they're all dead...
 
2012-09-11 01:23:01 PM  
Thanks Masterstuff. Your opinion is appreciated.
 
2012-09-11 01:40:32 PM  
I like that everyone here is calling someone in their 30s a kid. Makes me feel a bit less ancient.
 
2012-09-11 01:44:58 PM  
Yeah I was wondering about that myself Hand Banana. Last time I remember being a kid was about 10-15 years ago. I miss those days.
 
2012-09-11 02:01:12 PM  
Anyone play the western one that was like Dragon's Lair? All I remember is that a rattle snake would pop out and bite the me or the horse. Game Over!
 
2012-09-11 02:04:40 PM  

Atomic_Messiah: Anyone play the western one that was like Dragon's Lair? All I remember is that a rattle snake would pop out and bite the me or the horse. Game Over!


Time Traveler?
 
2012-09-11 02:26:15 PM  
LEAVE DIRK ALONE!!1!
 
2012-09-11 05:37:34 PM  

PapaChester: Banacek: rye

I couldn't figure out where I remembered that line from. It just kept repeating over and over though. Then it clicked.

THE OLD MAN. THE OLD MAN. OMG THAT VOICE.

And they're all dead...


Because I care :)

Link
 
2012-09-11 07:03:42 PM  

Scoth: I enjoyed Return to Zork but it sure had some killer Guide Dang It moments. Classic Infocom make the game unwinnable now but not tell you until much much later setup.


If you're referring to killing your bonding plant, you CAN get another. Granted, it's almost impossible to just discover how on your own, so "start over" is probably quicker.
 
2012-09-11 08:09:33 PM  
If anyone is interested there is a documentary about Dragon's Lair being made. Check out the video teaser here.. Link
also go to the facebook Link and the twitter feed Link
 
2012-09-11 08:17:38 PM  

SockMonkeyHolocaust: Whoops, here it is- used to bring in over a million dollars a week.

Time Traveler

Man that was a dumb game.


I wonder if anyone has a functional version of that lying around....
Put no more than 50c into it but damn that left an imprint on my memory.
I used to ask around to figure out the name of that and no one would know.
 
2012-09-11 08:29:25 PM  

Nezorf: SockMonkeyHolocaust: Whoops, here it is- used to bring in over a million dollars a week.

Time Traveler

Man that was a dumb game.

I wonder if anyone has a functional version of that lying around....
Put no more than 50c into it but damn that left an imprint on my memory.
I used to ask around to figure out the name of that and no one would know.


Now that you mention it- I played it once, too. Made a pretty big impression!
 
2012-09-11 09:37:11 PM  

tlchwi02: or he's reviewing the 2012 released version which costs 10 bucks for a 29 year old game which takes less than 20 minutes to beat and that even the fans admit wasn't even fun when it was brand new? Considering this wasn't a restrospective "remember that game" but a "is this worth your money on the xbox live arcade right now".... well heck, i thought he was being overly generous.

What's he supposed to say "its not very fun to play, it looks old, the sound in this version isn't very good, it costs 10 dollars but offers less than 30 full minutes of play to beat- even if you suck at it- and its lasting contribution to game design is the QTE (a dubious legacy).... but it was interesting about 30 years ago so 10/10 Must Buy!"


...or he's reviewing it with absolutely no historical perspective whatsoever. It's a nostalgia title. Review it as a nostalgia title, with the game's importance as part of your perspective. It was released in 1983, and for that it is a game with medium-defining importance. The game has an exhibit in the Smithsonian for god's sake.

You know what other bit of media sucks viewed through a contemporary lens? Seinfeld. Doesn't change the fact without Seinfeld, TV (hell, even film) comedy wouldn't be what or where it is today; the show fundamentally changed the genre.
 
2012-09-11 10:05:56 PM  

theflatline: Cliff Hanger was another one that was amazing, and I am surprised none of you anime geeks have brought it up.

[www.dragons-lair-project.com image 383x234]


Annnd because of this game I stalked Studio Ghibli and Miyazaki for the rest of my life.
"Castle Cagliostro" is an excellent film, as are any of the Lupin works Miyazaki has had a hand in.

I swear there was one of these laser disk games that was about a helicopter or some other fancy tech gear. Vanished from out Arcade too quickly.
 
2012-09-11 11:00:11 PM  
I remember that one too - you were in a little single-person spaceship flying low over the ground.
 
2012-09-11 11:05:55 PM  
He dared say something negative about Don Bluth!?

images3.wikia.nocookie.net

HE MUST DIE!!
 
2012-09-12 03:10:59 AM  
Keizer I never once said a bad thing about Don Bluth in my review. Grow up.
 
2012-09-12 06:16:49 AM  

Cyno01: "I had never heard of this game before I got it for review, and after playing it I could clearly see why."

Who gave this clueless asshole the job of video game reviewer?

Whatever faults it may have, Dragons Lair is a piece of gaming history. The article itself says "[its] on display in the Smithsonian Institution, alongside other classics like Pac-man and Pong," Its not like its some obscure neo-geo import that youd only be derided for your lack of knowledge about by neckbeard types, what sort of gamer, whos serious enough into the hobby to write game reviews, hasnt heard of Dragons Lair!? Kids these days...



as one who used to design Neo Geo games for the arcade, Dragon's Lair was a ground breaking event, period. First arcade job, had the keys. Very joyful. LOTS of lines of players all day, had t wait till closing to play. Still remember the first time at CA picking up ours, first time I seen the onscreen was like HOLY SHIAT! IS THAT THING FOR REAL?

A most heady moment.

the latest doom or diablo or angry birds have nothing on the sheer event power.

There Is a reason DL is in the Smithsonian.


and reviewer is full of it.Are we looking at smoeone with no sense of history or proportion?
 
2012-09-12 06:30:42 AM  
and other fun asides:

time Traveller was no hologram at all. the only real hologram game was The gunman by Kasco in the 1970s. That one blew my mind in the day.

nother western fun one, Badlands.


for sheer graphic wierdness, Cube Quest always held a soft spot in my heart. Designer disavows it, though.

still got on the of the best and most under rated laser games ever at home, Star Rider. hoping to repair someday :d
 
2012-09-12 06:54:52 AM  
You people whiteknighting Don Bluth haven't seen Titan A.E.

That shiat's an animated disaster of Baskhi-an proportions.
 
2012-09-12 09:20:34 AM  

Banacek: Want some rye? 'Course ya do.


If I ever hear that old fart slur those words again it will be too soon.......

/Great game
//Thought Myst stole a bit of its thunder
 
2012-09-12 05:49:56 PM  

NiteFenix: Keizer I never once said a bad thing about Don Bluth in my review. Grow up.


If you did write that article, you compared Bluth to Hanna-Barbera and DiC. That's more than enough grounds for a thorough beating.
 
2012-09-12 09:42:11 PM  

SockMonkeyHolocaust: You people whiteknighting Don Bluth haven't seen Titan A.E.

That shiat's an animated disaster of Baskhi-an proportions.


Ooh, you used Whiteknighting! Clever. Sure, Titan A.E. was bad, I concur, but we aren't talking Titan. If we laid all of D.B.'s successes and falures end to end for comparison, I'd still wonder who stepped on your tail.
 
2012-09-14 06:01:04 AM  
@Keizer

The only ignorance I claim is to you and your Fark buddies' opinion as to Bluth and HB/DIC.

As I mentioned on several mediums before Fark, I hold both Bluth and HB/DIC's work in high regard. Your opinions on either is inconsequential to me. I based my review on my own opinion and not yours.
 
Displayed 134 of 134 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report