Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(College Humor)   A $32,000 mistake at the poker table? Deal with it   (collegehumor.com ) divider line
    More: Fail, poker table  
•       •       •

9014 clicks; posted to Video » on 11 Jun 2012 at 11:39 AM (3 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



66 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-06-11 10:48:18 AM  
The dealer didn't mess up, the player wasn't protecting their hand.
 
2012-06-11 10:49:23 AM  
when she said she had pocket aces, doesn't that ruin it for the other players? I thought you can't say what cards you had?
 
2012-06-11 11:01:16 AM  
Now I know why they use card protectors. I had always wondered.
 
2012-06-11 11:09:57 AM  

9beers: The dealer didn't mess up, the player wasn't protecting their hand.


No, the dealer messed up. Her cards were clearly not in the muck.
 
2012-06-11 11:19:54 AM  

FishyFred: Her cards were clearly not in the muck.


What? The muck is where the cards end up after being discarded. Players don't put their cards in the muck, the dealer does. Everybody knows that when you sit next to the dealer, you have to protect your cards.
 
2012-06-11 11:36:37 AM  

9beers: FishyFred: Her cards were clearly not in the muck.

What? The muck is where the cards end up after being discarded. Players don't put their cards in the muck, the dealer does. Everybody knows that when you sit next to the dealer, you have to protect your cards.


Yeah, but at many poker tables, there is a line drawn around between the edge and the middle of the table. If you toss your cards over the line, you're mucking them. If you don't, you aren't.

I didn't see a line on this table, but her cards were clearly in play. And didn't she say "all-in" pretty clearly?
 
2012-06-11 11:47:16 AM  

FishyFred: I didn't see a line on this table, but her cards were clearly in play. And didn't she say "all-in" pretty clearly?


I'm not saying the dealer didn't screw up, he did. I'm saying that she's just as responsible by not protecting her hand.
 
2012-06-11 11:52:00 AM  
In fairness, she is French, so the dealer could logically assume that she was surrendering her cards.
 
2012-06-11 11:59:37 AM  

9beers: I'm not saying the dealer didn't screw up


9beers: The dealer didn't mess up

 
2012-06-11 12:00:49 PM  
Thanks alot, 9beers. Now They have to take Zimmerman to Gitmo and the GOP has to reanimate Trayvon and make Zombie Reagan run as his VP in 2016.
 
2012-06-11 12:03:41 PM  

9beers: FishyFred: I didn't see a line on this table, but her cards were clearly in play. And didn't she say "all-in" pretty clearly?

I'm not saying the dealer didn't screw up, he did. I'm saying that she's just as responsible by not protecting her hand.


Exactly. The dealer doesn't know if you want to fold a few cards into your all-in, he's not a mind reader!
 
2012-06-11 12:08:31 PM  
this wasn't scripted at all...
 
2012-06-11 12:09:24 PM  
Sure the house followed the rules, but the "boss" instructed the dealer, "don't touch anything." Did the dealer listen? Nope.

/Like Paulie, we ain't gonna see him no more.
 
2012-06-11 12:42:36 PM  
my solution
have her tell the boss exacty what the 2 cards were with suit and value. boss looks at all 5 cards. if she is wrong she gets a serious fine and suspension plus is black balled by everyone and loses sponsors etc...
that dealer should be immediately put on a break and then switched to another table.touching the cards after instructed not to is a big fail by the dealer. now we know she has a tell-shifting in her seat to get a better view when she has a great hand and thinks she will bust someone.
 
2012-06-11 12:43:28 PM  
The weird thing is the dealer seemed to pause before deciding to grab her cards. There was actual reflection there. Would it have been illegal for him to ask if she was discarding them? The cards were placed neatly right in front of her, which I assume would be a sign that she was keeping them. OTOH, I'm neither a professional poker player nor a dealer, so this is pretty much speculation on my part.
 
2012-06-11 12:53:27 PM  
I know absolutely nothing about poker, but it seems horribly unjust to be booted out of the game and have all your winnings declared forfeit because of dealer error. She should be compensated in some way.
 
2012-06-11 12:57:28 PM  
another hard day at the office.
 
2012-06-11 01:02:23 PM  
I had two aces.

*closes window*

Protect your hand

and don't tell people your cards when the hand is still going
 
2012-06-11 01:12:27 PM  

busy chillin': I had two aces.

*closes window*

Protect your hand

and don't tell people your cards when the hand is still going


It wasn't still going. It was her and the guy that bet 32k. If she has folded, or been folded by the dealer, then the hand is over.
 
2012-06-11 01:16:09 PM  

Kaiku: I know absolutely nothing about poker, but it seems horribly unjust to be booted out of the game and have all your winnings declared forfeit because of dealer error. She should be compensated in some way.



It would be unjust, but that isn't what happened.
 
2012-06-11 01:21:27 PM  
She went ALL IN. Her chips were way out beyond her cards. Dealer screwed up. I would've raised farking hell. Good for her that she could keep her cool, but I know I wouldn't have been able to.
 
2012-06-11 01:37:21 PM  
And, just to point out, she lost 32k in tournament chips in the hand, not $32,000

/always protect your hand
 
2012-06-11 01:42:57 PM  

Gnomaana

It wasn't still going. It was her and the guy that bet 32k. If she has folded, or been folded by the dealer, then the hand is over.

Oh, I thought the other guys were still in the hand waiting for the rest of the cards.
 
2012-06-11 01:53:47 PM  
i.imgur.com
 
2012-06-11 02:00:37 PM  

s2s2s2: 9beers: I'm not saying the dealer didn't screw up

9beers: The dealer didn't mess up


Finally, we know 9beers true identity:

i486.photobucket.com
 
2012-06-11 02:32:06 PM  
She looked hot and bothered. Giggity
 
2012-06-11 04:27:47 PM  
I would like to know how the hand played out though. IF they had gone heads up, would she have likely won the hand?

I know it doesn't make it any better or worse, I'm just curious
 
2012-06-11 04:39:26 PM  
This is an infamous hand that gets discussed a lot in poker, and the consensus is that as a player, you PROTECT YOUR CARDS AT ALL TIMES.

Assume that dealers will make errors, and they WILL, and you may get the short end of a decision if you don't PROTECT YOUR CARDS AT ALL TIMES.
 
2012-06-11 04:53:13 PM  
i.imgur.com

It almost looks like he did it on purpose.
 
2012-06-11 05:16:48 PM  

Cardrack Jim: And, just to point out, she lost 32k in tournament chips in the hand, not $32,000

/always protect your hand


This.... they could just as well say 32 dollars are 32 million.
 
2012-06-11 05:56:16 PM  
Oh, the dealer screwed up hard: No one is questioning that. , You can see the moment of hesitation as he's grabbing the cards to muck and has a 'count to potato' moment.

But...your cards are your responsibility: Sure, she's all in and doesn't have a chip to protect with at that point...which is why you have some freaking thing over your cards to prevent that shiat from happening!!!! Sure, it only happens once in a very long while...but that was a 32K mistake that would have made having ANYTHING on those cards worth it.

Poker's a cruel biatch sometimes...but you gotta accept the responsibility for protecting your space.

//That dealer is seriously lucky he didn't do that to Hellmuth - although that meltdown would have been so completely epic I would pay to view THAT youtube clip!
 
2012-06-11 06:26:43 PM  
I really want to feel sorry for the "professional" card player there, but I just can't.

Get a real job.
 
2012-06-11 06:47:09 PM  

StrangeQ: Get a real job.


Settle down, Colton
 
2012-06-11 06:55:11 PM  

Tony_Pepperoni: [i.imgur.com image 160x145]

It almost looks like he did it on purpose.


Yoink!
 
2012-06-11 07:43:36 PM  

Benevolent Misanthrope: Now I know why they use card protectors. I had always wondered.


WTF is a card protector? Those weighted "chips"?

Oh, BTW, I read the headline in her voice:

cuzoogle.com
 
2012-06-11 07:51:11 PM  

buntz: I would like to know how the hand played out though. IF they had gone heads up, would she have likely won the hand?

I know it doesn't make it any better or worse, I'm just curious


Pocket Aces against a single opponant will win about 85% of the time.
 
2012-06-11 08:18:44 PM  
This would have never happened if she'd simply stayed in the kitchen...
 
2012-06-11 08:18:56 PM  

PsyLord: Benevolent Misanthrope: Now I know why they use card protectors. I had always wondered.

WTF is a card protector? Those weighted "chips"?

Oh, BTW, I read the headline in her voice:

[cuzoogle.com image 345x273]


I think some players use a regular chip, or stack of chips... Some use a special marker. I've seen some of the fluffy female players use a little tiny vase of fake flowers, or a stuffed animal. Always thought it was silly until now.
 
2012-06-11 08:20:10 PM  
For you non-poker Farkers out there, this is the same as when your Dungeon Master assumes you took off your Cloak of Greater Invisibility when in fact you had just pushed back the hood so your group's other Rogue could see you nod in agreement of his plan to pull Grekdor the Malificient prior to using your Strike From Shadows ability, which you had spent THE ENTIRE FARKING CAMPAIGN charging with Beads of Agility. Sure, he can say "oh, my bad" when it's over- but that doesn't help your party of doughty adventurers who are slowly choking to death on a combination of troll urine and their own blood, now does it?
 
2012-06-11 09:11:46 PM  

tillerman35: when your Dungeon Master assumes


Best. Analogy. Ever.
 
2012-06-11 09:18:39 PM  

tillerman35: For you non-poker Farkers out there, this is the same as when your Dungeon Master assumes you took off your Cloak of Greater Invisibility when in fact you had just pushed back the hood so your group's other Rogue could see you nod in agreement of his plan to pull Grekdor the Malificient prior to using your Strike From Shadows ability, which you had spent THE ENTIRE FARKING CAMPAIGN charging with Beads of Agility. Sure, he can say "oh, my bad" when it's over- but that doesn't help your party of doughty adventurers who are slowly choking to death on a combination of troll urine and their own blood, now does it?


I'm not sure, but you may have just won an Internet or two...
 
2012-06-11 09:45:43 PM  

Cardrack Jim: And, just to point out, she lost 32k in tournament chips in the hand, not $32,000

/always protect your hand


Yeah, but this is the kind of situation wherein "protect your hand" has historically resulted in an aerated dealer. That's dirty poker any way you slice it.
 
2012-06-11 10:19:15 PM  

aspAddict: tillerman35: For you non-poker Farkers out there, this is the same as when your Dungeon Master assumes you took off your Cloak of Greater Invisibility when in fact you had just pushed back the hood so your group's other Rogue could see you nod in agreement of his plan to pull Grekdor the Malificient prior to using your Strike From Shadows ability, which you had spent THE ENTIRE FARKING CAMPAIGN charging with Beads of Agility. Sure, he can say "oh, my bad" when it's over- but that doesn't help your party of doughty adventurers who are slowly choking to death on a combination of troll urine and their own blood, now does it?

I'm not sure, but you may have just won an Internet or two...


At least 2
 
2012-06-11 10:25:33 PM  

berniex: This is an infamous hand that gets discussed a lot in poker, and the consensus is that as a player, you PROTECT YOUR CARDS AT ALL TIMES.

Assume that dealers will make errors, and they WILL, and you may get the short end of a decision if you don't PROTECT YOUR CARDS AT ALL TIMES.


Sure but when I put then in my pocket everyone goes apeshiat.

/from the little clip it's all on the dealer imho.
//sucks for her
///house always wins, doesn't matter how
 
2012-06-11 11:10:51 PM  
She CLAIMED to have pocket aces. There were other player's cards in the muck, so I wouldn't put it past someone to "accidentally" fold Ace-Something, and then claim to have AA. For that to work, all they'd have to do is find someone else's A in the muck.

PROTECT YOUR CARDS, JEEZ.
 
2012-06-12 01:57:45 AM  
 
2012-06-12 02:24:49 AM  

Drubell: Real players fold aces preflop anyway


How the fark?
 
2012-06-12 04:14:55 AM  

tenpoundsofcheese: when she said she had pocket aces, doesn't that ruin it for the other players? I thought you can't say what cards you had?


She was all-in, heads up vs another player. When her hand got pulled into the muck by the dealer, that was the end of that hand. The other guy got the chips she had already put into the pot.
 
2012-06-12 06:33:07 AM  

Drubell: Real players fold aces preflop anyway


There are cases in which it can make sense to fold pocket aces. They're rare, but it depends on your positioning in a tournament. A relatively great example is when examining the utility value of the money. If you're on the bubble on payouts, your bankroll is depleted, you are nowhere near the blind hitting you, you have the smallest stack at the table (and especially in the tournament) and multiple people go in all ahead of you, your overall chances of winning with pocket aces are not great. In this case, as long as your goal is to cash and not absolutely to make final table, folding pocket aces is the correct decision.

That said, if you're in that position, you've severely mismanaged your bankroll, and you shouldn't be in the tournament anyway.

/folded pocket aces on the bubble in a $1000 entry once, for that exact reason
//would have gone out if I had played it
///shouldn't have been playing that tournament
////alcohol is a hell of a drug
 
2012-06-12 07:06:38 AM  

stiletto_the_wise: She CLAIMED to have pocket aces. There were other player's cards in the muck, so I wouldn't put it past someone to "accidentally" fold Ace-Something, and then claim to have AA. For that to work, all they'd have to do is find someone else's A in the muck.

PROTECT YOUR CARDS, JEEZ.


This. And Don't Splash the Pot!
 
Displayed 50 of 66 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report