If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(2Dorks.com) Video What do you do when PGA Golfer Troy Matteson's golf ball lands in front of you on the 18th hole of the John Deere Classic: C) pick it up and put it in your pocket   (twodorks.com) divider line 51
    More: Video, John Deere Classic, PGA Championship, PGA Golfer Troy Matteson, Matteson, golf balls  
•       •       •

4814 clicks; posted to Video » on 16 Jul 2012 at 4:20 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



51 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-07-16 02:50:43 PM
Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?
 
2012-07-16 03:01:36 PM

downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?


No. When a ball at rest is moved by an "outside agency", there is no penalty for the golfer.

The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.
 
2012-07-16 03:20:52 PM

mysticcat: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

No. When a ball at rest is moved by an "outside agency", there is no penalty for the golfer.

The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.


What is an "outside agency". Because if I remember correctly, some guy's ball was at rest... then the wind blew it (on the green, where this is entirely possible). He got a penalty.
 
2012-07-16 03:24:51 PM

downstairs: mysticcat: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

No. When a ball at rest is moved by an "outside agency", there is no penalty for the golfer.

The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.

What is an "outside agency". Because if I remember correctly, some guy's ball was at rest... then the wind blew it (on the green, where this is entirely possible). He got a penalty.


Prior to this year, if a ball was moved for any reason after a golfer had addressed the ball, he was assessed a penalty. The rule was changed as of the beginning of 2012.
 
2012-07-16 03:30:57 PM

ArkAngel: downstairs: mysticcat: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

No. When a ball at rest is moved by an "outside agency", there is no penalty for the golfer.

The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.

What is an "outside agency". Because if I remember correctly, some guy's ball was at rest... then the wind blew it (on the green, where this is entirely possible). He got a penalty.

Prior to this year, if a ball was moved for any reason after a golfer had addressed the ball, he was assessed a penalty. The rule was changed as of the beginning of 2012.


That's correct. The old rule cost Webb Simpson a tournament.

An outside agency is basically anything that is not the player, his equipment, or his caddie.
 
2012-07-16 03:43:08 PM

mysticcat: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

No. When a ball at rest is moved by an "outside agency", there is no penalty for the golfer.

The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.


img215.imageshack.us
 
2012-07-16 03:48:44 PM

downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?


it's been a while since i've read the rules, but i believe it is a penalty for the golfer unless he can catch the culprit and remove the ball from his pocket using nothing but his mouth. except on the asian tour, where tentacles are also allowed.
 
2012-07-16 03:54:08 PM

thomps: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

it's been a while since i've read the rules, but i believe it is a penalty for the golfer unless he can catch the culprit and remove the ball from his pocket using nothing but his mouth. except on the asian tour, where tentacles are also allowed.

I believe I saw that in a film titled, "The 19th Hole"
 
2012-07-16 04:25:04 PM
I loved when the seagull stole the guy's ball at Sawgrass
 
2012-07-16 04:26:48 PM

downstairs: mysticcat: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

No. When a ball at rest is moved by an "outside agency", there is no penalty for the golfer.

The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.

What is an "outside agency". Because if I remember correctly, some guy's ball was at rest... then the wind blew it (on the green, where this is entirely possible). He got a penalty.


There was a tournament a few years ago that a golfer's ball was hanging on the edge of the cup and the wind was rocking it. The golfer walked ever so slowly towards it and the wind blew it in. He was assessed a penalty because he had plenty of time to mark his ball but intentionally waited for the wind to move it.

If a dog, another player, spectator, etc moves your ball you just get a drop at it's previous resting spot. If on the green you just put it back where you thought it was resting.
 
2012-07-16 04:28:30 PM

howdyyall9999: There was a tournament a few years ago that a golfer's ball was hanging on the edge of the cup and the wind was rocking it. The golfer walked ever so slowly towards it and the wind blew it in. He was assessed a penalty because he had plenty of time to mark his ball but intentionally waited for the wind to move it.


isn't there something akin to a 10 second rule there? i remember that happened at the US open (last year maybe?) and they said he was walking up at a reasonable pace so no penalty was assessed.
 
2012-07-16 04:30:08 PM

Hershey Highway Patrol: The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.


except for the part where Zach Johnson had to squeeze in the Jesus. It's always funny when one of the crazy religious golfers wins. Feherty is always trying really hard to ask golf questions.
 
2012-07-16 04:31:16 PM
Anyone have a link to the video that actually plays and not the shiatty one on that site?
 
2012-07-16 04:34:59 PM

thomps: isn't there something akin to a 10 second rule there? i remember that happened at the US open (last year maybe?) and they said he was walking up at a reasonable pace so no penalty was assessed.


Again, not an expert... but the very little golf I've seen, yeah... there's time limits for everyting.

Some dude teed off and his ball got stuck in a tree. He had like 1 minute or something to try to find it, or for it to fall down. Never was found, and at the one minute mark he had to go back and tee off again... the original and second strokes both counting.
 
2012-07-16 04:41:36 PM

downstairs: thomps: isn't there something akin to a 10 second rule there? i remember that happened at the US open (last year maybe?) and they said he was walking up at a reasonable pace so no penalty was assessed.

Again, not an expert... but the very little golf I've seen, yeah... there's time limits for everyting.

Some dude teed off and his ball got stuck in a tree. He had like 1 minute or something to try to find it, or for it to fall down. Never was found, and at the one minute mark he had to go back and tee off again... the original and second strokes both counting.


i'm sure it doesn't happen very often at the professional level, but does the PGA enforce the "lady tees dick out" rule or was my friend asshole steve lying to me?
 
2012-07-16 04:42:21 PM
Did they toss his punk ass out or anything? That was pathetic.
 
2012-07-16 04:42:27 PM

yelmrog: Hershey Highway Patrol: The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.

except for the part where Zach Johnson had to squeeze in the Jesus. It's always funny when one of the crazy religious golfers wins. Feherty is always trying really hard to ask golf questions.


Indeed. They were trying to work the whole local boy angle and he just went into cliche mode.

And, really Zach, Jesus would much rather you thank him for dying for the sins of humanity than "giving you the ability" to hit a rope hooked 194 sand shot to within 2 feet to win. Plus, Jesus *hates* Oakley sunglasses.
 
2012-07-16 04:44:55 PM

thomps: howdyyall9999: There was a tournament a few years ago that a golfer's ball was hanging on the edge of the cup and the wind was rocking it. The golfer walked ever so slowly towards it and the wind blew it in. He was assessed a penalty because he had plenty of time to mark his ball but intentionally waited for the wind to move it.

isn't there something akin to a 10 second rule there? i remember that happened at the US open (last year maybe?) and they said he was walking up at a reasonable pace so no penalty was assessed.


I think the rule is phrased something like "you must walk directly to your ball and mark it"
 
2012-07-16 04:50:42 PM

howdyyall9999: thomps: howdyyall9999: There was a tournament a few years ago that a golfer's ball was hanging on the edge of the cup and the wind was rocking it. The golfer walked ever so slowly towards it and the wind blew it in. He was assessed a penalty because he had plenty of time to mark his ball but intentionally waited for the wind to move it.

isn't there something akin to a 10 second rule there? i remember that happened at the US open (last year maybe?) and they said he was walking up at a reasonable pace so no penalty was assessed.

I think the rule is phrased something like "you must walk directly to your ball and mark it"


You have 10 seconds. You see it all the time when the ball is dangling over the cup
 
2012-07-16 04:54:39 PM

howdyyall9999: thomps: howdyyall9999: There was a tournament a few years ago that a golfer's ball was hanging on the edge of the cup and the wind was rocking it. The golfer walked ever so slowly towards it and the wind blew it in. He was assessed a penalty because he had plenty of time to mark his ball but intentionally waited for the wind to move it.
isn't there something akin to a 10 second rule there? i remember that happened at the US open (last year maybe?) and they said he was walking up at a reasonable pace so no penalty was assessed.
I think the rule is phrased something like "you must walk directly to your ball and mark it"


You can take a reasonable amount of time to get to the ball and then you have 10 seconds standing next to the ball before it is a penalty.
You don't have to take off for the cup as soon as it gets there, but you can't go sit down and have a bite to eat waiting.

Nobody gets the penalty if you react, talk to your caddy for a second, laugh, walk up slowly, then tap it in after 8 seconds.
 
2012-07-16 05:01:20 PM
www.thekliqnation.com
Approves!
 
2012-07-16 05:19:34 PM
I wonder if the kid was trying to make off with the ball, or if the slo-mo replay makes it look like that.
 
2012-07-16 05:21:27 PM

ABQGOD: I wonder if the kid was trying to make off with the ball, or if the slo-mo replay makes it look like that.


He was. I was about fifteen feet away from the whole thing.
 
2012-07-16 05:23:40 PM

The English Major: ABQGOD: I wonder if the kid was trying to make off with the ball, or if the slo-mo replay makes it look like that.

He was. I was about fifteen feet away from the whole thing.


were you the old guy in the neon green hat casually readjusting your balls on national television?
 
2012-07-16 05:29:38 PM
Play it as it lies.
 
2012-07-16 05:35:40 PM

thomps: were you the old guy in the neon green hat casually readjusting your balls on national television?


Naw. I was wearing a goofy floppy brown hat and horribly ugly yellow polo shirt they have the volunteers wear. My company does work for the JDC every year, so I was there all week. I was sitting in a golf cart in-between 17 and 18 as this was happening. Supposedly I was visible for a second or two on TV. I was PISSED when it went into playoff.
 
2012-07-16 05:57:17 PM
Holy shiat who hosted that video on Geocities?
 
2012-07-16 06:02:14 PM

mysticcat: The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops


I'm not sure I've ever seen both guys rinse one on the first playoff hole like that.
 
2012-07-16 06:06:21 PM

thomps: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

it's been a while since i've read the rules, but i believe it is a penalty for the golfer unless he can catch the culprit and remove the ball from his pocket using nothing but his mouth. except on the asian tour, where tentacles are also allowed.


I need to start watching more Asian golf tournaments.
 
2012-07-16 06:08:11 PM
The kid's a D-bag for taking it. To make his move epic, he should replace it with one of those gag exploding golf balls.
 
2012-07-16 06:21:05 PM

The Muthaship: Did they toss his punk ass out or anything? That was pathetic.


I've always wanted to go to one of these tours for some good ol fashioned shiat talking. I FARKED YOUR WIFE MICKLESON!!!!
/i'm sure i'd get the boot rather quickly, but golf 'needs' something nowadays.
 
2012-07-16 06:27:12 PM

ArkAngel: downstairs: mysticcat: downstairs: Golf fans (which I am not)... is that a penalty for the golfer?

No. When a ball at rest is moved by an "outside agency", there is no penalty for the golfer.

The Johnson/Matteson playoff was a great ending to what is considered one of the minor tour stops.

What is an "outside agency". Because if I remember correctly, some guy's ball was at rest... then the wind blew it (on the green, where this is entirely possible). He got a penalty.

Prior to this year, if a ball was moved for any reason after a golfer had addressed the ball, he was assessed a penalty. The rule was changed as of the beginning of 2012.


mypartyshirt.com

Helllllllo, ball.
 
2012-07-16 06:31:12 PM

LeroyBourne: The Muthaship: Did they toss his punk ass out or anything? That was pathetic.

I've always wanted to go to one of these tours for some good ol fashioned shiat talking. I FARKED YOUR WIFE MICKLESON!!!!
/i'm sure i'd get the boot rather quickly, but golf 'needs' something nowadays.


profile.ak.fbcdn.net

You suck, jackass!
 
2012-07-16 06:42:39 PM
It's only gay if you grab another man's balls.
 
2012-07-16 07:02:07 PM

PsyLord: The kid's a D-bag for taking it. To make his move epic, he should replace it with one of those gag exploding golf balls.


Yep - that kid's is definitely old enough to know that shiat ain't cool. TV crew should have followed the old 'don't show idiots of the TV' rule.

LeroyBourne: The Muthaship: Did they toss his punk ass out or anything? That was pathetic.

I've always wanted to go to one of these tours for some good ol fashioned shiat talking. I FARKED YOUR WIFE MICKLESON!!!!
/i'm sure i'd get the boot rather quickly, but golf 'needs' something nowadays.


Michelson's comeback: "Yeah well I gave my wife AND mom cancer"

/Phil Michelson causes cancer
//and the jerk store called . . . . .
 
rka
2012-07-16 07:23:58 PM

LeroyBourne: The Muthaship: Did they toss his punk ass out or anything? That was pathetic.

I've always wanted to go to one of these tours for some good ol fashioned shiat talking. I FARKED YOUR WIFE MICKLESON!!!!
/i'm sure i'd get the boot rather quickly, but golf 'needs' something nowadays.


Isn't that the 16th at the Phoenix Open?
 
2012-07-16 07:41:54 PM

rka: Isn't that the 16th at the Phoenix Open?


Yep. If you want to heckle golfers and get away with it, this is where you go.

4.bp.blogspot.com
 
2012-07-16 08:48:02 PM
What, no pic of Jaws wearing the "Guns don't kill people, I kill people" t-shirt? You all fail.
 
2012-07-16 08:52:37 PM

The Muthaship: Did they toss his punk ass out or anything? That was pathetic.


Seriously. Doesn't the kid know you're supposed to throw the ball back?
 
2012-07-16 09:05:59 PM
so i there's no penalty.. the golfer could hire someone to pick up the ball and throw it toward the hole?
 
2012-07-16 09:09:25 PM

LeroyBourne: The Muthaship: Did they toss his punk ass out or anything? That was pathetic.

I've always wanted to go to one of these tours for some good ol fashioned shiat talking. I FARKED YOUR WIFE MICKLESON!!!!
/i'm sure i'd get the boot rather quickly, but golf 'needs' something nowadays.


They kicked out some people on Thursday who were heckling Daly and Stricker during qualifying play.
 
2012-07-16 10:30:50 PM
No no, he has to play it where it lies. I had to play it off frankenstein's foot!
culturemob.com

I'm gonna get you shooter!
www.g-static.com
 
2012-07-16 10:31:06 PM

Smagma: so i there's no penalty.. the golfer could hire someone to pick up the ball and throw it toward the hole?


I believe the player gets a drop as close as possible to where the ball had been.
 
2012-07-16 11:38:13 PM

downstairs: What is an "outside agency". Because if I remember correctly, some guy's ball was at rest... then the wind blew it (on the green, where this is entirely possible). He got a penalty.


An outside agency is basically anything on the course that's alive, and not directly involved in the match. If an outside agency touches your ball, it's a "rub of the green", and you play it where it comes to rest. No penalty, no re-do, just "deal with it".

If you run across a snake on the course, a live snake is an outside agency. A dead snake is a loose impediment. The rules are different for each.
 
2012-07-17 12:13:02 AM
www.gunaxin.com

This is the guy noone put up? im ashamed in all of you.
 
2012-07-17 04:18:28 AM

Gilligann: Anyone have a link to the video that actually plays and not the shiatty one on that site?


Here's one.
 
2012-07-17 08:41:35 AM
Kid had a hankering for a pocket pool threesome.
 
2012-07-17 09:11:49 AM

thomps: isn't there something akin to a 10 second rule there? i remember that happened at the US open (last year maybe?) and they said he was walking up at a reasonable pace so no penalty was assessed.


16-2. Ball Overhanging Hole
When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed
enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional
ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has
not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently
falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke,
and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is
no penalty under this Rule.
 
2012-07-17 09:31:16 AM

Miss Stein: Gilligann: Anyone have a link to the video that actually plays and not the shiatty one on that site?

Here's one.


And the linked article apparently lifted its meager text verbatim from that yahoo article. Geocities style AND plagiarism. Classy!
 
zez
2012-07-17 10:30:54 AM
www.chapeaunoirgolf.com
 
Displayed 50 of 51 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report