Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(National Review)   Roberts' opinion is the judiciary's Nixon-to-China. So while liberals might think they've won the cultural revolution, soon they'll be selling the Tea Party cheap televisions. Or something. Anyway, suck it libs, we win again   ( nationalreview.com) divider line
    More: Unlikely, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, abortion law, majority opinion, enumerated powers, imposition, Bush v. Gore, fig leafs, constitutionality  
•       •       •

1604 clicks; posted to Politics » on 29 Jun 2012 at 11:33 AM (5 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



177 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Newest | Show all

 
2012-06-29 08:18:40 AM  
I don't see what the fuss is about. Romney finally gets validation for the Massachusetts heath care reform...
 
2012-06-29 08:30:47 AM  

hubiestubert: I don't see what the fuss is about. Romney finally gets validation for the Massachusetts heath care reform...


I suspect that at the convention that the GOP will try to argue that they spearheaded health reform and they tried to keep it legal
 
2012-06-29 08:41:51 AM  
Or maybe Roberts was swayed by the compelling arguments for the mandate when the GOP argued for it in the early/mid 90s.

Derp is a hellofa drug.
 
2012-06-29 08:43:01 AM  
That's not how I would have ruled

Okay.

Thanks for that, Charles.
 
2012-06-29 08:46:33 AM  
I'm up early, tuned into the news and i'm catching up on today's derpstorm details. so far nothing original yet, the same people still screaming the same things as yesterday.
 
2012-06-29 08:47:38 AM  
So liberals are wal-mart?
 
2012-06-29 08:48:21 AM  

Aarontology: So liberals are wal-mart?


or Klingons. the GOP reasoning on this is somewhat confused.
 
2012-06-29 08:53:13 AM  
The interesting subtext here is that only "conservatives" can have a "Nixon goes to China" moment. If a cornerstone of your party's identity is to be intractable and uncompromising then yes, it is noteworthy when they step (however slightly) outside of their ideological bubble and flirt with objectivity.
 
2012-06-29 08:57:54 AM  
I'd post a funny/ironic political cartoon, but the servers at the death camp are really slow.
 
2012-06-29 08:59:42 AM  

Weaver95: Aarontology: So liberals are wal-mart?

or Klingons. the GOP reasoning on this is somewhat confused.


The GOP isn't logical enough to be Vulcans.

Romulans, maybe.
 
2012-06-29 09:00:36 AM  
Has anyone seen anyone post "Roberts rules Death Panels Constitutional" in the derposphere yet?
 
2012-06-29 09:03:26 AM  

Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: Weaver95: Aarontology: So liberals are wal-mart?

or Klingons. the GOP reasoning on this is somewhat confused.

The GOP isn't logical enough to be Vulcans.

Romulans, maybe.


I think we all know who the GOP really are...

images.wikia.com

"We can see Russia from our front porch in Alaska."
 
2012-06-29 09:04:00 AM  

Weaver95: Aarontology: So liberals are wal-mart?

or Klingons. the GOP reasoning on this is somewhat confused.


Then the GOP would be Romulans, and the Romulans have no honor.
 
2012-06-29 09:05:21 AM  

FirstNationalBastard: I think we all know who the GOP really are...


www.startrek.com
 
2012-06-29 09:06:18 AM  

Aarontology: Then the GOP would be Romulans, and the Romulans have no honor.


I'm reading this in Michael Dorn's voice.
 
2012-06-29 09:06:54 AM  

Aarontology: FirstNationalBastard: I think we all know who the GOP really are...

[www.startrek.com image 320x240]


Space Jews?
 
2012-06-29 09:07:29 AM  

Aarontology: FirstNationalBastard: I think we all know who the GOP really are...

[www.startrek.com image 320x240]


Ah, but by the end of DS9, The Ferengi were willing to give women equal rights, were willing to form unions, and had elected a progressive leader.
 
2012-06-29 09:09:00 AM  
For the non-retarded among us (and I haven't seen any yet), that is really a well thought out analysis of the situation. Ol' Chuck is really a pretty smart guy despite the turkey neck.
 
2012-06-29 09:14:52 AM  

BillCo: For the non-retarded among us (and I haven't seen any yet), that is really a well thought out analysis of the situation. Ol' Chuck is really a pretty smart guy despite the turkey neck.


I like how you pre-trolled the responses. you're getting good at this!
 
2012-06-29 09:18:25 AM  

born_yesterday: I'd post a funny/ironic political cartoon, but the servers at the death camp are really slow.


img812.imageshack.us
 
2012-06-29 09:18:41 AM  

Weaver95: BillCo: For the non-retarded among us (and I haven't seen any yet), that is really a well thought out analysis of the situation. Ol' Chuck is really a pretty smart guy despite the turkey neck.

I like how you pre-trolled the responses. you're getting good at this!


Actually, I think he's right about this. While "Nixon goes to China" is a bit hyperbolic, the analysis itself is pretty sound for once.
 
2012-06-29 09:22:00 AM  

Aarontology: FirstNationalBastard: I think we all know who the GOP really are...

[www.startrek.com image 320x240]


Actually, right now I'd say they're more like Orks. Irrational idiots that just want to declare WAAAGH! on anything that moves.
 
2012-06-29 09:23:06 AM  
Law upheld, Supreme Court's reputation for neutrality maintained. Commerce Clause contained, constitutional principle of enumerated powers reaffirmed.

That's not how I would have ruled


well then I guess we're lucky you aren't Chief Justice of the US Supreme Court, aren't we?
 
2012-06-29 09:32:24 AM  

Weaver95: BillCo: For the non-retarded among us (and I haven't seen any yet), that is really a well thought out analysis of the situation. Ol' Chuck is really a pretty smart guy despite the turkey neck.

I like how you pre-trolled the responses. you're getting good at this!


I like the way Snrub thinks!
 
2012-06-29 09:57:29 AM  
I was paying less attention to the details of the ruling yesterday than some. But the day before yesterday I heard that the Chief Justice votes last. And if it comes to him tied, the conventional wisdom is that he will side with the conservatives. But if it was already a lost cause, he'd side with the majority so he could write the opinion. So, I didn't bother to see that he was the swing vote. I just assumed it was 6-3 with him writing the opinion to limit it's impact.

I'm glad to see he has the integrity that many politicos, including the dumbasses on the Judiciary committees lack. Judicial appointees need only be minimally vetted by Congress and not put through some grind that is a time for the pols to grandstand.

Is he a lawyer? Fine, Bush decides (now Obama) who to put on the court. We just make sure they get confirmed and are minimally competent regardless of ideology.

Maybe now they will realize that. But probably not.
 
2012-06-29 10:02:04 AM  

mrshowrules: BillCo: For the non-retarded among us (and I haven't seen any yet), that is really a well thought out analysis of the situation. Ol' Chuck is really a pretty smart guy despite the turkey neck.

Congratulations on the ruling BTW. I didn't see you around yesterday. I saved this gem for you.

[i116.photobucket.com image 640x196]


How does it feel to be proven wrong MSR?

Good I'll bet!
 
2012-06-29 10:09:32 AM  
Just for the record, Nixon was a far left wing liberal that gave us the EPA, OSHA, and relations with communist China.
 
2012-06-29 10:39:14 AM  

BillCo: vernonFL: He managed to uphold the central conservative argument against Obamacare

Individual mandate was the central Conservative argument FOR "Obamacare", you asshole.

Um.. no. Had it not been ruled to be a tax, it would have gone down on the individual mandate, you idiot.


I think he meant that conservatives were arguing FOR the individual mandate before the black guy took office.

With regards to the mandate, the individual responsibility program which I proposed, I was very pleased to see that the compromise from the two houses includes the personal responsibility principle, that is essential for bringing health care costs down for everyone, and for getting everybody the health insurance they deserve and need. So I was very pleased with that development.

Mitt Romney (R), 2006
 
2012-06-29 10:49:30 AM  
I don't normally link to Townhall, but when I do, its because the same MIT Economist wrote BOTH Romneycare AND Obamacare, and here he is saying that they are the same.

Link
 
2012-06-29 10:55:36 AM  

TwoHead: mrshowrules: BillCo: For the non-retarded among us (and I haven't seen any yet), that is really a well thought out analysis of the situation. Ol' Chuck is really a pretty smart guy despite the turkey neck.

Congratulations on the ruling BTW. I didn't see you around yesterday. I saved this gem for you.

[i116.photobucket.com image 640x196]

How does it feel to be proven wrong MSR?

Good I'll bet!


It does feel good to have been wrong. Also, it also feels good to have proven right that Conservatives will less prepared for this decision than Liberals were.

Also right that CNN was wrong to be calling this thing too early.

i116.photobucket.com
 
2012-06-29 11:02:37 AM  
I have nothing against Krauthammer per se, it's just that whenever the NRO posts one of his articles I see that ugly face of his.

www.nationalreview.com

Why? Why must we be forced to grab our eye bleach when reading some-former-Liberal-gone-Conservative manifesto?

Why?
 
2012-06-29 11:34:22 AM  

Weaver95: Law upheld, Supreme Court's reputation for neutrality maintained. Commerce Clause contained, constitutional principle of enumerated powers reaffirmed.

That's not how I would have ruled

well then I guess we're lucky you aren't Chief Justice of the US Supreme Court, aren't we?


If we turn those two statements of his into logic equations (I'll let the reader do the math because if they can't they wouldn't be able to follow it anyway) you end up with an assertion that either the Constitution is not neutral OR that Krauthammer prefers his party to the Constitution. Since Conservatives insist that the Constitution is not a "living" document but an objective and immutable reality, the first proposition must be false.

That means you're left with Krauthammer openly admitting that he prefers party to constitution.

QED
 
2012-06-29 11:39:40 AM  
If the GOP would have just dropped the subject it would have been okay, but their increasingly desperate attempts to make Obama's clear victory in this look like some kind of failure is getting more hilarious by the second.

I'm really trying to not enjoy it so much, not trying to indulge in the schadenfreude, but you guys are really, really making it difficult.
 
2012-06-29 11:40:02 AM  
I still don't get why they're so angry. I constantly hear the talking point that the poor don't pay their fair share of taxes, that they have no skin in the game. Well, here's a tax they have to pay if they don't participate in the insurance system. They can't simply freeload by going to an ER and then skipping out on their bill. They're going to pay something. Why aren't conservatives happy about this? It's not like affirming Congress' ability to levy a tax is anything new. And this one is only going to apply to people that don't already have health insurance and won't get it, which means it doesn't apply to rich people at all. So what's with the rage?
 
2012-06-29 11:40:46 AM  

vernonFL: I don't normally link to Townhall, but when I do, its because the same MIT Economist wrote BOTH Romneycare AND Obamacare, and here he is saying that they are the same.

Link


Your 2012 election:

acandidworld.files.wordpress.com
 
2012-06-29 11:42:50 AM  

mrshowrules: Also right that CNN was wrong to be calling this thing too early.


It wasn't only CNN that called it too early. Drudge blew it. FoxNews blew it. Frankly, it kinda seemed like both FoxNews and CNN were running with whatever Drudge had up. That didn't change until SCOTUSblog got it right. All of a sudden, Drudge, FoxNews and CNN flipped.
 
2012-06-29 11:43:22 AM  
Republicans are Parker Lewis, they cant lose.
 
2012-06-29 11:43:26 AM  

doyner: Weaver95: BillCo: For the non-retarded among us (and I haven't seen any yet), that is really a well thought out analysis of the situation. Ol' Chuck is really a pretty smart guy despite the turkey neck.

I like how you pre-trolled the responses. you're getting good at this!

Actually, I think he's right about this. While "Nixon goes to China" is a bit hyperbolic, the analysis itself is pretty sound for once.


I think the analysis conspicuously dodged mentioning the Citizens United case in its litany of sweeping decisions that have affected the integrity and respect due the Court.

But generally, yeah. He's not exactly wrong.
 
2012-06-29 11:44:12 AM  
*Hovers arrow over FARK article link*
*See "Charles Krauthammer" in the web link*
*Makes mental note to check cable listing to see if the movie "Kiss of Death" with Richard Widmark will be playing in the near future*
 
2012-06-29 11:45:06 AM  

Weaver95: I'm up early, tuned into the news and i'm catching up on today's derpstorm details. so far nothing original yet, the same people still screaming the same things as yesterday.


Conservatives Claim Roberts Upheld Obamacare Because Of 'Cognitive Problems' Due To Epilepsy Medication
 
2012-06-29 11:46:47 AM  
If Krauthammer wasn't already in a wheelchair, someone would have beat the sh*t out of the ignorant little asshole long ago.

images.cheezburger.com
 
2012-06-29 11:49:06 AM  

Aarontology: FirstNationalBastard: I think we all know who the GOP really are...

[www.startrek.com image 320x240]


Where did you get a picture of the Koch Brothers without thier make-up on?
 
2012-06-29 11:49:29 AM  
Imagine if they'd actually won.
 
2012-06-29 11:50:19 AM  
Why don't they just call Obama, Romney and claim they won that way they don't need to show up to vote.
 
2012-06-29 11:52:29 AM  
These people need to get back to reading the same memos. Michael Savage says Edwards is farked up on anti-epileptic drugs.

The right-wing is shredding itself. Good.
 
2012-06-29 11:54:11 AM  
I heard Krauthammer on Fox yesterday. I'm at my parents' home so my dad has Fox on. The gist, as I recall, was that Roberts is a total traitor.

The programming as a whole was fairly entertaining. They knew they had to talk about ACA, but they really didn't want to, so they would leap up and down, shriek, and throw dung about Holder for a while. Then talk about ACA. Then Holder some more. Then ACA. Then Holder. Hour after hour. Re the latter, they kept showing a clip of some GOP fark shouting at the top of his lungs during the vote. Stroke candidate.

Same with Bill O'Reilly. He apparently had the night off, but called into his own show (totally meta--Tarantino, are you taking notes?) and his voice kept rising until he was shouting. "And then the White House can charge as much or as little as it wants! AS MUCH OR AS LITTLE AS IT WANTS!!!11"

Yes, Bill, ACA is only about letting the White House fix prices.

As bad as Fox is, though, it's better than my dad's other channel (yes he is a total stereotype), the Weather Channel. My gawd, the idiotic "reality" shows they have about rednecks in pickup trucks chasing tornadoes. The depths to which they sink to try to generate some phony drama. Super-ultra-dramatic metal guitar squeal! Again! And again! Bearded guy looking at a map! Squeal! Now they're turning left! Super squeal!

If those are my entertaininment options when I'm old please shoot me.
 
2012-06-29 11:54:18 AM  
Politics tab is looking like a real derpfest today... more so than other days even.
 
2012-06-29 11:55:08 AM  
i2.cdn.turner.com

I love this.
 
2012-06-29 11:55:20 AM  
Looking at the picture of the author, you can't even see the tube he uses to blow smoke up his own ass. Nice. No need to highlight the handicap.
 
2012-06-29 11:56:39 AM  

karmaceutical: Politics tab is looking like a real derpfest today... more so than other days even.


It's Freeper Friday on steroids.
 
Displayed 50 of 177 comments


Oldest | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Newest | Show all


View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report