If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Consumerist)   If you're eating dinner at a restaurant and decide to air your negative opinion about the place on Twitter while still eating, don't be shocked if you get kicked out   (consumerist.com) divider line 257
    More: PSA, Twitter, Houston Press, tweeters, dinner  
•       •       •

24508 clicks; posted to Main » on 18 Aug 2011 at 7:18 AM (2 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



257 Comments   (+0 »)
   

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all
 
2011-08-18 04:09:57 AM
Remember, the internet is not anonymous and freedom of speech works both ways.
 
2011-08-18 04:34:23 AM
Sounds like the woman is a twunt
 
2011-08-18 04:35:30 AM
a smarter move would have been to call up the bartender and tell him to be extra kind to her. That's assuming she wasn't making any kind of screen in the place and was just posting her opinion, not shouting it out.
 
2011-08-18 04:40:19 AM
Hey, free meal.
 
2011-08-18 05:13:48 AM

log_jammin: a smarter move would have been to call up the bartender and tell him to be extra kind to her. That's assuming she wasn't making any kind of screen in the place and was just posting her opinion, not shouting it out.


I hate it when women make a screen.
 
2011-08-18 05:16:42 AM

doglover: I hate it when women make a screen.



tube type.
 
2011-08-18 05:25:06 AM
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
 
2011-08-18 07:21:12 AM
How much spit was in her food before they kicked her out?
 
2011-08-18 07:24:52 AM
Normally I'm not going to side with consumerist-style whining.

But, this seems more like the actions of a little-Napoleon manager than the fault of the customer.
 
2011-08-18 07:25:40 AM

Mad Scientist: How much spit was in her food before they kicked her out?


It was pretty much all spit by that point.
 
2011-08-18 07:25:59 AM
If I lived closer I'd be there tonight to give them my business. Too many managers/owners are unwilling to stand up for their staff, and will let employees be abused by customers all day long. I say bravo!
 
2011-08-18 07:26:56 AM

Mad Scientist: How much spit was in her food before they kicked her out?


Maybe she found it hard to swallow...
 
2011-08-18 07:26:58 AM
Who still says twerp? How old was this person, 80?
 
2011-08-18 07:27:25 AM
In her defence, it is entirely possible that the bartender genuinely is a twerp.
 
2011-08-18 07:28:19 AM
Could somebody please post the soup nazi?
 
2011-08-18 07:33:20 AM
White people problems.
 
2011-08-18 07:34:08 AM
Maybe it is because I am old, but I fail to see the point in announcing to the world your opinion of a bartender. Have we become truly a nation of attention whores whose sole purpose is the production of narcissistic drivel?

Don't like the barkeep, don't tip the barkeep

Instead, wee precious wankstain needs to proclaim her assessment.

I don't get it.
 
2011-08-18 07:35:09 AM
It's my position that if you are genuinely offended by someone calling you a twerp, not even to your face, you most likely are in fact a twerp.
 
2011-08-18 07:36:30 AM
Freedom of speech only protect you from the government, not from another citizen,
 
2011-08-18 07:36:55 AM
So the manager, from home, calls the bartender, and asks him to hand the phone to the person who tweeted it? What was he doing, watching for the #jackoff tag?
 
2011-08-18 07:37:08 AM

eejack: Maybe it is because I am old, but I fail to see the point in announcing to the world your opinion of a bartender. Have we become truly a nation of attention whores whose sole purpose is the production of narcissistic drivel?


. . . Posts the guy on a message board.
 
2011-08-18 07:38:13 AM
After reading the Houston Press article (^pops), I believe that fault can be pinned to both parties.

The bartender was bad-mouthing another bar/restaurant owner within ear shot of customers.. namely, a customer who may know the other owner. The manager's reaction seems over-the-top and will cause a lot more damage than one of the staff (who may or may not be an actual "twerp" or "#jackoff") being insulted by a guest.

Nevertheless, the twat twit who was doing the insulting should expect retaliation and a less than kind reaction if she's going to talk shiat whilst sitting in the establishment.
 
2011-08-18 07:38:37 AM

eejack: Maybe it is because I am old, but I fail to see the point in announcing to the world your opinion of a bartender. Have we become truly a nation of attention whores whose sole purpose is the production of narcissistic drivel?

Don't like the barkeep, don't tip the barkeep

Instead, wee precious wankstain needs to proclaim her assessment.

I don't get it.


thank you for posting your opinion about people who post their opinions.
 
2011-08-18 07:39:41 AM
Constructive criticism or even just flat out criticism, warranted or not: take it on the chin. Actual abuse - GTFO.
 
2011-08-18 07:40:05 AM

EatHam: So the manager, from home, calls the bartender, and asks him to hand the phone to the person who tweeted it? What was he doing, watching for the #jackoff tag? thing

 
2011-08-18 07:40:29 AM

Scrambled Zen: Who still says twerp? How old was this person, 80?


And what the hell is a 'jackoff'?

I believe its proper term is 'jagoff' which means to ejagulate when the white stuff comes out.
 
2011-08-18 07:40:45 AM

log_jammin: a smarter move would have been to call up the bartender and tell him to be extra kind to her.


I probably would have booted her too. Calling the bartender a twerp and a jackoff isn't exactly a valid critique of the service.
 
2011-08-18 07:41:56 AM
Don't spray paint your gripes on the wall. I'm just sayin' . . . .
 
2011-08-18 07:43:05 AM
The manager was a farking idiot. Maybe the customer was a coont, but he is in the business of serving people! He should have tried to figure out what was wrong with the customer's dining experience and fixed it.
 
2011-08-18 07:43:27 AM

eejack: Maybe it is because I am old, but I fail to see the point in announcing to the world your opinion of a bartender. Have we become truly a nation of attention whores whose sole purpose is the production of narcissistic drivel?

Don't like the barkeep, don't tip the barkeep

Instead, wee precious wankstain needs to proclaim her assessment.

I don't get it.


You sound fat. And old. And ugly. And bitter.
 
2011-08-18 07:44:22 AM

BorgiaGinz: The manager was a farking idiot. Maybe the customer was a coont, but he is in the business of serving people! He should have tried to figure out what was wrong with the customer's dining experience and fixed it.


Don't expect that manager to be around much longer if this thing gains any more traction locally.
 
2011-08-18 07:44:32 AM

GungFu: Scrambled Zen: Who still says twerp? How old was this person, 80?

And what the hell is a 'jackoff'?

I believe its proper term is 'jagoff' which means to ejagulate when the white stuff comes out.


Jackoff (new window)
 
2011-08-18 07:45:03 AM

HotWingConspiracy: I probably would have booted her too. Calling the bartender a twerp and a jackoff isn't exactly a valid critique of the service.


meh. If she was saying that loudly in the business, sure. but "tweeting" it? bad form.

but to be honest, this isn't a situation that where I really care what happened. mostly because I'll never find myself tweeting about the service while i'm at a restaurant.
 
2011-08-18 07:45:07 AM

eejack: Maybe it is because I am old, but I fail to see the point in announcing to the world your opinion of a bartender. Have we become truly a nation of attention whores whose sole purpose is the production of narcissistic drivel?

Don't like the barkeep, don't tip the barkeep

Instead, wee precious wankstain needs to proclaim her assessment.

I don't get it.


Me either.
Hi my name is Abbey and I has never twittered or whatever the fark it is called. I can't stand to be around anyone who can't put their phone down and has to report their every move. It shows a complete insecurity and lack of respect for your companions and surroundings.
Yes, I would have kicked her ass out too.
She left in tears? Hmm, I wonder if she realized that she strung her own noose?
 
2011-08-18 07:45:10 AM
I was going to jump in and defend the customer, but it seems she's just one of those AW's, according to that article, she basically butted into a conversation where a bartender was talking about the owner of another local bar (Anvil, looks like) and biatched about that on twitter:

The tweet in question:
"I like how I'm sitting at Down House and the twerp behind the bar is saying, 'and I quote Bobby Heugel....' #jackoff."

/guys still overreacted
//chick overreacted, too
 
2011-08-18 07:47:44 AM

EatHam: So the manager, from home, calls the bartender, and asks him to hand the phone to the person who tweeted it? What was he doing, watching for the #jackoff tag?


It's not unusual for business owners to set up Google Alerts on their names.
/ or celebrities
 
2011-08-18 07:48:14 AM
How did anyone know it was she who tweeted? Obviously they got the right person, but did the owner say "let me speak to the person who was just tweeting a second ago?" or did he look at her profile pic and say hand the phone to *describes pic?*
 
2011-08-18 07:48:53 AM
A douche cannot put down her smart phone and gets kicked out while still in the establishment? Yeah, she must be a fun dinner date.
 
2011-08-18 07:49:18 AM
twerp?

really??
 
2011-08-18 07:50:49 AM

log_jammin: HotWingConspiracy: I probably would have booted her too. Calling the bartender a twerp and a jackoff isn't exactly a valid critique of the service.

meh. If she was saying that loudly in the business, sure. but "tweeting" it? bad form.

but to be honest, this isn't a situation that where I really care what happened. mostly because I'll never find myself tweeting about the service while i'm at a restaurant.


I dunno, tweeting (I hate that I have to use this word) it can potentially reach more eyes and ears than bugging out in the restaurant.

But I'm with you, this is not a situation I'll ever find myself in, as I don't tweet and I know how to communicate complaints to restaurants in a manner that saves them embarrassment and gets me taken care of.
 
2011-08-18 07:51:42 AM
BorgiaGinz: The manager was a farking idiot. Maybe the customer was a coont, but he is in the business of serving people! He should have tried to figure out what was wrong with the customer's dining experience and fixed it.

He did. She was the problem. He removed the problem. Dining experience fixed. We reserve the right to not serve anyone we choose.

As a former restauranteur, and a regular diner, I expect the best possible service and quality product. But I don't tweet about it, and if I were to do so, I'd sure as hell have a better reason than not liking the bartender. I certainly do not want to be dining with twats like that nearby poisoning my atmosphere and wasting my air. Fark her, she deserved to get booted, along with other obnoxious drunks, people with screaming brats, and generally anyone who wants to biatch, whine, and moan about irrelevant things. Just because the world is full of pretards, doesn't mean we have to put up with them.

The customer isn't always right. I'd give this manager a pay raise, because if he's watching his bloody twit account to see how the business is going in his down time, clearly he has the business's best interests in mind over his own personal life. Guys like that are hard to find.
 
2011-08-18 07:51:54 AM

monkeydoodledandy: How did anyone know it was she who tweeted? Obviously they got the right person, but did the owner say "let me speak to the person who was just tweeting a second ago?" or did he look at her profile pic and say hand the phone to *describes pic?*


*Manager gets email about alert being set off*
Manager calls bar: "There some lady texting on her cell at the bar, probably sitting alone?"
Bartender: "Yeah..."
 
2011-08-18 07:52:06 AM

ImThinkin: If I lived closer I'd be there tonight to give them my business. Too many managers/owners are unwilling to stand up for their staff, and will let employees be abused by customers all day long. I say bravo!


On the flip side, too many managers let staff get away with poor service or run the restaurant like it's their own personal banana republic.

Sometimes you have the pleasure of dealing with someone who shouldn't be in any type of customer service position.

And sometimes, you just have a bad experience because one or both sides of the equation messed up or due to some random third party (i.e., kitchen bungled the order, or the daily special just sold out).

It's at this point that an intelligent person identifies the situation and reacts accordingly...

and it's at this point that so many of us learn that there aren't that many intelligent people out there.
 
2011-08-18 07:53:49 AM
Well, now I've changed my own opinion. That c*nt started tweeting BS at the guy (Bobby Heugel) who she claimed to be defending in the first place.
 
2011-08-18 07:56:46 AM

Scrambled Zen: Who still says twerp? How old was this person, 80?


I say twerp. Also, jalopy and davenport.

Twerp.
 
2011-08-18 08:00:44 AM

BorgiaGinz: The manager was a farking idiot. Maybe the customer was a coont, but he is in the business of serving people! He should have tried to figure out what was wrong with the customer's dining experience and fixed it.


Or at least ASKED her on the phone what the problem was.
 
2011-08-18 08:01:11 AM
Heh, she got banned from the bar of the guy she tried to White Knight, too:

https://twitter.com/#!/Bobby_Heugel/status/104016619705090049 (new window)
 
2011-08-18 08:02:54 AM

thespindrifter: BorgiaGinz: The manager was a farking idiot. Maybe the customer was a coont, but he is in the business of serving people! He should have tried to figure out what was wrong with the customer's dining experience and fixed it.

He did. She was the problem. He removed the problem. Dining experience fixed. We reserve the right to not serve anyone we choose.

As a former restauranteur, and a regular diner, I expect the best possible service and quality product. But I don't tweet about it, and if I were to do so, I'd sure as hell have a better reason than not liking the bartender. I certainly do not want to be dining with twats like that nearby poisoning my atmosphere and wasting my air. Fark her, she deserved to get booted, along with other obnoxious drunks, people with screaming brats, and generally anyone who wants to biatch, whine, and moan about irrelevant things. Just because the world is full of pretards, doesn't mean we have to put up with them.

The customer isn't always right. I'd give this manager a pay raise, because if he's watching his bloody twit account to see how the business is going in his down time, clearly he has the business's best interests in mind over his own personal life. Guys like that are hard to find.


Yep. I'd put her in the same category as the clowns who think it's funny to be indecisive when you're at their table during a slammed lunch hour, only to call from their table to place an order; or ask for more whatever. Bonus, their kid is shrieking.

/former sin
 
2011-08-18 08:03:44 AM
I'd side on the tweeter - not exactly the smartest thing to do towards a customer.

Kicking someone out doesn't fix the problem, it only gets rid of the person that did it.
 
2011-08-18 08:05:39 AM
She must be a real prize. I wonder if she insult tweets her gyno while he's mining her shaft?
 
Displayed 50 of 257 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all



This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report