If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Amazon.com)   The Amazon page for the King James Bible, there is no middle ground on reviews   (amazon.com) divider line 58
    More: Obvious  
•       •       •

2189 clicks; posted to Main » on 27 Jul 2001 at 8:19 AM (12 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



58 Comments   (+0 »)
   

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2001-07-27 08:40:35 AM
boobies?
 
2001-07-27 08:47:12 AM
I laughed, I cried, I sacrificed my only son.
 
2001-07-27 08:54:11 AM
My favorite was the one awhile back that had an author's comment from Jesus: "Not my best work, really".
 
2001-07-27 09:18:49 AM
Click here to see the actual reviews. Most are rated "5" (highest) but one is rated "1" (lowest).

How this got listed on Fark is beyond me. It points to the wrong page, and when you do find the right page, it's not very interesting (what with that solitary negative review, which is a single sentence).

I wish I could smite this farkticle.
 
2001-07-27 09:51:00 AM
Timothy: Read the first review...
 
2001-07-27 09:56:38 AM
what a bunch of trash.
 
2001-07-27 10:15:09 AM
I thought that was kind of amusing.


Oh yeah, Rasputin, that doesn't work. Even if it did, it would just make you look like more of a moron.
 
2001-07-27 10:16:11 AM
"This was a good fiction novel- A little too violent though. I was really at the edge of my seat wondering what would happen to that Jesus guy at the end. Wow, the authors of this book really had great imaginations!"

Yes indeed
 
2001-07-27 10:49:20 AM
The Bible is the Word Of God, and thus is Perfect.
 
2001-07-27 12:01:11 PM
Satisfiying read but kinda preachy.
 
2001-07-27 12:20:39 PM
haw haw, making fun of the bible is a great use of my time.
 
2001-07-27 12:57:05 PM
How many farkers will burn in hell this fine day?!
 
2001-07-27 01:37:51 PM
ToasterThief: The Bible is the Word Of God, and thus is Perfect.

You must be right. After all, the Bible says it's true, and the Bible is the Word of God, and God doesn't lie (as the Bible tells us) and thus the Bible is true and perfect and God is good and perfect, and perfect is God, is Bible is perfect, good, perfect Bible God Bible Bibble Babble babble babble blah blah blah
 
2001-07-27 01:50:39 PM
TIMOTHY!!! You're GIVJNG me a HEADACHE!
 
2001-07-27 02:38:05 PM
I have an open mind and if you are an athiest I will not impose my religion on you nor will I put you down for your belifs. THAT is YOUR choice to Believe what you believe. I'm not even gonna try to convert you to what I think the true answer is. I do find it very upsetting when MY religion is ridiculed or dismissed as "FICTION". Maybe I'm a little thin-skinned. I don't Preach. I don't put down others for their religious beliefs nor do i ridicule their religion. Why do i have to tolerate it when it is done to me or my religion? Don't get me wrong. Bible thumping, holier than thou types turn my stomache and make me wanna WRETCH. Political correctness is asenine but still, dismissing one's religion as "Fiction" is just as bad. (And to think I said I don't preach)
Oh well, God Bless, Satan Bless, Buddha Bless, Nothing Bless or whatever you're into Bless,
-Drac
 
2001-07-27 02:47:45 PM
I think the bible was written by a guy who had eaten one too many magic mushrooms.
 
2001-07-27 03:25:37 PM
Are there typos is the bible?
 
2001-07-27 05:28:32 PM
*bleat*
 
2001-07-27 06:20:42 PM
is it just the people I've happened to meet, or are most atheists every bit as militant and hate-filled as Christians?

Haven't met many practitioners of other religions, so I'll reserve comment on them...
 
2001-07-27 06:40:47 PM
Someone should write a serious review of the bible. I'd give it three stars. "Overall a good story, but the plot jumps around alot and can never seem to focus on one character."
 
2001-07-27 06:51:41 PM
"is it just the people I've happened to meet, or are most atheists every bit as militant and hate-filled as Christians? "

To be honest,Yotsuyachan, The majority of "Christians" that I've run into are no more christian than Anton Le Vey. Sure, it's nice to call yourself a christian but very few people practice the religion. The Bible is no more than a collection of historical recollections mixed with hebrew folk tales. The idea behind the bible ,in my opinion, is to inspire faith. So many "Churches distort the meanings in the bible as a means of income causing most people to become disallusioned and lose faith. "Church" is not a building. Forgive my preaching, but Jesus said in the Bible that WE are all PRIESTS. We don't need buildings or icons and escpecially people claiming to be "Christians" criticizing others all to make themselves look good. The Bible is the MOST important book in HISTORY. Our entire culture is based on the teachings and stories in it. Of course this is only MY opinion. Take from it what you want. If you are a TRUE christian, you will not judge others for their beliefs. If you do, than you might want to reevaluate what being a christian means to you. To me, It basically means to be a relatively good person. Golden rule and all that. Thinking about how your own actions affect others.
:::::passes the collection plate around::::::
God, I should be ashamed of myself for preaching, but Hey, if you feel strongly about something you should speak up.

Oh Well, Y'all take care, I need a Beer.

-Drac
 
2001-07-27 07:12:55 PM
Not to stomp on you or insult you, Drac....

But WHO's version of the bible is the most important one in history?

And who's history are we talking about? Every religeon has it's own "bible".



Sorry to shiat on anyone's religion, but, as you said, "if you feel strongly about something you should speak up"


A religion is sometimes a source of happines, and I would not deprave anyone of happiness. But it is a comfort appropriate for the weak, not for the strong. The great trouble with religion (any religion), is that a religionist??, having accepted certain propositions by faith, cannot thereafter judge those same propositions by evidence.
One may bask in the warm fire of faith or choose to live in the cold uncertainty of reason --- but one cannot have both.
 
2001-07-27 07:34:58 PM
I agree with ImDracula, the bible is one of the most important books if not the most important. Now I'm not saying the bible is good, bad, indifferent, true, false, whatever. But it has probably done more to influence our culture than any other book.
 
2001-07-27 07:51:29 PM
With all due respect, Soupgoblin, are you saying the strong do not need faith? You say, "One may bask in the warm fire of faith or choose to live in the cold uncertainty of reason --- but one cannot have both." I am taking this to mean "Faith is unreasonable". If that is the code you live by, so be it. That is what works for you. In my perspective, Faith = Reason. I see things everday that I equate to "miraculous". I won't go into detail, because that would be preaching again. My Main point was that Real Christians aren't hate filled as described by Yotsuyachan. It is so hard to be a christian these days because there are a lot of people that want to make you feel foolish for being so. They have NO faith and think that EVERYBODY has to think like they do. They even think they are superior to you because you have a faith in something that they do not believe in. Athiest they may be, but they are still trying to be "Holier than Thou". Come on People. Stop ridiculing people's Faiths. If some idiot was to come out and say, "All Jews are Scum", They would be drawn and quartered for being rascist, but if someone said, "You are a fool for believing in a boogeyman that was nailed to a cross 2,000 years ago", someone would get a chuckle out of it and look at you as though you were the fool. I feel if you believe in something and it inspires you to do good, you should be praised, not criticized. If you are an athiest, yet you live a good life, why should you be criticized. You should receive a medal. This is one of the reasons people foster so much hate. Because others think differently than they do. I'm getting tired of it. Life is too short to be mean and arrogant.
Oh, well, you'll probably hear from me again, in the meantime, I need another beer.
-Drac
 
2001-07-27 08:37:07 PM
You know, theoretical physics is a sort of religion....

Many of the observations and hypotheses are based soley on faith and observation, nothing more - especially in astrophysics - much like many of the "mystery religions" which are so popular in modern times. (mystery religion = worship of an unseen and unpercievable diety, faith-based in other words)

Therefore, I am not an athiest, nor are many of the people out there who claim to be - I am a physicist, and our religion is superior to yours!

nyaaaah!! :p
 
2001-07-27 08:45:58 PM
A majority of the ridicule of religions stems from certain tenants of religion. christianity, for example, preaches tolerance, but also says that christianity and jesus are the only way to heaven. So christianity SAYS love and tolerance for other religions, although all of those people are going to suffer eternally for not accepting (christianity's) god.

I've said it before-no religion or belief system; mine, yours, china's, etc. is better than any other, nor is any one more "right" than any other. They are BELIEFS, basically your opinion on how things are. I have my own beliefs; doesn't make them right or wrong.
I respect people's right to believe; but I do not respect hypocrisy and intolerance, and if you have the NERVE to preach anyone who disagrees with you deserves to be tortured (Hell) then the ridicule is well-deserved.

For the record, even a "true" christian is debateable. Buddy of mine believes everyone goes to heaven. Is he right? Is he wrong? Is Jack Chick a "true" christian (catholic...)? Or is a "true" christian someone who is good, kind, and helps people? That means I am, as I work for the government and allocate and distribute money to organizations. But I do not, and will not, pray to a god that may or may not be there.

You see? Even what you define as a "true" christian is YOUR own belief; it doesn't make it right or wrong. What the judgemental preist's definition of a "true" christian could differ from the liberal priest down the road. That doesn't make either of them RIGHT or WRONG. It means they have opinions.

I say this to everyone. Live by your belief system, and live it well. But don't believe you're the only one who is right, or, for that matter, that everyone else is wrong.
 
2001-07-27 09:37:09 PM
My belief is that ToasterThief hit the nail right on the head
 
2001-07-27 09:41:26 PM
gumpus: you are ignoring the primary difference between religion and science. religion is about dogma. questioning logical fallacies or inconcistencies is not allowed. science is about getting the best possible working model. questioning logical fallacies and inconcistencies is encouraged. the theory is revised, and tested until it somes in line with the facts.
 
2001-07-27 09:56:16 PM
Good friggin grief, ToasterThief, do yourself a favor. I don't mean to be harsh, but for the love of god, get a clue. It's obvious that you have no idea what you're talking about... "So christianity SAYS love and tolerance for other religions..."...damn, dude! Not trying to be 'intolerant', but please...if in doubt, please, check with someone...OK? We ARE an INTOLERANT bunch....trust me..you can do what you want...IT'S ON YOU..call it tolerance if you like..
 
2001-07-27 10:21:17 PM
I was raised in a religious environment, thank you, and I will call it intolerance.
"Anyone who does not do what I believe is right deserves to be tortured."
or the condensed version:
"All non-christians are going to hell."

That is intolerance. You can rationalize it away by saying "It's your choice" or "it's on you!" but that doesn't change the message: Do what we believe is right, or get punished. But you have a choice. Get tortured for eternity, or do what we say. But it's your choice. "Choose" to do what WE say, or suffer in hell.

Not really a choice at all.
 
2001-07-27 10:29:34 PM
Alright, religion-boy, cite me an example of "tolerance of other religions"...you are of course, missing my point.
 
2001-07-27 10:32:49 PM
IMDracula-Thanks for the compliment. Perhaps there is hope for humanity, in that wew create a future where, hey, it's okay to disagree; no point in us being all the same.
 
2001-07-27 10:35:05 PM
Cheese-
"We ARE an INTOLERANT bunch....trust me.."
" 'cite me an example of "tolerance of other religions"... "

What on earth are you talking about? Are you saying you're intolerant or tolerant?
 
2001-07-27 10:35:12 PM
Y'know what the irony is?
I really do not believe that non-christians are going to hell. I just don't. That would make my God malevalent and I believe him/her to be benevalent. Most christions disagree I'm sure. Besides, I've been throwing the word, "Religious" around but i think a better word would be, "Spiritual". I don't really think I'm religious but I am spiritual. Religion causes wars and I feel that religions are works of man whereas spirituality has MORE to do with God.
Take from this what you will. Not one of you people are wrong unless you are looking down on other's spiritual belief.
I need another beer.
Cheers.
-drac
 
2001-07-27 10:38:04 PM
intolerant. we don't preach that ALL religions are OK. That's my point
 
2001-07-27 10:44:09 PM
DISCLAIMER

WARNING!!!!!


The word "we" does not denote any 'religion', faith, etc.
 
2001-07-27 10:46:10 PM
And I believe that was my point all along. Take pride in your intolerance-it makes the world a better place.
 
2001-07-27 10:47:07 PM
Course, I'll just meander my life away, telling everyone they're equal and should treat each other equally, respect each other's beliefs and not believe they're better than anyone else. I'll live my life helping others, telling each of them to take pride in their personal beliefs-and to tell everyone else the same. I will die a man who tried to help people, telling them that it's okay to believe in something-and it's okay for that person to believe in the contrary.

Intolerance is a stepping stone to hate-because it's easy to hate someone when they're so clearly wrong. And hate leads to war and suffering.

Perhaps I am wrong to tell everyone they're equal, and should treat each other the same. Anyone could be wrong about what they believe, I'm not stupid enough to think my way is The Only Way.

But I do know that no one ever started a war over equality.
 
2001-07-27 10:48:52 PM
IMdracula-Sad, isn't it? If there is a god, he's probably disgusted at how hate-filled his followers are.
 
2001-07-27 10:50:46 PM
wait a minute! you said that christianity preached tolerance for other religions, but yet were condemning non-christians. I'm still waiting for an example(biblical reference) of religious tolerance.
 
2001-07-27 10:56:01 PM
I don't think I have to; in fact, listening to your vitrol-filled posts has actually removed what hope I had for the devout. Funny, I recall Father Deimert telling me that being a good person (and, by extension, a good christian) was to treat everyone with respect and equality. How sad that you preach the opposite.

Congratulations. You have convinced me that christians are an intolerant bunch.
 
2001-07-27 10:56:23 PM
Hate? Me? Surely not. No hate in me.
 
2001-07-27 11:00:15 PM
cheese: isn't there something in there about "love thy neighbor"? or does your copy of the bible say "love thy neighbor as long as he worships the same dead guy as you"?
 
2001-07-27 11:01:39 PM
Vitriol filled posts? Give me a break. Blame it on me, if you like. I'm not 'devout'. Never claimed to be. Feel free to use me as an excuse, though.
 
2001-07-27 11:04:32 PM
::Christopher Walken voice:: Can't we all just get along?
 
2001-07-27 11:04:38 PM
Hey, meat, jump in line, right behind ToasterThief. Tell me where and when I broke that commandment.?
 
2001-07-27 11:05:57 PM
I use nothing as an excuse. Your point was to prove that christianity is intolerant. You have convinced me.
 
2001-07-27 11:12:46 PM
intolerant of what, TT? Am I oppressing you?
 
2001-07-27 11:17:01 PM
Why don't you tell me? You made the statement.
"We ARE an INTOLERANT bunch"
 
2001-07-27 11:35:20 PM

QUOTE:
"christianity, for example, preaches tolerance, but also says that jesus and christianity are the only way to heaven. So christianity SAYS love and tolerance for other religions, although all of those other people are going to suffer eternally for not accepting (christianity's) god."


Why, if I didn't know better, I'd think that you were saying that 'christianity' is a two-faced religion. Says one thing - does another. So I ask YOU.....WHERE DOES IT SAY THAT ALL RELIGIONS ARE EQUAL????? Because if it doesn't, I'd have to assume that you are wrong about the other part of that statement.
 
Displayed 50 of 58 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all



This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report