If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Major League Baseball)   Chicago's Adrian Cardenas hit a pop up that landed only inches in front of home plate. Watch as the Mets turn it into a triple   (mlb.mlb.com) divider line 7
    More: Amusing, Adrian Cardenas, Chicago, home -plate, Mets  
•       •       •

3616 clicks; posted to Sports » on 26 Jun 2012 at 1:42 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



Voting Results (Smartest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Archived thread
2012-06-26 03:21:53 PM
1 votes:

cameroncrazy1984: DeltaPunch: ... or the same people that dust off their Yankees caps whenever they find out they're in the WS again.

My friend was at the Mets/Yankees game on Sunday night with a bunch of people. He was sitting in a section with an obnoxious female Yankee "fan" who kept trying to talk trash with the Met fans. He simply asked her questions like "Who was yesterday's starting pitcher?" and "Who's playing first base?" She obviously shut up after that.


That's beautiful.
2012-06-26 02:49:04 PM
1 votes:

chimp_ninja:
WARNING: This post contains more than three syllables, which is known to the State of Minnesota to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. Electrolytes not included.

WARNING: The aforementioned warning itself contains more than three syllables, which is known to the State of Minnesota to cause infinite warning recursion.


Minnesota has 4 syllables...
2012-06-26 02:33:32 PM
1 votes:

SkittlesAreYum: Cyberluddite: DeltaPunch: Do people actually think that subby actually thinks that the Cubs hit a triple?!?

Yes. I can assure you that there are quite a few people out there who would seriously refer to that as a "triple." These tend to be the same people who say the runner scores a "point" for his team when he crosses "home base."

1. "Triple" is much easier to say than a three-word, four syllable phrase.

2. Most people don't care if this is technically incorrect, even if they know.

3. You two should form a support group for baseball fans offended by incorrect terms.


I'm now waiting for:
SkittlesAreYum: I done think this begs a question, irregardless: Is there fans learning?

WARNING: This post contains more than three syllables, which is known to the State of Minnesota to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. Electrolytes not included.

WARNING: The aforementioned warning itself contains more than three syllables, which is known to the State of Minnesota to cause infinite warning recursion.
2012-06-26 02:19:13 PM
1 votes:

DeltaPunch: Did Jose Canseco turn a deep fly ball into a HR with his head, or did he commit a 4-base error?


Is this a serious question? I honestly can't tell any more.

It was a HR. Rule 6.09(h):

Any fair fly ball is deflected by the fielder into the stands, or over the fence into foul territory, in which case the batter shall be entitled to advance to second base; but if deflected into the stands or over the fence in fair territory, the batter shall be entitled to a home run. However, should such a fair fly be deflected at a point less than 250 feet from home plate, the batter shall be entitled to two bases only.
2012-06-26 01:22:13 PM
1 votes:

FreakinB: The Cubs scored two more runs later in the inning, after the Mets got over whatever affliction suddenly struck them.


I think that particular affliction is referred to as Being the Mets.
2012-06-26 01:00:20 PM
1 votes:

Cyberluddite: OK, good. It was a big enough brain fart by the Mets, and it would've made it worse if the ump had let out a similar sized brain fart at the same time.


The ump also emphatically calls it fair which suggests that he actually saw/heard the ball hit glove and didn't just guess.
2012-06-26 12:55:26 PM
1 votes:

Cyberluddite: OK, so wait a minute here. I watched this clip a few times, and it never appeared to me that it actually touched Wright's glove, or any other part of him. So it looked to me that the ball landed in fair territory without being touched by any player, and then immediately rolled into foul territory in the infield--still without being touched by any defensive player--which should make it a foul ball.

Obviously, I'm watching it as a tiny image rather than as a full-size high-res image, so I can't see it well, but did the ball actually touch Wright's glove before landing and rolling foul? (I know the announcers said he "dropped" it, but it didn't look that way to me.)


Yeah, that looked odd to me as well, but I think it glanced off his glove. The fact that none of the Mets seemed to react like the "fair" call was incorrect probably lends to that idea as well.
 
Displayed 7 of 7 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report