If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(MTV)   The Prometheus reviews are in...and it's a solid "yeah...not bad"   (mtv.com) divider line 177
    More: Obvious, Christy Lemire, Michael Fassbender, Prometheus, Bad Things, Ian Holm, gladiators, Ridley Scott  
•       •       •

3596 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 08 Jun 2012 at 10:15 AM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



177 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-06-08 10:22:41 AM
I have to say, that's pretty much how i feel about it.

it's a beautiful movie with really impressive effects but i don't think the story lived up to my expectations. I'd say its about a 7.5/10.

/why are aliens always jerks? (even the humanoid)
 
2012-06-08 10:27:30 AM
I look forward to seeing it. I am a big Ridley Scott fan, and this one seems VERY promising.
 
2012-06-08 10:28:15 AM

whosits_112: I look forward to seeing it. I am a big Ridley Scott fan, and this one seems VERY promising.


Yes, it does show a lot of Prometh.
 
2012-06-08 10:29:12 AM

dittybopper: whosits_112: I look forward to seeing it. I am a big Ridley Scott fan, and this one seems VERY promising.

Yes, it does show a lot of Prometh.


Booo!

Anyway, Ebert gave it the full Monty.
 
2012-06-08 10:29:16 AM
Yeah, not bad is ok with me.


//should I watch it in 3D?
 
2012-06-08 10:29:17 AM
It looks like a decent foundation to explore this arc from. We'll see if he does a sequel or turns this into a trilogy.
 
2012-06-08 10:31:10 AM

dittybopper: whosits_112: I look forward to seeing it. I am a big Ridley Scott fan, and this one seems VERY promising.

Yes, it does show a lot of Prometh.


I can't stop laughing at that.

/not kidding
 
kab
2012-06-08 10:37:37 AM

dittybopper: whosits_112: I look forward to seeing it. I am a big Ridley Scott fan, and this one seems VERY promising.

Yes, it does show a lot of Prometh.


Well played.

I was psyched for this flick, but the more that is shown in recent trailers, the less 'gritty' it seems to me, especially compared to the first two (that's right, the rest of the flicks simply don't exist). Still, I'll go and see it.
 
2012-06-08 10:38:49 AM

dittybopper: whosits_112: I look forward to seeing it. I am a big Ridley Scott fan, and this one seems VERY promising.

Yes, it does show a lot of Prometh.


i55.tinypic.com
I need the hook to get you off the stage now...
 
2012-06-08 10:39:29 AM
saw it last night. it is in my opinion that movie is very good. the space jockey from alien is sort of explained, the facehuggers (and acidic blood) are there (albeit in a slightly different form). the film rocks and will be a must-buy blu-ray. If you like Alien\Aliens as much as this 40 year old child of the 80's, you will love this film.
 
2012-06-08 10:40:05 AM

auralpleasure: /why are aliens always jerks? (even the humanoid)


I think most experts agree that to survive you have to be a predator which essentially makes you a "jerk".
 
2012-06-08 10:44:23 AM
I'm not ashamed to admit I have a Fassboner in anticipation of this movie and am looking forward to seeing it today. Watched 'Alien' last night since I hadn't seen it in ages.

By all accounts it's a beautiful piece of cinema.
 
2012-06-08 10:45:08 AM
The original film seemed more of a horror movie with elements of a thoughtful sci-fi. This one seems like more of a thoughtful sci-fi with elements of a horror movie. It seems almost Kubrickian in it's attenton to detail in creating atmospheric movie-going experience, but these days that's almost held against a film by critics as a sign of being too bloated and ambitious.
 
2012-06-08 10:45:39 AM

xtragrind: auralpleasure: /why are aliens always jerks? (even the humanoid)

I think most experts agree that to survive you have to be a predator which essentially makes you a "jerk".


That is actually bullshiat, all social animals, especially tool users, rely on inclusive fitness rather than merely exclusive fitness. Clearly you slept through xenopsychology in high school.
 
2012-06-08 10:46:16 AM

xtragrind: auralpleasure: /why are aliens always jerks? (even the humanoid)

I think most experts agree that to survive you have to be a predator which essentially makes you a "jerk".


From the perspective of every other living species on the planet, humans are real jerks, too. That's probably why.
 
2012-06-08 10:48:50 AM
Saw this last weekend (Seriously, another major movie gets a global release a week before the US. What's with that?) Walked out the theatre hating it with a passion. I've mellowed since, but it still has a few major issues, not least of which is a truly appalling script that paints huge great roadsigns so even Stevie Wonder could where the plot is going and indulges in every cliche it can think of. Not that it matters too much, as everything other than the last five minutes was covered in the trailers.

The biggest issue though to me was that it stinks of a hasty rewrite to make the 'Alien prequel' tag a bit less obvious, which didn't work at all.

It looks pretty though, and the acting's pretty solid all round...I was just expecting so much more
 
2012-06-08 10:48:53 AM
Saw it last week. Great opening, good sets, some good performances, and 3D effective (couldn't see it in 2D if I'd wanted) but overall not as scary as I was hoping, and the story was so-so.
Didn't have the stand out scene(s) Scott promised it had to 'top' the (SPOILER...chest burster from Alien) in my opinion, and it did have one very silly piece of casting.
Having avoided the trailers beforehand, glad I did having seen them since.
Overall a 7/10 for me, but look forward to the blu ray and director's cut...
 
2012-06-08 10:50:21 AM
Considering some of the utter crap I sit through in an effort to find some decent sci-fi I haven't seen, the chances of me not liking this are slim. Particularly given Ebert's review as i generally agree with his picks.
 
2012-06-08 10:52:16 AM
I fear this will be another Inception type film. Beautiful shot, shiny and loud, but intellectually hollow at its core.

Which sucks, because I really, really want this to be good.
 
2012-06-08 10:52:57 AM
I liked it. Saw the midnight showing, went in with zero information outside of the occasional Fark thread. The fact that I was still thinking through it on the way home says it all. Good, solid sci-fi. Bring on the sequel.
 
2012-06-08 10:54:57 AM
SPOILERS

my girlfriend pointed out something pretty silly. when the 2 guys trapped in the dome first see the snake-ish alien the Biologist is the first guy to walk up to it and say "hey there cutie". now i get that a biologist would be extremely curious about see an alien life-form for the first time but holy crap when the thing opens up its hood just like a damn cobra on earth you would think that he would have thought to himself "oh hey this is clearly a defensive/aggressive posture for anything on earth, maybe i shouldn't try to pet it just yet."
 
2012-06-08 10:56:24 AM
I'm getting the impression that people who liked Alien more than Aliens will like this. Which means I'll probably like it.
 
2012-06-08 10:56:39 AM

JohnBigBootay: Considering some of the utter crap I sit through in an effort to find some decent sci-fi I haven't seen, the chances of me not liking this are slim. Particularly given Ebert's review as i generally agree with his picks.


That's what I'm saying. More often than not I agree with his reviews. Looking forward to seeing it sometime this weekend.
 
2012-06-08 10:58:58 AM
I'm thinking it's a 3D must see, or at least that's the only format they are pushing around me. There are 2 showtimes all day in the regular theatre and about 14 in the 3D theatres at my local cineplex. Any suggestions on this farkers?
 
2012-06-08 11:00:39 AM

RantCasey: I'm thinking it's a 3D must see, or at least that's the only format they are pushing around me. There are 2 showtimes all day in the regular theatre and about 14 in the 3D theatres at my local cineplex. Any suggestions on this farkers?


Honestly I didn't notice the 3d that often. when i was really looking for it i could see that it was there but it seemed more subtle that some of the other stuff ive seen in 3d (avengers being the most recent)
 
2012-06-08 11:05:17 AM
sphotos.xx.fbcdn.net

/not to be confused with Dave --> right in the kisser
 
2012-06-08 11:08:21 AM

auralpleasure: RantCasey: I'm thinking it's a 3D must see, or at least that's the only format they are pushing around me. There are 2 showtimes all day in the regular theatre and about 14 in the 3D theatres at my local cineplex. Any suggestions on this farkers?

Honestly I didn't notice the 3d that often. when i was really looking for it i could see that it was there but it seemed more subtle that some of the other stuff ive seen in 3d (avengers being the most recent)


That's what Ebert claimed ... seems like that they wanted to ensure the 3D wasn't distracting.
 
2012-06-08 11:09:32 AM
If the reviews say a movie is terrible and the whole world hates it, I usually think it's a pretty good movie (The Green Lantern for example) so If the reviews say "not bad" then I'll probably love the movie.
 
2012-06-08 11:11:07 AM

AmazinTim: I fear this will be another Inception type film. Beautiful shot, shiny and loud, but intellectually hollow at its core.

Which sucks, because I really, really want this to be good.


Not sure if you're trolling or not, but I don't think "intellectually hollow" is a term that can be applied to any Christopher Nolan film.
 
2012-06-08 11:11:11 AM

JohnBigBootay: Considering some of the utter crap I sit through in an effort to find some decent sci-fi I haven't seen, the chances of me not liking this are slim. Particularly given Ebert's review as i generally agree with his picks.


Ebert also gave "Knowing" 4 stars.

Just something to keep in mind.
 
2012-06-08 11:13:11 AM

InmanRoshi: auralpleasure: RantCasey: I'm thinking it's a 3D must see, or at least that's the only format they are pushing around me. There are 2 showtimes all day in the regular theatre and about 14 in the 3D theatres at my local cineplex. Any suggestions on this farkers?

Honestly I didn't notice the 3d that often. when i was really looking for it i could see that it was there but it seemed more subtle that some of the other stuff ive seen in 3d (avengers being the most recent)

That's what Ebert claimed ... seems like that they wanted to ensure the 3D wasn't distracting.


Wait, they were using the medium to tell the story more effectively, as opposed to making the medium the focus and ignoring the story? That just sounds crazy.
 
2012-06-08 11:18:16 AM
It looks like it could be worth a watch, but man am I annoyed by the marketing of this film. Coors Light? Really? Stephen A Smith? Get the fark out of here...
 
2012-06-08 11:19:51 AM
".Jaw-dropping!" --Roger Ebert
 
2012-06-08 11:19:53 AM
I was really excited about it, until I saw commercial after commercial showing pretty much everything and everyone involved with the movie. I've lost a lot of interest in it, and I'm saying that as a kid who's favorite movie franchises were Aliens and Predator growing up (I had all the toys, all the PC games which were awesome, etc.).
 
2012-06-08 11:21:48 AM

auralpleasure: I have to say, that's pretty much how i feel about it.

it's a beautiful movie with really impressive effects but i don't think the story lived up to my expectations. I'd say its about a 7.5/10.

/why are aliens always jerks? (even the humanoid)


After every semi nerd got a raging rabid erection for this thing, sloshing goopy ropes of love all over every tiny little detail to come out, how could it really be anything other than a solid B+?

They've built it up and hyped it up and psyched themselves up for the second farking coming of christs cock on a stick. I'm just glad it's out so I can stop having to hose off my monitor.

/not that interested
 
2012-06-08 11:22:19 AM

Falco09: AmazinTim: I fear this will be another Inception type film. Beautiful shot, shiny and loud, but intellectually hollow at its core.

Which sucks, because I really, really want this to be good.

Not sure if you're trolling or not, but I don't think "intellectually hollow" is a term that can be applied to any Christopher Nolan film.


Especially compared to any big-budget Hollywood movie.
 
2012-06-08 11:23:18 AM

Falco09: AmazinTim: I fear this will be another Inception type film. Beautiful shot, shiny and loud, but intellectually hollow at its core.

Which sucks, because I really, really want this to be good.

Not sure if you're trolling or not, but I don't think "intellectually hollow" is a term that can be applied to any Christopher Nolan film.


I agree with AmazinTim on that one a little bit. I love Nolan films, but that one didn't require much thought. They over explained everything, and there wasn't much to think about during or after the movie. Unlike say Memento or The Prestige.
 
2012-06-08 11:23:47 AM
3D was used in a way that accentuated the sets rather than having things pop out at you. Certainly looked better than the trailer for 3D Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter which showed before...
 
2012-06-08 11:23:52 AM

ThunderChild: Seriously, another major movie gets a global release a week before the US. What's with that?


You go where the growth (read: disposable income) is, not where people are seeing fewer and fewer movies in the theater.
 
2012-06-08 11:26:56 AM
It's verrrry pretty with a whole lot of "wait...what? WTF! Why?"
 
2012-06-08 11:27:53 AM

Falco09: AmazinTim: I fear this will be another Inception type film. Beautiful shot, shiny and loud, but intellectually hollow at its core.

Which sucks, because I really, really want this to be good.

Not sure if you're trolling or not, but I don't think "intellectually hollow" is a term that can be applied to any Christopher Nolan film.


I can. Inception was classic heist movie with an ill-explained gimmick. Beautiful, entertaining, but when you got out of the theatre, you realized it was not really thought-provoking at all.
 
2012-06-08 11:34:24 AM

Falco09: AmazinTim: I fear this will be another Inception type film. Beautiful shot, shiny and loud, but intellectually hollow at its core.

Which sucks, because I really, really want this to be good.

Not sure if you're trolling or not, but I don't think "intellectually hollow" is a term that can be applied to any Christopher Nolan film.


Not trolling, I just didn't find any compelling ideas within Inception that could be considered deep or challenging. It was big and flashy and brought to like a new concept, but underneath it there was little substance to be found, IMO. My fear is that Prometheus will follow suit in being great to look at and fun to watch, but not be able to support any "big ideas" with rich foundation that will keep me thinking about them once I've left the theater.

Admittedly, I am of the opinion that Nolan generally lacks the ability to empathize with the human condition and create characters with believable motivations that the viewers can relate to. I've noticed this across most of his films that I have seen, the most obvious example being the transformation of Harvey dent into Two-Face. It was laughably thin. "Change is fair, I'm going on a killing spree now because the joker said so" doesn't exactly sell anyone with a full set of chromosomes on believing that the events leading up to Two-Face's killing spree would cause such a drastic change in behavior.

But I digress. I found Inception emotionally hollow and fear the same fate for Prometheus.
 
2012-06-08 11:35:17 AM

kroonermanblack: I'm just glad it's out so I can stop having to hose off my monitor.

/not that interested


No? Then why is it your own monitor you're having to keep hosing off?
 
2012-06-08 11:37:19 AM

Orgasmatron138: dittybopper: whosits_112: I look forward to seeing it. I am a big Ridley Scott fan, and this one seems VERY promising.

Yes, it does show a lot of Prometh.

Booo!

Anyway, Ebert gave it the full Monty.


Possible responses...


1 - He went nude to it?

2 - where did he get the coconuts?
 
2012-06-08 11:38:55 AM

auralpleasure: SPOILERS

my girlfriend pointed out something pretty silly. when the 2 guys trapped in the dome first see the snake-ish alien the Biologist is the first guy to walk up to it and say "hey there cutie". now i get that a biologist would be extremely curious about see an alien life-form for the first time but holy crap when the thing opens up its hood just like a damn cobra on earth you would think that he would have thought to himself "oh hey this is clearly a defensive/aggressive posture for anything on earth, maybe i shouldn't try to pet it just yet."


I feel like this is the one thing that holds the franchise back. As people pointed out up thread, one of the themes is to survive in the universe you have to be an alpha predator. Humans, despite our history as tool using pack predators, have been retards that do things like the above. The Marines in Aliens are okay at their predator job, but not all that great. No one else is really all that great. Ripley has flashes of it, like when she tries to enforce containment procedures in Alien (even though that would kill the guys outside). However she's weak in a few areas. The movies more feature the group screwing up, someone valiantly sacrificing themselves (like the android in Aliens), and then the survivors falling to finish the job.

It's pretty much a guarantee that despite the fact the aliens ate 95% of the cast, the survivors will half ass their biological sterilization at the end of the movie and ensure there is a sequel. At some point it just gets infuriating and makes you want to scream "How many of you need to get eaten before you get the message."

/hence why I think Predator is a stronger franchise
//humans still retain their predatory instincts in those movies and do so in a fairly decent manner, they just die en masse since the Predators have shiat like invisibility.
/still going to see Prometheus and likely enjoy it
 
2012-06-08 11:42:33 AM

AmazinTim: intellectually hollow ... emotionally hollow


These are very different terms.

I think only the second term (from your conclusion) applies to Inception. The first term (which you introed in the Weeners and defended in the second) does not apply. The entire hook of the movie is a intellectual thought experiment, meticulously brought to screen.

Emotionally hollow, yes, because it was too much about that hook.
 
2012-06-08 11:49:13 AM

auralpleasure: it's a beautiful movie with really impressive effects but i don't think the story lived up to my expectations.



So it's the new "Avatar"?

/I keed.
//No way could this movie have a worse plot than "Avatar".
 
2012-06-08 12:06:59 PM

The_Sponge: auralpleasure: it's a beautiful movie with really impressive effects but i don't think the story lived up to my expectations.


So it's the new "Avatar"?

/I keed.
//No way could this movie have a worse plot than "Avatar".


Screw you, Korra's the man.

/there's another Avatar?
 
2012-06-08 12:08:54 PM
Ever since the end of Lost I treat any project that Damon Lindelof is attached to (I don't care if he simply wrote a recipe for brownies on a sheet of toilet paper) as something that ends unsatisfactorily.
 
2012-06-08 12:09:12 PM

PonceAlyosha: The_Sponge: auralpleasure: it's a beautiful movie with really impressive effects but i don't think the story lived up to my expectations.


So it's the new "Avatar"?

/I keed.
//No way could this movie have a worse plot than "Avatar".

Screw you, Korra's the man.

/there's another Avatar?


Of course there is, silly. His name is Aang.
 
Displayed 50 of 177 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report