Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Sepinwall)   The reviews for Flash Foward are pouring in, and they seem to be in agreement: " The show doesn't seem to have the energy that LOST does. It's like they made the show and modeled every character after Kate."   (sepinwall.blogspot.com) divider line 151
    More: Amusing, Kate, Flash Foward, Seth MacFarlane, American accent, public transportation, alan, roadways, Kaiser  
•       •       •

2159 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 25 Sep 2009 at 5:24 PM (5 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



151 Comments   (+0 »)
   

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2009-09-25 03:43:50 PM  
I'll be tuning in next week, but I think the show has some structural problems. The entire show can't just be clues coming together to prove that the flashes are real, because that's boring as hell. What's the narrative structure? Lost has flashbacks, BSG had a long arc of getting to earth, procedural shows have...procedure. What is FF's method of storytelling? I feel like its sort of lacking that now. They also need to get betters dialogue writers, and a little humor in the future.

On the plus side, the show was extremely creepy, in a good way. The acting was solid, the music and design was great, and that twist at the end was a pretty solid WTF moment, made even better by it being in a baseball stadium.

I still want to know the deal with that Kangaroo. Is it Sam Merlotte?
 
2009-09-25 03:49:35 PM  
My initial impression of the show is that its a movie idea they're hoping can be stretched out a few seasons. They shoulda made a movie out of it.
 
2009-09-25 03:53:52 PM  
csxtrainwreck: My initial impression of the show is that its a movie idea they're hoping can be stretched out a few seasons. They shoulda made a movie out of it.

I agree. It strikes me as a movie premise. But who knows - the book series its based on has a long story, right?
 
2009-09-25 03:55:01 PM  
DamnYankees: What's the narrative structure?

The fact that you think Lost has any sort of narrative structure says a lot about how you watch tv.
 
2009-09-25 03:56:29 PM  
cameroncrazy1984: DamnYankees: What's the narrative structure?

The fact that you think Lost has any sort of narrative structure says a lot about how you watch tv.


You're usually a pretty normal person, but you seem to lose your mental faculties whenever Lost comes up. Even if you hate it, it has a pretty clearly story-telling structure.
 
2009-09-25 03:56:51 PM  
I was intrigued enough by the pilot to tune in next week.

And Seth MacFarlane was one of the FBI agents? I totally missed that.
 
2009-09-25 03:59:30 PM  
DamnYankees: You're usually a pretty normal person, but you seem to lose your mental faculties whenever Lost comes up. Even if you hate it, it has a pretty clearly story-telling structure.

If you look at it critically, it really doesn't. It just seems like they go back every week and have to come up with explanations things that happened the week before. That's not storytelling, that's covering.
 
2009-09-25 04:05:36 PM  
cameroncrazy1984: If you look at it critically, it really doesn't. It just seems like they go back every week and have to come up with explanations things that happened the week before. That's not storytelling, that's covering.

That's arguably true for certain non-essential plot elements, but not true of the overall storytelling method of LOST as a whole.
 
2009-09-25 04:08:31 PM  
cameroncrazy1984: It just seems like they go back every week and have to come up with explanations things that happened the week before.

Even if that were accurate, how is that not in and of itself a "narrative structure"?
 
2009-09-25 04:08:55 PM  
cameroncrazy1984: DamnYankees: You're usually a pretty normal person, but you seem to lose your mental faculties whenever Lost comes up. Even if you hate it, it has a pretty clearly story-telling structure.

If you look at it critically, it really doesn't. It just seems like they go back every week and have to come up with explanations things that happened the week before. That's not storytelling, that's covering.


Almost every episode has a current day storyline with flashback/flashforwards which full you in on character details.

That's a structure. Whether you think it sucks or not doesn't really matter. It just is.
 
2009-09-25 04:10:09 PM  
I am the "walking man".
 
2009-09-25 04:10:10 PM  
cameroncrazy1984: DamnYankees: What's the narrative structure?

The fact that you think Lost has any sort of narrative structure says a lot about how you watch tv.



The fact that you come into every thread related in any way to Lost to point out your dislike indicates that you are either narcissistic or obsessed.
 
2009-09-25 04:25:49 PM  
"It's like they made the show and modeled every character after Kate."

spoilerbuzz.com

I'm totally okay with that.

/hot
 
2009-09-25 04:25:50 PM  
I was intrigued enough by the fifteen minutes of the first episode I watched to remove the DVR timer. The premise was pretty lame, at best, but the execution was utterly inept.

Everyone has a "flash-forward" experience, yet only one, eventually, reluctantly, mentions this, and suddenly the dam breaks and it becomes the entire focus of everything? If something like this really happened, the servers on fark would crash from everyone posting their flash-forward experiences, and asking if anyone else had them. And on every other internet service where people can post.

Plus nothing could afflict the whole planet at EXACTLY the same time, even at the speed of light.
 
2009-09-25 04:28:39 PM  
oldebayer: Everyone has a "flash-forward" experience, yet only one, eventually, reluctantly, mentions this, and suddenly the dam breaks and it becomes the entire focus of everything? If something like this really happened, the servers on fark would crash from everyone posting their flash-forward experiences, and asking if anyone else had them. And on every other internet service where people can post.

This. Also, I really didn't like the American-centric aspect of it. It strikes me as really arrogant to have a show where the *entire world* blacks out, and you decide to make the key setting a Los Angeles FBI building? What about the 1.3 billion Chinese people? The 1 billion Indians? Isn't there a story there? They kept telling us it was a worldwide event, but it sure as hell didn't *feel* like a worldwide event.
 
2009-09-25 04:35:29 PM  
Seth MacFarlane as an FBI agent is almost as ridiculous as Kelsey Grammer going scuba diving in a tutu.

/I liked the show.
 
2009-09-25 05:21:07 PM  
DamnYankees: They kept telling us it was a worldwide event, but it sure as hell didn't *feel* like a worldwide event.

This is true in every TV market on the planet - if it happened in Bombay and had to do with Indian characters, nobody in the US would tune in.
 
2009-09-25 05:23:17 PM  
Howard Finkelstein: DamnYankees: They kept telling us it was a worldwide event, but it sure as hell didn't *feel* like a worldwide event.

This is true in every TV market on the planet - if it happened in Bombay and had to do with Indian characters, nobody in the US would tune in.


That's not my problem. If the producers of the show are incapable of living up to the show's premise, that's on them.
 
2009-09-25 05:27:50 PM  
oldebayer: Plus nothing could afflict the whole planet at EXACTLY the same time, even at the speed of light.

Jesus Christ, man....really? You're going to nitpick THAT?
 
2009-09-25 05:29:18 PM  
SacriliciousBeerSwiller: oldebayer: Plus nothing could afflict the whole planet at EXACTLY the same time, even at the speed of light.

Jesus Christ, man....really? You're going to nitpick THAT?


And actually, if the source of the anamoly was the center of the earth, it would reach the surface of the Earth at the exact same time everywhere. So that's not even a legit complaint.
 
2009-09-25 05:31:05 PM  
DamnYankees: This. Also, I really didn't like the American-centric aspect of it. It strikes me as really arrogant to have a show where the *entire world* blacks out, and you decide to make the key setting a Los Angeles FBI building? What about the 1.3 billion Chinese people? The 1 billion Indians? Isn't there a story there? They kept telling us it was a worldwide event, but it sure as hell didn't *feel* like a worldwide event.

Because the story is about the people who ultimately figure out what's causing it, perhaps?

Why didn't Apollo 13 focus on what the NASA janitor was doing? Why didn't Titanic show us what happened to the sou chef when HE was in the water?
 
2009-09-25 05:33:32 PM  
SacriliciousBeerSwiller: Because the story is about the people who ultimately figure out what's causing it, perhaps?

And everyone involved happens to be in Los Angeles? It just screamed at me "where are the Europeans, and the Chinese, and the Arabs, and the Indians - this same horrific thing happened to them?!" Seems utterly convenient that the locus of this worldwide phenomenon has to be in Joseph Fiennes office.

I realize that's a conciet necessary for TV, but it really irked me. Even a movie like Independence Day managed to create the feeling of worldwide panic with a small montage.
 
2009-09-25 05:35:28 PM  
Honestly, we haven't even seen half the characters yet. Give the show a couple more weeks to get sorted out. Most shows are slower on their second episodes than the pilots anyways.
 
2009-09-25 05:35:29 PM  
DamnYankees:
This. Also, I really didn't like the American-centric aspect of it. It strikes me as really arrogant to have a show where the *entire world* blacks out, and you decide to make the key setting a Los Angeles FBI building? What about the 1.3 billion Chinese people? The 1 billion Indians? Isn't there a story there? They kept telling us it was a worldwide event, but it sure as hell didn't *feel* like a worldwide event.


/liked, didn't love the pilot
//Fiennes came off as a little wooden, I've never cared for the acting of the actor playing the Asian sidekick
///will watch next week...the twist at the end was very intriguing.
OK. I'm not really sure what you were expecting them to show. The same thing happened to the 1.3 billion chinese people that happened in Los Angeles. People fell down, shiat crashed into other shiat, people woke up. They showed the after effects in numerous cities on televesions on the show. What is it that you were looking for, a montage scene of people passing out all over the world? I'm confused.

Asoldebayer:

Everyone has a "flash-forward" experience, yet only one, eventually, reluctantly, mentions this, and suddenly the dam breaks and it becomes the entire focus of everything? If something like this really happened, the servers on fark would crash from everyone posting their flash-forward experiences, and asking if anyone else had them. And on every other internet service where people can post.


This is the kind of complaint about a show that I can never sympathize with. They're telling a story, focusing on an FBI agent who presumably will be central to figuring out what happened to everyone. At no point did they say that he's the first, or the only, person who figured out they all had flash forwards...he's just the first person in that room who figured it out, and that's all they show. At no point do they say that Fark wasn't full of threads about everyone's experiences. They're telling one story, not everyone's. It wouldn't be a very interesting show if it just scrolled down a fark thread. It's safe to presume that that sort of thing was happening all over the world.
 
2009-09-25 05:37:07 PM  
DamnYankees: SacriliciousBeerSwiller: Because the story is about the people who ultimately figure out what's causing it, perhaps?

And everyone involved happens to be in Los Angeles? It just screamed at me "where are the Europeans, and the Chinese, and the Arabs, and the Indians - this same horrific thing happened to them?!" Seems utterly convenient that the locus of this worldwide phenomenon has to be in Joseph Fiennes office.

I realize that's a conciet necessary for TV, but it really irked me. Even a movie like Independence Day managed to create the feeling of worldwide panic with a small montage.


I wondered about that. I figure half the world would be asleep. No problem losing 2.4 minutes when you're passed out. You'd just think it was a freaky dream.

/had a freaky dream involving Anna Torv last night
//huge vag...but cleanly shaven
///hope that one is a "future premonition"
 
2009-09-25 05:38:06 PM  
DamnYankees: SacriliciousBeerSwiller: oldebayer: Plus nothing could afflict the whole planet at EXACTLY the same time, even at the speed of light.

Jesus Christ, man....really? You're going to nitpick THAT?

And actually, if the source of the anamoly was the center of the earth, it would reach the surface of the Earth at the exact same time everywhere. So that's not even a legit complaint.


Oh (nerd) Snap
 
2009-09-25 05:38:07 PM  
Hmm, my post got a little farked in the editing process. Everyone just pretend those slashies go at the bottom, OK?
 
2009-09-25 05:38:32 PM  
ryanguy7890: Honestly, we haven't even seen half the characters yet. Give the show a couple more weeks to get sorted out. Most shows are slower on their second episodes than the pilots anyways.

Maybe a montage like that would have worked. Who knows. It's not my job to make the show. All I can say is that as a viewer, I don't think they adequately conveyed the enormity of what happened. I got no sense of a worldwide event or panic. I was merely told that's what happened without being shown it or having felt it.
 
2009-09-25 05:40:55 PM  
DamnYankees:
Maybe a montage like that would have worked. Who knows. It's not my job to make the show. All I can say is that as a viewer, I don't think they adequately conveyed the enormity of what happened. I got no sense of a worldwide event or panic. I was merely told that's what happened without being shown it or having felt it.


Seriously, did you miss all the news broadcasts from other nations? I"m pretty sure we saw Hong Kong, Paris, and 5 or 6 other places. I understand that you're saying the show didn't convey a feeling, and I get that, but it certainly conveyed it to me with no problem.
 
2009-09-25 05:44:15 PM  
nonvideas: Seriously, did you miss all the news broadcasts from other nations? I"m pretty sure we saw Hong Kong, Paris, and 5 or 6 other places. I understand that you're saying the show didn't convey a feeling, and I get that, but it certainly conveyed it to me with no problem.

If you felt differently, that's fine. But I don't think those news broadcasts were enough. For example, you felt the carnage in Los Angeles I presume, right? They did that very well. Did you 'feel' that was happening in Beijing? In Mumbai? In Lagos? Maybe you did. I didn't. And I can't really get my head around a worldwide phenomenon unless I feel that. Perhaps they should have shown more of that news footage with real people and real things happening - not just blurry backgrounds or the TVs reflected in windows while I look at J. Fiennes.
 
2009-09-25 05:46:54 PM  
nonvideas: Seriously, did you miss all the news broadcasts from other nations? I"m pretty sure we saw Hong Kong, Paris, and 5 or 6 other places. I understand that you're saying the show didn't convey a feeling, and I get that, but it certainly conveyed it to me with no problem.

I think what DY is saying is that yes, they showed that the effect was global, but we didn't feel that it was global. There were the news broadcasts showing everywhere but people still had power, they still had cell phone access, they still could drive on streets (that weren't littered with other cars) and so on.

The only thing the FBI is worried about now is the future when, if this were a bit more realistic, they'd have to worry about riots, looting, international terrorism taking advantage of it, and so on.
 
2009-09-25 05:47:27 PM  
Fair enough. In retrospect, it seemed like the main characters got back on their feet and moved forward a little too quickly. Sure, they're super serious FBI agents, but thousands of people just died in the most bizarre thing that ever happened to mankind...they took it all a little too much in stride.
 
2009-09-25 05:53:36 PM  
It was meh. My biggest complaint was the whiplash editing it got. A lot of very short scenes that add nothing to the overall plot except to keep tabs on what a (as yet) minor character is doing.
 
2009-09-25 05:56:56 PM  
DamnYankees: nonvideas: Seriously, did you miss all the news broadcasts from other nations? I"m pretty sure we saw Hong Kong, Paris, and 5 or 6 other places. I understand that you're saying the show didn't convey a feeling, and I get that, but it certainly conveyed it to me with no problem.

If you felt differently, that's fine. But I don't think those news broadcasts were enough. For example, you felt the carnage in Los Angeles I presume, right? They did that very well. Did you 'feel' that was happening in Beijing? In Mumbai? In Lagos? Maybe you did. I didn't. And I can't really get my head around a worldwide phenomenon unless I feel that. Perhaps they should have shown more of that news footage with real people and real things happening - not just blurry backgrounds or the TVs reflected in windows while I look at J. Fiennes.


I'm sorry that you lack imagination, and the ability to extrapolate based on the news footage that was shown. Those are really your problems though, not issues of the show itself, which communicated the world-wide nature of the event just fine.
 
2009-09-25 05:57:52 PM  
The gheys are winning this thread.
 
2009-09-25 05:59:57 PM  
you know besides the BBT stuff, i can look to you for an honest opinion about TV. I actually agree with everything in your original post.

I'll watch it, until it gets cancelled.
 
2009-09-25 06:01:26 PM  
Sleeping Monkey: "It's like they made the show and modeled every character after Kate."



I'm totally okay with that.

/hot


There's the picture I was looking for.

It's kind of sad that that was the only reason I came into the thread, as I didn't watch the premiere.

Maybe I'll catch it on Hulu if it gets decent reviews.
 
2009-09-25 06:01:44 PM  
My main beef is that everybody was just doing whatever it was their lives dictated them to do in the FlashForward. Nobody was behaving as if they knew their past selves would see them at that time.

If I lived in that world and knew that I would be able to communicate to my past self at some exact moment, I would write on a piece of paper in huge block letters something like "BET ALL YOUR MONEY ON USC TO LOSE TO WASHINGTON THIRD WEEK OF THE SEASON" and stare at that for the entire 2 minutes and 17 seconds.
 
2009-09-25 06:05:25 PM  
I think the potential is there, but I'm not completely sold on it yet. The acting felt a little stiff. I'll watch another episode, but for now let's say I'm cautiously optimistic.

BTW, sorry to threadjack, but Dollhouse comes back on TV tonight. PLEASE watch it if you want to support quality TV.
 
2009-09-25 06:07:01 PM  
Keywork99: BTW, sorry to threadjack, but Dollhouse comes back on TV tonight. PLEASE watch it if you want to support quality TV.

If you're not a Nielsen family it doesn't really matter, does it?
 
2009-09-25 06:09:22 PM  
Who else caught the LOST easter egg?

i376.photobucket.com
 
2009-09-25 06:10:20 PM  
DamnYankees: And actually, if the source of the anamoly was the center of the earth, it would reach the surface of the Earth at the exact same time everywhere. So that's not even a legit complaint.

Nope: Earth is not a perfect sphere, but an oblate spheroid, and today's science can time such things to enough decimal places to prove it was not aliens lurking at the center of the earth.


nonvideas: At no point did they say that he's the first, or the only, person who figured out they all had flash forwards...he's just the first person in that room who figured it out

This is HOURS after the event, and people on the street would be taking about it by now. Yours is the kind of defense of poorly executed slipshod writing that I can never agree with. :~)
 
2009-09-25 06:10:47 PM  
Whatever. I liked it. And I like Lost too, but that doesn't mean the two shows are that similar. Why does every network sci-fi show have to be compared to Lost? Sci-fi's and mysteries existed before Lost, ya know.
 
2009-09-25 06:12:12 PM  
oldebayer: Earth is not a perfect sphere, but an oblate spheroid, and today's science can time such things to enough decimal places to prove it was not aliens lurking at the center of the earth.

Considering their only evidence for the timing and duration of the event seems to be security camera footage, which probably doesn't have its timestamps properly synchronized with an atomic clock, I don't think anyone could actually measure the passage of the event at light speed, whether from the center of the Earth or otherwise.
 
2009-09-25 06:12:34 PM  
Re: the LOST easter egg picture, I'm certain they are only doing this because of ABC, but i'm sure there are some out there who already believe that the two shows are going to be connected.
 
2009-09-25 06:13:01 PM  
Need_MindBleach: Why does every network sci-fi show have to be compared to Lost?

Neither "FlashForward" nor "Lost" have terribly much science to their fiction. They're speculative fiction, certainly, but I'd hardly call them science fiction.
 
2009-09-25 06:13:03 PM  
Reverend Otis: Who else caught the LOST easter egg?

I saw that.

But as many Star Trek fans can tell you, this show has one major problem:

Brannon Braga.
 
2009-09-25 06:13:14 PM  
Kind of cool that what seems to be the only guy awake for the blackout was some dude at Comerica Park in Detroit. Probably some black guy stealing wallets.
 
2009-09-25 06:14:18 PM  
scotto: Reverend Otis: Who else caught the LOST easter egg?

I saw that.

But as many Star Trek fans can tell you, this show has one major problem:

Brannon Braga.


Braga?!?!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
 
2009-09-25 06:15:56 PM  
Reverend Otis: Who else caught the LOST easter egg?

That's what Abrams does. Heck half the cast of Lost drank a "Slusho." I almost expected Kirk to complain that they couldn't get it anymore.

/so is it Monster semen?
//never got the full ruling on what that crap was
 
Displayed 50 of 151 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all



This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report