If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Deadspin)   Review of Seth McFarlane's 'Ted' describes it as a "masturbating fart of a comedy"   (deadspin.com) divider line 161
    More: Fail, Seth MacFarlane, Joel McHale, farts, Bad Santa, Mark Wahlberg, Flash Gordon, Seth Rogen, Mila Kunis  
•       •       •

8893 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 26 Jun 2012 at 9:13 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



161 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-06-26 10:33:04 PM
Hello??? It's 90 minutes of mindless laughing and Mila Kunis in a towel. Whats not to like?
 
2012-06-26 10:33:44 PM
/hates Seth McFarlane

i'm with you, bro
 
2012-06-26 10:36:04 PM
"The review of your album, shark sandwich, was only two words. Shiat sandwich."

"Where'd they print that? They can't print that."
 
2012-06-26 10:37:15 PM
The acting couldn't be any worse than Prometheus, with the exceptions of Lizbeth Salander and the guy who plays David.
 
2012-06-26 10:37:33 PM

Zombie DJ: Sgt Oddball: Zombie DJ: I will go see it though I think it may be shallow and pedantic.

/it has Mila Kunis, you bet I'll see it

Shut up, Meg.

If I had sex with Mila Kunis, I'd make her wear a beanie hat.



A propeller beanie?

/Birth of a fetish
 
2012-06-26 10:41:21 PM

Balchinian: My two cents:

1. My grandson liked it a whole lot, said it was really funny.

2. He's 12, and laughs every single time the dog farts.


I'm 45, and I laugh every time my dog farts. Can't help it - farts are funny!
 
2012-06-26 10:42:26 PM
Another Gawker network paid review/slam. It's so farking obvious. Please stop linking to their absolute shiat.
 
2012-06-26 10:43:53 PM
I can't farking wait for this! Looks hilarious.
 
2012-06-26 10:45:48 PM
FTA: "There's a prevalent, almost proud laziness to the humor of Ted"

That sums up MacFarlane. Proudly lazy. Who can blame him, since he's become super rich by slinging hackwork.
 
2012-06-26 10:47:30 PM

Balchinian: My two cents:

1. My grandson liked it a whole lot, said it was really funny.

2. He's 12, and laughs every single time the dog farts.


Yeah, Seth McFarlane humour probably doesn't appeal to AARP members... Just sayin'
 
2012-06-26 10:51:06 PM
That's nitpicking, innit??
 
2012-06-26 10:54:17 PM

RedPhoenix122: In before "so just like everything else Seth MacFarlane does"


Summed up right here.

Also, for some reason folks really like Seth MacFarlane's work still (see reddit). The first couple seasons of Family Guy I really enjoyed because of the pacing the snarkiness, but that only takes a show so far in my opinion.
 
2012-06-26 10:57:54 PM

RatMaster999: I found that review shallow and pedantic.


Well played.
 
2012-06-26 11:08:15 PM
Was there also a headline regardling mass awareness of a certain avian variety?
 
2012-06-26 11:11:46 PM

KrispyKritter: i think the previews with the Bear and Mark Wahlberg a/k/a Marky Mark of Marky Mark and The Funky Bunch are fun to watch. Nice to see MW in some light-hearted fare.


Boy do I have a rental for you.

3.bp.blogspot.com

/He's like a peacock, you gotta let him fly!
 
2012-06-26 11:25:33 PM

thomps: i got halfway through the review before i had to quit. what a messy masturbating fart of contradictions and pedantry.


Would you say that it's shallow and pedantic?
 
2012-06-26 11:34:16 PM
This movie looks like it's going to be awesome! I'm already drafting a 5 star review for Rotten Tomatoes!!!
 
2012-06-26 11:36:39 PM
Masturbating fart? Wasn't that an episode of Louie?
 
2012-06-26 11:40:34 PM
That review insists upon itself
 
2012-06-26 11:51:47 PM
img1.fark.net: If you don't like Family Guy, you won't like Ted.

This is like the review my local paper published for the original Star Wars movie, giving it one star because the reviewer didn't "get" sci-fi movies.

/Same guy rated Empire Strikes Back 4 stars, and rated Star Wars 4 stars when it was re-released, though.
 
2012-06-26 11:58:43 PM
56 on metacritic so far. Could be worse.
 
2012-06-27 12:08:22 AM
If I wanted to watch Mila Kunis' talents wasted, and see her play second fiddle to Seth MacFarlane's self-indulgence, I'd just watch Family Guy.

Ted's only advantage is that I actually get to see Mila, instead of a drawn teenage stereotype for her to voice over.
 
2012-06-27 12:14:54 AM

KatjaMouse: KrispyKritter: i think the previews with the Bear and Mark Wahlberg a/k/a Marky Mark of Marky Mark and The Funky Bunch are fun to watch. Nice to see MW in some light-hearted fare.

Boy do I have a rental for you.

[3.bp.blogspot.com image 520x768]

/He's like a peacock, you gotta let him fly!


probably the only movie with will ferrel that i like, and isn't animated
 
2012-06-27 12:18:55 AM
So it's exactly what I was expecting? Good, I'll go check it out.
 
2012-06-27 12:27:49 AM
Does Mila show her boobs?
Cuz if Mila shows her boobs, I'm totally in.

/said in Peter Griffin's voice.
 
2012-06-27 12:32:15 AM

KatjaMouse: KrispyKritter: i think the previews with the Bear and Mark Wahlberg a/k/a Marky Mark of Marky Mark and The Funky Bunch are fun to watch. Nice to see MW in some light-hearted fare.

Boy do I have a rental for you.

[3.bp.blogspot.com image 520x768]

/He's like a peacock, you gotta let him fly!



Holy shiat yes. Totally expected that one to be a turd and watched it with the missus just to make fun of it. That opening scene with the Rock and Samuel L Jackson had me HOOKED. That movie was a totally unexpected gem.

"We will have sex in your car! It will happen again!"
 
2012-06-27 12:53:21 AM
Mark Wahlberg is funny. The Other Guys, which is terribly underrated and unloved in my eyes, is the perfect example. However, Seth MacFarlane is a one-trick pony when it comes to comedy. He's also way oversaturated in the market. He has too many shows already. He needs to go away for awhile and re-charge.
 
2012-06-27 01:13:04 AM
It looks good, but the fact that its so heavily advertised makes me think it isn't good.
 
2012-06-27 01:13:21 AM

ManateeGag: I think that's what Seth McFarlane was going for.


This. I'm pretty sure McFarlane will have that review framed and hung in his bathroom.
 
2012-06-27 01:27:54 AM

aiiee: And yet it got higher ratings at RottenTomatoes than did Prometheus. oy.


So it's at least slightly better than a movie that is universally regarded as pretty terrible?

Fantastic, let's all go see it then.
 
2012-06-27 01:38:45 AM
Harry Potter and the Masturbating Fart
 
2012-06-27 01:40:49 AM

Smelly McUgly: He has too many shows already. He needs to go away for awhile and re-charge.



So how long have you been an executive at FOX?
 
2012-06-27 02:02:06 AM

JDawgNJ: If I wanted to watch Mila Kunis' talents wasted, and see her play second fiddle to Seth MacFarlane's self-indulgence, I'd just watch Family Guy Max Payne.

 
2012-06-27 02:03:35 AM
Between the fact that Brave was eh and Spider Man looks good even though fanboys want my head because of that, I might watch Ted even though Rated R films have been bombing over the summer

/Gawker can eat me BTW
 
2012-06-27 02:44:19 AM
So is it Wilfred with a a Teddy Bear? Since you know Wilfred has a teddy bear.....
 
2012-06-27 02:48:52 AM

vudukungfu: tlchwi02: our GF's (from upscale suburban areas) didn't get it at all

still have their #s?


Are you going to ask them if they have Prince Albert in a can?
 
2012-06-27 02:52:45 AM

stoli n coke: Balchinian: My two cents:

1. My grandson liked it a whole lot, said it was really funny.

2. He's 12, and laughs every single time the dog farts.

Hate to break it to you, but he'll find farts funny when he's 22, 32, 42, 52, etc., etc., etc.

Why? Because farts are funny.


This, and now I'm definitelygonna see this movie.

/I just wish I had a thunder buddy irl. :(
 
2012-06-27 02:57:34 AM

BigMax: "The review of your album, shark sandwich, was only two words. Shiat sandwich."

"Where'd they print that? They can't print that."


There's nothing wrong with being sexy.
 
2012-06-27 03:03:42 AM
Make (and/or) watch a movie. I've not heard so much jealousy since your dad saw my dick
 
2012-06-27 03:42:20 AM

RatMaster999: I found that review shallow and pedantic.


Wondered when that would make an appearance.
 
2012-06-27 04:05:13 AM

FunkOut: 4NSpy: I enjoy Seth's humor but I don't like his face. This movie looks good to me.

Strange, I think he's handsome but mentally retarded. You know, in an Irish mongoloid kind of handsome way.


I think he looks a lot like Chistopher Knight, the guy that played Peter Brady on "The Brady Bunch".
 
2012-06-27 04:07:56 AM

NotaryDPO: Saw this last week (for free). Two-thirds of a very funny movie, followed by 30 minutes of sentimental garbage. Definitely worth a matinee ticket.


So it's like a Judd Apatow movie, minus Leslie Mann and their 2 daughters.
 
2012-06-27 05:01:42 AM
Hate Marky Mark, and i hate Seth McFarlane... Won't be seeing this.
 
2012-06-27 05:03:12 AM
I learned long ago to not bother with "professional" reviews of upcoming movies/tv shows/games/etc

Unless I know of the reviewer and know I tend to agree with them, I ignore them.
 
2012-06-27 05:32:49 AM
Reviewer lost me when he claimed that Bad Santa was funny.
 
2012-06-27 05:56:34 AM

98RKC: Reviewer lost me when he claimed that Bad Santa was funny.


Hey, that movie was worth it for the crotch-punching scene.

Yes, I'm saying that in a thread about how men find farts funny.

/Also uses the phrase 'shiat happens when you party naked' frequently
 
mhd
2012-06-27 06:07:03 AM
What does Bobcat Goldthwait think of it?
 
2012-06-27 06:09:35 AM
I read this thread for about 15 minutes before I realized there must be a movie Ted, and not the TED talks.

/needs a coffee
//and to rtfa
 
2012-06-27 07:02:09 AM

Wayne 985: unlikely: aiiee: And yet it got higher ratings at RottenTomatoes than did Prometheus. oy.

Two hours of random strangers masturbating and farting would have been less letdown than Prometheus. At least the trailers wouldn't have led you to expect a good movie.

If you're looking forward to a fart movie and didn't like Prometheus, I have to question your taste.


If you go to a Seth McFarlane movie about a crass talking teddy bear and are appalled at the plethora of fart jokes and pop culture references, I have to question your common sense.
 
2012-06-27 07:05:11 AM
Also, Prometheus was the prettiest piece of sh*t since Avatar, which actually had LESS plot holes, and LESS half-assed sanctimony. Prometheus abused all the talent involved. Now I'm wary of the Blade Runner sequel.
 
Displayed 50 of 161 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report