Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(TampaBay.com (St. Petersburg Tim)   Today's RNC concert review: "You had to be 21 and over to get into Lee Greenwood's Monday show at the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, but to be honest, they would have been safe setting the bar at 50"   (tampabay.com) divider line 132
    More: Obvious, RNC, music journalism, Tampa, Hard Rock Cafe, village people, pariah, safe setting  
•       •       •

4369 clicks; posted to Main » on 28 Aug 2012 at 12:22 PM (3 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



132 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-08-28 01:13:01 PM  

Mega Steve: That man is a national treasure


And he needs to be buried ASAP.
 
2012-08-28 01:13:56 PM  

steamingpile: gameshowhost: LL316: Anyone that goes to a Political Party National Convention for any reason other than for work purposes is a complete and utter douche.

So vote Republican.

Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.


If I were you I'd be more concerned about that lunatic who is apparently holding a gun to your head and forcing you to visit/post on Fark against your will..
 
2012-08-28 01:14:42 PM  

steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.


I understood exactly none of this.
 
2012-08-28 01:20:14 PM  

FlashHarry: Mr. Coffee Nerves: What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?

i love that song because it begins with an egregious grammatical error: "i'm proud to be an american/where at least i know i'm free." apparently "american" is a place now. but then, these people believe "descent is the highest form of patriotic," so who knows.


Why do you hate american?
 
2012-08-28 01:20:15 PM  
I'm not proud that he's from America.
 
2012-08-28 01:20:35 PM  
Hey, Lee Greenwood isn't that bad. I saw him once somewhere, and it was a decent show.

Plus, Dixie Road isn't that bad of a song. LINK
 
2012-08-28 01:23:47 PM  

shastacola: steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.

I understood exactly none of this.




*Wipes forehead* Whew! I thought it was me.
 
2012-08-28 01:24:54 PM  
And I'm proud to be an American,
where white Christian men are free...

/Whenever I have the misfortune to have to sit through that song, I sing along using the "ermahgerd" voice. Makes it much more tolerable.
 
2012-08-28 01:25:28 PM  

devilEther: It's used to justify mass murder.


That (which is horrible in and of itself) but it's just creepy to me, in general. Pledging allegiance to a flag. Venerating the flag above the freedom it supposedly represents. Nationalism is a stepping-stone to totalitarianism.

While I don't think that we're necessarily going in that direction, looking at the insanity of America after the 9/11 attacks made me realize that we're disturbingly close to a nightmare. One major catastrophe can make us veer toward fascism. That's frightening. I don't want to be here when that happens.
 
2012-08-28 01:26:42 PM  

CygnusDarius: [upload.wikimedia.org image 220x308]

If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.


Technically that is "illegal" as in "against the US flag code of conduct", not that any of the god-damned flag drapers are even aware of the proper use and care of a flag. Like taking it down before sundown, when it's raining, etc. More farking righteous mericans leaving my flag out do get tattered and faded in the elements, grumble grumble.

You want to wear red, white, and blue? Go for it. The moment you make clothing that looks like the flag I hate you, mostly because your blind and ignorant nationalism.
 
2012-08-28 01:26:44 PM  

poot_rootbeer: Ha ha... Seminole


I left out the nole...read it as "Semi-Hard Rock Casino"
 
2012-08-28 01:26:57 PM  
Thanks, you shiats. Now I have that terrible song stuck in my head. The Thomas the Tank Engine theme was as least non-offensive.

RE: Stone Mountain: Out here in the Western Wasteland, they do the same shiat at the Crazy Hose memorial. Nothing like some 'Merican loving to celebrate the life of a man who did his best to stop from being integrated into the US. Who would rather die than settle as a reservation Indian. Yep, Lee really had Crazy Horse scoped out.
 
2012-08-28 01:27:57 PM  

trotsky: RE: Stone Mountain: Out here in the Western Wasteland, they do the same shiat at the Crazy Hose memorial. Nothing like some 'Merican loving to celebrate the life of a man who did his best to stop from being integrated into the US. Who would rather die than settle as a reservation Indian. Yep, Lee really had Crazy Horse scoped out.


His interpretation of history is full of truthiness.
 
2012-08-28 01:29:01 PM  
Do they realize that their core demographic will all be dead in 20-30 years?

Say what you will about Cadillac, but at least they realized that they better freshen up their brand. The GOP, on the other hand, put the pedal to the metal to proceed with their cunning plan of going full potato.
 
2012-08-28 01:29:37 PM  

DROxINxTHExWIND: shastacola: steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.

I understood exactly none of this.



*Wipes forehead* Whew! I thought it was me.


I think he is celebrating victimhood.
 
2012-08-28 01:31:42 PM  

DROxINxTHExWIND: shastacola: steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.

I understood exactly none of this.



*Wipes forehead* Whew! I thought it was me.


I think it's written in Palin ,needs an english translation.
 
2012-08-28 01:32:14 PM  

Mega Steve: That man is a national treasure


He belongs in a museum!
 
2012-08-28 01:36:51 PM  

jn1512: He belongs in a museum!


Preferably in an airtight, soundproof glass case.
 
2012-08-28 01:41:12 PM  

Inaditch: Lee Greenwood loves the Taliban.


Of course he does, they helped make him money
 
2012-08-28 01:42:13 PM  
I'm proud to be part of a group I was born into and had to do nothing to gain or earn that right!!
 
2012-08-28 01:42:32 PM  

Confabulat: clevershark: Confabulat: Son you better stand up when you hear Lee Greenwood or you may as well be a damn North Korean yourself, commie.

I know you're joking and all, but way too many people think that in earnest.

I have no idea what it's like in 2012, but I once visited the Stone Mountain fireworks show in Georgia back in the 90s, where they end the night with that tune and a few others.

It's pretty surreal seeing people all around you STAND UP and start weeping uncontrollably.

If it's still anything like that (and why wouldn't it be; it's a giant mountain with Confederate heroes carved into it for all time) I highly recommend that experience if it still exists. On hallucinogenic drugs if at all possible but it might freak you out.


I could barely handle South Lake Tahoe on the 4th on shrooms, and I was surrounded by like-minded people...

fark that noise.
 
2012-08-28 01:44:20 PM  
Somehow I've made it to 60 and never hear of this guy or "The Song". But, I've lived on the Left Coast for the past 33 years and don't listen to the radio much.

No, I don't want a link to his videos.
 
2012-08-28 01:45:01 PM  
Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.
 
2012-08-28 01:47:46 PM  
It's true, patriotism is dead.
 
2012-08-28 01:48:06 PM  

natazha: Somehow I've made it to 60 and never hear of this guy or "The Song".


Be thankful. I'm not even American and I've known about this horrible abortion of a tune since its horrors were unleashed on the world back in 1984.
 
2012-08-28 01:48:31 PM  

frepnog: it is a patriotic song. it's nice, brings people to their feet and celebrates america.

fark you people.


And I'm pretty sure if the DNC asked Lee to show up at their shindig and offered the same amount he would be there as well.

The difference being that with Democrats the odds are that they won't have to pick from the bottom of the barrel for someone like Lee. Arguably there are a dozen currently relevant bands that would gladly show up and play for free.

And that's the difference between falling in love and falling in line.
 
2012-08-28 01:48:56 PM  

zabadu: (d) The flag should never be used as wearing apparel, bedding, or drapery. It should never be festooned, drawn back, nor up, in folds, but always allowed to fall free.


I always interpreted that as you can't use an actual flag as clothing, but clothing with portrayals of the flag were OK.
 
2012-08-28 01:51:41 PM  

clevershark: natazha: Somehow I've made it to 60 and never hear of this guy or "The Song".

Be thankful. I'm not even American and I've known about this horrible abortion of a tune since its horrors were unleashed on the world back in 1984.


It sounds like a jingle for a freaking beer commercial. Not even a commercial for good beer. We're talking sex in a canoe beer like Bud Light, Budweiser or Coors Light.
 
2012-08-28 01:52:02 PM  
I'll bet they had a blast after zombie Welk hopped on his little rascal and spiked the punch bowl

upload.wikimedia.org
 
2012-08-28 01:52:49 PM  
I worked for a minor league baseball team for a couple of summers. The fourth of July fireworks extravaganza always ended up with that stupid song.

A few of us decided to remix it to a rap version. The elderly fans protested like we pissed on the flag in center field. The younger fans thought it was cool.

Good thing the GM was out of town.
 
2012-08-28 01:53:36 PM  

Bob16: Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.


I done told you once you son of a biatch he's the best there's ever been.

/Seriously, CD can shred a fiddle
//argue his politics, but to say he's a terrible musician is simply factually incorrect.
 
2012-08-28 01:54:47 PM  

Skarekrough: frepnog: it is a patriotic song. it's nice, brings people to their feet and celebrates america.

fark you people.

And I'm pretty sure if the DNC asked Lee to show up at their shindig and offered the same amount he would be there as well.

The difference being that with Democrats the odds are that they won't have to pick from the bottom of the barrel for someone like Lee. Arguably there are a dozen currently relevant bands that would gladly show up and play for free.

And that's the difference between falling in love and falling in line.


you are probably right, and it makes me very sad that anyone in the music industry would support the Democrats.

The PMRC has not been forgotten, censorship will never be forgotten, Jello Biafra's trial has not been forgotten.

I have never understood how any musician can be a Democrat.
 
2012-08-28 01:56:06 PM  

frepnog: The PMRC has not been forgotten, censorship will never be forgotten, Jello Biafra's trial has not been forgotten.


SHUT UP! Be happy. The comfort you've demanded is now mandatory.
 
2012-08-28 01:58:43 PM  

CruJones: shred


The mark of a truly inferior musician.

The last thing music is about is how many notes you can jam into a measure. Quantity means nothing.

Learn the truth

http://www.jimhallmusic.com/

He's one of the slowest guitar players you will ever find and probably the best.
 
2012-08-28 02:02:00 PM  

quatchi: "I pledge allegiance to this flag / And if that bothers you, well, that's too bad."

The imaginary liberals who live inside Lee Greenwood's head sound like terrible people.


That's actually an Aaron Tippin song. No, I didn't know that until I looked it up. That's that bodybuilder who got famous around the same time Billy Ray Cyrus got famous. It was...weird to know that there were two country guys on the air who shaved all their bodyhair, and Cletus and Jim-Bob back home were okay with that.

I see people who give in to that mentality as victims. Yes, victims. I mean, the country demographic tends to be people who distrust the government, but somehow that government has convinced people that if they don't worship the flag and everyone who has ever put on a military uniform, they're terrible people and un-American.

I remember the build-up to this attitude. It was some masterfully crafted propaganda, which equated discontent with the Iraq War with disrespect for soldiers and veterans, and that this attitude meant you hated America, and of course only liberals went down the path that led to hating America. It worked a lot better than it should have.

People, the Cold War ended in the 80s. Stop falling for obvious propaganda.
 
2012-08-28 02:03:49 PM  
I always liked the Capitol Steps' version

"But my daddy wasn't fighting on Normandy that day,
for the right to drive a Hyundai, I refuse to live that way!
And I'm proud to be an American who gets just five MPG
though I live alone, the car I own can seat a hundred three
And I'll gladly park so close to you, when you pull out you can't see.
No I'll never trade my Escalade, God Bless my S.U.V.! "
 
2012-08-28 02:17:26 PM  

Bob16: CruJones: shred

The mark of a truly inferior musician.

The last thing music is about is how many notes you can jam into a measure. Quantity means nothing.

Learn the truth

http://www.jimhallmusic.com/

He's one of the slowest guitar players you will ever find and probably the best.


He's a great fiddle player, no matter if you like his music or not. I think it's lame he doesn't cuss any more, and don't know a song he's released in 20 years, but that doesn't take away the fact he's really, really, good at playing the fiddle. Fast or slow.

LINKY

Layla on fiddle? Why not HERE (yes, the vocals are lacking)

He's not terrible on guitar either.

PS... I'm not a republican.
 
2012-08-28 02:17:31 PM  

CptnSpldng: Mega Steve: That man is a national treasure

And he needs to be buried ASAP.


Can we have Nic Cage smuggle him out of the country in a cardboard tube of some kind?
 
2012-08-28 02:22:39 PM  
"Know what I love about this country?"

www1.pictures.zimbio.com
 
2012-08-28 02:31:52 PM  

Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

[www1.pictures.zimbio.com image 850x566]


"I can get 90 days of Lipitor for $12!!"??
 
2012-08-28 02:40:26 PM  
I'm picturing the scene from Caddyshack where Rodney Dangerfield comes to dinner at the country club...

whew, it's like the dance of the living dead!
here (throws cash at the band) take some lessons.
Oh, this your wife, huh? A lovely lady. Hey baby, you must've been something before electricity.
You're a lot of woman, you know that? Yeah, wanna make 14 dollars the hard way?
 
2012-08-28 02:48:52 PM  

Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"


A Prilosec hat? That's a thing?
 
2012-08-28 03:00:15 PM  

theorellior: Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

A Prilosec hat? That's a thing?


If you had to go through life keeping up that schtick, you've be thankful for the heartburn relief too.
 
2012-08-28 03:19:02 PM  

Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

[www1.pictures.zimbio.com image 850x566]


trick question, i love EVERYTHING
including meth
 
2012-08-28 03:22:05 PM  

Bob16: Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.


Oh my God...you've happened upon the greatest idea since The Half Hour Comedy Hour...

FARKers, I offer you Derpapalooza

Ted Nugent
Hank Williams Junior
Lee Greenwood

And that's just day one!!!!
 
2012-08-28 03:23:39 PM  
A camo prilosec hat. You know, for when you need to stalk the wild cheeseburger
 
2012-08-28 03:40:56 PM  

I should be in the kitchen: And I'm proud to be an American,
where white Christian men are free.


True dat. I was out just the other night, rounding up a bunch of Filipino Catholics so that I could work them to death on my plantation.

//eyeroll.jpg
 
2012-08-28 03:44:53 PM  

ProfessorOhki: theorellior: Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

A Prilosec hat? That's a thing?

If you had to go through life keeping up that schtick, you've be thankful for the heartburn relief too.


I really hope one day he drops the act and gives a tell all interview, it will be the only thing he does that I will willingly and eagerly watch.
 
2012-08-28 03:47:25 PM  

CygnusDarius: If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.


It's a jacket...AND a shirt.

I call it a Jerkit.
 
2012-08-28 04:03:44 PM  

exparrot: CygnusDarius: If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.

It's a jacket...AND a shirt.

I call it a Jerkit.


Funny. That's what I do into American flags.
 
Displayed 50 of 132 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report