If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(YouTube)   Review of the 2012 Aston Martin V8 Vantage Roadster: "I'm really shocked this car was approved for production"   (youtube.com) divider line 92
    More: Fail, Aston Martin  
•       •       •

5761 clicks; posted to Business » on 11 Aug 2012 at 4:04 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



92 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-08-11 01:06:24 PM
Holy crap. That really is chock full o' fail!
 
2012-08-11 01:24:24 PM
Ha ha ha ha this car is for short people!
 
2012-08-11 01:30:41 PM
The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.
Why anyone would get or even bother to test the pushbutton slushbox is a bit of a mystery too. I'd like to hear what he has to say about the 6-speed.
 
2012-08-11 02:18:26 PM
The tachometer going counterclockwise made me laugh out loud.
 
2012-08-11 02:31:00 PM

sno man: The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.
Why anyone would get or even bother to test the pushbutton slushbox is a bit of a mystery too. I'd like to hear what he has to say about the 6-speed.


It had the 6 speed, he said that in the review.

Actually, until he got to the driving aspects of the vehicle I was ready to chock his review up to a geek with nerd rage who was upset that his new car wasn't a supercomputer. Then he started pointing out things that matter, like a bad gearbox and the tachometer that runs backwards.
 
2012-08-11 02:33:46 PM

Lsherm: It had the 6 speed, he said that in the review.


Sorry sno man, didn't realize you were talking about the manual transmission. I guess they're both 6-speeds.
 
2012-08-11 03:26:02 PM

sno man: The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.
Why anyone would get or even bother to test the pushbutton slushbox is a bit of a mystery too. I'd like to hear what he has to say about the 6-speed.


For $136,000, it doesn't matter how much you compare it to a Ford Fiesta. If it's not worth 6-figures, it's not worth 6-figures.
 
2012-08-11 03:33:42 PM

sno man: The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.


So you have to spend at least $220,000 for a good Aston Martin?
 
2012-08-11 04:18:50 PM
Isn't every Aston pretty much the same platform every year? It's like they're going for the Mustang record.
 
2012-08-11 04:33:55 PM

Lando Lincoln: sno man: The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.

So you have to spend at least $220,000 for a good Aston Martin?


ummm, yea... crazy isn't it?
 
2012-08-11 04:41:01 PM

MacEnvy: sno man: The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.
Why anyone would get or even bother to test the pushbutton slushbox is a bit of a mystery too. I'd like to hear what he has to say about the 6-speed.

For $136,000, it doesn't matter how much you compare it to a Ford Fiesta. If it's not worth 6-figures, it's not worth 6-figures.


For $136k there are quite a few cars that I'd rather have too, hell even a ZR1 vette...and you get your insurance covered for the first year or two with the difference in price.
 
2012-08-11 04:48:37 PM
Damn, that was brutal. Funny, but brutal.
 
2012-08-11 04:49:51 PM
Aston Martins are for middle aged rich guys who wish they were James Bond while trying to pick up younger women.
 
2012-08-11 04:50:32 PM

violentsalvation: The tachometer going counterclockwise made me laugh out loud.


Shelby Cobra Speedometer:

www.gaugeguys.com

Not to white knight the car - just to illustrate that counterclockwise gauges have existed for a very long time.
 
2012-08-11 04:55:38 PM

sno man: The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.
Why anyone would get or even bother to test the pushbutton slushbox is a bit of a mystery too. I'd like to hear what he has to say about the 6-speed.


Audi/VW and Nissan (GTR) both have fantastic dual clutch transmissions. No need to row your own anymore unless it's your preference, or unless you buy this POS.
 
2012-08-11 04:58:25 PM

Lsherm: sno man: The joke's on him, in the world of Aston Martin, that is an entry level car, like a fiesta is for Ford.
Why anyone would get or even bother to test the pushbutton slushbox is a bit of a mystery too. I'd like to hear what he has to say about the 6-speed.

It had the 6 speed, he said that in the review.

Actually, until he got to the driving aspects of the vehicle I was ready to chock his review up to a geek with nerd rage who was upset that his new car wasn't a supercomputer. Then he started pointing out things that matter, like a bad gearbox and the tachometer that runs backwards.


I suspect they had someone that isn't 'a driver' do the instrument cluster, and the tach was about symmetry, not function.
Which should tell you all you need to know about what AM thinks of the people that buy these particular cars...

/oh and np about the 6 speed confusion (I had kinda glazed over by the time he was talking about the tranny and missed that the pushbutton was also a six, I woulda referred to the stick differently.)
 
2012-08-11 04:58:59 PM

violentsalvation: The tachometer going counterclockwise made me laugh out loud.


I wasn't going to watch the video, but then I had to to make sure you weren't making that up. Unreal.
 
2012-08-11 05:04:40 PM

Znuh: violentsalvation: The tachometer going counterclockwise made me laugh out loud.

Shelby Cobra Speedometer:

[www.gaugeguys.com image 250x249]

Not to white knight the car - just to illustrate that counterclockwise gauges have existed for a very long time.


That's just wrong.
 
2012-08-11 05:20:03 PM
Up next: Ladies Home Journal reviews Metal Gear Solid 4. But first: the editors of Field and Stream tell you what to look for in an overclocking friendly motherboard.
 
2012-08-11 05:21:19 PM

kertus: Znuh: violentsalvation: The tachometer going counterclockwise made me laugh out loud.

Shelby Cobra Speedometer:

[www.gaugeguys.com image 250x249]

Not to white knight the car - just to illustrate that counterclockwise gauges have existed for a very long time.

That's just wrong.


It just is - sometimes where the gauges are placed necessitates a different sweep. You can see the counter-rotating Speedo again in the Cobra:

www.bdpmotorsports.com
 
2012-08-11 05:21:33 PM

kertus: Znuh: violentsalvation: The tachometer going counterclockwise made me laugh out loud.

Shelby Cobra Speedometer:

[www.gaugeguys.com image 250x249]

Not to white knight the car - just to illustrate that counterclockwise gauges have existed for a very long time.

That's just wrong.


Similar to experiments showing subjects red spades and clubs and black hearts and diamonds.

The mind bends.
 
2012-08-11 05:49:32 PM
It's "car week" in Monterey. There are a lot of nicer cars tooling around town right now.

I am going to peak into some Cobras to check out the reverse speedo. That just doesn't seem right.
 
2012-08-11 05:50:30 PM

crotchgrabber: It's "car week" in Monterey. There are a lot of nicer cars tooling around town right now.

I am going to peak into some Cobras to check out the reverse speedo. That just doesn't seem right.


Some have 'em, some don't. It's seriously weird.
 
2012-08-11 05:53:09 PM
Aha. From an owner building a new kit (http://www.anitafred.net/Cobra.htm):

The interior features a competition style dash layout with the original Smith's style gauges. We're replaced the ammeter used on the original cars with a Smith's style voltmeter to allow for the use of the high output alternator and provide a better means of monitoring the performance of the charging system. Note the reverse style 180 mph speedometer as was used on the original competition cars.
 
2012-08-11 05:56:00 PM
Top Gear - Aston Martin V8 Vantage - BBC
Top Gear Aston Martin Vantage

Not the exact same car but you'll get the idea. If you care more about bluetooth connectivity than what's under the hood this isn't your car.

...and what's wrong with the tach? Who cares which way it goes?
 
2012-08-11 05:58:03 PM

Znuh: Aha. From an owner building a new kit (http://www.anitafred.net/Cobra.htm):

The interior features a competition style dash layout with the original Smith's style gauges. We're replaced the ammeter used on the original cars with a Smith's style voltmeter to allow for the use of the high output alternator and provide a better means of monitoring the performance of the charging system. Note the reverse style 180 mph speedometer as was used on the original competition cars.


I see. Looking at the schedule of races for next week at Laguna Seca, there's a race of 1962-1967 Shelby Cobras Saturday afternoon. Supposed to be about 45 originals in the race. That's an interesting little fact that can help differentiate originals from bad rebuilds. Carol was supposed to be here, but...
 
2012-08-11 06:07:13 PM

crotchgrabber: Znuh: Aha. From an owner building a new kit (http://www.anitafred.net/Cobra.htm):

The interior features a competition style dash layout with the original Smith's style gauges. We're replaced the ammeter used on the original cars with a Smith's style voltmeter to allow for the use of the high output alternator and provide a better means of monitoring the performance of the charging system. Note the reverse style 180 mph speedometer as was used on the original competition cars.

I see. Looking at the schedule of races for next week at Laguna Seca, there's a race of 1962-1967 Shelby Cobras Saturday afternoon. Supposed to be about 45 originals in the race. That's an interesting little fact that can help differentiate originals from bad rebuilds. Carol was supposed to be here, but...


Totally jealous!! I'm going to be hitting up the British Invasion at Stowe, VT this September here on the East Coast - have a blast! And yeah - we all knew it was coming, still a shock to see Mr. Shelby gone.
 
2012-08-11 06:13:32 PM

Znuh: crotchgrabber: Znuh: Aha. From an owner building a new kit (http://www.anitafred.net/Cobra.htm):

The interior features a competition style dash layout with the original Smith's style gauges. We're replaced the ammeter used on the original cars with a Smith's style voltmeter to allow for the use of the high output alternator and provide a better means of monitoring the performance of the charging system. Note the reverse style 180 mph speedometer as was used on the original competition cars.

I see. Looking at the schedule of races for next week at Laguna Seca, there's a race of 1962-1967 Shelby Cobras Saturday afternoon. Supposed to be about 45 originals in the race. That's an interesting little fact that can help differentiate originals from bad rebuilds. Carol was supposed to be here, but...

Totally jealous!! I'm going to be hitting up the British Invasion at Stowe, VT this September here on the East Coast - have a blast! And yeah - we all knew it was coming, still a shock to see Mr. Shelby gone.



I volunteer at the track. I've got some time off Sunday so my camera will be busy. I stoked another farker with ALMS tickets. If you ever get out this way hit me up.
 
2012-08-11 06:24:32 PM
uhhh, this is over 3 months old.

besides, this is why people are waiting for the 2013.
 
2012-08-11 06:24:53 PM
The C|net guy wishes he was as cool as Jeremy Clarkson.
 
2012-08-11 06:34:20 PM

crotchgrabber: I volunteer at the track. I've got some time off Sunday so my camera will be busy. I stoked another farker with ALMS tickets. If you ever get out this way hit me up.


I am jealous on both accounts

it's been a few years since i've worked a corner at a track
 
2012-08-11 06:55:38 PM

wildcardjack: The C|net guy wishes he was as cool uncool as Jeremy Clarkson James May.

 
2012-08-11 06:56:42 PM
remember Dudley Moore as the ad man in 'Crazy People'? my favorite was the "Jaguar: for rich men who want handjobs from women they don't know" ad.

Mrs.Kritter got a VW Bug convertible a few days ago. she's very pleased with her purchase. saved a tidy sum by not going the Aston Martin route. LOL
 
2012-08-11 07:04:06 PM

loonatic112358: crotchgrabber: I volunteer at the track. I've got some time off Sunday so my camera will be busy. I stoked another farker with ALMS tickets. If you ever get out this way hit me up.


Mucho thanks - If you find your way out East, let me know - Vintage Fall Festival is just around the corner at Lime Rock!
 
2012-08-11 07:08:00 PM

Znuh: Mucho thanks - If you find your way out East, let me know - Vintage Fall Festival is just around the corner at Lime Rock!


Oh nice, i've been at Texas World Speedway (in Bryan TX) when there was a vintage event, those are nice
 
2012-08-11 07:09:25 PM
I wouldn't spend $136K on anything that lacked three bedrooms, two baths, and a finished basement.
 
2012-08-11 07:13:12 PM

valkore:
Audi/VW and Nissan (GTR) both have fantastic dual clutch transmissions. No need to row roll your own anymore unless it's your preference, or unless you buy this POS.


FTFY

The phrase originated with roll-your-own cigarettes.
 
2012-08-11 07:41:21 PM

the_vicious_fez: FTFY

The phrase originated with roll-your-own cigarettes.


I meant it as rowing through the gears on your own. I guess it could work the other way too.
 
2012-08-11 07:50:12 PM

BarkingUnicorn: I wouldn't spend $136K on anything that lacked three bedrooms, two baths, and a finished basement.


Around here, those three requirements would set you back about 3 times that... 4 times closer to the big city... 5 in it.
And still $136k is a lot for a car. Especially one so full of compromise.
 
2012-08-11 08:24:12 PM
The saddest part is that it's not even particularly good looking.
 
2012-08-11 08:34:50 PM
He says he wouldn't drive the car with the roof up even in heavy rain because he doesn't fit, and two minutes later he's driving along with the roof up (complaining about wind noises). Right.
 
2012-08-11 09:19:22 PM
(sport) R (start) N D

Where's Park?
 
2012-08-11 09:50:47 PM
Lemme guess.

When Top Gear reviews it, Clarkson will point out some of the same flaws (although he WILL know what the sex toy left by the previous reviewer was for -- you stupid pillock yanks) and yet gesture wordlessly for a moment and then confess his love for the car anyway.

It could be built out of equal parts raw sewage and neglect, but if it's British, he puts blinders on the size of the Burj Dubai.

i201.photobucket.com
 
2012-08-11 09:53:38 PM

hogans: (sport) R (start) N D

Where's Park?


The car won't last long enough to park it, no worries.
 
2012-08-11 09:53:54 PM
Aston Martin = British Corvette
 
2012-08-11 09:55:59 PM

violentsalvation: The tachometer going counterclockwise made me laugh out loud.


Maybe it's only for the southern hemisphere or something.

/the gas gauge went backward too.
 
2012-08-11 10:25:16 PM
He should have gone into how useless the toolkit is.
 
2012-08-11 10:30:57 PM
Counter clockwise guages? Next thing you'll tell me is the battery is positive ground. Crazy talk!
 
2012-08-11 10:33:00 PM
Reviewer: "I can't drive it with the top up", then proceeds to drive it with the top up.
 
2012-08-11 11:10:23 PM

StopLurkListen: Lemme guess.

When Top Gear reviews it, Clarkson will point out some of the same flaws (although he WILL know what the sex toy left by the previous reviewer was for -- you stupid pillock yanks) and yet gesture wordlessly for a moment and then confess his love for the car anyway.

It could be built out of equal parts raw sewage and neglect, but if it's British, he puts blinders on the size of the Burj Dubai.

[i201.photobucket.com image 351x159]


I think even Clarkson dinged Aston Martin during their last review for not updating the line in so long. But yeah, he's always dinging the Corvette for using cheap parts from other vehicles yet seems strangely blind to the same problem in AM's.
 
Displayed 50 of 92 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report