Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(CapAlert)   CAP reviews Rat Race   ( ) divider line
    More: Amusing  
•       •       •

1659 clicks; posted to Main » on 21 Sep 2001 at 8:55 AM (15 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»

13 Comments     (+0 »)
2001-09-21 09:50:47 AM  
i take it farkers aren't riled up by CAP anymore? Rat Race was a great movie BTW
2001-09-21 10:03:22 AM  
I always love how they point out that there was anything remotly homosexual.... Silly extremist christians ;)
2001-09-21 10:10:39 AM  
Thanks to CAP, I now want to see this movie.

"nipple piercing - repeatedly, both male and female, both seen, female with connective chains "

Connected nipple rings on boobies? HELLS YEAH!!!!
2001-09-21 10:32:52 AM  
CAP made that movie sound better than it was. I liked it, but it would have been a lot better if they'd shown the nipple piercing on the chick (they didn't, he said they did).
Yes, I know I repeated myself redundently. =)

God save our kids from viewing leg wrapping.
2001-09-21 12:00:55 PM  
The CAP Analysis Model makes no scoring allowances for trumped-up "messages" to excuse or for manufacturing of justification for aberrant behavior or imagery, or for camouflaging such ignominy with "redeeming" programming
I would like these people to do a review of the bible using this same criteria. It would not look good on their WISDOM chart. Christ's message is not a excuse for depicting a man nailed to the cross. Don't even get me started on the Old Testament.

That said, I think these people definitely fit the "amusing" tag :)
2001-09-21 03:13:39 PM  
this is a funny flick, check out the article on brunching
2001-09-21 04:04:31 PM  
Okay, how is "planning crime" wanton? It's right there, under "wanton violence and crime," and I fail to see how just planning makes something wanton. If I think about unzipping my pants, am I wantonly waving my penis out of a Greyhound bus at passersby? No, I'm planning. Then again, this guy *always* lists flatulence under Impudence/Hate, so there's no telling how his warped mind thinks.
2001-09-21 04:30:50 PM  
"An age-old excuse was used by Owen when approached by one of the Lucys who was complaining that the bus lavatory door latch was broken and that someone might see. The excuse Owen used was that the other Lucys won't see anything they haven't seen before."

I think CAP missed a pretty good joke here. I mean, what with them all LOOKING the same and everything...

2001-09-21 09:02:44 PM  
"Of course, the first example of pushing the envelope in this PG-13 is flatulence."

Boy, I hope the MPAA finds out about this one! Farting in a PG-13 (notice how they didn't say "movie"), how did the censors let this one slip through?
2001-09-21 09:58:13 PM  
Number 1 reason to see Rat Race(sorry for the size)

[image from too old to be available]
2001-09-21 10:40:45 PM  
What cracks me up is they're rating everything BUT G movies, it seems. I mean come on, anything PG and up, it's obvious there are things some parents aren't gonna want the kiddies to see--especially R movies! You don't need them doing a run-down on what's in an R movie, for example, any intelligent person wouldn't take a 5-year-old to see it and expect it to be squeaky-clean!

And what is with these people and biological functions? Talk about prudery....
2001-09-21 10:53:59 PM  
Man, they really over analyze things. I'm sure that even Bambi would deem unacceptable by them. Yeesh.
2001-09-22 12:05:05 AM  
What's disturbing about the CAP is their review of "The Last Days" which received a score of "N/A". If you didn't know, "The Last Days" is a documentary of the concentration camp attrocities perpetrated against the Jews. I won't overexplain the review, but he states that while we need to maintain accurate records of what occurred during World War II, "there is NO need to make a film like this as entertainment"...WTF!?! Is this guy f'ing STONED? I honestly don't believe that this documentary was made in the spirit of ENTERTAINMENT!

"Hey pick up a six-pack and some microwave popcorn, dude; WE'RE GONNA WATCH US A HOLOCAUST FLICK!!!"


He even goes so far to gripe about the inclusion of photographs of nude dead bodies. He deems this as gratuitous. I could go on for HOURS about whats wrong with that line of reasoning, but I think that most of the people who read this site can understand what I'm trying to convey here. Clueless. The man is utterly, utterly clueless. I suppose he'd have us believe that the Nazis kidnapped six or so million Jews and made them disappear into thin air, never to be seen again.

On a lighter note:

"O", the excellent remake of Othello, rated a 12, the same as "Natural Born Killers". While I found Killers to be rather entertaining, even I found parts of it to be pretty goddamned offensive. "O" didn't touch it by a damn site.

"Idle Hands" rated a 2, but nowhere does he mention the fact that it's nothing but a 90 minute ripoff of a 5 minute scene in Evil Dead 2. Now THAT'S offensive.

Also, he rated "Dogma" twice: the first for a partial viewing (38 minutes), the second for the full viewing. It rated a 28 (I think) and a 6, respectively.

Finally, "Scary Movie" earned a 0, while "Mary Poppins" merited a 100. Nothing to add to that, just thought it was interesting.

I'm sure many of you are already aware of the majority of what I just posted, but others might not be. Also, I just needed to vent after being steeped in such insanity. Thank you for your time.
Displayed 13 of 13 comments

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter

In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.