If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Larry Brown Sports)   Today's blown umpire call is brought to you again by the National League (link updated)   (larrybrownsports.com) divider line 24
    More: Fail, Major League Baseball, Mississippi State, Under Armour, Joe Maddon, pine tar, NCAA, Joey Votto, Scottie Pippen  
•       •       •

1993 clicks; posted to Sports » on 22 Jun 2012 at 12:04 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



24 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2012-06-22 10:18:33 AM  
wow......that ump was blind. unbelievable
 
2012-06-22 12:12:50 PM  
The only thing I can think that umpire was seeing was the defender juggled the ball for an instant but Jesus H Christ on a cracker that was some fine umpirin', Lou.

JC
 
2012-06-22 12:13:55 PM  
baseball is stupid.
 
2012-06-22 12:24:58 PM  

JoeCowboy: The only thing I can think that umpire was seeing was the defender juggled the ball for an instant but Jesus H Christ on a cracker that was some fine umpirin', Lou.

JC


The problem with that thinking is that the ball never left the glove, it just slid from the palm to the webbing. Which is still "control" if it weren't 99% of double plays wouldn't happen because the ball is moving 100% of the time the SS or 2B is touching second.
 
2012-06-22 12:30:50 PM  
Jesus Christ, subby.

1. How about a link to the actual article, rather than the front page of a site no one has ever heard of?
2. We haven't had National League/American League umps in over 10 years. All umps work all games.
3. This was an interleague game anyway. In an American League park. So...what?
 
2012-06-22 12:31:02 PM  
It's pretty clear that the shortstop made TWO separate mistakes and either one would result in the runner being safe. First, he bobbled the ball and did not have control until he stood up away from the base. Second, his foot was not on the base. Thus, the umpire made the right call and declared the runner safe. And personally, I think the umpire showed great restraint in not ejecting the manager for insubordination.
 
2012-06-22 12:37:13 PM  

DeWayne Mann: Jesus Christ, subby.

1. How about a link to the actual article, rather than the front page of a site no one has ever heard of?
2. We haven't had National League/American League umps in over 10 years. All umps work all games.
3. This was an interleague game anyway. In an American League park. So...what?


This is what I was thinking. Thank you for typing it out.

Well, we know who WILL NOT being umping playoff/WS games. Right?
 
2012-06-22 12:37:21 PM  

DoBeDoBeDo: JoeCowboy: The only thing I can think that umpire was seeing was the defender juggled the ball for an instant but Jesus H Christ on a cracker that was some fine umpirin', Lou.

The problem with that thinking is that the ball never left the glove, it just slid from the palm to the webbing. Which is still "control" if it weren't 99% of double plays wouldn't happen because the ball is moving 100% of the time the SS or 2B is touching second.


Not saying the umpire was right because he is clearly wrong. Just trying to point out what the umpire MIGHT be seeing.

JC
 
2012-06-22 12:50:47 PM  
You've got to hand it to the player for not completely flipping out.
 
2012-06-22 12:55:56 PM  

Koman Coulibaly: It's pretty clear that the shortstop made TWO separate mistakes and either one would result in the runner being safe. First, he bobbled the ball and did not have control until he stood up away from the base. Second, his foot was not on the base. Thus, the umpire made the right call and declared the runner safe. And personally, I think the umpire showed great restraint in not ejecting the manager for insubordination.


Hahahahahaha

You're one of the best parody accounts ever. Seriously.

jblizzle: Well, we know who WILL NOT being umping playoff/WS games. Right?


Actually...probably wrong. Everyone knows Angel Hernandez is terrible; he works the playoffs every year (except '06...but he worked two series in '05, including the WS). CB Bucknor is only around because he has embarrassing photos of Bud Selig trying to smile; he worked the playoffs in 07-09.

Playoffs tend to be decided more on seniority. Because baseball doesn't care about giving terrible umps any sort of public discipline.
 
2012-06-22 12:59:15 PM  

JoeCowboy: DoBeDoBeDo: JoeCowboy: The only thing I can think that umpire was seeing was the defender juggled the ball for an instant but Jesus H Christ on a cracker that was some fine umpirin', Lou.

The problem with that thinking is that the ball never left the glove, it just slid from the palm to the webbing. Which is still "control" if it weren't 99% of double plays wouldn't happen because the ball is moving 100% of the time the SS or 2B is touching second.

Not saying the umpire was right because he is clearly wrong. Just trying to point out what the umpire MIGHT be seeing.

JC


Yeah I know, I'm saying that even seeing that, he would have STILL been wrong.

He can't say "I saw the ball move in his glove"
He'd have to say "I saw the ball LEAVE the glove" which it clearly did not.
 
2012-06-22 01:04:02 PM  

DoBeDoBeDo: Yeah I know, I'm saying that even seeing that, he would have STILL been wrong.

He can't say "I saw the ball move in his glove"
He'd have to say "I saw the ball LEAVE the glove" which it clearly did not.


Even worse, it looks like the fielder does have a hard time with the ball briefly at first, but clearly adjusts so that he has it secured. The ball got there so far ahead of the runner that he had plenty of time to adjust and still record the out legitimately.

It's like the umpire thought "if you don't get it right the first time, fark you."
 
2012-06-22 02:40:46 PM  
Baseball: A sport for the fat.
 
2012-06-22 03:34:01 PM  

Koman Coulibaly: It's pretty clear that the shortstop made TWO separate mistakes and either one would result in the runner being safe. First, he bobbled the ball and did not have control until he stood up away from the base. Second, his foot was not on the base. Thus, the umpire made the right call and declared the runner safe. And personally, I think the umpire showed great restraint in not ejecting the manager for insubordination.


No way. He clearly gets control well before the runner hits the bag. And his foot is clearly on the bag.
 
2012-06-22 03:37:13 PM  
Also, in terms of control. All he needed was control for a fraction of a second while his foot was on the bag. Its a force play. Once that's achieved he can bobble all he wants. Hell, he can throw the ball on the ground and kick it.

There's no definition of how long you have to hold the ball. Hence, in a double play, the 2B often holds the ball for like maybe 1/10th of a second before quickly throwing to 1st.
 
2012-06-22 03:42:48 PM  
No way. He clearly gets control well before the runner hits the bag. And his foot is clearly on the bag.

Do a GIS on his name and embrace the genius of his existence.

I've had the argument with my best friend many times this year that MLB officiating needs an overhaul. His take is that improved technology, not the lagging quality of umpiring, has given rise to the frequency of obscenely blown calls. Even if this is the case, the problem is very much there and should be addressed by the players union and commissioner's office before any further credibility to the game (and avoidable ejections, fines, and suspensions) occur.
 
2012-06-22 03:43:37 PM  
* Sorry, "his" being Koman Coulibaly's name.
 
2012-06-22 03:50:10 PM  

downstairs: No way. He clearly gets control well before the runner hits the bag. And his foot is clearly on the bag.


Check the login name of the post.
 
2012-06-22 04:21:45 PM  

capngroovy: Do a GIS on his name and embrace the genius of his existence.


Who?
 
2012-06-22 04:23:52 PM  
Who?

Coulibaly--the Farker's handle.
 
2012-06-22 04:40:35 PM  

Koman Coulibaly: It's pretty clear that the shortstop made TWO separate mistakes and either one would result in the runner being safe. First, he bobbled the ball and did not have control until he stood up away from the base. Second, his foot was not on the base. Thus, the umpire made the right call and declared the runner safe. And personally, I think the umpire showed great restraint in not ejecting the manager for insubordination.


People are not numbers, so none is sub-ordinate to another. Ordinacy amongst people is bullshiat and so is most "authority".
 
2012-06-22 04:50:15 PM  

jblizzle: DeWayne Mann: Jesus Christ, subby.

1. How about a link to the actual article, rather than the front page of a site no one has ever heard of?
2. We haven't had National League/American League umps in over 10 years. All umps work all games.
3. This was an interleague game anyway. In an American League park. So...what?

This is what I was thinking. Thank you for typing it out.

Well, we know who WILL NOT being umping playoff/WS games. Right?


The NFL assigns refs (well, now, complete crews) to playoff games based on regular season error rate. MLB/NBA does it based on seniority. Or bribes. Not sure which.
 
2012-06-22 04:54:57 PM  

capngroovy: Who?

Coulibaly--the Farker's handle.


That's some awesome trolling, Koman Coulibaly! 10/10.
 
2012-06-23 04:40:02 AM  

SteelCityKid: Baseball: A sport for the fat.


You sir, are totally disregarding the fattability of bowling. and scrabble!
 
Displayed 24 of 24 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report