If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Amazon)   Not even death can save you from this Amazon review of Diablo 3   (amazon.com) divider line 165
    More: Amusing, Amazon, witch doctors  
•       •       •

13164 clicks; posted to Geek » on 12 Jul 2012 at 11:50 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



165 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-07-13 12:21:32 AM
I would have been happier if they took Diablo 2 and did the following:

Add:
5 new acts
30 new runewords
2-3 new classes
Resolution support beyond 800x600

That would have been a much better Diablo 3 than the crap that they released and call Diablo 3.
 
2012-07-13 12:35:29 AM
The rational, business side of me wants to say "What? 100-200 hours of entertainment for $60 isn't enough for you jack offs?"

But the side of me that remembers how MF'in epic Baldur's Gate 2, Ultima Online, Morrowind, Vanilla WoW and TBC were knows that 200 hours is NOTHING to a real gamer.

And before you go ripping on nerds and gamer who spend massive quantities of time on games, ask yourself, what do you do that so much more fun? I've been to every continent. Climbed Mt. Whitney and McKinley. Scuba dived in Hawaii and the Caribbean. Scared away bears by yelling obscenities while pounding pans together resulting in congratulatory MFF threesomes with women treating you like a gawd damn hero. And, wildest of all, I teach kindergarten.

Nothing really compares to being drawn into a real fantastic, interactive narrative that seems endless. Except maybe sharing it with someone else.

/first time I got stoned in my wild years was on the top of Whitney with 75lbs in the pack. Saying "no" is for pansies.
 
2012-07-13 12:43:49 AM

matt_in_stl: I would have been happier if they took Diablo 2 and did the following:

Add:
5 new acts
30 new runewords
2-3 new classes
Resolution support beyond 800x600

That would have been a much better Diablo 3 than the crap that they released and call Diablo 3.


THIS!!!!!
 
2012-07-13 02:56:50 AM
Blizzard has failed its fans in that it now sells a fraction of a game at a time. Did diablo 1 need an xpac? No it was a great game by itself. It felt whole. So did Starcraft. Brood war felt like a bonus. Even Warcraft 3 was a great game. Frozen throne wasn't necessary, but was neat that it added some new stuff. But it didn't FEEL like it was missing anything to begin with.
 
2012-07-13 08:19:58 AM

Pogrom: poisonedpawn78: they are pissed because there is no item goal at all for them to work towards. You cant get your shako and enigma and occy. you cant get your tal rasha set and do the hardest difficulty.

So you're saying people are pissed because there is no cookie cutter build and gear set for endgame? Because that was one of the most exciting things about Diablo 2 - the teeming multitudes of identical characters with identical skills and identical gear. Not.

I like the Diablo 3 way - that way at least we have variety.



I never said that at all. Thats crap you made up in your own head. What I am saying is there is no Eureka ive found it moment in the game. there is no point at which you actually FEEL like you just found something valueable. A legendary drops and your like great. another POS that i get to disenchant or sell for a few repair bills to idiots who havent figured out yet that yellows are better than legendaries. There is nothing keeping you going beyond finding another yellow with the same stats and 5 more dex on it. thats not enough to get people excited. When you farm for 250 hours over the course of a few weeks people expect a eureka moment to make it FEEL like it was worth it.
 
2012-07-13 11:18:22 AM

poisonedpawn78: I never said that at all. Thats crap you made up in your own head. What I am saying is there is no Eureka ive found it moment in the game. there is no point at which you actually FEEL like you just found something valueable. A legendary drops and your like great. another POS that i get to disenchant or sell for a few repair bills to idiots who havent figured out yet that yellows are better than legendaries. There is nothing keeping you going beyond finding another yellow with the same stats and 5 more dex on it. thats not enough to get people excited. When you farm for 250 hours over the course of a few weeks people expect a eureka moment to make it FEEL like it was worth it.


That is essentially the same thing that happened in D2. Not really the repair bills or legendaries (substitute set items), but you just got this multitude of garbage you could do nothing with, because gold was worthless aside from gambling and there was no DEing. When you got a pity green or yellow, you identify it only to find out it was garbage not worth holding onto except for maybe an alt character. You farm Mephisto for days on end (and only Mephisto, because he's the fastest to get to and enemies were just inconveniences) and when he drops a SoJ or something, the market is already incredibly saturated with all manner of better itemized gear and you can maybe trade up with someone stupid or kind. There was no point in D2 where things just became "worth it" in the endgame. People are just far too blinded by nostalgia to realize D3 is D2, except more forgiving during the vast majority of the time when you're getting nothing to show for your efforts.
 
2012-07-13 11:30:31 AM

UrCa: poisonedpawn78: I never said that at all. Thats crap you made up in your own head. What I am saying is there is no Eureka ive found it moment in the game. there is no point at which you actually FEEL like you just found something valueable. A legendary drops and your like great. another POS that i get to disenchant or sell for a few repair bills to idiots who havent figured out yet that yellows are better than legendaries. There is nothing keeping you going beyond finding another yellow with the same stats and 5 more dex on it. thats not enough to get people excited. When you farm for 250 hours over the course of a few weeks people expect a eureka moment to make it FEEL like it was worth it.

That is essentially the same thing that happened in D2. Not really the repair bills or legendaries (substitute set items), but you just got this multitude of garbage you could do nothing with, because gold was worthless aside from gambling and there was no DEing. When you got a pity green or yellow, you identify it only to find out it was garbage not worth holding onto except for maybe an alt character. You farm Mephisto for days on end (and only Mephisto, because he's the fastest to get to and enemies were just inconveniences) and when he drops a SoJ or something, the market is already incredibly saturated with all manner of better itemized gear and you can maybe trade up with someone stupid or kind. There was no point in D2 where things just became "worth it" in the endgame. People are just far too blinded by nostalgia to realize D3 is D2, except more forgiving during the vast majority of the time when you're getting nothing to show for your efforts.


Well put.
 
2012-07-13 11:53:13 AM

UrCa: poisonedpawn78: I never said that at all. Thats crap you made up in your own head. What I am saying is there is no Eureka ive found it moment in the game. there is no point at which you actually FEEL like you just found something valueable. A legendary drops and your like great. another POS that i get to disenchant or sell for a few repair bills to idiots who havent figured out yet that yellows are better than legendaries. There is nothing keeping you going beyond finding another yellow with the same stats and 5 more dex on it. thats not enough to get people excited. When you farm for 250 hours over the course of a few weeks people expect a eureka moment to make it FEEL like it was worth it.

That is essentially the same thing that happened in D2. Not really the repair bills or legendaries (substitute set items), but you just got this multitude of garbage you could do nothing with, because gold was worthless aside from gambling and there was no DEing. When you got a pity green or yellow, you identify it only to find out it was garbage not worth holding onto except for maybe an alt character. You farm Mephisto for days on end (and only Mephisto, because he's the fastest to get to and enemies were just inconveniences) and when he drops a SoJ or something, the market is already incredibly saturated with all manner of better itemized gear and you can maybe trade up with someone stupid or kind. There was no point in D2 where things just became "worth it" in the endgame. People are just far too blinded by nostalgia to realize D3 is D2, except more forgiving during the vast majority of the time when you're getting nothing to show for your efforts.


The major difference lies on the way up too. leveling you could easily find set and legendaries to use while leveling. you cant do that in D3. Hell i loaded up D2 the other day, played for 4 hours and found 1 legendary and 2 set items.

The fact is that the game had a much better loot distribution so that the loot dropped while it was useful than d3 does. Ontop of that perhaps the idea of trading items is part of the problem. nobody really trades, they just sell in d3. And because everyone can post an item for 36 hours, you can always find what you want. so you never get that one guy who is willing to give you more for the item he requires.

Either way D2 is a much better game. If you dont believe than then you need to give your head a shake because over 65% of 7 million people believe so in the first month of playing d3...
 
2012-07-13 12:54:50 PM

Kyro: I actually thought that was an improvement. In Diablo 1 your options for the Butcher were:
A. Open the door, die.
B. Trap him behind a wall, shoot with spells/arrows until dead.



C. Kite him around the enclosure for 10 minutes.
 
2012-07-13 01:18:40 PM

maq0r: Here's why I say FU to Blizzard:

Starcraft 2 was out TWO years ago and still retails for 59.99$? Are you SERIOUS?

You guys should ask Valve/Steam for pointers on how to actually keep selling after the shelf life of a game is "over".


Valve is the only video game developer left that worth a Damn. Even they got carried away with in game hat shops, but I can forgive them...once.

Blizzard is a shadow of its former self.
 
2012-07-13 01:55:56 PM

poisonedpawn78: The major difference lies on the way up too. leveling you could easily find set and legendaries to use while leveling. you cant do that in D3. Hell i loaded up D2 the other day, played for 4 hours and found 1 legendary and 2 set items.

The fact is that the game had a much better loot distribution so that the loot dropped while it was useful than d3 does. Ontop of that perhaps the idea of trading items is part of the problem. nobody really trades, they just sell in d3. And because everyone can post an item for 36 hours, you can always find what you want. so you never get that one guy who is willing to give you more for the item he requires.

Either way D2 is a much better game. If you dont believe than then you need to give your head a shake because over 65% of 7 million people believe so in the first month of playing d3...

So because your gear is arbitrarily green or orange while leveling up matters why exactly? Because of some insignificant set bonus that's not worth holding onto when you find a piece that would break the set? Loot is loot, regardless of color, and having an issue that it's not a special color is nitpicking at best.

Loot distribution is hit or miss. While I admit you do get stupid things like daibo with demon hunter skill affixes, the loot has never been to big an issue for me. As I play with friends, if I didn't get something that I could use from a boss or rare kill, my friends and I always immediately linked for each other to see if anyone wanted it, and that's how I've played all the way up to inferno, where I opted to buy a weapon (for 15,000g, I might add) that boosted my DPS enough to get started. The only use for gold for me in the really early game was to get into the secret level (in which I found more upgrades, go figure).

And is it not better and more convenient to use the AH rather than trading? In trading, you have to first find someone with something you want, make sure they're not undercutting you, make sure they're not planning to scam you, then finally trade. With the AH, you search, find something you like within the fields you've specified, then buy your item, no muss, no fuss. You paid what you felt the item was worth, they got what they felt their item was worth or vice versa if you're the seller.

Finally, IDGAF what 4.55m people think (We all know 99% of statistics are pulled from thin air, btw). I've played my game for 200+ hours, which for 60 bucks is absolutely not a bad deal. I felt it improved upon D2 in the segments that mattered and would gladly pay again.
 
2012-07-13 03:19:49 PM

Kyro: Huh.. lot of 1-star reviews from people that spent enough time on it to max out several characters.

Is there a subculture of masochists in the gaming community, or are these people just impossible to please?


It may have something to do with Blizzard's history of implementing changes with no thought or testing.
 
2012-07-13 03:25:33 PM

Cubicle Jockey: It has been a wierd couple of years for some big name studios.

-Blizzard has made substantial mistakes with D3 and Cataclysm.
-Bioware has annoyed their fans with DA2, SWTOR and the ME3 ending.
-Square-Enix's FFXIII was just terrible, and they have basically had to apologize to their fan base for FFXIV and promise a NGE-like revamp.

Why are three of the biggest studios making terrible design decisions at the same time?


Because they decided to cater to casuals, and casuals are now playing games on cell phones and tablets. They have no idea how to address these markets and they anally raped their real customers by focusing on casuals to begin with.

I want to play WoW so badly... but I know the game is trash now. Someone please make a good MMO and take my money? PLEASE?

/Waiting for Elder Scrolls Online
 
2012-07-13 04:42:46 PM

Bullseyed: I want to play WoW so badly... but I know the game is trash now. Someone please make a good MMO and take my money? PLEASE?

/Waiting for Elder Scrolls Online


I have high hopes for Elder Scrolls Online but low expectations. In ZeniMax Online's website it makes them seem like they are an established developer for MMOG's. They have staff that have worked on many different games but this is their first title working as a team. Not only that, Bethesda has very little say on the development of this title, they are just publishing it, so it's not going to have the same feel as any of the other TES titles. One major thing that irks me with it, it's supposed to be PVP but you aren't going to be able to explore areas that aren't part of your faction. WTF, no open world pvp in a pvp mmo?
 
2012-07-13 08:23:54 PM

Bullseyed: Kyro: Huh.. lot of 1-star reviews from people that spent enough time on it to max out several characters.

Is there a subculture of masochists in the gaming community, or are these people just impossible to please?

It may have something to do with Blizzard's history of implementing changes with no thought or testing.


Blizzard's annual profits surpass those of many nations' GDPs. Blizzard does testing. They just don't give a shiat about anal fanboys who nerdrage over stupid shiat. They appeal to the masses, and it is one hell of a business model.
 
Displayed 15 of 165 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report