If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Contact Music)   New McCartney, Alanis, Faith Hill CDs being released under aliases to fight preview piracy. If you're a record biz intern, please disregard Pete Mitchell, Arthur Moore and Fern Holloway CDs, nothing to hear there   (contactmusic.com) divider line 99
    More: Stupid  
•       •       •

14911 clicks; posted to Main » on 29 Aug 2005 at 6:40 AM (8 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



99 Comments   (+0 »)
   

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2005-08-29 03:32:05 AM
Somehow I can't imagine those three needing help to avoid piracy. their collective bottomless pit of suck should be enough.
 
2005-08-29 05:01:09 AM
Greatest, plan, ever.

They release their new albums under fake names so interns wont release them into the MP3 orgy early.

They then tell a news paper, what their fake names are.

The news paper, then posts an article about it on the interweb.

...Okay, everyone, all together now...

ONE! TWO! THREE! ....D'OH!!!!
 
2005-08-29 05:21:33 AM
If they wanted to choose a name nobody'd be interested in, I believe "Creed" is now available.
 
2005-08-29 06:43:55 AM
Peaceboy: If they wanted to choose a name nobody'd be interested in, I believe "Creed" is now available.

That's a bit harsh.
 
2005-08-29 06:46:31 AM
That's a bit harsh.

No, not really. And I'm sure that there's a lot of people here who would agree.
 
2005-08-29 06:48:33 AM
Alright, instead of being available online before its release, they'll be available about 5 seconds after.

Fatal blow to piracy there. Yep.
 
2005-08-29 06:53:09 AM
And the first minute the first reviewer listens too it and mentions who it is somebody makes a copy anyways. Or it finds it's way to one of the more thorough groups that rip everything they can get their hands on no matter who it is or if it's any good.
 
2005-08-29 07:02:15 AM
Think they've just created the first MP3 collector's items. Stoopid music industry.
 
2005-08-29 07:05:33 AM
well it beats stomping on our fair useage with DRM, which as we all know is every bit as effective.
 
2005-08-29 07:06:50 AM
Yeah. That's definitely dumb. They farked up here... Pirates will get their...ermm..hooks on it anyway.

/you'll see the new cds online before you know it...
//but i wouldn't download them, because that's illegal.
 
2005-08-29 07:08:58 AM
Did not read the farking article, but it is trully silly. Nice attempt at fooling people in China who make their living off of bootlegging...

/own many questionable VCDs from when I lived there
//wife asked me if we ownened anything illegal, I said, "No." and chuckled.
 
2005-08-29 07:12:35 AM

I W A N T Y O U
to not steal my crappy music
 
2005-08-29 07:15:43 AM
That's brilliant.

And by brilliant, I mean "spectacularly moronic."

Isn't that ironic?
 
2005-08-29 07:22:28 AM
"McCartney's upcoming album has been credited to PETE MITCHELL"

Paul McCartney feels the need for speed?
 
2005-08-29 07:26:10 AM
I don't think there's anything wrong with an artist trying to stop album leaks.
 
2005-08-29 07:27:37 AM


Paul my finger.
 
2005-08-29 07:27:59 AM




 
2005-08-29 07:29:38 AM
Sooooo... in order to keep these albums out of the hands of early releasers, they've renamed them so that reviewers will just toss them on the pile of "things to listen to when I'm really bored."

Brilliant.
 
2005-08-29 07:29:56 AM
If you read the article, it doesn't sound like it's to prevent piracy so much as theft around the office at the record company itself. You know, like people would be less likely to steal it from your desk if they aren't sure what it is?
 
2005-08-29 07:32:48 AM
what a shock their going to get when the critics let everyone know these "new" bands/groups suck ass.

and since their "names" aren't on it.... eh.
 
2005-08-29 07:36:58 AM
So how will these album reviews be published?

"This new album from Black Swarm is a total rip-off of Depreche Modes' unique sound. Rather than making something of their own, they've made the album Depreche Mode would have made if they sucked. 2 out of 5

/I think Depreche Mode are a sweet band.
 
2005-08-29 07:49:36 AM
Alanis Morissette = Arthur Moore.....

She's a man, baby! I knew that "God is a She" stuff from Dogma wasn't right!

/agnostic
 
2005-08-29 07:55:25 AM
1.Release albums under names like "Chris Gaines" and make exclusive deals with Wal-Mart.

2. Stop producing the kind of music that Clear Channel would play, say like a "London Oratorio" or some such.

3. Go independent. Sell less records but make more money because you own the company.

/Doesn't really matter.
 
2005-08-29 07:56:11 AM
Gavino Actualy, I have what I would consider a collectors MP3. Back when napster first started filtering their downloads by name and users started swapping around band names "Lifehouse" was codenamed "Blanket", I downloaded a copy of "Hangin' By a Moment" with an ID3 tag calling it "Blanket" off of Emule not too long ago.

/remembers emailing MP3s, damn kids and their Kazaa!
 
2005-08-29 08:06:04 AM
NkThrasher: "/remembers emailing MP3s, damn kids and their Kazaa!"

Emailing? Back in my day we used FTP and web sites to search them. And it was good! But it wasn't long before people were setting up ratios for their servers. And it was OK! Not long after that people were requiring you visit a banner site and find every 10th letter for the user/pass. And it sucked! But Napster was good!
 
2005-08-29 08:08:56 AM
Napster was good!

Yeah but bitTorrent is GREAT!

I know people who have d/led the "entire" interweb with that little program!
 
2005-08-29 08:11:30 AM
Any news-site that uses the "+" symbol in a title is automatically not worth a crap.
 
2005-08-29 08:11:56 AM
NkThrasher
"Lifehouse" was codenamed "Blanket", I downloaded a copy of "Hangin' By a Moment"

 
2005-08-29 08:15:25 AM


Dennis, I plan to sue that limey bastard for copyright infringement!
That McCartney is such a menace to me!!
 
2005-08-29 08:15:32 AM
Peaceboy

If they wanted to choose a name nobody'd be interested in, I believe "Creed" is now available.


You're officially my hero for the day.
 
2005-08-29 08:33:14 AM
InflatableJesus as usual, by virtue of your handle, and content, you are the winner of the thread.

deSelby I remember FTP too, emailing was more exciting though, and nobody does it anymore. There are still a few places you can FTP from people, not nearly as much of a leech fest though, and rather hard to find.
 
2005-08-29 08:39:24 AM
EightDeerOcelotClaw: That's a bit harsh.

Welcome to Fark.

/Creed can suck it
 
2005-08-29 08:43:32 AM
Oh, I also miss the audio-galaxy satellite, scour.com, and the short lived but tres-cool scour exchange.

Man, now I'm feeling all nostalgic for the late 90s. Time to break out the starcraft CD...
 
2005-08-29 09:02:57 AM
Is it just me or has Paul McCartney replaced Bob Weir as the most annoying person in rock?
 
2005-08-29 09:19:29 AM
Am I the only one that sees her:


and immediately thinks of him?



/Separated at birth?
//Faith Hill with long blond hair is painfully hot
 
2005-08-29 09:26:21 AM
Just release the previews in this format:

 
2005-08-29 09:26:40 AM
Let me get this straight:

_P_aul _M_cCartney = _P_ete _M_itchell
_A_lanis _M_orissette = _A_rthur _M_oore
_F_aith _H_ill = _F_ern _H_olloway

I don't think we need to break out the Enigma machine for this one.

So this means it's entirely possible that piraters will get wise to this oh-so-genius code system and steal an album by "Byron Smith" hoping to get Britney Spears, and instead get Billy Squier.

Either way, I lose.
 
2005-08-29 09:40:14 AM
Peaceboy: If they wanted to choose a name nobody'd be interested in, I believe "Creed" is now available.

You owe me a new keyboard and a cup of coffee.

/Fern Holloway, would hit it
 
2005-08-29 09:45:15 AM
"SIR PAUL McCARTNEY, FAITH HILL, ALANIS MORISSETTE and DEPECHE MODE"

So out of all the shiatty, washed up, has beens, these are the ones who have a problem with people stealing their music? Is this a PR stunt attempting to trick consumers into believing that these twats actually make music that people would want to listen to?
 
2005-08-29 09:57:52 AM
So am I the only one that thinks Alanis Morissette is hot?
 
2005-08-29 09:59:41 AM
Nope, I had a serious thing for her when I was 15. Those wacky teenage hormones had me convinced that I was in love.
 
2005-08-29 10:02:10 AM
Geffen Records publicist JIM MERLIS explains, "You can actually out-clever yourself in these situations."

PFFFBWAHAHAHA, don't get ahead of yourself there, chief.

Give up. Just give up. We know you lost already.
 
2005-08-29 10:06:28 AM
This is the stupidest idea, ever.
 
2005-08-29 10:15:05 AM
nbrfwhoooo

I actually heard "You Oughta Know" was about Bret "Hitman" Hart.

/likes spreading rumors
 
2005-08-29 10:33:55 AM
nbrfwhoooo

And they're both canadian.

Has anyone ever seen them in the same room at the same time?

Hmmmm.
 
2005-08-29 10:39:38 AM
Artists who actually have an audience that wants to hear them should be thanking them and thanking God, not worrying about whether someone might hear their music for free. fark them all! Even Paul.
 
2005-08-29 10:41:22 AM
One question...


Who the hell would steal this crap?


Oh and when the record sales even come out a little bit sucky, they'll blame p2p. Better that then admitting your music might just blow.
 
2005-08-29 10:42:51 AM
This new Black Swarm sounds a lot like Deflush Commode. Throw that damn thing in the trash!
 
2005-08-29 10:53:07 AM
I can't wait to hear the new Zingelbert Bembledack CD, or even the new Klingybun Fistelvase disc.
 
2005-08-29 11:15:43 AM
It's not piracy, it's copyright infringement. Therefore all of your points are invalid and I am entitled to whatever I want.
 
Displayed 50 of 99 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all



This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report