If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(TampaBay.com (St. Petersburg Tim)   Today's RNC concert review: "You had to be 21 and over to get into Lee Greenwood's Monday show at the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, but to be honest, they would have been safe setting the bar at 50"   (tampabay.com) divider line 132
    More: Obvious, RNC, music journalism, Tampa, Hard Rock Cafe, village people, pariah, safe setting  
•       •       •

4354 clicks; posted to Main » on 28 Aug 2012 at 12:22 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



132 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2012-08-28 09:00:10 AM
Nothing meaner than old, grumpy, Republican retirees.

www.sluniverse.com

/Hey, I grew up surrounded by them down there.
 
2012-08-28 09:14:28 AM
The Great Defenders sounded like a rollicking, and totally hetero, redux of the Village People's In the Navy

[ilol'd]

"I pledge allegiance to this flag / And if that bothers you, well, that's too bad."

The imaginary liberals who live inside Lee Greenwood's head sound like terrible people.
 
2012-08-28 09:45:05 AM
What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?
 
2012-08-28 09:53:49 AM

Mr. Coffee Nerves: What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?


Son you better stand up when you hear Lee Greenwood or you may as well be a damn North Korean yourself, commie.
 
2012-08-28 10:04:09 AM

Mr. Coffee Nerves: What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?


i love that song because it begins with an egregious grammatical error: "i'm proud to be an american/where at least i know i'm free." apparently "american" is a place now. but then, these people believe "descent is the highest form of patriotic," so who knows.
 
2012-08-28 10:06:09 AM
reasonswhyimstillsingle.files.wordpress.com

Know what would be awesome? A drunken Randy Travis heckling this asshole in the middle of a show.
 
2012-08-28 10:10:00 AM
upload.wikimedia.org

Married 4 times.

The perfect Republican family man.
 
2012-08-28 10:10:15 AM
Lee Greenwood: The GOP's own Hans Pfitzner.
 
2012-08-28 10:12:22 AM
Being both in Tampa and the RNC, this doubly does not surprise me about the age. Throw in a story about the congressmen trying to pick up their staffers at a club in Ybor and just about everything I expected will have happened. (Probably already did but didn't get reported yet.)
 
2012-08-28 10:33:19 AM
And I'm proud to be an American,
where at least I know I'm free.
as long as I am see-through white
and don't have no ovary
 
2012-08-28 11:02:50 AM

rudemix: And I'm proud to be an American,
where at least I know I'm free.
as long as I am see-through white
and don't have no ovary


*Golf clap*

Cute, funny.

I'd post with another verse, but it would be NSFW. :-)
 
2012-08-28 12:27:44 PM
upload.wikimedia.org

If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.
 
2012-08-28 12:28:18 PM
Ha ha... Seminole
 
2012-08-28 12:28:26 PM
Or jacket, whatever the hell that is.
 
2012-08-28 12:29:41 PM

FlashHarry: Mr. Coffee Nerves: What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?

i love that song because it begins with an egregious grammatical error: "i'm proud to be an american/where at least i know i'm free." apparently "american" is a place now. but then, these people believe "descent is the highest form of patriotic," so who knows.


That always makes me larf. Thanks.
 
2012-08-28 12:32:39 PM
Over 50 escorts... no thank you.
 
2012-08-28 12:32:43 PM
Lee Greenwood?!? Cool! He's that singer with that one song! You know...
 
2012-08-28 12:34:47 PM
Anyone that goes to a Political Party National Convention for any reason other than for work purposes is a complete and utter douche.
 
2012-08-28 12:36:52 PM

LL316: Anyone that goes to a Political Party National Convention for any reason other than for work purposes is a complete and utter douche.


So vote Republican.
 
2012-08-28 12:37:04 PM
God I hate that farking song....it's made me hate the fourth of July.
 
2012-08-28 12:37:07 PM
As someone on the cusp of 50...no thanks. shiatty music is shiatty music, no matter the generation.
 
2012-08-28 12:37:18 PM
That man is a national treasure
 
2012-08-28 12:37:46 PM

Confabulat: Mr. Coffee Nerves: What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?

Son you better stand up when you hear Lee Greenwood or you may as well be a damn North Korean yourself, commie.


There is nothing in this world more contemptible than that farking song. Yeah, it REALLY bothers me when people stand up for it as if it was our anthem. How many more years are they going to play that jingoist crap before games? When does the "middle class white that cheers for war but doesn't want to pay for it with blood or money" guilt wear off?
 
2012-08-28 12:37:58 PM
Do you know what I mean?
 
2012-08-28 12:39:53 PM
Ah yes, Lee Greenwood, the patron saint of American jingoism.
 
2012-08-28 12:40:05 PM

tedthebellhopp: Over 50 escorts... no thank you.


Yeah I start to dehydrate too after the first 15 or so.
 
2012-08-28 12:41:02 PM
gotta be 59 to 69 am i right
 
d23 [TotalFark]
2012-08-28 12:41:27 PM
target audience:

img.photobucket.com
 
2012-08-28 12:43:01 PM

gameshowhost: LL316: Anyone that goes to a Political Party National Convention for any reason other than for work purposes is a complete and utter douche.

So vote Republican.


Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.
 
2012-08-28 12:43:07 PM

CygnusDarius: [upload.wikimedia.org image 220x308]

If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.


"Patriotic" clothing is an offensive display of the flag. The fact that republican knuckle draggers don't understand the disrespect shows just how "patriotic" they really are.
 
2012-08-28 12:43:44 PM
Even the Nazis got Wagner. This is the best we can do?
 
2012-08-28 12:44:34 PM
Patriotism or nationalism squicks me out.
 
2012-08-28 12:44:59 PM
Some bleeding-heart liberal candidate should use one of his songs for their campaign, just to see the conservative uproar.
 
2012-08-28 12:45:02 PM
Tonight's show: Steve Aoki @ Ampitheatre in Ybor.

No shiat-stained stars-and-striped incontinence undies at this event.... 

/unze unze unze unze unze unze unze unze unze unze unze unze unze unze
 
2012-08-28 12:47:05 PM
it is a patriotic song. it's nice, brings people to their feet and celebrates america.

fark you people.
 
2012-08-28 12:47:48 PM

Confabulat: Son you better stand up when you hear Lee Greenwood or you may as well be a damn North Korean yourself, commie.


I know you're joking and all, but way too many people think that in earnest.
 
2012-08-28 12:48:01 PM

Citrate1007: CygnusDarius: [upload.wikimedia.org image 220x308]

If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.

"Patriotic" clothing is an offensive display of the flag. The fact that republican knuckle draggers don't understand the disrespect shows just how "patriotic" they really are.


it's patriotic to play a non patriotic foreigner isn't that what Republicans are ALL ABOUT?
 
2012-08-28 12:52:12 PM
The song makes me embarrassed to be an American, quite frankly.
 
2012-08-28 12:54:01 PM
The only way you can truly appreciate this song is by sitting in your bathtub, shoving a big red white and blue dildo up your ass, and masturbate furiously while getting bukkake'd by a dozen Wall Street Bankers.
 
2012-08-28 12:54:43 PM
Oops, a little issue with the verb tense there, but I think the message still comes across. As do the bankers.
 
2012-08-28 12:54:45 PM

Citrate1007: CygnusDarius: [upload.wikimedia.org image 220x308]

If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.

"Patriotic" clothing is an offensive display of the flag. The fact that republican knuckle draggers don't understand the disrespect shows just how "patriotic" they really are.


Aren't there very rigid protocols for how real flags are supposed to be treated?
 
2012-08-28 12:54:58 PM
 
2012-08-28 12:55:24 PM

clevershark: Confabulat: Son you better stand up when you hear Lee Greenwood or you may as well be a damn North Korean yourself, commie.

I know you're joking and all, but way too many people think that in earnest.


I have no idea what it's like in 2012, but I once visited the Stone Mountain fireworks show in Georgia back in the 90s, where they end the night with that tune and a few others.

It's pretty surreal seeing people all around you STAND UP and start weeping uncontrollably.

If it's still anything like that (and why wouldn't it be; it's a giant mountain with Confederate heroes carved into it for all time) I highly recommend that experience if it still exists. On hallucinogenic drugs if at all possible but it might freak you out.
 
2012-08-28 12:55:25 PM

frepnog: it is a patriotic song. it's nice, brings people to their feet and celebrates america.

fark you people.


It was a good song. It's been completely overdone. I'd much rather listen to The Battle Hymn of the Republic.
 
2012-08-28 12:59:20 PM

AirForceVet: Nothing meaner than old, grumpy, Republican retirees.


I immediately started hearing Steely Dan's "Third World Man" in my head when I saw that pic.
 
2012-08-28 01:02:46 PM
God bless Abby Hoffman.

In October 1968, he was arrested in Washington for wearing a shirt that resembled the design of an American flag. Authorities at the maximum security penitentiary did their worst to harass and humiliate him. They gave him a preventive de-lousing. They took a blood sample against his will, without affording him the sterile courtesy of a disposable syringe.

Two months later, Abbie was hospitalized in New York City for serum hepatitis. The recuperative process didn't prevent him from helping doctors to organize themselves against some of the oppressive tactics of the medical profession.

When the flag-shirt case came to court, defense attorney Gerald Lefcourt asked, "Is wearing a shirt dishonoring the flag? Does Uncle Sam, when he marches in the parade on July 4th, dishonor?"

Prosecutor Benton Becker argued, "Uncle Sam himself is a national symbol, just as the the flag is a national symbol, and one national symbol, recognized as such, cannot deface and defile and cast contempt upon another national symbol....the Government has a legitimate interest in maintaining the sanctity of its symbols."


Abby Hoffman flag shirt story
 
2012-08-28 01:03:49 PM

Nina_Hartley's_Ass: Know what would be awesome? A drunken Randy Travis heckling this asshole in the middle of a show.


Is that picture supposed to be sexy? He really didn't get his money's worth at GlamourShots that day.
 
2012-08-28 01:04:32 PM

shivashakti: Patriotism or nationalism squicks me out.


It's used to justify mass murder.
 
2012-08-28 01:04:39 PM
Yippie Abbie Hoffman was arrested in one while protesting the Vietnam War in 1968. Gen. Richard Myers, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, wore one while joining fellow Vietnam veterans for a tribute this past Memorial Day. Their attire? Shirts that looked like flags.

On this Flag Day, Melissa Block talks to Marc Leepson, author of Flag: An American Biography about the history of the flag as symbol of American pride and protest.

When Hoffman was arrested outside a U.S. House building in 1968, most states had flag-desecration laws on the books. His conviction was overturned on appeal. And in 1989 and 1990, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled the statutes unconstitutional.

Today, wearing flag-like attire does violate the flag code, which proscribes the care and display of the Stars and Stripes but is rarely enforced. "It's kind of a little strange paradox in that people are venerating the flag for the most part and technically violating the U.S. flag code," Leepson says.

Below is a section of the flag code that deals with respecting the flag.

The Flag Code - Respect for Flag


No disrespect should be shown to the flag of the United States of America; the flag should not be dipped to any person or thing. Regimental colors, State flags, and organization or institutional flags are to be dipped as a mark of honor.

(a) The flag should never be displayed with the union down, except as a signal of dire distress in instances of extreme danger to life or property.

(b) The flag should never touch anything beneath it, such as the ground, the floor, water, or merchandise.

(c) The flag should never be carried flat or horizontally, but always aloft and free.

(d) The flag should never be used as wearing apparel, bedding, or drapery. It should never be festooned, drawn back, nor up, in folds, but always allowed to fall free.

Bunting of blue, white, and red always arranged with the blue above, the white in the middle, and the red below, should be used for covering a speaker's desk, draping the front of the platform, and for decoration in general.

(e) The flag should never be fastened, displayed, used, or stored in such a manner as to permit it to be easily torn, soiled, or damaged in any way.

(f) The flag should never be used as a covering for a ceiling.

(g) The flag should never have placed upon it, nor on any part of it, nor attached to it any mark, insignia, letter, word, figure, design, picture, or drawing of any nature.

(h) The flag should never be used as a receptacle for receiving, holding, carrying, or delivering anything.

(i) The flag should never be used for advertising purposes in any manner whatsoever. It should not be embroidered on such articles as cushions or handkerchiefs and the like, printed or otherwise impressed on paper napkin or boxes or anything that is designed for temporary use and discard. Advertising signs should not be fastened to a staff or halyard from which the flag is flown.

(j) No part of the flag should ever be used as a costume or athletic uniform. However, a flag patch may be affixed to the uniform of military personnel, firemen, policemen, and members of patriotic organizations. The flag represents a living country and is itself considered a living thing. Therefore, the lapel flag pin being a replica, should be worn on the left lapel near the heart.

(k) The flag, when it is in such condition that it is no longer a fitting emblem for display, should be destroyed in a dignified way, preferably by burning.
 
2012-08-28 01:12:11 PM

steamingpile: This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page


Aw, I bet you cry when you hear God Bless the USA, don't you? I bet you STAND UP too!

What a good American you are!
 
2012-08-28 01:13:01 PM

Mega Steve: That man is a national treasure


And he needs to be buried ASAP.
 
2012-08-28 01:13:56 PM

steamingpile: gameshowhost: LL316: Anyone that goes to a Political Party National Convention for any reason other than for work purposes is a complete and utter douche.

So vote Republican.

Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.


If I were you I'd be more concerned about that lunatic who is apparently holding a gun to your head and forcing you to visit/post on Fark against your will..
 
2012-08-28 01:14:42 PM

steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.


I understood exactly none of this.
 
2012-08-28 01:20:14 PM

FlashHarry: Mr. Coffee Nerves: What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?

i love that song because it begins with an egregious grammatical error: "i'm proud to be an american/where at least i know i'm free." apparently "american" is a place now. but then, these people believe "descent is the highest form of patriotic," so who knows.


Why do you hate american?
 
2012-08-28 01:20:15 PM
I'm not proud that he's from America.
 
2012-08-28 01:20:35 PM
Hey, Lee Greenwood isn't that bad. I saw him once somewhere, and it was a decent show.

Plus, Dixie Road isn't that bad of a song. LINK
 
2012-08-28 01:23:47 PM

shastacola: steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.

I understood exactly none of this.




*Wipes forehead* Whew! I thought it was me.
 
2012-08-28 01:24:54 PM
And I'm proud to be an American,
where white Christian men are free...

/Whenever I have the misfortune to have to sit through that song, I sing along using the "ermahgerd" voice. Makes it much more tolerable.
 
2012-08-28 01:25:28 PM

devilEther: It's used to justify mass murder.


That (which is horrible in and of itself) but it's just creepy to me, in general. Pledging allegiance to a flag. Venerating the flag above the freedom it supposedly represents. Nationalism is a stepping-stone to totalitarianism.

While I don't think that we're necessarily going in that direction, looking at the insanity of America after the 9/11 attacks made me realize that we're disturbingly close to a nightmare. One major catastrophe can make us veer toward fascism. That's frightening. I don't want to be here when that happens.
 
2012-08-28 01:26:42 PM

CygnusDarius: [upload.wikimedia.org image 220x308]

If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.


Technically that is "illegal" as in "against the US flag code of conduct", not that any of the god-damned flag drapers are even aware of the proper use and care of a flag. Like taking it down before sundown, when it's raining, etc. More farking righteous mericans leaving my flag out do get tattered and faded in the elements, grumble grumble.

You want to wear red, white, and blue? Go for it. The moment you make clothing that looks like the flag I hate you, mostly because your blind and ignorant nationalism.
 
2012-08-28 01:26:44 PM

poot_rootbeer: Ha ha... Seminole


I left out the nole...read it as "Semi-Hard Rock Casino"
 
2012-08-28 01:26:57 PM
Thanks, you shiats. Now I have that terrible song stuck in my head. The Thomas the Tank Engine theme was as least non-offensive.

RE: Stone Mountain: Out here in the Western Wasteland, they do the same shiat at the Crazy Hose memorial. Nothing like some 'Merican loving to celebrate the life of a man who did his best to stop from being integrated into the US. Who would rather die than settle as a reservation Indian. Yep, Lee really had Crazy Horse scoped out.
 
2012-08-28 01:27:57 PM

trotsky: RE: Stone Mountain: Out here in the Western Wasteland, they do the same shiat at the Crazy Hose memorial. Nothing like some 'Merican loving to celebrate the life of a man who did his best to stop from being integrated into the US. Who would rather die than settle as a reservation Indian. Yep, Lee really had Crazy Horse scoped out.


His interpretation of history is full of truthiness.
 
2012-08-28 01:29:01 PM
Do they realize that their core demographic will all be dead in 20-30 years?

Say what you will about Cadillac, but at least they realized that they better freshen up their brand. The GOP, on the other hand, put the pedal to the metal to proceed with their cunning plan of going full potato.
 
2012-08-28 01:29:37 PM

DROxINxTHExWIND: shastacola: steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.

I understood exactly none of this.



*Wipes forehead* Whew! I thought it was me.


I think he is celebrating victimhood.
 
2012-08-28 01:31:42 PM

DROxINxTHExWIND: shastacola: steamingpile: Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.

I understood exactly none of this.



*Wipes forehead* Whew! I thought it was me.


I think it's written in Palin ,needs an english translation.
 
2012-08-28 01:32:14 PM

Mega Steve: That man is a national treasure


He belongs in a museum!
 
2012-08-28 01:36:51 PM

jn1512: He belongs in a museum!


Preferably in an airtight, soundproof glass case.
 
2012-08-28 01:41:12 PM

Inaditch: Lee Greenwood loves the Taliban.


Of course he does, they helped make him money
 
2012-08-28 01:42:13 PM
I'm proud to be part of a group I was born into and had to do nothing to gain or earn that right!!
 
2012-08-28 01:42:32 PM

Confabulat: clevershark: Confabulat: Son you better stand up when you hear Lee Greenwood or you may as well be a damn North Korean yourself, commie.

I know you're joking and all, but way too many people think that in earnest.

I have no idea what it's like in 2012, but I once visited the Stone Mountain fireworks show in Georgia back in the 90s, where they end the night with that tune and a few others.

It's pretty surreal seeing people all around you STAND UP and start weeping uncontrollably.

If it's still anything like that (and why wouldn't it be; it's a giant mountain with Confederate heroes carved into it for all time) I highly recommend that experience if it still exists. On hallucinogenic drugs if at all possible but it might freak you out.


I could barely handle South Lake Tahoe on the 4th on shrooms, and I was surrounded by like-minded people...

fark that noise.
 
2012-08-28 01:44:20 PM
Somehow I've made it to 60 and never hear of this guy or "The Song". But, I've lived on the Left Coast for the past 33 years and don't listen to the radio much.

No, I don't want a link to his videos.
 
2012-08-28 01:45:01 PM
Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.
 
2012-08-28 01:47:46 PM
It's true, patriotism is dead.
 
2012-08-28 01:48:06 PM

natazha: Somehow I've made it to 60 and never hear of this guy or "The Song".


Be thankful. I'm not even American and I've known about this horrible abortion of a tune since its horrors were unleashed on the world back in 1984.
 
2012-08-28 01:48:31 PM

frepnog: it is a patriotic song. it's nice, brings people to their feet and celebrates america.

fark you people.


And I'm pretty sure if the DNC asked Lee to show up at their shindig and offered the same amount he would be there as well.

The difference being that with Democrats the odds are that they won't have to pick from the bottom of the barrel for someone like Lee. Arguably there are a dozen currently relevant bands that would gladly show up and play for free.

And that's the difference between falling in love and falling in line.
 
2012-08-28 01:48:56 PM

zabadu: (d) The flag should never be used as wearing apparel, bedding, or drapery. It should never be festooned, drawn back, nor up, in folds, but always allowed to fall free.


I always interpreted that as you can't use an actual flag as clothing, but clothing with portrayals of the flag were OK.
 
2012-08-28 01:51:41 PM

clevershark: natazha: Somehow I've made it to 60 and never hear of this guy or "The Song".

Be thankful. I'm not even American and I've known about this horrible abortion of a tune since its horrors were unleashed on the world back in 1984.


It sounds like a jingle for a freaking beer commercial. Not even a commercial for good beer. We're talking sex in a canoe beer like Bud Light, Budweiser or Coors Light.
 
2012-08-28 01:52:02 PM
I'll bet they had a blast after zombie Welk hopped on his little rascal and spiked the punch bowl

upload.wikimedia.org
 
2012-08-28 01:52:49 PM
I worked for a minor league baseball team for a couple of summers. The fourth of July fireworks extravaganza always ended up with that stupid song.

A few of us decided to remix it to a rap version. The elderly fans protested like we pissed on the flag in center field. The younger fans thought it was cool.

Good thing the GM was out of town.
 
2012-08-28 01:53:36 PM

Bob16: Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.


I done told you once you son of a biatch he's the best there's ever been.

/Seriously, CD can shred a fiddle
//argue his politics, but to say he's a terrible musician is simply factually incorrect.
 
2012-08-28 01:54:47 PM

Skarekrough: frepnog: it is a patriotic song. it's nice, brings people to their feet and celebrates america.

fark you people.

And I'm pretty sure if the DNC asked Lee to show up at their shindig and offered the same amount he would be there as well.

The difference being that with Democrats the odds are that they won't have to pick from the bottom of the barrel for someone like Lee. Arguably there are a dozen currently relevant bands that would gladly show up and play for free.

And that's the difference between falling in love and falling in line.


you are probably right, and it makes me very sad that anyone in the music industry would support the Democrats.

The PMRC has not been forgotten, censorship will never be forgotten, Jello Biafra's trial has not been forgotten.

I have never understood how any musician can be a Democrat.
 
2012-08-28 01:56:06 PM

frepnog: The PMRC has not been forgotten, censorship will never be forgotten, Jello Biafra's trial has not been forgotten.


SHUT UP! Be happy. The comfort you've demanded is now mandatory.
 
2012-08-28 01:58:43 PM

CruJones: shred


The mark of a truly inferior musician.

The last thing music is about is how many notes you can jam into a measure. Quantity means nothing.

Learn the truth

http://www.jimhallmusic.com/

He's one of the slowest guitar players you will ever find and probably the best.
 
2012-08-28 02:02:00 PM

quatchi: "I pledge allegiance to this flag / And if that bothers you, well, that's too bad."

The imaginary liberals who live inside Lee Greenwood's head sound like terrible people.


That's actually an Aaron Tippin song. No, I didn't know that until I looked it up. That's that bodybuilder who got famous around the same time Billy Ray Cyrus got famous. It was...weird to know that there were two country guys on the air who shaved all their bodyhair, and Cletus and Jim-Bob back home were okay with that.

I see people who give in to that mentality as victims. Yes, victims. I mean, the country demographic tends to be people who distrust the government, but somehow that government has convinced people that if they don't worship the flag and everyone who has ever put on a military uniform, they're terrible people and un-American.

I remember the build-up to this attitude. It was some masterfully crafted propaganda, which equated discontent with the Iraq War with disrespect for soldiers and veterans, and that this attitude meant you hated America, and of course only liberals went down the path that led to hating America. It worked a lot better than it should have.

People, the Cold War ended in the 80s. Stop falling for obvious propaganda.
 
2012-08-28 02:03:49 PM
I always liked the Capitol Steps' version

"But my daddy wasn't fighting on Normandy that day,
for the right to drive a Hyundai, I refuse to live that way!
And I'm proud to be an American who gets just five MPG
though I live alone, the car I own can seat a hundred three
And I'll gladly park so close to you, when you pull out you can't see.
No I'll never trade my Escalade, God Bless my S.U.V.! "
 
2012-08-28 02:17:26 PM

Bob16: CruJones: shred

The mark of a truly inferior musician.

The last thing music is about is how many notes you can jam into a measure. Quantity means nothing.

Learn the truth

http://www.jimhallmusic.com/

He's one of the slowest guitar players you will ever find and probably the best.


He's a great fiddle player, no matter if you like his music or not. I think it's lame he doesn't cuss any more, and don't know a song he's released in 20 years, but that doesn't take away the fact he's really, really, good at playing the fiddle. Fast or slow.

LINKY

Layla on fiddle? Why not HERE (yes, the vocals are lacking)

He's not terrible on guitar either.

PS... I'm not a republican.
 
2012-08-28 02:17:31 PM

CptnSpldng: Mega Steve: That man is a national treasure

And he needs to be buried ASAP.


Can we have Nic Cage smuggle him out of the country in a cardboard tube of some kind?
 
2012-08-28 02:22:39 PM
"Know what I love about this country?"

www1.pictures.zimbio.com
 
2012-08-28 02:31:52 PM

Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

[www1.pictures.zimbio.com image 850x566]


"I can get 90 days of Lipitor for $12!!"??
 
2012-08-28 02:40:26 PM
I'm picturing the scene from Caddyshack where Rodney Dangerfield comes to dinner at the country club...

whew, it's like the dance of the living dead!
here (throws cash at the band) take some lessons.
Oh, this your wife, huh? A lovely lady. Hey baby, you must've been something before electricity.
You're a lot of woman, you know that? Yeah, wanna make 14 dollars the hard way?
 
2012-08-28 02:48:52 PM

Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"


A Prilosec hat? That's a thing?
 
2012-08-28 03:00:15 PM

theorellior: Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

A Prilosec hat? That's a thing?


If you had to go through life keeping up that schtick, you've be thankful for the heartburn relief too.
 
2012-08-28 03:19:02 PM

Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

[www1.pictures.zimbio.com image 850x566]


trick question, i love EVERYTHING
including meth
 
2012-08-28 03:22:05 PM

Bob16: Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.


Oh my God...you've happened upon the greatest idea since The Half Hour Comedy Hour...

FARKers, I offer you Derpapalooza

Ted Nugent
Hank Williams Junior
Lee Greenwood

And that's just day one!!!!
 
2012-08-28 03:23:39 PM
A camo prilosec hat. You know, for when you need to stalk the wild cheeseburger
 
2012-08-28 03:40:56 PM

I should be in the kitchen: And I'm proud to be an American,
where white Christian men are free.


True dat. I was out just the other night, rounding up a bunch of Filipino Catholics so that I could work them to death on my plantation.

//eyeroll.jpg
 
2012-08-28 03:44:53 PM

ProfessorOhki: theorellior: Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

A Prilosec hat? That's a thing?

If you had to go through life keeping up that schtick, you've be thankful for the heartburn relief too.


I really hope one day he drops the act and gives a tell all interview, it will be the only thing he does that I will willingly and eagerly watch.
 
2012-08-28 03:47:25 PM

CygnusDarius: If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.


It's a jacket...AND a shirt.

I call it a Jerkit.
 
2012-08-28 04:03:44 PM

exparrot: CygnusDarius: If I were American, I'd be offended by that shirt.

It's a jacket...AND a shirt.

I call it a Jerkit.


Funny. That's what I do into American flags.
 
2012-08-28 04:07:27 PM
"I pledge allegiance to this flag / And if that bothers you, well, that's too bad."

My god!! It's like Robert Hunter, Bob Dylan, and John Lennon had a baby!!!

A retarded baby, because there are three of them and they're all dudes
 
2012-08-28 04:09:52 PM
born_yesterday: Bob16: Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.

Oh my God...you've happened upon the greatest idea since The Half Hour Comedy Hour...

FARKers, I offer you Derpapalooza

Ted Nugent
Hank Williams Junior
Lee Greenwood

And that's just day one!!!!


Don't forget Charlie Daniels.
 
2012-08-28 04:12:44 PM

Jon iz teh kewl: trick question, i love EVERYTHING
including meth


Pic of Jon iz teh kewl:

images.wikia.com
 
2012-08-28 04:16:25 PM

born_yesterday: Ted Nugent
Hank Williams Junior
Lee Greenwood

And that's just day one!!!!


Derpapalooza will not be complete without Barbra Streisand and Rosie O'donnell. Both mad as hatters and willing to derp at the drop of a hat. O'donnell will drop the hat herself if she has to.
 
2012-08-28 04:17:03 PM

ComicBookGuy: born_yesterday: Bob16: Charlie Daniels was without doubt the worst "musician" Ive ever seen ( worked on a shoot of the "concert" so i had no choice about being there or not being there ).

I'll bet even Greenwood could beat him. Maybe even Ted Nugent and that pretty bad.

Oh my God...you've happened upon the greatest idea since The Half Hour Comedy Hour...

FARKers, I offer you Derpapalooza

Ted Nugent
Hank Williams Junior
Lee Greenwood

And that's just day one!!!!

Don't forget Charlie Daniels.


How is the headliner missing?

David
Allan
Coe
 
2012-08-28 04:43:01 PM

probesport: David
Allan
Coe


The guy who played Calhoun Tubbs on "In Living Color"?
 
2012-08-28 04:44:45 PM

TheNyquilKid: ProfessorOhki: theorellior: Nina_Hartley's_Ass: "Know what I love about this country?"

A Prilosec hat? That's a thing?

If you had to go through life keeping up that schtick, you've be thankful for the heartburn relief too.

I really hope one day he drops the act and gives a tell all interview, it will be the only thing he does that I will willingly and eagerly watch.


"How I Got 'R' Done: The Daniel Whitney Story"
 
2012-08-28 04:57:29 PM

steamingpile: gameshowhost: LL316: Anyone that goes to a Political Party National Convention for any reason other than for work purposes is a complete and utter douche.

So vote Republican.

Just like the dems only have the kids at their events because they all are for making a change!!!!

This is getting really tiring Fark, you can keep the mocking to silence an opinion in the political tab and off the main page. For people so open minded they sure aren't open to others ideas.


Aww, Herbie.

i48.tinypic.com
 
2012-08-28 05:14:03 PM

Bleyo: zabadu: (d) The flag should never be used as wearing apparel, bedding, or drapery. It should never be festooned, drawn back, nor up, in folds, but always allowed to fall free.

I always interpreted that as you can't use an actual flag as clothing, but clothing with portrayals of the flag were OK.


You mean like slicing a hole in the middle and wearing the flag like a poncho? As kid rock did during the super bowl half time?

There was a time when a stunt like that would get a guy arrested. (or just serve as an excuse for the pigs)

But apparently the right wing fanatics of america who freak at the slightest flash of nipple don't mind a little flag desecration.

But what do you expect from the folks who want to make a traitor our next president?
 
2012-08-28 05:23:19 PM

Citrate1007: "Patriotic" clothing is an offensive display of the flag. The fact that republican knuckle draggers don't understand the disrespect shows just how "patriotic" they really are.


Yeah, because democrat performers always respect it...

cdn.buzznet.com

encrypted-tbn0.google.com

encrypted-tbn3.google.com

wac.450f.edgecastcdn.net

encrypted-tbn3.google.com

/no problem with any of the performers above, or how they're wearing the flag. problem with people pointing out republican deficiencies/issues that democrats have too.
 
2012-08-28 05:31:27 PM

skrame: Citrate1007: "Patriotic" clothing is an offensive display of the flag. The fact that republican knuckle draggers don't understand the disrespect shows just how "patriotic" they really are.

Yeah, because democrat performers always respect it...

[cdn.buzznet.com image 500x685]

[encrypted-tbn0.google.com image 274x184]

[encrypted-tbn3.google.com image 176x286]

[wac.450f.edgecastcdn.net image 625x417]

[encrypted-tbn3.google.com image 275x183]

/no problem with any of the performers above, or how they're wearing the flag. problem with people pointing out republican deficiencies/issues that democrats have too.


I'm not really up on my civics, but I'm fairly certain you have to be an American citizen to register to vote.
 
2012-08-28 05:50:54 PM
Rapmaster2000 2012-08-28 12:43:44 PM

Even the Nazis got Wagner. This is the best we can do?


Well, to be fair, John Philip Sousa is probably a more apt comparison to Wagner than Lee Greenwood.
 
2012-08-28 06:09:50 PM

skrame: democrat performers


I doubt most of those artists consider themselves Democrats, maybe liberal but that's not always the same thing.
 
2012-08-28 06:10:49 PM
who?
 
2012-08-28 06:11:26 PM

TheJoe03: skrame: democrat performers

I doubt most of those artists consider themselves Democrats, maybe liberal but that's not always the same thing.


So vote Rapeublican.
 
2012-08-28 06:48:21 PM

born_yesterday: FARKers, I offer you Derpapalooza

Ted Nugent
Hank Williams Junior
Lee Greenwood

And that's just day one!!!!


You can throw in Charlie Daniels and Toby Keith as well. Hell, you can probably fit in the whole contemporary C&W scene (except of course for the Dixie Chicks).
 
2012-08-28 06:51:58 PM
Where were you when they built the ladder to heaven?
 
2012-08-28 06:58:17 PM
There is a slight difference between Lee Greenwood and people like Nugent, Hank Jr, and Charlie Daniels. When Lee Greenwood walks off stage he immediately reaches for a fifth of whiskey to kill the demons of whoredom. He knows his boiler-plate is that goddamn song, which I assure you he actually hates singing. That song, however, probably nets him about $5 million a year in performance fees and royalties.
 
2012-08-28 06:59:33 PM

clevershark: Toby Keith


Toby Keith is a registered Democrat.

...and an asshat. and a sh*tty musician.
 
2012-08-28 07:11:33 PM

Pandora's Litterbox: Toby Keith is a registered Democrat.


A "Dixiecrat" at best. He spent all of Dubya's term publicly fellating the guy.
 
2012-08-28 07:13:52 PM
Other C&W(ish) Democrats (and much better musicians than Toby Keith [imo]):

Tim McGraw, Faith Hill, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Willie Nelson, Steve Earle, Kris Kristofferson, John Prine, Ralph Stanley, Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash (RIP) and Emmylou Harris
 
2012-08-28 07:21:23 PM

clevershark: Pandora's Litterbox: Toby Keith is a registered Democrat.

A "Dixiecrat" at best. He spent all of Dubya's term publicly fellating the guy.


Although Keith has supported President George W. Bush, he says he is not a conservative.

"It's amazing how many Republicans call me for support. And then they go, 'You're a Republican right?' And you go, 'Well I'm actually a lifetime Democrat,'" he said. "And then they go, 'Oh, sorry.' And the Democrats want so bad - the real liberals really want to hate me. And then they go, 'I still hate you, but I can't believe you're a Democrat.' So I'm not a real political guy. I'm a very patriotic guy."

Keith says he trusts one person's instincts: his own. He runs his own record label now. And despite all the "drinkin' and cheatin'" songs, he's been married for 22 years, and has three kids. His latest album is called "White Trash with Money," inspired by an experience of his daughter's.

http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-3445_162-1990758.html (source)

But yeah, he was a Rick Perry backer this go 'round (after donating and praising Obama in '08) so you're probably right

(source)
http://blog.chron.com/rickperry/2011/11/democrat-and-country-music-st a r-toby-keith-donates-maximum-amount-to-rick-perry/

/don't really care all that very much about Keith or his politics. just bored with an hour to kill.
 
2012-08-28 07:28:44 PM
http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-3445_162-1990758.html

http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-3445_162-1990758.html (source)
 
2012-08-28 07:48:42 PM

Confabulat: Mr. Coffee Nerves: What if I hate Lee Greenwood because all his music farking sucks, not just because he wrote a song with pandering, treacly lyrics that sound like something a hydroencephalatic Cub Scout wrote for a 4th of July Jamboree? Do I have to root for the North Koreans when I go see "Red Dawn" at the dollar theater two weeks after it opens?

Son you better stand up when you hear Lee Greenwood or you may as well be a damn North Korean yourself, commie.


You lost me at "Son".
 
2012-08-28 09:43:30 PM
I get a kick out of this guy being a one trick pony. Every decisive International conflict that leads to war, or
a slide in "Exceptionalism" uses this fluff song since 1984. The used it for gulf war 1 and also 9/11 now
this years election. It is not jingoist as Toby Keith song , it just comes off as bad as they have to use this song over and over and over. And for an "Country American Love Song" I prefer this one.
Link

/my 2 cents
 
2012-08-29 10:54:43 AM
zabadu

Your post got me thinking. People spaz out over a piece of cloth with our national logo on it, but don't seem to care much about their fellow man. These people have some seriously farked up priorities. You're supposed to venerate the flag because "soldiers died for it". Well, let's think about that for a minute...

1) To the uninitiated, the flag and the United States Of America might seem the same, but surprisingly they're not. One is a large mass of land with around 311 million people living on it, and the other is a hunk of silkscreened cloth, probably manufactured by slave labor in China. If you die to save the people back home from an evil invading horde, that's a hero and I appreciate it. If you die for a flag, that's an idiot. But hey - you're free to be one.

2) You buy a flag, it's your property. You paid for it. You should be able to fly it, salute it, worship it, wear it, burn it, wipe your ass on it, dry your car with it, or make sweet love to it down by the fire... We don't tell people what they can and can't do with any other inanimate thing they buy. It's ironic that the very symbol of a supposedly free country is the one thing that's restricted as to what you can do with it.

3) The flag won't care what you do to it.

4) They'll make more.

America would be a better place if people took the energy spent on worshipping an inanimate piece of cloth, and channeled it into being better to their neighbor... helping the poor... or electing public officials based on their intentions and intellect rather than jingoism or loyalty to a party. But... eh. People mostly can't think for themselves, and will do what they will.
 
2012-08-29 11:36:50 AM

GibbyTheMole: zabadu

Your post got me thinking. People spaz out over a piece of cloth with our national logo on it, but don't seem to care much about their fellow man. These people have some seriously farked up priorities. You're supposed to venerate the flag because "soldiers died for it". Well, let's think about that for a minute...

1) To the uninitiated, the flag and the United States Of America might seem the same, but surprisingly they're not. One is a large mass of land with around 311 million people living on it, and the other is a hunk of silkscreened cloth, probably manufactured by slave labor in China. If you die to save the people back home from an evil invading horde, that's a hero and I appreciate it. If you die for a flag, that's an idiot. But hey - you're free to be one.

2) You buy a flag, it's your property. You paid for it. You should be able to fly it, salute it, worship it, wear it, burn it, wipe your ass on it, dry your car with it, or make sweet love to it down by the fire... We don't tell people what they can and can't do with any other inanimate thing they buy. It's ironic that the very symbol of a supposedly free country is the one thing that's restricted as to what you can do with it.

3) The flag won't care what you do to it.

4) They'll make more.

America would be a better place if people took the energy spent on worshipping an inanimate piece of cloth, and channeled it into being better to their neighbor... helping the poor... or electing public officials based on their intentions and intellect rather than jingoism or loyalty to a party. But... eh. People mostly can't think for themselves, and will do what they will.


I didn't make the rules, I just posted them.

And I believe the rules were made back when you were supposed to march down the street waving flags shouting AMERICA, AMERICA!! and they put "In God We Trust" on the dollar. Oh, and "under God" in the Pledge of Allegiance.
 
2012-08-29 11:55:18 AM
Chances are if you have a US flag it was probably made in China by some guy getting paid $0.02 an hour.
 
2012-08-29 11:55:54 AM
And what's more American than that, really?
 
2012-08-29 05:07:40 PM

TheJoe03: I doubt most of those artists consider themselves Democrats, maybe liberal but that's not always the same thing.


That's true; it's not always the same. But it is a majority of the time. All of the artists I included have either strongly spoken out against what are considered Republican policies (usually involving war or gay rights), or have actually supported Democrat candidates. I would gamble that none of them would vote Rupublican any time soon. But you're right; I don't know actual party affiliation.

LeafyGreens: I'm not really up on my civics, but I'm fairly certain you have to be an American citizen to register to vote.


You can't exclude Jersey that easily!
/kidding, kidding - It was just part of my point that not only Rupublican knuckle-draggers wear the flag.
 
2012-08-29 06:23:22 PM
zabadu

I didn't make the rules, I just posted them.

Oh sure... You didn't seem like one of the nutjobs I was referring to. Your post just got me thinking is all... :-)
 
2012-08-30 08:30:19 AM
Instead of Greenwood's nausea-inducing dreck, I submit a tune Frank Sinatra did for a short film in 1945 called "The House I Live In" promoting religious tolerance, particularly of Jewish people.
 
Displayed 132 of 132 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report