If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(ABC)   What four other scrambling quarterbacks think of Tim Tebow. Opinions range from "I'm probably his biggest fan" to "enjoy the circus while it's in town"   (abcnews.go.com) divider line 161
    More: Interesting, Tim Tebow, Tim Lincecum, Joe Theismann, passing pocket, Randall Cunningham, footwork, Bobby Douglass, Drew Brees  
•       •       •

4313 clicks; posted to Sports » on 07 Dec 2011 at 1:14 AM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



161 Comments   (+0 »)
   

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2011-12-07 12:39:17 PM

Harv72b: lacrossestar83: truly sorry, guys. i'll figure out some other way to ridiculously animate this phrase in such a way that doesn't push any epileptic buttons.

In fairness, I believe the graphic scored highly among Mexican Farkers.


A Møøse once bit my sister
 
2011-12-07 12:49:09 PM
a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
 
2011-12-07 12:52:21 PM

smerfnablin: Who are Tim Tebows 2 biggest haters?


Add Merrill Hoge to that list, up at the top. That guy has been screaming how bad Tebow sucks since preseason. And that was from watching film of him from the three starts he got as a rookie. And every performance this season is met with utter disdain, how Tebow is "ruining" the great QB position

Stephen A Smith may just be because he sits across from Skip Bayless, who I think wants to be baptized by Tebow.

Michael Smith of the NFL network just puts his foot in his mouth. In my opinion, these guys have been so critical in their previews/reviews of what Tebow may be able to accomplish, they probably won't ever be able to reverse their stance.
 
2011-12-07 12:59:46 PM

roc6783: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

Why not just go straight to the best QB to ever play in the NFL?

[totalpackers.com image 456x326]


Pack fans are starting to get a tad insufferable...
 
2011-12-07 12:59:49 PM

Cndn Bacon: How the hell Tebow gets more love from the media than guys like reigning Superbowl champion and Superbowl MVP and current front runner for 2011 MVP Aaron Rodgers, I'll never know.


It cracks me up how certain Packers fans get all butthurt that every single NFL thread isn't about Aaron Rodgers. We get it, he's the best QB in the NFL right now, yet you whine and cry. Shiat, if I was a Packers fan, I'd be on top of the world right now, not crying about how AR doesn't get enough "respect". He gets plenty of respect from everyone....give it a rest.
 
2011-12-07 01:02:18 PM

InferiousX: [a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net image 553x484]


That meme makes me laugh every time.
 
2011-12-07 01:09:55 PM
I think everyone can agree that Tebow is NOT your ideal quarterback for the NFL. But what's the matter with that? Only a couple of teams have ideal quarterbacks, and everyone else has to make due with the best they can get.

So Aaron Rogers, Tom Brady and Peyton Manning are Ferraris. Roethlisberger and Stafford and Rivers are Corvettes (same general functions but not as good). Tebow is a truck. He's a damn good truck, but he's just not a race-car. So you could spend all your time trying to make the truck run like a race car but all you'll end up with is a crappy truck and a crappy race-car. Just let the truck be the truck and ride him as far as he'll get you.
 
2011-12-07 01:13:11 PM

cefm: So Aaron Rogers, Tom Brady and Peyton Manning are Ferraris. Roethlisberger and Stafford and Rivers are Corvettes (same general functions but not as good). Tebow is a truck. He's a damn good truck, but he's just not a race-car. So you could spend all your time trying to make the truck run like a race car but all you'll end up with is a crappy truck and a crappy race-car. Just let the truck be the truck and ride him as far as he'll get you.


To continue the analogy though, there's going to come a time where he'll have to strap on the big ass tires and face Carzilla. I think you all know what I mean.
 
2011-12-07 01:24:46 PM

degenerate-afro: roc6783: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

Why not just go straight to the best QB to ever play in the NFL?

Because he knows you'll do that for him?


I've been posting pics of different superior quarterbacks in each new Tebow thread in order to hide my bias. That and I wouldn't want to imply that Rodgers is the only quarterback that's superior to Tebow. That being said, this is what the best QB currently in the NFL looks like after tearing apart his opponent's defense.
images.picturesdepot.com
 
2011-12-07 01:29:19 PM
i.imgur.com
 
2011-12-07 01:29:26 PM
Whoops. Wrong pic
onmilwaukee.com
 
2011-12-07 01:34:23 PM

InferiousX: roc6783: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

Why not just go straight to the best QB to ever play in the NFL?

[totalpackers.com image 456x326]

Pack fans are starting to get a tad insufferable...


Starting to? Try living with two for a year like I did in college. I heard about Brett Favre so much I almost viciously murdered one of them. Add onto the fact that they were both Skani's to boot and it got even worse.
 
2011-12-07 01:34:33 PM

InferiousX: roc6783: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

Why not just go straight to the best QB to ever play in the NFL?

[totalpackers.com image 456x326]

Pack fans are starting to get a tad insufferable...


As I posted about 20 minutes ago in the Power Rankings thread, I am insufferable about everything...That makes it ok, right?
 
2011-12-07 01:36:43 PM
And let's not forget

a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net
 
2011-12-07 01:39:34 PM

roc6783: degenerate-afro: degenerate-afro: roc6783: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

Why not just go straight to the best QB to ever play in the NFL?

Because he knows you'll do that for him?

I should also mention that Unitas was the best QB to ever play in the NFL.

You should, but you don't want to sound like an idiot, so you won't, right?


Unitas played in an era where defenses were allowed to hit. Rodgers plays in an era where defenses get flagged for sneezing before the snap.
 
2011-12-07 01:44:41 PM

degenerate-afro: roc6783: degenerate-afro: degenerate-afro: roc6783: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

Why not just go straight to the best QB to ever play in the NFL?

Because he knows you'll do that for him?

I should also mention that Unitas was the best QB to ever play in the NFL.

You should, but you don't want to sound like an idiot, so you won't, right?

Unitas played in an era where defenses were allowed to hit. Rodgers plays in an era where defenses get flagged for sneezing before the snap.


Yeah, that's a context thing there. Unitas in his prime would get killed in today's NFL but he did well in his era.
 
2011-12-07 01:45:00 PM

degenerate-afro: Unitas played in an era where defenses were allowed to hit. Rodgers plays in an era where defenses get flagged for sneezing before the snap.


Rodgers also plays in an era where you're getting rushed by a 275 lb man who can run a 40 about as fast as running backs could in Unitas' time. It's so difficult to play the game of "who's best" when separated by several decades that it's pretty much useless.
 
2011-12-07 02:07:46 PM

cefm: I think everyone can agree that Tebow is NOT your ideal quarterback for the NFL. But what's the matter with that? Only a couple of teams have ideal quarterbacks, and everyone else has to make due with the best they can get.

So Aaron Rogers, Tom Brady and Peyton Manning are Ferraris. Roethlisberger and Stafford and Rivers are Corvettes (same general functions but not as good). Tebow is a truck. He's a damn good truck, but he's just not a race-car. So you could spend all your time trying to make the truck run like a race car but all you'll end up with is a crappy truck and a crappy race-car. Just let the truck be the truck and ride him as far as he'll get you.


I don't think Timmay's religion will allow him to be ridden by any man.
 
2011-12-07 02:17:32 PM

degenerate-afro: Unitas played in an era where defenses were allowed to hit. Rodgers plays in an era where defenses get flagged for sneezing before the snap.


Rogers also plays in an era with defensive lineman/linebackers that could outrun the receivers of Unitas' era.
 
2011-12-07 02:19:05 PM

Wadded Beef: degenerate-afro: roc6783: degenerate-afro: degenerate-afro: roc6783: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

Why not just go straight to the best QB to ever play in the NFL?

Because he knows you'll do that for him?

I should also mention that Unitas was the best QB to ever play in the NFL.

You should, but you don't want to sound like an idiot, so you won't, right?

Unitas played in an era where defenses were allowed to hit. Rodgers plays in an era where defenses get flagged for sneezing before the snap.

Yeah, that's a context thing there. Unitas in his prime would get killed in today's NFL but he did well in his era.


Who was playing defense against Unitas? Here's a look at some of the 1958 NFL All-Pro Team's Defensive Linemen and Linebackers:
Rosey Grier - 6-5, 284 lbs.
Sam Huff - 6-1, 230 lbs.
Fred Williams - 6-4, 249 lbs.
Doug Atkins - 6-8, 257 lbs.
Bill George - 6-2, 237 lbs.
Joe Schmidt - 6-1, 220 lbs.

Now here's some linemen and linebackers from the 2010 All-Pro Team:
Ndamukong Suh - 6-4, 307 lbs.
Julius Peppers - 6-6, 283 lbs.
Clay Matthews - 6-3, 246 lbs.
Patrick Willis - 6-1, 242 lbs.

These aren't very well statistically sampled, but you see that players are bigger. If you look at combine and practice stats, you'd likely see they are faster, stronger, and can impact with more velocity. Players in the 50's weren't the missiles they are today. If you took the players now and let them use the rules from 1958 (they used to let defenders head-slap with the forearm), every starting QB in the league would be out for the season, and half the starting offensive linemen would be out, too.
 
2011-12-07 02:25:15 PM
Tim Tebow is getting praise for what every black quarterback would be getting killed for (he can't throw, he's just run first, run second....etc) and the level of Media blowing him is just hypocritical
 
2011-12-07 02:25:40 PM

Iceberg659: Rogers also plays in an era with defensive lineman/linebackers that could outrun the receivers of Unitas' era.


Rodgers has access to the same 'training methods' and 'nutritional advances' that the linemen do, though. Today's Unitas would probably be faster and more muscular than 1950's Unitas.
 
2011-12-07 02:31:35 PM
"Enjoy the circus while it's in town" can be applied to any professional athlete. You are only there if you can perform.

Tebow has been performing well enough, regardless of the "Mechanics" Retards...
 
2011-12-07 02:32:29 PM

you have pee hands: Iceberg659: Rogers also plays in an era with defensive lineman/linebackers that could outrun the receivers of Unitas' era.

Rodgers has access to the same 'training methods' and 'nutritional advances' that the linemen do, though. Today's Unitas would probably be faster and more muscular than 1950's Unitas.


Psssssst. It's the growth hormone in the chicken.

/Only sort-of kidding
 
2011-12-07 02:39:03 PM

UNC_Samurai: These aren't very well statistically sampled, but you see that players are bigger. If you look at combine and practice stats, you'd likely see they are faster, stronger, and can impact with more velocity. Players in the 50's weren't the missiles they are today. If you took the players now and let them use the rules from 1958 (they used to let defenders head-slap with the forearm), every starting QB in the league would be out for the season, and half the starting offensive linemen would be out, too.


Conversely, if you took the quarterbacks of today and made them play with the rules and defenses of 1958, most of them would poop their pants and find another line of work.

/Don't forget offensive linemen/receivers weren't as big or fast back then, either.
//Rosey Grier would separate Tom Brady's head from his neck on the first play from scrimmage, then carry it home and carve it into an ashtray for his kids.
 
2011-12-07 02:59:12 PM

Morpheses: Psssssst. It's the growth hormone in the chicken.


That's what I was getting at, but I don't know what the chicken has to do with anything.
 
2011-12-07 03:05:31 PM
I understand now... O_O

img267.imageshack.us
 
2011-12-07 03:07:42 PM

nervoust: Tim Tebow is getting praise for what every black quarterback would be getting killed for (he can't throw, he's just run first, run second....etc) and the level of Media blowing him is just hypocritical


9/10. That's how it's done, people.
 
2011-12-07 03:12:17 PM

Captain Steroid: I understand now... O_O

[img267.imageshack.us image 640x544]


+eleventy, awesome.
 
2011-12-07 03:13:50 PM

you have pee hands: Mr Guy: Deep down, they know that those people think how they live their lives is "wrong", and people can't stand being told they are wrong, even if it doesn't otherwise change how they are treated. Refusing to confirm other people's choices is threatening to people, especially if they have a nagging feeling that some of the choices you disagree with actually are harmful choices. People don't LIKE people who believe there is A) an absolutely standard, and B) a standard they aren't living up to.

6.5/10


What is the troll score for? That's the problem. When people say they find overly eager people for ANY belief system annoying, what they are expressing is their irritation with being labeled as an outsider or wrong by the people pushing their belief system. That's true for sports, religion, politics, and people in general. People don't like being told they're wrong. The more anxious they are about whether or not they ARE wrong, they more they'll dislike it. Tebow, in abstract terms, put his religion on display and emphasizes he believes in a religious system that declares large segments of the population are living in sin and need to change their behavior. People get cranky about that, and feel "judged" when people like that are around and obvious.
 
2011-12-07 03:14:10 PM

oh_please: nervoust: Tim Tebow is getting praise for what every black quarterback would be getting killed for (he can't throw, he's just run first, run second....etc) and the level of Media blowing him is just hypocritical

9/10. That's how it's done, people.


Bonus points for not being SLFF, too. Makes it almost believable.
 
2011-12-07 03:18:36 PM

oh_please: nervoust: Tim Tebow is getting praise for what every black quarterback would be getting killed for (he can't throw, he's just run first, run second....etc) and the level of Media blowing him is just hypocritical

9/10. That's how it's done, people.


THIS
 
2011-12-07 03:30:17 PM

Mr Guy: What is the troll score for? That's the problem. When people say they find overly eager people for ANY belief system annoying, what they are expressing is their irritation with being labeled as an outsider or wrong by the people pushing their belief system. That's true for sports, religion, politics, and people in general. People don't like being told they're wrong. The more anxious they are about whether or not they ARE wrong, they more they'll dislike it. Tebow, in abstract terms, put his religion on display and emphasizes he believes in a religious system that declares large segments of the population are living in sin and need to change their behavior. People get cranky about that, and feel "judged" when people like that are around and obvious.


I thought you were trying to toe that line where you've got just enough self righteous condescension in your post to get people to respond without making it overtly hostile. Apparently I was wrong.

Anyway my dislike of overt religious displays has nothing to with them making me question my own choices in life, which they don't, and everything to do with a dislike of hypocrites. For all I know Tebow really is a big strong Ned Flanders but most vocal Christians don't live up to the standards by which they judge everyone else.
 
2011-12-07 03:30:28 PM
Joe Theismann is a prick.

I was working on a show in Burbank, CA. Apparently somebody knew him because he showed up on set one day. He seemed pretty nice at first, standing around just shooting the shiat. The topic of football of course came up and I asked him what he thought of the 49ers that year (my favorite team). He looked at me as if I was crazy, turned his back to me and walked away. You would've thought I had asked him if he preferred tan or albino midget porn.

Joe Theismann is a prick.

/49ers ended up winning the SB that year, suck it Joe.
 
2011-12-07 03:42:22 PM

Captain Steroid: I understand now... O_O

[img267.imageshack.us image 640x544]


If you stole that, you are a god among men. If you made that yourself, and do not finish it for every QB to start a game this year, then post it in next week's Power Rankings thread, you are an abject failure of a human being.
 
2011-12-07 03:50:38 PM

Mercutio74: degenerate-afro: Unitas played in an era where defenses were allowed to hit. Rodgers plays in an era where defenses get flagged for sneezing before the snap.

Rodgers also plays in an era where you're getting rushed by a 275 lb man who can run a 40 about as fast as running backs could in Unitas' time. It's so difficult to play the game of "who's best" when separated by several decades that it's pretty much useless.


Take yesterday's players. Give them today's training facilities and workout schedule and I'm sure they would do just fine. It helps that players today have trainers and staff to help them out all year around.

That being said, he still had gaudy numbers when defenses were allowed to give your receiver "the business" without getting flagged for it. Players routinely got the forearm shiver back then. Also there were still a few one platoon players (players that played both offense and defense) until the 60's. Could you imagine Albert Haynesworth pulling double duty? Neither could I.
 
2011-12-07 03:51:26 PM

roc6783: Captain Steroid: I understand now... O_O

[img267.imageshack.us image 640x544]

If you stole that, you are a god among men. If you made that yourself, and do not finish it for every QB to start a game this year, then post it in next week's Power Rankings thread, you are an abject failure of a human being.


Here is the list, just to help out:

Drew Brees, QB
Matthew Stafford, QB
Tom Brady, QB
Philip Rivers, QB
Eli Manning, QB
Matt Ryan, QB
Joe Flacco, QB
Colt McCoy, QB
Tony Romo, QB
Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB
Cam Newton, QB
Josh Freeman, QB
Aaron Rodgers, QB
Ben Roethlisberger, QB
Mark Sanchez, QB
Matt Hasselbeck, QB
Andy Dalton, QB
Sam Bradford, QB
Tarvaris Jackson, QB
Alex Smith, QB
Rex Grossman, QB
Jay Cutler, QB
Michael Vick, QB
Blaine Gabbert, QB
Matt Schaub, QB
Matt Cassel, QB
Kevin Kolb, QB
Matt Moore, QB
Curtis Painter, QB
Christian Ponder, QB
Carson Palmer, QB
Jason Campbell, QB
Tim Tebow, QB
Donovan McNabb, QB
Kyle Orton, QB
John Beck, QB
John Skelton, QB
Vince Young, QB
Chad Henne, QB
Tyler Palko, QB
Kerry Collins, QB
A.J. Feeley, QB
Caleb Hanie, QB
Dan Orlovsky, QB
Charlie Whitehurst, QB
Luke McCown, QB
T.J. Yates, QB
Josh Johnson, QB
Kyle Boller, QB
Richard Bartel, QB
Jake Locker, QB
Bruce Gradkowski, QB
Mike Kafka, QB
Matt Leinart, QB
 
2011-12-07 04:07:30 PM

degenerate-afro: Take yesterday's players. Give them today's training facilities and workout schedule and I'm sure they would do just fine. It helps that players today have trainers and staff to help them out all year around.

That being said, he still had gaudy numbers when defenses were allowed to give your receiver "the business" without getting flagged for it. Players routinely got the forearm shiver back then. Also there were still a few one platoon players (players that played both offense and defense) until the 60's. Could you imagine Albert Haynesworth pulling double duty? Neither could I.


Exactly, there's too many what if's to compare two athletes who are separated by several decades.
 
2011-12-07 04:42:19 PM

Harv72b: //Rosey Grier would separate Tom Brady's head from his neck on the first play from scrimmage, then carry it home and carve it into an ashtray for his kids.


Then make a needlepoint of it:

Home Is Where The Head Is
 
2011-12-07 05:07:53 PM
If he sucks at passing but scrambles well and is black = MVP

If he sucks at passing but scrambles well while winning games = loser

got it
 
2011-12-07 05:33:48 PM

An-Unnecessarily-Long-Name: If he sucks at passing but scrambles well and is black = MVP

If he sucks at passing but scrambles well while winning games = loser

got it




Child Please!
 
2011-12-07 06:10:39 PM

degenerate-afro: That being said, he still had gaudy numbers when defenses were allowed to give your receiver "the business" without getting flagged for it. Players routinely got the forearm shiver back then. Also there were still a few one platoon players (players that played both offense and defense) until the 60's. Could you imagine Albert Haynesworth pulling double duty? Neither could I.


That just means you have less talent at every position.

/the AFL goes through this complaint every so often with some of the people that like the old way of "Ironman football"
 
2011-12-07 07:02:58 PM

pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]


If you want superior QB, put a pic of Rodgers or Brady up. At least Tebow hasn't found a way to lose those close games like Romo.

//Not much of a Tebow fan, just a big hater of QBs who are given more praise than should for playing as
inconsistent as he does.

And it doesn't shock me that Cunningham likes Tebow's play. He does remind me of Cunningham. The running style, not the arm, NFL IQ, or questionable on the field leadership.
 
2011-12-07 07:23:05 PM

scotty3281: pheelix: Another Tebow thread, another pic of a superior quarterback.
[images.paraorkut.com image 298x420]

If you want superior QB, put a pic of Rodgers or Brady up. At least Tebow hasn't found a way to lose those close games like Romo.

//Not much of a Tebow fan, just a big hater of QBs who are given more praise than should for playing as
inconsistent as he does.

And it doesn't shock me that Cunningham likes Tebow's play. He does remind me of Cunningham. The running style, not the arm, NFL IQ, or questionable on the field leadership.


I've been posting pics of different superior quarterbacks in each new Tebow thread.

/Apparently this bears repeating.
 
2011-12-07 07:25:25 PM

pheelix: I've been posting pics of different superior quarterbacks in each new Tebow thread.


You're noticing another large flaw in the process of multi-thread posting. Yeesh, people still ask robsul82 what the Jake is for.
 
2011-12-07 08:02:20 PM

IAmRight: pheelix: I've been posting pics of different superior quarterbacks in each new Tebow thread.

You're noticing another large flaw in the process of multi-thread posting. Yeesh, people still ask robsul82 what the Jake is for.


Your comment gave me an idea. I just started keeping a list of quarterbacks I've already posted in Tebow threads.

/I thought VY's hairdo was a nice touch.
 
2011-12-07 08:04:03 PM

Huck And Molly Ziegler: Oh, joy. Another Tebow thread.
Isn't it about time we check in with our buddies at Penn State again??


I LOLED'D
 
2011-12-07 08:20:56 PM

UNC_Samurai: Pratty: UNC_Samurai: bel4sucks: UNC_Samurai: But he's also said things that indicate the long-term future of the franchise lies elsewhere. My personal hope is that Elway can somehow trade Tebow for Jacksonville's first-round pick (right now it would be #4. Then, trade both picks (#4 and #26) and some other lower-round picks for Indy's #1, and draft Luck.

So your plan involves the Broncos betting the farm on a guy who might work out, to get rid of the guy actually getting it done now. I remember the opinions being pretty divided between Leaf and Manning in their draft, how did that end up working out?

Tebow isn't a long-term solution. He may get them to the playoffs this year, but that organization knows the reality of running that offense with an entire offseason to prepare against it.

Can I see your crystal ball? As a Las Vegas man, I could have some real use for it.

In regards to Luck? I'll admit that's wishful thinking. But Tebow? He's running a gimmick offense, and how long were the Run & Shoot or the Wildcat successful?


The Run & Shoot is a pretty bad example. It was first used in 1987 in the NFL by the Houston Oilers and last used all the way in 1998, for a span of 12 years. Some of the later teams were not successful, but a lot of times that was a talent problem: Ryan Leaf was the QB for quite a bit while the Chargers used the Run & Shoot in 1998.

If you want to talk last successful? Probably the 1996 Jacksonville Jaguars, who went 9-7 and to the Conference Championship Game with Mark Brunell at QB. They were ranked 14th of 30 in points for, which isn't terrible but isn't great. They were first in the NFL in passing yards, although they were only league average level in TDs through the air: In total, 17th in passing TDs and 14th in rushing TDs. Their offense was most likely stymied by the fact that the Jags threw 20 INTs, good for tying 9th in the league, along with allowing the third most sacks in the league.

The Run and Shoot with the right personnel worked fine. Many of the best modern offenses, most notably the current Patriots, Saints and Packers, run offenses based on the Run & Shoot and other spread offenses.

Even if you assume the spread only worked from the 1987 Oilers to the 1996 Jaguars, that's nine years, which is plenty long for the lifespan of a QB.
 
2011-12-07 08:51:08 PM
tamu-and-baseball.com
Boy, that escalated quickly... I mean, that really got out of hand fast.
 
2011-12-07 08:54:15 PM
Ya know, Tim Tebow is only 2 wins, 7 losses, 1 TD and 15 interceptions away from matching Drew Brees second year.
 
Displayed 50 of 161 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all



This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report