If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Rotten Tomatoes)   Internet goes Batshiat over negative reviews of The Dark Knight Rises   (rottentomatoes.com) divider line 270
    More: Asinine, TDKR, Rotten Tomatoes, Internet forum, Marshall Fine, batman movie, connotations  
•       •       •

9675 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 17 Jul 2012 at 12:46 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



270 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-07-17 09:53:45 AM
What the fark is the internet?
 
2012-07-17 09:54:29 AM
I should credit flickfilosopher.com for the pun, and for bringing it to my attention.

/subby
 
2012-07-17 10:00:19 AM
"This is my face. punch it."

content9.flixster.com
 
2012-07-17 10:08:42 AM
Awww c'mon, don't disable the comments! If there's one thing I love about the Batman series, it's the amount of butthurt venom spewed by those who don't like the inevitable negative reviews. When Armond White get's posted, it will be like a black hole of butthurt.
 
2012-07-17 10:15:24 AM
So they're disabling comments because of threats, speech, and troll abuse. They're removing links to negative reviews (but still using them to calculate the movie's overall score) so that the traffic doesn't crash the reviewer's site.

And this is outrageous why?
 
2012-07-17 10:16:04 AM

Lor M. Ipsum: threats, hate speech,


ftfm
 
2012-07-17 10:19:05 AM
armond white?
 
2012-07-17 10:30:21 AM

Mugato: "This is my face. punch it."

[content9.flixster.com image 132x178]


I just figured out what it is. He's the dark-haired Guy Fieri. That's another guy with a very punchable face

philadelphia.foobooz.com

/I think it's the goatee
 
2012-07-17 10:31:14 AM
I was wrong about them removing negative reviews. They're only removing negative reviews from critics who are trying to use the traffic to benefit themselves or other non-review site.

A quick glance of the DK Rises RottenTomatoes page shows that there are a handful of negative reviews displayed.
 
2012-07-17 10:33:27 AM
Batman is the best thing ever! to denounce it to denounce america!
 
2012-07-17 10:34:01 AM

Lor M. Ipsum: And this is outrageous why?


That's not outrageous, that's not what this article is about and that's not why this link was submitted.

The point of all of this is the commentors are going berserk over the one (now two) negative reviews and most of them haven't even seen the damn movie.
 
2012-07-17 10:35:52 AM
Huh, they just added the comments back for the reviews.

/There goes my day
//This will be fun
 
2012-07-17 10:43:07 AM
I haven't seen The Dark Knight Rises yet but IT WILL BE THE GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME AND ANYONE WHO SAYS OTHERWISE IS A COCKSUCKER AND I WILL COME TO YOUR HOUSE AND GUT YOU LIKE A FISH AND THEN TAKE YOUR MOM ON A TRAIN RIDE TO POUND TOWN. DIE ASSHOLES DIEEEEEEEE!!!
 
2012-07-17 10:48:15 AM
Damn, 2 hours and 45 minutes is long.
 
2012-07-17 10:51:27 AM

jaylectricity: That's not outrageous, that's not what this article is about and that's not why this link was submitted.


I guess I misinterpreted the Asinine tag then
 
2012-07-17 11:05:30 AM

JerseyTim: I haven't seen The Dark Knight Rises yet but IT WILL BE THE GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME AND ANYONE WHO SAYS OTHERWISE IS A COCKSUCKER AND I WILL COME TO YOUR HOUSE AND GUT YOU LIKE A FISH AND THEN TAKE YOUR MOM ON A TRAIN RIDE TO POUND TOWN. DIE ASSHOLES DIEEEEEEEE!!!


Dark Knight Rises will be the Gigli, the Ishtar, the John Carter of Mars, THE BATMAN AND ROBIN NIPPLES ON THE BAT COSTUME....of BATMAN MOVIES!
 
2012-07-17 11:21:21 AM

scottydoesntknow: Awww c'mon, don't disable the comments! If there's one thing I love about the Batman series, it's the amount of butthurt venom spewed by those who don't like the inevitable negative reviews. When Armond White get's posted, it will be like a black hole of butthurt.


It's not just Batman. Any sort of fandom that encounters people who don't like what they're really, really, reaaaallllyyyy into goes batshiat these days.

Witness the Bronies who lost their heads when Mike Nelson of MST3k fame gave them some crap for the MLP convention a month or two ago. How dare he claim that the typical Bronie is a obsessive man-child! That's only true, like, 80% of the time!
 
2012-07-17 11:28:03 AM

TheBeastOfYuccaFlats: Witness the Bronies who lost their heads when Mike Nelson of MST3k fame gave them some crap for the MLP convention a month or two ago. How dare he claim that the typical Bronie is a obsessive man-child! That's only true, like, 80% of the time!


while I was on vacation, I was bored one morning and took some time out to watch an episode. I don't get the obsession. The episode was cute and had a little lesson about overcoming fears or some such, but it wasn't anything to obsess over.
 
2012-07-17 11:41:36 AM

Lor M. Ipsum: jaylectricity: That's not outrageous, that's not what this article is about and that's not why this link was submitted.

I guess I misinterpreted the Asinine tag then


Subby here. Jay pretty much hit the nail on the head: The point of all of this is the commentors are going berserk over the one (now two) negative reviews and most of them haven't even seen the damn movie.
 
2012-07-17 11:47:15 AM

ManateeGag: TheBeastOfYuccaFlats: Witness the Bronies who lost their heads when Mike Nelson of MST3k fame gave them some crap for the MLP convention a month or two ago. How dare he claim that the typical Bronie is a obsessive man-child! That's only true, like, 80% of the time!

while I was on vacation, I was bored one morning and took some time out to watch an episode. I don't get the obsession. The episode was cute and had a little lesson about overcoming fears or some such, but it wasn't anything to obsess over.


The usual answer for this is "you need to watch more episodes, then you'll get it"

If I was gonna get all obsessed about a kids show, it'd probably be Phineas and Ferb. MLP has nothing on that show. Saw the character designer doing a panel at a Comicon. Pretty cool guy.
 
2012-07-17 12:16:37 PM

TheBeastOfYuccaFlats: If I was gonna get all obsessed about a kids show, it'd probably be Phineas and Ferb.


I farking love Phineas and Ferb. I'm not too keen on the idea that Jeph Loeb is doing with a Marvel crossover episode next summer.
 
2012-07-17 12:23:07 PM

I_C_Weener: JerseyTim: I haven't seen The Dark Knight Rises yet but IT WILL BE THE GREATEST MOVIE OF ALL TIME AND ANYONE WHO SAYS OTHERWISE IS A COCKSUCKER AND I WILL COME TO YOUR HOUSE AND GUT YOU LIKE A FISH AND THEN TAKE YOUR MOM ON A TRAIN RIDE TO POUND TOWN. DIE ASSHOLES DIEEEEEEEE!!!

Dark Knight Rises will be the Gigli, the Ishtar, the John Carter of Mars, THE BATMAN AND ROBIN NIPPLES ON THE BAT COSTUME....of BATMAN MOVIES!


Hey, man, don't dis the nipples.
 
2012-07-17 12:24:00 PM

ManateeGag: TheBeastOfYuccaFlats: If I was gonna get all obsessed about a kids show, it'd probably be Phineas and Ferb.

I farking love Phineas and Ferb. I'm not too keen on the idea that Jeph Loeb is doing with a Marvel crossover episode next summer.


I know what we're gonna do today, Ferb: do bizarre experiments on mutants with super-regenerative powers.
 
2012-07-17 12:28:28 PM
Here's the review in question, rehosted by HuffPo.

Link
 
2012-07-17 12:31:12 PM

GeeksAreMyPeeps: Lor M. Ipsum: jaylectricity: That's not outrageous, that's not what this article is about and that's not why this link was submitted.

I guess I misinterpreted the Asinine tag then

Subby here. Jay pretty much hit the nail on the head: The point of all of this is the commentors are going berserk over the one (now two) negative reviews and most of them haven't even seen the damn movie.


My mistake. Personally, I would have gone with the obvious tag, but I've complained about your greenlight enough already.
 
2012-07-17 12:50:31 PM
It's rated at 84% currently. Enough with the butthurt already.
 
2012-07-17 12:54:34 PM

xanadian: ManateeGag: TheBeastOfYuccaFlats: If I was gonna get all obsessed about a kids show, it'd probably be Phineas and Ferb.

I farking love Phineas and Ferb. I'm not too keen on the idea that Jeph Loeb is doing with a Marvel crossover episode next summer.

I know what we're gonna do today, Ferb: do bizarre experiments on mutants with super-regenerative powers.


Anyone seen Perry?
 
2012-07-17 12:57:43 PM
Does Batman do that stupid cookie monster voice?
 
2012-07-17 01:00:05 PM
Having read the review, I don't understand the butthurt over it. He's not exactly trashing the film. He even says outside of the (to him) mindless action stuff, there's a good story in there. But I guess because he didn't say "ZOMGERs! Best movie evarrrrrr!!!!1!!!" its the worst review from a Nazi ever?
 
2012-07-17 01:01:22 PM

scottydoesntknow: Mugato: "This is my face. punch it."

[content9.flixster.com image 132x178]

I just figured out what it is. He's the dark-haired Guy Fieri. That's another guy with a very punchable face

[philadelphia.foobooz.com image 400x300]

/I think it's the goatee

Backpfeifengesicht

is the word I think you're looking for....

/Indeed.
 
2012-07-17 01:01:49 PM
I would listen to any criticisms, but when you throw in the JS franchise jab that's kinda going too far.
 
2012-07-17 01:02:41 PM
But if I could ask everyone for one thing, it's this: don't be a dick. Even if you think someone else is being a dick. Just take a deep breath, step away from the computer, and maybe go for a walk. Have a smoke if you need one. There are plenty of other things to get angry about, like war, famine, poverty and crime. But not movie reviews

If you removed people biatching about inane things on the internet, all that would be left is news and porn. Mostly porn.
 
2012-07-17 01:02:45 PM
Oh, and Phineas and Ferb is the most awesome cartoon evaaarrrrr!!1!!1!!

/has a Perry the Platypus wallet and Ringtone.
 
2012-07-17 01:05:04 PM

LeroyBourne: I would listen to any criticisms, but when you throw in the JS franchise jab that's kinda going too far.


JS=Jersey Shore?
 
2012-07-17 01:05:18 PM
I'll say it - TDK was overlong and had a needlessly convoluted plot, even for a superhero film. I enjoyed it but Begins is twice the film TDK was. So I'm not surprised this one isn't getting universally lauded - none of the supporting actors croaked recently.
 
2012-07-17 01:13:24 PM
People are passionate about baseball movies
 
2012-07-17 01:16:16 PM
To be fair, the internet goes batshiat about everything.
 
2012-07-17 01:17:22 PM

JohnBigBootay: I'll say it - TDK was overlong and had a needlessly convoluted plot, even for a superhero film. I enjoyed it but Begins is twice the film TDK was. So I'm not surprised this one isn't getting universally lauded - none of the supporting actors croaked recently.


5/10
 
2012-07-17 01:18:49 PM

TheBeastOfYuccaFlats: ManateeGag: TheBeastOfYuccaFlats: Witness the Bronies who lost their heads when Mike Nelson of MST3k fame gave them some crap for the MLP convention a month or two ago. How dare he claim that the typical Bronie is a obsessive man-child! That's only true, like, 80% of the time!

while I was on vacation, I was bored one morning and took some time out to watch an episode. I don't get the obsession. The episode was cute and had a little lesson about overcoming fears or some such, but it wasn't anything to obsess over.

The usual answer for this is "you need to watch more episodes, then you'll get it"

If I was gonna get all obsessed about a kids show, it'd probably be Phineas and Ferb. MLP has nothing on that show. Saw the character designer doing a panel at a Comicon. Pretty cool guy.


A friend of mine recently convinced us to watch a few episodes of Phineas and Ferb while we were sharing a hotel room and a bit bored. I have to say, it's surprisingly entertaining, and I say this as an adult. There's the obvious things they throw at the kids, including the seemingly mandatory once-per-episode song, but it's legitimately clever and made me laugh a few times. If I had crotchfruit of my own that would be the show I watched with them.
 
2012-07-17 01:19:05 PM
www.awsm.com
 
2012-07-17 01:19:18 PM
But Marshall has the right to not like the movie, and people have the right to express their disagreement with him (although if you haven't seen the movie, your arguments may be on shaky ground).

My thoughts exactly. I can guarantee you that 90% of the commenters haven't seen it. There aren't THAT many free screenings out there for any movie, and there's not really a reason to do any for this movie, except so theat the reviewers have some ambiance to help with their impression of the movie.

If the guy is a professional, and is not known for talking out his ass, then these people probably don't have a single valid point. If he's not, then I take that back.
 
2012-07-17 01:23:27 PM
From several (not all) of the negative reviews I've read they don't seem to be objectively honest. The bar seems to be impossibly high for them to bestow a positive review on the film where the sense is that if the movie existed in a vacuum that it would easily garner an overall positive review. I'm sure the movie is flawed as all films are, but still based on all the positive reviews it's hard to imagine giving the film less than 6 out of 10 rating or regarding it as a movie not worthy of your time.
 
2012-07-17 01:26:01 PM

Wayne 985: 5/10


Honest opinion. Not a troll.
 
2012-07-17 01:27:37 PM
FTA:

"- We're probably going to move to a Facebook-based commenting system that doesn't allow for anonymity. You'll have to stand by your comments, just like a critic does. So you'll still be able to argue about a movie you haven't seen, but people will know it was you. (I know that won't make a difference for some people, but at least there may be some measure of responsibility)."

Believe me, this doesn't work. The people that post idiotic comments are, in fact, idiots in real life.
 
2012-07-17 01:28:24 PM

JohnBigBootay: I'll say it - TDK was overlong and had a needlessly convoluted plot, even for a superhero film. I enjoyed it but Begins is twice the film TDK was. So I'm not surprised this one isn't getting universally lauded - none of the supporting actors croaked recently.


Heh, and I thought my wife and I were the only people in all the world that felt this way. After taking in all the hype, we finally got around to watching it and then....meh. They could have cut 30 - 40 minutes out of that movie and not lost a thing.

Each to their own I guess.
 
2012-07-17 01:28:33 PM
scottydoesntknow
When Armond White get's posted, it will be like a black hole of butthurt.

Forget Batman films. If rotten tomatoes had any respect for itself, it wouldn't include the reviews of the douchebag troll of movie criticism.
 
2012-07-17 01:30:55 PM
How can you flip out in defense of a movie you haven't seen yet? Maybe they're all valid points?
 
2012-07-17 01:35:25 PM

danfrank: JohnBigBootay: I'll say it - TDK was overlong and had a needlessly convoluted plot, even for a superhero film. I enjoyed it but Begins is twice the film TDK was. So I'm not surprised this one isn't getting universally lauded - none of the supporting actors croaked recently.

Heh, and I thought my wife and I were the only people in all the world that felt this way. After taking in all the hype, we finally got around to watching it and then....meh. They could have cut 30 - 40 minutes out of that movie and not lost a thing.

Each to their own I guess.


Agreed. I don't want to put forth the wrong opinion here. I love me some big budget action films. And superheroes and Nolan and Batman, etc. I liked the movie. But after really loving Begins and seeing the reviews for TDK I guess my expectations were too high and ended up a little disappointed. Ledger was fantastic but it was just a bit much for me. I'll certainly see the new one I just disagree with all the 'best superhero movie ever! hyperbole for TDK. Hell, the first Iron Man blows it away in my book.
 
2012-07-17 01:38:47 PM
Are people just now realizing that The Dark Knight was 90 minutes too long and that Christian Bale is a terrible Batman?
 
2012-07-17 01:39:44 PM
How do you decide to threaten someone who didn't like a movie he's seen and you haven't? I just can't seem to place myself in that mindset.
 
Displayed 50 of 270 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report