If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Reuters)   The reviews are in: James Cameron's Avatar is an overblown mess. Just kidding, critics are calling it "jaw-dropping" and "mind-blowing"   (reuters.com) divider line 366
    More: Spiffy  
•       •       •

7057 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 11 Dec 2009 at 7:36 AM (4 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



366 Comments   (+0 »)
   

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all
 
2009-12-11 12:58:34 AM
"Dances With Smurfs"
 
2009-12-11 01:09:13 AM
He's one of my favorite directors, so I hope it's as good as advertised.
 
2009-12-11 01:19:33 AM
I plan on altering my state considerably and seeing it just for the effects. If it's a good movie on top of that I will be very happy indeed.
 
2009-12-11 01:26:27 AM
It looks really cheezy.
 
2009-12-11 02:41:27 AM
Confabulat: I plan on altering my state considerably and seeing it just for the effects. If it's a good movie on top of that I will be very happy indeed.

Sounds "jaw-locking" and "mind-growing".
 
2009-12-11 02:44:04 AM
"Jaw-dropping" and "mind-blowing" I think are the reasons why Mrs. Tiger Woods used a 5-iron on her husband.
 
2009-12-11 02:59:57 AM
don't believe the hype!
 
2009-12-11 03:22:55 AM
I want my mind to be blown.
 
2009-12-11 04:00:48 AM
AP review: Effects wow but story limps in `Avatar' (new window)

Looks like even with $150 million in marketing costs, they couldn't bribe all the reviewers.
 
2009-12-11 04:10:35 AM
syrynxx: AP review: Effects wow but story limps in `Avatar' (new window)

Looks like even with $150 million in marketing costs, they couldn't bribe all the reviewers.


Even that's not a bad review, just not a gushing one.
 
2009-12-11 04:17:54 AM
Even if this film manages to bring in more than it cost to make, what's the point? The ratio of investment to payout will be horrible. For the cost of one Avatar film they could have made a dozen lower budget films that gross five times what they cost to make.
 
2009-12-11 05:05:05 AM
Is Peter Travers one of those "critics"?
 
2009-12-11 05:40:08 AM
If I go in expecting special effects, I should be fine. If I go in expecting a great plot, I will be disappointed.

Still reeks of World of Warcraft meets Dances with Wolves.
 
2009-12-11 06:48:18 AM
Schadenfreude ist die schoenste Freude: Even if this film manages to bring in more than it cost to make, what's the point? The ratio of investment to payout will be horrible. For the cost of one Avatar film they could have made a dozen lower budget films that gross five times what they cost to make.

no no no stop, that's how reality tv got popular. let studios waste money every once in a while. If it blows, at least it's cheaper for the next director to hijack the machines.
 
2009-12-11 07:01:12 AM
Looking forward to Mark Kermode's review this afteroon.
 
2009-12-11 07:20:31 AM
thunderbaseball.files.wordpress.com
 
2009-12-11 07:46:20 AM
Schadenfreude ist die schoenste Freude: Even if this film manages to bring in more than it cost to make, what's the point? The ratio of investment to payout will be horrible. For the cost of one Avatar film they could have made a dozen lower budget films that gross five times what they cost to make.

A lot of the money spent on the film was the development of new technology. Even if the film breaks even, they'll come out on top by either licensing out the new technology or using the new technology on their next bloated film budget.
 
2009-12-11 07:47:49 AM
Given that critics as a whole 'reviewed the hype' when it came to Titanic which got glowing praise on the basis of its budget, I'll reserve judgement until I see it.

I've a general dislike of films which rely on audience guilt and just go "humans are evil!!!" at you for a couple of hours.
 
2009-12-11 07:49:40 AM
api.ning.com
 
2009-12-11 07:51:19 AM
Translation: Movies have caught back up with video games in terms of merging story telling with technology and sweeping narrative and movie reviewers are calling it revolutionary. Isnt this what always happens in the movie industry?
 
2009-12-11 07:53:42 AM
Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year
 
2009-12-11 07:57:14 AM
I really want this movie to be awesome, but I'm having a hard time imagining that it will be. Even the special effects (which so many people are calling revolutionary) just don't look good to me. Impressive, from a technical standpoint, but not good.

Watching the CGI-heavy scenes in the trailer, I can't quite get immersed enough in the effects to believe that they're real. There's just this nagging voice in the back of my head pointing out little details that just don't look quite right.

I hope that I'm wrong, because I really want this movie to be great. I'm just really skeptical right now.
 
2009-12-11 08:02:03 AM
Confabulat: syrynxx: AP review: Effects wow but story limps in `Avatar' (new window)

Looks like even with $150 million in marketing costs, they couldn't bribe all the reviewers.

Even that's not a bad review, just not a gushing one.


It was also the same criticism leveled at Titanic.
 
2009-12-11 08:04:04 AM
I saw Avatar last night at the London Premier.

It was awesome. It'll be remembered like Star Wars.
 
2009-12-11 08:04:30 AM
I'll see it, even if it is merely Dances with Draenei.
 
2009-12-11 08:05:05 AM
Marshmallow Jones: Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year


Inglorious Basterds sucked dick.
 
2009-12-11 08:06:16 AM
Dog Welder: A lot of the money spent on the film was the development of new technology. Even if the film breaks even, they'll come out on top by either licensing out the new technology or using the new technology on their next bloated film budget.

Most of which will be done just as well by other studios. It's not like they're the only ones who will ever develop a way to create realistic CGI smurfs.
 
2009-12-11 08:06:59 AM
Hmmm. Disabled guy uses an Avatar to explore an inhospitable planet.

I read this years ago. (new window)
 
2009-12-11 08:13:58 AM
johnnyboog: Marshmallow Jones: Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year

Inglorious Basterds sucked dick.


After the farmhouse it's all downhill except for Christoph Waltz.
 
2009-12-11 08:14:56 AM
johnnyboog: Marshmallow Jones: Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year

Inglorious Basterds sucked dick.
 
2009-12-11 08:16:08 AM
The Dreaded Rear Admiral: johnnyboog: Marshmallow Jones: Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year

Inglorious Basterds sucked dick.


D'oh. Anyways. SHUT YOUR WHORE MOUTH

emocomputerjock: johnnyboog: Marshmallow Jones: Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year

Inglorious Basterds sucked dick.

After the farmhouse it's all downhill except for Christoph Waltz.


BEAR JEW
 
2009-12-11 08:16:37 AM
Rotten Tomatoes has 11 reviews in at 100% so far.

/still a long way to go
//but suck it haters!
 
2009-12-11 08:18:36 AM
Please cut and paste for all Avatar threads:


"I haven't seen it, but I know it's totally crap and I will not be seeing it. Has anyone noticed the story is a direct lift of (insert obscure novella here), and a South Park episode about blue smurfs? This is going to bomb and go turkey like his last movie. CGI FAIL. James Cameron, the poor man's Michael Bay."
 
2009-12-11 08:18:59 AM
Yukon Cornelius: I really want this movie to be awesome, but I'm having a hard time imagining that it will be. Even the special effects (which so many people are calling revolutionary) just don't look good to me. Impressive, from a technical standpoint, but not good.

Watching the CGI-heavy scenes in the trailer, I can't quite get immersed enough in the effects to believe that they're real. There's just this nagging voice in the back of my head pointing out little details that just don't look quite right.

I hope that I'm wrong, because I really want this movie to be great. I'm just really skeptical right now.


I thought the same as you, before I saw the film. It really does look much better in the theater than it does on youtube clips.
 
2009-12-11 08:20:10 AM
I've never seen a single James Cameron film.
I have no intention of starting now.

I am, however, curious to see how the new Sherlock Holmes turns out.
 
2009-12-11 08:21:07 AM
The English Major: I've never seen a single James Cameron film.
I have no intention of starting now.

I am, however, curious to see how the new Sherlock Holmes turns out.


If you've never seen Aliens or Terminator 2, why are you even ON the Showbiz tab?
 
2009-12-11 08:22:49 AM
I'm waiting for the real Avatar movie.

C'mon July!
 
2009-12-11 08:23:14 AM
Schadenfreude ist die schoenste Freude: Even if this film manages to bring in more than it cost to make, what's the point? The ratio of investment to payout will be horrible. For the cost of one Avatar film they could have made a dozen lower budget films that gross five times what they cost to make.

From what I understand, they pioneered some new techniques, so they'll likely make some money off of that as well.
 
2009-12-11 08:26:38 AM
Marshmallow Jones: Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year



When you masturbate and then achieve orgasm, do you shoot out premium quality caviar? And then wipe yourself with silk handkerchiefs scented with the virginal love juices of 18th century princesses?

You sound hoity toity, fat.
 
2009-12-11 08:26:40 AM
Confabulat: The English Major: I've never seen a single James Cameron film.
I have no intention of starting now.

I am, however, curious to see how the new Sherlock Holmes turns out.

If you've never seen Aliens or Terminator 2, why are you even ON the Showbiz tab?


Fair point. I've never bee interested in either franchise.
 
2009-12-11 08:28:08 AM
While the trailers don't look good to me, it is amusing to think about the shock and outrage the internet-snark community might have if it does well.

"Hey waitaminute - we already decided that this is bad..."
 
2009-12-11 08:28:10 AM
Julio Lopez: Yukon Cornelius: I really want this movie to be awesome, but I'm having a hard time imagining that it will be. Even the special effects (which so many people are calling revolutionary) just don't look good to me. Impressive, from a technical standpoint, but not good.

Watching the CGI-heavy scenes in the trailer, I can't quite get immersed enough in the effects to believe that they're real. There's just this nagging voice in the back of my head pointing out little details that just don't look quite right.

I hope that I'm wrong, because I really want this movie to be great. I'm just really skeptical right now.

I thought the same as you, before I saw the film. It really does look much better in the theater than it does on youtube clips.


Welcome to the uncanny valley, which applies not onto to humanoid like depictions but also anything for which we already have a preconceived notion for.

Things are just TO perfect in Blue Thundercat Land.
 
2009-12-11 08:31:45 AM
Schadenfreude ist die schoenste Freude: Even if this film manages to bring in more than it cost to make, what's the point? The ratio of investment to payout will be horrible. For the cost of one Avatar film they could have made a dozen lower budget films that gross five times what they cost to make.

Dozens of lower budget films have been made and have spent all of a day or two at your local art cinema before being relegated to the $1 dvd bin at your local best buy.
 
2009-12-11 08:31:53 AM
Always good to see a movie Fark pans as horrible turn out to be good. Not that it will change anything here but it's good to see the egg hit the face once in awhile.
 
2009-12-11 08:33:25 AM
IdBeCrazyIf: canny valley, which applies not onto to humanoid like depictions but also anything for which we already have a precon

Fair point. But, man, I gotta say, it was a very immersive film.

No blue furries running around, but they didn't have a red carpet, they had a blue carpet. For the world wide premier of the movie, it was more low-key than you'd expect.
 
2009-12-11 08:35:49 AM
Savage Belief: I'm waiting for the real Avatar movie.

C'mon July!


Seconded.

www.filmofilia.com
 
2009-12-11 08:38:44 AM
GungFu: Marshmallow Jones: Ahhh another entry in the 'CGI crapfest with a plot written for retards' award category. Running against 2012 and every comic book movie.


/at least we got 'The Road', 'Inglorious Basterds', 'Moon' & 'Up' this year


When you masturbate and then achieve orgasm, do you shoot out premium quality caviar? And then wipe yourself with silk handkerchiefs scented with the virginal love juices of 18th century princesses?

You sound hoity toity, fat.


awesome. just awesome. you had me at caviar almost lost me with the handkerchief but the princess love juices. brilliant.
 
2009-12-11 08:40:35 AM
GungFu: When you masturbate and then achieve orgasm, do you shoot out premium quality caviar?

Does grade 2 caviar count as quality?
 
2009-12-11 08:45:59 AM
The English Major: Confabulat: The English Major: I've never seen a single James Cameron film.
I have no intention of starting now.

I am, however, curious to see how the new Sherlock Holmes turns out.

If you've never seen Aliens or Terminator 2, why are you even ON the Showbiz tab?

Fair point. I've never bee interested in either franchise.


What? You've never seen Piranha Part Two: The Spawning?


/The Abyss was a great movie.
 
2009-12-11 08:46:19 AM
Fergully meets Halo in Video Game Cut Scene: The Movie!
 
Displayed 50 of 366 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all



This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report