If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Metro)   The first preview of Elder Scrolls Online is FRIGGIN' AWESOME   (metro.co.uk) divider line 95
    More: Cool, Elder Scrolls, Morrowind, Norwegians, PvP, Imperials, New Vegas, art style  
•       •       •

6264 clicks; posted to Geek » on 04 May 2012 at 2:52 PM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



95 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2012-05-04 11:55:23 AM
The Elder Scrolls Online will be cool if it's The Elder Scrolls, but online. If it's World of Warcraft with The Elder Scrolls setting I'm not going to be too impressed.

Did anyone ever play the Morrowind multiplayer mod?
 
2012-05-04 12:04:14 PM
As long as Bethesda doesn't give them anything more than a text file of all their lore books I'll be ok with this. They need to be focusing on their Skyrim DLC (Dawnguard is set to release this summer) and Dishonored, which looks pretty badass from previews.
 
2012-05-04 12:06:56 PM
No thank you, I already play WoW and will continue to play WoW.

/Still better than any other mmo out there.
 
2012-05-04 12:19:30 PM
If I can't FUS ROH DAH other players off cliffs, I don't care.
 
2012-05-04 12:20:05 PM
Yawn... Look, mages, warriors, rogues. It's WoW, but with Bethesda IP. Gosh.
They're going to be competing in the same fantasy genre. Now, if they had been smart, they would have used their other IP, and built Fallout Online.
 
2012-05-04 12:31:50 PM

scottydoesntknow: As long as Bethesda doesn't give them anything more than a text file of all their lore books I'll be ok with this. They need to be focusing on their Skyrim DLC (Dawnguard is set to release this summer) and Dishonored, which looks pretty badass from previews.


It's being made by Zenimax Online, so it's a completely separate studio from Bethesda itself.

Theaetetus: Yawn... Look, mages, warriors, rogues. It's WoW, but with Bethesda IP. Gosh.


I'm really disappointed in this. I haven't played an MMO since Star Wars Galaxies and the early days of WoW because I just don't have fun with the hotbar/cool down/let's go to an instance mechanics. I guess MMOs just aren't for me.
 
2012-05-04 12:45:20 PM

Theaetetus: Now, if they had been smart, they would have used their other IP, and built Fallout Online.


From your lips to Todd Vaughn's ears.

Hey, don't get me wrong. I like The Elder Scrolls just fine. Skyrim in particular was amazing. But Fallout 3? That game was a bloody obsession for me. I would swear under oath that I've opened every door, box, vault, ammo can and storage locker in that game, most of them multiple times. I doubt there's a single square inch of the Capital Wasteland that hasn't seen my bootprint by now. Years later, I STILL spark up that game, and poke around, Fawkes in tow, in case any Deathclaws feel like it's worth it to chance my blind side.

Plainly put, Fallout was the bomb...On several levels.
 
2012-05-04 12:48:59 PM

Humean_Nature: scottydoesntknow: As long as Bethesda doesn't give them anything more than a text file of all their lore books I'll be ok with this. They need to be focusing on their Skyrim DLC (Dawnguard is set to release this summer) and Dishonored, which looks pretty badass from previews.

It's being made by Zenimax Online, so it's a completely separate studio from Bethesda itself.


I know, that's why I said "them". I still don't want Bethesda devoting any resources to it, which they probably will do since it carries TES name, and thus take resources away from other projects that people actually want.
 
2012-05-04 01:01:29 PM

MaxxLarge: Theaetetus: Now, if they had been smart, they would have used their other IP, and built Fallout Online.

From your lips to Todd Vaughn's ears.

Hey, don't get me wrong. I like The Elder Scrolls just fine. Skyrim in particular was amazing. But Fallout 3? That game was a bloody obsession for me. I would swear under oath that I've opened every door, box, vault, ammo can and storage locker in that game, most of them multiple times. I doubt there's a single square inch of the Capital Wasteland that hasn't seen my bootprint by now. Years later, I STILL spark up that game, and poke around, Fawkes in tow, in case any Deathclaws feel like it's worth it to chance my blind side.

Plainly put, Fallout was the bomb...On several levels.


And it would be an entirely new genre, for a change. No orcs, no mages, no Jedi. But you've still got plenty of factions, different game play styles, etc.
 
2012-05-04 01:06:01 PM
The non-gameplay teaser trailer that tells us nothing at all about the game? Or the four stills taken from an obviously maximized machine?
 
2012-05-04 01:11:43 PM
Wanna know if it's WoW reskinned? When the beta inevitably launches, get in and see if the normal mage spell chains work.

If they do, don't bother buying it.
 
2012-05-04 01:12:41 PM

Theaetetus: MaxxLarge: Theaetetus: Now, if they had been smart, they would have used their other IP, and built Fallout Online.

From your lips to Todd Vaughn's ears.

Hey, don't get me wrong. I like The Elder Scrolls just fine. Skyrim in particular was amazing. But Fallout 3? That game was a bloody obsession for me. I would swear under oath that I've opened every door, box, vault, ammo can and storage locker in that game, most of them multiple times. I doubt there's a single square inch of the Capital Wasteland that hasn't seen my bootprint by now. Years later, I STILL spark up that game, and poke around, Fawkes in tow, in case any Deathclaws feel like it's worth it to chance my blind side.

Plainly put, Fallout was the bomb...On several levels.

And it would be an entirely new genre, for a change. No orcs, no mages, no Jedi. But you've still got plenty of factions, different game play styles, etc.


That would be awesome. You could go NCR (lawful neutral), Raiders (chaotic evil), Mutants (chaotic neutral), Enclave (lawful evil), and a few other factions. Have them vying for control of an entire area (you could do it by states). Battle against each other, have a faction win after a certain point (like destroying everyone else), then have a reset button where nuclear war happens again, starting everything over.
 
2012-05-04 01:13:21 PM

MaxxLarge: Theaetetus: Now, if they had been smart, they would have used their other IP, and built Fallout Online.

From your lips to Todd Vaughn's ears.

Hey, don't get me wrong. I like The Elder Scrolls just fine. Skyrim in particular was amazing. But Fallout 3? That game was a bloody obsession for me. I would swear under oath that I've opened every door, box, vault, ammo can and storage locker in that game, most of them multiple times. I doubt there's a single square inch of the Capital Wasteland that hasn't seen my bootprint by now. Years later, I STILL spark up that game, and poke around, Fawkes in tow, in case any Deathclaws feel like it's worth it to chance my blind side.

Plainly put, Fallout was the bomb...On several levels.


I also really, really liked Fallout 3. Far more than I liked New Vegas. Everything about it just worked for me. I was genuinely disappointed and saddened when it finally came to the point where I'd done just about anything that wasn't a stupid game-mechanics achievement (even though I got many of those simply by virtue of how much I played).
 
2012-05-04 02:00:31 PM
I'd prefer they didn't go the MMO route.

Since Morrowind came out, I think the Elder Scrolls games have needed a way to do a 2-6 person "adventuring party." That's it. No getting the entire general public involved.
 
2012-05-04 02:42:18 PM
I was going to be an adventurer, but then I took a teabag to the knee
 
2012-05-04 02:55:21 PM
The entire point of TES has been that you're not pigeon holed into a specific class. You play what you want the way you want. If you want to be a Spellblade Warrior, go for it. Plate Armor battle mage? Go for it. TES Online all but eliminates that flexibility.
 
2012-05-04 02:56:25 PM
Soooo.... where does dumbledore fit in all this. I thought he died.
 
2012-05-04 02:59:57 PM
That's all fine and good, I'll promptly ignore this MMO since it's entire point is to compete with WoW, but where THE HIGH ROCK IS MY SKYRIM DLC?

Seriously, an entire untapped and frothy market, and not even a mention of continued content?
 
2012-05-04 03:00:24 PM

SultanofSchwing: The entire point of TES has been that you're not pigeon holed into a specific class. You play what you want the way you want. If you want to be a Spellblade Warrior, go for it. Plate Armor battle mage? Go for it. TES Online all but eliminates that flexibility.


Exactly.

Is there any other MMO besides UO that gave it's players such flexibility in what they wanted to be?
 
2012-05-04 03:03:28 PM

Joafu: That's all fine and good, I'll promptly ignore this MMO since it's entire point is to compete with WoW, but where THE HIGH ROCK IS MY SKYRIM DLC?

Seriously, an entire untapped and frothy market, and not even a mention of continued content?


It's coming this Summer, and is called Dawnguard.
 
2012-05-04 03:03:41 PM

Joafu: That's all fine and good, I'll promptly ignore this MMO since it's entire point is to compete with WoW, but where THE HIGH ROCK IS MY SKYRIM DLC?

Seriously, an entire untapped and frothy market, and not even a mention of continued content?


I want to drive the Aldmeri Dominion from Skyrim, march into Cyrodiil proper, reclaim the White Tower, and rain fire down from the heavens upon my enemies.

Who knows, maybe the Lich King like antagonist will be the/a Dragonborn, trying to reclaim the Septim Empire?
 
2012-05-04 03:04:39 PM
img.metro.co.uk

They couldn't come up with boss monsters of their own, so they stole one from Watchmen.... greeeaaaaat
 
2012-05-04 03:07:01 PM

Lumbar Puncture: Joafu: That's all fine and good, I'll promptly ignore this MMO since it's entire point is to compete with WoW, but where THE HIGH ROCK IS MY SKYRIM DLC?

Seriously, an entire untapped and frothy market, and not even a mention of continued content?

It's coming this Summer, and is called Dawnguard.


I don't know if this appeases my frothiness, or engorges it.
 
2012-05-04 03:07:01 PM

GreenAdder: I'd prefer they didn't go the MMO route.

Since Morrowind came out, I think the Elder Scrolls games have needed a way to do a 2-6 person "adventuring party." That's it. No getting the entire general public involved.


Seriously THIS. I've talked a lot with friends about how multiplayer, but not MMO, Fallout or Elder Scrolls would be. I still play Baldur's Gate 2 with friends every now and then, and its still a helluva lot of fun.
 
2012-05-04 03:08:19 PM
...Can't I just have a regular multiplayer game? I play games to get away from the assholes in the world, I don't want to play with them. Just me and a couple fo buddies would be fantastic though.
 
2012-05-04 03:09:13 PM
WoW in Tamriel is AWESOME

Sometimes it's hard to tell the corporate shills from the fanboys.
 
2012-05-04 03:11:02 PM
After my experience with Skyrim, I think I'll be avoiding this like a recovering heroin addict avoids the needle.

/and probably just as successfully
 
2012-05-04 03:12:18 PM
I'm with the crowd that would love multi-player, but I hate MMO.

I tried the Star Trek one last and logged out the moment I saw a player named "!**JediAssBusterl33t**! (Or something equally lame).
 
2012-05-04 03:13:07 PM
WTF is wrong with these people? It's not (entirely, or even mostly) the IP that made TES popular, it was the gameplay. Sure, there are some people who are deep into the lore, but without the gameplay, it's just another bar/cooldown based MMO.

An MMOFPS based on Fallout would be huge, I don't understand why they're working on anything else.
 
2012-05-04 03:14:18 PM

MaxxLarge: Theaetetus: Now, if they had been smart, they would have used their other IP, and built Fallout Online.

From your lips to Todd Vaughn's ears.

Hey, don't get me wrong. I like The Elder Scrolls just fine. Skyrim in particular was amazing. But Fallout 3? That game was a bloody obsession for me. I would swear under oath that I've opened every door, box, vault, ammo can and storage locker in that game, most of them multiple times. I doubt there's a single square inch of the Capital Wasteland that hasn't seen my bootprint by now. Years later, I STILL spark up that game, and poke around, Fawkes in tow, in case any Deathclaws feel like it's worth it to chance my blind side.

Plainly put, Fallout was the bomb...On several levels.


See I was the opposite. While I liked Fallout 3, it did not feel like fallout to me. You get a small handful of choices that in the end make little difference to the ending. New Vegas was my obsession. It continued the story of the failing Brotherhood of Steel, the expansion of the NCR, a mix of dark drama and outlandish humor that was sprinkled throughout the game, a myriad endings depending on a plethroa of choices. *sigh* I still pick up the game and trek across the Mojave to spread the glory of true civilization to those dirty tribals and raiders.

//I just had a falloutgasim.
 
2012-05-04 03:16:58 PM

GreenAdder: Since Morrowind came out, I think the Elder Scrolls games have needed a way to do a 2-6 person "adventuring party." That's it. No getting the entire general public involved.


yeah exactly. co-op but not multiplayer. When i've said i would love to adventure in Tamreil with my friends, i meant with MY friends. not with a thousand random people.
 
2012-05-04 03:19:44 PM
I have to say I really missed the old iso-metric turn based combat Fallout. I loved that. I enjoyed both Fallout 3 and New Vegas and played that crap-hole out of both, but nothing like the joy I get out of replaying 1 and 2.

Nice to see that there are people who agree.
 
2012-05-04 03:20:04 PM
I'm sure this will suck, for me at least. MMOs have a habit of being everything I don't like in a game, including:

- Hotbar button + cooldowns + diceroll style damage.
- You cannot alter the world in any way.
- Your accomplishments are entirely meaningless
- All the badguys you just killed pop up 2 minutes later, giving into that whole "your accomplishments are entirely meaningless"
- You get spammed messages from people with marginal language skills wanting to sell you crap.

This game has non-instanced dungeons, which means you can't even pretend you made a difference because the enemies will respawn right in front of you (versus an instance where at least at the end, you can't go back in and can say "well, that's done").

There are a lot of you that love MMOs and more power to you, but I want to explore all of Tamriel on my own terms without the inevitable lack of depth in lore and story that the MMO environment breeds. MMOs seem to homogenize the shiat out of their source material.

I bought SWTOR because I loved KOTOR1 & 2. But every conversation was entirely without point, badguys stood there 10 feet away like they were teamsters on lunch break, and they just popped back up after I killed them. I abandoned SWTOR after 2 months and won't be going back unless I become unemployed and very bored.
 
2012-05-04 03:21:05 PM
I'm thinking the original Phantasy Star Online for Dreamcast setting...Lobbies/Hub/Whatever and then you are off into your own 4-6 man instance of the world to do whatever it is you want....
 
2012-05-04 03:21:17 PM
The first preview of Elder Scrolls Online is FRIGGIN' AWESOME GENERIC!

went ahead and fixed that headline.
 
2012-05-04 03:22:00 PM
Bethesda has a habit of letting out content to lesser game companies and letting them muck it up.

Fallout 3 was perfect, they handed it to Obsidian (when Obsidian threw a fit) and we all got New Vegas, which didn't have any of the feel, function or style - yay I'm in the desert. Yay I get to uh, mod weapons. Whoooo......

Seems like the same's happening here. Once more handing the baby to a cracked-out hobo in the hopes things will 'work out'.

Here's hoping Bethesda keeps Obsidian to their word (and out of Fallout 4).

(and yes, I'm aware of Black Isle, FO1 and 2, etc. Fallout 3 was perfection, simply put).
 
2012-05-04 03:25:28 PM
Meh.
 
2012-05-04 03:26:36 PM

meat0918: SultanofSchwing: The entire point of TES has been that you're not pigeon holed into a specific class. You play what you want the way you want. If you want to be a Spellblade Warrior, go for it. Plate Armor battle mage? Go for it. TES Online all but eliminates that flexibility.

Exactly.

Is there any other MMO besides UO that gave it's players such flexibility in what they wanted to be?


Asheron's Call.

I miss that game so much :(

SWG did too, until Sony ruined it.
 
2012-05-04 03:29:07 PM
I don't play MMOs, so I'm looking forward to the single player expansions to Skyrim and maybe by the time they release Elder Scrolls VI I'll be done with V.
 
2012-05-04 03:32:38 PM
I can't see how the Fallouts would be MMO'able. The game is essentially about one person and their interaction with a very sparsely populated world. ES on the other hand has more people/animals/things in it.

Even though I've enjoyed Skyrim WAY too much, instead of MMO I'd rather go back and try one of the earlier ES games to see what story I'm missing.
 
2012-05-04 03:33:23 PM

Znuh: eems like the same's happening here. Once more handing the baby to a cracked-out hobo in the hopes things will 'work out'.

Here's hoping Bethesda keeps Obsidian to their word (and out of Fallout 4).

(and yes, I'm aware of Black Isle, FO1 and 2, etc. Fallout 3 was perfection, simply put).


Had Obsidian wrote FO3, the Brotherhood of Steel wouldn't have been so friendly. They're a bunch of dicks.
 
2012-05-04 03:35:11 PM
Hey! It's Skyrim, only massively multiplay.......ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
 
2012-05-04 03:35:53 PM
I was hoping for an Elder Scrolls game with a lot of players. Instead it looks like we're getting World of Tamriel. Pass.
 
2012-05-04 03:36:57 PM
I buckled and preordered GuildWars 2 over their free open beta weekend thingy.

Overall I'm done with subscriptions and paying $15/mo waiting for patches to fix shiat.

In a past life I'd be excited over this and Tera and all the other me-too MMOs coming out but I'll be fine with GW2 since it doesnt require a subscription.
 
2012-05-04 03:40:30 PM
GW2 is where it's at for the foreseeable future.

ES MMO is a bad move that could sink a great franchise.
 
2012-05-04 03:42:05 PM
Hmmm, 3 factions with a central common enemy. PvP and to QTFA...

"Like most other MMOs the game will use a hotbar to activate skills and combat will not be in real-time, due to concerns over latency. There be plenty of opportunities for PvP (player vs. player) combat, with faction battles featuring up to 200 players and siege weapons and trebuchets. "

Dark Age of Camelot would like a word...
 
2012-05-04 03:42:06 PM

CognaciousThunk: I can't see how the Fallouts would be MMO'able. The game is essentially about one person and their interaction with a very sparsely populated world. ES on the other hand has more people/animals/things in it.

Even though I've enjoyed Skyrim WAY too much, instead of MMO I'd rather go back and try one of the earlier ES games to see what story I'm missing.


While I enjoyed the past games, if you're really interested in the lore you might want to check out one of the wiki sites, like UESP.

You can download Arena and Daggerfall for free right from the Elder Scrolls website, and you could likely find Morrowind and Oblivion for really cheap. There's a mod to update the graphics of Morrowind. Morrowind has a really interesting art style, but it feels clumsy when you go back and swing a sword at a mud crab and miss 100x. There are also mods people have made to make it a more user friendly experience, if you are going back and playing for the story I'd recommend checking those mods out.
 
2012-05-04 03:44:59 PM

meat0918: SultanofSchwing: The entire point of TES has been that you're not pigeon holed into a specific class. You play what you want the way you want. If you want to be a Spellblade Warrior, go for it. Plate Armor battle mage? Go for it. TES Online all but eliminates that flexibility.

Exactly.

Is there any other MMO besides UO that gave it's players such flexibility in what they wanted to be?


Star Wars Galaxies (pre NGE). Of course, that was made by a lot of the same people that made UO (Raph Koster in particular).
 
2012-05-04 03:45:08 PM

CrossEyedAtNite: Hmmm, 3 factions with a central common enemy. PvP and to QTFA...

"Like most other MMOs the game will use a hotbar to activate skills and combat will not be in real-time, due to concerns over latency. There be plenty of opportunities for PvP (player vs. player) combat, with faction battles featuring up to 200 players and siege weapons and trebuchets. "

Dark Age of Camelot would like a word...


DAoC Producer Matt Firor is the head of the studio making this game, so I think it has had a word with the game.
 
2012-05-04 03:54:50 PM

Znuh: Bethesda has a habit of letting out content to lesser game companies and letting them muck it up.

Fallout 3 was perfect, they handed it to Obsidian (when Obsidian threw a fit) and we all got New Vegas, which didn't have any of the feel, function or style - yay I'm in the desert. Yay I get to uh, mod weapons. Whoooo......


You're joking, right? F:NV was head-and-shoulders above FO3. It had actual shades-of-grey morality, a compelling storyline, a bunch of different factions to choose between. Bethesda is good at creating an open world, they are really bad at creating a compelling story. Obsidian is very good at creating compelling stories. Not so good at finishing things on time.

As for this MMO, I'm getting the feeling that "AWESOME" was not the right word to describe it.
 
Displayed 50 of 95 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »





Report