If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(WCBS 880)   Retirement home forced to change their building layout, after a complaint that it looks like a swastika when seen by somebody flying overhead. Bonus: The building's been like that for 30 years   (wcbs880.com) divider line 114
    More: Dumbass  
•       •       •

13339 clicks; posted to Main » on 14 Mar 2008 at 12:49 PM (6 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



114 Comments   (+0 »)
   

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2008-03-14 01:17:36 PM  
The flying jew community has powerful friends.
 
2008-03-14 01:18:41 PM  
balthan: FTFA: Prompted by complaints from a Jewish activist

One person complained and the government is ready to whip out its checkbook again?


You missed the important word.
The JADL has some money.
 
2008-03-14 01:21:06 PM  
i28.tinypic.com
 
2008-03-14 01:23:32 PM  
Of course it looks like a farking swastika; so the fark what?

People should STFU and stop imagining injustices and offenses everywhere. There are enough real injustices and offenses out there to focus on.

If I had the land, I would build a building with the same design and invite that guy to fly over it.
 
2008-03-14 01:23:54 PM  
heut' ist mein Tag!

/no YTMND fans here?
 
2008-03-14 01:24:27 PM  
gorgor
really, i shouldn't be laughing at posts like this.
We just need Tats to spout off about Israel and it'll be a gas :)


Tatsuma doesn't spout off about anything. He makes reasoned, educated statements without using racial slurs or other insults. Maybe that's why you don't recognize it on Fark.
 
2008-03-14 01:25:24 PM  
There are couple buildings on campus at Mich. State Univ. that look like tie fighters (sp?) from Star Wars from overhead.
 
2008-03-14 01:25:38 PM  
DrForrester: There's one in Washington DC that's five-sided when viewed from the air! Like a pentagram, only not.

If anyone would like to fly over DC to see it, just remember to pack a parachute.

/No, you can't fly in our airspace
//Not yours.
///The terrorist have won
 
2008-03-14 01:26:08 PM  
ultraholland: I'm going to design a house that resembles a cock and balls.

Some people say ....


upload.wikimedia.org

/tallest Capitol building in the country, whooo hoooo!
 
2008-03-14 01:27:25 PM  
ReverendJasen: You missed the important word.
The JADL has some money.


And the credibility of PETA. But that's the price of success: you loose your farking mind and tilt at windmills because there are no more dragons to slay.

Meanwhile, real injustice lingers in this world...
 
2008-03-14 01:27:47 PM  
This guys probably related the the douche-bag who tried to raise a fuss over the Metrodome roof a couple years ago.

deadspin.com
 
2008-03-14 01:28:19 PM  
Jesus, what is wrong with people? It's not a swastika. It's simply a building that unintentionally resembles a swastika when looked at from an angle you can't see from the ground. They should have to change their building because the sight of it might offend some overly sensitive person in the sky?
 
2008-03-14 01:28:22 PM  
Theaetetus: Only larger, right?


What, you want him to paint it black?
 
2008-03-14 01:29:06 PM  
How else is everyone going to get a window view? A stars and strips pattern? I think not.
 
2008-03-14 01:29:09 PM  
Ed Grubermann: loose

Um, yeah. Way to go, dumbass.
 
2008-03-14 01:30:15 PM  
The swastika has been a part of many cultures, including Jewish culture, for thousands of years. A ancient synagogue at Ein Gedi near the dead sea has swastika decorating the floor.
 
2008-03-14 01:31:01 PM  
The latest push to rid the landscape of the broken cross shape follows complaints from Avrahaum Segol, the same Israeli-American researcher who last fall helped publicize a swastika-shaped barracks at Naval Base Coronado in San Diego.

What a guy. I bet noone even knew it looked that way until he pointed it out.
 
2008-03-14 01:31:06 PM  
omg_lol
Tatsuma doesn't spout off about anything. He makes reasoned, educated statements without using racial slurs or other insults. Maybe that's why you don't recognize it on Fark.

You're name is my response.
Wow. Just. Wow.
 
2008-03-14 01:31:14 PM  
Complete bollocks.

Between, that's not a swastika, that's a rune.

I think skyscrappers should be torn down because they look like middle fingers. I'm offended that I walk around my city and every building is flipping me off. I should form a group to get every skyscrapper in the US taken down.
 
2008-03-14 01:31:57 PM  
MindStalker
The final UPGRADED Plans!

Hey, from the air that looks like a Menorah, and I'm offended!!
 
2008-03-14 01:34:23 PM  
wookie_x: This looks like a job for....



Yeah, I did a GIS for Nazi swastika and this came up.


This looks pretty bad if you crop this picture at Superman's waist =P
 
2008-03-14 01:35:56 PM  
Mark my words: pretty soon the P/C fuss-pots will demand goofy stuff like changing the name of watermelon to "green fruit" or some such nonsense!

We have empowered a culture of artificial touchiness in this country where the largest segment of the population is automatically considered "racist" and the 2 largest minority populations use that in their pursuit of their own particular political agendas.

So, if I'm already considered a "racist" - fine, I'll go ahead and be one then. Doesn't bother me at all. I figure screw 'em!
 
2008-03-14 01:36:42 PM  
The swastika is sanskrit, and its meaning is "good luck" or "good fortune".

The swastika is a sacred symbol in Mithraism, Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism - religions with over a billion adherents worldwide, making the swastika ubiquitous in both historical and contemporary society. The symbol was introduced to Southeast Asia by Hindu kings and remains an integral part of Balinese Hinduism to this day, and it is a common sight in Indonesia. It is only in the Western World where the swastika is viewed as a stigma, because of the infamy of its appropriation from the Nazis.
 
2008-03-14 01:37:17 PM  
Epsilon: Jesus, what is wrong with people? It's not a swastika. It's simply a building that unintentionally resembles a swastika when looked at from an angle you can't see from the ground. They should have to change their building because the sight of it might offend some overly sensitive person in the sky?

Check out the linked google maps overhead in the thread- I'd believe it was intended to look like a swastika- since there are two plane- shaped buildings (bombers) headed straight for it.

I think the whiners are getting it backwards. The swastika is under assault by nearby buildings.
 
2008-03-14 01:42:06 PM  
Snarfangel
Your post is very insensitive to paranoid schizophrenics.

/At least, that's what the voices tell me.


Roses are red.
Violets are blue.
I'm schizophrenic,
And so am I.
 
2008-03-14 01:44:03 PM  
The level of stupidity here is beyond belief.
 
2008-03-14 01:45:56 PM  
gorgor: Nobody forced them to fly.

They could always take a train.
To a camp.


If I believed in hell, I'd so be going there for laughing at this.
 
2008-03-14 01:47:04 PM  
fortean chicken Quote 2008-03-14 01:21:06 PM

i147.photobucket.com

/thread
//you win
 
2008-03-14 01:48:06 PM  
ThatGuyGreg: Jumping Jesus Christ on a pogo stick... I can't imagine what it must be like to be someone who lives their lives imagining injustice everywhere they go. It really is a very special kind of stupid.

Ever heard of Al Sharpton?
 
2008-03-14 01:53:04 PM  
From what I understand, the swastika is as uniquely Nazi as the concentration camp prisoners were uniquely Jewish.

It's interesting to see how the most recognized aspects of WWII history involve high-redefinition of facts (truth & nothing but the truth -- but not the whole truth). It is also interesting how these selective concepts have not simply lasted 60+ years, but have managed to get stronger during that time.

Is this the result of a conscious effort (opportunism or conspiracy), or is it the result of neglect (apathy or distraction)? Does history normally get this selective on its own? If so, how?

Regardless of the cause, I think we can all agree that some people manage to get a lot of mileage out of these types of topics. Is there any way to put an end to it, or are we just stuck with this for eternity?
 
2008-03-14 01:57:43 PM  
BrianJLG
Mark my words: pretty soon the P/C fuss-pots will demand goofy stuff like changing the name of watermelon to "green fruit" or some such nonsense!

We have empowered a culture of artificial touchiness in this country where the largest segment of the population is automatically considered "racist" and the 2 largest minority populations use that in their pursuit of their own particular political agendas.

So, if I'm already considered a "racist" - fine, I'll go ahead and be one then. Doesn't bother me at all. I figure screw 'em!


You sound like you graduated from the George Carlin school of thought.
 
2008-03-14 02:01:26 PM  
hope this guy never plays e1m4 in doom
 
2008-03-14 02:01:48 PM  
Yes, because every well-educated person knows that the swatstika was invented by the nazis for the purpose of jew hating and has had no other meaning or prior existence.

Grow up Schlomo.

/I see nussing.
 
2008-03-14 02:06:30 PM  
dude_man:

You sound like you graduated from the George Carlin school of thought.

I'm probably not quite as cynical as Georgie-boy, but I am equally fed up with this P/C goofiness that has been forced down our throats for the last 40 years or so.

In my experience, this false dogma of meritless equality leads to MORE racism by many who would otherwise never have given the subject any thought at all.

Like I said, if I'm a "racist", fine.
 
2008-03-14 02:07:15 PM  
Sorry, but it looks to me like you really, REALLY have to try hard to see anything at all in that pic.
But then The Order Of The Perpetually Offended find issues everywhere, don't they?
 
2008-03-14 02:12:48 PM  
I thought Jews were usually behind conspiracies, not the victims of them...
 
2008-03-14 02:19:26 PM  
ZachF81: ultraholland: I'm going to design a house that resembles a cock and balls.

Too late, someone beat you to it:


If I'm not mistaken isn't that the Florida capitol?

/seems appropriate
 
2008-03-14 02:20:06 PM  
Sorry, but when you make a big deal out of things like this which nobody has noticed or had a problem with for this long, you do a huge disservice to those poor people that lived and died like vermin at the hands of a tyrannical war machine.

They didn't go through that so you could make a clubs and biatch about inconsequential things at their expense.

Maybe you should go out and do something that actually makes a difference in the quality of someone's life in their memory instead.

I sincerely hope your house is not passed-over, Mr. Jewish Activist.

Ass-wipe.
 
2008-03-14 02:31:07 PM  
My high school was shaped like a swastika. That was a rather unexpected discovery.

Let's see if the internets want to help me out with picture evidence . . .
 
2008-03-14 02:32:50 PM  
SoulAssassin: hope this guy never plays e1m4 in doom

They changed that map in version 1.2 after the German government threatened to ban the game in Germany of it wasn't altered. Which is also why you won't find maps 31 and 32 in the German version of DOOM 2.

/Yes, I'm a nerd. Why do you ask?
//And a complete DOOM1/DOOM2 nut.
///Doom 3 can suck my balls.
 
2008-03-14 02:33:54 PM  
safeinsane: Better not tell these people about the clothing racks at retailers.

images.trademe.co.nz


Well, oddly enough...

i27.tinypic.com
 
2008-03-14 02:40:28 PM  
Sorry, nothing in that article justifies the use of the word "forced" in this headline.
The agency that owns the building is caving in. Again.

FTFA -
Segol calls the Alabama retirement home a "sister swastika" to the building in California and says they were both part of a tangled, government-funded conspiracy to honor Nazis.

...and worse, they're caving into someone who uses a historical atrocity to get attention for himself. Classy guy.
 
2008-03-14 02:45:08 PM  
wookie_x

I love that comic book with the passion of a thousand suns.

Anarchist Batman may be the coolest thing this side of Cthulu.
 
2008-03-14 02:46:18 PM  
jethus_crised
I thought Jews were usually behind conspiracies, not the victims of them...

The "victim" is a great role to play if you want to get something for nothing.

Not making any accusations here, just pointing out that your statement is a false dichotomy. Those who conspire to benefit at the expense of others (assuming such villainous people really exist) would do well to portray themselves as having been violated.

Therefore, it is entirely possible that some "victims of conspiracies" could actually be the conspirators. Furthermore, it is quite likely that the conspirators will choose the "victim" route to ensure a perception of legitimacy to their assertions.

/If you were to deceive people, how would you do it?
 
2008-03-14 03:01:23 PM  
All this thread needs id Czar coming in here denying the holocost,after getting caught by his mom masturebating with a belt around his neck and a wine bottle up is arse.
/The whole wine bottle thing is credited to mongbiohazard in yesterdays Dr. Laura Douche thread
 
2008-03-14 03:05:46 PM  
This is about as rediculous as over zealous atheist groups who sue to have 60 yr old statues removed from parks cause they suddenly decided it was offensive to them.
 
2008-03-14 03:11:32 PM  
The planned Flight 93 memorial...

politech.files.wordpress.com

Nothing to see here, move along...
 
2008-03-14 03:17:10 PM  
I dream of the day people know of the double Sol, not the Nazi symbol. The norse used designs of that shape for thousands of years before Hitler, and it was a symbol for the sun.

If you see a Nazi symbol, it's because you want to see a Nazi symbol, get over it.
 
2008-03-14 03:29:29 PM  
Quantumbunny: I dream of the day people know of the double Sol, not the Nazi symbol. The norse used designs of that shape for thousands of years before Hitler, and it was a symbol for the sun.

If you see a Nazi symbol, it's because you want to see a Nazi symbol, get over it.



THIS

Although, I believe the Norse/Hindu used the swastiki reversed.. aka mirrored. Hitler just flipped it around.

What a douche.
 
2008-03-14 03:29:52 PM  
Reminds of back in the day when Natas Kaupas arrived on the skateboard merchandising scene with his "Natas" brand skatewear, and parental watchdog groups were all like: "OMG, Natas spelled backwards is Satan!" and Natas was all like, "Um, I'm like, Lithuanian or something, and Natas spelled forward is my name."
 
Displayed 50 of 114 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all



This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report